The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Scentmatchers LLCripped off money

T Review updated:

The Company Scentcrafters is a scam. Also known as "Scentmatchers LLC" but this company is looking more & more like a fake every day. As it turns out there's a whole web out there making complaints of being ripped off & filing legal action against them. I found this because my wife is 1 of the more recent victims of the company & we're trying to find out any info on the company to try to sort this out or help others who are filing claims.

They seem to have the exact same excuses for each customer who gets ripped off. They collect the money & tell you its been shipped. After a long wait & customers ask where the product is, they claim the customers have given the wrong shipping info yet cannot provide a valid shipping confirmation #. If they do provide a shipping or tracking number, when you check with the company they claimed to have used has no record at all. If you give it to them again, they email you a copy of their return policy which basically says your getting nothing. If you email again they accuse you of being mentally ill and or insult you with profanity. Many people paid for a match & have received bottles of over the counter cheap perfumes that smelled nothing like the order they placed. My wife was excited because they claimed they could match a scent no longer produced & it means allot to us being its the perfume that she wore the 1rst time we met & it stole my breath away. now she's out of the money & the sample of the very tiny amount she had left as they told her they'd use that little sample to duplicate it. Heartbreaking & in this economy we cannot afford this & we've been taken.
I would like to know if you have nay info on this company other then what's listed on both their websites (which are identical mirrors of each other) and if there is anything you might able to do to help. I hope this helps.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Responses

  • Ha
    happylady Mar 18, 2009

    I ordered from Scentmatchers and never had a problem. My order shipped out and I was pleased with the scent match.

    -2 Votes
  • Jo
    Jossi Jun 10, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If Happylady was so happy, what prompted her to go to this Complaint site? Makes me suspicious that this is not a true post but a coverup by the company. If I am wrong, I stand corrected.

    Jossi

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Tessy Jun 26, 2009

    Hello, I am from Canada and unable to get the perfume I have been using over the years as it has been discontinued and I couldn't find any other I liked as well. I was thrilled to think I could get something fairly close. Not so, and it to two months to come, with an e-mail to them asking about it and was told to be patient. They have refused to give me a refund and stated if I sent it back they would just refuse it and I would have to pay shipping again. There should be some recourse with these people who can obviously take your money with a smile on their face for arranging such a sham, and at the end of the day feel good about what they have done. I am sixty, work full time, saving for retirement, and much wiser now than when I ordered from SCENTMATCHERS. Don't be duped bythese people who will one day have to be accountable if not to themselves but to "SOMEBODY", and we all know who that is!!!
    Linda

    1 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynn11 Jul 24, 2009

    Wow I am so thankful for your post! I too almost fell for this site. I actually placed an order last night but I was skeptical when after I completed my order I did not receive any kind of confirmation number and I was told I would be contacted by email with my order details... only I never gave an email address! Also, thinking it did sound too good to be true (I like your wife was ecstatic that my favorite perfume which had been discontinued was also the one I wore when I began dating my now husband) decided to check the web for reviews of this site. Anyway after I read this review (and many other complaints) I decided to email the address they have listed for customer support to cancel my order and get a refund as per their return policy stated on the site. I honestly thought I was going to get the run around and not get refund, but I was pleased that they actually did refund my money quite promptly. However, the email I received back from "customer support" requesting my refund read as follows;

    "Certainly, you just have to apologize for wasting our time."

    0 Votes
  • 1u
    1unhappymom Aug 06, 2009

    My son also ordered from this company. He was billed toward his credit card as soon as he ordered, but 30 days later he still did not received the product. E-mailed that it would be shipped soon after numerous e-mails to the company. After reading posts and BBB reports he canceled his order, and called the credit card company to dispute the charge. E-mail from lance was very nasty after that "he could not return product it was over the 30 return policy". To return something you need to have the product? After appox. three weeks items was shiped with an e-mail stating that if he did not accept this shippment he would ruin my son's credit for 7 years. He returned the item and file complaints with the BBB and FTC. I would suggest anyone who was charged and recieved a product after 30 days, they were not happy with file a complaint FTC on line. It is against the law to take internet, phone or mail orders and not inform the consumer after 30 (or promised delivery time) shipping has been delayed and to offer to cancel the order along with expected delivery date.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jossi Aug 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have just now filed my Online complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. I still intend to file with the Michigan Attorney General.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Jossi Aug 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For those reading, there are also complaints on this board found under "ScentCrafters now Scent Matchers - Refund Policy" and "Scent crafters - bad return policy."

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shamu2975 Oct 22, 2009

    Oh I dislike this company. The package was lost, and I had to track it. The colonge smelled horrible and here is what they said. Such an insult!

    "Thanks Doug, but unfortunately you are completely wrong. We've already submitted all the necessary paperwork for the product to the postal service, and no, it's not flammable.


    Woods is our top seller, you are entitled to your opinion, but it's completely wrong.


    Also thanks for apologizing for accusing us of not shipping the product when in fact it arrived with the exact label number you were given. Wow, I guess we didn't make up a fake tracking number did we. People like you make us sick. You think because of a piddling $75 purchase you have the excuse to act like a child. Sorry, we don't really need your money or your attitude, ship the product back for a refund and don't contact us again, it will not be ready.

    Oh nevermind, we didn't realize you were a punk kid from West Virginia that sells crappy $8.00 items on Ebay and was a Boy Scout. Nice eyebrows, you can get those fixed you know.


    Anyways, it all makes sense now, kind of funny really."

    Directly from two emails they gave me!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jossi Oct 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    All of us who have Facebook accounts, maybe we should copy these Complaints and post them on our Facebook pages and spread the word about this company that way.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Triple B Nov 17, 2009

    My husband has been looking for the man's cologne BRAGGI since he left Chicago in 1977. I thought I had found it in Scentmatchers. I sent off an order on [protected], they cashed my check on 10-23-2009. I still have nothing. Good thing it was going to be a supprise so his feelings won't be hurt. I'm contacting my states Attorney General.

    BOSSIE from the O, NE

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeffrey M. Nov 22, 2009

    I ordered from Scentmatchers with no problem. Although they do seem to be a bit rude to you people, they did a good match for me and saved me like $200 on a new bottle. Frankly I think there is probably more to the story in some of these cases, but to each there own right mates. Nowadays everyone like to complain, even McDonalds on here has like 500 complaints. "My fries are cold and my coffed is hot I'm going to sue" In my opinion everyone should just chill, there is so much anger on the web.

    Anyways I digress, my point is Scentmatchers was good to me and I was trying to look up their address and saw all this crap and wanted to post my 4 cents.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jossi Nov 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Then, Jeffrey, you are 4 cents richer than the rest of us. You missed the point of our complaints. It is with their return policy. Luckily for you, you are satisfied. If, however, you were not, you would be in the same situation as the rest of us. Therein lies the fraud. They have no ethical or business obligation to produce and "timely" mail the product for receipt within 30 days. We are at their mercy, a lot of us writing to them asking where our product is and, in my case, having the product not even mailed until 45 days or more after my order. When you purchase at a department store, you are not told you cannot return the item because it has been in the store already 30 days; you have 30 days from having the product in hand. We are individuals losing $70; whereas, this company is making a profit off of ripping us off. 60 people a month at $70 but 30 are dissatisifed, that example shows a profit of $2, 100 of ripped-off money.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jossi Nov 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    http://www.1888pressrelease.com/scentcrafters-com-introduces-sister-company-scentmatchers-co-pr-86222.html

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jossi Nov 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Update: Scentmatchers has changed their return policy. They now offer returns 30 days after "receipt" of the product.

    That has been our complaint and I commend them for now fairly treating customers the way they should be treated. Whether upon their own decision to become an ethical company or through the powers of some legal/governmental entity, thank you. It was for naught that our complaints were posted.

    http://www.scentmatchers.com/return-policy.html

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    protecting you! Nov 30, 2009

    Even though their policy has been upgraded from 30 days from receipt of product from the TOTAL MAIL FRAUD SCAM of 30 days from purchase and then they'd send you your "product" after those 30 days... their product isn't something you'd use to clan the subway with!! THEIR PRODUCT IS COMPLETE AND UTTER JUNK!!! DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE!!! YOU WILL ABSOLUTELY REGRET IT

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    protecting you! Nov 30, 2009

    Also I'm not sure they've changed their return policy. The way it's worded could be construed as exactly the same as it was before. It says receipt of the product, a.k.a the receipt of the money transaction, not the receiving of the product. I URGE ANYONE TO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS FRAUDULENT COMPANY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SC LLC Dec 05, 2009

    Hello,

    I am 50% owner of the parent company of Scentcrafters.com and Scentmatchers.com. These are two separate companies. Scentcrafters.com makes custom perfume for individuals and companies. Scentmatchers.com duplicates discontinued perfume and cologne for individuals.

    I would like to generally address some of the comments here.

    I think that a couple recent testimonials on our Scentcrafters.com page go along ways towards showing we are definitely not a scam or out to defraud anyone. We have testimonials from both the FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigation) and Cops And Doughnuts, a bakery store owned by 9 police officers in Claire, MI. They can be found here:

    http://www.scentcrafters.com/testimonials.html

    I've read over the comments above and I think that some are very legit. We did have a terrible return policy at Scentmatchers.com. It was a 30 day money back guarantee from the order date. Many customers did not receive their bottles for more than 30 days. When they went to return we (stupidly) stuck by our written policy. We compounded a bad policy by being inflexible. We have changed this policy well over a month ago to make it 30 days from the date of receipt of the product. Meaning people have 30 days to return the product after they receive it. Note that most perfume and cologne companies do not allow returns AT ALL once a product has been opened.

    If anyone reading this was a past customer and had a problem with the old policy mentioned above please contact us at [protected]@scentmatchers.com and we'll send you a refund check. We apologize for the bad policy and want to make it right.

    We have also had some Customer Service issues. I think it takes a certain temperament to work in Customer Service and we've had the wrong people for the job. We've replaced our Customer Service Manager and it is our priority to make sure that our customers receive top notch customer service at all times. We do process literally thousands of orders a year and most of our customer's are extremely satisfied, however, even these few complaints are far too many for us to be happy with.

    Finally the return policy complaints do reference our product quality. All of these complaints are for Scentmatchers.com. What Scentmatchers.com does is match/duplicate discontinued perfume and cologne. So customers that order are so in love with their favorite fragrances that they want them reproduced even after they have been discontinued. As you can imagine they have very high expectations. We almost always meet these expectations. In some cases we cannot, and we even state this on our site, that we are not always successful. What we do is very difficult and we are successful a vast majority of the time.

    The rest of the complaints seem to be either people that have never purchased from us, the same people commenting multiple times, or in the most upsetting cases, completely made up stories. I think you can pick out the more bizarre ones yourselves, the only thing we can think is that it's either our competitors, or customers we've made so angry with our previous return policy that they've decided to lie and fabricate. This site does not verify the identity of posters, nor can it realistically hope to. Nor does it take any steps to ensure that anything they are posting is true.

    This will be our one and only post regarding on this website. We don't feel it is the proper format to handle specific customer complaints. If you have any specific questions for us please e-mail us at [protected]@scentcrafters.com or [protected]@scentmatchers.com.

    Thank you for helping make our company better. Because of your complaints we have changed our Return Policy and hired a new Customer Service Manager.

    Best Regards,

    Adam Schultz
    Sales Manager
    Scentcrafters.com & Scentmatchers.com

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BadAppleFilter Dec 22, 2009

    Hmmm. Yeah, right.

    Mr. Shultz is very wordy, just like the nasty e-mails some folks have received. Gift of gab? Can be quite lucrative, it seems, in this faceless bit-space.

    The problem with con-artists, is they believe they aren't doing anything wrong, and have the brass to continue showing their face.

    Better safe than sorry, I say.

    Thanks to everyone for posting their bad experiences with these scams.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jossi Dec 22, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had cordial e-mails with Adam Schultz and he stood by his word, as reflected in his recent posting. I commend him for doing such and wish him honest prosperity in the new year in this struggling economy. Shalom and Merry Christmas to all.

    Jossi

    -1 Votes
  • To
    Too Smart for Games Jan 20, 2010

    I am soooo glad I decided not to place any order with this scam, who call themselves scentcrafters LLC. I have a new woman's boutique and was actually planning to order wholesale fragrance bottles to retail in my boutique. I had some concerns, and questions and when I sent an email, asking if someone could contact me by phone or simply provide a contact number, I was told that "new" customers are only allowed to communicate via email. Only "existing" customers have the privilege to communicate via telephone. This sent up an IIMMEDIATE red flag, as I am aware that any legit company would welcome telephone calls, and not display such rude behavior, and risk turning away revenue. I then sent a return email stating exactly how I felt about Adam's (the so-called sales mgr) reply and let them know that they never had to worry about my purchasing anything from them.

    Please DONT fall for this scam and if you already have...I am so sorry for your lost. They will definitely reap what they've sown in the end and have a lot to answer for.

    -1 Votes
  • Mq
    MQuin Feb 08, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had placed an order and wanted to cancel after reading some of these reviews. However based on the comments here from the sales manager I decided I would give them a chance. I sent them an email regarding my reservations and heard back from their team immediately. I was assured that I would receive the product in a timely manner and that they would stand by the return policy if necessary.
    I did receive the perfume as promised, but did not care for the scent. I emailed customer service and again had a very quick response. They told me to keep my order and very quickly refunded my money to my credit card. I am glad to say that even though the product was not what I was expecting, they responded in a very fast and very courteous manner.

    Mary

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Feb 08, 2010

    I've been waiting on my cologne for over a month. It seems like the owners of this business has somewhat convinced themselves that they sell a legitimate product however I had to send a nasty email threatening to report my charges as fraud for them to even give me a tracking number. I still reported it as fraud because I am pretty confident that whatever scent MAY arrive at my door will smell nothing like what I ordered. They seem to just be trying to stay BARELY within the realm of the law by shipping a product that somewhat relates to what you ordered (after you scream and compain enough) however must know that what they are sending is just dollar store garbage. I love how the "Sales Manager's" comments on this post refer to testimonials on THEIR OWN website! As if any of those people actually exist. Well gosh, if Mary Jane from California said she is happy, it MUST be real! These people are honestly either just extremely intelligent con artists operating on the wobbly border of illegal or completely dillusional. The money isn't even that important to me... I'm more dissapointed that for the last month I was thinking I had a bottle of my favorite discontinued cologne in route only to find out that was a lie. The money just adds insult to injury. If you have ordered from this company I would recommend contacting your credit card company immediately and reporting it as fraud. Even if they send you a product it probably won't be even close to what you ordered and expected.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SC LLC Feb 09, 2010

    Hello,

    Although we do not want to engage in public customer service issues. We feel that in cases of slander we should defend ourselves. "Smelly" above has very much distorted the truth.

    This particular customer e-mailed us in late January to ask about his order. We responded with a ship date of the week of February 1st and apologized for the delay. Our website says it will take 1 to 3 weeks plus shipping time. In this case it was a difficult match and took a bit longer (about 7 days) so we apologized. Yesterday the customer sent us an e-mail asking if it was shipped, we told him "yes it had shipped last week as promised and it would arrive to him by this Friday at the latest". At this point we received this response:

    "I still have no product. If I don't get a response in the next 24 hours with a tracking number I am calling my bank to dispute the charge as fraud. This is absolutely ridiculous. Next time I won't be cheap and will just go buy the cologne at regualr price."

    When the product had shipped last week before our shipping partner www.usps.com sent him an e-mail with the tracking number. Even so, we immediately sent him another tracking number.

    At this point the customer posted here and contacted several media outlets in Northern Michigan via e-mail to complain of "fraud". This obviously is not fair.

    The customer did not have to "send a nasty email threatening to report my charges as fraud for them to even give me a tracking number." We have kept the customer informed the entire time. We have shipped the product as promised. If the customer does not like the product we will refund his money. We have all e-mails as proof of what we've stated above, but for now we are keeping them private to protect the customer's privacy.

    The Testimonials we refer to are from a company owned by 9 police officer and the FBI. If any one wants to check on the validity of these feel free. I can assure you we did not post fake testimonials from the police and the FBI.

    I am happy our Customer Service team has been doing a better job. Since I last posted we've had two customers post as to our integrity and the fact that we've honored our return policy. We've also had three negative posts:

    One had no specific issue, they just seem to hate us.

    One called us frauds for not calling her. Unfortunately being a small company we are not always able to provide phone support. This puts us in the same boat with most internet businesses including: buy.com, ebay.com, and google.com. These companies do not even list a phone number on their website, we do.

    One calls us a fraud (above) because he had to "threaten us with fraud charges" to get a tracking number, which is not true. He also accuses us of posting fake testimonials, which is also baseless, slander, and not true.

    So we do continue to strive to provide great customer service. Unfortunately some people seem to be irrational and distort the truth or have expectations beyond what we can meet. In cases like this we will defend ourselves by posting the truth. In the end we'll continue to work as hard as we can to send a great product, and in the small number of cases where we fail we'll continue to provide full refunds.

    Best Regards,

    Adam Schultz
    Sales Manager
    Scentmatchers LLC

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Feb 11, 2010

    Yeah I am the "customer" spoken about above. This Adam sure is a smooth talker! Sales was a good industry for him. He should do mortgages. He is way smarter than most of the mortgage brokers I know. He is right about one thing... I absolutely do hate them... with a passion I would say. I work extremely hard for my money and when someone knowingly jerks around with my time and my money it upsets me as much as it does anyone I would say. I am not the type of person that is hard to please... in fact quite the opposite is true. I just expect... no demand... to get what I pay for in a timely manner and expect that the product I receive is somewhat related to the product I ordered. CALL ME CRAZY!!!

    As far as them staying in contact with me... it is absolutely true. I was always the one to make first contact however they responded to my emails professionally; in a very timely manner... they just didn't follow through with anything they said they were going to do until I told them I was reporting it to Visa as fraud! POOF within the hour... at 9:18PM on a weeknight... they magically reply with a tracking number! That was the night of the 2/8 and I got it today 2/11 (we'll talk about that in a minute) so obviously it went out the next day.

    So I got my cologne today. Let me preface the next part by telling you about my order. I ordered a "reproduction" of Fierce by Abercrombie & Fitch. If you have ever smelled this cologne you know it is sort of a woodsy, musky "man smell" if you will. Typical of a lot of popular men's colognes. People... this bottle of crap they sent me smells like one of those cheap rose scented scratch & sniff stickers from 1985 mixed with baby powder... remember those? LOL It's not even transparent like the website shows it is a milky white like expired milk mixed with pee. Honestly I am not even exaggerating it smells like a bottle of woman's Avon that went bad 30 years ago... Plus baby powder. Now I don't exactly have the nose of a dog however I am alive and retain most of my brain function (sarcasm) and let me tell you it doesn't take any scientific instruments to tell this stuff has absolutely no relation to any cologne... let alone the fabulous one I ordered. Not even close. I got an instant headache. I had two of my friends smell it who have no knowledge of this "secret internet drama" I have going on. One of them, with an offended look on his face, literally just said "JESUS what IS that sh**" The other one thought I had bought it for my 89 year old grandmother because her birthday is coming up. I'm not even joking. It is definitely not even cologne... my guess honestly would be some type of industrial scent for women's cosmetic products that is ordered in bulk or some no name dollar store fragrance that was bought in bulk 20 years ago. I would HAPPILY send anyone a sample of this stuff or a picture of what I actually received to compare if you want to send me your email address. Just reply to my post. I would happily pay the stamp to save you from buying this crap and wasting your time and money because unlike SOME PEOPLE... I truly care about people. See if the company would offer a free sample whether you pay shipping or not!!! I guarantee they won't because there is no way they can actually produce what their website says they can. Obviously on custom scents they can't because they are creating it on an individual basis however common scents like the one I ordered they say they already have in their "database" so I can't imagine that would be a problem if they were actually legit. I wouldn't hold your breath.

    As far as the testimonials... they are just like any other testimonial on any other website... CREATED OR ADDED BY THE WEB DESIGNER who represents the company!!! Their statement that many of them are cops or in the FBI is amusing. We'll see because tomorrow's mission is to contact the local police in Reed City or the next largest metro or county, to see if they have an internet fraud division. I can't say or imply that any crime has been committed other than GROSS misrepresentation however we'll see what the authorities tell me. I'm not a lawyer so I don't know if what they are doing is actually illegal or just horrible business practice. If not then perhaps I'll look like a total fool however I'm definitely willing to try. Maybe I will get to speak to some of these happily satisfied customers!!! Most websites probably have legitimate testimonials however I can't imagine this one does... allegedly of course since I can't verify that for sure. I would LOVE to see some other online review from ANY 3rd party website from customers who actually have used this "company" and were satisfied. Believing these or any other testimonials is like believing the used car salesman when he tells you that they were all "Highway miles" or that the car was "lady owned" (whatever that is supposed to mean). Oh yeah and for the record... I contact the local office of commerce in Reed City Michigan and they told me that this "business" operates out of a rural home on the outskirts of the town. Seriously... look up the business address on BBB.org and then google map it.

    Just use common sense before you order from these folks and don't be at all surprised if what you get is nothing close to the scent you ordered. If you read this and still order the product then you deserve whatever shows up at your door... just make sure you open it outside.

    1 Votes
  • Smelly Feb 11, 2010

    ... and just to comment on the local media thing... he said it "wasn't fair"? What does that even mean! It's not fair that I am trying to expose an alleged fraudulent business? OH POOR BABY!!! If they are a real business that delivers what they say they do then they have nothing to worry about... obviously they think they do though. It makes me giggle. They messed with the wrong crazy fool this time... I won't stop until they accurately represent the product they are actually capable of providing or someone shuts them down. DON'T MESS WITH TEXAS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jossi Feb 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow, mine smelled just like yours, Smelly, and I had ordered men's Andron. Anyways, I got my situation resolved with Adam by following his reference to corresponding with him and he refunded my money. I did commend him for doing that. But it's the fight that all of us have had to endure that makes us furious for trusting a business.

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Mar 29, 2010

    Thanks Jossi. Yeah they were polite and professional to me also... with the tiny exception that I had to file a fraud complaint on my Visa to even get them to ship a product. Then of course there is the product itself. They offered me a refund if I returned the product however I am already out a ton of my time so I'm not willing to spend one cent of my money to ship it back to them. My credit card company sided with me on the fraud charge and refunded my money so I don't really care if they ever get their product back. Still I did tell Adam that if they want to pay for return shipping I would happily send them their product back. After all fair is fair now that I have my money back. Plus, I sure won't be using any of that junk. I would have been less insulted if they would have just stolen my money instead of wasting my time sending me that junk in a bottle. As if ANYONE would have been like "mmmm this stuff smells great!" LOL

    The sales manager is either so delusional that he has convinced himself that this company is legitimate or he is completely unrelated and has never actually smelled the product. My guess would be the first. I am currently speaking with another member of this site about filing a class action lawsuit however not sure if the company even has any assets to attack. It's operated out of some rural house so if I had to guess it probably doesn't even have enough assets to cover potential legal costs however we may at least be able to get them shut down or at a minimum, get their Visa/MC privileges’ cancelled. I can't believe Visa/MC allows this charade to continue on their cards. I have some close friends in the legal profession and in preliminary talks to research a potential lawsuit so if anyone is interested in sharing their story and any evidence they have (product, emails, shipping containers, etc) please let me know. Luckily for me they refused to pay my return shipping so I still have everything they sent me and touched it as minimally as possible to avoid contaminating any potential forensic evidence. Times are tough for a lot of folks right now and these people are preying on those of us who work hard for our money and don't deserve this. Someone has to do something.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SC LLC Mar 30, 2010

    Dear Edward Fraelich (aka "Smelly"),

    At this point considering much of what you say is libel you should just be happy that to this point we have decided suing you is not the best use of our time, energy, and money.

    You've accused us of fake testimonials, not true and libel. You've contacted our local police department and they've done nothing because we run a legitimate businesses. Ironically we just today shipped another order to the FBI, our business partner. You've contacted local media outlets, and again they've done nothing because we run a legitimate business. You've said we run a fraudulent business, not true and libel. You've tried to contact everyone you can to get us shut down, and yet they've concluded we are a legitimate business. Still you continue to post your lies.

    You say you had to threaten us with fraud to get your product, but it was shipped before you even contacted us (we have proof of this from your e-mail date and the actual ship date). More lies and libel.

    You lied to your credit card company and told them you had not received the product. This is credit card fraud, but rather than wasted time fighting it we let it go. You've posted several completely fake posts on other websites about how "your wife" was unhappy, I think we know that is a lie. These posts also have several other complete fabrications. I'd say as many as 50% of the negative posts about us are made up by you.

    Finally, you continually mentiond that we are in the outskirsts of Reed City as if this is a bad thing. We are proud of where we live and work and the people here. We even post it on our website:

    Where are you located?

    We are nestled in the woods in a small town in Michigan called Reed City. Our offices are in a peaceful location amongst two beautiful lakes. We find this tranquil setting to be an excellent location for reproducing your fragrances.

    Your comments about our town show your true character.

    All our company has ever done is be polite to you and offer you a full refund for returning the product you were so unhappy with. We have not wronged you in any way. I'm sorry that your personal vendetta to get us shut down has failed, but that doesn't give you the right to make up fake posts about our company all over the internet.

    Best Regards,

    Adam Schultz
    Sales Manager
    Scentmatchers LLC

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SC LLC Mar 30, 2010

    Hello,

    After reading over "Smelly's" complaint we neglected to defend ourselves and point out one more area where he lied. He states that he filed Fraud charges with Visa before he received the product AND in order to get the product from us. Both of those statements are lies.

    Mr. Fraelich's order was shipped (per the date on the shipping label) before we received any sort of threatening e-mail from Mr. Fraelich. He continually mentions in several posts he had to threaten us just to receive his product, this is an outright lie. Here is the proof:

    "RE: ScentMatchers.com Customer Receipt/Purchase Confirmation
    Monday, February 8, 2010 8:31 PM
    From:
    "Edward Fraelich" <e-mail address redacted for privacy>
    Add sender to Contacts
    To:
    [protected]@scentmatchers.com
    I still have no product. If I don't get a response in the next 24 hours with a tracking number I am calling my bank to dispute the charge as fraud. This is absolutely ridiculous. Next time I won't be cheap and will just go buy the cologne at regualr price."

    E-mail with threat date, February 8th, 2010. We have just copied the text of this e-mail so we could remove Mr. Fraelich's e-mail address, but if he claims it is made up we can provide a screenshot.

    His order was shipped on February 4th, 2010 per the screenshot we've attached showing when the label was printed (e-mail and street address covered for privacy). As you can see, Mr. Fraelich did not need to threaten us to receive his product (he was also e-mailed the tracking number on February 4th by the US Postal Service), he just did so presumably because that's the type of person he is.

    The second part of the lie is that Mr. Fraelich filed fraud charges with Visa before he received his product. In fact, he did not initiate any sort of chargeback (which he calls fraud charges) with Visa until after he received the product. At this point he lied and told them he had not received it. The dates on his chargeback complaint prove this to be true. His complaint is dated well after the receipt of the product at his location. He "won" the chargeback because we decided not to fight it. We did not fight it because Mr. Fraelich had proven to be very difficult to deal with in the past and because we knew that he was unhappy with the product.

    I am sorry if we seem combative, usually we try to ignore posts as to not argue with customer's publicly. However, in cases of outright lies and libel we do feel that we should defend ourselves.

    Best Regards,

    Adam Schultz
    Sales Manager
    Scentmatchers LLC

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Mar 31, 2010

    Adam, as I have said numerous times here and in private email, if your business is truly legitimate I promise you this will all blow over and you will have nothing to worry about. I don't have access to all of your internal software so it is ENTIRELY possible that I have my dates confused and on this matter you are 100% correct. In that case I sincerely and truly apologize. I could ABSOLUTELY be mistaken about the dates and when you shipped the item out. If so, I was not trying to lie intentionally, that is just how I, as the customer perceived it. So for now, let's just say that you are 100% correct about all of the dates and that you did ship the item in a timely manner, well before I ever threatened to report it as fraud to my bank. So on this matter I bow down to you, you win.

    That didn't really upset me though. I've had PLENTY of shipping delays on internet items and never got too terribly upset. What upset me the most is that for a month I was excited, thinking that I was found a place where I could order my FAVORITE discontinued cologne and wouldn't have to spend a fortune buying half bottles of it on Ebay. Then after waiting a month, I got a product that smelled so god awful I had to put it in the garage where it has been ever since. If you're business is truly legitimate then the ONLY possible explanation is that you guys got my bottle mixed up with another scent. There is just no possible way that the contents of that bottle were ever intended to smell like any cologne, let alone the one I ordered.

    You don't seem to be real focused on theactual prodcut though. I used to design web pages and the web designer is the one who has to enter the testimonials. There is no law stating that testimonials have to be "actual" on a privately owned and mainted web page so you can literally put anything you want on them. A lot of legitimate business do that to help market and sell their products. What makes me really think that this business is shady is that you seem to be way more focused on the technicalities of my order than the actual product.

    I'm not a terrible nasty person. I'm just a hard working American who expects to get what I pay for. I would love nothing more than to be proven wrong because it honestly makes me sad to think that people are being misled and dissapointed like I was. If you could prove to me that I am wrong and that your company can legitimately produce the products the website claims, even now, I would happily eat dirt and retract every word I have said badly about your company. I would probably even end up being a repeat customer because I have no where else to get that cologne for a reasonable price. It's funny to me that no one from your companyhas said "we must have confused your order because this doesn't normally happen" or "there must have been a mistake, send us your bottle and we will smell it for ourselves and if necessary, correct your order". It didn't even come up, I suspect because there is nothing else to send back to me except the same junk I already have. No one was worried about getting me the "right" order.

    It's like I told you in private email, if you or your company feels the urge to take legal action against against me I absolutely invite and encourage you to do so. Just like I said to you, if everything I am doing is legitimate and within the law (which I know it is) then I have nothing to worry about. That is the beauty of the justice system, usually the truth prevails. Trust me I am on top of that too. Your local police can't do anything because they have no evidence of a direct fraud being committed. You are shipping people a product and you are refunding money when forced to do so. They have no course of action to take against you as of now. There is no concrete proof anything except a few unhappy customers which every company has. Your local office of commerce can't do anything because your business has no local store front and it is run privately. That pretty much leaves nothing at this point except media intervention or a private/class action civil lawsuit... or judge Judy of course, lol.

    Again as I told you in email, your responses in my opinion show that you are extremely concerned that I have, not only the drive, however the resources to pursue your company and you do have legitimate reason to worry. Your respones to these comments on this board further demonstrates this my opinion. You are actually scared now and it shows. Hopefully I can eventually prove it to be a fact. If I am wrong I would put my foot in my mouth and apologize profusely. I would still like to be one of your "happily" satisfied customers if I could actually order the scent I want.

    Can someone else on this board who has first hand experience chime in on this? Am I absolutely crazy or does this all about sound right to you also?

    0 Votes
  • Mq
    MQuin Apr 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Smelly I was almost giddy with the thought that I was going to get a repro of Hollister's August. Interestingly, your description of the rosy smell with some baby powder is what I got too. Like you, I would rather have had the scent I was expecting instead of a refund. I told scentmatchers in an email that if the scent was a match I would refer my friends. Well no referral was made. I got my money back (quickly) and threw the perfume away.

    Even though it wasn't the scent I wanted, I might have worn it if it didn't remind of a dead grandma. I don't mean like my grandma that's dead...I mean like a dead grandma...in the casket

    Sorry Scentmatchers, you did ship and refund in a very courteous and timely manner. But you definitely either need someone who is better with chemistry or someone who has a better nose.

    I STILL wish I had the perfume I so hoped for.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jossi Apr 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @MQuin and Smelly, if acceptable, I amplify your same messages. I've kept my unused cologne as a reminder to my disappointment and struggle to get it rectified. Though Adam did refund my money eventually pursuant to his message, it was a battle of getting my voice heard about the refund policy once receiving the same "dead grandma" perfume. It's true; had it been a copy of the 1981 Andron, I would have been a repeat customer. I found Andron for Men on eBay and now my fiance' makes me, well, crazy!!!

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Apr 01, 2010

    Thank you very much MQuin and Jossi! At least it is obvious that my statements about the actual product are completely accurate. I invite other members to also write in on this topic because for some reason they still think they can somehow defend this terrible product. Obviously we are all getting the same exact horrible scent. What I don't understand is how they are making any money. This can't be a total scam because they are refunding people's money when asked or forced to do so and I imagine 99% of their "happy clients' demand a refund once they get their product. So are they just counting on people not to even try getting their money back? Or counting on people who buy it as a gift and never personally get to smell the product? They have to have some cost involved in buying all of those glass bottles and shipping them all over the country. If they are refunding money including shipping, I would think they would be losing money. The only two possible options I can think of is: 1. They have enough people who order their product and don't even bother trying to return it that it is still overall lucrative for them to operate or 2. This business is some type of shell business to launder money from other activities. One way or another something extremely fishy is going on. It is just so odd how adamantly they insist that they are a legitimate business when it is obvious they have no capacity to produce the products they claim to. There just has to be more to this story...

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Apr 01, 2010

    If it hasn't already been previously mentioned, also refer to the "sister" company on this complaint board, "Scentmatchers, llc" for more complaints on this same company. There is a much more in depth thread there.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SC LLC Apr 01, 2010

    Hi Edward Fraelich (smelly),

    I appreciate the creativity and thought behind your conspiracy theory type explanation to why we are in business and how we make money. Unfortunately, the facts are much more boring.

    We sell literally thousands of bottles every year. To date there have probably been about 100 customers that were unhappy with the product (about 1%). So this would conversely mean there are literally several thousand that are happy with their orders.

    We did have a problem with our old return policy being not good at all. So probably 10-15 people out of that 100 created threads such as this to complain. Which is understandable. We since corrected our return policy and we now receive very few complaints.

    However, we do still receive complaints from people such as yourself. You have posted complaints on 5 to 10 different sites under multiple names while only later admitting on this post only that your main point of contention is untrue and that we have treated you politely and offered a full refund.

    So in short, we stay in business because we have thousands of satisfied customers. If you look up any company in the world of any decent size you'll see they have complaints here as well. They too stay in business because they have thousands of satisfied customers.

    Best Regards,

    Adam Schultz
    Sales Manager
    Scentmatchers LLC

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Apr 01, 2010

    BUT WHAT ABOUT YOUR PRODUCT!!! That has ALWAYS been my main point of contention. If I had the PRODUCT I ORDERED, you would have never heard from me again. NONE OF THIS WOULD BE HAPPENING!!! It's like I'm speaking to a brick wall. You definately are either Bi-polar or just completely disconnected from reality. How do you just keep ignoring this issue as if no one has brought it up. You have 3 completely different, unrelated individuals clearly saying that it is god awful and basically the same scent. If your company is legit and you are actually capable of producing what you claim, WHY have you not tried to address me, Jossi or Mquin to find out why we all 3 got the same "wrong" order and tried to get us the right one? Again, because it is not physically possible.

    If you have "thousands' of happy customers, there are no doubt a few that would not mind providing a good reference for you. Ask 3 of them if I can contact them to discuss their great experience. I've already happily offered to speak with anyone about my bad experience so surely out of your "thousands" of "happy" customers, you have a handful who would LOVE to defend you and your product. If I had gotten the product I ordered, I would be happy to do so also!!! If I could order my favorite cologne in a 3 ounce bottle for 70 bucks, I would SCREAM your praises from the highest mountain top and I suspect many others would do the same thing.

    Once again, funny that you STILL don't try to figure out how it is possible that I am unhappy with my product. I would love to hear what your theory of me is... do you think I am just literally insane and have no ability to so much [censored] my own butt? Or do you think that perhaps someone named Adam molested me when I was younger and that is why I hate you so badly? LOL WHY would I and all of these other people just waste our time on here, making stuff up? I would LOVE to hear your theory about why I am on here wasting my time and energy writing all of this stuff.

    I buy stuff on ebay all of the time. In the last 12 months I have bought probably 50 items off of Ebay. Now you know that buying so many things, I have had to encounter some normal problems that happen while internet shopping (shipping delays, items getting broken in shipping, etc). Yet still the feedback I have left for every one of those sellers was positive feedback because they either got me the product I WANTED or they were honest and gave me a refund. Not to mention that I have had a total of 103 purchases with 100% positive feedback as a buyer. Obviously those sellers and I had a good rapport. None of them tried to tell me that I was crazy and that they have plenty of satisfied customers. They FIXED MY PROBLEM!!! That is the beauty of having a legitimate product!!! You can actually give people what they thought they were paying for!!! INSANE!!! This is all verifiable fact. Feel free to check out my Ebay user profile, EFraelich82 on Ebay and verify this to all be true. This demonstrates that I am not just "impossible to please". In fact if anything I am overly kind and forgiving. Just not when facing absolute ### like you.

    So if nothing else, please defend your product. We are all listening. Please give all of us a detailed account of what type of manufacturing process you use to develop these scents and how it is that you manage to produce thousands of orders a year out of a rural house in Reed City, Michigan (which is public information from your LLC and off the BBB website). I would love to hear how this is even physically possible.

    As a side note you complete dullard, a conspiracy theory involves an unspported beleief that multiple people or groups are teaming up to cover something up or cause harm. It is literally a theory of a conspiracy. I don't think that in all. I just think you are an absolute ### and every time you touch your keyboard, you demonstrate this further. Your downfall is going to be the fact that you have no ability to keep your mouth shut. You have to have the last word which will eventually work well in my favor for reasons I'm not inclined to discuss with you so PLEASE keep on yapping.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SC LLC Apr 01, 2010

    Hi Edward,

    As we've stated some people do not and will not like our product, in those cases we provide a full refund. We can't please everyone. Most rational people that don't like a product simply return it for a full refund (like MQuin or Jossi). Those that see themselves as too important to receive a product they don't like will: call the police, e-mail newspapers, post on 5 to 10 posts on various websites under various names containing untrue information, and insult people. I hope this has filling whatever void needs filling in your life.

    One thing to keep in mind, this thread shows up in the third position under Google search for the term Scentmatchers. After the next update it will likely show up in the top 3 for the name Edward Fraelich. It has been shown that 55% of people will search the names of people they know in Google. I hope this thread portrays you as you would like to be portrayed since it is very possible that potential employers, friends, family, and many others will be reading it.

    At this point we are done with this discussion, I think your post above truly shows the kind of person you are on top of your numerous admitted lies about our company. There is nothing more to add.

    Best Regards,

    Adam Schultz
    Sales Manager
    Scentmatchers LLC

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Apr 01, 2010

    LOL Again a complete dismissal of any actual facts about your product or how it is made. Not as if I was actually expecting a factual, lucid answer though. God bless your heart.

    I'm not sure if by giving out my "real name" you think I take that as some kind of threat so let's dispel that right now. I hadn't planned on giving out my real name just for the sake of privacy however you took matters into your own hands and gave it out for me. So a note to all future and past customers, Scentmatchers, LLC has NO problem giving out your confidential information over the internet. Be aware of that when you order. That is an absolute fact based on Adam doing this to me as he demonstrated above. Now that you have violated your own company's privacy policy, the rest of my information is public record with an easy Google search using my name so I'll save you the time. If any of you who I am trying to save from being lied and cheated to, are angry with me, or want to cheer me on, or if you want to share your story with me, here is my contact info:

    Edward Fraelich
    3012 Modella Ave
    Dallas, TX 75229.

    I don't have a home phone because I think they are a waste of money but my cell number is [protected]. My personal email is [protected]@Hotmail.com. I even included a photo of me in case any of you recognize me on the street!

    I have nothing to hide and am actually quite proud of my actions because I am the first person to engage you past one reply on this board.

    Adam, in literally every way I have the upper hand. I am smarter, faster, more resourceful, more honest and based on your company's public financial records, I make a lot more than you do too. As cliche as it sounds, I have the TRUTH on my side. I absolutely have no void in my life. I am happy with my home, my cars, my family, my job and despite being cheap, I am very financially secure. To be honest, I have such a busy social life that I had almost given up on all of this because it just didn't seem worth it. Thank you for re-engaging me.

    I didn't realize this post showed up third in Google however now that I know that, I am going to find out who is number one and two and make sure all of this info and these posts are on there also including my own personal contact info. I have absolutely nothing to hide so I welcome public information, even if it is about me!

    I hope everyone I know see this and takes pride in the fact that I stand up for what is right even when I have nothing to gain by doing so. I think that shows character, integrity and tenacity. If it was appropriate, I would include a link to this ON my resume! Thanks again for your inability to control your mouth.

    YOU are done with this discussion because you have literally NOTHING else you can say in your defense because your dingy little mom and pop operation out of rural Michigan is a huge broke pile of cow plop. I on the other hand still have PLENTY to say and will continue to do so until you are out of business, in jail or both. If you would have been smart you would have shut your hole a long time ago and this WOULD have stopped 20 comments ago. I couldn't very well argue with myself. You are going to know my name for a long, long time so we mine as well get to know each other. As I said before BRING IT ON.

    If you want, I'd love to speak to some of your FBI friends! As of yet I haven't been able to reach them so I would LOVE an easy way to get a hold of them. Have them give me a call or stop by my house so I can show them the product you sent me in the mail that likely still has your fingerprints all over it! You are a little pansy [censored] who is scared and making idle threats because you have built a career out of deceit. It's sad and funny all at once. I bet when you sent me that bottle of garbage you didn't expect all of this. You had to know sooner or later this would come though.

    Actually, as I told you before, you can shut me up and make me your best friend and biggest ally in one simple way... SEND ME A BOTTLE OF THE PRODUCT YOUR COMPANY TOLD ME IT COULD PRODUCE. That's it... and I would pay you for it! You could end all of this and prove me wrong just by doing what your company claims you can do. Since I know you can't, I won't be watching my mailbox too carefully.

    God I wish you had the brains to actually end this conversation however I unfortunately know your type well and you will have to keep perpetuating your lie until it finally destroys you so I wait excitedly, with baited breath for your next response...

    Love,
    Edward

    0 Votes
  • Smelly Apr 01, 2010

    ... and I resent your comment about "Thinking I am too important to get a product I don't like". With the exception of my family and friends, no one else would give one flying crap if I dissapeared tomorrow. My company would find someone to replace me in a week and the world wouldn't miss a beat. That isn't why I am doing this and your acusation of that doesn't even make sense. I Just know a "wrong" when I spot one and have the tenacity of a pit bull to correct them. That's all... that IS my motive. That's what scares you the most I think.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SalsaTriad Apr 02, 2010

    I was considering purchasing from Scentmasters and still may, but wanted to research first. I've read through these posts with some amusement. I looked into some of the things that were said a little more closely in search engines and I came across this:

    http://www.resellerratings.com/store/ScentCrafters

    Notice the post by "Smelly"/Edward Fraelich which says:

    "My wife was excited because they claimed they could match a scent no longer produced & it means allot to us being its the perfume that she wore the 1rst time we met & it stole my breath away. now she's out of the money & the sample of the very tiny amount she had left as they told her they'd use that little sample to duplicate it. Heartbreaking & in this economy we cannot afford this & we've been taken."

    Then if you look up Edward Fraelich on Facebook it says this on your facebook page:

    "I live in Dallas, TX with my life partner of 4 years (or is it 5 now?), "lover", Biotch, soulmate or whatever we gays are allowed to call our spouses in the state of Texas."

    It also says status: in a relationship (not married!)

    Do you enjoy making up fake stories on the internet to slander companies? You are one weird dude. Is this the type of behavior you are proud about and want employers to read? Pretending to have a wife that was wronged by a company is good behavior? "Hire me, I'm make up fake posts to slander companies in my spare time. I want it on my resume!"

    I've done a little math as well regarding this Scentmatchers organization, see if you can follow:

    [protected] bottles a year is between 10-20 bottles a day. It seems reasonable that a small company could easily produce this number of bottles, although I'm no expert on the perfume business. At [protected] bottles and their price of $60 they are taking in about $200, 000-$400000 before expenses, which is about right for a small company. If this seems confusing perhaps you can check with your "wife" for clarification.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions