10440 N Central Expy Ste 800, Dallas, TX, 75231, US
Thu 9:00 am - 5:00 pm Working Hours
Sun:Closed
Mon:9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tue:9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wed:9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thu:9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Fri:9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat:Closed

Reviews and Complaints

did not honour confirmed booking

On the 1st of February we confirmed a booking with Hotels.com for accommodation in April. On the 11 April 2011 Hotels.com called to say they could not honour our booking. During this first call they made no attempt to rectify the situation. We asked them to sort it out, and they did not call us back. We have spent over 2 hours on the phone trying to have the problem resolved. So far all they have offered us is $70 US voucher. This is pointless as we need accommodation for the nights we had it booked. Their service is incredibly poor, most times the person you talk to says they cannot open your booking and transfers you. I have even been hung up on. I have registered two complaints with the BBB (Better Business Bureau) one regarding misrepresentation of service and another regarding poor customer service. I strongly advise anyone considering booking through Hotels.com not to do it. Even if you have to pay more elsewhere, it is worth it as this company does not deliver as promised, and has the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

bad customer service

My flights was cancelled because hurricane IKE was about to hit Houston; in the process of changing my flights Continental Airlines asked if I needed a hotel room. Continental Airlines transferred my to a customer service rep. I was never informed that I was talking to Hotels.com. With the CSR, I booked a Holiday Inn hotel room. During the call, I was never informed of any cancellation/charges fees etc. Since a Hurricane was about to hit Houston, and not knowing the status of IAH after hurricane IKE, this detail would have influenced my decision to book a hotel. There is no way that I would have booked the hotel room.

After hurricane IKE, my flights were cancelled again. I found out my flight status on the 14th. Once I knew that my flight was cancelled, using my Blackberry since I didn�t have electricity, I checked my e-mail to get the information regarding the Hotel. At the time I realized that it was Hotels.com, I still had no idea that there was a cancellation/charge fee. I contacted Hotels.com and they explained the cancellation/charge fee for the hotel. During the same call, I explained that the cancellation/charge fee was never explained and the Hotels.com representative said that they would contact the hotel on my behalf and see if they will refund the fee. The representative put me on hold and contacted the Holiday Inn, when she took me off hold, she had said that she had contacted the hotel�s accounting department and that I need to call back in a few days and they would refund the cancellation/charge fee. She then asked if I wanted to cancel, explaining that the cancellation/charge fee would be refunded. I cancelled, but was explicitly clear that I was never explained a cancellation/charge fee nor was I accepting the fee.

I called back the following week and Hotels.com would not refund the cancellation/charge fee. They told me to contact the hotel, which I did. Holiday Inn said that I need to contact Hotels.com.

Bottom line, this is the worst service that I have ever received. The fact that the cancellation/charge fee was never explained to me, the fact that Hotels.com said they would reimburse the charge and that Hotels.com was unsympathetic to the fact that Houston was just hit with a hurricane. This all left me with an extremely bad taste in my mouth, consumers should be aware of the type of company they are dealing with before they ever think about doing business with Hotels.com. This is if they know they are doing business with them.

  • Sc
    schao Sep 16, 2008

    I booked a room through their website and because of plan changes I had to cancel the room.
    The policy said if I cancel after 12PM, there will be a penalty of one night's stay. I was only one hour late, and my booking was only for one night. I called them and was trying to explain, but they took absolutely no consideration or whatsoever. So basically once they get the money, you are never gonna get it back.

    They claimed that they do not charge any penalty, but the hotel would. However, from talking with the hotel people, seems like they are going to split the penalty money. I would never use their service again.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    Fish2001 Sep 22, 2008

    Well, unfortunatley that is the price for holding the room. The hotel holds the room for you and could have booked it.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve Wilson Sep 23, 2008

    C'mon. You have to agree that you want them to break their rules for you because you goofed up. Seems like a silly complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    WildPonies Aug 24, 2010

    I had a similar experience recently with their customer service and will never ever use them again. I really do think that hotels.com should review their policies and procedures and take a serious look at how they train (or don't train) their workers. It's fine for a business to run its operation in a way that gives a price break to customers, but with a steady reputation of bad service, eventually, the cost factor doesn't matter as much.
    Are they encouraged to just pass the customer off to another representative but not before making them go through the same set of tedious prompts, perhaps hoping that they will just give up?

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cayci Dec 20, 2010

    My first experience with hotels.com was wonderful. The hotel had my reservation, and there were no problems. My second experience was another story. I booked a hotel stay through the hotels.com website. My credit card was charged the full amount, and I received an itinerary number and proof of payment. On the day of check-in, I called the hotel, but they had no record of my reservation. The reservationist told me to call hotels.com and have them fax my reservation. I called hotels.com, and the gentleman told me that this was the hotel's fault, and I would have to wait until check-in to call back to have my reservation re-faxed. I called back to speak to another agent. This agent put me on hold, and after waiting 10 minutes, my call was disconnected. I called back again, and demanded to speak to a supervisor. I was put on hold, and then the agent came back on the line and told me her supervisor was on another call and could not talk with me. The agent agreed to fax the reservation to my hotel. This call took 41 minutes (cell phone minutes) before everything was wrapped up. I now wish I had paid a bit more and reserved directly through the hotel. I wasted a bunch of time, and started off my vacation in a foul mood. Not worth it.

    0 Votes

rip off!

Hotels.com is a rip-off, DO NOT USE!, When I went to get quotes from the hotel, they told us a rate of 64.99, we called hotels.com to get a cheaper rate. They quoted us 60.00 flat rate + tax, so I accepted that rate and setup my reservations. I booked the room for 3 days, which should have been around 65.00 per night which figures to be 195.00 for the three nights. On last day of my stay, when I checked my account they had withdrew 235.00. They charged me instead of 60.00 per night 71.65 per night (which is more than the state tax required). I also notice they charged an additional charge of 19.74 for an extra guest, (but it was only for two people which is the rate they gave me of 60.00 for the two of us). I then called customer service to discuss this and they told me it was a charge of tax and service charge that the hotel charged, and those charges didn't have anything to do with them. When I went to discuss it with the hotel, they said they couldn't discuss the bill because I went thru hotels.com that I would have to take that up with them. After the run-around, I called hotels.com back and they said once again that Extended Stay America had charged tax and service charge. So I didn't get anything resolved with them after going back and forth from the hotel to hotels.com, so I will never ever use them again, the prices that the hotel gives you in the end will be a better price. I don't put any of the blame on "Extended Stay America" because I didn't go thru them but thru hotels.com. My stay at the room was good, I didn't have any problems with the stay, except that I had to pay 5.00 more to use their internet and the tv only went to channel 30 which was more news channels, so I had to go rent movies, other than that the stay was good.

  • At
    ATB Aug 08, 2008

    Hotels.com is definitely a rip-off. I booked a room on hotels.com and was charged $535. When I checked out of the hotel, I was told that I should have been charged $421. When I emailed Hotels.com about this, they told me that $421 is the rate they negotiated with the hotel, and that the hotel gave me that amount in error. I checked back with the hotel and they admitted their mistake in giving me that information. So, hotels.com pocketed $114 of my money. I could have saved it if I had just booked through the hotel directly. Now I know better.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pittipat Nov 01, 2010

    Same experience -- what you see is not what you get. Paid an extra $15/night because of their falsified "pay this price!" on the website. Read carefully before you book.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scotsmaninusa Dec 15, 2010

    On 4th july this year we used hotel.com to book a room on travelodge rt 66 in Flagstaff, Az.when we got there travelodge would not honor the booking as hotel.com hadn't paid the bill.so there we where 5 of us with nowhere to stay.the idiot at travelodge said if we don't leave he'd call the cops as if it was our fault.I phoned hotel.com to sort it out, they said they'd find another hotel.
    hotel.com never ever to this day phoned us for a follow up, in fact, they removed the booking ref from their system so we couldn't leave a review.
    I'll never use hotel.com or travelodge again.

    1 Votes
  • Si
    simoness Aug 26, 2011

    Hotels.com stole $572.03 from me. I booked my hotel using an agent over the phone. When he couldn't get my first choice to go through I settled on my second choice. A confirmation email of my second choice was sent to me. A month later my credit card bill arrived and I was billed for both. I called Hotels.com thinking it would only take 5 minutes to clear up since our conversation was recorded when I booked my hotel and I only received one conformation email on the hotel I stayed at. 9 Phone calls later and they still will not reimburse me.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    HOTELS.COM RIPP OFF Jan 11, 2012

    itried to book with hotels.com for hotel avenida, praia da rocha, cost is 2968 (two thousand nine hundred & sixty eight)for 14 nites, the same hotel, same date on alpha rooms is 266 ( two hundred & sixty six) & booked with hotel pronto 238 ( two hundred & thirty eight. HOTELS.COM ARE RIPP OFFS

    0 Votes