The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Mary's Gone CrackersNo respond

D Review updated:

I purchased Mary's Gone Crackers new product Sticks and Twigs to try it. Imagine my horror, when I broke my tooth on it! The company is not responding to my requests to pay for dental repair and to reformulate the product (I am not the only one who has broken a tooth on it).

Responses

  • Nj
    NJLori Nov 12, 2018

    Why don't you carry Mary's Gone crackers anymore? I bought them several times from the Costco in Morganville, NJ but they haven't been in stock for a couple of months. I've checked two other Costcos in NJ and asked a friend who lives in Pennsylvania but it seems no Costcos have them. Please bring them back!

    0 Votes
  • Rp
    RPhPhD Dec 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Found an actual small rock in Mary's Gone Crackers. I work for a pharmaceutical company, so I'm going to get photomicrographs and have this confirmed as a rock (not organic material) before I send it in and complain. I will also file a complaint with the FDA - this is what any consumer should do if you have an issue with a FOOD, drug, or cosmetic product. Go to FDA.org for the link to food product complaints.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danny Clayton Dec 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just now chipped one of my molars on my first box of this product... how has this problem still not been addressed??

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathy Pollick Feb 10, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After mailing the tiny rock hard bits I found to the company, I called a few months later to see if they had determined what they were. I was told they were bits of brown rice that had not cooked completely. They did say they would be rectifying the situation, but they did not elaborate on how they would be doing this. Brown rice is extremely hard, and even if cooked partially, it softens. These bits were as hard as rocks and did not appear to be cooked in the least. So, anyway, I have not purchased anymore of the pretzels simply for this reason. I'm just afraid they didn't do anything about the rice and I certainly don't want to break anymore teeth.

    1 Votes
  • Lk
    LKatWJ Feb 09, 2016

    I have bitten into 2 tiny rocks eating these crackers. One today and one several weeks ago. I passed the first off as a one off thing, but decided to Google "Mary's crackers rocks" this time. Imagine my surprise to find this blog... I'm angry.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    pollkat Oct 20, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wrote to the company and they responded within a few days. They are concerned about the breakage of my teeth and asked that I send them the hard bits that I had found in the pretzels. I have a baggie filled with hard bits that I am certain are what has been breaking my teeth off. Maybe if more people would write the company they would alter the recipe. They have been very responsive and cooperative. They even sent me 2 cases of their products as a compensation for my problems, however, I still do not want to eat any of the pretzel products until they alter the recipe. I found more hard bits in the new packages they sent me than the ones I have at home. I hate to give them up, but I most likely will if the recipe doesn't get changed.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rowbeart Oct 17, 2014

    I just broke an overlay off my tooth eating these crackers. The overlay had been in place for 8 years. I don't think flax seeds should be eaten whole. They are as hard as rocks and your body cannot break them down. From now on I will only have milled flax seeds and definitely no more Mary's Gone Crackers. Mary has gone crackers. Why else would she make such rock hard crackers.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    pollkat Sep 29, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yea, me also. I have broken FOUR teeth. I have an appt next week to get the 4th tooth fixed - in about 7 months. I LOVE these pretzels. I eat them every day and go thru about 2 bags a week. I emailed the company asking if they would please alter the recipe to eliminate those very hard minuscule bits that continue to break the teeth off. We'll see if they respond. I'm not asking for them to pay for my dental work, despite the money, inconvenience and quality of my teeth, I would simply like to have the recipe changed so I may continue to eat these. However, from the comments above, I may have to resort to stop eating them.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carolyn M F Dec 18, 2013

    I had the same experience a few years ago. Details: As someone who avoids gluten containing foods, I was excited to try “Sticks and Twigs” by Mary’s Gone Crackers. Imagine my horror upon eating it for the first time, I broke my tooth. It broke so deep that I required periodontal surgery to make it possible to be fitted for a crown. Mary’s Gone Crackers is not responding to my requests to pay for my dental repair and to reformulate the product (I am not the only one who has broken a tooth on it). Mary Waldner, founder of the company, made a big deal about calling me and giving me her home phone number and telling me she wanted me to be satisfied with the outcome, but has since not responded to any further communication from me including requests for compensation after I completed the dental surgery and crown placement (over $3200). I have contacted the FDA and they suggested that people who have had a similar experience contact them [protected]), as it is their job to protect the safety and wellbeing of consumers and garner compliance from companies. Caveat Emptor: Let the Buyer Beware!

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Grita11 Aug 01, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also broke a tooth and have been trying to contact the company. I mentioned it to my coworker who said the same thing happened to her when eating these crackers! Then I saw several other complaints on amazon. I'm about to contact the attorney general to investigate because this is not right. If they know people are having these issues, why keep selling them?

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kiki09 Jul 26, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Grita11 Saturday July 24, I bit into a Mary's Gone Cracker and broke two teeth. Today I found out that one tooth is so scattered with nerve damage I will need an implant. I will need a crown on the the other tooth. Over $4000.00. When this happened I googled Mary's gone crackers broken tooth and was shocked to see how many incidents and complaints have been documented since 2009. Please let me know what ever became of your case.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary's Gone Crackers Jan 24, 2011

    This is Mary Waldner again. I'm not sure about the specifics of your incident so I can't respond directly to your concerns, but I do apologize if you were unsatisfied after contacting us. Our customers are my highest priority and I take any and all concerns very seriously. Please feel free to contact me directly at info @ marysgonecrackers.com and I'll answer your questions personally.

    0 Votes
  • I broke a tooth on Mary's Gone Crackers Sticks & Twigs. My dentist and I tried to break one of her Sticks & Twigs with our bare hands. We couldn't. He was not surprised that anyone would break a tooth on them. I contacted Mary's Gone Crackers and Mary couldn't care less. I truly feel sorry for mothers whose children may break a tooth on this product. It's inexcusable that Mary's didn't care about my experience ($1100 in dental repairs) and that my experience wasn't at all important to her.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary'sGoneToothless Mar 31, 2010

    Yeah, I buy your crackers a lot because I like the ingredients but I'm about to stop because one in three times I'm eating them there's a moment where it feels like both my upper and lower tooth must surely have EXPLODED upon biting down on one of those bits like a tiny pebble no more than a milimeter in diameter. I would not be suprised if I've sustained microfractures in multiple teeth after going through about a dozen and a half boxes of these things. And I eat them very carefully because I know how dangerous they are! Can't you work out this unfortunate kink in an otherwise great product? (A bit more flavor wouldn't hurt either.)

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Waldner Sep 16, 2009

    This is Mary Waldner, founder of Mary’s Gone Crackers. I personally have been in contact with this consumer. We take customer concerns very seriously and invest the time to listen, understand and respond to each on an individual basis. We respond to every communication from every customer, happy or not, as all of our customers are very important to us. Because of our commitment to excellence, we reach thousands of delighted people all over the world. We stand by our commitment to provide delicious, high quality foods.

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.