Liberty Taxesdeceptive business practices!

E
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I had my taxes done at liberty taxes in san diego, california. I went in to do my state taxes only. The office submitted my federal taxes (without my permission) and now no one wants to get back to me. I still have not received copies of my paperwork (state or federal).

I've left several messages at the local office, no one returns my call. Now they've even removed their greeting.

I've called corporate, which submitted a ticket to a lady named nancy. Nancy emailed me and said that she would contact the office. It's been two months. I've emailed nancy back and she no longer returns my emails. No one is communicating.

Corporate office
Liberty tax service
Headquarters toll free: [protected]
1716 corporate landing parkway
Virginia beach, virginia 23454
Office at libtax.com

Office where incident occurred

Liberty taxes
Office address: 9350 clairemont mesa blvd ste e
San diego, ca. 92123
Office contact numbers(s) ph. [protected]

Responses

  • Wi
    Wiberg Jun 30, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Trying get through to Liberty tax Prince Albert Sask. # it says no longer connected? [protected] is there a new number or has this branch closed doors for good?

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Judith Blackwell Aug 20, 2018

    I love in Dorchester. My taxes es were prepared on February 2nd, 2018. The tax preparer put the wrong apt number on my forms and took money out twice.ied to me about getting my full refund. My refund was supposed to be $6371. Instead I recieved $5, 089
    My bank verified that they did take my money

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rose Ippolito Jan 04, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I will continue to warn everyone at tax time never to use Liberty Tax. My issue happened yesterday and today.
    Complaint: Liberty Tax website was used to file 2015 taxes. Submission was 12/03/16. Paperwork sat in queue for one month. Inquired about status. Was told Liberty Tax could not submit to IRS because deadline had passed. Requested a refund for services not rendered. Explained the site should not have taken my money if e-filing could not be performed by Liberty Tax. Was offered a discount on 2016 filing. I responded I no longer trust Liberty Tax and would like a refund. Was told no. Was referred to corporate. Corporate said no, there is no fault on Liberty Tax's side. I said the website should not have taken my money - that is the fault in their software. I don't want this happening to someone else. Corporate again said no. Said to speak to main office. Called main office to talk to CEO. Receptionist said not possible. Receptionist called Dorothy Stevens at corporate and confirmed no refund. Refused to connect me to someone else to discuss issue. Was told a ticket could be generated but the answer is still no. Was hung up on.
    My requests:
    1) Fix the website so that if someone else tries to submit taxes after IRS can no longer receive e-filings, the information and payment will be rejected. The website needs to be fixed so that if someone's return is in inactive status, as mine was, the customer is notified.

    2) Refund for services not rendered. Because Liberty Tax did not tell me on the website that my return was not going to go through, it sat there for a month. Liberty Tax should refund my $ for services not rendered.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandra Spear Feb 10, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have gone to liberty tax for prop close to 3 years last year the charged my $250 this year that charge 375 for me and close to 500 for my future husband. lie to use how much and now our refund is less then half. Malabar liberty taxes

    0 Votes
  • Da
    d apple Nov 23, 2014

    I filed my tax return at the centre mall branch a year later i get a letter from the cra asking for my t4's so i call liberty main office because its off season centre mall branch is closed . They had the manager from the centre branch contact me i told her what cra wanted she called me back and said she talk to the cra and faxed my t4's and all was ok . A year later i get a bill from the cra for $6500.00 i went to the centre mall branch and asked for help left my name and number for the manager never got a call back. after some time i got someone from the cra to help, he told me NO t4's were ever received and NO record of liberty ever responding to the cra requests . so i find out the $6500.00 is because cra with no t4's denied me my tax deductions plus penalties [ a year went past since liberty told me all was ok ] So this fall i go to the main office in hamilton on king st, to look for help, they say they will look in to it a week later i call they tell me i must be mistaken they have no record of me doing my taxes that year, i tell them thats funny i have my tax return summary for that year and the one before and after. i took it down to show them and they photocopied it .the problem i have is the t4's i have do not mach the income they [liberty] reported on my tax return and i find out from the manager from the king st, main office is they lost my file . its been over 4 months now i'm a patient person but it looks like you [ liberty tax service ] cost me $6500.00 help me get it back or make it right WHAT DID I PAY FOR

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Clyde Casey Mar 17, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i filled out a self employed tax not knowing what it in turn met...they liberty then said i could refer a friend so it begin. On saturday the 15th someone stole an employers bag. They then in return they said a few of us could come in monday to pick up the referal fee wich was 50 dollars i refered 2 people so it should of been a hundred...I get there monday only to hear that since someone bag was stolen they were not paying anyone for the referal fee...is this even legal..i had nothing to do with it and came in after it was stole...Some one please help me with this and refer a great lawyer...C.Casey

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debra Pearson 803 Mar 03, 2014

    Please do not every get Liberty Tax to your taxes

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    GREGORY RIZER Apr 21, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Liberty tax in morgantown wv SUCKS MONKEY BALLS they are the most unprofessional ###s to ever run a tax firm they never call back they are out right liars I will never have my taxes done with them again and next year im going to put someone in a donkey suit everwhere they have one of those [censored] people in a liberty outfit waving and I promise I will protest them right in front of all of ther offices and im telling as many people as I can about them I will print every complaint on this site and hand them out right at ther front doors they are Canadians and could care less about the American people. They are negligent / unprofessional / ###s / that laugh at us all the way to ther Canadian banks. Wake up America and take our country and rights back and stop these kind of companies from ripping us off. Yours truly Gregory Rizer

    0 Votes
  • Te
    techguy11 Feb 07, 2013

    i actually work as a tech support guy for the corporate office. the company sucks majorly. i looked at my w2, since i started there 12/3/2012, and i thought it was correct, until i got my taxes done, and looked at my pay stubs online. my stubs stated that i had well over 100 bucks taken out in federal taxes, and like 40 in state taxes, and like 15 in federal along with 3 in state taxes from my summer job. i will not work here ever again. they said i had 80 dollars between both jobs for federal taxes taken out, and 33 for state taxes, but it seems like the office cheated me. this company is a huge scam pile of crap. i shoulda turned the job offer for tech support down, but i needed the cash. i am FULL time at corporate tech support, but they refuse to give us full timers full time hours... i complain, and they claim that they will fix the hours issue, but then dont. i also have a supervisor, who i am supposed to go to first for a question, and she tells us to go see a supervisor or coach for help, and when we ask if she is a supervisor, she says that she is too busy. PIECE OF CRAP COMPANY

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    Findme Apr 23, 2012

    I was also a Tax Preparer at a liberty Office in Hawthorne, CA before I started to work for them I did explained i had already a bad experienced from a previous employer at liberty Tax service in the same city. but i wanted to just not judge and say that all of them are not the same ...I was wrong! this owner is bad in management. I do not recommend anyone to this office in Hawthorne, CA this owner has one office only. next to hair salon.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maknsense Sep 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Some of these accusations seem a bit fabricated. I dont care where you go, whether its some accounting firm or HRB or Liberty. If the accountant working with you is underknowledged your taxes will not be done right. however, if you find errors, you are always welcome to do an amendment.
    I have gone to an accounting firm who told me my company was not making enough to stay corporated so I let that go, the following year my company brought in double and guess what? i had to pay over 22, 000 dollars to the governemnt. if i was still incorporated, I would not have had to pay anything out of my personal pocket and would have instead had to pay 18% instead of 45%. I am a singe mother of six, I should not be paying 22, 000 dollars. This really did a very damaging number on me. now because of that ridiculous amount, I coulodn't affor to re-incoroparte and the folliowing year i had to pay 23, 000 plus 15, 000 in g.s.t. so now i'm even more messed up than before.
    so in all honesty? the liberty tax guy who told me to get incorporated to begin with was right. i should have never listened to the accuntant at the firm...he was a chartered accountant too.
    so from my experience, i would say just brush up on some basic tax knowleget so when you review your taxes, if you notice anyting a little haywire, you can address them and they can fix it right there. also, don't be afraid to tell the accountant what YOU want no matter if you are at HRB, liberty OR a firm.

    -1 Votes
  • Ms
    msmagoo234 Aug 22, 2011

    I was notified that I owed $2, 151.00 for the year of 2009l According to the information sent to the IRS and what Liberty reported had a significant difference. I ended up sending in my check on a timely basis. I'm on a fixed income and having to pay over $2, 000. was painful. I had trouble contacting Liberting at the Saratoga Springs, NY office. They didn't return my phone calls and on the day that I had to send in my check, the office was closed. and they had all my paperwork. I've had it with Liberty. My financial adviser advised me to contact the head office and voice my complaints. According to Liberty, they claimed that my income from my investments
    was $7, o53 when in reality it was $17, 971, also my social security was reported by Liberty as $0, and it was reported to the irs it was $4, 460. This has been a complete nightmare. I just received another letter from the IRS that they may take further action. What the hell is going on with this office in Saratoga Springs? I want some answers and I want them now. My lawyer is expecting my call to start action against Liberty. Please advise ASAP.
    M. Ghetti Last 4 digits of my SS # is 9548. Thanking you in advance for your quick reply

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Shanon_man Feb 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went to Liberty Tax in Hutchinson, KS and had my fed and state taxes done. 2-4-11 my Fed was deposited into their bank, Republic Bank, and then Liberty was to print off of the checks. They told me that my check never came out of the printer. Since then it has been a battle between me, Republic, and Liberty, to get me my money, $6, 000+.
    It is now 2-16-11 and Republic told me this morning, that it was going to be another 2 weeks, and that the reason it is taking so long is that Liberty CONFIRMED that my check had been printed on the 4th. I have missed birthdays, valentines day, been stuck with a disabled vehicle, and may lose my home, which houses 5 children. Liberty tax kept confusing me with other people, didn't know how to work the computers, and I heard a lot of oops while I was giving her my information.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    martiric1 Feb 02, 2011

    I like how the so called owner feels the need to defend himself. If your not guilty you have nooooo need to defend yourself. I have given Liberty Tax 2 opportunities to do my taxes. The first time they screwed up and filed them wrong and entered the wrong employee ID number. I figured that it happens, so I gave them the benefit of the doubt. Now this year I give them the same opportunity, and AGAIN! they screwed them up. They are horrible! I will never ever use Liberty Tax again, and I strongly suggest you do not use them either. Then the owner or preparer would not even take the time to call me back or answer my calls! They got their money, and thats all they are interested in. Liberty tax is a joke, and should close their doors!

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Cara88 Jan 26, 2011

    Omg!! I just went up to liberty tax today because everyone at my job said they had a promotion running where after preparing your taxes you get 50 dollars cash in hand. I went up there and now i know why!!!They tried to take 450 dollars out for tax preparation fees!! I am a single wrking mother with one child. I had nothing complicated and they wanted to charge me that much. the 50 dollars that they give you when your done is just a big front so you won't realize that they just scamed you! I left there and went to Jackson Hewwitt and they only charged me 200 dollars (which is how much it is every year i file including at H &R block) Don't file your taxes there!! its a huge ripoff. The location of the liberty taxes i went to was in Jacksonville, Arkansas.

    1 Votes
  • An
    annoyed with Liberty Jul 07, 2010

    I hate Liberty Tax Services. They are a shady business and I will not be using them again. I had no issues when I completed my taxes, they were always available for me to talk to someone. It was until the tax season was over that I received horrible service. I have called their office 5 times and I received 1 return phone call. When I received that phone call they gave me a fax number to fax over information they needed in order to do an amendment to my taxes. Of coursse there was no answer from the fax machine...ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!! So I keep trying to call them and no answer during their so-called off season business hours. So guess what I am going to take the 45 minute drive down to their office tomorrow and pick up my [censor]. And they better not mess with me. They better be happy my kids will be with me, because if they weren't they would really see how angry I am with their services.

    1 Votes
  • Ai
    Aiminghigh May 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Basically they failed to file my taxes, then lied about it and still haven't fixed the problem.

    My husband and I had our taxes done about six weeks ago. When we got on the IRS web site it does not show anything as if our taxes were not submitted. So, after a month I left a message with the office in Brighton, CO. with my name, phone number, and complaint. And I ended the message with my phone number again. There message stated that they were only there on Wednesdays. I waited until 4 p.m. on Wednesday to check with them as to why they had not returned my call. The person who answered the voice sounded just like the woman who did our taxes and I thought to myself, " Oh good she will know what happened." I told her that I had left a message and no one returned my call. She replied, "Well that is because you didn't leave a phone number." I stated that yes I did. She tells me I will call you after I am finished with my cutomer, bye. I stopped her and said, "How are you going to call me if you don't have a phone number?" You get the message...not only did she fail to file our taxes she lied to me on the phone! She called us back and said that they had trouble with there system and that the problem had been resolved. I didn't believe her storyr. It has been over a week now and it looks like they have still have not been filed. We are going back to H&R Block and are putting in a complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    libertytaxsux Apr 05, 2010

    I think its hilarious how the owner from GA put that there is a satisfaction garentee. I went to librty tax in palm bay fl. This is the 2nd yr my husband and I went to the same location. Last yr we went there and even though they were cheaper then H&R block they messed up our taxes and it was almost 500 dollars less then H&R block qouted us. We didnt think much of it. And like idiots we went back this yr to the same office I DONT KNOW WHY!!! i'm still angry at my husband for that. But anyways. this yr they messed up soo bad it took an extra month to get our taxes. We filed jan 29th and didnt get our money till MARCH 23rd. ALMOST 2 months later. I went back to the office when we went to pick up our papers and such to complain where the manager gave me the BEST line of bullsh*t i have EVER heard " We've been messing up or taxes on purpose just so the irs excepts them" WHAT??!?!?!??!?!?! its funny because she ADMITTED they messed up. and yet for some reason they wont refund me ANY money from the $388!!! dollars they charged me to do a simple tax return. I dont understand this place. but it just made me laugh when i read someone write they have a satisfaction gaurantee HAHAHAHAAHAH!!! i guess the owner of the one at
    Liberty Tax Services‎ -
    1153 Malabar Rd Ne, Palm Bay, FL‎ - [protected]
    Doesnt know that!!! but i wont give up. I will contact everyone and anyone to get my money back!!!

    1 Votes
  • He
    Hesperia3 Feb 23, 2010

    I recently did a free estimate with liberty tax. I had asked the gentleman doing my taxes how much it would cost...he said it would be $127 which i thought sounded pretty reasonable( i had a $26 coupon so it went down to $101) ...i filed single, no kids, only school credits...he told me how much i would be getting back and it was more than i expected so i went along and filed them with liberty. they ended up taking $260 out of my refund..when i called to complain, they said the $127 that i was quoted didnt include a bank fee, an e-file fee, and other fees...the guy who did my taxes didnt advise me of any other charges other than $127...i spoke to the manager and they're giving me the run around. Never again will i do my taxed with them

    1 Votes
  • Jm
    jmptax Feb 11, 2010

    All tax companies charge per form, so the more forms you have the greater the amount of your tax prep fees. Amended returns are always less expensive then a full return. If someone comes in and qualifies for several credits, the more expensive their return will be, but also the greater the amount of a refund will be. Soon it will be a requirement that all people who prepare taxes will have to pass some type of certification exam, when this happens, the price of all tax preparation fees will probably increase as a result. Liberty Tax has gotten ahead of this by now requiring all of their staff to pass an certification exam before they can prepare taxes. Most offices have someone on staff who is more knowledgeable than the tax preparer and they can go to for assistance in areas that they lack knowledge. I apologize for any disheartening experience, but this can happen with any tax company. When choosing a company, ask questions, find out if they have someone on staff who the less experience tax professionals can go to to ask questions. Remember, everyone has to start somewhere, you can't just automatically know everything. Dealing with people is difficult, and can be very emotional and draining. Sometimes people think they qualifity for a certain credit, like educational credits and don't. Or understanding that the education credits is a non-refundable credit, which means they only lower your tax liability but do not result in a refund. There are different types credits, non-refundable and refundable. Only refundable credits result in a refund.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephsserenity73 Feb 02, 2010

    I went to Liberty Tax Service here in Louisville KY on Shelbyville Road. I am a single mother, head of household who made around $34, 000.00 last year and the only reason I made that much is because everyone in the company that I worked for lost their jobs 1/23/09 and we all received a severance (sp.) package. After we got done with everything and I asked what the fee would be she (the lady who did my taxes) looked at me and said $440.00! My mouth hit the floor! $440, are you kidding me? She called the franchise owner over and he looked at me and said "we'll take $100 off but that's all we can do" then he walked away. I looked at the girl and said "well I guess there is nothing else I can do, they've already been done." She didn't say anything, she knew I was upset and she knew that I was aware that it wasn't her fault this was happening. I am absolutely furious. I have gone with independent firms and never been charged this much. I even filed my 2008 taxes and had the independent firm do an ammendment to my 2007 taxes and I was only charged about $200.00. I will tell everyone I know that they should not use Liberty for any reason unless they are loaded and don't mind losing money. If you are reading this and haven't filed, do not use them unless they are willing to give you a quote and also found out that really I could have walked out of there without signing and filed my taxes somewhere else but they didn't share that with me! Oh well, what goes around comes around...I hope the franchise owner is enjoying his money for now!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marissa j Jan 19, 2010

    I filed with Liberty this year and clearly I am unhappy.I am a single mother who waitresses. my income is barely anything.I have been looking forward to taxes for months now and Liberty has done nothing but give me the run around. I call and they say they'll call back.Each time I speak with someone-its a different person with no idea whats going on and each fail to provide me with answers. I have been given the same 800 number 3 times to call and get answers? You know what I get then? I get told that they are unable to give me the answer because of course it is an automated service. This was my first year filing with them and it will be my last. sincerely disappointed.

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
    MomX4 Nov 01, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been battling with Liberty for 1 1/2 years over my 2007 taxes. It started out at a franchise in North Dakota; they shut the doors with no advance warning & without filing my taxes! After calling corporate, I received a call from a district manager in South Dakota. He assured me he would take care of everything. After 3 months, and my extension deadline approaching, I hired an attorney because no one would be straight with me about what was going on. Finally managed to get my stuff back & take to another CPA. Now the battle for my penalties & interest, plus lawyer fees that should NEVER had to have happened! Lawyer sent letters to DM letting him know either pay up or we will sue, but no response. Called corporate AGAIN, and guess what? DM is in jail & all his franchises are shut down & all are in turmoil. I am one of MANY! Worst part is they sell this guy a franchise knowing he was in prison a few years back for investment fraud! HELLO!!! I may never see my money although this guy should've had insurance...but did Liberty ever verify it & if not, are they liable then? Total nightmare that has consumed the last 18 months of my life & thousands of my dollars! Thanks Liberty, I really appreciate it!

    0 Votes
  • No
    notalibertytaxfan Oct 21, 2009

    Liberty Tax in Snohomish, Washington f'd up my taxes, kept all the records I gave them and never got a copy to me, and after numerous calls and complaints to their head office they finally sent me a copy of what they said they filed, which is not what the IRS said they got. Instead of owing $900 and change the IRS says I owe them $7, 000, because Liberty did not file my return correctly. It is now November 2009 and I have still not resolved the issue with the IRS, and penalties and interest are accruing. I am now on a payment plan with the IRS just to keep them at bay.

    Never, EVER, use Liberty Tax, especially if you want service after the sale, which I have not gotten. Just lip service and BS.

    I should have used H&R Block, which never failed me before. Liberty was convenient and cost less (up front), and now I am paying for my error in judgment for using them.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nicodimus Sep 17, 2009

    check this out I said i dont care

    0 Votes
  • Lt
    LTS in GA Sep 17, 2009

    I am the owner if a Liberty Tax Franchise in GA. As a franchisee it pains me to hear all Liberty Tax Service offices condemned because of a few bad apples. Your experience will only be as good as the (ongoing) training the franchisee provides. There are many offices out there that provide outstanding customer service and know what they're doing...it is up to you as the consumer to make sure you ask the right questions and make that determination before allowing ANYONE to prepare your taxes. Every year it amazes me how so many people gloss over when I talk to them about the value they get from using us (including hours open during the off season, money back guarantee, explaining how or why their refund is what it is) only paying attention or asking questions when we get to the bottom line...their refund amount and the fee. Take responsibility for understanding every line item on your return, ask questions and you will be able to quickly determine if you're dealing with a knowledgable preparer/company.

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    bigdan May 17, 2009

    liberty tax helps the good ghetto folk commit fraud with coaching I was a manager imagen that i had no prior experince and i was in charge of 6 other preps and a whole office for 300 bucks a week liberty and fraud they go togather like bread and butter dont ever take your taxes to a liberty tax store you will not be happy with them and they will steal your refund if they can

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MissJay Apr 11, 2009

    I used to work at a Liberty Tax, in SoCal! Sad to say I got a lot of experience messing peoples taxes up... Now I am at a better spot where you do get trained and there is always a manager that actually knows the answers! Point is that they just hire anyone that is up for $7 hr and thinks they can actually get somewhere working for them! Dont go there!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pissed in PA Mar 06, 2009

    my wife used liberty in state college PA-they charged her 300 dollars, it took 3 weeks to get the check and it was 600 dollars short. they wont answer the phones or return any calls!!! this is a hoax. never again will we use them, any one who does is an idiot...just look at all these complaints!!! how is this legal, how do we fight back? in a time like this with the economy in such bad shape people NEED their money and these people are ripping EVERYBODY off!!! i cant believe nobody has burned the place to the ground yet!!! i feel like me and my wife were RAPED!!! this is NOT the END!!! their WILL be justice and liberty for all!!! we as a community NEED to stand up and boycot that place!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    very upset Feb 27, 2009

    I just had my taxes done by Liberty in Princeton WV, I applied for the RAL 24-48 hour return. The young lady who done my return messed up and put me down for the 8-15 day loan. I called the office probaly 5 times a day for 20 days with no return there for me, finally on the 20th day I spoke with the general manager Debra Bailey, who finally told us that our check would be here in a few more days, when asked about a refund of the fees, she states that they do not have to return them, although they charged $203.00 for their services, which did not do us any good because we did not get the rapid refund. Debra Bailey was also very rude in explaining this. Also when the return finally came, it was for the wrong amount, come to find out the young lady, Stephanie Dickerson, who prepared the return, calculated it wrong. Even with this, Debra Bailey, her manager says they still do not have to return the preparers fees, or even a portion thereof. I have called their corporate office a few times as well, all they say is you can speak with the general manager, after that failed they say they will have the area developer call us, we are still waiting on this call. The main point of this comment is to let you know that Liberty tax service has been the worst service I have ever had, they have people employee's who do not know what they are doing! They also do not try to make any effort to look into any manner, it is if they beleive that the public can not do anything about their poor service, that we must just take what they give! However, this is untrue in our situation, because I plan to seek legal representation, and I also suggest anyone else who has means of doing so should look into that option! As long as people let things like this go, the corporations will continue to rob people of their hard earned money. When services are bad, they should be refunded, but at least looked into.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Kristal Feb 20, 2009

    I recently went to liberty taxes to make sure they where done correctly.You see i never recieved my $300.00 Stimulus pay last year and wanted to be sure to get it well liberty taxes charged me $300.oo so it was completly pointless.What a RIP OFF!! NEVER AGAIN

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. Z Feb 10, 2009

    ************WARNING*******************************************************Liberty Tax Services In Orlando FL @ 5600 W. Colonial suite 307, 32808

    Tax preparer's are recruiting teens in the neighborhood and giving them fictitious dependent name and SS #'s and in return charging them $700.00 in cash for the info.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Someone in KY Feb 06, 2009

    I used Liberty Tax service last year to file my taxes, and absolutely nothing was filed correctly. I first had issues paying the IRS last year, when the form they gave me to mail in with my payment was the incorrect form. Therefore I spent lots of phone hours trying to get the money applied to the correct debt. This year I switched to H&R Block. They realized that Liberty Tax didn't even file my state tax last year! I have a 1099, so nothing is withheld upfront. Either way, I paid them for a service they didn't deliver on. Now I'm stuck owing back taxes. Will not do business with this company in the future.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cosmic Zamboni Feb 06, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mexican ghetto girl? You should have been thrown out of their office with your Archie Bunker biggotry. Your racist comment reveals far more about you than it does Liberty Tax.

    0 Votes
  • As
    astyles Feb 05, 2009

    I hate liberty tax, , , , , dont ever, ever, goto the one in calumet city, Il...they tried to charge me $409.00 for a single, head of household, one child no realestate...very simple claim...I complained and they took $200.00 off...but not before this mexican ghetto girl named Roxanne Gomez...was rude talking loud ...and kept saying loud to me "you should have never signed it"...Completely unproffesional and talking loud...I had to go off on her ...I'm like dont talk over me you $2.00 an hour b*#ch. They had to drag the wild child to the back because she wanted to fight me...But really that wasnt the safest route for her to take. Being that i have to pray not to kick a b&*ch butt...Point is when i go to handle my business, I dont expect to deal with trashy employees...if i want to fight i will go the the hood and stand on a corner, ...

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tanisha Nov 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A couple of years ago I had my taxesx done at liberty tax and I did not get what I normally get with the same income year after year.Last year I actually worked for a Liberty Tax in GA.I think that it depends on the individul office and the training of the people.I never ran into anyone whose taxes I completed that had any complaints.I am so sorry that this was a bad experiance for each of you.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul J Jul 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hey Edgar,

    I recently did my taxes with Liberty and also have ran into problems with them. This WILL be the last time I ever deal with this operation. This office was located in East Texas, I sent a complaint in to the corporate office and also got an email from Nancy stating she would have the office call me. They have tried to call me several times but I do not want to speak to them; this is only because I don't want to get on the phone with them and get ticked off.

    They made two mistakes, the first was the question I had about being eligible for the lifetime learning credit. I asked them if I was able to claim this even though I had paid it from government loans? The guys answer was No you cannot claim this. At the time I did not have time to research this myself, and as far as I am concerned I shouldn't have to when I am paying so called professionals to do this for me!! Otherwise, what in the ????, ARE WE PAYING THEM FOR??????? I have done my research on this and have found that you can claim this and this is a little over 3k that I should have already had.

    The second problem was asking them to do an amendment for the recent mortgage debt forgiveness. All they were supposed to do was report that the 1099 I had fell under this act. Well instead they were nice enough to tack it on as income which put me in my family in the hole about $1500 bucks.

    So to this day I am attempting to get this redone. Here is the sad part, I recently took my papers to an independent CPA and told them what Liberty had done was wrong. This lady sat there and tried to tell me that it was correct on them adding it to my income. I even pulled some papers printed out from the IRS showing HOW and WHAT they are supposed to do. She still looked at the papers and was determined to say she was right. I had to stop her and to tell her to READ the entire paragraph of the page and then tell me what it meant. Well she finally understood it. My only point here is where in the world are these people coming from, are they handing out CPA license at your local grocery store???

    What is really disturbing about this is think of how many people in America are not getting ALL of their refund. It is their money, they don't owe the government any more than what they say or any less. We put our trust into these outfits that we see popup everywhere around tax time.

    Somehow I don't believe what James Burke is saying. You know most outfits would pay the $350 just to not have the slander and bad publicity. It isn't worth their time and money.

    2 Votes
  • Ja
    James Burke Jun 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am the owner of two Liberty offices, not all the offices listed. This employee was terminated for filing fraudulent expense reports and inflating the number of hours worked. He has been invited numerous times to take this matter to small claims court if he feels he has been wronged. He has verbally abused female employees of my business in the most vulgar manner you can imagine, and yes, the police have intervened because of his outrageous and violent behaviors. This is not a consumer dispute, it is an employer/employee matter that should be aired in front of a small claims judge if this individual believes he has a legitimate complaint. It is not our policy to pay fraudulent hours or expenses.

    -2 Votes
  • Ac
    ACCOUNTKILLER Apr 23, 2008

    I had worked for the Liberty Tax office in Melbourne, Fl in 2004. Well James Burke the so called owner used me and my girl friend to advertise his business. Well we did are job and apparently he fired her and then did not pay me my last pay check. I was in the offce on New Haven Ave, in Melbourne and I looked at my final check and said to his people that there must be a mistake with this because I was short some money. My check should have been $350.xx and change. Well he came up and ripped the check out of my hand and gave me a paper cut. He said I am not paying you anything, and ripped up the check in front of me. He said get out. I insisted that he pay me what I had earned. So I walk out side to call the police and his assistant came out and threw baby wipes at me, which a Melboure Police officer was at the stop light and seen the whole thing. Well to this day James Burke did not pay me, I contacted the wage and hour office in Orlando and I did not get anywhere. They did make contact with him after months hiding from the Government. He refused to pay me after they advised him what could happen to him. I had lawyers contact him from day one, and he wrote lies back to them, and wrote me saying I am not affraid of your Pre Paid Legal Services. Well I did let every person and business know what he did to us and then I recieved threating letters from his so called lawyer saying that I needed to stop slandering his business. Well its not slander. Mr. James Burke rom Liberty Tax in Melbourne and Palm Bay, FL did not pay me. I did ignore those letters. Well he needs to be a man and a business man and pa his employees. When the day comes he pays me, then I will let every one know that now I did get my final pay check from James Burke. But until them he will always be remembered in every ones eyes and minds that he uses people and then does not pay them their last check. Here are the address and phone numbers to his locations:


    Liberty Tax Service‎ -
    1902 N Wickham Rd, Melbourne, FL‎ - [protected]



    Liberty Tax Services‎ -
    1120 Highway A1A, Satellite Beach, FL‎ - [protected]



    Liberty Tax Service‎ -
    401 N Wickham Rd, Melbourne, FL‎ - [protected]



    Liberty Tax Services‎ -
    4700 Babcock St NE # 18, Palm Bay, FL‎ - [protected]



    Liberty Tax Services‎ -
    1153 Malabar Rd Ne, Palm Bay, FL‎ - [protected]

    Also their corporate office is in Virginia Beach, VA.

    Corporate office
    Liberty Tax Service
    Headquarters Toll Free: [protected]
    1716 Corporate Landing Parkway
    Virginia Beach, Virginia 23454
    Office AT libtax.com


    I did also contact them and I never did get anywhere with them. They said since each office is owned and operated thees nothing that they can do. I advised them they need to pull his franchise agreement and they refused. So my best advised is Do Not get any of your taxes done at any Liberty Tax office anywhere. Also before I worked for James Burke, I went to his office in Palm Bay, FL on Palm Bay Rd and yes his office did mess up my taxes too. I only got a couple of hundred dollars back from te IRS. But with the same deductions afterwards, the year after that and so on, I got between $2500 and $3000. back from the IRS. I think there is something wrong with that picture.
    Liberty Tax does not care about their customers or their employees:(

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.