The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Steves Blinds and WallpaperTerrible experience

L

I have spoke with Jackie at steves blinds they record your order I ask if the product was mint green because it looked blue I wanted mint green I was informed that there was some blue but the stripes in the pot looked mint green I said that was ok The product came and and there was no mint green in the flower pot and the product was slate blue The website says customer satisfaction post this is the only satisfaction I can get... They want to twist my words when I clearly stated I wanted mint blue. They refuse to offer me a different border or refund.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Responses

  • Sh
    Sheila4 Jun 16, 2017

    I waited quite a while for my interior shutter order, when they arrived, I was very happy with them. Quality, ease of installation, color match. However, I ordered 3 shutters and have received only 2, it has been 6 months to the day that I placed the order and I am always told they will be here next week.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elaine from . MA Jul 07, 2016

    I have bought wallpaper and a shade from this Company with no problems. They send you samples of blinds and wallpaper and I knew what I was getting when I ordered. Everything was timely and well packaged.. Elaine from MA.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frankie Pelletier Jun 15, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello I am from Canada I ordered some wallpaper from Steve's Blind & wallpaper. My order came in within 2 weeks and I am very satisfied I do not see how someone can have problems with them, as you can always go chat with Ashley online. She was very helpful. Box came in very condition also. Shipping was expensive but I live in a remote town in the middle of nowhere and we can't get anything unless we drive 4 hours away. So thank you Steve and Ashley.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamesmadison2 May 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I suspect a lot of the complaints are do to errors made by customers in placing their orders. I have received great products and great customer service thus far.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamesmadison2 May 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have ordered samples and blinds twice and the customer service has been fantastic so far. I have used the online customer service chat and they have been very informative and helpful.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janet rozier Jan 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    paper is coming away from the wall. xxx

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janet rozier Jan 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Not a happy person right now.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janet rozier Jan 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello my name is Janet Rozier, I ordered some wall-paper about a month ago, this morning I've started hanging it, have two sections put up on the wall and the paste is not holding, I have come to a complete stop and waiting on advice from you as what to do, many thanks Janet. my e-mail address is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MrsKay Jan 16, 2015

    I ordered a $3.00 wallpaper sample over two weeks ago. My order status still says "order placed". I emailed them a few days ago but no response. How hard is it to ship one wallpaper sample?! I will not buy anything else from Steve again.

    0 Votes
  • Md
    mdboyle Aug 27, 2012

    I have had a bad experience with Steve's blinds. The blinds they shipped were cheap and nasty very thin the pull chords were too short. I complained and was told by em ail that they had sent your concerns about your blinds over to the manufacturer and were awaiting a response from them and as soon as I hear back I will advise you on the status. 25 days later having heard nothing I emailed again and got
    the following "We have tried contacting you on this issue and have had no response from you. The manufacturer has requested that you sent us pictures for them to review." There is no record in either my e mail or voice mail of any attempt to contact me. I have sent pictures and now I am back in the waiting period and expect they will just ignore me until I tire and go away. 100% customer satisfaction not by my definition. Poor quality no one standing behind the product I would never suggest anyone use Steve's blinds.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    fabu_liss Jun 25, 2012

    I found amazing wallpaper online through Lowes but the price was pretty high, but I found the exact same wallpaper through 2 other online companies for HALF the price...it seemed too good to be true, so I did some research before buying! The first company was Steve's and after reading all these complaints & seeing all their complaints through the BBB I was very hesitant on buying from them. The other company was Discount Decorating and I couldn't find any complaints online and their BBB page had no claims! Needless to say, I just ordered from Discount Decorating and am hoping for a happy experience! THANK YOU SO MUCH for all the feedback and warnings about Steve's...sounds like I dodged a bullet!!! Good luck everyone & happy decorating! =)

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lola johnson Jun 17, 2012

    If I could give this company "zero stars" that's what I would give them. Ordered blinds specifically asking them to have the "blackout" feature to filter out the sunlight in our bedroom. They sent us the blinds without the "black out" and we have been dealing with rude customer service for several weeks. We were asked to take pictures of blinds and proof of barcode from the purchase and they never responded. Contacted customer service and was rudely treated by one of the managers (KHals). I resent the pics directly to this manager and he promised he was going to send labels so we could ship back the blinds. It never heard back from him. How inconvenient that we now have to take the blinds down and ship them back to them (THAT IS IF THEY FOLLOW UP WITH OUR EMAILS WHICH SO FAR THEY HAVE NOT). What kind of numbnuts do they have working for this company??? It doesn’t require a brain surgeon to put an order of blinds together. Apparently, we are not the only customers who have had a bad experience with this company. We will do what ever is necessary to get our money back. Meanwhile, I hope this company goes out of business for stealing from honest people. I am perplexed how they can run a business this way and still stay afloat...but I have a feeling bad karma will get a hold of Steve ( the owner) and his gang of crooks...”

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robin Senior May 12, 2012

    Beware of false advertisement. Steves Blinds and Wallpaper advertisement free blinds if not shipped in 24 to 48 hours. I never received the blinds in a timely manner. I didn't get any response from the company after I emailed and called. No one is available to take the call[. Don't order from these people. They are selling snowballs in hell and the blinds are in the poorest possible quality. R

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robin Senior May 12, 2012

    Do not order any blinds from Steve's Blinds and Wallpaper. Advertisement offer, 24 to 48 hours free delivery or you get free blinds. I ordered my blinds on 21 April 2012 when two weeks passed I called their [protected]. These lines are always busy Monday to Friday, however a recording is available if you call on the weekend which tells you to call during their business hours. No one never responses to the emails either. The only person you will have contact with will be the chat room operator. I told her my problem gave her my order number and moments later she came back to me that my order went out on the 4th of May 2012. I didn't believe her and told her so via chat. I hung up and called corporate, lines were busy, sent an email to their corporate office, no response. Three day later, got an email indicating that the blinds were shipped out on the 7th May 2012. I received them today 12 May 2012, opened them up and they are not what I expected. I think I would have gotten better if I purchases regular blinds from Walmart and came out better. Not good quality at all. I would not recommend to purchase anything from these clowns. Their company advertises 24 hours to 48 hours or blinds free adtervisement and this is not true. You can't get in touch with anyone from their company to voice your complaint or get a refund. I emailed and requested a full refund of my money because the order had not been placed. The only person available is the operator told me during my chat with her that she didn't have the authority to cancel my order and said the shipment date was 4 May and it was not true. She said that the 24 hour free delivery advertisement only applied to a special collection. Because the blinds I order didn't come from that collection the advertisement did not apply to me. People let me be the first to tell you, if you are going to take a chance and purchase blinds on line let it be from Blinds.com or another Blinds online company and won't try sell you snowballs in hell. Word of advice should you ever decide to order from them be sure to make a copy of their chat and print their website on day that you ordered just in case. Robin S.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Farid N Mar 12, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered my blinds at Steve's blinds and got the best deal available. However, the drama started after my order was shipped to Idaho ( I live in NYC). I called the customer service, spoke to different people, left msgs and no call return. Finally I got Mr. Tyler from the sales department, who helped me with my purchase at day one. He was extremely helpful. I got my blinds shipped by air in a few days and also got a refund of !0% of my order back to my account.
    Thanks Tyler!!!
    I must say he went above and beyond in customer service to make a very unhappy customer satisfied.
    So, my blinds look exactly how I wanted : Levolor translucent perception soft verticals... highly recommended!
    The installation wasn't that difficult at all.
    So remember 2 things while shopping here:
    1- double check your order to make sure they have everything correct : Stuck left or right, luckily I noticed that while reviewing my order.
    2- check the shipping address!!!
    Overall they were very helpful and the great price was the best part!
    I'll shop again here.
    Farid

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wallpaperguy Jan 31, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well, amazingly, after getting the BBB involved, the label appeared.

    BUT - not without a stupid excuse about how they DID email the label using the address they had on file. PROBLEM: the only one they had on file was the one I used when I placed the original order. They are LYING! I have asked them to tell me the address they had on file...

    DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH THESE BOZOS.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wallpaperguy Jan 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In the middle of December, I placed an order for wallpaper with Steve's. It was "in-stock." Waited two weeks. No wallpaper. No emails from them saying there was a delay. Called the company and was told that it was backordered at the mill and wouldn't be in until Jan. 6th. After I called them, I realized that I had ordered the wrong paper. I used their online ordering photo to order the paper, and the small photo was a similar picture to the correct paper. My error. I immediately called Steve's to correct the order. Oh, I'm sorry, I was told. That order is scheduled to be delivered tomorrow. There is nothing we can do. Oh, and if you are going to ship it back, you are responsible for return shipping and a 30% restocking fee. Finally, after getting to talk to a customer service supervisor, he agreed to issue me a postage-paid label so I could ship the incorrect wallpaper back to the manufacturer. I would still be responsible for the 30% fee, as that was a manufacturer's fee and not a Steve's fee.

    The label has not come yet. It was supposed to be emailed to me almost a month ago. I have emailed the company, called them, emailed Steve (now reading above I found his email and not the general one, so it may not have gotten to him, but you think someone would forward it to him for his reply.) The wallpaper is still sitting at home. I DID order the correct wallpaper and it was promptly shipped, but it seems no matter what I do, I STILL have not been emailed the shipping label! I have fiiled a complaint with the Michigan BBB about this matter and the inexcusable lack of response from Steve's.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Faulkner May 11, 2011

    I order vertical and horizontal cordless cellular. Verticals quit working after a week...horizontals after 6 weeks. 100% satisfaction guarantee is a joke. I was told they are special order do no refunds. They did give me $24 on a $94 horizontal refund. Nobody told me they were special order with no refunds when I bought them! I paid $55 to resrting the verticals...although hey offered to do it but I had already disposed of the long box that they were shipped in and couldn't find another. A very poor experience.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whats true May 05, 2011

    Was getting ready to post my experience & started reading, can't believe other comments, sounds like if you have a problem you should contact Steve directly. He has posted his personal information several times. It's a company who provides a great product for a low price, stop looking for problems and if you have one look for a solution instead of complaining. Enough said, here is my experience.

    I received my order for 2 roller shades & 2 blackout cellular shades. I am thrilled w/ the quality of the shades and the fit is perfect. The speed with which the blinds were delivered was far above what I expected. I am getting ready to order cellular blinds for my living room and will eventually order them for all 7 windows in our sun room. I wouldn't dream of ordering them from anywhere else. Thanks for the exceptional service & products!

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lovemburton May 03, 2011

    I am assuming these complaints are from other businesses that can't offer the low prices that steves does so they are trying to scare away customers. I purchased from this company twice. I made my first purchase about a year ago for some over sized mini blinds. They had the lowest prices online and no over size shipping charge. Then I purchased some 2" faux wood blinds for the bedrooms in my house. Again they had the lowest price. I found this message board because when I orderedat check out it said blinds left within 24 hours, I ordered on a wed night. When I did not get an email saying they shipped I panicked. I went online and put my order number in and it said there was no order so I started to look online and found this site. I was really worried after reading all these reviews I sent an email to the company that was really rude. On saturday I tried again and there my order was and it said shipped I received on tue. I felt so bad for sending the rude email I had to come here and make things right. This in my opinion is a good company. I do a ton of online shopping, the only things I have purchased in my house from a store is a book shelf and my coffee table and end tables from pier 1.

    -1 Votes
  • Le
    lee288 Apr 25, 2011

    I wish that I had read those comments before I order from Steve's Blinds. I don’t recommend Steve's Blinds to any of my friends. I will not order from them again. The web site said Ships in 24 hrs or FREE, but I wait almost 5 day to got my order, and they charge me extra for ships in 24 hrs. When I received my order all valance is broke and missing so many thing in order. When I call them ask extra money I paid for ship in 24 hrs and they say no refund. All the positive comments in they web site is so fake. And I compared to other web site is cheaper than Steve. When I saw them ships in 24 hrs that why I order from them and don’t mind paid extra money. But I paid extra money still don’t have what I want, if you can’t do it don’t charge people extra money the service you can’t provide.

    0 Votes
  • Lb
    lbisme63 Apr 13, 2011

    TO EVERYONE THAT HAD TROUBLE DEALING WITH STEVES. YESTERDAY I RECEIVED A FULL REFUND BY DEALING WITH STEVE DIRECTLY:)

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DavidE. Mar 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    All I can comment on is my personal experience with Steve's...which has been outstanding. There was a defect with a Levolor mini-blind that I ordered through Steve's...one of the cord's snapped after a few days of use. I called Steve's customer service expecting to have a real run-around to remedy the situation. Anything but...the woman I spoke with in customer service was competent and professional. While I was on the line, she conferred with Levolor...and I received an entire new blind within a few days. No product, service or comapny is perfect. Problems invariable arise and a company shows it true colors by how it deals with them when they do. I was very impressed by how Steve's handled this situation...and can't imagine how they could do better.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anonymous Former Employee Mar 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I worked for this company when it was American Blind and Wallpaper factory and was a loyal employee for almost 8 years. When the market crunch hit in the early 2000s the company kept lying and said everything was going to be okay, however soon after high level managers started leaving the company. Soon after this woman came in and started making ridiculous changes and actually said she had to demote me because I was not staying behind what the company wanted. I tried my best to help all customers with their issues along with training 30 employees every week because of the high turnover. So to make a long story short my pay was cut 30%. A few weeks later I found a new job and as soon as I did that Steve Katzman abruptly quit and left the company. Interesting. Now he starts another company with the same empty promises. Now thank God I have a degree and make 3 times as much as I did at this awful company.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rickkel Mar 11, 2011

    Take these complaints with a grain of salt. I am guessing that the lion's share of these complaints are either 1) from a disgruntled competitor of Steve's or 2) people who don't realize that if you want your blinds to fit you need to carefully measure the windows and doors where you are going to put them in exactly to the 1/8" using a real metal tape measure not a yardstick.
    I recently placed a very complicated order from Steve's - one that would have been very easy for someone to mess up. All the blind sets had two or more sets of blinds on one header (one was nearly ten feet long with three different sized blinds on one set). All arrived to my home in exactly 11 calendar days (and I ordered them on a Saturday). Lowes and Home Depot promised no faster than 4 weeks! I just finished installing them myself and they are perfect in every way and look great. Guess where I am going to get the blinds for our kitchen?

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Holly Ardrey Mar 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered custom blinds for 4 windows late one Thursday evening and received them the following Tuesday. The color was perfect, the fit was perfect, and installation was a breeze. Our sincere thanks to all the folks who handled our order. I would definitely recommend Steve's to my friends. Thanks so much, it was a pleasure shopping with you.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kayce Feb 07, 2011

    I want to thank everyone for giving me heads up, was about to place a BIG order but now to nervous to do so. I don't have the time to follow up with mistakes. I have enough of my own mistakes to deal with. Theres nothing more aggravating than to have to take time fix a problem you yourself did not create. Everyone makes mistakes, but sounds like theres more than that going on here. Steve you may want to consider getting more help.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kayce Feb 07, 2011

    Im glad I read all these complaints before ordering, was about to place a BIG order and now to nervous to do so. I don't have the time to follow up on mistakes made by others, have enough of my on to deal with. Sounds like their customer service and shipping dept., needs some work. Thanks for the heads up all...

    Steve, these complaints cost you alot today.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    cincyfan68 Dec 31, 2010

    I beg you, give your money to another business... We experienced the worse customer service I have ever dealt with.. No one seems to care that our blinds do not stay up.. Finally after weeks of phone calls we get a FedEx postage paid label but then when we go to send off defective products we have to pay for the boxes they were put in at FedEx.. I know we will make a simple call and get reimbursed from Steves Blinds but guess what, we are told we have to pay for the boxes... What a joke!! Call again and ask to speak to Steve, instead get to talk to manager of customer service.. A check is being issued for our cost, but why does it have to come to this? Will never give this place any future business and will warn my friends and family to stay away.. Learn how to use common sense Steves Blinds or you will be out of business like so many others that just dont get it..

    0 Votes
  • I can't believe this company!! The most horrible experience in a very long time. I figured because they were local to me I had the upper hand by visiting their showroom. First of all, they send out "trainees" to do their selling. These people have no idea what their talking about and when you ask them a question, they have to go back and ask, then come back out and then go back and so on. Miserable waste of time!!!

    So, I decided to just go to the website, because they claim to offer "the lowest price" and "free shipping". Please...if you google for the items your looking for you can find a lower price! Call them and they will meet it; if they can. I would rather pay a cheaper price for my wallpaper or blinds and pay a small amount for shipping. Never Again!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve Katzman Aug 02, 2010

    My name is Steve Katzman and I am the President of Steves Blinds and Wallpaper. I apologize for the trouble you have encountered with our company. Please forward your order number or contact information to [email protected] and I will be more than happy to investigate the details of your situation. I assure you I will promptly get back to you with a response. Please give us an opportunity to address your concerns. Sincerely, Steve Katzman

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    ronbenn Aug 01, 2010

    I had an order mix up as well. I ordered navajo white in a specific size and received cocoa brown in the wrong length. It sat around for two moths before I used it - and their order confirmation went automatically into my junk mail so I was left without a receipt. Their word against mine !
    I reordered without remeasuring with the cocoa brown blinds dimensions - paid again, and found that the new navajo white blinds were 12" too short. It is obvious to me now that they mixed up my order with somone else's brown blinds.
    As a result - a set of blinds that I originally paid $25.oo for have cost me $75.00.
    They may be the cheapest on the web - but when you have a business dynamic like this - it is very dysfunctional for the consumer. Use Steve's blinds with caution,
    and do not trust them and their ability to keep the orders straight.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jirwin Jul 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    All I can say is that I wish I had read all these comments before ordering from Steves Blinds and Wallpaper. Customer service stinks. I specifically ordered inside mount but was sent outside mount which didn't begin to fit in the opening. Besides the fact that it took three weeks for the first order, it will now take another week and a half for the new blinds to be sent. I hate this company and will never do business with them again. Personal Guarantee of great customer service--HAH!!! You get what you pay for--cheap price, cheap service.

    0 Votes
  • Nc
    NCrenovator Jun 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a disappointing experience with Steve's, although it was rectified quickly. I ordered a blackout roller shade on a Saturday, and got an e-mail the following Tuesday that the item was discontinued. It took several e-mails back and forth to explain that I did not want something "similar" that cost twice as much, before my card charge was reversed. I'm not sure that I'll risk ordering something that may be discontinued again.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maureen ski Jun 16, 2010

    I have purchased blinds from here and am completely upset with the customer service that was received. It took over 2 weeks to get the blinds only after I called and emailed daily to get ahold of someone, and they informed me that the blinds I ordered did not qualify for the 3-5 business day shipping. Well what does that mean? I want to know who to contact and who will help give me back the monies that are promised to me from the blinds that I ordered that took weeks to get to me. I still have one blind waiting to come it has been 16 days since the order. and by the way this blind was deleted from the order by them and I had to reorder. Also wondering why there is a 4.95 fee per order, what does this charge do? Maureen

    0 Votes
  • Kd
    KDEITRICK May 30, 2010

    Pleased in every way! Service, product and the best price on the internet! I found the ordering process on the website very easy and the packaging was excellent. Blinds arrived quickly and exactly as expected. I highly recommend Steve's Blinds and Wallpaper! I will definitely be shopping there again!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moyster May 18, 2010

    I was very concerned about my order with Steve's after reading this board as I had already placed my order. I was pleasantly surprised that the online status matched the actual status and the blinds shipped when indicated. They arrived in perfect condition and fit my windows perfectly. I have to a say that we are very happy and saved money compared to other online blind companies. I would use Steve's again.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    abbiemomof2girls May 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! The reviews are correct. They wait until after you order and after you call BBB to pul down some "supposedly" discontinued product. Very poor business practices! They say it can take 24 hours "or longer" for their site to update. Which translates to however long it takes for the BBB to get involved.
    Not worth the headache.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    abbiemomof2girls May 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have emailed steve and will post if there is any satisfaction to my complaint. I ordered 2 wallpaper borders. I tried to order the 3rd of the same set, but found them on ebay for significantly cheaper, but they would not match it. That was ok I would just order the 3rd from ebay. However today I get an email saying they are out and discontinued. Only thing is they are still on the website for nearly 4 times the money now. Seems shady to me! I was really hopeing to do my little girls room in this and I think it not good business to say it is out of stock and then to up the price. I am neutral at this point, but may change that later. I print screened the page where they are located and the time and date and can upload it as well as the date and time image of the email. Hopefully they will make this right.
    April

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Goelsewhere May 11, 2010

    I also would not recommend Steve's to anyone! As far as their guarantee-- what a joke! Supposed to ship in 24-48 hours??? Yeah, right! After 9 DAYS... I called and complained and oooh, guess what?? They shipped that day. I have emailed Steve with no response. Their online customer service chat is a joke. I asked to speak to a supervisor who was condescending and rude. They do not stand behind their promises. I have been waiting for my blinds for 14 days now, so do not know if they will be what I ordered, but I do know that their service sucks! Do not order from them!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.