Menu
ScentMatchers Customer Service Phone, Email, Contacts

ScentMatchers
reviews & complaints

www.scentmatchers.com

Learn how the rating is calculated

2.4 32 Reviews

ScentMatchers Complaints Summary

11 Resolved
21 Unresolved
Our verdict: Engaging with ScentMatchers, which has a below-average resolution rate, demands caution. Thoroughly assess their service reviews and explore how they handle unresolved complaints. If you encounter issues, document your experiences meticulously and be persistent in seeking resolutions.
Verified
The authenticity of the customer service contact information for ScentMatchers has been meticulously verified by representatives from ComplaintsBoard using our proprietary verification system.
Click here to get notifications about new complaints of ScentMatchers. We promise not to send you any unrelated messages
Share
Claim Your Business
Take control of your profile: address complaints and engage with reviews
Write a review
File a complaint

ScentMatchers reviews & complaints 32

Filter reviews by rating
5
0 review
4
0 review
3
0 review
2
0 review
1
0 review
Sort by:

Newest ScentMatchers reviews & complaints

ComplaintsBoard
M
5:29 pm EST

ScentMatchers so save yourself a lot of heartache and stress and don't waste your money at scentmatchers

This company is a scam. They offer custom-blended fragrances to match any scent you can name. After-the-fact research suggests that matching a fragrance from a sample is more along the lines of chemistry, requiring thousands of dollars worth of equipment and time, and therefore not something easily delivered at a $79 price tag. Wish I had seen this in advance...

Based on my experience and what I have seen posted online, your transaction with them will go something like this:

You place your order, naming your fragrance. They do not request a sample of a rare or discontinued fragrance. You do not recieve an item in the mail and follow up; after several weeks of stalling, you recieve a perfume bottle in the mail, filled with a fragrance that's not even close to what you requested. You then ask for a refund or a replacement. Sometimes they will tell you you're past the 30-day window for money back guarantee (even if the item didn't even ship for 45 days); sometimes they agree to retry, requesting "a few drops" of a sample. That's what happened with me. I sent them a "tester" size of the perfume I wanted matched (which by the way isn't made any more so that tester was about a third of what I still have) at my own expense, returning their first attempt. Then email silence for about 4 weeks; they would not even acknowledge reciept of the return. Only after threatening them with reversing the credit card charge would they acknowledge they were "still working on it." Several weeks and several unreplied emails later, I asked the credit card company to open an investigation, which is when I started getting some pretty unfriendly emails from Scentmatchers.

There's a good chance, if you do business with this company, that you'll end up having your credit card company reverse the charges.

Read full review of ScentMatchers
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
11:05 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

ScentMatchers dont back up their gaurantee

Couldn't find a fragrance that my daughter loved. Had no idea what it was. It was an unmarked bottle. Found this company that claims it can reproduce a fragrance 99% of the time. Was excited. They told me via email to mail the bottle with $66. And they will even put a design and name it whatever you want because fragrances cannot be copywrited. They cashed my ck jan 11, 2010. I started doubting what i did. Looked them up on bbb. I knew i was beat. They had so many complaints. I chased them via email (They dont answer phones or return you phone calls) finally got an apology that fragrance will be mail by march 15, 2010. I got it march 24th. It was a plain bottle with no name or logo and had a urine/floral-powdery scent and arrived with no packing slip, order form...Nothing. I email my dissatisfaction on march 24, 2010. They didn't reply. I emailed again april 11. They appologized again and said mail it back. I sent it delivery confirmation. The post office said it was delivered on april 19th. Email again may 12th. No reply. Emailed again may 20 and offered the tracking #. This time they responded. I was told that they did not need the tracking#, it was an oversight on their part, they are sorry, and would process the refund immed. Never got it. Emailed again july 8. No answer. Emailed again aug. 18. No answer. Now they are claiming they want a tracking number. The post office only leaves it available for 60 days and then archives it. After a total of 180 days its practically impossible to resurrect it. Now they are giving a run around, saying its to old to claim a refund and i will need to prove the return with a tracking #. I did give it to them but its useless. They ignore you until they know its to late to prove the return by tracking. I reported it to bbb but they are really useless. I just want everyone to know they dont deliver and dont stand by their guarantee.

Read full review of ScentMatchers
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
11:22 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

ScentMatchers fraudulent claims of ability to match perfumes

They have committed out and out fraud. They claim to be able to match perfumes and they have no ability to do this service they are advertising. They need to be held accountable somehow. They use the mail to send their products months late and then claim a return policy of 30 days from purchase. They process the payment immediately and send the product which is totally bad 2 months later, insuring that you are past the 30 days. What can be done? They have not matched anything as far as I can tell. They need to be shut down now before they suck in anyone else. Google has them listed all over as credible. Google knew about them and left the imformation standing, are they liable too? Please contact me about this situation. I am serious. Jenne Maag

Read full review of ScentMatchers and 1 comment
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
N
N
NIbale
, US
Jun 21, 2016 5:02 am EDT

Scentmatchers is a HUGE SCAM! The good ratings are probably them writing false stories!

They do not do matches - they will send you a bottle of liquid that smells like baby powder - (which gave me a huge allergic reaction!). They don't even call it perfume on the postage package - they call it a decorative bottle (because it is not parfume). When you try and get your money back - you won't! They are smart and now how to scam all of us!

On their website you can put in a scent and see if they have a match. It doesn't matter what you put in - they will have the match (even if you leave it blank). I put in "poopy pants" just for the heck of it - and it said that they had a match!

Don't order from them! It is a huge scam! It took me a while before I figured it all out and realized that I had been scammed for the first time ever. Now I will never order somewhere without checking the website out first (on a place like this). People don't lie - and they won't go through all the trouble to write a bad review if it didn't happen to them - so beware!

I was so pissed when I lost my money - and didn't have my Mom's present either!

ComplaintsBoard
M
4:09 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

ScentMatchers did not issue refund

I ordered "An Expert Scentmatch in a 3.4 ounce Italian Glass Bottle" in Dec. 2009. I received it in January and it had no smell - not didn't smell like the scent I wanted - it didn't have any scent at all. I returned it with proof of delivery on 2/3/10. I called, and emailed several times looking for my refund. Initially they were polite and asked for proof of the return shipment which I gave them. After that they never responded to my requests for a refund. I had waited too long and was unable to get any help from my credit card company. This company is a scam and should be shut down.

Read full review of ScentMatchers
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
1:07 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ScentMatchers bene colonge by ben rickerts

Just received shipment #[protected], from ScentMatchers for "Bene Cologne by Ben Rickerts, this date
10/13/10, I still have an ole bottle of the original colonge. What was sent to me does not even come close to the original scent, have called ScentMatchers toll free number and left message for information on returning this product that I'm not happy with. When I placed the order...ScentMatchers stated that they could match it...What I received it not the same. Looking for someone to contact me on this complaint...Jerry England

Read full review of ScentMatchers
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
10:34 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

ScentMatchers no refund

I filed a complaint with the Better Businss Bureau. I'm from Michigan so I tought it would be a reputable company. Silly me. Complaint on file is below.
Jan. 7, 2010: Ordered perfume on-line at www.Scentmatchers.com
Jan. 17, 2010: e-mailed Scentmatchers regarding the status of my order.
Jan. 17, 2010: Scentmatchers reminded me of their policy, "ScentMatchers policy states: How long does it take? Typically one to three weeks." and advised me to check back the following week.
Feb. 18, 2010: e-mailed Scentmatchers regarding the status of my order.
Feb. 18, 2010: Scentmatchers e-mailed back and told me it would ship out the week of February 22nd.
Mar. 3, 2010: Nearly two months after placing my order on the internet, product was received but did not meet my satisfaction. (Again, policy states delivery in 1-3 weeks.)
Mar. 4, 2010: Shipped product back to e-mailed Scentmatchers regarding the product returning.
Mar. 4, 2010: Scentmatchers apologized and wrote, "we'll give you a full refund."
March, 8, 2010: Product received at Scentmatchers facility.
April 15, 2010: e-mailed Scentmatchers regarding status of my credit/refund.
April 15, 2010: Scentmatchers asked for proof of delivery.
April 16, 2010: e-mailed proof of delivery of returned product. (returned product was delivered to Scentmatchers on Mar. 8, 2010 at this point, they had had the returned product at their facility for over five weeks with not a word regarding my refund)
April 16, 2010: Per Scentmatchers, my refund was processed and I was informed that it would take "between three and seven business days for the credit to appear".
Today May 27, 2010. It has been over 11 weeks since the returned product was delivered and I have not received my credit of $66.98.

Read full review of ScentMatchers
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
N
12:52 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ScentMatchers no refund

I ordered a perfume from Scentmatchers and it took about 6 weeks for them to "create" awful stinky smelly water they called perfume.I sent that back the same day I recived it. Then I sent an e-mail with a tracking number, and got a response that I had to notify the company before sending the package. Well, they said that refund will take 3 to 5 business days.Guess what? No refund, they do not respond to my e-mails.Last e-mail I recived from Jennifer Monroe on May 22. Yeah what's today? June 10! Was it 5 business days already?

Read full review of ScentMatchers
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
9:42 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ScentMatchers very poor product

Ordered the scent woods by abercrombie and fitch. Was told they had it on their list. Ordered it for a family member's birthday. It came in, but after use it smelled nothing like woods nad it has virtually zero lasting effect. Everyone in the family felt that it wasn't even the correct scent, that we must have received something in error.

Emailed the company about 3 or 4 times before finally getting a response. Was told that it had been over 30 days so no refund or credit. I even offered to send it back that we all felt that we had received the incorrect item, again with no response.

If the scent was close or had some legitimate lingering affect, we would live with it and chaulk it up as "worth a try".

I am not a complainer but this is so far off that I would suggest you investigate as much as possible before you use the company.

Mark

Read full review of ScentMatchers and 2 comments
Hide full review
2 comments
Add a comment
C
C
C Stephens
Highlands, US
Aug 01, 2011 9:41 am EDT

$65.00 later and all I got was a bottle of rose water. BTW, the bottle
wasn't THAT nice! C Stephens

D
D
DNT
Hays, US
Sep 13, 2011 4:27 pm EDT

I too got a lousy bottle of rose water instead of their version of my favorite scent "Avon Rare Rubies" which has been discontinued years ago!

ComplaintsBoard
S
1:53 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

ScentMatchers rip off

I am doing you a favor by telling you STAY AWAY from this company. I wish I had checked out complaints first rather than after the fact.

The "testimonial" on their own website about them duplicating the fragrance of exhaust should have been enough warning for me. That's what my "matched" fragrance smelled like. Nothing at all like the fragrance I was going for, the fragrance they had in their library, the fragrance I didn't need to send a sample for. I am out $76.97, because silly me I ordered the lotion too.

I let them know by email it was the wrong scent and received an answer I could return the fragrance for a refund or another try to get the fragrance I wanted. I chose for them to attempt to do it over. SILLY ME, I thought it was just a mistake between two fragrances with similar names. I should have gone for the refund.

I asked for an update within the 30 days return period and did not receive an answer. It was during the holidays so I thought I would give them a break and wait until after Christmas. Another email inquiry resulted in their not being able to find my return or sample.

And guess what? I'm now out of the 30 day window and they are refusing to do anything for me. It took 6 weeks to get the wrong fragrance, I wasn't concerned about the replacement fragrance until it was too late. I thought it was a small company, with nice helpful people. They would not leave me high and dry and out $76.97. I was wrong, at the end the customer "service" manager Rick was nasty and hostile.

I started thinking logically about the reasons for treating customers this way, there was no logic in it but then it occurred to me. Take peoples money, send them "something" in a bottle after six weeks time and make it nearly impossible for them to return it, Scentmatchers will win every time. They got my money, don't let them get yours.

Read full review of ScentMatchers and 1 comment
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
D
D
Debra Willis
Peru, US
Mar 14, 2013 4:18 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

WHERE IS MY ORDER? It has been a week and it was promised to be delivered 3-4 days

ComplaintsBoard
L
1:01 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
ScentMatchers has left an official reply on this complaint.

ScentMatchers failure to refund/credit account

I am sorry to join the growing mass of consumers who, in good faith, have placed orders with the Limited Liability Company known as Scentmatchers. This business, located in Reed City, Michigan and Cadillac, Michigan, also operates under several other names it considers 'sister' companies. If you read even one of the complaints filed about this fraudulant outfit, you have essentially read them all, as virtually all complaints say the same thing. This being that we've ordered the product; had it charged to our credit card immediately; heard nor rec'd anything until we inquired about our order; were reassured that the order was being filled, would ship shortly, was a difficult match; and generally stalled until the rediculous 30 day return limit was over; sent a defective product; and disallowed any refund. My order wasn't even shipped for almost 6 wks, after I placed it, during which time I repeatedly inquired about it. When the fragrance arrived and bore no resemblance to the scent I asked for, I wrote the company rep and expressed my disappointment, enclosing the note with the full contents of product in the original shipping box and returned it to the distributor's address and asked the company to credit my account. I heard nothing for several more weeks and when I again contacted them, I was given several excuses why they couldn't honor my request for a refund---- such as: We didn't receive the return: We gave you no authorization to return product; You didn't notify us that you were returning the product; yada-yada-yada. I obviously could not return by the 30 day limit an item that did not arrive for 6 weeks! Nowhere in the return policy does it state that one needs to notify the company of an impending return and nowhere does the company stipulate that they must authorize permission to return the item. Now, then, I have ALL correspondence between this company and myself, including the accusation from the company spokesperson that I was 'trying to take advantage of them' and the threat that if I informed my credit card company, Scentmatchers would then send this chargeback to a collection agency and ruin my credit for seven years. I know, too that the package was returned and delivered because I have all the documentation from USPS proving this fact. Incidentally---my husband and I were in Reed City, Michigan and drove to the Fribourg Dr. address thinking maybe we could speak with someone at the plant or such to resolve my problem and found that this address was that of a private home with some other name--not Scentmatchers--on the mailbox! Odd, don't you think?

At any rate, the outfit that claims to be a reputable business concern for many years and purports to have a vast number of happy lady customers is just plain dishonest and, in my book, predatory! They have my money and the faulty product---that is just WRONG! They have victimized me and many others with their crooked and misleading sales practices.

I feel it my duty to inform as many trusting consumers about my experience and warn them away from such unscrupulous con artists as Scentmatchers LLC. Don't be duped by Scentmatchers---aka Scentcrafters, and Scentnaturals . The outfit is slick, shady, and un-ethical! Stear clear!

Read full review of ScentMatchers and 5 comments
Update by Lorelei Lee
Oct 10, 2009 3:27 pm EDT

I understand completely! I might try posting a complaint with the Michigan BBB and with the Federal Trade Commission. Of course you must report it to your Visa or whatever card you paid with. He has your money AND the product you ordered, at this point. That's theft as far as I can see!
Even if you don't get your money back you will have helped expose this charlatan to others who
unknowingly fall prey to his unscrupulous business practices! Go for it, girl!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
5 comments
Add a comment
E
E
esposp
, US
Mar 06, 2013 7:16 pm EST

this site should be shut down - they suck and send you some fragrance that smells like nothing. Can you say BBB.Dont waste your $$

L
L
lorahuls
Valparaiso, US
Dec 10, 2011 1:51 pm EST

I believe their so-called "testimonials" are pre-fabricated! I too was scammed. The scent I wanted matched was Ultima-II Sheer scent; what I was sent was something that actually "STUNK", it is THE only word that comes up to describe this. I too believe this is a scam. I cannot believe they are still in business. It's more than just hiring a customer service manager, it is getting the smells duplicated spot-on, or even near spot-on would have been fine with me. Just a big waste of money!

T
T
tessa83
, NL
Nov 13, 2009 2:30 am EST

Hello ladies,

Thanks for telling your story here and warn other people who almost ordered a scent wich is not on the market anymore. Like me! I really hope you don't stop the action against them, and that you get your money back. It's crazy that they can go on with this!
Thanks, Tessa (The Netherlands)

W
W
wudstuck
, US
Nov 04, 2009 11:19 am EST

Scentmatchers statements to you match exactly what they've said to me! I have advised my bank to go forward with the chargeback and have filed complaints with the BBB (which they are not members of -- and yet the BBB gives them an "F"!)

B
B
barbara timmons
West Palm Beach, US
Sep 18, 2009 11:43 am EDT

i too ordered from scentmatchers . i was looking for mink and pearls since it was discontinued i found this site. i wore this fragerance when i got married 37 years ago.i thought it would be a great surprise for my husband. the money was taken out of my account right then. in 6 weeks i was to recieve it. now im out 60 plus dollars .

ComplaintsBoard
D
6:32 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
ScentMatchers has left an official reply on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

ScentMatchers - refund policy

I ordered perform on April 4, 2009. They charged my credit card on April 5, 2009. Never received the item until May 12, 2009. The perfume was horrible nothing like the original. Send it back on May 19, 2009. Was told by company they would refuse the package and no refund because it was not within 30 days of purchase. Of course I did not get the item until...

Read full review of ScentMatchers and 23 comments
ComplaintsBoard
T
11:24 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
ScentMatchers has left an official reply on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

ScentMatchers - ripped off money

The Company Scentcrafters is a scam. Also known as "Scentmatchers LLC" but this company is looking more & more like a fake every day. As it turns out there's a whole web out there making complaints of being ripped off & filing legal action against them. I found this because my wife is 1 of the more recent victims of the company & we're trying to find out...

Read full review of ScentMatchers and 70 comments
Trust badge
Collect Your Trust Badge
Be recognized for outstanding customer service

ScentMatchers contacts

Phone number

1 800 859 9878

Website

www.scentmatchers.com

Your Voice Matters: Our Commitment to Genuine Reviews

Empowering Real Experiences

At ComplaintsBoard, we believe in the power of true customer stories. Our platform is a space for authentic voices, where experiences, both good and bad, are shared openly and honestly.

Dedicated to Authenticity

ComplaintsBoard is vigilant in our fight against false reviews. Our team employs robust verification methods to ensure every review reflects a real customer experience, upholding the integrity of our platform.

Encouraging Detailed Feedback

ComplaintsBoard values reviews that come with real evidence. Whether it's a photo, a detailed account, or additional documentation, such substantiation adds credibility to your story, helping others make better-informed decisions.

Balanced and Constructive Conversations

We're more than just a complaints board; we're a community for balanced dialogue. ComplaintsBoard encourages reviews that not only highlight issues but also acknowledge positive aspects, fostering a fair and comprehensive understanding.

Free and Fair Platform

ComplaintsBoard's commitment to maintaining a free and unbiased platform is unwavering. Every review is treated equally, ensuring that your voice is heard and respected, regardless of the nature of your experience.

Is ComplaintsBoard.com associated with ScentMatchers?

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with ScentMatchers Customer Service. Initial ScentMatchers complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for ScentMatchers above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about ScentMatchers. Discuss the issues you have had with ScentMatchers and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.