The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
VIP Readers ServiceScam

S Review updated:

VIP readers what a crock of ###. They say you enter a contract over the phone an can't send a copy of the contract in paper form. But they say they have a recording of this agreement of 24 month agreement of 897.00. Just so everyone knows that recording isn't even sound like me. An I didn't contact them first they called me first. An said I could try for 6 months but at no time did they mention u can't cancel. Plus they customer service sucks an are airheaded ###. So Lets all get together an sue the VIP readers.

Responses

  • Jo
    Jon Texas Jul 09, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also want to clarify my advice, that it’s really not a good idea just to completely ignore this company. Because they will continue to call and send collection notice actions no matter what.
    The best option is to to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and to state your situation and that you refuse to pay them. The company won’t budge so when they respond, rebuttal again and state you were mislead and that you want the service to be canceled.
    As much as the company is known to refuse to cancel their services, they do have the potential to cancel your subscription or to change the year duration/payment plan.
    Another option could be to have a Consumer Protections Attorney contact the company by phone/letter wishing to cancel or negotiate a new term duration/payment plan.
    Unfortunately the company voice records the buyer, basically a verbal contract, stating you commit to pay them for the entire duration of the services. So again, do yourself the favor and get help don’t just ignore them. The company could possibly send your debt to a legitimate collection agency, possibly threaten litigation and could damage your credit report. However, I’m uncertain if the company really does do what they threaten.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Jon Texas Jul 09, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My strong advice for dealing with this company is to contact the Better Business Bureau by filing a complaint on the company. The company goes by the name Baysand Financial Inc. (VIP Readers Service) and they are stationed out in Los Angeles, California.
    When I filed a complaint I received a response from the company which stated I had agreed to their services and I was not allowed to cancel. I was not satisfied with their response, so I rebuttal and stated I’d refuse to pay for their services. So about a week later I received a call from the company’s representative which stated they canceled my service. They also responded to the Better Business Bureau stating they canceled my service and send me a written notice of cancellation.
    I’m satisfied now since I know if the company try’s to send me collection notices, I can show them proof we had a mutual agreement to cancel the services. Therefore, for the past few months after cancellation I have not received any collection notices nor calls, however, the magazines took 6-10 weeks afterwards before they eventually stopped coming.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    Really Not Impressed Apr 19, 2019

    Busy working mom and in night school. They caught me while cooking dinner and I said, "Sure, I like magazines." didn't really pay attention. It sounded like a good deal at first. Then they charged me 120 dollars in one month. I don't even have time to read al these magazines. I asked them to stop sending and they said that they could NOT.

    Absolut liars. I'm ready to join a class action suit. they keep calling and I keep blocking them. Isn't it a law to call people when they specifically tell you not to?

    0 Votes
  • St
    S.Tsukerman Sep 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As I said before, this is an evil company, I go through hell, they put me in collection, and I receive every day about 10 calls from collection agency's,
    I just gang up, but it is very annoying, prepare for a long fight

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elove11 Sep 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hey, I fell to, the Lie about being phc. Second month I have a bill for 84.80 I have been refusing all magazines. I'm not paying . We have to do something these calls have to stop . Should I email the BBB. I'M NOT GOING TO PAY .

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joanne5151 Aug 16, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Elove11 Email BBB and the company they are sending the Magazine from. To let them know what they are doing. Go on FACEBOOK an YouTube. ever social media there is . Email the Present of the company of all the company. They are miss-representation of those magazine. My fight just started. I wish I would have look them out be for even thinking of buying a magazine from them.

    0 Votes
  • St
    S.Tsukerman Jul 12, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agreed, lets get together and enter class action lawsuit for all the suffering that we go throw them. Now my account in collection and they call me a couple times a day, threating me with legal actions against me, i hate this company with a passion.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shanos May 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    this a complete scam i think that i will be taking them to court because they call multiple times a day. They initially called my cell phone with some BS about sweepstakes winning which is just a ploy to get to to subscribe to magazines.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janelle V. Brothers Jan 06, 2015

    I remember getting a call from these people saying they were Publishers Clearing House and they had an initial pmt. for 29.99 then I would pay 34.99 twice more, that's it. They said it was to get the money out of the way in the beginning for these magazines. I just got a debit charge from my bank acct. for 39.90.

    0 Votes
  • Fd
    f dd Aug 16, 2012

    With all these ppl in same situation has anyone gotten out as of today

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AmandaHopkins88 Aug 17, 2011

    I recieved a phone call today by a legal authority stating that he would travel to Maine to my home town to take me to small claims court if we didnt come to a settlement of 700 dollars or pay it in full which was 906 dollars with a 6% interest rate charge. Im going for CJ in college and freaked out and paid 430 dollars today and will pay the rest on the 1st of September. I have NO idea if they would really take me to court and I DEFF do not want this on my record/ or personal history that I was sued...so i dont know if I should have paid or?????????

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Monson Jul 01, 2011

    My husband just recently got caught up in this scam. He was at away from home at work when he was contacted via his cell phone. He was told he won "the watch" by someone representing publishers. My husband is an avid reader and orders a number of magizines, He thought he was being contacted by Publisher Clearing House for the magizines and has done business with them before with no problems. When he returned home he received a bill through the mail for $39.90. He belived that it was a one time payment, He pays somewhere around $15.00 a year for Readers Digest and $56.00 for a Smithsonion subscription for 22 issues. He was supposed to get 7 different magazines for free and pay for 2 for $39.90. He was not told it was once a month and the total billed would be over $400.00. The total paid for 2 subscriptions is $478.80. If you divided it out and even though you were buying all 9 subscriptions it would be $53.60 a year per subscription. So he called and tried to cancel and was told he had entered into the contract verbally. So he figured it was easier to just pay the bill than to get legal representation. We went to the website we got this website and were unable to locate the payment website. We called again and complained only to get the same answer about the contract and that they were updating the website that is most likely why we can locate it. I verbally told them after this point we no longer wished to be on their call list or contacted by them other than to have her supervisor contact us to talk about cancelation.
    This company poorly communicates what they are providing and does not make it clear as to the terms of the contract you are entering into. Since a number of people have had issues I am sure they know it and continue to do it because it is profitable. The fact that they are aware and do not change there presentation so it is clear and or seek to make things right when notified absolutely makes it a scam.
    Just and end note we have to date not received a single magizine.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tairua Apr 22, 2011

    I've had the same experience and will contact the Better Business Bureau in Ohio as described by Sudustiawn Adams above. I was told documentation setting out the terms of the transaction would be sent with the 'diamond' watch (sheesh! it worked for less than two minutes. Diamond, my eye!). No documentation accompanied the watch but the person at the other end of the phone (when I complained about paying) told me that of course I received the documentation! Goes without saying that I do know what I get in the mail. The poor saps at the other end of the phone probably don't realize that they are participating in a scam or, if they do, don't want to rock the boat because they need their wages. I feel for the Adams family. Karen. Falls Church, VA.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    score sensce Apr 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    what on rip off

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    score sensce Apr 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    same thing,
    just what's going on ???

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sudustiawn Adams Mar 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am talking for my son & his wife & 7 children. Both have grave health problems, but are super troopers, & great parents. Mom just wanted to give dad a watch for Valentines day. When this phone call came to her, she had no idea, what this magazine scam was. She thought it was a way to give her husband a nice watch (it was worth about $.10). Then when she got the bill, and wanted to cancel & even send back the dime store watch, there was no phone #, only a web site, & they don't have internet, so it was not an easy task trying to reach this co., & when she did, she experienced the same rudeness, that everyone else has. Charging a $1000.00 for magazines, telling her that they borrowed the money to pay for the magazines, so they have no control over it anymore. It was suppose to be free magazines, & she just had to pay shipping. The stress is tremendous for them, she's getting unemployment, & my son has M.S., waiting for disability. Now that this Co. has their Bank Acct. # their scared to leave any $ in their Acct.. They had a friend that had the same thing happen to them, & even though they had there bank block this Co. from taking $ from their acct. they still did. I think we should get together & stop this Co. from doing this to any one else. I had this same Co. call me for months, and they are very good, at getting people to do this, because they won't take no for an answer. Sudustiawn Adams, Traverse City, MI

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    c.a.o. Mar 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    JUST WANT YOU TO KNOW THAT WRITING TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU IN OHIO HELPED ME GET OUT OF MY ORDAL WITH THIS SO CALLED MAGAZINE SCAM.
    HOPEFULLY MORE OF YOU WILL DO THE SAME. GOOD LUCK

    1 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Garman Oct 27, 2010

    I totally agree with what everyone else was saying about VIP readers, its a big joke I haven't paid them in a couple months so now I get 6 phone calls a day, I tried to cancel my so called contract with them and they told me I couldn't. I am not going to pay the rest off and would love to sue them for the amount they owe me. WHAT A CROCK OF [censor]!!!

    Cindy Garman
    Boise, ID

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jo H. Sep 13, 2010

    I am very disappointed in the way this company handles the "agreement" so call verbal over the phone. I am so overwhelmed with magaizines, and they say if you are not happy with them they can replace it with other choices or sent them to another person if you like. I really hate this. Im going to report to the Better Business Bureau. Mine is currently seeking collection action, they call your work, and they will call your cell phone with 50 different numbers. Somethings got to give if you just dont want a service anymore.

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    Big Dee Jul 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just need to say this company is above and beyond [censor]ed up, and the sad thing about it, is the people who work for them. Like they say [censor] rolls down hill. I honestly hope that one of there reps is reading this, because this time they stepped in [censor]! I'm a professional DJ/Producer, I know all about over dubbing and voice over. I don't think there is anyone sane that would agree to give anyone $900.00 plus over a 2 yr period for magazines. I must say this to the [censor] who took my phone call. (If I were you I'd be very grateful & thankful for 2 things. 1 The change process (people do change.) 2 The fact that there was a phone and distance between us.) Trust me, had you spoke to me like that face to face. I'd give you an understanding far beyond your concept of reason. If I was in your position, I'd ask myself is it worth it. Because some people don't mind ripping your ears off, stuffing them up your [censor], so you can hear them kicking your [censor]! (Once again thank GOD for change!) To all the victims of these low budget [censor], add yourself to my contacts, You'd be amazed at what can be done in a court of law.

    P.S. Everyone can't be wrong

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.