Safe Home Security, Inc.there is no out of the contract!

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

This company will tie you in to a five year contract make all types of offer and once you sign the paper work there is no out of this contract they will not even charge you an early termination fee, they told me they will just ruin my credit and report me to the credit bureau. So if you loose your job or if you find out that your child is ill and he requires expensive meds you can not break this contract. They are money hungry and once my contract expires in dec of 2008 i will leave this company never giving them any of my business.

Thank you,
Marta

Safe Home Security, Inc.
1090 Elm Street
Rocky Hill, Ct. 06067

Responses

  • Gi
    Girish Nair Dec 28, 2006
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is absolutely true. They would not allow to terminate the contract. I am also in the same situation. They are saying that it gets automatically renewed for 3 years if you do not cancel 60 days prior to termination of contract. This is absolutely ridiculous.

    8 Votes
  • Ja
    Jacob Samuels Feb 01, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree, I am also aware that some of the employees there are past criminals. One of which is Dimerius Madden (Rocky Hill Office) a felon on a two year parole for felony criminal assault with a weapon. No background check I guess. Why would anyone use this service.

    5 Votes
  • Be
    Benny Mann Aug 06, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The CT Attorney General is suing Safe Home security for contract violations.
    Contact them for assistance.

    http://www.ct.gov/ag/cwp/view.asp?Q=390334&A=2788.

    7 Votes
  • Du
    Dustin D. Pearce Oct 23, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am also in the same boat. I signed a two year agreement with Safe Home Security. My two years was up on October 11th of 2007. I called October 23rd to cancel, and was told that my account was automatically renewed for another year, because I missed the 60 day cancellation notice by twelve days. I spoke with the customer service manager, and he agreed to meet me in the middle. I was offered a three month credit, reduced rate, with a 36 month contract renew ell. I obviously denied his gracious offer. There has to be something that can be done!!!

    4 Votes
  • Am
    Amy Grant Oct 25, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with all of the complaints I have heard about SAFE security or Security Alarm Financing Enterprises, LP. They have poor business and customer service practices. I would never use their service and the Better Business Bureau or anyone should shut them down. Don't ever sign a contract with them or you will regret it!

    3 Votes
  • Co
    Coakley Feb 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The exact same thing is happening to me. I contacted the Connecticut attorney general's office as someone mentioned and they have told me that to send in a letter to become a part of the suit they have against Safe Home Security. I am sending the letter in today. I urge anyone else having this issue to do the same. The web address is

    http://www.ct.gov/ag/cwp/view.asp?Q=390334&A=2788.

    2 Votes
  • An
    Annmarie Conti Mar 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What are you doing about paying the alarm bill? I now have a collection agency calling me. Thanks.

    2 Votes
  • Re
    REAL SECURE May 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same boat here. Why did I get myself INVOLVED with this company? They gave me a free alarm in exchange for 5 YEARS of service at almost $50 bucks a month. Fine and dandy, right? WRONG! Try and cancel the service once the contract expires. "Oh, I guess you didnt read the fine print. KA-CHING, HEHEHE!"

    Everyone's right here; you CANNOT get out of the contract even though it ran out! Who keeps track of when exactly you signed a contract 5 years ago? This company is very deceitful. My contract got extended for 1 year, then AGAIN from April (when I was explained about "the letter") until October of this year, because that's the month I signed the original contact. WTF does that have to do with the tea in China?!!

    Never again. God I hope people read this before dealing with this company.

    3 Votes
  • Ch
    chris como Jul 24, 2008

    Having same trouble with this company. had a fire that damaged much of my house. I called them to cancel my contract rightfully under sect 20 . they refused to cancel me, started sending me past due notices and threatning letters. so i wrote the att. gen in CT to file a complaint with his lawsuit. 2 months now and not even a letter from safe home. WRITE THE ATT. GEN FILE YOUR COMPLAINT, THE MORE, THE BETTER

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    samantha Feb 22, 2009

    i am currently in the same situation with this company... i am unable to get out of the contract which was
    still renewed even though i sent in a cacncellation notice aprox 45 days before the end of the 1st 3yrs contract. That was in june 08, the biggest issue is that there is no monitoring because there is a problem with the contacts, but i am still being billed monthly. this company clearly has no morals or ethics and should be shut down. their employees are extremely rude.

    3 Votes
  • Un
    unhappy Mar 06, 2009

    We had the service put on in November, 2005 and was told that if we moved (we were renters), that we would be able to transfer the service. However, when we went to transfer the service were told that they do not offer the service to renters and therefore the contract should not have been honored to begin with.

    We called and wrote to cancel the service in March, 2006 (since we were told that we could not transfer it), the phone service had been transferred so there was no open line to even allow for monitoring. They stopped automatic withdrawals from our account the day after phone service was disconnected from the original address.

    About 3 months later they began suing the property owner for early termination of contract (which we were told was not going to be any more than $1200 for their high-end service which we did not get) and is now taking the property owner to small claims court for just under $2000 in maintenance fees.

    When dealing with the attorney's office out in Boston for this, the person that I'm dealing with there (Mr. Abdow) can't even be bothered to fully read the documentation regarding the case until he's on the phone with me and even then only reads bits and pieces and doesn't even have a clue as to what is going on. When telling him that it was his client (Safe Home Security) that stopped the automatic monthly withdrawals as well as had been trying to bill for maintenance on a property that didn't even have phone or electric service, it was almost as though the light bulb went off, to which he said that he was going to try to contact the client about settling and would get back to me.

    It was when he finally realized that it was SHS that stopped pulling the money out of the account that he began backtracking. Not even 2 minutes after getting off the phone with me, he called back, but I was on the phone with a doctor’s offices and so was unable to flash over. He then left a very curt message and when I was able to return his call, after first being on hold for almost 10 minutes, was finally put into his voicemail; at which time I had also asked him to not leave such rude messages on my machine as the reason for my not answering his call was because I was on the other line with the physician’s office. He didn’t call back until the next day (Wednesday), but since I’ve been running around to more doctor's appointments, I haven’t been able to return his call yet.

    Before realizing that they (SHS) were the ones that stopped pulling the money out for automatic withdrawals, he tried to tell me that there was no way that they would settle for anything less than the $2600 (which is $600 more than what it says on the small claims forms) and that if I didn’t like it then I had better make certain that I go to court for when it’s scheduled. When I told him that I have been laid up for the last 3 weeks and haven’t been able to move and have been in and out of doctor’s appointments for this time while still having testing done, he became even more of a jerk. I told him that even if I was able to walk that there was no way I’d be able to make a court appearance for that time in the afternoon because it was only a short while before my children would get home from school to which he retorted “so you can’t get the afternoon off from work? Do I need to send a letter to your employer?” Another point made about how Mr. Abdow just does not listen nor pay attention to the case in front of him.

    I am planning on getting in touch with the Connecticut Attorney General's office about this company as well. The entire reason for us having signed a 5 year contract with being renters was because we were told that we would be able to have the service transfer with us when we moved; something that we found to be untrue once we actually tried to do it.

    3 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Mar 24, 2009

    Does't this seem a little like an attempt from our competition to discredit SHS? ADT ads all over while people complain about a 5 year contract that is designed to protect the customer from any price hikes? Seems like it is ADT who needs to watch their business practices. I have been with the company for 3 years now, the equipment is state of the art, and the service is terrific!

    -1 Votes
  • Ha
    hateSHS Apr 06, 2009

    Having same problem with SHS. The charged me for $938 after i told them to terminated the service. This has a negtive impact on my credit report. Anyone has tried to sue the company in small claim court in CT? What happen after the state attorney general sued them?

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeremy Hough Apr 07, 2009

    I paid my 3 year contract each month on time and then when it was up I asked to cancel. They said it had already been renewed for another 3 years and I can not cancel without a 30 month penalty. I've tried all levels of this company with no recourse. I've moved, I don't even live at the house or in New England any more and they are still billing me. They should be put out of business.

    3 Votes
  • Ma
    matt May 06, 2009

    I was under a 3 year contract with a month to month payments of about 50.oo from sep 2004 to sep 2007. It’s now May 2009, and I just moved out of the home I had SHS installed in. I wanted to cancel service once I moved. Now SHS is telling me I’m still under contract. How do you get out of this mess with this company? I never received any new paper work for a contract.


    I've tried all levels of this company with no recourse they keep saying they will call back, or they are in a meeting. Maybe I can try the TX Attorney General and BBB.

    4 Votes
  • An
    Andy May 08, 2009

    There is no out of the contract! They would not allow to terminate the contract. They are saying that it gets automatically renewed for 1 year if you do not cancel 30 days prior to termination of contract. This is absolutely ridiculous. I signed a two year agreement with Safe Home Security. My two years was up on April of 2009. I called May 08 to cancel, and was told that my account was automatically renewed for another year, because I missed the 30 day cancellation notice by twelve days. I spoke with the customer service, and he agreed to meet me in the middle. I was offered to reduced rate, with a 36 month contract renew ell. I obviously denied his gracious offer. There has to be something that can be done!

    Here the agreement.
    ALARM SERVICES & MONITORING AGREEMENT 1. TERM, PAYMENT AND RENEWAL. 1.1 The initial term of this Agreement is 24 months (the "Initial Term"). Dealer will provide Services and Subscriber agrees to purchase the System and pay for Services beginning when (subject to the Familiarization/No Dispatch Period) Dealer connects the System to a central monitoring station ("Monitoring, Facility"), and the Monitoring Facility receiver a satisfactory test signal from the System. THIS AGREEMENT AUTOMATICALLY RENEWS FOR SUCCESSIVE ONE (1) YEAR PERIODS ( each a "Renewal Term"), UNLESS SUBSCRIBER OR DEALER GIVES WRITTEN NOTICE OF CANCELLATION AT LEAST THIRTY (30) DAYS BEFORE THE END OF THE INITIAL OR A RENEWAL TERM...

    I do file a complaint at https://www.cba.ca.gov/forms/complaint/complaint.html

    2 Votes
  • Ar
    Arjal Jul 22, 2009

    He is a ### for going with SHS - AVOID theese guys at all costs ! it has been over 6 Months and my system is still not working right I pay $41.95 and this is to INCLUDE a service agreement however every time I call in they want to charge me $300.00 to send a person out to check the alarm I have filed a complaint with the ATGO in MA they are working on a Class action lawsuit with CT ATGO Well, Brinks Here I come...

    4 Votes
  • Wi
    Wilbraham Consumer Nov 20, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went to the BIG E in Mass and there was a raffle to win a SAFE HOME SECURITY system. Apparently I won and so I made an appointment... luckily I decided to look them up online because I have had a run-in with a moving co. and had to go through the BBB, so now I look EVERYTHING up before I go with it. My advise is to research before you go with any service. I learned a valuable lesson with the moving co. issue... one I will NEVER revisit. The names of the two salesmen that have been calling me are Anthony Martin and Joe Adams... I tried to find if they list salesmen names online to make sure I was reading about the right co. I must be, the rep. said he was out of Windsor, Ct but gave me a 413 area code (413-777-4344) but I couldn't find a Safe Home Security in Windsor nor the number I have. I called the 1-800 number listed on the SHS website to see if I could get some info, but I only got a recording... but on that recording it said "Please leave your name and number and one of our salesmen will get back to you..." so I am guessing they have people who do the leg work for them. I am going to cancel my appointment first thing tomorrow morning and I will tell them why. The BBB is all over them. I will, however, feel badly if they are not affiliated with SHS inc... but how many Safe Home Security's could there be? Right?

    2 Votes
  • Ab
    Abused by SAFE HOME Dec 03, 2009

    I bought a new securty system from SAFE HOME SECURITY for over $1, 500 back in 2000. The system virtually NEVER worked. I had a maintanace contract but every time they came to try to fix the system they charged me but never got it up and running. I tried to terminate the service but they aggressively threatened sue; ruin my credit; etc. I reluctantly paid for the service calls and the monthly fee through the end of the contract even though I never turned the thing on for years. That was in 2002. Fast forward to 2009 and it has been brought to my attention that they are reporting to credit agencies that I am delinquent on my account! 22 times! I have not recieved any written coorespondence; phone calls; emails; or any notice whatso ever. I paid them in full - thousands of dollars - for a system that never (I mean never-ever) worked. Now they just keep hitting the delinquency button every month. I called to try to resolve the matter but they don't even have record of the account. SAFE HOME is not only incompetant but irresponsible. I am shocked they are still in business. DO NOT USE SAFE HOME SECURITY.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    JessicaBrown Dec 10, 2009

    My problem has been going on for over 1 year when through a routine service call (preventive maintaince, system check, etc) I discovered that SAFE Security's monitoring stations were no longer able to monitor my Sprint Fone Safe equipment.

    According to the SAFE Security technician, this was due to an upgrade of SAFE's monitoring station systems. While SAFE was fully aware of the situation, the only remedy/option I was offered was to purchase new equipment. Despite the fact that new equipment was the ONLY way for them to continue to offer monitoring services, SAFE did not offer any other concessions/remedies such as discounted monitoring fees or even a discount on the new equipment they were trying to force me to buy. SAFE Security simply expected me to pony up the money for new equipment, and refused to cancel the agreement though clearly (through no fault of mine) they were unable to provide monitoring services.

    I refused to be forced into an equipment purchase that I was not obligated to contractually, and told them as much. They pointed out that I had signed an agreement with them. I pointed out that there was two sides to this agreement, and they too had failed to live up to their end. (by upgrading their systems so that they could no longer monitor my equipment) PLUS, my contract included equipment maintenance.

    I had many phone conversations over the next 11 months with various SAFE Security representatives where I repeated this same story. The end result was always the same, they wanted to talk me into buying new equipment. When I would not budge, they would point out my alleged "breach of contract" yet take no responsibility for their own breach of the agreement.

    The last phone call I had with a SAFE Security representative, she told me they would sell me the new equipment at a discounted rate and write off the alleged balance due only if I agreed to purchase the new equipment. I told her that regardless of whether or not I agreed to purchase new equipment, that the balance should be written off because they cannot bill me for and expect me to pay for services they DID NOT provide. (and SAFE Security is KEENLY aware that they cannot provide me with services.. hence this is why they keep trying to sell me new equipment)

    Finally last month I get a "Final Notice" statement threatening to discontinue my monitoring services if I do not pay the past due monitoring fees. The most laughable part was that the "Final Notice" includes a very ominous message about how I could end up with NO PROTECTION if they discontinue my services.. I had to laugh.. I had already had a year (probably more) of no protection from these clowns.. What was actually going to be DIFFERENT if they followed through on their threat.. I sent a written response recapping the entire fiasco, and how the only remedy I would find satisfactory at this point was for them to credit this balance, and leave me alone.

    SAFE Security's response to my letter was to send my account to the firm of Rosenthal, Morgan, & Thomas, Inc. I sent them the same letter letting them know where I stood on this matter, and that I firmly disputed this balance. In response they sent me a copy of my contract and continued to stand on my alleged breach of the contract.

    We received THREE calls in one day from this firm. (home phone, my cell phone, my husband's cell phone) Their representative Luther Elliot (probably NOT his real name) only left a message on my husband's cell phone (he left NO message on the other two numbers). I spoke with this Luther Elliot this morning (June 9, 2009). He informed me that he had contacted me because his recommendation to his client was that they should seek civil litigation against me. However, he wanted to give me an opportunity to settle this matter outside of court. I informed him that the BEST thing he could do was to advise his clients to seek civil litigation against me in this matter. I told him that at this point since both sides are clearly at an impasse that perhaps the ONLY way to settle this matter was to go before a judge. While SAFE Security seems to want to stand on "breach of contract", my position is that the minute they no longer were able to provide services that they effectively terminated the contract. Funny how they do not see their actions in this way.

    I plan to continue to dispute the charges. In my opinion, SAFE Security is unethical, and conducts business like corporate terrorists. I would NEVER recommend this company to ANYONE. This story was the last straw for me with these clowns.. If I told you of my entire history with this company going all the way back to my early days with them including their relationship with SESSCO and the story of how I ended up with the Sprint Fone Safe equipment.. Well I just won't go there..

    Let me summarize

    • Sometime before May 2008, SAFE Security upgraded their monitoring station systems.
    • SAFE Security never notified their customers of these system upgrades.
    • SAFE Security never notified their customers that these upgrades might prevent some older equipment from communicating with the monitoring station.
    • SAFE Security's system upgrades prevented their monitoring station from being able to communicate with my equipment.
    • Therefore SAFE Security was unable to provide monitoring services

    It's very simple. No service provided = No money owed for service

    This is still a disputed debt. The only remedy SAFE Security ever offered was for us to buy new equipment. NOWHERE are we contractually obligated to buy new equipment to keep up with SAFE Security's system upgrades. It is SAFE Security's own actions which prevented them from being able to provide monitoring services. SAFE Security is continuing to attempt to extort money from us for services they are fully aware that they could not provide.

    3 Votes
  • Al
    Alfredo AA Dec 27, 2009

    I am extremely disgusted by this company. A couple of years ago I installed Safe Home Security in my home. Worst Mistake Of My Life. After loosing my job, I called to cancel the service and they told me I couldnt cancel the service. I told them I could no longer pay for the alarm system and to please come disactivate it. After I stoped paying monthly they threatened to ruin my credit and I still refused to pay. They harrased everyone in my family. Even my 8 year old daughter who once picked up the phone. They told her that if I didnt pay they were going to take me to court. A couple days ago I received a letter from them asking me to once again call them to come to an agreement to pay the thousands of dollars I owe them. I do not plan on calling them and plan to stand strong and fight for my rights. PLEASE DO NOT EVER MAKE A CONTRACT WITH THIS COMPANY.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hateSHS Jan 08, 2010

    I sued them in smal claim court and won. I got my credit back.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sargento19 Jan 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well, I believed that I was the only one that has issues with this company, but I guess I am not, my situation is even worse. I was absent from my home working out of the state, one day somebody from another worseless company call APX convince my wife to swicht service to them my wife knew that Safe Home was any good told them ok. The issue was the suppose three years contract that they give you and them they renew for three more without you knowing. I tried to cancel their service, and I was told that I can't because I was under contract. I explain to them that without me knowingly my wife swicht companies, they told that the other company was doing something ilegal and that I should tell them to replace thier equipment and put the safe home back. I tried that but if one of this sorry companies is bad the other is worse. The only way that APX will cancel my service is if I find somebody (a friend) to take the service and they will come and take the equipment to the other person. APX lie to my wife promising things that they didn't deliver. Both companies are charging me a monthly fee so in other words I am paying for two services and neither is worth a damn. I am going to complain to everybody that I can. I will love to suit both of this idiotics company to make an statement. I also will love for them to stop serving the state that I live which is Florida.

    If anybody there can give me some input I will appreciate.

    My name is Rafael and if you want to send me and email my account is [email protected]
    I wish that associations such as AARP can also do something about because these companies are probably doing this to senior citizens too.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    krystlenic Jan 22, 2010

    They are crooks! I won a free security system and Safe Home was the carrier that I had to use. I bought my home in 2006 and after 3 years I couldn't wait to cancel my service! Well about 1 month prior to the contact end I got a call from someone asking me about renewing. I told the girl we were not interested in renewing and the price was too high $39.99 a month. Well by the end of the call she said she would mail us some papers to complete about cancelling. Well I never got the papers in the mail and by the time I remembered to call them and tell them I wanted to cancel they said it was too late and my contract had already renewed since I did not cancel 60 days prior. I told the person over the phone what happened and what I was promised and they said too bad the person I spoke to before lied and they don't work there anymore b/c of all the lies they told people! I then complained but nothing happened I was told there was no way out of my contract and I had to keep it for 3 more years and there was no way to buy it out!!! The guy offered a lower price of $29 a month but said my contract would renew the day they received the paperwork back from me. My account is on automatic draft with Safe Home and this month is the first time the money didn't come out automatically. I did not take the new $29 deal and called them to find out why they did not take the money out of my account and they had the nerve to say I didn't have the money in my account which was a HUGE LIE!! I gave them my card info over the phone days ago and they still haven't taken it out. Somehow this thing is reporting to my husbands credit as an installment loan but something like this could screw him over for example being 30 days late or something. I don't know what to do and I feel trapped I need help!!! I have to get out of this crap!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nina_22 Feb 11, 2010

    I am going through the same thing right now with Safe Home Security! Its not surprising that I am not alone in all of this. I looked into what i should do and what my options are as far as complaining outside their company. I was directed to Richard Blumenthal, Connecticut's Attorney General. All complaints should be sent to his office. I hope this helps!


    Office of the Attorney General
    55 Elm Street
    Hartford, Connecticut
    06106

    1 Votes
  • Sp
    spedteacher Mar 02, 2010

    I must also encourage everyone with Safe Home Security complaints to contact the Connecticut Attorney General's office. I live in Charleston, SC and originally had service with a local company who was bought out by Safe Home in Connecticut. When we called last fall for a system upgrade we found out there was no one closer than 3 hours away to service/upgrade/maintain our system and although an attempt was made to schedule a technician he was a no show. We have refused to pay since then but thought it wise to see what options may be available. I contact the SC Dept of Consumer Affairs and they referred my complaint to that office in CT who turned my complaint over to the AG's office. I have been assigned an attorney and expect my complaint to be fairly reviewed. All I want is assurance that I am no longer bound by the contract since they are unable to provide service. We have since contracted with another company. Contact the CT Attorney General's office if youhave a complaint!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pm
    p mary Mar 07, 2010

    For five years, I have had SHS and not found it useful. Having moved out of RI in 2008, they would not stop the contract. Now I fear, having read these comments, they'll renew my contract on an empty house. Five years at $32.05 a month for nothing. That's almost $2000. Now I'm trying to refinance away from Chase, another crooked outfit, and Safe Home has listed me as consistently 90 days late on my credit report, which I will have to defend and hope I can get out from under both of these rotten apples.

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    Wake Forest Mar 10, 2010

    I agree with the customers on this website. I can only confirm all of this information regarding Safe Home Security based on my hugely negative experiences with the company.

    A huge reason I went w/Safe Home was that I didn't have to make an appointment for a sales rep to come out and give me an entire presentation but that only allows their sales reps to be "faceless" and have less invested in their relationship w/the customers they unload this horrible service on.

    Where do I start? The technician they sent to my home lazily installed the alarm system w/wires hanging out of the wall at my digital phone outlet. It looks very sloppy and dangerous. I tried several times to get them to come back out and fix it and they had the nerve to tell me it would be a charge because they would have to drill into my walls since I have a digital phone service through my cable provider. I had digital phone service when Safe Home initially quoted the alarm system to me and they didn't bother to mention the extra cost of making it look neat and tidy as well as safe. I tried to call the sales agent, who initially sold me the service, after Safe Home's customer service was no help but she was nowhere to be found.

    They automatically renewed my contact even AFTER I called and inquired about cancelling once I hit the 3yr mark due to my dissatisfaction w/the company and because I was planning on selling my home. They noted the info and renewed my contract several months later because I didn't send in a written letter.

    I've tried several times to change my password to no avail. They say it's changed then when the alarm accidently goes off and I provide the newly updated password it's obvious that it's not changed in the system because low and behold the police are at my home 5 minutes later.

    Now that my home is on the market they are allowing to pay out a full year of the contract upfront (as opposed to the full 3yrs) as long as I provide the buyers information post sale. What a rip off! They have ruined my credit and I can't in good conscience provide them the next owner's contact information. So instead I've offered to throw in 1yr of Brinks and/or ADT for the next owner.

    Stay away from Safe Home Security!

    1 Votes
  • Un
    UNITEDWESTAND Mar 11, 2010

    IS THERE ANY WAY TO BRING THIS TO CONGRESS? THEY ARE THE MOST UNLAWFUL COMPANY IN USA. WE SHOULD STOP THEM RIGH AWAY BEFORE MORE PEOPLE GET RIPPED OFF !!

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    rdominy Apr 26, 2010

    After remodeling my home 2 years ago Safe Home Security would not respond on a service call to rewire the system. I have not had an alarm system in 2 years and they continue to charge me over $38.00 a month. They would let me terminate the contract if I paid them over $400.00. I wish I had known about the complaints and the lawsuit filed by the Attorney General. I suppose it's too late now.

    1 Votes
  • De
    defenderboy May 07, 2010

    I just love it..."you can not get out of these contracts" lol What on earth is a contract good for then? If you can't just get of them.

    It always amuses me when people post their contract word for word to show how they cannot get out of it...ONLY after they have signed it. Every Major Alarm Company has the same wording in their contracts. READ BEFORE YOU SIGN PEOPLE! Caveat Emptor! And another thing, what happened to personal responsibility??? Everyone wants to the seller to abide by their WORD...by God...come hell or high water...but when it comes to the buyer keeping their word...there is always an exception. Feel sorry for me because some unbelievable thing happened to me that has never happened to anyone else...and I should excused from my responsibility and the seller should just eat it. That's why there is CONTRACTS to begin with, because they protect BOTH parties. Read BEFORE you sign, otherwise you have no one else to blame. Incidentally, if you read your contract, and it was satisfactory to you, you wouldn't have a problem. If the Seller did not keep the contract, you would win in court as a matter of fact. It is really very simple, for those who still have not got it... DO NOT trust what anyone company representative tells you. READ your contract BEFORE you sign it. It will simplify your life. And for your current so-called mistake, take it as a cheap lesson on a bigger mistake...God forbid you have to go to another website talking about how you got screwed on yet ANOTHER purchase like a house and how that cost you 200k (instead of 2k, for which, incidentally you did receive monitoring and/or equipment) for a piece of junk and how you're trying to get the Realtor's license revoked because they lied to you and on and on ... because you signed another contract yet again without reading it. The insanity never ends.
    Good luck consumers and remember... CAVEAT EMPTOR.

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    Wayne Jackson Dec 21, 2018

    @defenderboy They offered this service for free, to get in the door here.

    0 Votes
  • Hey defender boy: did you not read any of the complaints? Nobody is trying to "get out of their contract" just to get out of their contract; they are trying to cancel their service because the service does NOT work as stated in the contract. There is nothing wrong with the WORDING in my contract; the problem is that the SERVICE does not do what is stated in the contract. Whats wrong about complaining about getting screwed over by a company that does not deserve to be in business?

    2 Votes
  • Md
    MDAYS May 20, 2010

    This is the worse company I have ever dealt with. There is no way to get out of the contract. Once you sign it your are locked in. And the fine print has it that they renew it for another 3 years, unless you tell them otherwise. I tried to get out and they won't let me. The people on the phone were extremely rude. The so called person in charge of their division was just as rude, and very unprofessional. DONT USE SAFE HOME SECURITY.

    1 Votes
  • Bh
    bhenning May 23, 2010

    This company is a rip-off, at least, if not down right criminal in the way they do business. They're worse than the RCA Record Club! We lost our house a year ago, closed the account Safe Security was pulling funds from, and they still try to suck money from it. They claim I signed a contract, but they cannot produce a copy of the contract. I spent 20 years in the Army, and had to re-enlist several times, each time signing a "contract". That piece of paper was always available for viewing, just to prove I had to stay.:) If they can't prove I owe them money, how can they insist I pay? The company has an in-house debt collection service, their product is so poor. Too, the alarm never worked right, the installer never came back to fix anything, and at some point we just gave up and stopped trying to fix the problems. The monthly payment was disguised as being tied to the mortgage/taxes/escrow payment so I never really noticed it was coming out.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    upsetnc Jul 25, 2010

    We are going throught the same thing right now! We signed contract for 5 years then decided to go with another company (after the 5 years were up) and like dummies we did'nt read the contract saying it would automatically be re-newed..now we are paying for 2 alarm systems safe home which is disabled now and the new one! Ughhh we have no one to blame but ourselves but I am still very upset about it! I wish that they would send out a letter saying the contract was about to end and if we would like to cancel do so 60 days before..but then again that would be too honest! Something this company is not! Shame on us and shame on them!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unknown0111 Sep 09, 2010

    I made the biggest mistake in getting the system and they are not doing what they have wrote in the contract agreement and want to charge me more. Now, i'm in the situation of fight it. Please share your info with me of who could help me deal with this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim in San Diego Sep 19, 2010

    I can't get them to stop billing me either. I cancelled my contract three times in writing and three times by phone. The bills keep coming. And I DID cancel on time. They are conducting sketchy and illegal business practices. Do not do business with these people under any circumstances.

    0 Votes
  • Kl
    klee98111 Oct 27, 2010

    Do NOT go with Safe Home Security. They are robbers but legal.

    It's coincidental that my family was moving to California from MA a few weeks before our 3 year contract with SHS expired. I called their customer service that we were moving. I pre-paid so I was also hoping to get some credit back, too. SHS's customer service said they would take care of it once they received a written notice. So I sent an email requesting a cancellation of the monitoring service that same night. So I thought that was the end. But they kept charging my account. So I called SHS again. Now they were saying that my contract had been just renewed automatically a few days ago and I was liable for another 3 years of payments. I told them I had already written a letter to cancel, but they seemed not to care. I was informed that the only way to cancel the contract was to send them a copy of the closing document after I sell my house.

    So they knew that my contract was expiring in a few weeks when I called SHS to cancel my contract due to my moving. They just wanted my contract to expire so that it automatically renews.
    Talked to SHS's customer service (her name was Alison), and she was not reasonable at all.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Not Happy with SAFE Dec 28, 2010

    Do not, under any circumstances, enter into any agreement with this company. Run away! Ignore my warning if you wish and suffer the consequences. SAFE Security will lie, mislead and ruin you rather than release you from a contract. You can jump through every hoop, fulfill every one of their requests, and plead with them to work with you; yet it is futile. I have been trying to cancel my contract for months before it renews. I have made multiple emails, phone calls and mailings to prepare for the end of my contract term. I am serious when I say it’s far easier and faster buying or selling a home than canceling service with SAFE. If you already have a contract with safe and plan to cancel service; DOCUMENT EVERYTHING!!! Try to get them to email you so you have a record of what transpires during your correspondences; however, they will avoid doing this for this exact reason. Record phone conversations since this is about the only way to prove what has transpired; since they are quit unlikely to send electronic or physical mail to collaborate what has transpired between the two parties. Another SAFE tactic is delay-delay-delay; what should take 5 minutes take up to two weeks, and then nothing happens so you have to call and start over. So, don’t wait when they tell you it’s going to take time, it’s an outright deception. Be prepared to hire legal help in order to get this company to cut you loose. Wish me luck…Good luck to all of you!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    romelle03 Jan 16, 2011

    I have reported Safe Home security to the BBB of connecticut. Here is the basics of my store.

    I own 3 subway franchises in North Carolina, all of which had Safe Home Security as it's security company. On July 27th, 2010 there was an overnight break-in at one of my restaurants . Safehome Security did not alert the correct police department and instead dispatched the Charlotte Police which is 30 minutes away. Charlotte police told Safe Home that there was no permit on file, so the police won't go. Safe Home failed to contact the right police department giving the burglars plenty of time to destroy my restaurant and henceforth resulting in thousands of dollars in damages. A passerby called the Pineville police and they reached the scene same time as me. The officer on scene told me since the department is located 1 minute away they would have been able to stop the burglars.

    I contacted the customer service manager at Safe Home that morning. His name was Bill Stewart; who apologized for the mistake and asked me to email him a list of damages. When I emailed him a list of damages, he responded back by telling me that in my contract it clearly states that Safe Home will be only responsible for $250; and that they will pay the amount once he talks to his CFO. I never heard from this guy again.

    So I called my bank and told them to stop the ach direct debit and now the collections department at safe home keep calling my home and my manager's phones all times of day harrassing us for past due balances. I have the complaint registered with the Better Business Bureau of CT. I am waiting for a response from them. They told me that they were in contact with Safe home about the problem.

    The reason I haven't gotten an attorney is because the contract states that if and ever safe home security is at fault the most they will have to pay is $250; so it will be a waste of money to hire a lawyer who will charge me $200/Hour.

    1 Votes

Post your comment