Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Pool & Bath Services RainSoft beware of rainsoft equipment warranty!

RainSoft review: beware of rainsoft equipment warranty!

G
Author of the complaint
12:00 am EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I am writing to warn anyone looking to invest into a Rainsoft System, which is not cheap, to beware of leaving your equipment behind if you move. I have recently moved from a home which I installed the water system and air filter system which I paid $6,000 for. I had the system installed a year and a half before I moved. The reason I did not take the system was because the home I bought also had the system. Well two months after moving into our new home there was a problem with the water system. The technician said that the system would skip two of the cycles when he tested it. Said it would cost $1200.00 to replace the face plus labor. Because I am not the original owner of this system there is no warranty, so warranty does not follow the equipment! I have spent so much money with this company and cannot believe I am having to face this issue now. Please beware of purchasing this system unless you are o.k. with there customer service. The price you will pay is not cheap!

ADVERTISIMENT

More RainSoft complaints & reviews

RainSoft - scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
RainSoft - predatory and unethical sales techniques!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
RainSoft - billing contract (financing dispute)
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
8 comments
Add a comment
S
Apr 17, 2014 8:14 am EDT

Max, you're a ### sir. There's so many other things that can make a water Softner skip cycles INCLUDING an index lever which they do not make anymore bc those systems are so out-dated. And yes, I used to work for RS. No, I'm
not affiliated with them anymore but it drives me nuts to see you sitting there filling someone's head with absolute horse sh!t. Atleast have an idea of what you're talking about before you open your mouth. And to the OP: why in the name of God would you expect RS to warranty someone else's system for YOUR lifetime? You didn't buy it...and you expect them to warranty it for YOUR lifetime? Did you also call and complain that the original purchasers warranty isn't valid on your stove when it broke? What about your refrigerator? You people drive me crazy sometimes. If you would have read your paperwork on the warranty sheet it clearly states warranties are issued to ORIGINAL PURCHASERS ONLY. Instead you just assume you're handed someone else's lifetime warranty? Let's get real here. Grow up and admit you made a mistake.

T
Nov 05, 2011 6:46 pm EDT

I find the post very helpful because I'm interested in buying a filtration system. Rainsoft equipment is 6, 000$ and the reverse osmosis system is not included. On top of that, you have to buy 2 different tanks (one for iron removal and one for manganese) which takes up more room in the mechanical room. Kinetico seems to be offering the same system with only one tank and says you have to replace the interior after 5 years (cost of 500$). Guarantee can be carried over or you can take the system with you. However, plumbers are not cheap and have the company to move it probably costs the same. Also, there might be new technology a less expensive price and will just as per-formant if not more (like computers and phones). Thanks for the info. MJL

A
Aug 14, 2010 9:50 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Anthony...

I am awake. The Kinetico Warranty goes IS transferrable in two ways...but of course you would know that if you knew what you were talking about, right.

1. if the house is sold to a new owner, the warranty is transfered to the new owner.
2. if the original owner takes it to a new location, the warranty follows him provided the water conditions match the system.

not: to the new owner to a new location. This means warranties don't do the eBay trail.

Now, I hope that you are educated on the facts so that you needn't come back with some statement like above. Do you need documentation? I don't know any other water treatment company that offers these two aspects.

C
Nov 03, 2008 9:57 am EST

you should have transferred your old system. they tell you UP FRONT that the warranty is NOT TRANSFERRABLE, but they will allow you to move the system.

this is not a complaint against rainsoft, but against you. i could see a complaint if they refused to permit the move and did not honor the warranty.

A
Aug 14, 2008 7:54 am EDT

Hey pal, the warranty is to the PURCHASER.
Why is that so hard to grasp?

If the warranty could be transferred from person to person, the unit would have to be warranted for the next million years, or until mankind died out.

Wake up, and be reasonable.

A
May 22, 2008 3:47 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I can appreciate the problem you have with waranties that do not go very far. Whenever I see the word "lifetime" in the warranty information, RED FLAGS go up. Look for the big * and the fine print.

I have a Kinetico and the ten-year warranty is on all parts, not just some select parts. Moreover, when I take it with me to my new house (the water conditions are similar) the warranty continues. If I decided to leave it behind for the new owner, the warranty is transferred over for the remainder of the period. Pretty decent.

The new ROs work with the same deal. Even ten years on the MEMBRANE!

Andy

M
Aug 03, 2007 7:09 pm EDT

I disagree with what the technician was telling the customer, the reason the system was skipping the two cycles was not the control panel but a tiny microswitch behind the control panel. You have to watch technicians as they work for commission and most don't know what they are talking about, I on the other hand am a veteran Rainsoft Technician that knows what he is talking about. It is a scam, they tell you at the beginning that it comes with a lifetime warranty, but what they don't tell you is that the warranty only covers certain parts that hardly ever go bad and the others are pro rated for 5 years and you pay 10% 1st year 20% 2nd year and soforth until the 5th year which is @ 50% of the replacement parts, you really have to watch out for yourself, keep focused on what they are telling you and keep notes that is what could help you in the end any questions shot away!

N
Jul 13, 2007 11:07 am EDT

My family is in the process of purchasing this system and since we are going to be paying all that money for it i asked the rep if we would be able to take it with us if we decided to leave and he informed us that we could. When and if we decide to move i will still be taking the system with me even if there is already a system installed. If someone left the system in a home and they are moving chances are there is something wrong with their system. There should have been some way for you to gain your system back since you still had a warranty for the system.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

98 complaints
43 resolved 55 unresolved

RainSoft contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
2080 E. Lunt Avenue, Illinois United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT