The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Solar IlluminationsDo not use them

V

This is one of the rudest companies I have ever done business with. They basically have an attitude about everything when you talk to them and could care less about their customers. Like the previous poster, I received a faulty light as well. They insisted nothing was wrong with it, and said we had to pay for it. I have told every other friend in property management to stay away from them. Needless to say, they will be losing alot of business in Naples.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Responses

  • So
    solarilluminations Aug 14, 2009

    No, you didn't receive a faulty light. You should really get your facts together before you print slanderous information. We all know solar lights only come on at night when situated in a completely dark location. As all solar lights have a light sensor they know when its night time and daytime. As an example, OBVIOUSLY a solar light would not come on at night if there is too much ambient lighting or if its placed too near a street light. Your solar light fixture WAS NOT located in a dark enough location. We told you that. But still you insisted it was faulty so we authorized a return. When the fixture came back to us its was checked and tested extensively. By that, we mean for 2 whole weeks. Yes, many, many hours of labor. The outcome was it worked just fine. There was nothing wrong with it whatsoever. We spent a huge amount of time checking the fixture for the so called 'fault'. There wasn't any fault. If there was a fault then the product would have been repaired or replaced under warranty. We cannot fix something that isn't broken! You were advised in writing, TWICE, that if the product comes back to us and a technician inspects it and finds nothing wrong with it, that you will be charged a small flat rate fee. You agreed to that ONCE verbally and TWICE in writing, and still went about the return. That was in full agreement. When we proved there was nothing wrong with your light fixture you resented the technician's fee. You didn't want to pay it and started complaining. We proved beyond all doubt that your solar light fixture was in 100% perfect working order. Many photos were taken to prove that and a certified technician compiled a detailed report. If you had used this solar light fixture correctly and had it in a dark enough location at night all would have been ok. You should have listened to us at the outset. We are not responsible for the customer's own actions when using or installing a solar light. Its all common sense. You cannot go claiming a light fixture is defective when the problem is being caused by a direct result of your own actions. Our company has not lost any business in Naples and we sell our solar lights worldwide anyway. Infact anyone reading this will see (and know) there are two sides to a story and this customer's own actions mean that there is actually no complaint here. Any 'real' complaint would be with himself. A customer is sometimes right but not always right!!!

    3 Votes
  • Ac
    Acernj Nov 18, 2009

    This company is WORTHLESS. I purchased the PP07 spot light. This light hardly emits any light at all. When I asked to return it, they replied since I have used it, it cannot be returned. In order to purchase a worthless product from this company, they have you initial on the net a boiler plate full of fine font about their unconscionable return policy.

    They actually have the nerve to say that it is customer error that we purchase a totally worthless light. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

    Moreover, this is a scam of a company that has rude obnoxious people at customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CheekyMonkey Dec 03, 2009

    I have used this company several times of the past few years. I have always got great service, great products and competitive pricing. When I have needed technical assistance this company has always been their to help. I have recommended them to others and will continue to do so. I understand their returns policy and it appears no different than most other web stores. I also understand they serve tens of thousands of customers annually, around the world, and are expanding their operations to meet high demand. It is companies like this that are good for the USA when so many others have failed in these troubled economic times. Their products are also good for the environment and that is what I care about most. Keep up the great work Solar Illuminations and ignore the tiny handful of customers like this, that blame others for their own mistakes!

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    scottdidle Dec 17, 2009

    I am very impressed with the quick and courteous handling of a problem I had
    with one of the light strings I purchased from you. Your phone
    representatives asked thorough questions as to what the problem was and what
    possible solution would remedy the fact that after two days only 24 of 50
    lights would light. I was told to turn them off for a few days to let them
    charge fully and if they still did not light to call you back. I did this,
    but they still did not light. I called you YESTERDAY and was told a new
    string of lights would be sent. The new lights were just delivered--received
    within 24 hours of my call to you---UPS delivery from west coast of FL to
    our east coast home!!!

    1 Votes
  • Wd
    WD40Plus Feb 18, 2010

    The real problem Victor is that even if the solar light comes on it doesn't produce enough usable light to illuminate anything. Solar lights are a complete waste of money. Period! You'd be better off saving your money and buying a good flashlight or spending a little more and buying a "real" light.

    0 Votes
  • Fm
    FMJohnson Sep 12, 2010

    Installed the PL05 in May 2010 and it stopped working in September 2010. Don't order from this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marian Hoffman Oct 23, 2013

    I also experienced rudeness from this company. I have to admit that I was foolish to make the purchase not having read the terms and conditions with sufficient care. Had I done so I would have known that they make a big thing of 'working days' which are only mon-thurs minus any public holidays, and take no responsibility for late delivery; also that they operate under Florida laws. I was buying the product for someone who was going to leave the UK for 2 years. I assumed that a .co.uk address meant that the product would be posted within the UK and that paying extra for the express service would ensure that it arrived within the 4-6 days mentioned. I phoned a few days later and was grumpily told that they could not track my purchase but it had been dispatched. In fact it arrived 11 days after dispatch. I experienced more rudeness when I phoned for a return. Now, reading the terms and conditions of this it is clear that the cost of returning it to the USA plus the 20-25% they deduct from the refund as 'restocking fee' means that it is not a sensible option.

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    Evencheekier Aug 05, 2015

    Maybe cheeky monkey should admit he and his family own the company!!

    -1 Votes
  • Mn
    M. N. Partin Apr 11, 2017

    Purchased 3 lights. Two have not worked after installation. Loose wires!!! Not even assembled correctly. Sloppy work for a whole lot of money. Would not recommend Solar Illuminations. Mary P., Texas

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.