The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
GuardsmanDeined claim

We purchased a leather sofa set in 2004. We also were sold a five year gold guardsman furniture protection plan for $380.00. This plan was to cover all accidental rips, tears and stains. After a large family Christmas party, I noticed a small area on our sofa that was stratched and starting to rip. I contacted the company and sent in all required paperwork. I was informed that our claim was denied because of wear & tear. Our sofa shows no other wear and this rip just appeared . I don't know how this happened but, I do know it is not a wear issue. The furniture company, Klopfensteins Home Rooms gave us the guardsman rep's number but, didn't help us either.So learn from my experience and don't waste your money on guardsman's protection plan. They will deny your claim and the furniture store that convinced you to purchase plan won't take any responsiblity either. So don't throw your money away on a protection plan that won't pay out and buy furniture from a store that won't take any responsiblity for the warranties that they sell you!

Responses

  • Fr
    Frustrated 2 times Aug 31, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DDO NOT BUY THEIR PLANS!
    HORRIBLE COMPANY! HORRIBLE COUSTOMER SERVICE!

    It's in caps because that's how horrible my both experiences were with them. Usually I don't write reviews for company but this one was so bad that it cringes to my skin. So we purchased two bedroom set, living room set and dining set. We spend around 1500 bucks just on the guardsman policy. First instance: My recliner leather couch started ripping from everywhere. Guardsman said that it's not covered though it's written on the plan that seam ripping is covered still they denied my claim. Second Instance: My coffee table showed my heat mark, guardsman technician came told us it is heat mark treated with 4-5 chemical buffed it and left as it was untreatable. Guardsman acknowledge on the email that it is heat mark but is not covered. I called and stated their plan to them on which they said it's a moisture mark and not covered. They lied on my face and told me it's them to decide for the claim.

    So now I have a ripped leather coach and coarser table than before because of that technician buffing and both claims are denied. Simple waste of 1500 bucks and peace of mind.

    -1 Votes
  • St
    Stephanie Pugh Sep 18, 2017

    I agree with everyone. It is so frustrating to be taken advantage of by these greedy corporate companies. They are deceitful in their business practices and have no concern for the hardworking customer trying to take care of their purchases.

    0 Votes
  • Im
    imnancyb Jul 05, 2016

    I too just fell victim of this fraudulent company. Called them for a puncture in the couch. My husband sat down on couch with his tool belt on after completing putting together our granddaughters small table. The screwdriver was hanging out of the belt and when he sat it got caught on the back cushion near the bottom and punctured a hole right through everything! I called guardsman immediately and they said - yup that is a covered item. Then they said they would send me some materials to fill out. Well a few weeks went by and I received no material. During this time the hole started to peel and crack due to the air getting into the hole. There was NO CRACKING OR PEELING of this couch cushion prior to this event. So I called Guardsman back and told them I never got any paperwork. The lady was like - really, I sent it to your email. I said send it again and it arrived immediately. So there was step one in there falsifications. Then they said they would send someone out. By the time the person got to our home, it was over a month later - of course cracking and peeling are going to happen after a hole happens... and it just so happened that the other cushion next to it also started to show signs of wear - which is not covered. The guy who came to the house could barely walk up my driveway -he sat on the couch to take the pictures as if it was great effort and then reported it as wear and tear. Considering the material had peeled off from the cut in the couch and the "cushion" or stuffing in the back is pretty firm - you couldn't see the puncture very well. Besides the fact that the guarantee doesn't say you have to have a puncture or cut that goes all the way through the leather and the stuffing in order to qualify for a repair. It say - any tear or cut from a specific incident... which is exactly what happened! I will be looking to join a lawsuit for this if anyone has one going please advise. [email protected] I too paid 150.00 for my 5-year warranty!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    ralphik Sep 22, 2015

    Plain and simple.. They are TERRIBLE

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Samad A Oct 09, 2014

    They are big mafia, and what I will say scammer, nobody can control what the company said is all BS, sorry.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Fraschetta Jun 24, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was misinformed by the furniture store that Guardsman would cover tears caused by animals. I said I thought it may have happened from our cat but we called back and explained my wife caused the damage, . There service rep. was rude, mouthy and dumped us into voicemail. A big waste of money. This company is a joke.

    0 Votes
  • Jp
    JPG303 Mar 21, 2014

    Hey all! I am just another story consistent with all the others. I was a fool for not looking into this before spending almost $400.00 on the plan. My first hint should have been all the steps you have to follow through on when you make a claim! Call in, get a request number, go on-line and complete another laborious form and have to include several pictures, then after that, you still have to print out form and send in via snail mail along with a copy of your purchase receipt - even though you are in their system already from when you made the initial purchase. Every step is regulated via a specified time frame. If you make one screw up, or go outside of their time frames - SERVICE DENIED!
    It's clear this whole operation is set up to significantly reduce their need to respond and provide service. Yep - you guessed it - I will never buy a plan like this again. Total Crap! BTW - my claim denied because my mailing was received 1 day outside of the 10 day requirement. My mistake - I assumed it was 10 business days. But really, I had a broken mechanism on a recliner, it's not like the stain was going to set or something!

    0 Votes
  • As
    asinnysmom Nov 07, 2012

    I am having the same problem with guardsman and wish that I would have found this site before purchasing my $500+ plan. I would like to take them to court but i don't think it's worth the time or the money

    -1 Votes
  • Jb
    J brinkley 1 Sep 05, 2012

    Awful awful AWFUL!! Made a claim it took them 6 months to finally get back to me after numerous letters. They basically said they couldnt do anything about the stain as the manufactor didn't make the sofa any longer and offered me £100 and a cancellation of the whole policy or keep policy but do nothing about stain!!! Absolutly crap customer service. Will never ever take a policy like this again. Complete waste if money. Don't be talked into it by the furniture shop.

    -1 Votes
  • Dr
    drocque Jun 02, 2012

    I have the Guardsman plan and have had not problems. If you take the time to read the plan they cover exactly what they say they will. As long as you use the planas it is intended there are no problems.

    -1 Votes
  • Aj
    Ajf1947 Apr 21, 2012

    I too called about a problem on my lazy boy recliner, and was given the 5 day rule, had I known that I would have lied. Big waste, called lazy boy and was told I could buy a new back for 399 only paid 599 for the chair lol.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MaMa Bear145 Dec 20, 2011

    Same here.
    I bought three pieces of furniture; a double recliner sofa, a double recliner love seat and a single recliner. They fixed one very small stain in the chair, but when we had a major rip in the love seat that needed repair, they dropped my service plan and sent me a check for the cost of the plan!
    They said that the store I bought it from had closed since I purchased the agreement, and that since the couch needed 'parts to repair it', they would be unable to obtain the parts. They will not carry ANY of the furniture that I bought under the plan now. I am not cashing that check! Bunch of junk! I am reporting this to the BBB in New York AND Indiana, and the FTC, and I am sending a letter to the Board, and the complaint dept. at Valspar. I am also contacting the manufacturer to find out if the parts can be obtained there, and then I am going to keep on until I get a better answer here!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lindaszee Aug 09, 2017

    @MaMa Bear145 Reporting them to the BBB in Florida as well

    0 Votes
  • An
    anon111000 Dec 06, 2011

    I also brought the 5 year plan. DON'T DO IT! My puppy peed on the cushion, so I call expecting them to send someone out to fix it. No, they sent me an email where I have to fill out paper work, and find my receipt where I purchased their plan. Should they not already have this information. So many loopholes. Someone was already suppose to come out and look at the furniture, but a week later and I am still waiting. Save the $400-500!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Caristine Oct 25, 2011

    When questioning the sales rep. at Goffena Furniture in Sidney, Oh about my concerns on purchasing nearly a $4000.00 sectional, she guaranteed me that The 5 yr Protection Plus Plan from Guardsman, any stains, tears, burns, ect.. would cover, repair, clean, even replace the item if necessary; I found out in the worst way that I was doomed. When Guardsman replaced a console, the console was merely a cheap made box with vey cheap material. Then when I had a stain which they came & cleaned, all these other spots begin appearing. On top of that when a service person came to inspect another stain, along with a small burn hole, I later received a call from Guardsman stating that they would offer me $700.00 & my warranty would no longer be in effect due to the fact that it was my fault & misuse of the product. REDICULOUS!! Or.., I had the option of Goffena Furntiure to replace a portion of the sectional & again, THE WARRANTY would No Longer be in effect. BE WARE of Shady Protection Plans as well as Shady Furniture Stores.. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alicr45 Aug 29, 2011

    I agree they are a SCAM - Shame on these people cheating people. They are Theives

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joycelyn Neal Jul 06, 2011

    GUARDSMAN SUCKS!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Moosesgal Jun 29, 2011

    This company is HORRIBLE. We placed a claim last year and the service person never showed. Being Military, we have moved several times in the past year and we made another claim only to be denied this time because the claim was outside the "ten day" notification policy. They will not repair the furniture! NEVER EVER will I purchase a plan from them again and if a furniture store tries to sell me one I may tell them to forget the purchase overall. Any store that uses Guardsman HAS to know how crappy their customer service is!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RoxP May 17, 2011

    You are all so right, they cover nothing, and the salesman at Bob's Furniture tells you it covers everything. Big scam, Guardsman denys every claim I have put in. I mean stains being denied, really, total rip off. How do we start a class action suit?

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lindaszee Aug 09, 2017

    @RoxP I agree. Big scam

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    phil Gerety May 13, 2011

    Same story they refuse to fix damage to leater after kids party, Bob's Furniture who I bought the guardsman Elite (goof proof) policy from said that Guardsman should replace the leather panels under the policy. They are abusive, stalling, unhelpful I sent them pictures three times of the damage which they say they never recieved, they refused to send someone to look at the damage, and denied my claim after some heated conversation with a female Guardsman supervisor. Reason not cut through or torn so it was not covered.. I look foward to a Class Action Law suit to stop this abuse. Phil Gerety claim #[protected]

    0 Votes
  • Rs
    rsnelson May 11, 2011

    Same experience here .Guardsman is a scam. j brook must work for guardsman.but either way 1 happy cust. out of everybody still qualifies as a scam

    0 Votes
  • An
    anniemyjo Apr 25, 2011

    I've just had the same experience. There is a tear in a chair just purchased and it clearly states tears are covered. They denied the claim and said it was a manufacterers defect. Unbelievable.

    2 Votes
  • St
    steve210 Jul 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What a waste of money. These people deserve to be in court

    2 Votes
  • St
    steve210 Jul 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Another disatisfied customer. What a waste of money.

    2 Votes
  • Rs
    R Snyder Dec 23, 2009

    Totally agree that the Guardsman Protection Plan is worthless. They deny all claims. Save your money and do not purchase!

    1 Votes
  • Rs
    R Snyder Dec 23, 2009

    Totally agree that the Guardsman Furniture Protection Plan is worthless. They do everything possible to deny your claim. I have been denied every time.According to salesman at Ashley, everthing is covered. Save your money!

    1 Votes
  • Rb
    rbruce272 Nov 13, 2009

    Guardsman aka Valspar is a scam. The do not cover anything!!! Three months after purchasing this "protection plan" we tried using it and found out they do not cover really anything, we tried to cancel it. We could not get a refund. It a a huge scam!!!

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    Scammed Customer2 Jul 22, 2009

    Dont buy this warranty! RIP OFF!! I was sold the guardsman plan by our sales person. I was told how great it is and how it covers everything and anything, I thought wow with a toddler its great to have because accidents happen. My toddler spilled milk, took off his diaper and had a pee accident and several other accidents on the sofa within a couple of months. They would come out and clean it and it would look brand new. One day he figured how to take the lid off his sippy cup and spilled grape juice all over my sofa. No biggie right the guy came out and cleaned it. Well a couple days later I noticed the stain resurface. I called them to tell guardsman it resurfaced. They told me that due to an "accumulation" of stains it wouldnt be covered. In the fine print it does say accidents from accumulation of stains not pertaining to a single incident wouldnt be covered. I kept telling the guardsman manager that it was from a single incident that the grape juice spillage had occured. That he didnt keep spilling grape juice over and over it was the first time he had a grape juice spill. The woman wanted to argue with me saying due to an accumulation of stains and the overall condition of your sofa (based on pictures she saw of the grape juice stain) the service tech. shouldnt have cleaned the stains to begin with?! My couch was spot free before the grape juice but she didnt want to listen to me. Each time the guy came out say 5 times in a 7 month period which is how old the sofa is it was always clean and no stains resurfaced after he cleaned the stains. This manager with guardsman wanted to debate with me "based on the appearance of your sofa and the accumulation of stains we will further be unable to clean your sofa?!!!" Regardless of new spills and stains she was telling me I pretty much used up my warranty. She said based on pictures she had that the tech. had taken before he cleaned my couch there were several stains. ( I told her yes that is true he took pictures of the stains he was there to clean what she was looking at was the current new stains) She wanted to argue that same line due to the accumulation of stains we can no further assist your claims. No matter how many times I told her she had no evidence of what my sofa looked like prior to this particular spill accident how could she comment on the overall condition of my sofa? They find anyway possible to try and deny your claims. Waste of money dont buy. Now I have to write a letter to the appeals comity to see if they will actually listen to my side. INSANELY HORRIBLE CUSTOMER CARE

    2 Votes
  • Jb
    J. Brooke May 06, 2009

    I will spare you the details and simply tell you (and as many others as possible )that Guardsman's contract has so many loop holes that it is almost impossible for you to get satisfaction. The only thing that didn't fall through their contract was my $300. for the Gold-in-home plan.

    3 Votes
  • He
    HELLOGAYL Mar 15, 2009

    i too purchased guardsman furniture protection for burns, tears, rips. i'm a smoker and i just knew i'd screw up or one day a friend or visitor would accidently drop a hot ash on the furniture. It happens, i knew i needed it.
    I myself ended up being the culpret. I had five small circle burn holes in my sectional or reclyner sofa. I dredded calling guardsman, so i waited. When i did go to call i read the policy. It clearly states all claims must be reported within three days of incident. So, i had to lie. When i made me claim a person who was leather repair tech did come out, he came as expected too. Nice guy, he looked at the furniture and said it was not repairable. suprised isnt the word, i love my sofa and hoped it was repairable. I think the guy just didnt feel like dealing with it so he put it back on guardsman. I had to wait for him to file his paperwork and then i was to expect a call. I was told to go to the original store to find a replacement. (the store had little to no furniture due to a fire next door smoking out their place, it took a yr before they restocked) my problem is with a LASTICK FURNITURE ON
    HIGH STREET
    POTTSTOWN, PA.

    The owner was miserable and seemed agrivated with me not being able to find any couch or chair to replace my old ones with. If i dont like her tast and what was in her store, then i am not choosing someting until i do see something i like. Well the owner was so miserable and made me feel so uncomfortable that i just dropped it all together.
    Now, Guardsman did say that if i could not find anything at lastick then i was not allowed to shop elsewhere. THAT is one stipulation, you must choose replacements at the same store name. If you shop at a chain store you can go to any of those store which usually provides more variety. But the end result is i get something at lastick or i take the monitary in place. well five hundred dollars for a reclyner sofa with two end reclyners and a big man reclyner is definetly more than five hundred dollars. So i denied both and dropped it all together. if i take the money they take the furniture. it was to my advantage to keep it. But guardsman was more than fair with me.
    So, now you have heard both sides of the story.
    YOU DECIDE

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.