SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

AutoZonecustomer service and refund

1

I went with my mechanic to Autozone to purchase an alternator. When paying, we asked if (as long as we paid cash for the core charge) we could put the rest on my debit card and when returning the old alternator we could get cash back. If they had said no, I would have gone to the bank and pulled out cash to pay for it. However, cashier #25 assured us that there would be no problem getting the cash back. We purchased the alternator, my mechanic fixed my car, I gave him the receipt so he could get the cash he paid for the core charge back, and I thought I was done. For the past two days, however, my mechanic has been to the store about 30 times trying to get the cash back and being told he couldn't. He was even waiting on a reply from the store manager (which was promised to him) but to no avail. Finally, after realizing he was getting nowhere with the situation, he called me. I had to leave a barbecue I was at and bring my 6 year old with me to Autozone. After arguing with the manager on duty, Jason Whitlow, for about an hour, he finally said the best he could do was put the money on the card the alternator was purchased with. This didn't make any sense to me considering we paid cash, but we did it anyway. I had to take the $50 my mechanic paid cash for out of my wallet to give him and now have to wait about a week for the money to (hopefully) be back in my bank account. They couldn't even tell me how long it would take for me to receive the money. All in all, the cashier lied, I have to wait a week to get money back that I paid cash for, I'm out an additional $50 while I wait, and I am getting absolutely no customer service from the store, managers, or corporate. DO NOT SHOP AT AUTOZONE IF AT ALL POSSIBLE!!!
FYI: Today's date is 7/6/12 and the original transaction took place on 7/4/12

Responses

  • G
      Jul 06, 2012

    "For the past two days, however, my mechanic has been to the store about 30 times trying to get the cash back and being told he couldn't."

    One would think that after 29 times he would have got the message.

    -1 Votes
  • M
      Jul 06, 2012

    He was trying to work it out without having to get me involved. Since he is a mechanic, he goes there quite often and was constantly being told the store manager would be in contact with him shortly.

    0 Votes
  • C
      Dec 30, 2012

    This is strange behavior coming from AutoZone. I always went there for my parts (before O'Reilley Auto Parts came to town) and paid with my card and they never gave me an option to put the core back on my card and always gave me cash unless their drawers were low on cash because of other core returns or large dollar bills for tiny purchased which took most of their smaller bills. If you had the receipt with you and it shows it was paid with cash, the manager had no reason to say you have to put it on the card you paid with.

    Also You should have contacted corporate. A lot of the AutoZone stores you go to are franchises. If you go to corporate level, the complaint goes down to the franchise owner and really gets the ball rolling because they don't want to look bad to the public. Filing a complaint here does you no good. They way to hit them hardest is log into the BBB website and find AutoZone and file a complaint on there. I've done it with other companies and got a very fast and favorable response.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Dec 30, 2012

    I agree it was strange behavior. If it was normal for them I don't believe I would have taken the time to write the review. Also, this particular autozone is corporate. I learned that when this all began and I was on the phone with the corporate office. Let me add I was not looking for advice when writing the review; I was more so trying to warn people of some of their unethical business decisions. Believe me when I say all avenues were taken well before even the thought of writing a review existed.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Dec 30, 2012

    Let me also add that after a great deal of time I eventually got my money, but people need to be aware of AutoZone's business practices so they can use that information when deciding which business to give their money to.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 23, 2013

    Not all Auto Zones have the same business practice. Just to let yall know.

    0 Votes

Post your comment