The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
RG Brennerbad accounting preparations

K Review updated:

My husband and I are also going through audits thanks to Joe Gallagher - he was referred to us as we are both freelancers. We paid him good money to do our taxes so I don't feel that we should have had to question his abilities. This is an ongoing nightmare, we owe double what he ever got back for us. They also offered to "take care of the audit for $1000" - which we stupidly paid and the never heard from them again. This office should be shut down for good (the 2nd ave. location) and hopefully he is prosecuted.

Responses

  • Sc
    scrubrn Mar 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was charged almost 50% more for my taxes this year without any prior notice of a fee increase. When I called the Valley Sytream office to speak to Louis Arena, that's the name I was given by my accountant to complain about the rise in fees, the "manager" answering the phones, Annmarie, would not let me speak to him. Very rude and unprofessional.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christopher Cozza Aug 01, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ***For all who left good reviews, I implore you to double check your tax filings or have another professional do so. If R&G Brenner made a mistake that causes you to owe interest and penalties, they will not refund you for that nor your preparation fees.***

    Dennis Grogan made a mistake on my 2018 return. It was quite an egregious oversight, though I understand accidents do happen. What really has me concerned for other clients is that it was only my own thorough review of my return months after it had been filed that caught the mistake. In addition, the company's response was extremely lackadaisical, uncoordinated and downright rude. I reached out to Dennis several times over the course of a month questioning the discrepancy with no response. It wasn't until I contacted corporate that I received a response. The issue was resolved through an amended return, which resulted in me owing additional taxes as well as interest due to the original error.

    As a follow up to my lack of faith in RGB's return preparation, I requested that a new preparer review my previous three years returns to see if there are any other issues. His process let me with even less faith, as I received a call saying "someone asked me to look these over, what specifically do you want me to look for?".

    To add insult to injury, the company's management was incredibly rude throughout this ordeal. Here are a few email excerpts from Louis Arena, General Manager (keeping in mind that I was the one who found their error months after they had submitted a faulty return on my behalf):
    - "Your current tax return was amended, as you stated, therefore that issue has been corrected and no refund is merited. I am not even going to entertain the premise that we should pay for a 3rd party to redo the work we have done that is correct. If there is something specific with the prior year returns you want to review with us please let me know what that is."
    - "The tax liability and interest is your responsibility, so there is nothing for R&G Brenner to do. In prior emails you were insisting that you were going to find another CPA firm to do your taxes. I strongly encourage you to find that firm and take your business elsewhere. Too much time and effort has been extended on this issue"

    Although the company refuses to refund my preparation fees or interest penalties and reimburse me for a third party review of previous years returns (which I still worry could have similar issues lurking), my biggest concern is that ***hundreds or thousands of other R&G Brenner clients who don't review their own returns may have similar undiscovered issues in their returns and may owe a lot of taxes, interest and penalties to the IRS (which R&G Brenner will not reimburse).***

    Consumer Beware

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jon12334 Aug 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They did a really crappy job on my return. A majority of the return was entered incorrectly. It was either someone else's numbers or made up. It resulted in me having a zero refund and I wasted more money going to another tax preparer to fix this company's mistakes. I tried for many months to call my tax preparer to fix the problem and they basically ghosted me. Avoid this place at all costs.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    user1794312 Feb 06, 2018

    Omg absolutely the most horrible unprofessional people ever! I had no idea their incompetence was so extraordinarily wide spread and that they have used the same tactics on all of us. The run around, no return phone calls, blaming the victims of their incompetence. (you can be sure that those cheerleaders are their vulgar crude employees writing in.)

    I had a fool list me as deceased while I was sitting in front of him! Then for the next year & a half I thought I was dealing with identity theft because for the following year I was unable to get a credit card and my credit rating went to zero, I contacted everyone trying to find out if it was identity theft. Then I couldn't file taxes, it was assumed irs that I was committing fraud because I was "assuming a dead persons identity"! These people are monkeys in suit and ties and they are equally as well mannered.

    After agreeing to refund me they ran me around and then refused to, saying I waited a year to tell them, never mind that I didn't know until the problem was fixed by social security who investigated and I never knew they where the problem! Then they faulted me for not wanting to accept their offer of free services, which are of such poor quality they carry a substantial financial and emotional cost. They are truly [censor], malicious in their follow up interactions and have no they have no scruples. They happily screw customers over customers for a few hundred dollar and give no thought to their reputation... I guess because they haven't got a good name or reputation to lose.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    taxed beyond Oct 24, 2017

    Joe Gallagher totally lied to me. He represented himself as a tax attorney and I have since found out his was disbarred. R & G Brenner should be held accountable for his misrepresentation to his clients. I was a client from [protected] and was financially ruined by his deceptive practices. Yes he has gone to jail for his own tax evasion and now he has passed away. I just finished paying off the IRS for his and R & G Brenner's negligence. The company had to be complicit with his employment practices. Would love to be involved with class action. May be too late now.

    1 Votes
  • La
    Larry Chaityn Feb 09, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are THE WORST!! Our tax person transposed numbers and misspelled company names causing our refund to be rejected. We are now working with NY State to resubmit documents on our own

    0 Votes
  • Us
    user1794312 Feb 06, 2018

    @Larry Chaityn They did the same to me only regarding transposing my spouses' name, causing major issues. You really should contact the BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    lee_dee Jun 04, 2016

    Same here with joe gallagher and a total nightmare. Although I recognize that I am culpable, I was young and stupid and put my faith in a man that spent less than 10 minutes doing my taxes while he mostly talked about his celebrity chef clients and his upcoming island holiday.

    I am going to do some real work to see what the options would be for a civil suit.

    1 Votes
  • Le
    lee_dee Jun 04, 2016

    I will join a class action suit. Same problem here--total nightmare. Realize I am culpable for signing but was young and stupid and spent most of my 10 minute appt listening to him talk about his celebrity chef clients and his upcoming island holiday . . . Doing some real work now on what our options might be.

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    raddani Feb 10, 2015

    My husband and I are now being charged over $7K in back taxes to the IRS thanks to Joe Gallagher. (This is for 2012 taxes). We paid over $36k in taxes due to his incompetance/audit from 2010 and 2011. Is there anyone contemplating a class action suit against R&G Brenner and Gallagher. If yes, i'm joining. This nighmare is still ongoing and its 2015!

    2 Votes
  • Rg
    rgbrennerblows Mar 17, 2014

    Joe Gallagher was disbarred from legal practice and was recently sent to prison for falsifying his personal tax returns. See http://www.northjersey.com/news/crime-and-courts/tax-preparer-from-rutherford-sentenced-to-three-years-for-falsifying-or-failing-to-file-returns-1.554926

    2 Votes
  • La
    Lana514 Feb 11, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was told in 2010 that the acct in the 1110 Pennsylvania Avenue office retired when I showed up for my appt with him (why wasn't I told when I made the appt) Then I was directed to his nephew Stuart who filed the return with improper figures after being handed copies of the w2s. When I called to say I thought there was an error I was bounced around the office, on hold or waiting return calls that never happened. I was directed to an office in Merrick that never seemed to receive my faxes and eventually stopped returning calls.

    1 Votes
  • Pj
    PJ Burke Aug 12, 2013

    Is there any people planning a class action suit against RG Brenner and there employee Joe Gallagher

    1 Votes
  • De
    deluca linda Feb 13, 2011

    I went to the rg brenner on merrick road in valley stream. they guaranteed me a 2 day (the most 3) tax return, sent the wrong info to the bank and I wound up waitng the full amount amount of time only to find out that they charged me 150 dollars for a simple tax return! definetely do not go to any of the companies associated with them (jackson hewitt). it's all a scam. still haven't been able to get copies of my return on line (had taxes done on 01-25-2010). see them in court! rgb... aka... rapes boys and girls!!!

    2 Votes
  • Di
    Diamond Graphx Oct 16, 2010

    as bad as R&G is his brother Bill in Sullivan County NY who operates as Brenner Income Tax does not know how to file tax returns and hires crack [censored]s and other people who want to make $8 an hour. they have one man William Brent Healey that is so fat that he can barely fit in the office door sits at his desk all day and his job is to tell these crack heads what goes where. I googled both Brenner and Healey and some people out there state that both William Brenner, attorney at law and william brent healey of woodbourne NY are baby rapist and pedohhiles. One poster said these 2 use their tax office as a front to a kiddie porn and pedophile factory. Not sure how true but if u ever saw these 2 u might wonder if it is true.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gaby333 Jun 28, 2010

    This company should be out of business. I went to the babylon branch where mr. Levin did our taxes, not only did we have to wait 3 hours to be seen even though we had an appointment, mr. Levin had no knowledge of tax laws. We had gotten married in 2009 and also bought a home. This allowed us to qualify for the first time home owners credit. We took all the paper work from our house. Mr. Levin just glanced it over and wrote down some numbers. He then told us to come back in a few days since we could not file electronicaly due to the home woners credit. We went ahead a few days later and picked up our return he told us to sign and showed us where and to mail them out. We asked him that's it this is all we need to mail out he said yes your all set... Well we are not all set 8 weeks later I get a letter from the irs stating that they need proof of purchase on the home also known as hud. When I called r & g brenner mr. Levin said this was something new. I contacted the irs who said this was in no way something new. That this should have been attached to my return. I have only now gotten a parcial return back for the irs and now have to wait another 12 weeks for the home owners credit thanks to mr. Levin's lack of knowledge. I have call the corporate office I have sent e-mails asking for the money I paid mr. Levin to be refunded to me. Instead of calling me back, they sent me a gift certificate for $100.00 to do my taxes with them next year!!! You have got to be kidding me. This company should not be in business.

    1 Votes
  • Ug
    ughhh! May 13, 2010

    Joe Gallagher has made my life HELL. I am being audited for 2 years. Gallagher charged me $500 to prepare company taxes for each year and it is only since being audited that myself and R&G Brenner discovered he never filed the company returns. He no longer works at R&G Brenner but (inexplicably) has not been fired. He is on indefinite leave, according to the office. Like a previous poster on this site said, I am not an accountant. I don't understand the tax system in this country. I trusted I was being provided with knowledgable service from a reputable CPA. Joe Gallagher is the sleaziest huckster. I wish I had never met him, much less entrusted him with my taxes.

    2 Votes
  • Ir
    IRScrewed Mar 16, 2010

    The company is a fraud. When you go to a preparer such as this and pay the hundreds of dollars they charge in fees, you put a level of trust in the preparer to prepare the return based only on the information that you provide. They don't. My preparer, John Trabona, completely made up a number on my return that ended up getting me audited. The only reason he did this was to get a big return. Send it in and hope no one notices. Like the poster above says, the audit is something you don't learn of until nearly two years later.

    When I brought this to Brenner's attention I got little help, essentially being told that if I did not have the evidence to support the number then there was nothing they could do and I just had to pay the IRS. They knew there was no evidence to support the amount when Trabona made it up! I then got the same sort of response that'e been given in these comments - it's my fault for not checking what he put on there. I trusted him to enter the information I gave him! They sell themselves as tax professionals but are nothing more than a factory churning out bogus tax returns in order to maximize profits. It would not surprise me if the positive posts above are just from the company itself.

    Just do not go there. If you do, do not trust them.

    3 Votes
  • Aa
    aaaawer Mar 03, 2010

    Why are there positive thisngs about Brenner on this complaint board? Isn't this for people who are complaining? Who is posting these statements?

    2 Votes
  • Fd
    FDG Feb 23, 2010

    I would like to say that I am a friend of R&G Brenner on Face book and they have not deleted their page. I think it is silly of you to think they would have to delete their page just because of a few complaints. If you have a problem with one of their Tax Preparers just ask to see a different one. If you did not like Joe Gallagher then ask for a different person to review your taxes. If you blindly signed your tax return without reviewing it then you have no one to blame but yourself.

    -2 Votes
  • La
    Larry Stack Feb 09, 2010

    Please contact Greg Smith of the Daily News if you have had trouble with RG Brenner and specfically by Joe Gallagher.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    marky m Jan 26, 2010

    I have been doing my taxes with r & g brenner for many years!
    Even though I moved to long island, I still go to the flushing office.
    I am very happy with my preparer and the other employees.

    Everybody resents paying taxes. everybody wants a big refund.
    Alot of people think it is okay to lie and cheat on their tax returns.
    It's not, because we must be able to proove what we claim.
    As taxpayers-we must use our common sense.

    I don't care what this guy claims, he knew his refund was too good
    To be true! did he even sit with the guy or ask questions? some how
    I doubt it. shame on him for just blaming his tax guy, what about
    Taking little responsibility himself? stupidity is not an excuse.
    If his preparer told him to jump off the brooklyn bridge for an extra
    Couple of bucks-would he?

    -2 Votes
  • Us
    user1794312 Feb 06, 2018

    @marky m OMG ... and here is R&G Brenner supporting R&G Brenner against a wronged client. It sounds like the way they spoke to me when the screwed me over!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BAKERCAK Jan 26, 2010

    I agree with the last person's comment I have been going to RG Brenner in Midtown for the past 4 years. I have had some great experiences with the preparers in that office. Mr. Grogan is my guy and I have recommended him to all of my family but in state and out. It is your own fault for not being careful who you choose to do your taxes. If there was a problem from the beginning go to another preparer. Their customer service manager over the summer helped me a lot and so this is why I am going have to disagree with you. I also heard they are doing things differently this year and I have received several courtesy calls reminding me its tax season. With everyone doing their everyday jobs working 7 days a week I do need a reminder that I have to do my taxes. If you want to go back to RG Brenner go to see Dennis.

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
    KatBlue Jan 26, 2010

    Your income tax return is the most important financial document in your life. If your intuitions feel wrong, then you should always go with them. I know from experience that the entire company of RG Brenner is not corrupt like that of Joe Gallagher and Associates. I have had a wonderful experience with the Flushing, Queens office and I am proud to refer my friends and family there. You can not blame an entire company for one persons bad choices. Shame on those who knew something was wrong and still came back for more.

    -1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tax disaster Jan 25, 2010

    You are so right!!! I agree 100%! I am going through an audit now, because of their practices. I am spreading the word to everyone I know. do not go there! I wish I could have read this before I went.

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.