Yak Communications / Distributel Communications Logo

Yak Communications / Distributel Communications

Having problems with Yak Communications / Distributel Communications?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

801-3300 Bloor St. West
Toronto, Ontario
Canada - M8X2X2
Mon8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tue8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wed8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thu8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Fri8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Sat9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Complaints & Reviews

crooked company in business by deception

Cancelled my service with Yak because well they refuse to deactivate call waiting and customer service was atrocious. Had my number ported out to another company april 12 2016. They have informed me because I did not call their company after port out was complete I am being billed for a month I never used service. Will be finding out my legal recourse, you cannot get money from someone for an account you don't even have the number for.

blames you for their problems

Yak made me take 2 vacation days off work to wait for their technician... just to be told that they've moved the date to another day or cancelled entirely.

The first time, after waiting 3 hours at a house that is under renovations, I called YAK to ask about their tech and when he would arrive.
I was told by the CS rep that the tech cancelled and that I should have called in to ask if their tech was going to come today (no attempt at calling me to let me know as well as blaming me for the lack of communications). I rescheduled for 2 weeks later where I took another vacation to sit at an empty house waiting for a tech that never showed. This time I called them after 30 mins and was told again that the tech wasn't going to show (didn't bother to tell me AGAIN) and was rescheduled for the 3rd time. Its been over a month since I asked for service to be installed and now the pricing and bandwidth changed from when I had asked for it to new prices that are almost as high as Shaw/Telus.

Terrible service. I will be cancelling after the first month as I've received $5 credit for my troubles (they won't refund the modem if I cancel so might as well take the $5) and going with a company that isn't a joke.

terminated my service

I signed up with Yak Communications in Jan/Feb 2014. Like many reviews I have read, I was put on hold for a very lengthy period of time and email communication was the worst. They rarely answer my emails and/or got back to me. It took them about to answer my emails if they even did get back to me. I would often call to inform them that my VOIP was not working and at times I was weeks without service and it seems that they just did not care. I was counting on them when I was travelling overseas and making call back home but to my surprise, they did not much to assist me. Eventually, Yak decided when things got too hard for them to handle to my issues and/or could not find a solution and/or help me, to terminate my service. I was upset at first until I found another VOIP company that it working great and the staff do help you and replied to your email within 24 hours or less and they really want your system to work. Such a huge difference. I would not recommend Yak Communications to nobody and if you, can stay away from them. Extremely bad customer service, long waiting period to talk to someone and will not return calls/emails.

poor service and tech dept revenge

my 10meg internet service was disconnected 3 weeks ago. My Yak phone still worked, but tech department...

bad service

I signed up with Yak back in Oct 2008. I didn't get my first bill for 2 months. That was no big deal, I thought that is how it was done. Then from Dec 2008 to Feb 2009 I didn't receive any invoices or emails of my balance owing. I started getting calls for suspension, so I called and asked what was going on. They told me that I didn't pay my bill so I was getting suspended.

I explained I hadn't received any bills or emails stating I owed. When they finally looked it up on the computer they realized that one screen said paper invoice and the other said email.

It was their error. The lady I talked to told me I could pay one month's invoice at a time considering I am living pay check to pay check. They cut my internet anyway and they told me when I called back that the girl I talked to was fired because she told me false information.
I ended up paying $184 out of my kids mouth.

Things were going pretty good up until this weekend when they didn't cut my internet or my long distance, they cut my phone completely. We called Yak from our cell and they told us that we owed a whopping $70.77 and that until we paid it plus the $25 reactivation fee we couldn't get it back on. My husband went online and paid $95.77 right then. The operator told us it would be back on within 24 hrs. Canada Day came and went and still no phone even though the payment had been posted. I called back on Thurs to find out why my phone wasn't working, guess what...according to Yak even though you make a payment if you are suspended you now need a credit card to get reconnected!!!

I don't own a credit card and my husband has one but it is maxed!

How many other people in this country don't have credit cards? I never received any notice of this new policy whether by email or message or paper notice.

So I have now cancelled all services with Yak because they wanted to charge us another hundred dollars for disconnect and reconnect fees.
I hope something can be done about Yak and their policies. I emailed their CEO and am not expecting any action.

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

they had no legal right...

Since the very 1st day that I signed up with Yak I've had nothing but trouble. First I was supposed to be connected withing 24hrs of signing up. That never happened. Finally about 2 weeks later they sent an e-mail saying my services had been set up. I had to wait another 4 days for it to be up and running. Everything seemed to be going ok after that, until the end of the 1st month when they tried to withdraw almost $40 over the price originally quoted to me at sign up. They never sent me the confirmation before taking the cash from the account so I didn't know I was going to need more cash. I only had enough in the account to cover what they had quoted me, so the payment bounced and I got a NSF charge with my bank. I called yak to see what was going on and had to fight with them to get any kind of credit for the issue. I told them I wasn't going be able to pay until the end of the month and the CSR rep said that was fine. I paid the full bill on the day I said I would, but they cut it anyways after I payed. They started by cutting my long distance 2 days after I paid, then a day later the phone entirely, and then 4 days later the internet was also cut.
I tried calling them from a neighbors phone but they keep telling me it's not their problem. That the cancellation was put on my phone before I payed and that there would have been no way to reverse it. I asked to get reconnected since I have paid my bill and they keep telling me that I'm just [censored] out of luck and won't get reconnected!!! WTF?????
Companies like this need to be shut down and regulations and laws put in place to prevent such frauds from operating in Canada.
I am all in for a class action lawsuit if we can managed to get one going. In the meantime I've found a petition to get their business license revoked..

complete ripoff

The worst and most unhelpful company EVER.
I saw their ad for internet + homephone for 59.50$ without a contract and after some speculation decided to go with them. I tried to find reviews online but there were none so thought it's a company starting out and hence the promotional discounts.
Firstly, you never speak to the same person on the phone twice. Everytime you speak to someone, they give you wrong information and the next person you speak to admits that it is the wrong information but there is nothing you can do about it.
I was supposed to get my phoneline and internet setup at the end of the month (21st to be exact). I scheduled it a week before I started work as a call agent and hence needed the internet. Their technician comes in an hour late which is understandable and sets up the lines, check my landline, it doesn't work because yak has not activated it yet. When I inquired about the internet, he said that technicians dont deal with that and I need to speak to someone at yak over the phone.
Call yak and they tell me that I will have to wait a week for the phoneline and internet from the day the technician visits. Never was I told or heard about anything so ridiculous but I kept my cool thinking I'm saving and it's not a contract.
A week later, I get my landline setup but still no internet. Call again, they inform me that it takes atleast 6 business days since the landline is connected for the internet to be running. It's already been a week and half, I'm late for starting work and I still get no apology.
I finally decide to tell them that this is [censored] and I want to cancel my services. Rogers can get the internet running in 2 business days and I'm going to go with them
Oh but wait! I can't cancel my services now because the technician has already been to my place (contract)
They take a 120$ deposit and if i cancel anything, I can say goodbye to that money as well as get charged an addition 50$
After spending 2 hours on the phone, I get a month credited. But they charge me for 2 months in advance and send no invoice for the bill.
They take the money directly from my account without any sort of communication and add never before mentioned charges.
I finally decided that I rather lose the money than deal with this nonsense. So I pay my required fee + signon charges + shipping fees + taxes + pay to ship the modem back to them.
And I still do not get my deposit. Apparently, after having my services disconnected they can still charge me fees.
Now everytime I call yak, I either mysteriously get disconnected and can't for some reason, receive only their email which is supposed to explain what happened to the 120$ deposit plus 2xx$ in payments.
[censored] yak. The worst comapny hands down.
I rather get in a lifelong contract with any other telecomm company at 200$ a month than deal with Yak. Atleast I can SEE what they are charging me for and talk to some sort of customer service

DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY. I DO NOT KNOW HOW THEY ARE STILL IN BUSINESS or why they haven't been sued yet.

  • Ly
    Lyle Dean Sep 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Go to Vonage. They're very cheap. Their phone number is 1-866-243-4357.

    0 Votes

worst (company) I have ever dealt with

Stay far away from this so called company as it is just a huge irritating rip-off. I haven't dealt with them for over a year and was forced to pay a collection agency for services I did not receive just to get them off my back. Now I have been put into collection again for $251 because they I did not return their $2 modem which I certainly did. I sent it regular mail as I received it and they have lost it or are just scamming for more money.
I would love to be in a class action suite against them and sue them for at least $5000 for my time on the phone, services not rendered, aggravation and just having to deal with such an incompetent (company?) with their employees following suit in that regard.
I turn off the radio when I hear their advertisement and tell everyone I know what a terrible and just disgusting piece of work that they really are.
Run rabbit run>>>>>

negligence

Signed up for long distance savings plan from Yak. They sent the first bill by mail and then missed the next two. When I recieved an auto message for late payment, I called YAK immedicately and made arrangements for auto debit from my credit card plus electronic billings to ensure this never happended again.

They took the first payment and then lost my credit info. I have attempted over 20 times now to have this addressed. Finally, I sent a cheque registered mail to pay off the account via registered mail. They have had it for a month now, and have not cashed it.
I have called over 2 dozen times to speak to a manager as I am very concerned about the loss of my credit info and the cheque in their possession.

Not once, have they called me back. Instead, they continue to harass me regarding late payment.
I now have to pay to have the cheque cancelled and send a money order as I will not provide them any more financial information.
I have filed fraud complaint against YAK with the credit card company and other regulatory agencies including the better business bureau. Even though I have documentation to support my case, they refuse to even provide a call back.

Given all that has happened and thier continued lack of response, this company goes beyond unethical, negligent, and should not be allowed to operate in Canada.
I have since returned to my regular service provider. Even though the rates are higher, I am always assured of professional, ethical service.
I would not reccomend this company to anyone. In fact, given our experiences, I would discourage utilizing their service.

  • Cl
    CLASSACTION Dec 07, 2009

    I am GATHERING VICTIMS OF YAK COMMUNICATION IN ORDER TO SUBMIT TO LOCAL MASS MEDIAS, SUCH AS LOCAL BROADCASTS, NEWSPAPERS, other means of mass media in TORONTO GTA REGIONS. PLEASE REPLY THIS BOARD IF YOU ARE INTERESTED.

    i HAVE COME TO CONCLUSION THAT ONLY SOLUTION IS TO RAISE OUR VOICE TO BE HEARD TO MASS AUDIENCES.

    some of governmental institution ENABLE it because some assume Yak is cooperation this also is authority as well.

    I am also victim of Yak communication, which actually turned into fraud. For last 6 months, Yak communication neglected my request of cancellation and asking for unauthorized charges by abusive phone calls. I had reported to Police and Communication Network Commissioner.

    Both institution requires 20 days to investigate; therefore, Yak try to win you over the harassment calls and e-mails meanwhile, which likely victims turn to agree for authorized payment.

    THEN I THOUGHT - IF I HAVE BEEN USED YAK'S UNAUTHORIZED $30 CHARGE FOR SOME CHARITY INSTITUTION INSTEAD (LIKE WORLD VISION OR ARMY SALVATION), THE MONEY WOULD BE WELL SPENT INSTEAD OF THIS GREEDY COMPANY WHICH TREATS BADLY!!

    I FEEL ANGRY THAT SOCIETY MAKES YOU FEEL THIS IS YOUR PRIVATE CIVIL CASE, NOT PUBLIC CONCERN.

    I AM SUBMITTING THIS CONCERN TO CITY TV, ETC, IN THIS WEEK. PLEASE CONTACT ME ON THIS BOARD.

    0 Votes

horrible company

ok where to start...
first when i sign up they say they will ship the modem to me in 2-3 weeks it ends up taking 3 months (i still get charged for the 3 months) once i get the modem i have to wait another 3-4 months because they didnt even fking hook my internet up (still charged me) it took me 10 hours to reach customer support (in a TERRIBLE time window)wich i had to do NUMEROUS times to actualy get someone who knew what they were talking about
i got charged for waiting 10 hours on hold each time in long distance becuase its in india i finaly get it all working and the internet randomly crashes about twice an hour (this is yak not my pc i have telus and it works fine) at a random time they decide to take away my internet for 4 months charcing me and not telling me why (paid the bills didnt do anything illigal on it) when i tryed to cancel my ### service i ended up waiting about 13 hours on hold then they stoped taking calls so the nextday i tryed got a hold of one of them they siad yes wel cancel it yada yda... month later not canceled call again they say they had no records of me canceling so i get it staightened out they shut down my internet but continue to charge me for 6 freaking months they finaly stop charging me for that...AND CHARGE ME FOR THE MODEM I ALREADY RETUNED so in hte end i ended up paying for about 2 years worth of internet i didnt have


all in all...do not ever use yak unless you want the same problems

  • St
    stefen99 Aug 29, 2009

    also sorry about the terrible spelling i broke my pointer finger

    1 Votes
  • Cl
    CLASSACTION Dec 07, 2009

    I am GATHERING VICTIMS OF YAK COMMUNICATION IN ORDER TO SUBMIT TO LOCAL MASS MEDIAS, SUCH AS LOCAL BROADCASTS, NEWSPAPERS, other means of mass media in TORONTO GTA REGIONS. PLEASE REPLY THIS BOARD IF YOU ARE INTERESTED.

    i HAVE COME TO CONCLUSION THAT ONLY SOLUTION IS TO RAISE OUR VOICE TO BE HEARD TO MASS AUDIENCES.

    some of governmental institution ENABLE it because some assume Yak is cooperation this also is authority as well.

    I am also victim of Yak communication, which actually turned into fraud. For last 6 months, Yak communication neglected my request of cancellation and asking for unauthorized charges by abusive phone calls. I had reported to Police and Communication Network Commissioner.

    Both institution requires 20 days to investigate; therefore, Yak try to win you over the harassment calls and e-mails meanwhile, which likely victims turn to agree for authorized payment.

    THEN I THOUGHT - IF I HAVE BEEN USED YAK'S UNAUTHORIZED $30 CHARGE FOR SOME CHARITY INSTITUTION INSTEAD (LIKE WORLD VISION OR ARMY SALVATION), THE MONEY WOULD BE WELL SPENT INSTEAD OF THIS GREEDY COMPANY WHICH TREATS BADLY!!

    I FEEL ANGRY THAT SOCIETY MAKES YOU FEEL THIS IS YOUR PRIVATE CIVIL CASE, NOT PUBLIC CONCERN.

    I AM SUBMITTING THIS CONCERN TO CITY TV, ETC, IN THIS WEEK. PLEASE CONTACT ME ON THIS BOARD.

    -1 Votes
  • St
    stefen999 Dec 08, 2009

    Spaming every ###ing board invovling yak is not the way to get your message accross you ###ing ###

    0 Votes

cost

Hey guys, I just wanted to let you know about a new cell long distance plan.
it's pretty seamless and I found it to be very helpful and safe. The website is
www.celllongdistance.com. It's great
for people like me who have family all over and have to call long distance every
once in a while. It is way better than a calling card as there is no expiry date
and it is always in your phone. I've been using these guys for almost a year and
what makes them the best is the fact that there is no signup fee, no
cancellation fee, they are pay as you go and if you look they even give you
$5.00 to sign up. Great call quality. I have no complaints what so ever. I switched from yak.ca.

cost

  • An
    annnoonnenenao Aug 29, 2009

    Why the f*** do they let spammers post on this site? Its like craigslist on steroids... Get a real job, seriously...

    0 Votes

harrassing phone calls

Upon receiving an new credit card I was late in changing my payment details with Yak. I called them to end my service and pay what was on my bill which was less than $6.00 cdn. The next morning I was phoned at 9:00 am with a recorded message saying I needed to make a payment. I was no longer their customer so I hung up. A minute later they called again. Next morning at 9 am, they called again followed by another call at noon. Furious, I called Yak to complain and they told me there was nothing they could do, I was on their list and it takes a few days to get off. I then spoke to a supervisor who told me the same thing. I asked if disrupting former customers who have no conncection anymore to Yak was good business practice. He told me that I had made the list, and that was it. It takes 48-72 hours to have your name removed from the list. I pointed out that this was harassment. He told me that he has credit companies calling him all the time and understands that they should call. I pointed out again that I owed no money and had no connection to Yak. Once again he babbled on about 48-72 hours.

Do not get involved with this company. Stay away. If you sign up they will end up making your life miserable for you and it will be the computer's fault.

Stay far far away!!!

  • Yi
    yippe Jun 27, 2009

    hi,
    suggestion -copy/paste yr comment on this site as well -
    www.telloscar.com

    its canadas best consumer comments site

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    CLASSACTION Dec 07, 2009

    I am GATHERING VICTIMS OF YAK COMMUNICATION IN ORDER TO SUBMIT TO LOCAL MASS MEDIAS, SUCH AS LOCAL BROADCASTS, NEWSPAPERS, other means of mass media in TORONTO GTA REGIONS. PLEASE REPLY THIS BOARD IF YOU ARE INTERESTED.

    i HAVE COME TO CONCLUSION THAT ONLY SOLUTION IS TO RAISE OUR VOICE TO BE HEARD TO MASS AUDIENCES.

    some of governmental institution ENABLE it because some assume Yak is cooperation this also is authority as well.

    I am also victim of Yak communication, which actually turned into fraud. For last 6 months, Yak communication neglected my request of cancellation and asking for unauthorized charges by abusive phone calls. I had reported to Police and Communication Network Commissioner.

    Both institution requires 20 days to investigate; therefore, Yak try to win you over the harassment calls and e-mails meanwhile, which likely victims turn to agree for authorized payment.

    THEN I THOUGHT - IF I HAVE BEEN USED YAK'S UNAUTHORIZED $30 CHARGE FOR SOME CHARITY INSTITUTION INSTEAD (LIKE WORLD VISION OR ARMY SALVATION), THE MONEY WOULD BE WELL SPENT INSTEAD OF THIS GREEDY COMPANY WHICH TREATS BADLY!!

    I FEEL ANGRY THAT SOCIETY MAKES YOU FEEL THIS IS YOUR PRIVATE CIVIL CASE, NOT PUBLIC CONCERN.

    I AM SUBMITTING THIS CONCERN TO CITY TV, ETC, IN THIS WEEK. PLEASE CONTACT ME ON THIS BOARD.

    0 Votes
  • It
    itwasme1965 May 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree, I first signed up with them for unlimited downloading, with a dry loop and it was great, then I decided to get their home phone, and everything went to hell. 1st they took my credit card info, billed me for the rental of modem and all, only to screw that up and put in someone else card into my account. so the collection agency call wanting the money for services I don't have. then they turned my internet off without notice for 1 month, then they hook it up and the home phone is sh*t, they say they will come out and fix, I waited all day for them to show and they don't or they show up another day unexpected. only to fix home phone but no Internet. it's been 2 months without internet. and every 2 weeks the home phone acts up. when I call, they say they are working on it. no call to say what's going on. they have left me in the dark, I had to go back with Rogers paying 75 a month just for internet.
    my name is Timothy Chute, Mississauga, Ont. [email protected]

    0 Votes

Resolved bad service and slow in resolving problems

I signed up for YAK in 2008 July.
After calling YAK at least 20 times, in October, they finally started to look into the billing.
Then, after that, there has been always mistakes on the billing. When I pointed them the errors, they never respond.
They only respond by disconnecting the service once they don't get the full payment.
The company also says it has the right to change its policy anytime. And they seriously do. They are not the honest service provider in town.
Don't be tempted by their price because you are still overpaying for their service considering their poor quality service.

Resolved bad service/ collection.. etc...

i have tried to set up a service with yak since summer 08. everything seeemed to be going well until the say someone was to show up to install the service. I waited the whole day and nothing. i called to ask what the problem was and they said they had the wrong address which confused me since i verified my address with the customer rep three times. How could he get that wrong? i had to wait another 2 weeks for the service to be installed and again NOTHING. after cancelling that order i tried to make another one and waited for them to show up and again NOTHING. i cancelled this account they had set up and now i have recieved a bill for 210$. when i asked if i could speak to a supervisor they had a million excuses. they said they would be able to email me so i gave them my email and got no response. I called over and over again to see what the problem was and why they didnt cancel this account. They had told me that the work order had gone through which is damn near impossible because they would need to actually come into my house to install a new phone jack. so right then and there i knew there was something fishy. I called the collection agency and sent them a notice telling them i never got the service in the first place. To add insult to injury, they put a wack laod of features on my cell phone that i didnt ask for and ended up messing up my plan and that caused me to cancel the serive with my cell company.
Now that i have recently checked my email it states that i had set up a new phone service. WHERE DID THIS COME FROM? this was done without my consent or knowledge. I HATE YAK. they are rude and no skills and when the going gets rough they hang up on you. it wouldnt even matter if i spent 2+ hours on hold. i called bell and they couldnt explain anything to me as it is not there job in the first place. Yak is a total ### up and i am ready for court if it ever comes to it.
sick joke.

  • De
    Dennis Beere Oct 04, 2009

    Yaknet when I originally checked about a year ago there were about 250 complaints. Now the number is forever increase. Customer or lack there is FULL OF ###, and should file for bankruptcy.

    Peterborough Ontario

    1 Votes
  • Me
    mebo Oct 09, 2009

    had the same problem with them. they are the worst among the competition, will not be surprised if ever go bankrupt. they terrible customer service, terrible tech support, terrible supervisors who are just like support customer service or support staffs and almost terrible everything.

    1 Votes
  • I have called phone busters and planning to report this accumulated concerns and complaints to local broadcast Media and Newspapers. Please let me know any victims are interested to supply information.

    (On this board)

    I am living Toronto GTA arrea.

    Thank You

    1 Votes
  • Cl
    CLASSACTION Dec 07, 2009

    I am GATHERING VICTIMS OF YAK COMMUNICATION IN ORDER TO SUBMIT TO LOCAL MASS MEDIAS, SUCH AS LOCAL BROADCASTS, NEWSPAPERS, other means of mass media in TORONTO GTA REGIONS. PLEASE REPLY THIS BOARD IF YOU ARE INTERESTED.

    i HAVE COME TO CONCLUSION THAT ONLY SOLUTION IS TO RAISE OUR VOICE TO BE HEARD TO MASS AUDIENCES.

    some of governmental institution ENABLE it because some assume Yak is cooperation this also is authority as well.

    I am also victim of Yak communication, which actually turned into fraud. For last 6 months, Yak communication neglected my request of cancellation and asking for unauthorized charges by abusive phone calls. I had reported to Police and Communication Network Commissioner.

    Both institution requires 20 days to investigate; therefore, Yak try to win you over the harassment calls and e-mails meanwhile, which likely victims turn to agree for authorized payment.

    THEN I THOUGHT - IF I HAVE BEEN USED YAK'S UNAUTHORIZED $30 CHARGE FOR SOME CHARITY INSTITUTION INSTEAD (LIKE WORLD VISION OR ARMY SALVATION), THE MONEY WOULD BE WELL SPENT INSTEAD OF THIS GREEDY COMPANY WHICH TREATS BADLY!!

    I FEEL ANGRY THAT SOCIETY MAKES YOU FEEL THIS IS YOUR PRIVATE CIVIL CASE, NOT PUBLIC CONCERN.

    I AM SUBMITTING THIS CONCERN TO CITY TV, ETC, IN THIS WEEK. PLEASE CONTACT ME ON THIS BOARD.

    0 Votes

Resolved e-mail

I try to e-mail yak but the tasks is always an error and I can't reach them. Is their company not good to use?

  • Ja
    Jane Mar 01, 2009

    Laura, be very wary of this company. I highly recommend you do a google search and read all the complaints about this company and strongly consider the F rating given to this company by the Better Business Bureau before engaging the services of this company. Jane

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    yak sucks Mar 02, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i agree with jane.
    i have tried to order there serive a bunch of time and nobody showed up to complete the actual order but when i called in they said it was done. how is this possible when they didnt step foot into my house to set up a phone jack that was need for the phone to work in the first place. Come to find out they charged me 210 for some service that i never recieve. it ended up goin to collections so i diputed it and got that resolved. Come to find out that there is a new service for a home phone set up in my name that i didnt request. WHAT A JOKE..THERE CUSTOMER CARE REPS ARE RUDE UNTRAINED AND THEY ARE COMPLETE BULL ###.

    0 Votes
  • An
    ann Mar 10, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It has cost me $100 dollars when they took over my phone line 3 months after they said they would change my line. I never got any service, this was back in Dec I complained to the Better Business Bureau and the CRTC and YAK refuses to call them back.
    A customer rep did call me after I send all my complaints and told me that they would not charge me . Now today I am getting a threatening email from their collection dept.
    It is impossible to phone or communicate with them

    As a company they should be shut down. Worst attitude of any one out there.

    Ann, Ajax

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    CLASSACTION Dec 07, 2009

    I am GATHERING VICTIMS OF YAK COMMUNICATION IN ORDER TO SUBMIT TO LOCAL MASS MEDIAS, SUCH AS LOCAL BROADCASTS, NEWSPAPERS, other means of mass media in TORONTO GTA REGIONS. PLEASE REPLY THIS BOARD IF YOU ARE INTERESTED.

    i HAVE COME TO CONCLUSION THAT ONLY SOLUTION IS TO RAISE OUR VOICE TO BE HEARD TO MASS AUDIENCES.

    some of governmental institution ENABLE it because some assume Yak is cooperation this also is authority as well.

    I am also victim of Yak communication, which actually turned into fraud. For last 6 months, Yak communication neglected my request of cancellation and asking for unauthorized charges by abusive phone calls. I had reported to Police and Communication Network Commissioner.

    Both institution requires 20 days to investigate; therefore, Yak try to win you over the harassment calls and e-mails meanwhile, which likely victims turn to agree for authorized payment.

    THEN I THOUGHT - IF I HAVE BEEN USED YAK'S UNAUTHORIZED $30 CHARGE FOR SOME CHARITY INSTITUTION INSTEAD (LIKE WORLD VISION OR ARMY SALVATION), THE MONEY WOULD BE WELL SPENT INSTEAD OF THIS GREEDY COMPANY WHICH TREATS BADLY!!

    I FEEL ANGRY THAT SOCIETY MAKES YOU FEEL THIS IS YOUR PRIVATE CIVIL CASE, NOT PUBLIC CONCERN.

    I AM SUBMITTING THIS CONCERN TO CITY TV, ETC, IN THIS WEEK. PLEASE CONTACT ME ON THIS BOARD.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    prodigys10 May 07, 2010

    i've been trying to get their service setup for a month so far now with no luck. no one enters the info correctly from the calls or even logs that i called in about it. they keep trying to redo the first thing that had the problem and then never call me to get the right info i have to call them and give them the same info every time and each time it goes no where. i tried to escalate things as outlined on their website to do and was simply told i cant do that. its already as high as it can go. absolutely brutal customer service. never heard of a company so opposed to getting a new customer before. i hope they go bankrupt.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    fraudvictim99 May 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was a victim of identity theft. Someone used my name and address and opened an account on Yak last April (2011) and I never once received an invoice from Yak. I got a call from a collection agency in February 2012 alleging I owed Yak money, which I didn't. I never held an account with Yak. I contacted Yak, they called off the collection, but two months later, they sent my file to another collection agency. I provided Yak and the collection agency with the police report. Yak directed me to get the police to contact [email protected]; the police tried twice and never got a response. Yesterday I saw that they had reported me as a delinquent account on my credit profile. Yak had never even shown any proof I owed them money, no invoice, and now, the cops are backing me up to sue Yak in small claims. Please respond to me if the same thing happens to you, I am suing them via Small Claims but I am also looking into a class action suit from victims.

    Yak is wack, highly unethical, can you believe all you need is someone's name and address to open an account?!!

    0 Votes

Resolved terrible service and wrongful billing

HI I have a few things to complain about with this so called phone service. This company is the most unprofessional company I have EVER dealt with. It first started when a sales man came to my door and offered me better prices than rogers and more services. I decided to get the phone and High Speed Internet from them which I was told was cable high speed. I god the modem and it was a phone line modem. I called them and cancled all of there services and stayed with rogers. I never used any of there services. I removed there services before any of the services came in place. Then I start getting billed for services that Im not using. How can I use to different Internets and phone lines at the same time. So I called Yak, it took one hour and there was only 12 people ahead of me. They agreed with me and told me to send back the modem and they would drop the charges wich was 360$ ridiculous. I sent the modem and now they send me a bill from a collection agency threatening to take legal action. WTF what is that all about. Now I have been on hold the whole time I have been writing this complaint. I HAVE NEVER USED ANY OF THERE SERVICES WHAT IS GOING ON WITH THIS COMPANY I AM JUST A YOUNG FAMILY TRYING TO SAVE SOME MONEY AND THIS IS WHAT I GET FOR GIVING A SMALL COMPANY A CHANCE. Never again will I ever do that again and Im telling everyone I know including whoever is reading this never to go with YAK. Thank you for your time. Can someone help me. Anthony Dasilva [protected]

Resolved false billing

I had Yak until about 2 hours ago. There are long distance calls that are not mine. They say because they are showing on my bill then they were made from my house. I only call within my province. I don't know anyone outside of the province. They are charging me for the calls and won't remove them. How could 16 different calls be made on my phone number when noone in my home made them? Could someone climb the pole, or hack into my phone? Could someone at Yak somehow change the information to cover up something they have done, could Yak be hacked into? Pls someone pls help. I don't want to pay for something that I didn't do. My email is [protected]@nb.sympatico.ca. If you are thinking about getting Yak think again. They will rip you off in a heartbeat.

  • Lo
    Lori Feb 11, 2009

    I sent them two emails asking them to send us our bill since we switched from Bell about 3 months ago. No answer. My husband sat on the phone for an hour - no answer.

    My son registered with a credit card for their internet last week - have never heard from them.

    I switched to Rogers yesterday and suddenly today I get an automated phone message telling me my credit is affected because I have not paid my bill for the last 3 months. I tried to call them 5 time shortly after (5:00) and guess what - no answer!!! The phone call kept disconnecting!!!

    Do these guys really exist?

    Lori

    0 Votes
  • An
    ann Mar 10, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Good luck, they won't response, I had my phone changed over without any notification, the phone never worked, then I had to get a new # cost me $100 in time and prepaid phone cards. I sent the info to the Better Business Bureau which they are not a member of and they refused to communicate with them.
    Today I get an email me threatening collection For What. I have no contract with them, told them I want nothing to do with them. Ann Ajax

    -1 Votes
  • Cl
    CLASSACTION Dec 07, 2009

    I am GATHERING VICTIMS OF YAK COMMUNICATION IN ORDER TO SUBMIT TO LOCAL MASS MEDIAS, SUCH AS LOCAL BROADCASTS, NEWSPAPERS, other means of mass media in TORONTO GTA REGIONS. PLEASE REPLY THIS BOARD IF YOU ARE INTERESTED.

    i HAVE COME TO CONCLUSION THAT ONLY SOLUTION IS TO RAISE OUR VOICE TO BE HEARD TO MASS AUDIENCES.

    some of governmental institution ENABLE it because some assume Yak is cooperation this also is authority as well.

    I am also victim of Yak communication, which actually turned into fraud. For last 6 months, Yak communication neglected my request of cancellation and asking for unauthorized charges by abusive phone calls. I had reported to Police and Communication Network Commissioner.

    Both institution requires 20 days to investigate; therefore, Yak try to win you over the harassment calls and e-mails meanwhile, which likely victims turn to agree for authorized payment.

    THEN I THOUGHT - IF I HAVE BEEN USED YAK'S UNAUTHORIZED $30 CHARGE FOR SOME CHARITY INSTITUTION INSTEAD (LIKE WORLD VISION OR ARMY SALVATION), THE MONEY WOULD BE WELL SPENT INSTEAD OF THIS GREEDY COMPANY WHICH TREATS BADLY!!

    I FEEL ANGRY THAT SOCIETY MAKES YOU FEEL THIS IS YOUR PRIVATE CIVIL CASE, NOT PUBLIC CONCERN.

    I AM SUBMITTING THIS CONCERN TO CITY TV, ETC, IN THIS WEEK. PLEASE CONTACT ME ON THIS BOARD.

    0 Votes

Resolved pooooooor service

I echo all the above comp;laints about YAK > But after waiting 30+ minutes I contacted the parent to this disfunctional child and got a breathing person that immediately put me through to a breathing person and got the problem resolved. Told them to cancel my service and not even a question as to why and can we change your mind. This number worked for me- Good Luck "There is 9 million customers ahead of you."
General Inquiries
Tel: 877.445.8606
Fax: 416.640.1089

Globalive Communications Corp.
48 Yonge Street
Suite 1000
Toronto, ON M5E1G6
Canada

  • He
    Heather D Sheridan Jun 03, 2016

    my name is Heather, I live in Hamilton, on...on 11.02.08 a sales came to my house(moving in day) and tried to sell me Yak service..my home phone had not been trans over yet...advised sales rep that I was happy with existing provider..sales rep then asked to use my cell phone to call his girlfriend to wish her happy birthday..said his cell phone was dead..never thinking gave him my cell and guess what..on 12.05.08 (6 weeks later) I came home from work and this god awful/terrible company had installed their lines and was nice enough to give me a new phone number as well... the 1st nite I was on the phone or trying to get in touch with this company(I use the term very losely) for a period of 103 mins, 96mins and finally 83 mins on hold...it took until 12.31.08 to get my phone back to the way it was and I was assured that I would not recieve any charges for the unauthorized service, guess what came in the mail today..a bill for 33.85 payable upon reciept...I hope that someone from this terrible organization reads these complaints..I'M NOT PAYING THE BILL...Iam in the process of filing a complaint with the CRTC... this company should be shut done and fined...oh, by the way I tried to contact YAK and there are 56 callers ahead of me..no kidding...the only info that Yak had on "my" account was my cell number, wonder how they got that...no rocket science..everyone PLEASE beware of this very underhanded company..I also sent an email to the owner of the company with no response, lets hope that he is in jail some where for his terrible ethics...

    0 Votes

Resolved poor customer service

I am writing a letter of complaint in regards to the Telephone Company - Yak for the number [protected].



On August 18, 2008 I order my telephone service from Yak Communications as per service requirement I was told it would take 5 – 10 days to have my service connected. It was. On November 12, 2008 I requested a service transfer to my new residence 380 Dixon Rd Suite 2705, Toronto. Again I was told it would take 5 to 10 days to do the transfer.



November 27, 2008: I called to inquire about my service and was told because of a wrong address given it couldn’t be hooked up. Alan re- issued the order and ensured me in 5 days it would be connected.



December 04, 2008: I called again to ask why my service was not connected only to be told again it was a wrong address and I then asked to speak with a floor manager and a supervisor and was told that both were in a meeting and were unable to service my call. I was then told me a manager would email me in regards to my service complaints. I gave the new address for the third time and was told he would do his best to ensure my service was connected and the time without the phone would not be billed to me Yak would take care of it.



December 08, 2008: Once again I called to find out what the matter was this time, why they were having such problems and to demand to talk to a manager - floor supervisor only to be told they (the manager) or even you the chairman and CEO could not do for me what he was already was doing of me. It just didn't work that way. Rocco contacted the courier service to try to find out when my line might be hooked up and was told it would be hooked up on the 12th of the month. So when I pressed Rocco to tell me who I could talk with when my phone line still wasn't hooked up on the 12th he seem surprise to why I would ask such a thing assuring me my service should be available by 5 pm on Thursday, December 12, 2008 or well by the latest Friday.



December 15, 2008: The odyssey continues, I phone again to find out why? I was told this time that its seem there is no such address according to Bell Canada so since they were a service provider thru Bell Canada so therefore Yak cannot provide this service period and was told because of the issues involved with my case the supervisor look into this himself and it was true. I call Bell Canada myself to enquire if this was indeed true? The gentleman from Bell not only answered my questions but made apologies on behave of yak and how frustrated I must be. I was not only told Bell did service my building but I could have my phone number from Yak if I was will to wait 5 days needless to say I did not wait I opted for a new number. I was connected on the 17th of December as promised.



January 03, 2009: I contacted Yak to have my service disconnected unbelievably I was asked why I told the CSR to take a minute to read my file and she I’m sure was smart enough to come to own conclusions. I was told it was already disconnected and I was showing an outstand bill of 36.??. I told her that I was told I would not be billed for all the time I was without my phone. I asked her formerly to disconnect my service and I would like for her to send my file to a service manager to ensure that I would not be responsible for any phone bill after the 12th of November. In fact I am owed $00.29.





January 05, 2009: It is 12.32 am and my number of [protected] is in fact still in service.

January 28, 2009: service is still available and they now have billed me for 2 months ..

  • Ma
    Masm501 Jan 28, 2009

    Surprised? Don't be!
    These idiots kept on billing me 6 months after I canceled my service! talk about incompetence. Now they sent me to a collection agency, all they can do is DREAM of getting a penny! They can't do anything with your credit report it's all hot air. On the other hand, it would be nice to humiliate them in court for wasting our time with their incompetent customer service.

    0 Votes

Resolved worst service

Yuk Communications is the most incompetent company i have ever dealt with in my life. I ordered their home phone service on july 18 and canceled on july 28 because they did not send any technician after asking for one 3 times! Then the bills started pouring in monthly for a service that was not functional and i called them after every bill to remind them that i canceled the service. Spoke to a whole bunch of people who always said the same thing, don't worry we will take care of it. That is until i received a letter from their collection agency last week. Upon calling them the woman refused to let me talk to the supervisor (scared?) and just shrugged me off by telling me to talk to their collection agency because the line only got disconnected on Dec 24.

I will most probably take those little thieves to court and humiliate them. Or just let them waste their time with the collection agency since they will not get a penny and the liars cannot do ### with my credit ratings.

Mich