American Freightscam and cheating!

L
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I have an ongoing complaint with this Company and I am about at my wits end in trying to resolve it, my next step... Lawyer. Ok, I went in the store in Cincinnati Ohio and bought a Bedroom Set, this is in March of 2006, they told me they needed to order it and it would take up to 4 weeks, no problem, well 4 weeks later I called and they told me they are having problems with the manufacturer and they can't get that specific set anymore, well to find out, it wasn't the manufacturer at all, it was American Freight not paying their bills to them, (I was told by a Saleman), so I drove 40 minutes and was told to pick out another Set, my husband was livid might I add, and they were bending over backwards to try to calm him, we got not one phone call from them telling us the problem, I had to call, he wanted our money back and they said they couldn't do it because it was past 30 days... (if I would have known that I would have called sooner) I picked out another Set much more expensive and the Manager said for all the trouble I will eat the difference, (we had payed for the other set in full.) We said ok, it was a little bit better quality.

Problem solved, we got a deal... hardly... again, had to have it ordered but this time from a different manufacturer, and this Set was a popular item, he said they get Deliveries every week and he would take someone's else's order so we could get ours faster...? (Thought that was strange) he said the other order was one that was going into Lay-away and he would just order another for the other order, that made me feel better.

Well, 2 weeks later, no calls, I called again, what is the problem? "Oh, we have it here, I will have a Delivery person call to set you up with a Delivery Date." Ok, now I am getting somewhere... hardly... After several phone calls again, 2 weeks later a subcontracted Delivery company called me to get directions and it was coming in 2 days! Yes! finally the end of this nightmare, beginning of May 2006 I finally get my furniture, but wait, "Where is all my hardware?" The Delivery Company forgot it. I had to drive 40 minutes back to the store and pick it up myself.

Well, as if I didn't learn my lesson the first time, I went back, ordered another Nightstand and the Chest that was not included in my Set, I was moving to Florida from Kentucky, thought I better get it before I leave. Went into store, talked with the SAME Manager, told him I was leaving in 2 weeks and I would pick them up the day I leave on a Sunday while I have a moving truck. He said he has them in the store already and would put them on Hold, payed in full, no problems. This is February of 2007, (they now opened a store in Kentucky close to my house), called 3 days before we were to leave, it was there ready to be picked up. All ready to leave, packed up the truck and headed to American Freight to pick up my 2 items... they weren't there, said they needed to order... talk about making a scene... I yelled to the customers in the store..."Please go somewhere else and purchase furniture... you are making a BIG mistake!" Manager wasn't happy... well, CUSTOMER wasn't either! I threw a fit and told them I wanted my money back NOW! He said let's figure this out calmly, we will have to issue you a check from Corporate and that will take weeks, "Are you moving close to Tampa?" I am about 60 miles South I told him, he said "No problem" I will call the Tampa store, transfer them your money and tell the Manger there, order it, and have someone Delivery it and we will pay for it. After calming down I said "Fine".

Mindless to say, problems with the Tampa store also, it is now November of 2007... "I still don't have a Refund, or my Furniture." I am tired of all of this, called the Tampa store today and told them I was contacting a Lawyer and hung up. All of this for 1 Nightstand and 1 Dresser, told cost $400.oo. I hope they realize I am making them PAY for my Lawyer and interest on my money sitting in there bank account from January 2007 until November 2007, if not longer.

Please STAY AWAY FROM AMERICAN FREIGHT, please...
Thank You. Lori.

Responses

  • An
    Annie Fitzmaurice Aug 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    https://www.change.org/p/annie-fitzmaurice-please-file-small-claim-suits-against-american-freight-furniture-to-stop-being-ripped-off?recruiter=207101786&utm_source=share_for_starters&utm_medium=copyLink

    This is the petition I have just set up.I am sick to see how much this company has ripped people off and got away with it.And their customer service is despicable.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annie Fitzmaurice Aug 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    https://www.change.org/p/annie-fitzmaurice-please-file-small-claim-suits-against-american-freight-furniture-to-stop-being-ripped-off?recruiter=207101786&utm_source=share_for_starters&utm_medium=copyLink

    I have set up a petition after I seen that I wasn't the only one scammed by this company.I would like to present to as many offices as I can, starting with the Attorney Generals office.Please, stand together.If no one does anything, they continue to rip decent hard working people.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beth425 Jul 28, 2016

    We went into the Columbus East store right after getting a sales ad to look at the King size mattress sets and were told that the only ones in stock were several hundred dollars above the $500-$600 we planned on spending because all the ones on sale were “out of stock and would not be in for a few weeks. So I said to my husband “we’ll just get the recliner…” and the salesman quickly interrupted our conversation to rudely tell us that they were out of all the recliners to and they would take a week to get. I was taken back and “said you don’t have the recliners either? And the ad isn’t even three days old?” he rudely replied “Like I JUST TOLD YOU, they will take a week to get in!” The salesman not only looked and dressed with a serious lack of professionalism, his personal hygiene left quite a bit to be desired. My husband and I just left and do not plan to return to American Freight or any of its affiliates. By the way, the store website also requires you to give your e-mail and phone number in order to contact them with a complaint. I can see the name and maybe even the e-mail, but a phone number too. Not OK.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sandra isom Jun 16, 2016

    i have never shoped the above company before, so on 7/6/2011 at 7.48 i call both stores to ask about a sales
    paper that came in the mail i wanted some info inregards to bedroom sets if there were a package deal like the add in the paper for the livningroom sets, after i asked the staff member about the bedroom sets, she like made me feel like she was doing me a favor just by speaking with me. her tone was very rude lkie she
    could care less if she had my business or not, i then turn around and called the next store on 103rd thinking
    my be the other staff member had just had a bad day and just wanted to go home for the night. upon speaking with the staff member at next store he also was very rude he made me feel the way i have cards
    fpr other furnture companies, i just saw something in their add that i liked and just wanted to ask questions
    but with that type custromer service you can not get business that, i nolonger have thoughts of wanting to
    shop at any of the american freight stores in jacksonville, fla
    feel as though she was doing me a favor just by speaking with, very rude in her tone, so i thanked her for her help and turned around and called the other store on the

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelly Law Mar 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a sectional, that was supposed to be delivered on 3/13/16. I called them to confirm it and was told to expect the delivery on 3/23/16. Well, I just got off the phone with them. I was told it would be tomorrow and I told him that it was originally supposed to be on the 13th, and that is what we were told...and that we shouldn't have to wait for almost a month. I told him we're giving them until tomorrow 3/23. If it is not delivered, we will be demanding our money back. This store is in Amherst, NY.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Liz Terrell Aug 05, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well my name is mary and i would like to say that i really enjoyed my shopping at warehouse #72 and my sale rep. Rodney and the crew that was there on this day august 5 i went and got my king size bed. Everyone were so friendly and kind and respectful and i will go back again and will tell other to shop there #72 have really great worker and they make you matter and i just love rodney a great young man. You all will see me back soon keep the good work up!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Savedbythereviews Mar 06, 2015

    Oh my goodness! I just relocated to the Miami area and was going to go to American Freight to purchase new furniture for my home. I am so glad I came to this site and read all of the reviews. I will not waste my time nor money and will go to a more reputable and reliable company. I also find the "positive" comments for this company suspect and wonder if AF hired people to go on-line and post glowing reviews about their none existent service. Thanks to everyone for your reviews. I hate you all had to to go through what you did with this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    yayahb Feb 13, 2015

    Horrible horrible. I purchased a bedroom set for my kids on a Sunday and was told it would be delivered Monday before 8. Well Monday comes and nothing so we call and they say they are running behind but will still make it. OK so we waited. They end up arriving at 10 at night and with part of the order missing. So the supervisor says we are so sorry we will have your other dresser and bed out Tuesday morning. Tuesday comes and goes no delivery no call nothing. So Wednesday morning I call and am told someone will.call you back. No call back. Thursday I call and now very frustrated and am told well mame who did u talk to I'm like YOU!!! this the manager mind you. So he apologizes and says I am so sorry I dropped the ball you will have your furniture friday. Well Friday comes and nothing AGAIN. I call and ask to speak with manage and am told he is busy and he can return my call tomorrow morning, so I tell the guy I'm talking to like dude I'm pissed this is ridiculous. Explain the situation and am told you will have it tomorrow for sure. I am never doing business with them again. Would rather pay more for good quality and good service.
    .

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sar7139 Nov 25, 2014

    CORPRATE NUMBER # [protected]

    0 Votes
  • J4
    J419 Apr 04, 2014

    I was going to buy a bedroom outfit from AF in the morning as a gift but after reading how crappy this store REALLY is I will be taking my business elsewhere! Thanks for the heads up.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    milwaukee girl Sep 14, 2012

    American freight is awesome. I bought my king size simmons mattress there as well as my daughters twin mattress set. They gave me a great deal that i would have never gotten anywhere else. It was delivered that very night. Their commercial may not be the best but you sure do remember them> thats the point of a commercial right?? Their prices are awesome for brand name furniture and I will surely be buying from them again. With a company that is so busy there is bound to be some bad reviews and some mistakes made but it will happen anywhere. If you are looking for furniture that is not going to break the bank i highly suggest American Freight.

    -1 Votes
  • Wb
    W. Brutus Apr 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I dont know about the American Freights but this review is for the one in West Palm Beach, Fl on Military Trl. I purchased my daughters Sweet Dreams bedroom set Feb. 9, 2012 and went to go and pick it up Feb10. 2012 (after renting a truck) I was told to pull around back and when I did there was no bedroom set it was sold to somebody else! I was so upset they put a rush on it and said it would be delivered in 2 wks or less that was a lie, those 2 wks turned into 2 mths and 4 days! When it finally was delivered to the store no one called me to let me know it was there I had to keep going every week to check, I was told someone would call me and they never did finally the furniture is delivered I pay the delivery fee after losing my money from renting the truck and to make it worse they wanted me to pay extra to assemble it after all they put me through. The sales reps are very rude the Manager is always on his cellphone doing his own thing and I would never ever recommend this place to anyone I know this place is horrible!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary Weber Apr 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here in MI. went to newly opened store for a mattress for which I call the evening before to make sure it was in stock for which the replay of the Manager Peter was" sure we have plenty!" Arrived @ 6:00 pm to be told by the sales person, "we must have sold out today?"
    Keep in mind I was the only person in the store other than the stores personal at this time, ask just what they had in stock looking around the warehouse to see stacks of beds 100's in plain view, he checked and said the next set up in stock was available at $77 add'l each piece. I asked for the manager Peter and his response was " I spoke to many people the night before, and could not remember our conversation even though I spoke to him 15 mins prior to their closing the night before.
    Very UN-professional and Clearly the old Bait & Switch to get you in and then expect you to accept what they say they have in stock.
    I asked then if I was to purchase the more expensive set what would he throw in as an incentive for the shortage, his replay "nothing"
    Please Be Aware and I have also alerted our state BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jazzie1 Oct 31, 2011

    Sorry about the spellings. New android. American Freight. Is The company. And I am still waiting on my refund.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jazzie1 Oct 31, 2011

    I order some furniture, paid it off. The delivery was horrible. The customer.
    Service was horrible from this man on the weekend. Monday I wanted. My back. The contract said as long as it's 10 days. It was only 3 days. And he gave me a # that was just an recording. This was from The Livonia Michigan store.

    0 Votes
  • I think everyone on this complaint board should gather around and contact the better business bureau. Provide all of your evidence and shut this place down. My fiance was looking at their furniture online (because she seen a commercial on tv) and wanted to visit their store this sunday for their (weekend only sale.) I had never seen/heard of this company before so I did some research and found this site and many others. I'm very happy I read these complaints before we went shopping for new furniture. We are 2 college students about to move to Atlanta for law/med school and really couldn't afford to be screwed over by anyone. Thank all of you! The good comments were definitely from workers of the company. I love how they tried to make themselves sound like average customers by creating paragraphs full of grammar/ spelling errors. What a bunch of losers. CALL/EMAIL THE BBB!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pattty GG Apr 27, 2011

    I am also having serious problems getting my money back for furniture I did not recieve and I am getting very angry...Never deal with these people...Not sure what my next step will be, probably a lawyer...

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carrie2124 Apr 05, 2011

    I hate American Freight. I have got nothing but crap since we got our section. The people are rude, the deliveries are not same day and you are lucky if you get it within 2 days. I tried to get a refund because they ripped our sectional when they were delivering it and it has been 25 days since then and I have called twice to get it replaced and I keep getting a delivery date but they never bring it. And they don't give refunds once a piece has been delivered even if they mess it up and take forever to deliver it. They have tomorrow to deliver it like they said then I am calling my lawyer and I will get more then what I paid for the item.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    bratney Apr 01, 2011

    same situation, been a monthand no furniture and now they are telling me I cant get a refund!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    APRILMAYBIRD Mar 23, 2011

    I KNOW YOUR PAIN PEOPLE, THE AMERICAN FREIGHT FURNITURE STORE IN FLORENCE, KY HAVE BEEN GIVING ME THE RUN AROUND FOR 2 MOS AND NOW THEY DONT HAVE MY REFUND CHECK, SO I CALLED THE CORPORATE OFFICE AND SPOKE TO "SUSAN" AND SHE SAID SHE WILL LOOK INTO THIS. (I AM CALLING OUR LOCAL NEWS SO THAT THEY CAN INVESTIGATE THIS COMPANY AND MAYBE STOP THE SCAMS. GOOD LUCK IN GETTING YOUR MONEY BACK, OR FURNITURE. THE CORPORATE OFFICE PHONE NUMBER IS [protected] ASK FOR "SUSAN"

    FLORENCE, KENTUCKY
    AML

    0 Votes
  • Db
    dbtmh Mar 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I work in the warehouse position in a store n Ohio and I HIGHLY recommend nobody purchase furniture from this franchise...extremely crooked salesman...false advertising...extremely unorganized...the salesman sell things off the floor without the customers that are buying it knowing it came off the floor...and if it has scratches or scuffs they make us color it in with markers or whatevers necessary to make it look decent...very poorly made furniture that wears rapidly...just an all around horrible excuse of a business...no heat or ac in the place I work...get called in to unload trucks and if the trucks not there we have to sit around and wait for the truck and were even not allowed to clock in and work...its very hard having a life working for these penny pinching [censor]

    1 Votes
  • Wh
    where_is_my_furniture Feb 27, 2011

    I brought my daughter in to American Freight on Morse Road in Columbus, Oh on Saturday, February 26, 2011 to purchase her very first piece of furniture for her apartment. While we were shopping, one of the salesmen at the counter had asked the manager to assist him with a customer refund. The manager yelled at this salesperson in front of maybe 50 customers. Wanting to know why did the customer want a refund. The salesman stated that he did not have authorization to issue the refund, but the manager continued to yell at him then walked away with another customer through the warehouse. The salespersons was left completely dumbfounded...we actually felt bad for the way he was treated, and instead of asking him for help, we wrote down the model numbers of the furniture we wanted. He still had a hard time gathering himself while we were trying to check out. Long story short, the salesperson did tell us that the furniture we wanted was out of stock and we would not get it for another month or two...so we elected on our second choice, which was in stock and of course cost us more. We also elected to have it delivered instead of trying to find someone to help us. Before leaving the store, we asked how long before the furniture was to be delivered so that we were sure to be there. He said to expect a call within an hour to an hour and a half from the delivery driver.
    THEY NEVER TOLD US UNTIL THE NEXT DAY THAT THE DELIVERY DRIVERS WERE NOT EMPLOYED BY THEM, THEY ARE INDEPENDENT DRIVERS !
    It is now 1:30 pm Sunday the 27th of February 2011. We still HAVE NO FURNITURE !! I have called and complained to AF, and this is when I have learned that the delivery drivers are not employed by them. The manger yelled at me on the phone complaining that it is tax season and there is nothing they can do to help me locate my newly purchased furniture !!! So I asked, does that mean my furniture could possibly be considered stolen merchandise. I go into your store, pay for merchandise and then do not receive it !!!
    He gave me 2 phone numbers of independent contractors and told me to call them and find out who has my merchandise on their truck. I do call and the first number was the guy who had our delivery, however he states that it is at the store !!
    I am not understanding this at all... I buy merchandise, the store says the furniture is on the truck, and the delivery guys say the furniture is at the store... maybe I should just call the police and report it stolen !!!

    DO NOT SHOP AMERICAN FREIGHT... FROM ANYWHERE... CHEAP PRICES BRING YOUR CHEAP SERVICE !!! lying low balling ... rip off artists !

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    ajackson2603 Feb 25, 2011

    I go to American Freight in Terre Haute Indiana to purchase a sectional couch and ottoman.I find the perfect couch and ottoman that i wanted and go to register to pay for couch I paid 1200.00 for it and tell the guy I want to pick it up instead of paying 100.00 for them to deliver it to me he says ok. they only had 6 in stock and he said he would hold back the couch and the ottoman for me until i could pick on Saturday the 19th of Feb. Saturday rolls around and I call American Freight to let them know what time i was coming to pick up couch and ottoman and to have them spray pretreater on furniture as well and the salesperson says ok. I live 30 minutes away and i was meeting my mom and stepdad to pick up furniture and i get all the way to the place and they tell me they dont have it in stock they sold my couch right out from underneath me and the couch they was going to give me was all busted up on the sides i was pissed off. Needless to say i ripped them a new one and so did my mom cause i wasted gas and time that i didnt have to pick up couch and they said they are having a shipment coming in Wednesday Feb 23 2011 and they would deliver it to me for free so that made me tiny bit happy. Well tuesday i call them to confirm that they will deliver my couch to me and that they had it in stock and the salesperson assured me that they did so wednesday rolls around and i rearrange my living room to wait for furniture to be delivered. I waited till 430pm before i finally called them and demanded to know where the heck was my furniture and the guy says that all their people was on their way to Indianapolis IN and probably wouldnt be able to deliver my couch as promised. I went off on the guy and so did my husband and the sad part was the guy acted like he was used to getting calls from customers that was mad.Well finally at 700 PM the guy from american freight calls and says that they will deliver my couch and then finally at 900 pm i got my couch.The only good thing about it at least the delivery people were nice cause they was a contracted company that was hired for american freight so they werent actually from american freight but the employees were very rude and I will never shop there ever again i have learned my lesson and advise anyone thinking of going there DONT stay away...Dont say you werent warned...Horrible customer service and its anywhere american freight is located they must teach poor customer service and that the customer is never right when they hire employees. Worst Experience ever!!!Upside I love my couch even though i couldnt sit on it for two days cause they purposely sprayed a crap load of pretreater on it...Once again stay away...

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    Keri - T Sep 09, 2010

    I bet the persons posting that they've had a good experience were actually paid to do so. I just purchased something from the Ft. Lauderdale office and it is by far the WORST experience of my life!!! The manager was totally unprofessional - customer service sucked to the T! They delivered the things and left it in the boxes. I was quoted a price which included taxes, then a price for delivery. The guy gave me the total which naturally would have included the delivery fee seeing that it was higher that the price quoted. When they delivered the items he told me I had to pay delivery. I was totally shocked but paid anyway. When I called in to get an explanation I was told it says it on the bill - you know, the fine prints. When asked why I paid more than the quoted price there was no answer. The first price quote included a chest for $234.00, however, I ended up paying $298 for it. Ironically, we had a conversation while he was trying to convince me to buy the merchandise, where he told me the chest was actually @298.00 weeks before I came in but it has since dropped to $234.00 so I was getting a deal. These people are the worst con-artist I've ever had to deal with and I will make sure people know about them! I told the guy (less than 2 hours after purchasing the goods) if this is the case I do not want the merchandise because you guys are misleading people. His response was again - well its at the bottom of the receipt (the fine prints) all sales are final. I said I just purchased the merchandise. I should have stopped the payment through my bank.

    I'll never purchase anything from this place again!!!

    0 Votes
  • As
    asli Aug 26, 2010

    american freight was the best place for me to gat furniture i love the people that work thear thay r fun i will buy more from tham in time i tell my frainds all about tham...

    -1 Votes
  • Pi
    PickleMyElmo Aug 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wouldn't waste my time dealing with the hood rats running the Marietta, GA store either. We didn't have any problems getting the furniture we bought. However, we unloaded it at our new house we were moving into and left it in the garage for a few days until the carpets were cleaned inside. When we took the plastic off the loveseat we noticed that it looked like something was trying to poke out of the fabric on the backside. After several phone calls (and days), some guys showed up (they were actually pretty nice) but could not fix the wood support that had come loose because it would supposedly be too difficult to reach withoug taking off the entire back of the loveseat. Well, we were told to expect a call from the manager (who also sold us the furniture we purchased) which never came. My wife ended up calling them and in the end we were accused of breaking the loveseat ourselves. I thought this was just him shifting blame and being a jerkoff of a manager, but after reading reviews on this company it sounds like his attitude is par for the course. He offered to have us bring it in but after all the horror stories I have read, I decided against it, for fear I might never get it back. It took me about four minutes with a power drill and a wood screw to fix the thing myself. All I did was pull back the bottom cover (not the entire backside of the loveseat, but the flimsy stapled one on the bottom of most living room furniture), drive the screw in, and staple back the bottom cover. I noticed also that the legs on the couch did not look like the original and were barely screwed on. It looked like they were put on in a hurry and the wood screws were only drilled in about a quarter of the way so I had to fix that on not only all four legs of my loveseat but all four legs of the couch we got there too. No more buying furniture from a bunch of thugs for me. AVOID THE MARIETTA GA STORE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chupe911 Jul 19, 2010

    WOW, if only I had researched this company first. They are HORRIBLE and reading the complaints that now confirms that. I ordered my bedroom set May 5th. It is now JULY 19th!!! First they told me id get it in 10 days, then after 2 weeks I CALLED THEM because they never bothered to call me. I get "oh yes, the manufactuer is on backorder and it will take about a week to get your items in. At that point I was like ok fine, they also stated they would call me to let me know. GUESS WHAT? NO PHONE CALL. So after another week I call them. This is the response I get..."sorry the manufactuer was on back order, but we made sure your two Night stands were ordered" WHAT??? I DIDNT ORDER NIGHTSTANDS...I paid 1467.00 on a 5 piece Bedroom SET. Then im told "we will make that correction asap and get your items in as soon as possible" After playing this game for 2 months I had HAD IT. They finally called stating my stuff was in, I made an appointment for them to deliver my items on July 9th. I took off work, stayed home all day and my phone was on. GUESS WHAT? NO ONE showed up!!! I called Sat. stating I was coming in with my reciept and wanted a FULL refund. the first guy I spoke too said he was really "sorry" that happened, not sure why they never delivered. THEN his UNPROFESSIONAL manager gets on the phone and states they tried to call me and my voicemail box was full. I TOLD HER that was the biggest piece of CRAP I have ever heard. My phone was on me the entire DAY, no missed calls, AND my voice mail box was NOT full, never has been in the 8 years ive had my phone. That was a LIE!!! She then told me id be wasting my time coming into there place for a refund because its their policy they dont give refunds. I even stated "for YOUR FAULT you dont give refunds?" I asked for district manager and she again said you will be wasting your time calling her she will tell you the same thing. I have NEVER been SOO upset. I contacted the BBB right away filed a complaint. I learned they recieved this compliant Yesterday. SO WHAT HAPPENED TODAY???? they just SHOW UP unexpected to my house trying to deliver my furniture. I was asleep because i work the night shift. They told the Delivery guys to bring it to me without even telling me. I was NOT prepared, I didnt have cash to even pay for the delivery guy!!! So they want to bring my stuff tomorrow but this is SUCH an invoncience to me as noon time Im dead asleep from working the night shift. UGH! THEY are the WORST company EVER to deal with!!! Fort wayne, IN

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wendy KEY Jun 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    date told of delivery of furniture by district/general maneager also product being set up by delivery man. manager/said glass was not in but had glass that she said i would like, didn't come on delivery. all this was said n done in a timely matter of short of 5 weeks.

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    QueenV33 May 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently ordered a bedroom set from American Freight and I must say I will never get anything from there again. After I paid in full for my furniture it took them another 3 weeks to deliver only part of the set and I was told the rest of my furniture would be in the following week. Well a week went past so I let it go..I received no phone calls on the status. So I call them the following week and check the status and they tell me they have the rest of it in and they would get it out to me in a few days. Well a few days passed and still no word...so I call again asking where the rest of my furniture is and they just give me the run around so I ask to talk to a manager but of course there was no manager available. I called numerous times and still I get the run around so after calling what it felt like 100 times I get a phone call from one of the drivers that they had my stuff and would be at my place later on that evening so I was ok with that but still very frustrated. Well i waited around and I get a call from the drivers that they are running behind and they would deliver it the next morning. Well they didn't show up the next morning let alone for the next week and a half after numerous calls to the American Freight (which by the way is located on W.Broad St in Columbus OH) and still getting the run around or having their workers say they will call me back when they never did. SO I finally decided to go in and talk to them and their Area Manager Sean was actually working that day and he seemed to act like he was going to help and I came to find out my furniture was on "backorder" which I'm sure they tell everybody that doesn't get their furniture after months but thats besides the point...but he told me they would have it to me the following week. Well he ended up calling me and telling me that they actually had the rest in stock and he could have someone deliver it the next day...well I'm sure you all know what happened..no phones calls and no delivery of the rest of my furniture. So I called them the day after they were supposed to deliver to see what happened and the said they had been trying to get ahold of me for weeks and have came to my place on numerous occassions to deliver the rest of my furniture and they didnt understand the problem..haha...well I demanded to get their corporate number and of course John who works on W.Broad St played dumb like he didn't know it so he told me where I could find Sean their Area Manager. Well luckily I had Sean's card and I called his cell phone and his voicemail was full..which to me meant he probably has numerous complaints from multiple people. As I was hanging up the phone I get a call from one of the drivers and they said they had my furniture and they would be in the area that night but it would be late so I told him to deliver it the next morning and he said ok great we don't open until 12 but since he already had my stuff on the truck he would do me a favor and deliver first thing in the morning by 10 AM...well I waited until 10 and no one shows up so I go to run errands and he calls me @ 12 and tells me he's outside my house to I rush home and he has my stuff and I tell him where to put it and we all live...the furniture was still in the box and when I get home to get my dresser out it is cracked and look was beat up a little bit..it looked like it could of been a display at one of the stores...I call immediately and they question me likes it my fault and they tell me they will have somebody switch me out on tuesday...well we will see and I am actually in the process of trying to find a lawyer because AMERICAN FREIGHT is a SCAM!!! I have spent $700 on my bedroom suite and I want my money back...I haven't even used the furniture that I bought yet because the drawers are not level and uneven so I am still waiting for them to come out and look @ that too! PLEASE DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THERE!!! AND IF YOU WORK WITH A JOHN, JESSICA, or SEAN from AMERICAN FREIGHT in Columbus, OH they will LIE right to your FACE! I was misled from them and I want to find out how to get ahold of corporate and who is the best lawyer I can get to pursue this.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tawanda Gay1 May 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I requested a refund from American Freight because I have been waiting for 3 weeks for the merchandise and the merchandise I received was not worth the money I paid for it.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jorge Ramirez May 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here in Grand Rapid MI they have done the same to me pay in full deliver an all and the sale person keep the deliver money and dont wanted to gime my noney back since I way for 3 week late and refuse to honore what they promise to customer and to others keep away from this so call compay and Juan Gonzales the so call sale person(scam artists)

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MROSE84 Apr 28, 2010

    This place is absoutely awful. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE. The Indianapolis location has no idea how to provide satisfactory customer service. The bedroom set I had delivered was damaged, and so was the second set that they sent to replace it. I called and they made me come in to the store to look at the other sets that they had in stock and they were just as bad. The employee was more worried about emphasizing that "I bought a cheap set" than he was in helping me. I ended up having them refund my credit card for the furniture, but I was SOL for the $50 I paid for the delivery. They said that they couldn't reimburse me for the delivery because they contracted it out! Overall, they promised and didn't deliver. Spend a couple extra bucks if you can, and go somewhere else. Value City was happy to have me!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    RippedOffGirl Apr 10, 2010

    Alicia - That is BS!! I would definitely SUE. They can't jack you around like that and they should have given you your money back because you shouldn't have to wait this long for your product!!

    Dante - VERY lucky for you to actually get your money back from this place! They rarely do that. Like in Alicia's story, "once you pay for something it's yours". That is awful what they did to you!

    I bought a bed there and after haggling and haggling to get the price down just a little, they wouldn't budge! They USED to let you haggle with them, or make offers, or they would give you a discount if you bought 3 or 4 pieces of furniture together. I asked if I bought my bed, mattress set, and dresser with mirror, would they throw in the night-stand? NO NO NO. The guy wouldn't budge. Whatever. I ended up only buying the mattress set, they could have made so much money off me that day too because I just got my tax refund but they didn't.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dante` Mar 27, 2010

    I put mu furniture on layaway about 8 months ago. I paid if off just last week March 25th, and went pick it up on March 26th. The delivery guy brought my furniture out in dirty plastic. I pulled the plastic off to find that is was the floor display. The sofa was stinky and smelly, there were spots on the cushions. I looked under the cushion and found dirt and hair. I asked the delivery guy what the hell was going on? This came from the floor. He insisted that it didn't. I went back inside and demanded a full refund. One of the sales scums tried to offer me a discount of $300. I told him I was only interested in my refund. I finally spoke with the manager (after he had brushed me off to my original sales ###, who never acknowledged me) and told him that I a refund (he asked why, as if he didn't know). He began processing my refund, only to say to me at the end, "if you want I can order you a new one"!... What the F***... I said, "that's what you were suppose to do anyway", no I want a refund. What a bunch of shyt. I will never shop there again.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CHYNASHYNE Mar 11, 2010

    I agree im in litigation with them currently please let me know your out come. Or if you need any info.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    JASSON310 Mar 08, 2010

    I WILL LIKE TO PUT THEM ON THE HALL OF SHAME THEY WANT GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK THEY WANT TO SEND A CHECK I TOLD THEM I DIDNT GIVE YALL NO CHECK SO GIVE ME MY CASH BACK IM STILL WAITING SO NOW IM WAITING ON THE NEWS TO CALL ME BACK TO PUT THEM ON THE SPOT I TIRED OF THESE SCAMMER WHO WITH ME ON THIS WE CAN DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS IF U WANT

    0 Votes
  • No
    none of your effin business Mar 04, 2010

    Owner and CEO Steve Belford out of Mansfield, OH. phone #- [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ts
    T SAM Jan 29, 2010

    Thanks in advance I was going to get some bedroom furniture I'm staying away BIG THANK YOU!!!

    1 Votes
  • Po
    POED in florida Jan 15, 2010

    American Freight is the old nationwide warehouse...owned by the same ###.they scam their suppliers and customers and tax payers...then they claim bankruptcy and change their name...they rip off all the customers..dont pay their bills for their stock...bait and switch tactics in advertising..crummy furniture also.absolutely the worst, unethical furniture store you could ever shop at...or work for...please take my advice...DO NOT WASTE YOU MONEY!!You may not get your furniture and you surely will not get your money back...YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!...

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Carnegie Sep 11, 2009

    We will never deal with American Freight again! Had a terrible experience there. Purchased about $900 worth of furniture. When they delivered it, one of the pieces had not yet come in. They tried to get us to take a "similar style" replacement piece (which was actually very dissimilar). We told them no, that we would wait until the piece we ordered comes in and pick it up at the store ourselves. They then told us they were no longer carrying that item, so we said that we would just take a refund and purchase the item somewhere else that carried the style we wanted. They told us that's fine, wrote on the paperwork that we would be getting a refund (of around $100), and that we should get a check in 4-6 weeks.

    After 6 weeks, the real disaster began. When we called the store to explain the situation, and that we still hadn't received the refund, they told us we should be getting it within the week. When it still didn't arrive, we called the store again, and were told that we had to deal with the district manager; our phone calls to the district manager weren't returned; I called the store (and other stores) to try to get a phone number for their headquarters, and they said they weren't allowed to give it out. I finally (after about two more weeks) went online, discovered all the complaints that others had with this company (and also found the phone number for their headquarters), and called the headquarters. After initially getting blown off, I told them that I would be contacting my attorney and/or the local news media (to possibly run a story on this sham company) if I didn't have the refund check by the end of the week. The lady then promised I would have it by Friday, but that I'd have to pick it up in the store. Went to the store on Friday and...no check yet. They made a phone call, and said that it would be in the next day. It finally did arrive, but 4 weeks late, and only after numerous frustrating phone calls, messages left, and a threat to file legal action and to contact the news media. BEWARE: DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM AMERICAN FREIGHT FURNITURE!!

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.