US Census BureauCensus taker trespassed on my property

H
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Someone pounding on my back door so hard I thought they were going to break it in.It was a census taker. I told them we did not use that door. They came around to my deck but could not enter the deck because the gate to the deck is locked to keep out intruders. My property has NO TRESPASSING signs posted .

I told them I had filled out and mailed in the census form on time.I had a bad feeling about this census, so I made a copy of my responses just so they couldn`t make trouble for me. I offered to let the census worker see the copy.

No, they were inquiring about two dwellings near me that hadn`t sent forms in. I replied that as of April 1, 2010 both had been unoccupied.

I have No Trespassing signs up and my gate locked to discourage salesmen, and other time wasters.

I really resent the fact this individual realized my gate was locked and decided to go to my back door. They were rude to me and should be censured or better yet, fired.I spoke to my Sheriff and his men WILL

ESCORT CENSUS TAKERS off a person`s property if asked to do so by the homeowner.

While I did not call the sheriff, if ANOTHER CENSUS WORKER comes to my home for any reason at all, I WILL HAVE THE SHERIFF`S DEPARTMENT ESCORT them from my property.

I did my part, filled out and mailed the survey in. What part of NO TRESPASSING don`t those Census people understand!

Responses

  • Su
    SuperSpook Mar 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Order the clowns off your property and call the closest census regional office OR call the police if they refuse to leave. Census takers have virtually no governmental authority and if you refuse to answer their questions the absolute worse thing that can happen is a 500 dollar fine. It should be noted that no one has been fined for decades and it is likely the government will not spend the thousands it will take to get you in court to collect the fine.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Kapole Jul 18, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I attended and passed 4 days of training to become a Census Crew Leader employee in St. Louis, Missouri. I wasn't told when I was offered the job that I would have to train up to 20 enumerators. I also wasn't told that only 7 slots were available in my class of 11 for the position in question. Despite passing all tests with flying colors and showing up early for training I was made an assistant to someone else in my class. On the final days of training I was told by Norvin Porter that I would not be able to work in his CLD due to moving outside of the orginal area that I applied for the job in. He stated he would follow up and have me reassigned. That was the last time I heard from him. I followed up with my trainer, Lois Laffterty-Gude and she stated she would find out and call me back. She never did. Over the next week I began to make calls on my own to the Census Regional Office In Kansas City, the EEO office in Washington and the local office located at 9901 Watson Road. I received vague responses and was told on more than one occasion that someone would follow up and no one ever did. More than a week after my initial training I received a call to come to work in the very same district I was originally told that I would not be able to work in. I feel that I have been discriminated against because I was the only black student in my training class and also the only one who despite passing all testing with flying colors did not get assigned work as promised. There has been a complete lack of contact on behalf of my trainer, her manager and the main office in my area. I have missed over a week's pay and reduced my availability at my other job waiting for word on my reassignment. My phone calls have been met with empty promises. I have full documentation of all actions that have transpired, names and phone numbers contacted and Notices of Personnel Action sent from the Census Bureau Field Division in Kansas City, MO which are in direct violation of what I was told once I completed training. I am also in possession of training materials and official Census badges. I am an honest individual and would never use these documents for wrongdoing but someone else faced with a loss of income for a week in these dire times would not be so honest. I wonder just how often this happens? Is it normal to allow someone to complete training only to be told they cannot be assigned to work and also retain sensitive Census training and identification badges? This raises issues of security as well as discrimination in my view and I will seek any and all options to bring this to the attention of those in charge so that it does not happen again.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nobody's business Feb 22, 2017

    I was coming home one Sunday and a census lady walked in to my garage and started pounding on my car door. My husband got out of the car and asked her what she wanted. She literally wanted to walk in our house with us. I told him not to answer any questions at all. She came back this Monday again. First rang the doorbell and then sat there for 15 minutes, when we didn't open the door she started pounding on our front door. Who in the H*ll do you think you are?
    I went on to their web site and filled out the information, kind of. I was mortified with the questions that they were asking. What time do I leave for work. How many rooms to I have in my house, if I have mental illness. These are questions that I feel like it's nobody's business.
    Hey, if you feel like big brother is watching you. Answer these questions and maybe it'll be more true than you think.

    1 Votes
  • Fo
    Foggy Domain Jun 23, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Not given a survey yet field rep and acting director by FedEx letter adamant every [censor] day for 2 weeks I should call or login online without a valid approval number, instead they give an invalid login number. Who are these crooks? Obama holdovers.They harrass to invalidate policy.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Foggy Domain Jun 23, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Foggy Domain Actually they've been snooping around around around for 3 [censor]ing weeks.
    I wasn't born yesterday they can [censor] off.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disappointedlawstudent Nov 19, 2018

    Absolutely mortified by the way a US Census worker treated me yesterday evening. I just recently moved to an apartment a few months ago to attend law school. Life has been absolutely crazy. Census worker came pounding at my door. I did not open it... I am a single female student living by myself in Cleveland, Ohio... He showed me his ID and said he was a census worker... I told him "ok..." In which he said they have been trying to reach me for awhile... I then said "ok..." again. Apparently they have sent me mail regarding the census... Which I have not received but I don't actually check my mail that often since I never get anything I actually need... All of my bills are over online and no one really sends letters anymore. He never said they tried to call me but with the number of scammers out there anymore, I don't answer calls that don't leave voicemails. Definitely do not have a voicemail from them...

    Anyway, guy was annoyed I would not let him into my house. EXCUSE ME? You think that it would be smart to let anyone who flashed a damn ID at me to let them into my house? Not to mention, it was after usual government hours at 5:50pm on a SUNDAY and it was dark out. He also climbed up my back stairs which is actually a fire escape and talked to me through that back door... I guess that my doorbell from downstairs for my front door doesn't work... But I don't have company that doesn't inform me that they aren't coming via phone so I don't know if anyone even has tried to use that button. Plus... THATS NOT REALLY MY RESPONSIBILITY! I live in a large, old, apartment building...

    I told him I could conduct the interview through the door window and he said he wanted me to meet with him and I could meet with him wherever comfortable for me. I then said again, I am in law school and this is a terrible couple of weeks and I cant really just make time for this... I needed a couple of weeks until break. Apparently, I need to answer this stuff on his time though so that isn't good enough. Apparently, he is going to call me tonight to set up a time to meet. But he also asked for my name and number before leaving. I did not give it to him. If he is the damn bureau, he found where I lived, he has my name and number somewhere.

    Come on guys. You need some damn sensitivity training or something... Or maybe a reality check that I am not going to invite some random man into my house just because he is holding paperwork and a photo ID of himself. That's stupid. Should I state the hundreds of cases where someone is raped or killed because they let a stranger into their house? Maybe when I seem uncomfortable and legitimately TELL YOU that I am not comfortable letting you into my house, you tell me to check my mail, you will talk to me over the phone, etc... IDK THERE ARE OTHERWAYS TO DO THIS IT IS 2018. Side note... Checked my mail...… had nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Ky
    kyle reese Aug 20, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    to whom it may concern in the census office. does your office make it a practice to enter private property with out announcing one to tenant or home owner. if am correct that legally it trespassing on private property and the police can be call in such an case. your current practices are shameful and despicable. It's only a matter of time some is file charges against your office.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frustrated in Holladay utah Sep 22, 2020

    The census worker rang my bell and I said I altered it and he kept trying to give me a paper for my neighbor and I said I didn't know them since they just moved in

    He was very rude and I said I didn't want to touch the paper sin e he had no gloves or mask on

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem