The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Kirbydoor to door salesmen

PLEASE DO NOT LET THESE PEOPLE INTO YOUR HOMES. EVERY STORY IS THE SAME...HE "CALLS" HIS BOSS AFTER THE FOUR HOUR DEMO...HE USED MY HOME PHONE # TO MAKE THE LONG DISTANCE CALL, I THOUGHT HE DIDN'T HAVE A CELL, THEN HE PULLED THE CELL OUT TO CALL HIS VAN FULL OF BUDDIES...HE EVEN WENT INTO MY BEDROOM TO CLEAN THE COOTIES OUT OF OUR MATTRESS. OMG!! THE VACCUME ORIGIONALL COST 1995...THEN HE TOOK 200 OFF. HE EXPECTED ME TO PUCHASE THIS THING WITHOUT CONSULTING MY HUSBAND! THEN, THE LAST PRICE WAS $700. I STILL REFUSED. HOW WOULD ANYONE MAKE SUCH A LARGE PURCHASE WITHOUT ASKING A SPOUSE. HE TOLD ME THAT I GO TO THE GROCER EVERY DAY, TRYING TO MAKE A JUSTIFCATION...HE TOLD ME MY HUBBY WOULD MAKE A LARGE PURCHASE WITHOUT CONSULTING ME. NOTHING WORKED WITH THIS GUY...FINALLY, MY HUBBY HAPPENED TO CALL...HE TOLD ME TO GET HIM OUT...AND I DID. WHEN HE GOT HOME, HE JOKINGLY SAID..."WHO LETS VACCUME CLEANER SALESMEN IN?" I ANSWERED..."CRAZY PEOPLE"...NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER LET THESE FOLKS IN!!!YOU WILL PAY BY FEELING STUPID FOR A FEW DAYS.

Responses

  • Si
    SisterGoldenHair Jun 14, 2017

    I was hired by Elco, Inc. under false pretense last summer. They advertised a customer service position making $12 an hour. When you arrive, you are told that the company is a distributor for vacuums and that you will be learning how to use the equipment so that you can answer any questions. You go through a training for which you are told you will be paid, but you won't be. At some point you're told that you're going to do sales with the reps for a couple of weeks so that you can get a handle on that process. You're told that you will have pre-set appointments and that you will have a base pay as long as you complete a certain number of demos. Then they will send you out in a broken down looking van or SUV to drive door to door to sell Kirby Vacuums. There are no set appointments. The "set appointment" is someone walking up to the door before you do the demo, and getting you into the home. It's impossible to do the number of demos they require to make the base pay, and it's all but impossible to make the number of sales you need to make to get paid at all. THERE IS NO CUSTOMER SERVICE JOB. This company is preying upon vulnerable people who need work and they are lying about the position and the process. Do not accept a job from them unless you want to do door to door vacuum sales for commission.

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    SheJo Jan 13, 2016

    Hello! Although I agree that door to door sales can be sketchy (always be careful & never allow anyone into your home especially if home alone) we purchase a Kirby vacuum in 2003/2004 from a D to D salesman. My husband & I were both home & made the decision together. Just so happened our 4th vacuum in 9 years had stopped working. Once we saw how powerful the Kirby was we wanted it, but didn't want to pay the big price. Sales guy eventually brought it down to $700. Yes still pricey, but think of all the $ we dumped into previous vacuums that broke & how long We've had this one & use it daily. We got all paperwork & a warranty with it. Here it is 2016 & we still have our working Kirby. The only thing we buy are bags ( which are actually sold at Walmart) & a belt if necessary. I do go to vacuum store for those & they are roughly $3 each. Haven't had to replace one in a while, plus I purchased a bag with 6 last time, so I'm good to go. It has been the best vacuum & does its job. It is also has a shampoo attachment for carpets/rugs. It has never lost its suction power neither. I tell everyone it's the best $700 we ever spent (plus they offer payment plans). I probably would have spent more replacing vacuums every couple years than We did for our Kirby. I am glad that Kirby salesman came that day!! I do not work for Kirby & I am being 100% honest about all of this. I have attached a pic of my Kirby.

    1 Votes
  • So
    SomethingNew Jan 05, 2016

    I worked for Elco Inc. I agree that it is definitely sketchy because they go about things the wrong way. Elco Inc. Does exist, Kirby was bought by a whole bunch of different companies and split up. You know how Verizon has stores that aren't affiliated with the actual Verizon store but they are a Verizon store well that's how Kirby is except we come to you. I believe that door to door sales is a dying business. Everyone that is being super rude on here you have to remember that this was our job. We are just trying to make a living. No one that worked for Kirby knew we were going to be doing door to door sales. There was promises of different jobs within the company and weekly pay. You find out later after you quit your other job that you are going to be a door to door salesman and the weekly base pay is impossible to get. That's why I left was because they were messing around with my money and not being honest to the employees. I did meet some really fantastic people though, whether they bought a Kirby from me or not. I'm sure a lot of you on here will disagree and most likely be harsh and rude to me on here but you can save it. I don't wan to hear our negativity or how tough you think you are behind your computer screen. Have a great day!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    ChicaLoca Oct 26, 2014

    DO NOT LET THESE SKETCHY PEOPLE INTO YOUR HOME!!! Demonstrated a vacuum cleaner in my home. Rep. damaged my ceiling by using the wrong attachment. Attempted to get a stain out of my carpet, but the stain was actually made worse (saw this fact the day after we decided to purchase the vacuum).Business has failed to update their address and phone number on their contract (and on this site as well), which made returning the vacuum that much more difficult since there is only a 3 day window. Sales reps. were whiny and tried to force me to keep the vacuum. They conveniently forgot my old vacuum, which was used as a down payment. Their idea of returning my vacuum "in the same condition they received it" was leaving it under my porch, exposing it to mold, mildew, mud and water. I can not use my old vacuum for this reason and am stuck buying a new one due to their negligence.

    0 Votes
  • 2s
    2Smart4Crooks Nov 26, 2012

    To Beauty Rush, if you're ok with someone stealing from you to make a living and support their family or crack habit because the raggedy woman who approached me with 3 other dudes waiting in a raggedy suv is supporting something, but it's NOT a family. You let them in your house, and when you come home and find it empty, tell US what's wrong with that.

    I was just approached by these people Saturday. Luckily I was still safe in my car so I could roll over someone if need be. Also, I didn't know at the time but my next door neighbors were in their car watching as well because these people hit them up twice before with the same story. The carpet cleaning is "totally free", and "I only need one more for the day". What door to door sales person with flyers skips houses and only tries to catch people alone outside. Most people drop off flyers at every home and keep it moving for their own safety. Legitimate sales people also dress neatly and are well groomed...not getting out of a car with ill-fitted clothing and hair looking like a rat's nest.

    You go right ahead and let those people in your house. THINK about these things!!! IT'S JUST NOT SAFE. DON'T IGNORE THE RED FLAGS.!!!

    FYI, Elco, Inc. does not exist. It is not registered with the VA SCC. The phone number is a landline somewhere in Midlothian, but the Busy St. address is nowhere near the area where the phone number is registered.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BeautyRush Aug 17, 2011

    Can one of you please explain to me what is SOOOO freakin bad about someone wanting to make a living and support there family????

    Yea I didn't think so!

    -4 Votes
  • No
    notperfectyet Mar 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    YES I AGREE...WHAT A HUGE DUMB ### CONGLOMERATE IS THIS ###?! I WENT FOR AN OFFICE RECEPTIONIST JOB AND THE BAIT AND SWITCH GIMMICK OF GETTING CLEAN CUT FRESH OUT OR IN COLLEGE ### TO SELL THEIR HORRIBLE VACCUMS HAPPENED WHEN I WAS IN MY MID 20's AND NOW I AM REACHING THE HAWAII 50 BIRTHDAY AND THERE'S NO ONE GONNA DUPE THIS SISTER RIGHT HERE...I AM SO VERY THANKFUL THAT I WAS HERE WITH MY DAD WHO IS A WIDOWER SINCE 12/4/2010! IT'S UNDER ELCO INC. AND IT MUST BE SOME KIND OF HUGE FRAUD SCAM TYPE OF THING!!! LOL...I REPORTED THEM TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU...HAAAAAA!!! THE FLYER SAID FREE CARPET SHAMPOO ELCO INC. 8917 FOREST HILL AVENUE, RICHMOND, VA 23235, [protected], FREE, FREE, FREE AND I DID SOME INVESTIGATING AND YEP I FOUND KIRBY COMPANY UNDER THIS VERY ADDRESS! HAAAAAA WHAT A SCAM AND WHAT A JOKE! HERE'S ANOTHER ADDRESS LINKED TO THIS COMPANY 11615 BUSY STREET WHICH IS LOCATED OFF OF COURTHOUSE ROAD AND SEVERAL PHONE NUMBERS [protected]/[protected] AND ALSO, VAC CITY IS LINKED TO THIS CROOKED COMPANY TOO!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.