Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Equipment Leasing & Financing WhyNotLeaseIt why not lease it scam

WhyNotLeaseIt  -  why not lease it scam

P
Author of the complaint
1:42 pm
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I purchased some items back in March 2017 total in 1003 dollars I made all my payments and when it past 6 months I was told that it would pay itself off after the payments in 9month period when I called to check on the amount of payments the rep said that I had paid $920 on the merchandise cost but that was not applied to the buyout option so when I asked where was the payment going to the rep said only toward the least amount and to buy out I owe 545 if I pay cash he said he would spread out over six weeks payment so in other words they decieved customers about the payout program never once said that they will be additional cost to buy the items after you have already paid for the merchandise items through lease program a big scam Sears and Kmart should be ashamed of themselves with things like this people should file a class action lawsuit this is horrible and ridiculous I will return everything and they can have it I will make sure to have all 11 of my co-workers cancel out their account because I am pretty sure they are not aware of this scam.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

More WhyNotLeaseIt complaints & reviews

WhyNotLeaseIt - they rip off people
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
WhyNotLeaseIt - receiving a title of ownership
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
WhyNotLeaseIt - horrible program, things are not explained properly. rude customer service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
WhyNotLeaseIt - washer & dryer: company total scam!!!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
WhyNotLeaseIt - mattress purchase
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
32 comments
Add a comment
L
May 31, 2022 9:31 am

I got a refrigerator back in November of 2021. I was told if I put $650 down which I did and make payments of $66.78 it would be paid off in March here it is going on June and I looked at my bank account and noticed they are taking money out of my account. In April three withdrawals of 66.10 on the 8th and 9th and 2 more withdrawals $20 each on the 11th and 12th then another $66.10 on the 25th. In May two withdrawals of $66.10 on the 9th and 23rd. The refrigerator is paid off. I can't login to my account and haven't been able to since the refrigerator was paid off. How do I get into the class action lawsuit?

[email protected]

B
Aug 15, 2021 4:05 pm

Please include us in your law suit. Sears sucks they deserve to go out of business and this company is fraudulant.

C
Apr 08, 2021 12:16 am

Greeting All
this is a true story

My only dealing with whynotleasit is due to ID Theft after speaking with the customer service rep, after calling the phone # on my statement. He gave me e-mail address to dispute.
This what he did. On March 22, 2021. A $97.27 was debit from my account. but than he went to my account on the March 26, 2021 and did a debit which was 4 days after we had talked on the phone and he knew of the ID theft. My bank is taking care it and credit the money back into my account.

For those of you, who want to be part of a class action law suit, file a complaint with your state
Anttorney General Office. I live in the State of Maryland.

L
Dec 03, 2019 12:50 pm

I like this company, but u do have to read the contracts. if u pay within the 90 days ur fine. i do remember one incident when i called to changed my payment date which they did. but they withdrew from my account on the prior dew date, but just called them and they refunded my account same day. It helps when you need an appliance and don't have the money to pay for it at that moment and u have this option.

thank you tempoe.

T
May 20, 2019 12:45 am

I cancelled my order at sears 12 hrs after it was placed...and then contacted Tempoe repeatedly, even sent cancellation to them. 30 days later they are still charging me. I never got the merchandise how is it legal that they can still choke when sears shows they credited Tempoe the entire sales amount?

S
Apr 10, 2019 8:50 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have now WAY over paid on my account! I have written Tempoe Leasing, I have sent messages through their web site message center, I have sent regular mailed letter, I have now even faxed them. THEY OWE ME money and yet they are STILL attempting to take money out of my bank account - now showing payment reversals as I had to cancel the bank account they were attacking! They owe me and refusing to do so. I don't know what else to do but find an attorney at this point. The MOST expensive washer and dryer I have seen.

F
Jan 29, 2019 5:42 pm

I signed up to lease a front load washer on [protected]. I paid the required down payment the same day. Once I read the terms of the lease, I determined it was a RIP off. I immediately contacted the company to cancel. I spoke to a Why Not Lease It customer service representative that stated I also had to cancel the order with Sears. Also to be sure to receive a cancellation sales check number, and provide him that number when I call back. He then provided me the phone number to Sears. I called Sears and canceled the order with them as well. I was told it could take up to 72 hours to process. However Sears actually canceled the order the same day of my call. Sears also emailed me to inform me of the cancellation. When I called Why Not Lease It back to give him the cancellation check number I was issued by Sears, he stated I also needed the original check number. He never once mentioned that during our original conversation. It was then that I got nervous. He assured me that once I provided him with the original sales check number that it would be 3 to 5 days to receive a refund. As of the sixth day and no refund I called them back, only to be told there was nothing in their system regarding me requesting a return. So I had to provide the details of my order again. The representative then stated casually that I wasn't given a refund because the refund department informed customer service that since they did not have my original sales check number they could not process my refund. I asked did anyone contact me regarding that, and was told NO. Once I provided the original sales check number and my personal information AGAIN the representative stated my refund would be in my account by the close of the business day. Well of course it wasn't. So I called again this morning to be told the refund will post to my account in 24 hours. I stated to them that it had been 24 hours. That representative stated "Oh I thought it was still Monday, but today is Tuesday. So it has been 24 hours; however you shouldn't worry because the money should post today." Of course it hasn't. I called back, and each time you contact them you have to provide all of this information over and over again. Now I've been told from this representative that "she should have never said by the close of the business day yesterday, he should not have told me 24 hours, and that they both should have said 24 to 48 hours instead". Really folks...really! Well needless to say I should have done my homework that way I would have been well aware of the numerous complaints regarding this company. Need I say that Sears did not hesitate to refund Why Not Lease Me their "money" paid to them. So what is the hold up from Why Not Lease It to pay me back my down payment money. It's not a million dollars, but it's my dollars. I want my money back! It's been almost 10 days already, not to mention I NEVER TOOK POSSESSION OF ANY ITEM FROM SEARS OR WHY NOT LEASE IT! WARNING...STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!

S
Oct 03, 2020 7:46 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Same exact situation regarding refund just a different Merchant..I would like to join a class action suit if there is one

R

It's not a scam if you know how to read but instead all you people are [censored]ing because you are to lazy to read to funny. By the way we have used them about 10 times now without a single problem dont feel bad for people who think they shouldn't have to read a contract.

S
Dec 28, 2018 9:33 pm

I bought a washer 6 months ago. I have been making $84 payment every 2 weeks. I paid over 840 for this item. They want another 640 dollars to buy it out. The sales agent said I was leasing to buy, kind of like 'layaway'. They have been trying to take money out of my account everyday. The store I got it from is going out of business. No one can pick it up. I should have to pay $1400+ for a washer that is only $500.

Please include me in your class action lawsuit

[email protected]

B
Dec 09, 2018 8:13 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

How do I get into the class action suit against these people?
[email protected]

E
Nov 17, 2018 11:36 am

Please share info of how or who to contact to sue this company . [email protected]

R
Nov 13, 2018 6:34 pm

Please include me in the lawsuit if one comes. [email protected]

C
Nov 02, 2018 1:31 pm

I have had the same experience, with Why Not Lease It. The Sears rep told me it was a (specifically) "lease-to-own" and said that once my initial lease terms were up I could pay the lump sum, or continue my payments, as usual, until the lump sum is paid off.

Why Not Lease It tells me that I now owe $605, in order to purchase the mower. Actually, three different agents told me three different amounts, ranging from $605; $759 and $1, 090 (I have this all on phone recordings).

I've already paid $1, 990 for a $1, 200+ mower...and they want me to pay MORE! Fool me once, shame on me...there won't be another time.

I told them to just pick the thing up.

****I'm interested in joining in on a class action suit, if possible.****
[email protected]

A
Sep 20, 2018 2:56 pm

I am going to file a class action lawsuit. This company has gotten almost three times the value of our purchase from us and had the nerve to say we still owed them! I asked where all of our money went. I was told toward the lease with a small fraction toward the purchase. Problem, we have paid 1 year and 5 months, almost triple the price. We never received a letter or anything from them stating my lease would continue for the rest of my life! I was informed by the sales rep at sears when we purchased our equipment that this is the way to finance theough sears and at the end of the lease it is paid in full! Total lie! On the phone with the company today, the rep said no it doesnt work that way and was only interested in telling me her terms over amd over! When i told her we wanteded a refund for them charging us yet again 17 months later a double payment today, they were unwilling to refund our money. In short they have the worst customer service ever, the worst business practices and told me as a courtesy they can just close the account after ripping us off for almost three times the value of our equipment. If I hadnt gottent concerned about the double payment today amd called, I guess I would have paid for the rest of my life. They said thank uou for being a valued customer! What! They have no value for their customers! They are only interested in ripping people off! We are filing suit!

M
Oct 29, 2018 8:08 pm

April Dowden- I am interested in joining you with this lawsuit. Please reach out to me @ [email protected] Hopefully we can all come together and take this company down! Thank you.

H
Feb 14, 2019 6:40 pm
Replying to comment of Mimin

Same exact thing happened to me! I was just on phone w them about checking if my balance was paid in full like was said on the paperwork and they want an extra $200, than its $279 and than he says well reduce it to $179 when my balance is been payed already actually over paid. Looked on line as into filing a complaint while was on phone w them and came across these and many others. Told them be looking looking into getting a lawyer this company is a fraud scam and just lied and took my $ and changed the amount and story. I already filed a complaint w Better Business Bearua

J
Jul 06, 2021 12:33 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I like to join you too. I'm $3000 for an item that's worth $300.00. Now I can't print anything because they put my account on hold and yet they are still takibing money out of my checking account.

B
Jul 21, 2018 12:59 pm

I too have an issue with Why Not Lease It. My bill was paid in full on my TV and my washer/dryer as per the rep I talked to last year. Now I have $1034 listed in collections from TEMPOE LLC. No luck reaching Why Not Lease It and no notice from them that I owed anything more and my address nor email address has changed. Phone number was changed but nothing else. I want this off my credit. What do I do?

J
Apr 21, 2018 4:42 pm

I got a 500 dollar air conditioner a year and a half ago they take there payments out of my account I’ve done paid 1, 000 dollars and still paying I also got a stove 400 dollars I’ve done paid 600 and still paying u never pay off u constantly lease forever the lady explained u never own I just called today the lady told me I can buy out the air conditioner for an additional 400 dollars ? God dang and buy out the stove for and additional 300 dollars ? I will never do business with these people again never ever ever ever I’m done I called my credit card people and put a stop on them taking my money I’m currently in the class action suit against them they owe me money don’t let these people lie to you they will do and say anything to get out of this mess .

S
May 21, 2018 4:19 pm

If you are in a current lawsuit, please provide information on how others can join in your suit.
Or email me at:
[email protected]

U
Aug 08, 2019 5:11 pm

I am also interested in this lawsuit i have no clue how they got on my credit report and they refuse to say anything except i owe them money 2 different amounts but same account number.

S
Jan 27, 2018 7:59 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Whynotleaseit scam!

N
Nov 15, 2017 9:58 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Scam Scam Scam !
Please avoid this program
It is a ripoff

M
Oct 24, 2017 11:10 am

Stupid stupid me, i could have went to walmart for 55 in T.V. for 600 dollars, instead sears why not lease it rippe me off for over $1200 dollars, i have rented in the past from Aaron's. they are a reputable company after so many months you pay off your item, they have clear contract, i want to get in on the class action suit.

T
Aug 16, 2017 5:32 pm

Hello Priscilla, I have had a similar issue for quite some time with Whynotleaseit. I had know idea that you contact the company following that initial 5 month period beyond the lease to identify your options. As opposed to the lease payments continuing to be debited from your bank account. Also, this lease agreement should have been paid for some time ago for me. If you are interested as well as any others in filing a class action lawsuit with a consumer attorney I would certainly want to be part of that. My name is Tom B. and my email address is: [email protected] Please let me know if you are interested. Thank you.

L
Mar 03, 2018 10:04 am

I too am a why not lease it customer that is intetested in a class action suit if there ever is one. Email: [email protected] my purchase was a dishwasher & payments are continuing to be taken out after my lease date was over. This month they took out 3x & all transactions went up each time.

M
Nov 09, 2018 10:56 pm
Replying to comment of Layla1123

Interested as well in class action suit was scammed by why not lease it and sears too! Please email [email protected]

J
Jan 19, 2019 6:09 am

I am also a customer interested in a class action suit

S
Sep 27, 2019 6:02 pm

My mother and I are interested as well. She paid hers off, then a different company that was not "Why Not Lease It" called her and they told her there was no payoff option, it was lease only, or return the items, even though she had already set up her account as "Lease To Own".

J
Nov 14, 2020 3:48 pm

Interested in as well

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

145 complaints
40 resolved 105 unresolved

WhyNotLeaseIt contacts

(added by reviewer)
1750 Elm Street, Suite 1200, New Hampshire United States
ADVERTISIMENT