Lending ClubUnbelieveable treatment

I
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Lending Club treated me with no respect. The people that answered the phone were rude and curt. They offered me a loan and then shut me out of my account with no notification and after calling sent me an explanation that they couldn't "verify my identity" after they had already looked at my credit report earlier and verified who I was. I am warning everyone not to have anything to do with them because they are devious, uncourteous and who knows what else. Their treatment of me was unconscionable, at best.

Responses

  • Le
    Leigh3251 Nov 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Round after round of calls from them to verify identity. This after sending them 3 years tax returns and last 3 months of the corporate bank statements. Their staff are flippant and argumentative and appear to be the same calibre normally reserved for selling used cars. I don't trust them and I am insulted with their constant questioning of my identity. Now they want me to send them my social security card! What I am sending them instead is a note that they can shove their "pre approved" loan up their bum

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    pegsuej Oct 21, 2016

    Yes just applied to get 7200 to pay off car at a better intrest rate. Was turned down in 5 min.Said my score was 670 i just checked and my score is over 710. Was preapproved

    0 Votes
  • No
    Noe Gorrochotegui Nov 16, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They sent me a "pre-approved" offer, as well. I applied and was rejected, so "pre-approved" was just a figure of speech and not to be taken seriously.
    This is a very bad business model

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Morgan2 Apr 12, 2015

    I recieved a pre-approved letter from Lending Club to be turned down in less than 5 minutes. They should not be able to send a letter and then renege in a promise. I was trying to consolidate my debt which I am paying down and they didn't even consider my spouses income. I am so disappointed in their process.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    killsing Jun 13, 2014

    They send you a "Pre-Approved" loan offer. One is led to believe that PRE APPROVED means you are "Pre approved" Silly me... So, then they turn you down but then tell you that you may qualify for yet another lender who will SURELY sock it to you on interest rates and fees. STAY AWAY from these PREDATORS!!! That is exactly what they are. Go to your bank or credit union

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Allyn Byars Oct 07, 2010

    Lending Club is unethical in the manner in which they lend money. Their website is confusing and contradicts their normal business practice. I received a loan that was deposited in my bank on a Monday and was given notice only from the previous Thurday at around 1030 pm through an email. Therefore, I did not read the email until Friday and was never given an opportunity to say that I did not want the bank transfer or an opportunity to cancel the loan since by the time I read the email, it was too late to do anything on a Friday nothing could be done on the weeken. On Monday I offically decided to cancel the loan and if you read their website, you have something like 10 days in order to do so without penalty. As such, I waited until Wednesday to contact the company in order to cancel my loan. I was finally contacted on Thursday the next day and was told by 3 very rude and unprofessional individuals that I had to pay all the interest that was due on the loan including processing since the loan had already been deposited. Although I argued that this policy was not clear or contradicted the information on the website, it fell on deaf ears. Apparently, you have 10 days to cancel the loan without all of these fees and interest if the money has not been deposited. However, I did not even know the load was funded until Friday or was going to be deposited so rapidly. In my opinion this was purposely done in order to make money knowing that I might change my mine. Anyway, the website it pretty clear that once the loan is approved there is time to back out before the money is deposited. Unfortunately, I was not given that opportunity. It was deposited immediately and therefore giving me no option based on the employees I spoke with and in contradiction to the website. So, I am writing them a check for what they deposited, had my bank stop any electronic transfers to the company, and they can either turn me other to a bill collector or whatever. However, I do plan on reporting the company to the better business bureau and to the appropriate federal authorities and prehaps take legal action. This is my story and I hope that you will consider me to be credible. Allyn Byars, PhD

    0 Votes
  • Lc
    LC-John Aug 21, 2010

    We regret that you did not have a positive experience with Lending Club. Please know that your experience is not typical and we would be happy to research your issue. Please send us an email or call us (http://www.lendingclub.com/public/contact-us.action ) and ask for the member support manager.

    -1 Votes
  • Do
    DONTNEEDHASSALED Aug 09, 2010

    They don't seem to read their emails timely. when I called to cancel my loan request got very rude guy. Argued about me sending emails. It seems if you are not totally funded they get angry with you! Make sure you cancel plenty of time ahead of the time limit of 14 days if you need too. Call so-called customer support to make sure it is done.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.