Tan Your HidePathetic

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Tan Your Hide is ruthless! After previously being with them for 9 mos and then renewing my membership, Tan Your Hide showed no empathy for my personal situation. A month into my renewal, I found out that I was pregnant. And as any intelligent mother-to-be would do I emailed the corporate office in Colorado Springs to request my membership to be canceled. The manager told me that they do not cancel memberships, but can put a freeze on my account during my pregnancy. Yet, the freeze would not stop the automatic payments due each month. All they would need from me is a letter from my doctor stating that I was not allowed to tan due to my pregnancy. So, not only could I not tan, but I had to pay for something I wasn't using. What's the point of that? In addition, in their membership agreement it states that it is up to their discretion to cancel a membership, but would cost 50. I mean, come on! This is a well established and known company. I think they can afford to cancel one membership. If they would have canceled my membership as I requested, because I could not (and did not) use their service, then I probably would have considered rejoining the membership. I will not go back to Tan Your Hide and I do not refer anyone to join their membership. They are unprofessional and have no empathy!

Responses

  • Br
    Brandon Davis Jun 12, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had the same experience with Tan Your Hide. They would not cancel or suspend a membership due to a pregnancy. Now I have over $800 in colections due to Tan Your Hide. Shady company, shady business tactics. STAY AWAY!!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    COlifer Dec 29, 2015

    I signed a 10 month contract with Tan Your Hide. 2 months ago I was diagnosed with Melanoma skin cancer. I had the area of skin removed, that DOES NOT mean I am cured. THAT AREA is now cured. I emailed them, telling them what happened and that I would like to cancel my contract. They asked to see my paperwork, I sent it in, they kept saying they were having "issues" opening the files. They wanted to see all my medical records in regards to this issue, which is already a HIPPA violation, I'm sure. Their product is responsible for giving me this cancer, the least they can do, is cancel my membership. They are now refusing to cancel my membership because they "think" I'm cured, I'm NOT cured. As I said, they JUST TOOK THAT AREA OF SKIN. I would like to cancel my membership NOW.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JosephJohns May 27, 2012

    Been to other salons in town and Tan Your Hide is BY FAR the best
    They are spotless toy clean and their equipment is incredible. There are no other tanning salons in the area that ven come close.

    Just a side note. I too am also military. I go to the Air FOrce Academy. We all ran at their North location. I have never heard any complaints from any military

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JosephJohns May 27, 2012

    I am a military member and have been at Tan Your Hide for many years. They are the only ones that offer military rates, and have 8 stores to use They give great pricing options and excellent equipment. I have had many military friends go there and when hey got transferred had no problems at all cancelling.

    I will continue to recommend to all friends
    Thank you for your support of the military Tan Your HIde

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Day Mar 20, 2012

    Thanks for the reviews! I just moved here with my husband and am looking for a great place to tan. My husband is in the army, so want somewhere that offers Milatary discount. I have heard nothing good about Tan your Hide and don't plan to go there now. Too bad because it looks like a really nice place, just don't wanna go through any of the hassle.

    0 Votes
  • Md
    mdm32 Oct 18, 2011

    (my first post was missing words)I had a contract with tan your hide and the only reason why I got it was due to the military clause they have, but guess what they didn't honor it.I handed in my orders and they said they never got them.(they lost it or just don't want to honor it)So they sent it to collections.I have told them that at anytime I could fax them the copy but they won't take them.Being in the military we move a lot.I have been doing the military for 15years and 6 duty stations and I have never came across a company like this.I have a copy of the contract in hand, which I have also hired a lawyer.what they are doing id fraud...

    0 Votes
  • Md
    mdm32 Oct 18, 2011

    I had a contract with tan your hide and the only reason why I got it was due to the military clause they have, but guess what they didn't honor it.I handed it in and they say I never did that(they lost it or just don't want to honor it)So they sent it to collections.I have told them that at anytime I could fax them the copy but they won't take them.Being in the military we move a lot.I have been doing the military for 15years and 6 duty stations and I have never came across a company like this.I have a copy of the contract in hand, which I have also hired a lawyer.what they are doing id fraud...

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    respondance Oct 14, 2009

    Let's see, after tracing down the respondance to the first Tan Your Hide posting...it was traced back to the owners of a Tiki Tan here in town...so bashing another business is slander...right!!!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    respondance Oct 14, 2009

    When you sign a contract you shoud read the contract that you sign. That is why it is called a contract. I would say that Tan Your Hide was pretty fair about the issue of allowing you to put your membership on hold the entire time you were pregnant, and allow you to come back whenyou had the baby, and get the entire time you paid for back!
    Most salons and business' would say that your signed the contract so tough.
    In addition didnt you say that you signed a contract that stated it has a cancellation fee of $50.00 at the salons descretion?????

    Take resposonsibility for yourself, and don't blame businesses that provide their services for you!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Screwed TYH Oct 03, 2009

    I agree with you! Tan Your Hide is ruthless! They don't care about their customers, your just a $ to them. The owners matt and liz are always vacationing and you can't get a hold of them when you need them. They are probably using your money that your paying them, when you are not using their equipment!
    This company is not professional! I used to hear the workers talking about their drama on the phone, it's not as classy as they try to make it. I really hope no one makes the mistake of signing up, because if something happens like a pregnancy or military orders, YOUR STILL GOING TO PAY THEM FOR SOMETHING YOU CAN'T USE!!!
    Tan Your HIDE IS HORRIBLE!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.