The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Kor ProfessionalWhat a rippoff!

S Review updated:

I'm at the Galleria Mall (Houston, TX) and was pulled by a salesman selling hair straighteners from KOR PROFESSIONAL brand. I insist that I already have one and showed me my CHI iron and insisted it wasn't "100% ceramic plates". The straightener HE was using worked fine and did various things to my hair so I negotiated the from $220 down to 189. I thought it was okay since I understand people are trying to hustle for their money so I didn't mind. When I got home this product did the exact oppsite. Not only does it smells like burn, it pulled my hair, is obviously from cheap material, and they guy told me if anything were to happen "we should simply give you a new one"... when in reality you have to send it to the headquarters along with $10-30 to have it replaced or fixed. What a rippoff. Next time I see then, I will give them the finger and make sure NO ONE BUYS FROM THIS COMPANY EVER AGAIN.

Ripoff company name is S.O Sales Inc. (S O Sales Inc) on the receipt it shows as HYT Sales Houston

I will file a complaint with the BBB and Attorney General because this is just ridiculous that "ALL SALES ARE FINAL" even when the product is not performing like it should and completely the opposite of what you were told.

Responses

  • Ra
    Racheal Lynn Ansley Dec 17, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In College Station TX, I was looking at one today and was really looking forward for an early bday gift. My fiance and I talked and they put it from $220(including a free gift on and a holder for each and a carrying case for each all totalling 320 in free items) to $175 we generously declined and so glad we did! Thank you for this review hope you get everything fixed!

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    Princess Usbourne Jul 28, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mine works beautifully from the Willowbrook location ...

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Houston Doll Mar 10, 2015

    I agree with most of the people i bought a Kor pro set for @$350. hardly used the straightner because didnt really straighten my hair, and less than a year later it stops heating up!. went back to BAYBROOK MALL and of course was told i had to pay $29.99 to return just the straightner or $50 to return the whole set! I was soo damn pissed when i heard that im like after all that damn money i spent i still have to pay to exchange!!! i told her she should tell customers that when they first buy and of course she said she does.. and it was the manager that sold it to me and I went back and she was still there so i told her she never told me that amd she had just finished curling someones hair and of course she did not tell that customer about the fee either!..whatever. But since theres 1 year free returning warranty i can ship back myself and only pay a small shipping fee. i live in Houston tx and theres a kor warehouse here and they said i can just go drop it off but they will ship me the new one FREE... after the first year is when we have to pay the 29.99... i still think its ridiculous!

    1 Votes
  • La
    Laurabbb Feb 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought the KOR Professional Wand at Baybrook Mall on 8-8-2014. On [protected] (6months) later, it stopped heating. So I tried to exchange it. I just wanted another one. The sales person says I have to pay a $29.99 fee for shipping and handling. The sales person was very RUDE.Why should I when there is a Lifetime Warrenty. I paid $85.00 for this piece of CRAP!!! I will never buy from KOR PROFESSIONALS again.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad As ---- Jan 10, 2015

    My co-worker made the mistake of buying one of these things. When I tell you the mean guy became loud and ugly when we took it back to him five seconds later. He tried telling her that it was better than a CHI and I told him he was not honest at all. As I stood there I noticed all the complaints on line. He tried to tell us that he let her see it before she bought it and it was not any good. i asked him if this worked so well why in the world dothey not refund our money if it works so well. he then got mad and told us that he has this small sign that sayd not money back. What ever you do DO NOT buy this product. the young girl was there bragging about how much money she made there in Houston with the same product. She didnt have enough since to know people are not happy at all about the product.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slarthur Dec 17, 2014

    I bought a straightener and the curling wand from West Oaks mall on Dec 15, 2014. I paid $149 for both. My daughter loved the curling wand and it makes her hair look great. She has straight hair and wants curls, I have wavy hair and would like straight hair. The curling wand works great on my daughters hair but I noticed that the wand did not look like the one online. With more investigation, I realized that it's not even a KOR wand, it's a Royal Professional brand. I used the flat iron this morning and I do like the way it straightened my hair but it was not smooth running it over my hair. I also did not have it on the hottest setting and did not squeeze the plates to tight when straightening my hair, I felt that if I squeezed to tight, that it would pull my hair. Anyway, I am headed back to the mall today to confront the guys that sold me the irons. They are a KOR'S stand so I expected both irons to be KOR. I will also be taking pictures and reporting them to the mall office and the BBB if they do not right this wrong...which I'm sure they won't from reading all the other post.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    samanthaperry Nov 22, 2014

    Does anyone know how you can get your money back from these jokers?

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Groovy_ peace Nov 21, 2014

    My daughter sent for a Kor set and it works perfect the cost was only $139.00 no cost for shipping, we have both used it and it is amazing, we got it straight from the manufacturer, I was kinda skeptical about ordering it without researching the company, but it is exactually like the one at the mall, wanted one finally got one and happy with it. she went under www.kor.com, one of the best buys we ever did. thank God, at the mall they were trying to sell it to us for more that $139.00, from what I can remember it was be offered to us at $250.00, plus layaway as long as we wanted it, with very little down, how do we know if the same sales person will be there in the next few weeks or all of the sudden she lives that jobhan what happens with my layaway. Good Luck Ladies and I hope no else buys from the Texas mall, how sad to take what we work soo hard for, and they have no remorse. Just be careful and do some research on and item and the company, at least you can decide what you should do.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tricia Rose Nov 03, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was approached by a genial young man at Baybrook Mall the other day asking how my hairstyle was achieved. My hair is not worn straight but a type of fluffy straight which appeals to me because it is a soft look. He did show me the KOR ceramic iron and tried several areas that tend to frizz in the humidity. He even curled a section into a perfect curl which would be great for young people. Before leaving he straightened my hair and it did feel very silky. My husband loved it but then he likes me to look years younger anyway. This morning I checked for pillow head and there was none. The hair was still silky smooth! One drawback is my hair is fine and it feels and looks like less hair. This iron could be ideal for coarse, curly, or thick hair and the styling is very quick even on damp hair. Now that I have read this forum, will think twice about possibly being sold a "knock off". I also don't believe in "Lifetime Guarantee's" because no company is around for a lifetime.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rocket156 Oct 02, 2014

    I bought one too at the Missouri State Fair I have had it not quite 2 months one of the ceramic plates is already broken. So now I don't know what to do I have tried to register it but their site does not work. It also says on the paper from the box you have to pay $29.99 + $15.00 for the lifetime replacement. So disappointed in this I paid 163.00

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mindymarie Sep 18, 2014

    I think the flat iron itself is good (makes me hair really straight and silky feeling) but the customer service is dirty, sneaky, manipulative and fake. They lure you in with sweet words and "special deals" ...god the guy told me the serum was 100 bucks retail, butit would give it to me for 45 and throw in shampoo and conditioner and later when I checked online I saw that the serum was only 25 as well as the shampoo and conditioner as a combined set! The way they run their business is disgusting. I bought the iron because I was in a rush (he gave me a special deal at 79 dollars)...but didn't know it was a sneaky business until after the fact... I gotta give the guy credit though, he's good at what he does...being sneaky and manipulative!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hagogy May 25, 2014

    Guys plz help I bought 2 kor straightener sets from Dublin in Stephens green mall and it's 100 euro each, do u think is fake ??? How do I know ????

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Clauyadrian Feb 16, 2014

    This people love complain for no reason. The flat iron initially was 130.00 dollars at the mall but the girl gave me on sale $89.00 no taxes. Kör flat iron, well I don't know is this one is better or worst quality than GHD flat iron brand that actually is better than Chi brand . Ok The sales person from the kiosk she told me they is no refund only exchange, knowing this I bought it and I'm keeping my receipt. In the receipt with big letters say No refund, exchange only in 7 days with receipt. If you lost your receipt is your problem, don't blame the company or the sales person or saying that is a rip off. If you bought for 130.00 or more don't get upset, you know you might get the same product online probably less expensive, so it was your decision . I love this iron, I can travel everywhere 220v to 110v converter curl and straight your hair. Try to use a hair serum before you use it like Loreal liss ultime ( expert série) purple bottle smell amazing to protect your hair or Biosilk therapy serum for hair ( amazing smell) white transparent bottle.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie McGinnis Feb 02, 2014

    Me and my daughter bought one a year ago in Illinois and he made it sound so good. Its nothing but a piece of ### that fr
    ies your hair.. I had a cheap one that worked alot better then the one we have now.. The funny thing is now this guy was selling them at the mall and i went there a month ago and hes no longer there.. I cant believ i paid 80 dollars for that piece of junk..

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Momof6+2014 Jan 18, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a velvet touch less than a month ago! My daughter noticed a small crack on it ( not from her) anyway I have sent 4+ emails to them and called! Nothing! They do not respond! I believe I have been ripped off! 200$ no one should ever ever buy from them!! Now I'm stuck with a broken straightener!!! I am so upset!!

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Meyoung147 Dec 31, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Meyoung147
    Dec 31, 2013
    Kor Professional
    The biggest scammers around! Don't buy their products!!! They are way over prices and don't work. They say you can bring it back if you don't like the product when you buy it but as soon as you pay the money they say no refund. There are no signs any where saying no refund but then it prints our on the receipt. They are a bunch of liars and scam artists just waiting to take advantage of people who don't know better. My husband didn't know better and was trying to do something nice for me for Christmas. The straightener doesn't even glide on your hair. Junk. DO NOT BUY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    DIONE53 Dec 07, 2013

    THIS FLAT IRON DID NOT WORK FOR MY 4C KINKY HAIR. I'M RETURNING IT AND HOPE THERE IS NOT A PROBLEM GETTING MY MONEY BACK. I PURCHASED ON LIVING SOCIAL DEALS. I PUT THE DIAL TO 450 AND STILL DID NOTHING ...DID NOT WORK LIKE MY PREVIOUS IRONS. VERY DISAPPOINTED

    0 Votes
  • Di
    DIONE53 Dec 07, 2013

    I purchased KOR purple flat iron for my 4C hair...Did not do the job...I'm returning it for my money back. I was so disappointed with this flat iron . I will call them on Monday to get their policy procedures.

    Please do not buy this iron if you have kinky 4C hair.

    0 Votes
  • Og
    Ognatinc Nov 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Antisemitic vitriole dangerous and inflammatory

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sheila Jindela Nov 22, 2013

    Somebody using the name SMARTSALES posted a very Anti-Semetic post saying "Damn Jewish they only care about the money" Really in this day and age you're promoting hatred????!!!
    Shame on you!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    SEA23 Sep 16, 2013

    I just bought a new Kor professional straightner from Galleria, Houston. I didnt have plans to buy initially but the sales man was pushy and he showed on his phone the price on amazon for the same product which was $99.99 and he was willing to sell it to me at $65. He said it was his own shop and he didnt care about the margin much. I told him how about $60. He said he would also give me a stand for the straighner at $65 bucks and actual price of the charging stand according to him was $20, So I thought it was a good deal. Ahhh I was in rush and didnt think twice and bought it. I have plans to gift it to my gf next month but I when I came back home from Galleria and read the reviews of this product and especially when people who bought this product from Galleria says its a rip off. God!..I cant believe I got fooled so easy. Now I am a little hesitant to gift this product. I will sure ask my GF to read these reviews before use and to not expect much from the produict.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nime Aug 22, 2013

    I bought the Kor 19mm curling wand from a booth at the Houston Galleria. The salesman include the wand stand with my purchase and I got the whole ensemble for $80. The wand itself works really well for my hair so I don't have many bad things to say about it. However, it does heat up to a really high temp; 410 degree F so if you have processed hair or delicate hair that can't handle high temperature well, I don't recommend this tool. I do feel that it is rather pricey for my budget, but I thought the salesman was really nice and that they probably have to work hard in that booth so I don't really think that my purchase was too bad.

    0 Votes
  • Ze
    Zenaida05 Aug 21, 2013

    I actually just bought mine from The Woodlands mall. Come to find out after reading the reviews, NO REFUND on the ticket. Plus I paid lots compared to what is being sold on other websites. Lesson learned.

    0 Votes
  • Tg
    Tgotti Aug 03, 2013

    I bought mine at the Killeen Mall in TX. They have it set up were the same people sell the Dead Sea, Kor and the mineral make up. So what happened to me is I started with the Dead Sea and got a product after talking them down. She then proceeds to take me down to the Kor stand and says give my friend a make over. I ended up getting a curling iron and stopped them from sending me over to the make up counter. Then they tried to send me back to the Dead Sea it was very organized and could easily get you buying products with you feeling all pretty. My advice to anyone is do your research on the products and if you are not good at bartering don't buy anything from them cause you'll pay more then what you should. They are in the business to make money; do a lot of back pedaling and fancy talk about getting this for free if you buy that. I've been hustled by these people and I no longer deal with them. I can get my Dead Sea products on Amazon and the curling iron I have yet to have an issue, but the same thing as everyone else they lie about the warrenty. I expect this kind of bartering and behavior at a flea market not the mall.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jacalvarenga Jun 30, 2013

    Kor hair tools are a total scam not only are they overpriced but their hair products have severly damaged my hair on the first use ..the curling iron damged my hair badly and i always had healthy hair had never used other hair tool other than kor and chi and the flat iron damaged my sisters hair too i bought it at willowbrook mall in houston and the other people complaining here are right abour the sellspeople they are pushy into selling you there stuff they take advantage of incent people and lie to them about their lifetime warranty what they dont tell you is that you have to pay 30 or more of shipping and handling everytime u send a defective iteam to the factory and no refunds please dont buy and let yourself get ripped off and scammed

    0 Votes
  • Up
    upash46 Jun 09, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Three months ago, I bought the kor hair straighter which was 130 dollar for colored one.AGUY FROM MALL TOLD ME IT IS LIFETIME WARRENTY SO I BOUGHT THE STRAIGHTNER. MY STRAIGHTNER SLATE WAS BROKEN AFTER BUYING 3MONTHS FROM THEM. SINCE, IT IS Lifetime WARRENTY product, I went to store to get the new one Cox a guy told me if anything wrong with it we will give u the new one and now he is saying different things. Never buy from mall people are just stupid they care abt money. It is scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ei
    Eimaj_12 Apr 22, 2013

    POS terrible company, terrible people, terrible products. Most definitely feel hustled . I am going to tell everyone I know not to ever consider buying onto this scam.

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    previous curlybynature Apr 12, 2013

    this curling wand has burned my hair off. just one setting...TOO HOT!! should never be used on processed hair!! It has also taken the natural curl out of the remaining hair. am very upset. googled to see if there was a class action suit against them. there should be.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dina21 Apr 07, 2013

    love the Kor straightener
    have it since 2011
    better then chi

    0 Votes
  • Si
    sierra ward Mar 30, 2013

    mine is great these people are nuts

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    justmeg Mar 11, 2013

    I got mine in Deerbrook mall. I think its the best flat iron i've ever used. It was worth ever penny!!! I highly recommend it to anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    AdamFr Feb 26, 2013

    You guys have to realize that most products you buy ANYWHERE, may cost a fraction of what you pay. Jordans cost like $20 to make, but sell over $150, you think those Louis Vuitton, or Gucci bags cost $600 to make then you are crazy, try a fraction of that, then they sell for $1100+. There are hidden costs in businesses, its not just the cost of the raw materials involved in pricing, but marketing, utilities, employes, lots and lots of taxes etc...Business have to make money or what is the point of the business?? I'm sure any place where you work sells a product or a service, and what does it cost them to produce it, not much, but the profit must pay your salary or you wouldn't have a job...so stop complaining.

    Now I can't comment on the these places or salespeople you went as I don't know them or anything. Professionalism is a must and if they aren't professional, then that's bad on the business and not good practice. From my experience the people who usually come like a mad lunatic and acting unreasonable are the ones who are the biggest problem makers and want everything for free. I own a food business so I know all about that. We try to give the best customer service and competitive prices but honestly you can't please everyone and that's the TRUTH.

    I found this site because I was going to buy my GF a straightener so I stumbled across this site. My sister has one and she uses it regularly and absolutely loves it. She had other brands like Chi, and Paul Mitchel but swears by Kor, Anyways that's just some knowledge for those that don't know.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nadra35 Feb 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi I am sorry to hear that someone has gotten ripped off I have hair midway down my back and I have had a Kor flat Iron for about a year and a half I gave away my chi when I bought this one. I Love it and I have given it as gift's to several of my family and friends and they all Love it .

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    katierose Feb 13, 2013

    Wow, i just got the curling wand this weekend at memorial city mall and i really liked it.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shamerika Feb 01, 2013

    I posted this more than a year ago and I cannot believe people are STILL being ripped off! I truly think this company needs to stop selling these flat irons and we should definitely get people's attention to make them suffer! I still have this flat iron, brand new, in the box it came with along with the small gadgets they "put in there for free". I can't believe I paid $189 for that crap!

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    Tutu77 Dec 16, 2012

    OK I really don't know from who and where you purchase this AMAZING flat iron but I have it for 2 years already and I LOVE it! so sometimes there is one defect in one series in every company cause nothing is perfect but I went to the kiosk that I purchase mine when mine cracked and yes they charged me 20$ for shipping and handling and I got a new one on the spot! with my chi after only one month of purchase it brake and they said I haft to buy a new one. I LOVE KOR COMPANY and they are the BEST!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    riley86 Dec 15, 2012

    The other day I went to Barton creek mall the other day & bought too of the best Christmas gifts for my sisters ever! They''ve been using the chi & some cheap wand from target. I''ve been a customer for years & they are the best. I always have a great time with the employees they always do my hair wIth my membership. I highly reccomend this product.

    1 Votes
  • Au
    austinsunrise Dec 12, 2012

    I went to Barton Creek Square mall in Austin, Texas and had the same experience...I haven't used the product yet but bought it because the salesman was very pushy, I got the straightener and curling iron for $220. The salesman also gave me his number and asked me to "hit him up, " the whole situation seems very unprofessional. I think a lot of the kiosks hire immigrants who are new to the country and take advantage of both the salespeople and, more so, the customers.
    I definitely wasn't intending to buy this product. I'm not entirely dissatisfied but I'm angry at the outrageous prices and unprofessional workers.

    1 Votes
  • Jm
    jmmmarie Nov 27, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My Aunt and I tried to return a defective product at Memorial Mall in Houston and were told only exchanges could be made. We were not satisfied with the product and wanted a full refund but were informed that no refunds were to be made. There is NO return policy posted anywhere and we've got this on camera and it isn't until you purchase the item that it reads no refunds at the bottom of the receipt. The salespeople were very rude and as we read them the law stating that we have the right to receive the refund within 3 days of a purchase over $25 they became very irate and as we pleaded for the managers number to resolve this issue they called us a "crazy ###." I found a customer service number on their corporate website and called but was redirected to a manager of the wrong kiosk. Nothing was resolved and we're left stuck with this terrible product. Every part of this situation was unprofessional.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blaahhhh Nov 25, 2012

    I went to the Kor stand in the Willowbrook mall to buy the straightner & curling iron for 140 both because I have a friend that got both of them for 120. I went and the sales man stated the kit was 250 or something & I said no! He wanted to sell it for me for 160 & i was getting mad cause they are always ripping people off. My other friend got her curling iron for 80 but she over heard the "manager" selling the same thing to another woman for 65. She got mad & wanted to buy it for the same price he was offering her, but he said he couldnt but he would give her a deal to buy it for 80. She did and she loves it but I HATE that they are always ripping people off!

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.