The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
LamelleExpensive treatements does not work

I went to Skin Renewal Clinic in Parkhurst and after a doctor’s consultation, was advised to get a Lamelle Mela-T Peel in order to get rid of the pigmentation marks on my face. I was advised to also buy the whole Lamelle skin care range at a cost of R1, 800 and use it for at least 2 weeks before the peel. I was assured that one peel will lighten the pigmentation by at least 40%-60% and that a second peel might be necessary. At a cost of R1, 500 per peel, a week leave in order for my skin to recover and an additional R200 for Lamelle Post Barrier Cream (R5, 000 in total), I could hardy seen any difference and decided to go another beauty clinic. I was advised to do either a course of 6 – 10 peel treatments or if I wanted to get rid of it immediately get laser treatment. At a cost of R1, 200 the laser treatment did not only lighten, but completely removed most of my pigmentation marks. I am not hoping to achieve anything by sending this email, but feel it is my duty to inform you that your product is simply not working and that I think other people who are desperate to solve their skin problems are entitled to know this. And “No” I will definitely not return to Skin Renewal for my “complimentary beta peel” that I received for buying the skin care range.

Responses

  • An
    anonomys - cape town Jul 21, 2010

    It is so sad to hear that you had such a bad experience, we as a salon has been working with lamelle with more than a year now and we have had really great results with anti-ageing and pigmentation. I think it all depends on the salon you go to and the advise they give you. Expectations must be realistic, there’s no such thing as a quick fix when it comes to achieving healthy, beautiful skin.

    3 Votes
  • Sa
    Samantha000 Aug 15, 2010

    Hi, I too have spent an enormous amount of money on trying to get rid of hormonal pigmentation. If you could post the information, I would dearly love the name of the laser you had done, and the name of where you had it done. If you can help that would be great. Thanks in advance.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    suecrafford Jan 30, 2011

    I am really sorry to hear about your experiance, There are there 3 main classifications with regards to Pigmentation, Hormonal, UVA/UVB Sun and Actinic Bronzing. Sun damadge/pigmentation may vary and also develop in skincancer depending on the degree of sun exposure and damadge. With all Pigmentation treatments it is advisable to receive a Visia Skin analysis, this computerized image gives a Medical Therapist as well as the client a very good idea as to the type of Pigmentation you are dealing with and which route your treatment plan should take, Hormonal pigmentation is one of the most difficult pigmentation to treat, Blood works should be done to test Hormonal fluctuations and levels. Hormonal pigmentation will lighten but will never copletely go away the slightest Hormonal change or high UV exposure not even direct sun exposure may darken the pigmented area agian. A medical recognized treatment that may be claimed from the medical aids, is the ALA/PDT. Then threre is the different types of Chemical Peels with pigmentation you can either go deep and agressive with some downtime needed for healing, your after-care should be monitored by your practitioner or you could take the less agressive route and follow a course of treatmets over at least a year! with frequent Visia fotos to monitor your progress, With regards to Lasers:Pearl, Pearl Fraxional and Pearl Fusion is a great way to treat not only pigmentation but also open pores, skin lesions, acne scars sagging skin and fine lines and wrinkles. kind regards Suzette Crafford

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Kay Reddy Apr 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi it's unfortunate that you didn't see the results you expected. I have also tried numerous skin lightening products over the years and have spent enormous amounts of money with no lasting results. However, I am now on the Lamelle range and I've never been happier with my skin! Please visit my website for more pictures of myself for proof of this www.thefatbuster.co.za or call me on 0861fatbuster. Kay Reddy

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    Nuttypinkey Jul 05, 2012

    I agree, this product does not work. In fact, my skin has gotten worse since using this product. I had high hopes, expecting acne free skin, however, after using this product I have had more breakouts and therefore more pigmentation. I wish I could get my money back! I think a better skin analysis should be done before shoving ineffective expensive products down the client's throat.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katniss Aug 28, 2012

    I tried the Lamelle mask that she said I could actually wear as a moisturizer for I have very dry skin, and it really makes a difference to my skin, the lady that did my anti-aging facial was very informative and helpful, very patient and answered all of my questions and also gave me great advice and told me that I'm doing the right things in taking care of my skin, I was happy when I left the Skin Renewal Salon in Willowbridge, Tyger Valley. I'll go back there one should never expect miracles, but my skin looked and felt great afterwards I had some botox for my frown done, and everything was done in a very professional way and I really can't complain. I'd like to explore the Lamelle range, also considering the Hyaluronic Acid for my dry skin :o) Yes its expensive, but dont just blindly go and buy any products do your research and try to get samples first to see how your skin reacts to a product... Also a product wont necessarily make you look 20 yrs young in a day and if it does, it'll be temporary only!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linxter Feb 28, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went for one IPL laser session and could already see quite a difference, it got rid of a lot of the sun damage, but not everything. Now, the beautician wants me to have 6 chemical peels before having another laser session, as she says it could darken my hormonal pigmentation. It seems to me that she is just trying to make more money, why take an extra route if the laser works? I'm thinking of just going to another salon to have the next laser session done.

    -1 Votes
  • Na
    Nava Naidoo Mar 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had very good skin all my life.(50 year old Indian Female) . Over the last 12 years
    developed pigmentation on my right cheek and a scattering of tiny marks on my face, whichj
    was easily concealed with cover which I purchased from Clicks Stores (Yardley Oatmeal Blemish stick). For the 50th birthday my family had given me a gift and that was to remove my pigmentation. I shopped around and did some homework and finally settled for Lamelle products and I was recommended 6 sessions of Chemical Peels by the Beauty Salon I chose. First and foremost I agree that Lamelle (Liminiesse Range) is a very superior product and it actually made my skin feels 20 years old. I was totally disappointed with the beauty Salon I went to, they tried to drag my treatment and when I had reached my 5th treatment the therapist said to me she thinks I needed another 5 sessions of chemical peel, then the vibes had changed to they are trying their best, they cannot guarantee anything, they cannot say how your skin renegerates itself and the cherry on the top was the only way they can assess your skin is if they cut a piece of you skin and put it under the microscope, I was so livid at that so I asked her if they did things like that, she promptly replied no (she was just acting like a smart Alek with me!).
    Maybe Lamelle needs to have stricter rules with the salons that stock their products, the benefit should always go to the client. It is afterall a very expensive product, so if a person comes in and is willing to break the bank and invest in the product, they should be rewarded and not hoodwinked by greedy salons! In my case we are a working class family and since my pigmentation was fairly moderate we were willing to invest, 8 Chemical peels and treatment products over a six month period, my pigmentation improved quite some bit but not totally gone (that was the disappointing part). I think it had to do with the Salon trying to prolong my treatment. Each peel was between R430 and R500 per session. By the 8th session, the vibe I was getting from the therapist was that the peels would be ongoing, totally unacceptable. In the grand scheme of things it is something we choose to do, it is not an essential. I can live with my pigmentation and cover up with my Oatmeal Blemish stick from Clicks. I feels deceived by the Salon I chose.

    Nava Naidoo
    Email : [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Burger Aug 21, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are a Lamelle Skincare Clinic in Pretoria and get beautiful results on Age Correction and Pigmentation. It is important when treating either of these skincare problems to choose someone you trust and someone who has been properly trained with Lamelle. Lamelle is very strict with their training rules but can't be held responsible when salon owners and doctors employ people who have not yet been properly trained and allow them to do peels or dermaroller treatments or prescribe the products as homecare. If you are on the correct regime you will see results. Ask your doctor or therapist to take photos of before, during and after so that you can compare your skin results.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    tates Dec 14, 2015

    I had a similar experience - in fact, the Lamelle peel resulted in my having patches on my face for over a year! The worst part was that having spent loads of money in trying to correct the problem, I received no assistance from Lamelle.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    clfh May 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you are looking for better product for your skin, I am using this amazing brand at the moment and my skin has improved dramatically. If you want to find out more, please email me and I will be happy to share with you.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marinda teresa Oct 31, 2016

    Hi clfh, I would like to know what you are using. Where can I find your email?

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.