Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Kirby

Kirby review: Lifetime warranty 16

M
Author of the review
5:57 am EST
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that my vacuum was sold with a lifetime warranty! Kirby would have me believe that I was mistaken... No one will spend $2600.00 hard earned dollars for a vacuum unless it offers a lifetime warranty. Having said that, I have no choice but to file a lawsuit against the company and am seeking others who have been wronged by this fraudulent, scamming company to contact me so that we can file a class action lawsuit, (To this date I am not aware of there being one already filed although I see that many people including former canvassers have good cause to sue the company). I purchased the vacuum because back in the 70s my grandmother spent an exorbitant amount on the vacuum despite my grandfathers wishes because of the lifetime warranty which to my knowledge, she never had to use. Lifetime warranty promise not delivered. Please contact me if you want to join in the lawsuit at [protected]@yahoo.com don't let them continue to manipulate and exploit customers, canvassers and others!

More Kirby reviews & complaints

Kirby - Scam and abuse! 72
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Kirby - Kirby sales tactics solution 54
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Kirby - Unethical Credit practices 20
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Kirby - Awful experience 17
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Kirby - Unethical salesmanship 3
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
16 comments
Add a comment
R
R
R. Car.
, US
Nov 09, 2023 3:13 pm EST

There is a lifetime rebuild program, but you will have to pay for it. All the warranty information is on their website.

E
E
Eric Eugene Ashworth
, US
Jun 28, 2023 2:16 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I also was lied to back in 1992 in regards to the "lifetime warranty". I was told if it ever breaks or fails to preform that the Kirby company would replace, repair and or service my vacuum with zero charges. The so called warranty and the way it is explained had but only 3 things they would not cover under said Lifetime warranty and that was the 3 B's.

1)BELTS

2)BAGS

3)BULBS

I Know for a fact that this was not just the salesman lying to make a sell..I know because it was the way they were specifically taught as my ex wife worked as a salesman for Kirby and they specifically taught there salesman to lie.

It is a pyramid scheme and a scam.

The vacuum is fine as is most vacuums everywhere...

Any company that can't sell you a product for a set price is not honest and should be avoided.

Period

F
F
farfromfiction
, US
Aug 24, 2018 11:09 am EDT

I also sold Kirby vacuums and we were absolutely trained that they had a lifetime warranty. It was one of our biggest selling points.

J
J
Jenniferkay1984
, US
Aug 16, 2018 4:48 pm EDT

Yes! Got ours in March and it is falling apart and no one will return my phone calls.

C
C
Cdspurlock
Memphis, US
Jun 29, 2018 12:20 pm EDT

I'm calling my local Kirby company because my transmission I believe is out. I also was told it has a lifetime warranty. If it does not, I am more than willing to enter into this lawsuit. Please keep me updated at cdspurlock@gmail.com.

K
K
KarlKiesow
, US
Jun 18, 2018 7:43 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

So, I sold Kirby Vacuums for about 2 1/2 years, The Vacuum comes with a 3 year warranty but some of the plastic parts that come the Vacuum have a lifetime warranty such as the 2 solid hose extensions and some other small parts. If you have any questions I'm sure your local distributor can answer them

M
M
MariaVbg
, US
May 31, 2018 9:35 pm EDT

Just letting you all know that if you are in the US you are lucky - there is a lifetime rebuild programme from the factory, check if you can locate that on the website https://www.kirby.com/kirby-owner-support/lifetime-rebuild-program/
Maybe that is what your salesperson was referring to. It is also remotely possible that a salesperson will tell you a lie on purpose (not sure why would they, as the machine if presented correctly does not need it), but if that is the case you should contact the Kirby company again asap with his/her name, so they can stop the salesperson from lying to others and giving bad name to the Kirby Company.

I
I
Ihate mykirby
, US
Mar 27, 2018 2:37 pm EDT

I will happily join in your class action law suit. I have owned my Kirby for four years and have used it less than 20 times because it is a piece of garbage. It never worked well and when I did use it I constantly had to clean it. I too was told that there was a life time warranty so I was not concerned about getting it fixed until now. I am moving and wanted to clean the carpets in our bedroom but I just checked out the Kirby website and seen that it say there was only a three year warranty. I have been waiting for someone to bring a class action lawsuit against them.

S
S
Skiddyj.
, US
Mar 17, 2018 6:28 pm EDT

I used to sell kirby and part of our speech was that we are so confident in our product that unlike all the other brands/vacume company's who will only give a 3 year warranty our has a lifetime

T
T
Tina Nieves
, US
Dec 05, 2017 4:10 pm EST

My ex boyfriend worked as a Kirby salesman and he assures me that they are told as salesmen that there is a lifetime warranty. My Kirby sentria just quit about 10 minutes ago and if I find this warranty to be untrue I'm going to have a lot to say about it.

T
T
tintay
, US
Aug 27, 2017 6:24 pm EDT

we were told the same thing, guaranteed for life. the sleaze bag salesman even went so far as to state that this applies to all Kirbies in existence. I mrecently got an older one at an estate sale, which is why I wanted to check on this warranty. The vacuum still works, but it's good to get the facts. just knowing that we were lied to makes me angry and want in. " Never have to buy another vacuum " was the only reason we paid so much for it. Btw we have purchased vacuums since then

A
A
AngE2017
, US
Aug 22, 2017 6:03 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I too was told lifetime warranty
I will join you!

A
A
Alexur
, CA
Aug 22, 2017 2:36 pm EDT

I live in Canada so I'm not sure if I can be a part of this class suit. I had the same experience where I was told it has a lifetime warranty, however when I checked with kirby, their warranty is only for 3 years for parts and free labor. How can I join?

E
E
Elena Alderette-Fleming
, US
Jul 11, 2017 9:50 pm EDT

I recently purchased a Kirby and was also told it was a lifetime warranty. I will gladly join you in your efforts to get you a new vacuum..These salespeople should not lie or make false promises as such bull crap!

D
D
Dustin O
, US
Aug 26, 2016 4:00 pm EDT

I have the same problem. I purchased my Kirby 4 or 5 years ago, and it quit working a few months ago. It wasn't a big deal at the time, but I need to get it fixed now. When I called a local Kirby shop, I was informed that it was out of warranty.

This is bull, because the only reason I purchased the machine was because it was supposed to come with a lifetime warranty. I was not even considering paying the crazy price until they told me that it had a LIFETIME warranty. I was told that I could even drop it off a cliff, and send in the remains, and they would either fix it or replace it free of charge. I was able to justify a lifetime warranty like that, because that meant I would never spend another dime on a vacuum.

Now it is broken, and I'm being told that the lifetime part was complete bull. I'm contacting the corporate office, but if they do not honor it, I'm completely on board with this class action suit.

M
M
MariaVbg
, US
May 31, 2018 9:16 pm EDT
Replying to comment of Dustin O

Hi Dustin, if you are in the US you are lucky - there is a lifetime rebuild programme from the factory, check if you can locate that on the website https://www.kirby.com/kirby-owner-support/lifetime-rebuild-program/
Maybe that is what your salesperson was referring to

  1. Kirby Contacts

  2. Kirby phone numbers
    1800 781 556
    1800 781 556
    Click up if you have successfully reached Kirby by calling 1800 781 556 phone number 17 17 users reported that they have successfully reached Kirby by calling 1800 781 556 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling 1800 781 556 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling 1800 781 556 phone number
    35%
    Confidence score
    Australia
    800 5472 9272
    800 5472 9272
    Click up if you have successfully reached Kirby by calling 800 5472 9272 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Kirby by calling 800 5472 9272 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling 800 5472 9272 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling 800 5472 9272 phone number
    European Countries
    8800 500 5146
    8800 500 5146
    Click up if you have successfully reached Kirby by calling 8800 500 5146 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Kirby by calling 8800 500 5146 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling 8800 500 5146 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling 8800 500 5146 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    Russia
    +1 (800) 494-8586
    +1 (800) 494-8586
    Click up if you have successfully reached Kirby by calling +1 (800) 494-8586 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Kirby by calling +1 (800) 494-8586 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +1 (800) 494-8586 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +1 (800) 494-8586 phone number
    USA and Canada
    +1 (800) 437-7170
    +1 (800) 437-7170
    Click up if you have successfully reached Kirby by calling +1 (800) 437-7170 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Kirby by calling +1 (800) 437-7170 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +1 (800) 437-7170 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +1 (800) 437-7170 phone number
    +55 113 075 3026
    +55 113 075 3026
    Click up if you have successfully reached Kirby by calling +55 113 075 3026 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Kirby by calling +55 113 075 3026 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +55 113 075 3026 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +55 113 075 3026 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    Brazil
    +47 80 014 747
    +47 80 014 747
    Click up if you have successfully reached Kirby by calling +47 80 014 747 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Kirby by calling +47 80 014 747 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +47 80 014 747 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +47 80 014 747 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    Norway
    +7 495 374 7282
    +7 495 374 7282
    Click up if you have successfully reached Kirby by calling +7 495 374 7282 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Kirby by calling +7 495 374 7282 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +7 495 374 7282 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +7 495 374 7282 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    Russia & CIS
    +27 800 203 222
    +27 800 203 222
    Click up if you have successfully reached Kirby by calling +27 800 203 222 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Kirby by calling +27 800 203 222 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +27 800 203 222 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +27 800 203 222 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    South Korea
    +46 200 895 477
    +46 200 895 477
    Click up if you have successfully reached Kirby by calling +46 200 895 477 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Kirby by calling +46 200 895 477 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +46 200 895 477 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +46 200 895 477 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    Sweden
    +44 800 328 1247
    +44 800 328 1247
    Click up if you have successfully reached Kirby by calling +44 800 328 1247 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Kirby by calling +44 800 328 1247 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +44 800 328 1247 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Kirby by calling +44 800 328 1247 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    United Kingdom
    More phone numbers
  3. Kirby emails
  4. Kirby address
    1920 West 114th Street, Cleveland, Ohio, 44102, United States
  5. Kirby social media
  6. Andrew
    Checked and verified by Andrew This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 13, 2024
Kirby Category
Kirby is ranked 6 among 24 companies in the Vacuum Cleaners category
Trending companies