Precision Auto Body Complaints & Reviews

Precision Auto BodyAwful company

They took 22 months on a 3 month estimate, lost parts I brought into them, never ordered parts I paid them for, put deep scratches in the window glass, misaligned things, misplaced wiring harnesses, cut into new wiring harnesses, caused shorts in the electrical, etc. The caused damage to the point where the car wasn't drivable or safe or legal to drive, all things that worked fine when I brought it into them.

The turn signals no longer work, the windshield wipers no longer work, the keys to my doors no longer work! They lost my stereo/speakers, the reverse lights don't work, the license plate light doesn't work, one of the headlight doors doesn't open, they didn't hook up the power brake's vacuum hose (my brakes failed on the way home), the headlights were misaligned, the lighter no longer works and has a short.

The instrument panel on the dash doesn't light up, the console gauges weren't hooked up (they lost the extension wiring harness). I paid for a new grill and headlight door covers and chrome surrounds and that wasn't ever put on the car and they are damaged. Trim parts are coming off, the windshield wiper tank is gone and the line was hanging down below the engine. They replaced new battery cables with one's that were in the way of engine parts that move, the door is not hung properly, there is a short for the under dash lights, the heater/defrost plate is cracked, the lever assembly is broken, and the heater fan is missing. Parts for the front spoiler I brought into them were never put on.

Overspray is on the hardware, the side mirror on the driver side is hanging off, the brake lights are sporadic, the ignition switch is broken, the clutch rod boot is missing, and above all, the new 'show car' paint job is scratched with deep scratches down to the base coat even to the metal. There are runs in the paint, nicks, dings, scratches and scuffs all over the car, including bubbles. There are dents on the car and they even painted over rust (comes off with the flick of a finger). I paid over $14K for a complete restore, and all of the mechanical and electrical issues didn't exist when I took the car in to them, which they lost or damaged!

I have to pay my mechanic $1, 900+ to fix all of these problems that Precision Auto Body caused, not including the new glass I need, as well as having to now take it to another body shop to RE-DO the body work, re-paint and re-clear the car (and I paid Precision an extra $2, 500 to put on the max clear originally, too!) and that's probably going to cost another $6K+ or so. This is a complete disaster and calling these guys they almost NEVER answer their shop phone, their old number is disconnected. I call their cell phone that they don't answer and leave voice mails and they never call back (I had someone call them about body work and leave his number and they called HIM back!)

I've sent Certified Mail letters verifying proof of delivery and UPS proof of delivery letters that were signed by them, informed them of all of these problems (over email, phone and Certified Mail/UPS) and they do not call me back! Months ago they suddenly moved shops to their new location after they were evicted from their old location! Until March 1st, 2009, their license to practice was in a delinquent state for over a year! They refuse to even contact me to resolve these issues and after filing reports with the Northern California BBB and California Bureau of Automotive Repair, they have not responded to those agencies either. See chatbase.com/camaro for pictures of this mess!

When I pay my mechanic and get proof and quotes for body work, I'm going to have to take this to litigation! I waited nearly TWO YEARS for them to get to this point! Sadly, I now have to pay a bunch of money to fix the mechanical and electrical issues they caused and then do almost a complete restore! This disgusts me and they just ignore the whole issue and continue to operate like this like it's normal! You simply can't have a worse experience with a body shop. Stay away from these people!

  • Ti
    TimG Apr 10, 2009

    I don't know how MY review was posted here under another name, but here's the update:

    After almost two months without a response, I was contacted and they agreed to re-do the entire paint job and seemed to be aware that it was necessary. I agreed to take a loss on the parts lost and other damage if they were willing to resolve the issues with the body and paint work, taking it back down to the metal, fixing a few body work issues that remain. re-painting and re-clearing the car with a quality job. I will give them a chance to remedy the problem and will dismiss the small claims court case without prejudice at this time. I'm looking forward to a positive outcome and not have to re-file a case. Work is to begin by April 26th, 2009 and complete by May 27th, 2009 (30 days). A detailed work order/estimate to that effect was printed and signed today.

    0 Votes

Precision Auto BodyBad service

Precision Auto Body in Reseda is in my opinion a very bad choice on where to take your car.. Although the body work they performed for me was of high quality, they were slow, expensive they have no concept of customer service once they get your car in the shop and their practice of defrauding customers and not acting in good faith in disclosure of their practices is alarming and is undermining the reputation of the dealerships that refer their body work to them, namely Bob Smith BMW, Mercedes-Benz of Calabasas and Acura 101 West.

Precision Auto Body claimed they had to rent a frame straightening jig for repairs on my car, however after an exhaustive investigation, I found that the company they supposedly rented the jig from, I.A.G. Sales and Leasing, is owned and operated in the same building as Precision Auto Body. Both companies are incorporated under the same shell corporation, Investors Alliance Group. They then use a fraudulent address on their fake rental invoice to make it appear as though they rented the jig from another location. That other location is not a rental facility, but a Fixed Based Operation where they park their corporate airplane at Van Nuys Airport. When challenged, shop manager, Bill Lawyer, rudely stated that they �have to make a profit somewhere� and had absolutely no remorse for the fraud they commit. If they cannot convince a collision adjuster to allow the charge by allowing the rental or bumping up their labor hours, they then bill the customer. So in this case, I had to pay $225 to Precision or they would not release my car.

Along with this, their main representatives, Danny York and Bill Lawyer (A.K.A William Lawyer) were rude and hardly ever returned phone calls. Of the 22 calls I left for them during the nearly 3 months it took them to repair my car, I received only 4 callbacks. A repair that was originally estimated at $3, 700 was finally completed at over $14, 000 and I was still left with nearly $800 in incidentals that they did not complete.

  • Ja
    Jack B. Brown Sep 17, 2008

    Precision Auto Body in Reseda is in my opinion a very bad choice on where to take your car.. Although the body work they performed for me was of high quality, they were slow, expensive they have no concept of customer service once they get your car in the shop and their practice of defrauding customers and not acting in good faith in disclosure of their practices is alarming and is undermining the reputation of the dealerships that refer their body work to them, namely Bob Smith BMW, Mercedes-Benz of Calabasas and Acura 101 West.

    Precision Auto Body claimed they had to rent a frame straightening jig for repairs on my car, however after an exhaustive investigation, I found that the company they supposedly rented the jig from, I.A.G. Sales and Leasing, is owned and operated in the same building as Precision Auto Body. Both companies are incorporated under the same shell corporation, Investors Alliance Group. They then use a fraudulent address on their fake rental invoice to make it appear as though they rented the jig from another location. That other location is not a rental facility, but a Fixed Based Operation where they park their corporate airplane at Van Nuys Airport. When challenged, shop manager, Bill Lawyer, rudely stated that they “have to make a profit somewhere” and had absolutely no remorse for the fraud they commit. If they cannot convince a collision adjuster to allow the charge by allowing the rental or bumping up their labor hours, they then bill the customer. So in this case, I had to pay $225 to Precision or they would not release my car.

    Along with this, their main representatives, Danny York and Bill Lawyer (A.K.A William Lawyer) were rude and hardly ever returned phone calls. Of the 22 calls I left for them during the nearly 3 months it took them to repair my car, I received only 4 callbacks. A repair that was originally estimated at $3, 700 was finally completed at over $14, 000 and I was still left with nearly $800 in incidentals that they did not complete.

    Again, this is a very poor provider of dealer referred auto body repair. You are better off using sites like this or your insurance company. I am now pursuing other ways to at least get the rental jig refunded, you can see the status of my progress at tinyurl.com/3jk7e2

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Gran76 Aug 13, 2009

    My car started chipping and flaking just after 6 months. $75, 000 Benz..They took a week to me about my car after the manger bill said he will call me later that day.. Worst service ever. I will never use them again nor will my friends.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Another Bad Experience Nov 02, 2009

    $3700 to $14K! something is terribly amiss. You are into felony level crime at that number.

    did you get the dealer involved? did not the dealer manage the process on your behalf?
    What about insurance, I needed work and my insurance company sent me to a body shop. I paid the body shop my deductible and the rest was handled by the insurance co.

    Seems like they saw you coming.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sheih Jan 06, 2010

    Precision Auto Body in Reseda is in my opinion a very bad choice on where to take your car.. Although the body work they performed for me was of high quality, they were slow, expensive they have no concept of customer service once they get your car in the shop and their practice of defrauding customers and not acting in good faith in disclosure of their practices is alarming and is undermining the reputation of the dealerships that refer their body work to them, namely Bob Smith BMW, Mercedes-Benz of Calabasas and Acura 101 West.

    Precision Auto Body claimed they had to rent a frame straightening jig for repairs on my car, however after an exhaustive investigation, I found that the company they supposedly rented the jig from, I.A.G. Sales and Leasing, is owned and operated in the same building as Precision Auto Body. Both companies are incorporated under the same shell corporation, Investors Alliance Group. They then use a fraudulent address on their fake rental invoice to make it appear as though they rented the jig from another location. That other location is not a rental facility, but a Fixed Based Operation where they park their corporate airplane at Van Nuys Airport. When challenged, shop manager, Bill Lawyer, rudely stated that they “have to make a profit somewhere” and had absolutely no remorse for the fraud they commit. If they cannot convince a collision adjuster to allow the charge by allowing the rental or bumping up their labor hours, they then bill the customer. So in this case, I had to pay $225 to Precision or they would not release my car.

    Along with this, their main representatives, Danny York and Bill Lawyer (A.K.A William Lawyer) were rude and hardly ever returned phone calls. Of the 22 calls I left for them during the nearly 3 months it took them to repair my car, I received only 4 callbacks. A repair that was originally estimated at $3, 700 was finally completed at over $14, 000 and I was still left with nearly $800 in incidentals that they did not complete.

    0 Votes