The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Scentmatchers LLCripped off money

T Review updated:

The Company Scentcrafters is a scam. Also known as "Scentmatchers LLC" but this company is looking more & more like a fake every day. As it turns out there's a whole web out there making complaints of being ripped off & filing legal action against them. I found this because my wife is 1 of the more recent victims of the company & we're trying to find out any info on the company to try to sort this out or help others who are filing claims.

They seem to have the exact same excuses for each customer who gets ripped off. They collect the money & tell you its been shipped. After a long wait & customers ask where the product is, they claim the customers have given the wrong shipping info yet cannot provide a valid shipping confirmation #. If they do provide a shipping or tracking number, when you check with the company they claimed to have used has no record at all. If you give it to them again, they email you a copy of their return policy which basically says your getting nothing. If you email again they accuse you of being mentally ill and or insult you with profanity. Many people paid for a match & have received bottles of over the counter cheap perfumes that smelled nothing like the order they placed. My wife was excited because they claimed they could match a scent no longer produced & it means allot to us being its the perfume that she wore the 1rst time we met & it stole my breath away. now she's out of the money & the sample of the very tiny amount she had left as they told her they'd use that little sample to duplicate it. Heartbreaking & in this economy we cannot afford this & we've been taken.
I would like to know if you have nay info on this company other then what's listed on both their websites (which are identical mirrors of each other) and if there is anything you might able to do to help. I hope this helps.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Responses

  • Do
    Doris Ivester Jun 18, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got the bottle i ordered but scent does not smell the same. I wanted spray. Not sure how to use this bottle. I am unhappy with this perfume. Can you tell me which scent of Prince Matchbelle Perfume did you use. The web site said you were able to match the right scent. Can you let me know what can be done to get me the spray.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    JLNd Sep 18, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Scentmatchers was the worst waste of money. The perfume they made for me smelt nothing like the original. The perfume smells cheap and disgusting. I can't possible wear it out of the house. Their refund/return policy is nonexistent. Their customer service is rude and incompetent. Stay very far away from this scam of a company.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diana Bitritto Sep 11, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wish I had seen these reviews before ordering my duplicate of "Eau de Love, " my favorite perfume in the 70s. I got a pretty bottle and the stuff smelled nice but not nearly at all like the "Eau de Love" that I remembered. I thought that perhaps I chose the wrong perfume by mistake.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda Park Sep 10, 2018

    This does not smell at all like the perfume by Yardley. I paid way too much too. What a rip-off!

    0 Votes
  • At
    Atkone Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ordered a perfume no longer available for them to match and was scammed...they are crooks and lie about receiving returned merchandise. They don't give refunds or anything. They just ignore the problem and hope you go away.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Goodrone Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The scent did not smell anything like the original perfume. Could not speak to someone directly about returning the purchase. Even though I included the persons information they would not process the return because HE was not the one emailing and asking the questions about the return. The person returning the email was seemed rude. Never again will I purchase from this company. It is not worth the BS you go through with the WRONG fragrance.

    0 Votes
  • Vu
    Vuldzike Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mildly, its a ripoff.I was desperate to find Diors coloressence perfume unsucessfully, and happened on S/matchers web site.I was informed that they had an 88Kdatabase and could match aforementioned perfume:that should have alerted me.Howdo youhold that many scents, in phials condoms or what?When "smell"arrived it ponged like a crock of you know what. $90that cost me!!! Sooo...Stay away!

    0 Votes
  • Lj
    LjcLjc Aug 05, 2014

    They are a scam. I received a scent that smelled nothing like what I ordered. I returned it in 14 days. I waited 6 weeks and never saw the refund posted. I tried contacting them. No response. I tried again. This time they said they didn't have my information on record. I sent it to them. Then they said ok, we will process your refund. No refund. I emailed them. Now they say they never received my return, and will not refund the money. I have filed with the Postal Inspector, and Scent Matchers is being investigated because they have been scamming many people. Do not order anything from Scentmatchers.com!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Romass Apr 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wish I had looked at the reviews ahead of time, but I am SORELY DISAPPOINTED! I paid almost $80 for a scent match of Ananya perfume (and matching lotion), and neither smelled like Ananya. The QUALITY of ingredients they use is SO POOR, and the scent would last for MAYBE 5 minutes, then it would disappear completely. I can't send it back of course because I have had it for more than 30 days; I kept it only because I wanted desperately to be wrong about the scent...but I was only fooling myself. My sister is also a die-hard fan of Ananya, and she even said she did not like the scent at all. It is going in the trash. DO NOT SPEND GOOD MONEY ON SCENTMATCHERS PRODUCTS--THEY ARE CHEAP AND POOR OF QUALITY.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Fogle, Sharon Jul 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also have had a very bad expierience with scentcrafters, the first order was fine, the problems begin if there is a return or correction necessary. That is where the company completely and utterly fails! Avoid them!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    anumber1 May 26, 2011

    They got me for $77.00. I fell like a fool. now will only buy with pay pal. I should have known if they did not have pay pal, something was wrong with them. Ann Landers said it its too good to be true, it usually is. anumber1

    0 Votes
  • Va
    vajayjay9 May 05, 2011

    This is all informative and really made my night, and made up my mind about purchasing their "Product", if you even want to call it that. I'd sooner pay 300 for my real perfume than be scammed out of 76, thanks everyone who wrote on here and sorry about your money loss or time loss

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jossi Jan 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you for the Lolita information, Stinkbomb. My issue was resolved, having occurred in 2009, sounding or, I should say, smelling like your "match"!!! I still get messages in e-mail from Complaints Board regarding this subject!

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amorito G Oct 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My update, a little late but no surprises. I did not receive a refund from Scentmatchers as promised. They still claim I didn't send it and they didn't receive it. So, as several people have done, I reported them to BBB. BBB couldn't do anything because Scentmatchers claims they will refund if I can *provide proof* that I mailed it back. BBB suggested to me that I should take them to small claims.


    As suggested by several others, I reported them to my credit card company. I provided the credit card company with printouts of at least 20 other people complaining online with the same complaints. Scentmatchers response, yet again is that they didn't receive the product returned. If they receive it, or proof of tracking number, they will refund. The credit card company said they can't reverse the charges because the merchant promises a refund when/if the product is returned. If I can *provide proof*that I sent it, Scentmatchers will refund.

    I've given up. I have spent way too much time and effort trying to get what is justly mine. (Nevermind additional monies mailing my credit card company and BBB info.)

    Us consumers have no recourse against this company unless someone starts a class action lawsuit. I'm in. Please contact me at [email protected] Its not a fake email address. It goes directly to me immediately.

    BTW, I too played around with Scentmatchers "searchable database" and anything you put in their WILL find a match. Anything. Including blank. Congratulations! Scentmatchers can match... blank, (null for us database dorks), nothing, anything. Did you know they can match puke? Vomit? Aliens? My left leg? Rrrrrrrg? Lksdabnkrdc? Yep! They do it all!!

    Too bad they took that off their website. Now. People will start sending in the very last of their cherished discontinued scent only to be screwed.

    Its all a load of crap.

    0 Votes
  • Jk
    J.K. Retzloff Oct 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was excited to find a company claiming to have the ability to "recreate" a discontinued fragrance, so I placed an order with them and anxiously awaited my product. After an excessive wait time, I was presented with a scent that not only was hideous, but did not even come close to what I had requested. I followed their specific instructions on returning my product "for a full refund" minus my shipping costs both ways, and 6 months later, I still have not received my refund. Scentmatchers is a company that bases their business practice on very poor customer service, zero integrity, and ultimately, theft of their customers' money. Absolutely detestable!

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Fallriver1 Sep 02, 2010

    Guys i think this is some funny [censor] to sit here and read all thes complaints and yet they are still opened why are they still opened if the [censor] up so much. Class law suit. so the [censor] out of them. Im a actor so im well off so 60 or 100 dollars isn't going to hurt me at all. so this is what im ghoing to do...in going too order from them a sent one that i like and see if they can copy it do the whole texting and everything. now if they come throught and do it to the t like that dude said they have a famous customer...and ill give them props on tv...now if i order a sent the whole text and sent matching thing and they [censor] up and treat me like they treated everyone else on this board so to say...i will shut them.the last people the want to [censor] with is my lawyers. My lawyer is the first lawyer who got micheal jackson off those sex charges against those kids...and my other lawyer is the same lawyer who is puff daddys lawyer so ill place a order and we shell see the out com...

    0 Votes
  • Mq
    MQuin Aug 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Nakie0018, Thanks for the props! I'm so jealous that I didn't come up with the "dog [censor] test" myself! Although, mine might have said "dead grandma." Love it! This whole ordeal has been so entertaining, it's almost worth it. Smelly, where are you. Come on Adam, defend your dog [censor] now!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nakei0018 Aug 29, 2010

    LAUGHING MY [censor]ING [censor] OFF! Slurpyy A.KA Scentmatcers under disguise! You are such a lame, making money off of people with your scams!

    We're idiots because we complain about your fraudulent company as you sit back and take our money! LOL!(^_^)

    I must say I did get my money back, but only when I threatened them that I would call my credit card company and report scentmatchers as a fraud! In doing so, my credit card company would reverse the transaction.

    It's so funny after me emailing them multiple times about "where's my refund" there was no response! But when I threatened them, MAGICALLY, I get a reponse and got my money back!

    And for a customer such as, Slurpy, A.K.A. Scentmatchers under disguise, again LOL! You suck at lying and pretending to be a happy customer! If you are as happy as you say you are...Question, why would you even bother looking up the reviews if you got what you wanted! (^_^) BUSTED!!! LOL!

    Only people who where scammed or had concerns requarding this company would look up reviews on this company!

    Slurpy: "im here to say go get your favorite discontinued cologne or perfume its WELL worth it." Again LOL!!! Still trying to sell your fraudulent products and stay in your fraudulent business!

    SHAME ON YOU!!!
    Believe me people, after receiving their product or not even receiving it at all, is not well worth it!

    ~

    Slurpy: "You guys are idiots scent matchers matched my cologne to a T, Hollister Drift Cologne, shipped fast everything I wanted scent, bottle, text everything was perfect"

    MQuin: "They couldn't match my request for Hollister's August AT ALL. So what's the deal? If they can match yours and others, why not ours?"

    Once again, Slurpy A.K.A. Scentmatchers under disguise, is caught in the act of their scamming business by MQuin!

    The people who owns scentmatcher company...PLEASE go back to school, get a degree or something and get a real job!

    STOP STEALING PEOPLES MONEY FOR A LIVING!!!

    Oh, for people who wants to know...scentmatchers has removed the link where they check and see if they had an already matching scent of your perfume. It just has proceed, when going to the next step in purchasing your product. It's funny that someone was actually smart enough to know it was a scam when they had typed a fake company in and typed the discontinued perfume they wanted as example "dog [censor]", and clicked the link to check if they already had the scent...and suprise, they actually had the scent! LOL! WOW!

    And now the link is not there anymore!!! Humm...curious as to why? (^_^)LOL!

    In life I rather work very hard in accomplishing good money with my own sweat and tears. Never would I ever try or think of working hard to make up a fradulent company, stealing peoples money, and also crushing their dreams of actually making them believe, that they would be getting their favorite perfume after it had been discontinued!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ol
    Oldscent Aug 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got scammed too. I asked them to match a discontinued aftershave. After two months I got this stale stink in the wrong bottle. They agreed that I received the wrong order. Here's my beef. They want me to return the product sent to me and they will send me the used product that was sent to someone else and then returned. So, I have to wait for someone to return my order and then hope that it wasn't contaminated before return. I wish I had found this site first! With "sponsered" results showing on other sites, I thought they had credibility. DON'T CHANCE THEM!

    0 Votes
  • Mq
    MQuin Aug 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They couldn't match my request for Hollister's August AT ALL. So what's the deal? If they can match yours and others, why not ours?

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    Slurpyy Aug 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You guys are idiots scent matchers matched my cologne to a T, Hollister Drift Cologne, shipped fast everything I wanted scent, bottle, text everything was perfect, you people complain and drive other people away not every experience is bad, but only people who are pissed off decide to take time out of there days to [censor], im here to say go get your favorite discontinued cologne or perfume its WELL worth it.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nakei0018 Aug 01, 2010

    All I can say is... OMG! I wish I had looked up Scentmatchers LLC reviews before I purchased from them!

    The perfume I received from them, smelled like sh*t, compared to what they where suppose to send me, which was my discontinued anisette perfume!

    What a scam this company is!!! People who are reading this, PLEASE PLEASE, WARNING! PLEASE do not purchase from them! People don't make up lies just for the hell of it!

    I paid 76 dollars for my purchase of perfume and lotion and angrily sent it back for a refund, after I smelled it! DISGUSTING I MUST SAY! All I want now, is my refund, which I have text them and they have failed to respond!

    I am a grown woman and don't have time for little games! If you can't deliver, be professionals as a company and stand up for your mistakes, as money don't grow on trees! My husband warned me not to fall for this scent matching company, but me, being so niave at wanting my discontiued anisette perfume so bad...that I purchased without looking this company up!

    Shame on me!!!

    If they think I won't take actions in reporting them of their fraudulent...they are sadly mistaken! I worked to hard to make my money, than to just sit around and let it go like that!

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    sweetsallyrae Jul 21, 2010

    DO NOT buy anything from this company!!! I repeat DO NOT trust this company.
    They will steal your money.

    1) They are NOT available by phone which right there says something.
    2) The product I received smelled horrible! It was so bad I threw it in the box ans shipped it back.
    3) They claim they never received the return shipment and refuse to give me my money back.

    Basically, they will take your money.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kittenface86 Jul 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just had to deal with this horrible company!!! Not only was my product sent to me in a little over 4 weeks, they were also extremely rude when I kept emailing them asking about where my product was. Once I finally received my perfume, it was NO WHERE NEAT WHAT I HAD ASKED FOR! It smelled like toilet water, and didn't even have any hint of the same ingredients that the original perfume I had asked them to duplicate had in it. I immediately returned the item via USPS Priority Mail. I sent it on June 16th, and it is now July 14th. I have been emailing and calling them asking when I will be getting my refund, and they didn't answer me. Two days ago I sent a very nasty email to them and filed a complaint with the BBB. They finally answered and are still claiming they have not received the return. I cannot find my receipt from the USPS, so now I'm screwed because I don't have "proof" that I returned their product, even though I know full well they have it and are scamming me out of my money. They also claimed that they didn't receive my friend's return of her perfume that was awful as well. Hmm funny how no packages seem to be sent back to them correctly. Only after she filed a complaint with the BBB did they magically claim they got her package and told her they would refund her money. VERY SHADY!! Do not buy from this company!! They can't match anything correctly and will just bottle up garbage and send it off to you in a month or so, and then claim they never got your return so they don't have to refund your money. Save your receipt and track your package if you want any hope of getting your money back. Please shut this company down!!!

    P.S. They told the BBB that they have only had 3 complaints about refunds ever, and 2 have been resolved...hmm...so me and my friend makes two people, and they are claiming only 1 other person has ever has had a refund problem? BS!! This site alone has several complaints!! Ha!

    0 Votes
  • Lt
    LTeel Jun 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wish I had found this complaint site before I ordered. Everything sounds exactly like what I'm going through. I have been looking for years for a discontinued scent and should have known something was wrong when I had to leave 2 voice messages and an email asking where my cologne was. I did arrive, but was crushed after I got the product that smelled terrible. I emailed them immediately to ask for a "re-do" or a refund and again had to leave voice messages and emails before I got a response telling me to "send it back". Now I am having issues because they are saying they "didn't receive the package" and are demanding proof of delivery. They never specified a return shipping method, or that it required a tracking number. It seems they just got my money, through something together, and now they don't want to live up to their return policy. If they come through I will be very surprised, I have a feeling I've been taken to the cleaners for $90

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Natalya 76 Jun 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This sompany is very bad, what they do to people is just unbelievable scam. I got "matching" scent from them about 6 weeks after I ordered, and it was stinky awful smelling water, so I sent it back the same day. When I sent them an e-mail said that the package is on the way said replyed that I did not notify them first! I sent then tracking number, and they said that refund will take 3 to 5 days.Guess what??? No refund had ben processed, and they don't reply to my messages.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    mcquin May 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Really,
    Have you purchased from them? The truth is the bottom line. People are being deceived by this company which is saying they can provide a scent of the customers choice. They can't and it has been proven repeatedly. It also seems the majority of the dissatisfied customers are not receiving the promised refund.

    When a company repeatedly and knowingly cannot provide the product they advertise, that is not only fraudulent, but also grounds for the "taken customers" to feel a little angry. It's basically stealing. Yes they are providing a product, but not what they say they can provide.

    If I tell you for your sixty bucks, I'll give you something and then what I give you is neither what I promised, nor something that you will use, I would say you're going to be angry. Then when you tell me and I ignore you well, you're probably going to warn others about it. the more I ignore you the angrier you will get. When I say you're just a whiner - well you can figure the rest out.

    If this company wants people to stop complaining, they should take care of business. Too many people have been cheated. The escalation of defense by the company through words does not help their reputation. They only way to really defend and prove themselves worthy is to either deliver the promised product or refund customers money in a timely manner.

    Here is one thing you can be sure of - if Smelly had received the proper scent or a timely refund, you would not be reading this right now. In fact, none of us would even know that Edward or Adam exist.

    That's the truth and I am sticking to it!

    P.S. - I did get my refund for my powdery rosewater quickly. Thanks SM for at least providing my refund. What I REALLY wanted was the scent I ordered. If you can't make a customer happy with your re-creation you should at least make them satisfied with a refund. Honesty IS the best policy.

    P.S. - RR aren't you anonymous too?

    0 Votes
  • Qw
    Qwerty Bdonk May 19, 2010

    I, too, have been ripped off by this company. After receiving an email stating they would process my refund right away and it would be 6 weeks before my account gets credited I waited...and waited... and I am still waiting. Iam wondering what to do next.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reallyrally May 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I find it scary that a few of you deranged individuals think Edward has some god given right to be able to make up fake accounts and slander this company anonymously. Guess what, when you tell lies about a company and its individuals on a THIRD PARTY WEBSITE, you give up your right to privacy. I know the type of individuals that would like to drag people through the mud would LOVE to do so anonymously like little cyber terrorists. I'm American and it's my right to lie and complain about companies all day without repurcussions, I paid $20 I get to behave like a child. Their privacy policy extends to not selling your information or providing it to others. By posting on a third party website you are taking yourself public, not the company in question. Thinking otherwise is just arrogant and stupid, like once you buy from a company you have a life time right to be able to make up lies about them and hurt the peopel that work for them. Sorry, your $20 doesn't buy taht, and it's disgusting that some of you people that it does.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amorito Apr 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thanks to some terrible customer service and a stinky attempt at duplicating my favorite discontinued perfume, I see that Scentmatchers has given out customers personal, private info. I am appauled at the actions of this business owner Adam!   I searched on the web to see if I was alone.  Unfortunately, I find that I am one of many who feel that something really fishy is going on in Reed City.

    My story:  I placed an order on 2/5, beacause I searched their "database" and my perfume was found.  Yay!  That must mean that they have already, successfully recreated this scent...after all, it was in THEIR database.  I tried to order over the phone, but they never answered their phone. After 3 days of phone tag, I placed the ordr through email. I was it will take 2-3 weeks to receive my order.

    Waited 3 weeks and nothing.  Emailed support to find out what was the estimated delivery time.  They replied that it should be shipped the week of 3/1.  On 3/4, I rec'd an auto email from usps.  Yay!  I thought it had been shipped.  Much to my dismay, by around 3/7 I checked the usps website...put in the tracking number and it reads:  the package is not yet in our system ( or something like that).  It went on to explain that although the tracking number was real, that only means the company PRINTED the label on 3/4.  It doesnt mean it was shipped on 3/4.  It also doesnt mean it was ever shipped.  I got nervous...mostly because I was anxiously awaiting my perfume!!

    I thought, ok, they must be swampped and printed the label on 3/4 so that they met their projected "week of 3/1" promise, and figured we are sooo close to finishing the fabulous reproduction...we'll get it out early next week.  (This was what I made up in my own head to justify this...mind you they have been silent this whole time.)

    Then I get the much anticipated product on 3/10. (with no invoice of any kind) Gulp!  Jasmine/rose water.  NOTHING, and I mean N-O-T-H-I-N-G, like the actual perfume that I ordered...even though it was already found in their database! There had to be a mistake! Perhaps a mixup?! The perfume I was waiting for is chocolate-y vanilla with a hint if amber musk and jasmine.  Most people associate it with vanilla.  Had I received a generic vanilla...I would have thought, "eh, they tried, but just missed."  And probably would have sucked up that I paid $66 ($59 + shipping) for plain vanilla and kept it.  Most likely would have passed it onto my niece...the bottle was cute!  However, this crap they sent was laughable as an attempt.  I hate rose. 

    I immediately sent an email to scentmatchers on 3/10, stating (politely) that the long-awaited perfume finally arrived and I am dissapointed that it smells nothing like the scent I asked for.  "Please advise."

    I had company in town, so I didn't give it nuch thought until the next week.  On 3/16, still no word from scentmatchers.  I replied stating that I was very dissapointed that I had to wait so long for a product that did not live up to its expectations and when I reported my concerns to the company, their response was to ignore me.  I have no other option but to return the product.

    Then I searched for reviews on scentmatchers.  I was shocked to see others having very eerily similar experiences...with the same smelling " wrong" perfume.  I also saw Adam's response claiming that he apologized for the old return policy and promises to make things right.  Just contact him.

    I replied back to my "I'm dissaponted, ignored and sending it back" email adding that I found several complaints online and they all had the same experience...right down to the same crappy generic flowery perfume scent.  I included that I would like a response from Adam himself.

    I got a quick, snarky response from Adam that read, "had you asked a question, we would have responded."

    So, apparently a customer emailing you the day they get your product, complaining that the product is not correct, stating PLEASE ADVISE, warrants no response from them. ???! I was hoping that when I first contacted the company to complain that the product was incorrect, that I would get a reply something like: "It has come to our attention that you are not satisfied with the product you received. You mention that the perfume you ordered is chocolate-y, vanilla and what you received is flowery. I will look into our recipe for the perfume you ordered in our database to determine if our recipe is wrong or if there was a mixup in production. I will get back to you as soon as I can. I apologize for the confusion and will do everything I can to get you the correct reproduction."

    Instead I got a non-caring, no mention of incorrect product or mixup in orer email that I
    I was told that I could return the product for a refund, but that I needed to include a printout of all of the emails...or just put my name and contact info in with the package. (Because there is no invoice to use for the return!)

    Since scentmachers up until this point has shown no sort of business sense, I went down to my local FedEx office, paid to print all of the emails, included my handwritten note that stated, "please refund my credit card" and sent it off to Reed City.  I sent it via usps on 3/23 and have heard nothing.

    I have plenty other things going on in my life than to keep tabs on $59 refund on a daily basis.  However, I am sure I'm going to be mad at myself because I didnt get a tracking number.  I just checked my credit card statement on 4/23 and ...no refunds!  Im not really shocked.  I pretty much expected it.

    So, I looked them up on BBB.  They have a F rating.  Of course. 
    I emailed customer service on 4/23 that it has been over a month since I mailed the package and I should have been refunded my money by now.  If I don't have the refund by Monday, I will be reporting them to BBB and the [redacted].

    What do you know...they have no record of receiving my return! 
    I refuse to spend another dime PROVING to them that I sent it.  I provided them with the date and amount I paid FedEx to print the emails (in leui of an invoicr wich they do not include) and the date and the amount I spent when I sent the package via USPS.

    Then I started searching on the web more.  I am horrified at the responses Adam has posted! I found two separate websites where Adam released private, personal information about his customers. I hope that the mere fact of Adam publishing private info is enough to do something.  It is a direct violation of their privacy policy. It is shameful and so tacky.

    As as customer who followed protocol, I think I should get the refund...I HIGHLY doubt it will happen. 

    I received a condescending email from Jennifer that said that when they either: 1. have my package or, 2. I can provide documentation that I sent the return back, they will process a full refund. She went on to add that I should understand that is a reasonable request.

    Sure. I do think that is reasonable for a reasonable reputeable company. But from a company that has a reputation of losing packages, not producing what it claims it can produce, having horribly ridiculous customer service and having customers jump through hoops to get a rrfund...no I don't think it is reasonable. Not when everything is factored in.

    After dealing with this company, I have read through the posts several times on various boards. I find it interesting that the customers that are "satisfied" weren't actually happy with the product. They were relieved that they were given a refund. And I find it even more interesting that some were required to send the product back...continued to encounter grief on behalf of scentmatchers...then finally (months later usually) were refunded, yet others were told (mysteriously..."salsa") to not bother sending it back and was promptly refunded.

    I also find it curious that if there really are 4000 bottles between the two sister companies, scentmatchers and scentcrafters, to satisfied customers annually, why is it that they can only provide one reference? One! I personally would love to know which one of the nine cops who own Cops & Doughnuts Clare City Bakery is a satisfied customer. I would follow up with a call to him/her. And hopefully the scent this satisfied cutomer ordered wasn't rose/jasmine water! We all know that scentmatchers can produce that!

    I will still post my experience everywhere I can to warn others of my experience.  I gave a very detailed account here so that you can see the problems with this scam of a company. I know that Adam knows who this post is from, because I told him to expect my post today. If he violates his privacy policy by posting any of my personal information on here, I will take all of the necessary legal action.

    I will also post any updates I have from my dealings with this company. Buyer beware!!!

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amorito Apr 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    RachelKristine, unless you are looking for a rose perfume, DO NOT ORDER from this company!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    RachelKristine Apr 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was considering ordering for this company, but I am now very much discouraged from doing so. Not because of the made up stories from "Smelly" or the numerous complaints (that fair outweigh the compliments), but because of Adam Schultz's responses to these complaints.

    For one, rebutting complaints on this site (and so publicly) is entirely unprofessional, and makes me believe your business is as unprofessional, too.

    Secondly, your comments (you said something to this Edward Fraelich about hoping his personal vendetta towards the company and attempts to shut it down are filling the void in his life) are extremely uncalled for. Satisfied customer or not, a representative of a business such as yourself should never come across so hostile or snarky. It's not good for the company's image.

    I have a few other problems with everything else I've heard, but I'll leave it at those two 'irks'. I work for a company where our number one priority is customer service- give a customer the slightest bit of attitude and you'd be fired on the spot.

    Another important aspect of the business is quality- but still, customer service triumphs. If a customer has a problem with the quality of their product, we take it back and replace or refund it- as quickly, politely, and apologetically as possible. If they complain that we did something wrong, we don't fight back or defend ourselves, because the customer is always right. Instead, we act- we fix the problem rather than argue about it on the Internet.

    I may still order from your company (Scentcrafters) but only if I can be guaranteed 101% customer service. Because I am paying good money to employ your services- you work for me and I expect the utmost courtesy and quality.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SC LLC Apr 15, 2010

    Hi Alice,

    You can contact us at [email protected] for any questions about your order. We don't show that we have any e-mails from you. We've just sent you an e-mail as a follow up to your concern on this board.

    Best Regards,

    Adam Schultz
    Sales Manager
    Scentmatchers LLC

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alice Glower Apr 15, 2010

    i ordered on 2-1-10 and have not received the product i ordered. If you read this, follow up and send the product you advertised.

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Apr 03, 2010

    MQuin, I promise you Salsa is Adam. Anyone else in their right mind would never read these posts and still side with the company. How funny that he is now trying to discredit me under fake screen names.

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Apr 03, 2010

    Oh Adam. You so silly.

    0 Votes
  • Mq
    MQuin Apr 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Salsa, please let us know how it goes? This all has been a bit amusing unless of course you are the company. I'm ok cause I'm not out anything since my money was refunded. I am interested to see if they can send you what you expect. All I ever wanted was the perfume. But it didn't work out for me. I absolutely cannot say anything against their customer service. They did right by me and in a fast and cordial manner. Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SalsaTriad Apr 02, 2010

    I was considering purchasing from Scentmasters and still may, but wanted to research first. I've read through these posts with some amusement. I looked into some of the things that were said a little more closely in search engines and I came across this:

    http://www.resellerratings.com/store/ScentCrafters

    Notice the post by "Smelly"/Edward Fraelich which says:

    "My wife was excited because they claimed they could match a scent no longer produced & it means allot to us being its the perfume that she wore the 1rst time we met & it stole my breath away. now she's out of the money & the sample of the very tiny amount she had left as they told her they'd use that little sample to duplicate it. Heartbreaking & in this economy we cannot afford this & we've been taken."

    Then if you look up Edward Fraelich on Facebook it says this on your facebook page:

    "I live in Dallas, TX with my life partner of 4 years (or is it 5 now?), "lover", Biotch, soulmate or whatever we gays are allowed to call our spouses in the state of Texas."

    It also says status: in a relationship (not married!)

    Do you enjoy making up fake stories on the internet to slander companies? You are one weird dude. Is this the type of behavior you are proud about and want employers to read? Pretending to have a wife that was wronged by a company is good behavior? "Hire me, I'm make up fake posts to slander companies in my spare time. I want it on my resume!"

    I've done a little math as well regarding this Scentmatchers organization, see if you can follow:

    [protected] bottles a year is between 10-20 bottles a day. It seems reasonable that a small company could easily produce this number of bottles, although I'm no expert on the perfume business. At [protected] bottles and their price of $60 they are taking in about $200, 000-$400000 before expenses, which is about right for a small company. If this seems confusing perhaps you can check with your "wife" for clarification.

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Apr 01, 2010

    ... and I resent your comment about "Thinking I am too important to get a product I don't like". With the exception of my family and friends, no one else would give one flying crap if I dissapeared tomorrow. My company would find someone to replace me in a week and the world wouldn't miss a beat. That isn't why I am doing this and your acusation of that doesn't even make sense. I Just know a "wrong" when I spot one and have the tenacity of a pit bull to correct them. That's all... that IS my motive. That's what scares you the most I think.

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Apr 01, 2010

    LOL Again a complete dismissal of any actual facts about your product or how it is made. Not as if I was actually expecting a factual, lucid answer though. God bless your heart.

    I'm not sure if by giving out my "real name" you think I take that as some kind of threat so let's dispel that right now. I hadn't planned on giving out my real name just for the sake of privacy however you took matters into your own hands and gave it out for me. So a note to all future and past customers, Scentmatchers, LLC has NO problem giving out your confidential information over the internet. Be aware of that when you order. That is an absolute fact based on Adam doing this to me as he demonstrated above. Now that you have violated your own company's privacy policy, the rest of my information is public record with an easy Google search using my name so I'll save you the time. If any of you who I am trying to save from being lied and cheated to, are angry with me, or want to cheer me on, or if you want to share your story with me, here is my contact info:

    Edward Fraelich
    3012 Modella Ave
    Dallas, TX 75229.

    I don't have a home phone because I think they are a waste of money but my cell number is [protected]. My personal email is [email protected] I even included a photo of me in case any of you recognize me on the street!

    I have nothing to hide and am actually quite proud of my actions because I am the first person to engage you past one reply on this board.

    Adam, in literally every way I have the upper hand. I am smarter, faster, more resourceful, more honest and based on your company's public financial records, I make a lot more than you do too. As cliche as it sounds, I have the TRUTH on my side. I absolutely have no void in my life. I am happy with my home, my cars, my family, my job and despite being cheap, I am very financially secure. To be honest, I have such a busy social life that I had almost given up on all of this because it just didn't seem worth it. Thank you for re-engaging me.

    I didn't realize this post showed up third in Google however now that I know that, I am going to find out who is number one and two and make sure all of this info and these posts are on there also including my own personal contact info. I have absolutely nothing to hide so I welcome public information, even if it is about me!

    I hope everyone I know see this and takes pride in the fact that I stand up for what is right even when I have nothing to gain by doing so. I think that shows character, integrity and tenacity. If it was appropriate, I would include a link to this ON my resume! Thanks again for your inability to control your mouth.

    YOU are done with this discussion because you have literally NOTHING else you can say in your defense because your dingy little mom and pop operation out of rural Michigan is a huge broke pile of cow plop. I on the other hand still have PLENTY to say and will continue to do so until you are out of business, in jail or both. If you would have been smart you would have shut your hole a long time ago and this WOULD have stopped 20 comments ago. I couldn't very well argue with myself. You are going to know my name for a long, long time so we mine as well get to know each other. As I said before BRING IT ON.

    If you want, I'd love to speak to some of your FBI friends! As of yet I haven't been able to reach them so I would LOVE an easy way to get a hold of them. Have them give me a call or stop by my house so I can show them the product you sent me in the mail that likely still has your fingerprints all over it! You are a little pansy [censored] who is scared and making idle threats because you have built a career out of deceit. It's sad and funny all at once. I bet when you sent me that bottle of garbage you didn't expect all of this. You had to know sooner or later this would come though.

    Actually, as I told you before, you can shut me up and make me your best friend and biggest ally in one simple way... SEND ME A BOTTLE OF THE PRODUCT YOUR COMPANY TOLD ME IT COULD PRODUCE. That's it... and I would pay you for it! You could end all of this and prove me wrong just by doing what your company claims you can do. Since I know you can't, I won't be watching my mailbox too carefully.

    God I wish you had the brains to actually end this conversation however I unfortunately know your type well and you will have to keep perpetuating your lie until it finally destroys you so I wait excitedly, with baited breath for your next response...

    Love,
    Edward

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.