The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Argosy Universitybad education

K Review updated:

The Argosy University title of "higher education" is perhaps the biggest oxymoron of all! This crap school is over-priced, employs professors who lack talent and the ability to convey ANY teaching method, in addition, the school is NOT APA accredited despite their past claims to become accredited. This too is all part of the scam to keep you enrolled in their useless diploma mill certificate programs which, by having the Argosy name, will limit your job/career path within larger state or federal institutions. Go to any search engine and type in the "Argosy" name and the word "complaint" or lawsuit(s). This school is the biggest waste of time and money!

Responses

  • Here are the biggest and most highly publicized lawsuits against Argosy University:
    Click on the links to view these cases:

    http://www.magerlawyers.com/20090714172408593.pdf
    and
    http://www.vanweyjohnson.com/CM/PressRelease/Students-Sue-Texas-College-For-Misrepresenting-Accreditation-080709.asp

    TEXAS COLLEGE SUED BY STUDENTS FOR MISREPRESENTING THAT IT WOULD BECOME ACCREDITED
    Texas College Sued by Students for Misrepresenting that it would become Accredited
    Dallas, TX - August 7, 2009 - Several students have sued Argosy University, which is an education system of Education Management Corporation (Nasdaq: EDMC) in Dallas County District Court, alleging that the college lied to them in order to get them to enroll in the college. Argosy University is a for-profit college. Plaintiffs were students enrolled in the school's psychology doctoral program at Argosy's Dallas campus. At the time Plaintiffs were considering enrolling in the program, school officials told them that the program was in the process of obtaining crucial accreditation by the American Psychological Association and that the program would become accredited before the students graduated. As a result of these reassurances plaintiffs enrolled in the program at significant personal expense.

    The lawsuit alleges that during the students' enrollment in the program the school indicated on numerous occasions that the school was actively pursuing APA accreditation. In reality, the school had not begun to secure accreditation, and the students ultimately graduated from the program without the program ever obtaining APA accreditation. Julie Johnson, plaintiffs' attorney, explains, what sets this case apart are the blatant and repeated lies told by school officials: "When students expressed skepticism about the school's progress toward APA accreditation, the school dismissed these concerns as baseless 'rumors' and perpetuated the sham that it was in the process of pursuing APA accreditation."

    The school's repeated lies, claim the plaintiffs, have significantly hindered their ability to repay the exorbitant student loan debt they assumed in order to attend the college. Johnson explains, "even though the state of Texas does not require a degree from an APA-accredited college for individuals to practice as clinical psychologists, the reality is that in this competitive job market, most employers require APA accreditation. Those that are willing to employ clinical psychologists that have graduated from non-APA accredited institutions pay them significantly less than they would pay a clinical psychologist that did graduate from an APA-accredited institution." This, plaintiffs claim, has left them saddled with unserviceable student loan debt and dashed dreams.

    Attorney Julie Johnson often represents students in Texas Deceptive Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Act, fraud, and breach of contract cases against proprietary colleges such as Argosy University. To contact Julie Johnson, please call [protected], or send her an email at [email protected] For additional information about Julie Johnson and her other areas of practice, go to http://www.vanweyjohnson.com/.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alex85 Feb 22, 2010

    It depends on what Argosy you are speaking of.. Argosy University - Chicago, Atlanta, Tampa, D.C., Orange County, Twin Cities, San Francisco Bay, Schaumburg are ALL APA accredited.. APA.org would not be lying about that.. so before you bash every argosy you better get your facts straight.

    I'm not a student there and might never be we'll see... but what I will say is that the campuses I mention have high internship placement, are apa accredited (some for 7 years which is super long), and are still better priced than some other Psy.D. programs in the country. So get your facts straight. I'm sick of reading about how Argosy is bad, when in reality it's not!

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    Argosy Parent Oct 09, 2010

    To whom it may concern: In response to the posting by ANOTHER ARGOSY APA FRAUD VICTIM case filed awyer Scott Mager

    RE: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE THIRTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT IN HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY, FL

    CASEY HAMEL,
    Plaintiff, CASE NO.: 09 11228
    v. DIVISION K

    EDUCATION MANAGEMENT, LLC a wholly-owned subsidiary of EDUCATION MANAGEMENT HOLDINGS, LLC,
    which is wholly-owned by EDUCATION MANAGEMENT CORPORATION; ARGOSY UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA, INC.; ARGOSY EDUCATION GROUP, INC.;

    MELANIE STORMS, Psy.D; JAMES HARLOW, Psy.D; JEANNE PETERSON, Psy.D; KATHIE BATES, Ph.D;
    KATHERINE McKay, Ph.D; KRISTEN HUDACEK, Psy.D; CRAIG SWENSON, Ph.D; and MICHAEL FALOTICO, Psy.D.
    Defendants.

    From: The Hamel Family
    Although we remain convinced that our daughter was not treated fairly by Argosy University Tampa, after considerable time, expense, and effort, we have been unable to document or uncover any pattern of abuse of students or other wrongful conduct on the part of the Tampa campus or the University as a whole. Although our daughter's experience was not a positive one, it appears that her experience was not typical, and we apologize if we dissuaded any potential students from considering Argosy based on our postings to this site.

    1 Votes
  • Oh my Argosy University Tampa. Unbelivalbe! I have completed my academic program and was informed I did not pass my Comp. I was sent a certified letter with a list of concerns. ( trumped up)

    1. Did not response to emails timely
    2. Professional conduct problems
    3. Did not follow instruction.

    All of this occurred within in 4 months after I finished my last class and prior to field work. I never received not 1 complaint from any professor during my 2 years in the MFT program. However, all of a sudden, I became unprofessional by the chair person and this assessments prevented me from graduating. However, to avoid further difficulty, I withdrew before the scheduled meetings to prevent a dismissal from appearing on my transcript. If anyone files another class action lawsuit please contact me.
    The Argosy plan is to get your money and prevent you from graduating by trumping up all kinds of complaints. Even Steve Wonder and Ray Charles can see through this! For those who are victims- remember vengeance is God and he will repay. It’s just a matter of time! Patience!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Mi
    Misty Young 1981 Jun 16, 2011

    I agree! I hate Argosy University with a vengeance. I too am looking into a lawsuit! I was recruited vicously by there recrutiors who were given commisions for recruiting me, I was told the program would cost me 23, 000 dollars yet I have paid over 54, 000 dollars for a 32 hour masters. Additionally I was givin the grade of an F on my transcripts, when the teacher gave me a B, and I had a B at the end of the class. Argosy acknowledged that they had made a mistake, but has yet to correct the grade. It has been six months. I cannot use my transcripts, they are worthless with the F on it, and I have not been able to find gainful employment utilizing my degree due to this mishap. Argosy University is still billing me for classes, even though I am no longer a student there! Unbelievable!!! Misty

    0 Votes
  • Se
    sensationalgirl Jun 21, 2011

    Thank goodness people are posting so others do not waste their time and money at Argosy. Tampa Campus Clinical psy program is a joke. I was dismissed because I had a death in the family!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    han0617 Oct 22, 2011

    This business is fraudulent! I attended for several years in pursuit of my PsyD, only to leave the program with an MA and over $150, 00 in debt. I enrolled in the PsyD program a year after completing my BS in psychology. After completing 4 years at Argosy, I was placed on academic withdrawal because I earned a C 3 times in the same scientific inquiry class. After being readmitted, I was told that I had to re-take 2 years worth of classes that had "timed out." I re-enrolled, took the necessary classes, passed my comprehensive exam, and spent 2 years applying for internships. I had approximately 13 interviews in 2 years (a very lengthy competitive process) and was not placed at a site. I was also placed on administrative withdrawal twice because of my inability to afford to pay tuition out of pocket. I have called and emailed asking for assistance with financial aid to get me through the last phase of my academic career, however, I've been told to check out additional loans. As I previously informed Argosy staff, I do not qualify for loans, thus, they have been sending me in circles in my search for financial assistance in the form of scholarships and grants. Now I'm completely broke and was recently told via email that I cannot re-enroll for "reasons I am aware of." My GPA was high, I had glowing letters of recommendation, and was well-received by peers and many professors. I put a lot of time, money, and energy into my education. I feel betrayed and disgusted when I think of the multiple responsibilities and roles I have juggled and the sacrifices made in order to enroll, maintain a 3.6 GPA, and graduate.
    Needless to say, my interest and passion for the field has been tested and I now wish I had taken a different path after graduating from high school.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angies3grown Nov 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just left the Art Institute of Pittsburgh online, talked and filled out many applications for online universities and colleges that offered degrees in the field I am exploring. Argosy University was one of the many. Well, one evening two weeks ago Argosy called and stated they needed to give me a tour, but to my surprise I was supposed to enter class that day. In an effort to get them off the phone I told them I had to discuss this with my fiance. They telephoned me early the next day and I told them "NO, I never said I was going to attend here" and I hang up the phone. They called right back and my fiance hung up the phone. When they called for the third time I let it go to voice*mail and was appalled at what I was hearing. They stated "We have your personal information on file and you need to call us to let us know what to do with the data." To me that sounds like a threat, so I filed a complaint online at the Consumer Affairs website where many were also discussing their experience with Argosy. Argosy is (in my opinion) a bully toward potential students that they desire, and they are affiliated with the Art Institute which I left so why would I even consider them as an option. I must have been out of my mind during my conversations with that university. I just hope that it doesn't happen to another unsuspecting victim because I pray they perform more extensive research than I did.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Argosy sucks Dec 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Argosy university set students up for failure. Argsoy has waited until 1 day before my completion date to let me knowthat Im missing .32 credits. I have walked across the stage and even started filing out application stating I will receive my degree in a few weeks. Argosy sucks and something need to be done about this crappy school

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Brooking Jul 17, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Argosy sucks Please excuse my writing,

    I agree with you whole heartily...even though is a very good college if one wants to learn and attained they've learn. Anyways, I was enrolled 2/half years almost half completion receiving BS Degree when professor informed I have plagiarized a course which gave me failed grade--which I explained mean...It just want to get my point factual evidence along properly cited my research materials with references. Argosy professor does not care a student well being. I had incident letter on my school which I withdrawal from the business program. Argosy does offers nor encourages completing studies successfully, instead it leave one astronautically critically in debt.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.