First Bank Of Delaware Complaints & Reviews

First Bank Of DelawareExcessive Chargers

I had this credit card for two years, we got it when our credit was sub-par, I have always paid it on time and to thank me they give you a credit increase BUT charge you another $100.00 for a $300.00 increase. They also charge you to pay your bill. $10.95 a month, $9.95 monthly maintenance fee, 29% APR, and $89.99 a year user fee. To sum it up...if you don't use the credit card at all it's still going to cost you over $30.00 a month for it to sit in your wallet. Eventually if it's your first credit card they have trapped you into keeping it to upkeep your credit score history. What can I do to get the fees back? Please help!

First Bank Of DelawareDecieving

We ordered the special trial offer for the e-Bay Success System, for only $1.95 shipping. Not only did nothing arrive, the charge did not even hit our account for a week. When it did it also included an additional charge -- and an additional international transfer fee of a couple of dollars. When my wife called the Customer Service number she waited on hold for 35 minutes. The music in the background while on hold was some jazzed up Indian style music. While she did that I tried to find more information about the company. The domain name is registered through NameCheap.com, and the actual owner of the Domain name is protected through WhoIsGuard.com encryption. The 'Contact Us' link for WhoIsGuard.com reverts to a contact page for NameCheap.com, so the one appears to be a service provided by the other. When Customer Service finally answered, my wife spoke to a man who did not listen to her complaint at all. He just kept repeating that the trial period was over (and we hadn't received anything). In my turn on the line I had to get loud in order to be able to speak at all. If I did not shout he kept cutting me off and talking over what I had to say. Could not even get him to repeat my complaint back to me, he kept asking why. I repeated what he had told us back to him, he agreed that was what he said, He kept insisting nothing could be paid back, and then after extreme insistence, and another hold of at least 15 minutes, he came back and told me the charge would be reversed in 3-5 business days, and gave me a confirmation number (not patterned consistently with the normal pattern for credit card transactions). When I pushed for immediate reversal he eventually hung up. I called back. Waited another half-hour on hold. I thought the CSR had the same voice, though a different name (they both had subcontinental accents -- India/Pakistan, I mean). My wife thought the voices different. We received none of the same rigamarole. We were quickly put on hold for another 15 minutes, and offered the same thing with a different confirmation number, though the same pattern as the one before. I think it significant that we were NOT told that our refund had already begun processing and given the same number. Should we not dissuade our bank from making this payment, I do not expect to see this money again. This second call was the one in which the CSR represented to me that the company EBay Success System is formally associated with eBay (I have the name and employee ID number he provided). Aside from the RipOff aspect, I have some additional concerns: 1) Namecheap and Whoisguard are tightly associated with each other, and their active participation in concealing contacts with an organization operating this way seems arguably collaborative and conspiratorial. 2)Thw website designer is WPThemedesigner.com, If this company is completely ignorant of what its client is doing with the work it has produced, it worries me that waht appears to be a little guy trying to make an honest living might unwittingly be caught up in this complicity. 3)Given ALL FOUR (and I re-emphasize ALL FOUR) of the following -- the virtually nefarious method this company has of doing business AND the fact that the large payment involves an international transfer AND that the organization conceals its contacts so thoroughly AND the accents of the alleged eBay Success System CSRs with whom I spoke -- it concerns me where exactly these funds are going, and what the real purpose of the organization might be. I usually think the FCC and FTC should look into these things, but I'm beginning to wonder if it is a matter for Department of Homeland Security. I'm just one victim of of a scam that, my bank charges tell me, funnels at least $40 per victim out of the country. How much is this organization siphoning away for its own purposes?

First Bank Of DelawareRobbery

First Bank of Delaware gives payday loans and the first two loans were great because I was able to pay them off within three weeks of getting my loan. The las time I had some set backs and and this wasn't the case. I borrowed $750 and made first four payments and missed one and then it went south. They began randomly withdrawing money after I expressed that I needed a couple more days. This in turn set me negative and I incurred insufficient fund fees. Do not borrow from them, they will not work with you and it will feel like you're being robbed. It was like they had eyes on my account and as soon as some money was deposited, they would make a withdrawl. I almost had to switch accounts. Thanks to help from family I am now out from under them and ended up paying over $1000 dollars back plus the original $750 and no telling how many NSF fees. Again, do not borrow from them.

  • Th
    Thabet Feb 22, 2011

    I applied for a loan with this company and, when came time to withdraw the money I was short. I called them and they agreed to take the money out the following week. I never heard from them again. No letters, phone calls nothing. Just recently a law office contacted me and, told me that I had to pay Over $1, 000 on a original $500.00 loan. They threatened to put it on my credit and place a public judgement on my credit. I ask the man from the law office if I could be placed on a payment plan he implied there where no payment plans. He need the $1, 000 or else. I contacted the company and they said there was nothing they could do because it is being place with a 3rd party company.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kenteoth225 Apr 15, 2011

    I paid my loan in full and some lawyer sent me a letter stating I owe $619!!! I will file a complaint with FTC and sue them for harrassment if I can...ridiculous that I paid them off and now they report me delinquent...I am not dealing with them ever again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned Human Being Jan 19, 2012

    The First Bank of Delaware is a payday loan scam. Please people do not complete their online application and give them your personal information because you are authorizing these criminals to steal money from your bank accounts. If you do fill out their online application, then you gave a stranger all of your confidential information that they can use to destroy your identity. Plus, if you refuse to pay their high interest rate loan after they continue to take crazy fees from your bank account, then you, your employer, friends, and family will be receiving harassing phone calls from a phone number such as (888) 907-6719 despite whether you owed the debt or not. Please people DO NOT FALL FOR THE FIRST BANK OF DELARE PAYDAY LOAN SCAM. I believe donating blood, scavenging for recyclable cans/bottles, getting a second job, cutting back on expenses, asking friends/family for help, applying for government assistance, and taking a metal detector to the beach to find coins are better alternatives to seeking extra money.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lori Jones528 May 29, 2015

    I never got the pay day loan and now I have a judgement on my file for something I never got. How do I fight it?

    0 Votes

First Bank Of Delawarethey took my money

they took my money out of my account, they did not havr the right. It was 149.00 dollars. i want it back.

First Bank Of Delaware — First bank of delaware is a ripoff

This place is such a rippoff not only due they charge like 300% intrest they ask you to send all your...

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

First Bank Of DelawareHarassment

10/25/08 Tribute enclosed a return envelope with the wrong address in a recent statement. A letter followed saying to send it to a different address, yet that address was the same one as the return envelope. I did not realize this until after my payments were sent. They now claim they never received my money orders which I had traced showing they cashed them. They call up to 10 times a day and harass me about not making my payments and to pay up because I now have late fees. Late fees for payments that were sent on time and they received but yet they insist they never received. I will no longer send any more payments as none of them are credited and I am just throwing away my money. I believe there are others this is happening to. I believe a class action lawsuit will be the inevitable for them as any customers paying by mail are more than likely in my same situation.

  • Co
    Concerned Human Being Jan 19, 2012

    The First Bank of Delaware is a payday loan scam. Please people do not complete their online application and give them your personal information because you are authorizing these criminals to steal money from your bank accounts. If you do fill out their online application, then you gave a stranger all of your confidential information that they can use to destroy your identity. Plus, if you refuse to pay their high interest rate loan after they continue to take crazy fees from your bank account, then you, your employer, friends, and family will be receiving harassing phone calls from a phone number such as (888) 907-6719 despite whether you owed the debt or not. Please people DO NOT FALL FOR THE FIRST BANK OF DELARE PAYDAY LOAN SCAM. I believe donating blood, scavenging for recyclable cans/bottles, getting a second job, cutting back on expenses, asking friends/family for help, applying for government assistance, and taking a metal detector to the beach to find coins are better alternatives to seeking extra money.

    0 Votes

First Bank Of DelawareHarassing phone calls!

Someone keeps calling and telling me I have been preapproved for a First Bak of Delaware Mastercard. The woman calls nearly every day. I will be notifying the Attorney General and the Delaware Fraud Devision.

  • To
    Tom M. Sep 17, 2008

    First Bank of Delaware: I had poor credit and I applied for the Contintental Finance Master Card. I knew going in I was going to be hit with huge fees. I have had this card for almost 12 months and made every payment on time. I haven't heard one word out fo them. No phone calls no letters. Nothing! Their payments are high. I just got a Capital One Platinum Card with no interest till Dec 2009 and also got and HSBC card. Capital One is about 15 dollars a month on a $300.00 balance and the First Bank of Delaware Master card is $50.00 a month on a $300.00 dollar balance. Credit is just a game. Play the game untill you can get a better credit card. 12 months ago my credit was screwed and just 12 months after getting the Continental Finance Master Card my credit has improved. If you have no credit at all this is not the card for you. If your credit needs improving then this is the best for you. The fees are high but it works as they say it will. I am not a rep for them and I hate their high payments but you have to put your dues in to get where you want to be.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sindra Sep 22, 2008

    I obtained a Tribute Mastercard credit card in 2007. After paying on-time for over a full year, never missing a payment or underpaying, they have cancelled my account. They advised that it was cancelled because it was over the limit. I made my last payment on 9/1/08. There was credit available at the time. A few days later, I looked at the account and noticed the balance was $0 with no pending items. When I contacted the Call Center on 9/21/08, I was advised that my account was $13 over the limit and was cancelled for being over limit and would not be reactivated. They advised, I would need to pay off the balance and reapply. I checked the card on-line today (9/22/08) and the card is now reflecting an additional $35 over limit from what the Rep just advised me on 9/21/08. How can the card go from having an available credit, to zero credit to $80 + over the limit without any transactions or even pending transactions created by me since my last payment on 9/1/08?? It appears this company may have fallen short due to the financial market crisis (specifically with regard to subprime lending) and is taking their financial short falls out on credit customers who have made payments on time and been good customers trying to rebuild their credit. It appears nothing short of a class action lawsuit is warranted/due to First Bank of Delaware for fraudulent practices towards their customers because of their financial troubles. Personally, I will be reporting First Bank of Deleware/ Tribute Mastercard to the SEC, BBB and filing a personal lawsuit for fraudulent business practices to include any negative reporting on my credit report that may result from their scam. It appears this company assumes that since its card recipients were for the most part approved because of subprime lending, that the recipients are ignorant to their constitutional rights regarding Fair Credit and Debt practices, Generally Accepted Accounting Practices (GAAP) and Sarbanes Oxley Regulations. All I can say is "bring it on FBD"! Those financial woes are about to get more intense!

    0 Votes

First Bank Of DelawareScam and cheating!

An immediate family member received an application several weeks ago from Continental Finance Company, LLC, an affiliate of First Bank of Delaware. I watched him shred the application (as we have taught him to do with most documents for security reasons). He never acknowledged nor applied for the outrageously expensive card. ($200 activation fee for a $300 credit card limit PLUS a $50 service fee and thereafter a $12 per month 'service fee)!

Despite the fact that he never engaged this company, today, in the mail came a invoice from this shyster organization. He has written them a certified letter demanding that they cease and desist from contacting him again and that he has not nor does he intend to apply for their predatory card. He has also contacted the Massachusetts Consumer Protection Commission to make sure they are aware of their fraudulent tactics.

There are many reports on the internet showing these same tactics employed by First Delaware (dba First Continental Finance Company LLC) with others. The card is marketed as a high risk credit card in which those with damaged credit can repair their credit history. Yet the tactical structure of the card is obviously about gouging the last drops of financial blood out of those who can least afford yet another financial problem.

I encourage anyone who has a similar experience with this predator to contact their state consumer protection agency and the banking commission. In a civilized society these rascals would be behind bars not desks.

  • Do
    Doprocess3 Jul 30, 2010

    Never had a problem with First Bank of Delaware. I have used their company three times. Perhaps it's because they take the payments right out of my bank account, which is just fine with me.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned Human Being Jan 19, 2012

    The First Bank of Delaware is a payday loan scam. Please people do not complete their online application and give them your personal information because you are authorizing these criminals to steal money from your bank accounts. If you do fill out their online application, then you gave a stranger all of your confidential information that they can use to destroy your identity. Plus, if you refuse to pay their high interest rate loan after they continue to take crazy fees from your bank account, then you, your employer, friends, and family will be receiving harassing phone calls from a phone number such as (888) 907-6719 despite whether you owed the debt or not. Please people DO NOT FALL FOR THE FIRST BANK OF DELARE PAYDAY LOAN SCAM. I believe donating blood, scavenging for recyclable cans/bottles, getting a second job, cutting back on expenses, asking friends/family for help, applying for government assistance, and taking a metal detector to the beach to find coins are better alternatives to seeking extra money.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem