Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Auto Insurance & Loan Graduate Management Admission Council [GMAC] poor service!
More
A
Author of the complaint
8:20 am
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

My car was reposed on Monday, to find information out about this it takes at least a 1/2-1 hour to get through on the lines, the people are very rude. I never had this happen before, recently going through a hard time and ended up be 3 months late by 3 days. Now to get the truck back I have to pay the remaining balance on the truck. I feel like they are not willing to help or work with the customers, if it is a constant habit I understand but this is just recent for me. I will never purchase a chewy vehicle again or get finances through GMAC as they don't want to listen to the customer only want the money.

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Graduate Management Admission Council [GMAC] complaints & reviews

Graduate Management Admission Council [GMAC] - lien release
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Graduate Management Admission Council [GMAC] - federal fraud
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Graduate Management Admission Council [GMAC] - phone payment debited twice, run-arround about refund
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Graduate Management Admission Council [GMAC] - gmac smartlease is taking advantage of innocent people
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Graduate Management Admission Council [GMAC] - false advertisements
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Graduate Management Admission Council [GMAC] - overcharged
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Graduate Management Admission Council [GMAC] - fraud - misrepresentation
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
74 comments
Add a comment
P
Mar 02, 2011 8:20 am

After loyally spending the last 18 years buying/leasing Dodge products, I switched to GM for some reasons including: OnStar, gas mileage, quality, better antitheft. I bought a brand new Chevrolet Impala.

I made the switch a few months ago.

I have been waiting for my car payment, but it never came. A month after signing up, I received a nasty phone call from GM, with their personnel ordering me over the phone to pay while on the telephone.

They refused to give me my account number and made me pay a $23.71 late fee. This was the first billing contact -- in writing or by phone -- that I received from GMAC.

They insisted that I call another number to get my account number.

I am a police officer and have never missed a payment in my life.

The way they talked to me, I felt like I committed a crime.

I will tell everybody I know about this situation and will recommend that they never buy/lease a GM product again.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Jun 19, 2011 8:20 am

Took my 2007 tahoe into Stanley Chevrolet at 5697 W. State Rd. 67 McCordsville, IN 46055. Told the service man that I thought my power steering was going out. That the vehilce was making a grinding sound and that the sound became louder when I turned the wheel in either direction. There was no service engine lights on and the truck started and ran fine. Recieved a call and was told the problem was not the power steering but the alternator and the battery. This was causeng the power steering to sound like it did. I asked how was that, my truck runs fine, started well and no service lights was on. I was told mechanic checked power steering and it was fine. Charge for service would be 946.00 Later that evening I was told work was done and that he needed to inform me that the power steering was bad and had to be replace. But don't worry it was coverd under warrenty. Was told to pick up my truck by 6 pm. Was at car lot at 5:20 after I paid cashier. I was told where my truck was parked. I tried to start it with remote starter. Truck would not start. I key started it and it would not start right. Sounded as if it didn't want to start. Pulled the truck to the service doors. The two worker, Jeff Harris and Rhodey Resse, looked at me and would not open the service doors. One actually came to one of the doors and still did not open it. After setting in my truck for 3-4 minutes waiting for the doors to open the, the two men walked out of the service area leaving me in my truck at the door. I enter the doors and went to the cashier and told her what just had happen. Cashier was aware the men did this. She made serveral phone calls to get someone to come back. Mgr on duty came and stated he was sorry for what had happen and stated that the worker is being called back to work now. 10-15 minutes later one of the service men returned. I told him the service engine light was on and remind him that when he checked my truck in the night before there was no service lights on. I told and showed him that the truck would not start with the remote starter and that it didn't start up correctly with the key. He told me it was tested driven. I asked him how did someone miss the service engine light on or not see it was not starting correctly. He had no answer. The next day I was told the person that worked on the truck didn't connect something and was asure everything had been checked. I went to report the problem to the General Manager. I was told he was in a meeting so I spoke with Operational Mgr. Rex Phillips. I told Phillips what had happen the day before. I then showed Phillips my work order. It listed my complaint concerning the power steering as I reported it. The next section stated that I needed an alternator and battery charging me $946.00. After work was completed. Work order stated power steering is making noise and needed to be replaced. There was no charge for work, part was under warranty. I explained to Phillips that I was charged for a part before the truck was even checked for the issue I came in with, plus I was told the part I paid for would fix the problem. Phillips stated he would pass my concerns on to the Gerneral Manager. Few hours later I received a call from West Stanley, lot owner. He stated that he was sorry for the way I was treated and that none of that should had happen. When I questioned him concerning the service I paid for he would not comment. Only stated he looked at the parts removed from my truck and it was bad. I informed him my truck started fine never gave me any problems and no service lights was on. I also told him that I was told this is what I needed to do to correct the problem I came in with. This was not true. I told Stanley after I paid nearly $1000.00 I stilled needed the part I came in asking for, leaving me to believe I didn't need the parts I was told espically since it didn't correct the problem and my truck showed no signs of needing the parts. I told Stanley I could not understand why the service men could not had check the problem I reported first or why I was told the part I had to pay for would corrct my problem when in fact the warranty part corrected the problem. When my husband returned to Stanley's to pick up the parts they removed from the truck. My husband reminded Stanley that this was the second vehicle he bought from his lot and that we always serviced our autos at this location and could not believe we were being treated so badly and that it looked liked we was charge for work not need and for sure work that did not fix the problem that was reported when the truck was dropped off. Stanley then cursed my husband. He said "what the ### you want me to do, you sound like your wife. My husband nor I ever yelled or cursed at Stanley or his staff. I feel was rudely treated by Stanley and his staff. i also feel I was charged for work I did't need. I was for sure charged for work that did not relate to the problem I reported, even after I was told it would correct the problem. All of this is proven by the order work was done on the work order.

Helpful?
0 0
L

I first applied for a loan modification in July 2010, after multiple calls I finally received an answer that we were denied. However, this process took almost 5 months. I did not receive our denial letter until Dec 2010. With the delay on GMAC's part this slowed down any other loan modification or other assistance I could have been seeking. Also GMAC told me not to send any payments in, only the full amount past due would be acceptable and anything less would be returned to me.
We reapplied in Jan 2011 and was told we had the income to qualify but GMAC stated, " that they serviced my loan on behalf of an investor group and the investors has not given them authority to modify my loan. " After questioning GMAC they would not inform us who the investor group is. So I am left in the cold. It seems that the investors don't care if I lose my home, they make their money anyway. :(

Helpful?
0 0
U
Mar 21, 2011 8:20 am

Company will send a teaser deal to get you to switch your auto insurance, they send this to you if you have a loan through them. They sold and processed a payment for one rate, and insisted on paper work to ‘prove previous coverage’s’, which is completely unnecessary, along with a form which included language that changes your policy and causes the price to ‘readjust’. Filled out the form letter perfect, sent them copies of the documents.

They destroyed the documents at their home office and attempted to claim I did not send them, therefore they would change my policy (to the tune of $300 per six months). Repeated attempts to send them the documents through email and snail mail to get rid of the charge.

Do not trust them to actually follow through if I need to use the insurance. Am switching immediately. Do not work with this company, they are pure scam, and willing to commit outright fraud for a buck. If you are stuck with them in the short term, paper trail everything extensively.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Feb 23, 2011 8:20 am

I had a remaining payment on the lease vehicle which the new dealership paid off to GMAC.

GMAC posted this money to someone else's account which left my account in negligence.

I have tried several times to contact GMAC to get this matter resolved, but they respond with, "I must send another payment to replace the first payment sent out previously."

This is not fair. I have been robbed by GMAC.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Jul 21, 2010 8:20 am

We had one payment left on our lease. The rack n pinion went bad. We had Dossett Big 4 the dealer we purchased it from come get the car. It was not driveable. They checked the car and found the rack n pinion was bad. The cost to fix over 1500 dollars. I called GM to try to persuade them to pay for repairs they refused. I called GMAC to ask them to give me two months to make my payment since I was having to pay for the repairs. The rep put me on hold and called Dossett Big 4 to hold the car because we was about 30 days late. We have not seen the car no more. This car had several problems and these people care nothing about its customers.

Helpful?
0 0
U
Aug 20, 2010 8:20 am

I have had a mortgage with GMAC for 8 years. I have never missed or been late with my monthly payments. I am recently divorced and the house was signed over to me. I contacted GMAC 2 weeks ago to negotiate a lower interest rate. While talking to the GMAC representative I became aware of a lien on my property which caused my credit score to drop. The lien was due to unpaid taxes incurred by my ex-husband. I told the representative that I needed to rectify the lien before I could refinance. Although he knew I was distressed about the lien, he wanted me to proceed with the refinance. I told him that I needed to satisfy the lien before I could commit to refinancing. He again attempted to convince me to refinance saying that I had three months to clear up the lien. I explained that my priority was to satisfy the lien. I immediately paid my ex-husbands past taxes and the lien has now been satisfied and my credit score increased by over 100 points.

The same representative called me this past Monday. My guess is that he pulled another credit report on me. When I returned his call he said, "let me tell you what I can do for you". When I explained that I was going to wait a few months to refinance, he said "I have someone on the other line and will call you right back". He never returned my call because evidently his priority is not to help the customer but to push customers into refinancing even when they are not ready. Isn't this one of the reasons our country is now in an economic crisis?

Due to the insensitivity of the GMAC representative, I will refinance with another mortgage company in a few months.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Sep 08, 2010 8:20 am

DAILY PHONE CALLS LOOKING FOR MARCIAL HOLTEN. I HAVE HAD THIS NUMBER FOR 15 YEARS AND dO NOT KNOW ANY MARCIA HOLTON. I IASKED THEM NOT TO CALL BACK. NOW THE DAILY CALLS ARE RECORDED GIVING INSTRUCTIOTS TO CALL LOOKING FOR MARCIA HOLTEN The calls come from98431-[protected]- AND GAVE ME THE ID 638517 AND TOLD TO CALL [protected].
i CALLED THAT NUMBER AND WAS GIVEN RECORDED INSTRUCTIONS TO CALL [protected]. NOT A TOLL FREE NIMBER.
I DO NOT BELIEVE THAT GMAC IS DOING THESE CALLS BUT YOU SHOULD TRY TO STOP IT BECAUSE THEY ARE USING YOUR NAME
THANK YOU, JILL PHILLIPS

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jul 19, 2010 8:20 am

My 2005 Pontiac G6 has had NUMEROUS issues since I have purchased it in 2005. The issues ranged from control panel lights going out to the engine overstarting. I have had this car for going on two years now and I am just now getting the radio replaced after it finally ate its 15th CD. This, due to my persistance, will be free to fix.
The most disturbing issue is when I start my car in the morning, the car will either keep trying to start after I have started it or will over start and the engine light will come on and it will die. The first time it did this, the car was under warranty and they couldnt diagnose what was wrong. The car kept going into the shop as it was under warranty and still the mechanics could not see what was wrong. Finally fristrated beyond all belief, I called GMAC complained about the dealership and the service manager. GMAC got involved and sent their own technician. Apparently, when the car was serviced at a previous time, someone removed a valve and didnt replace it. That, is what I was told was the issue. They replaced the valve and ran it on the computer, but the car is STILL doing this. GMAC and the dealership will not help me anymore because the car is out of warranty. Now, they will help me at a minimum of $75 an hour.

I cant believe I paid over $20K for a "broken" car. I am at a complete loss as to getting this fixed and who to turn to for help.

Helpful?
0 0
T
Jul 13, 2010 8:20 am

My husband refinanced his 2000 Saturn SL2 in July of 2003. GMAC for some reason added an almost 500 dollar late fee to the total amount refinanced. I contacted Mr. Gonzalas at GMAC Costumer Relations office and told him about my problem. He called me back to tell me that although the contract states that it was signed on the appropriate date of July 24, 2003 the GMAC office did not receive it until August 24, 2003. I asked him how that could be if the contract stated July and he told me he could not answer that question and that I would basically have to deal with the late fee. I would like an answer of why I have to pay a late fee when my husband refinanced the vehicle on time? I would also like to file a complaint against Mr. Gonzalas, who is supposed to work with customers and explain the situation. He on the other hand would not let me finish sentences and kept interrupting me which makes me even more frustrated.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jul 26, 2010 8:20 am

I bought a 2007 Saturn Ion 2. With in the first three months of having it it was in the shop 9 times for the same thing. The car turned out to be a lemon because they were unable to fix the car and they did not know what was going on with the car. I filed for lemon law and after several times of talking to the corporation they choose to replace my car. They do not make the Ion any more and refuse to put me in another car which is about the same as the car I purchased. I finally picked out a new car which the sticker price was 3000$ more than what I had left on my financing and they are now trying to charge me an extra $8000 to put me in that car. I have had to pay for rental cars for 4 months now and have been in the same rental for the past 4 weeks. GMAC will not fix the problem nor will they even attempt to do anything. The company pretty much told me that they do not care and it is my problem.

Helpful?
0 0
T
Feb 17, 2011 8:20 am

I sent a partial payment in January and was late in February, no e-mail, phone call nothing, guy shows up takes my truck ( paying off last of lease, had it for 5 years). Call Ally wants 1600.00, 3 months payments and costs.First call said I wasn't getting truck back( India I guess). I have never been treated as badly as this my entire life! Haven't worked in over 2 years and still made the payments. Welcome to America! I can't believe they can do this without even a phone call or letter or e-mail. Trust me if your car is financed by Ally get some other finance going, they will get you!

Helpful?
0 0
S
Apr 15, 2011 8:20 am

I am sittinge here stranded in the desert just to find thatg I have no insurance. the roof of my rv is open due to high winds am away from home and GMAC insurance has just informrd me right now after i have filed a claim that I have no insurance, but it gets even better i went on the website in febuary to pay my insurance in full which i did and they sent me an email saying it was being processed. I felt great thought my insurance was all paid for come to find out they never took the payment this was 2 months ago. Let me make this clear no checks bounced it was not returned for NSF reasons nothing like that they just simply didnt take the payment and the claims lady has even tried to lie to me on the phone saying they sent me 3 email about a cancellation and when I told them saved all the emails now the story has changed. Is anyone suing this company this is nuts I am contacting a lawyer.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Jul 25, 2007 8:20 am

My Dad died on may 1st, he owned a Cadillac deville on a lease program. At the time of his death the car was at the dealership being fixed. a $500 deductible needed to be paid at the time.

At his death the Cadillac lease was paid off by the credit life policy. (lease ends july 2008) over a $6000 value. We called to try and get the car from the dealer and couldn't. They said the estate rep needed to be appointed before they could talk to us.

The estate was in probate, so we couldn't do anything for 1 month when my brother received the appointment. With 5 brothers and sisters it took awhile to get done. They all live throughout the U.S.

On june 11 GMAC sold the car on us at auction (giving us 11 days to solve the matter?). They insurance company paid them the full payment of the the remaining lease. that means, they got all there money and the car a year early.

GMAC refused to talk to before june 1st and then said the sent a letter informing us they were selling it. We never received the letter.

Without spending lots a money on attorney fees. We have no chance of receiving anything. They wouldn't let us collect the insurance money, trade the car in, or even transfer the car to anyone other that the estate rep. If I wanted the car I would had to pay $513 fee to get it.

Needless to say GMAC sold the car and my Dad's estate lost $6000 because GMAC wouldn't help us.

Just another example of how bankers, insurance companies and Big corporations screwing the the common man. I will never buy a GM car again!

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jun 22, 2010 8:20 am

I paid off my auto loan in full in Oct of 2009, since then gmac had been reporting on all three major credit bureau not paid in full, and that I still owed a 5500$ balance with them. They were very negligent, and caused lenders not to want to lend to me, and much more greif and stress then I could bare.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Oct 26, 2009 8:20 am

Company will send a teaser deal to get you to switch your auto insurance, they send this to you if you have a loan through them.

They sold and processed a payment for one rate, and insisted on paper work to 'prove previous coverages', which is completely unnecessary, along with a form which included language that changes your policy and causes the price to 'readjust'.

Filled out the form letter perfect, sent them copies of the documents. They destroyed the documents at their home office and attempted to claim I did not send them, therefore they would change my policy (to the tune of 300 per six months). Repeated attempts to send them the documents through email and snail mail to get rid of the charge.

Do not trust them to actually follow through if I need to use the insurance. Am switching immediately. Do not work with this company, they are pure ###, and willing to commit outright fraud for a buck. If you are stuck with them in the short term, paper trail everything extensively.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Sep 24, 2009 8:20 am

I lost my job June 2008, a month after I made my FIRST payment to GMAC. With the severance monies I received I continued to pay GMAC, but also contacted them the following week after I lost my job. They set up an arrangement with me in writing which expired in October 2008. In October I still had not found suitable employment so I contacted GMAC again. They stated they could not do anything as I was not LATE on my payments. However I was granted a 30 day extension that would carry me to December 6, 2008. Again I contacted GMAC to notify them that I had not found suitable employment. Again they stated that if I continue to pay what they tell me to pay and pay ONTIME, there should be no problem. I talked to two gentlemen between December 2008 and January 2009. On February 17, 2009, I was offered a permanent full-time job with a title agency about 27 miles from my residence. I was estatic! Two days later, GMAC Repossessed my car! I understand that I didn't have a job but I continued to show "good faith" by paying partial payments to them ONTIME as they stated to me over the phone. Not only did I lose my car, but I lost a good job as this job offer was over $10 per hour! I spoke with a person that was handling my account over at GMAC. She stated she had not heard from me in 60 days so she had the car repossessed. I was told over the phone that it would cost me over $1, 500 to get my vehicle back. I have no other choice but to lose a job and a car in one month. This could have been handled so much better. The story is worse because I left out many details, but this is what happened in a nutshell.

Helpful?
0 0
L
Jan 29, 2010 8:20 am

July 2009 thius company told me that I owed them 800.00 for flood insurance. They took over the morgtage I have on my home and ever since they took it over their 800.00 flood escrow is now 9, 0000. + and they are trying to steal my home from under me. I presented them with the letter from FEMA and my local county flood engineer which stated I did not need flood insurance but they won't accept that. I don't know if I can live long enough to fight them because I am 70 years old and have called everyone including Gov. Christ and state attorney generals office and they listened and said they would look into it and call back. A month had gone by and Christ's office hasn't called and I haven't heard from Attornet Generals office yet. WHY DO WE BAIL OUT GMAC and then allow them to ripoff the public. AMERICANS NEED TO STOP BIG GOV'T BECAUSE IF THEY CAN HELP UP AND ONLY HELP THEM THEN WHAT ARE WE PAYING TAXES FOR? If you see me on the street I will be the old wrinkled up lady that got kicked out by GMAC not for not paying my mortgage but for not paying excessive fees they calim are escrow.

Sincerely, '

Lucy Graham

Helpful?
0 0
T
Jul 09, 2010 8:20 am

Bought car brand new in 2001. Car was less than 6 months old and had to have valves and pistons replaced. Transmission started slipping off and on, took into shop in 2003, still under warranty. Shop could find nothing wrong. Transmission continued to slip and jerk intermentally. Took to shop in December 2004 with approx. 2, 500 left on warrenty. Shop kept car for 4 days, said they hooked it up to computer, found no errors with the transmission, changed out filters, fluids, etc and drove the car for 4 days, said they could never get the transmission to slip or jerk. Day after we picked the car up, the transmission slipped, and continued to slip. I called the shop and was told that there was nothing they could do because they had never found a problem with the transmission. I told them again what the transmission was doing and again they told me that after 4 days of looking there was NO PROBLEM. Transmission went totatly out 3 1/2 months later and 5, 000 miles out of warranty. Had the car never been taken in for this problem we would have no complain. We depend and trust the service departments to find the problems and fix them. I know for a fact the the shops dont like to do warranty work. I had a nephew that worked for Pontiac in the service department. Pontiac refuses to cover the transmission now that the warranty is up. They said since there was never a problem found with the transmission in Dec and NOW that the warranty is up that they are not responciable. A car with 80, 000 miles shouldnt have the transmission go out of it! Now Pontiac is offering me $2, 000 off of a new vechicle. WHY would I want another GMAC if they wont stand behind their product?!

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jun 08, 2010 8:20 am

I HAVE BEEN SCAMED AND EXTORTED BY GMAC:

I am looking for other individuals who have been subject to the fraudulent business practices of GMAC lease turn in program to join me in a class action law suit against GMAC:

I to have been scamed by GMAC, I leased a Hummer back in 2006, In may 2009, I turned it in under the alloted miles and in good shape. I took it to the dealership and myself and an employee of the dealership looked the vehicle over and noticed no damage which he agreed. Mind you I have never had a late payment or missed a payment for this vehicle or any other credit card or loan I have ever had. I did have perfect credit. So about a week after I turned the vehicle in i received a letter from GMAC saying that I owed them $273.90 for a dent on my hood that did not exsist when i turned it in. I looked at the pictures and still did not see what they where talking about. I immediately notified GMAC that i was disputing this claim, to which they said fine we will turn it over to asset recovery to look at the dispute. About a week later I get a letter from GMAC saying they reviewed my dispute and to bad you still owe the money. I told them that I wanted to have an independent third party do an inspection of the vehicle at which time they told me no and that they already sold the vehicle at auction. They then said if I do not pay what they say they will turn me over to collections and eventually the credit bureau. Because we where not going to come to an agreement I advised them I wanted either a third party arbitrator or the courts to make a determination if damage exsisted and have not heard from them since. Well I have recently found out that they have in fact reported this to the credit bureau and now my perfect credit is ruined and in fact credit cards i have had all my life and paid on time with zero balances are now cancelling my credit. I have had GM's my whole life and am shocked that they treat loyal customers like this, its almost modern day extortion. Pay what we say or your credit will be ruined. I can not let this happen to anyone else it is the biggest scam i have ever seen with no recourse to fight it. So I have decided that I will file suit against GMAC and would like anyone else with similar problems to join me in a class action suit against GMAC. If you are interested please contact me at [email protected], Also I have reported this to b0th my states attorney general and also the feds better business bureau and incourage you all to do the same. I hope to hear from you soon!

Helpful?
0 0
E
Jun 08, 2010 8:20 am

I had my last car financed through GMAC. This car was written off in June 2009. My insurance paid out majority of the value but left $517 owing to GMAC. I have been liaising with a customer service consultant at GMAC to organise for my gap insurance to cover this. Last week, the amount of $319.00 was taken by GMAC out of my bank account without my knowledge and without my consent. I called customer service and after 20 minutes on hold spoke with someone who told me she couldn't help me. She transfered me to someone who could. I got this persons voice mail and left a message saying it was urgent my call was returned asap. I continued to call over the next 2 days, not being able to speak with anyone who could help me and not having any of my calls returned. When I finally could speak with someone they admitted the money shouldn't have been taken from my account but that the money could not be returned until mid the following week. I was offered no apology or explanation. I explained that because I wasn't expecting this amount to come out my direct debits had bounced and charged a late fee. GMAC remained completely unsympathetic. It is mid the following week and my money has still not been returned to me.

Helpful?
0 0

I fell into some hard times, who hasn't?, I made an agreement with gmac to pay March's payment in full on April 16TH and April's payment on or before April 30th. The payments were to be taken out automaticly, they did take out the payment on April 16th but not trusting gmac I watched my bank account on the 30th (today) they did not. That conversation was recorded by gmac and myself once again not trusting this so called home loan co. When I made the agreement with gmac the customer service person told me that I would not recieve any more phone calls or email or from the USPS. On the 18th of April the phone calls started, 3 times a day saying they were going to forclose on my wife and I that they wanted thier payment NOW! They did this constantly my wife and I wereput in a very precarious position. We were convinced that the Sherriff's Office was going to show up at the door to start draging our belonging's to the street curb and we would be homeless. The phone calls, letters and emails came everyday. My diease creates bad nightmares and they forsure came every night, the Doc, 's say if I'm a good boy I might have maybe 4-5 years left untill I pass. Both myself and my wife are in wheelchairs and have been for the past 10 years, I have a teminal diease and she had 4 bad hip surgeries. Even though we have caught up in payments we have found a lawer to take our harressment case to court. Of course nobody can say how it's going to go but if you have had the same treatment please contact me at [email protected] to tell me of your story or even if you might consider joining my lawsuite. Everything will be private ( except if the judge orders disclosure) and confidential.
Thanks in advance
M. Morris

Helpful?
0 0
O
Apr 29, 2010 8:20 am

GMAC refunded my on time payment, didn't realize it until the next billing cycle, so now my credit score is a mess. I have called more than a dozen times on a dozen different days, with no explanation. I pay online through my bank, and GMAC tells me to contact my bank, and the bank tells me to contact GMAC. I get no answers just the run around. It didn't occur to me to file a complaint, until I read about this exact same scenario that is happening to countless other people.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Apr 22, 2010 8:20 am

GMAC has my car loan and I have automatic electronic payment from my financial institution. On 04/05/2010 when the payment was to be taken out it was not. I had money in the account and in speaking to GMAC they said it was an computer error on their part. When the payment did not arrive they must have sent my information to JP Morgan Chase for bill collection. On 04/16/2010 I got a call from JR Morgan Chase demanding payment and telling me that if I didn't pay right away with my debit card a late payment fee would be assessed and my credit score would be adversely effected. I chose to pay with my debit card and was assesssed a $15 charge for payment by phone "Convenience Fee". JP Morgan Chase told me I could complain to GMAC in "3 business days". I went to my bank. Verified that funds were available on 04/05/2010 and that GMAC had not attempted to debit my account. Now GMAC will not contact JP Morgan Chase about the mistake and will not take the $15 off my loan eventhough it was their mistake.

Helpful?
0 0
P
Apr 20, 2010 8:20 am

I work for a GMAC dealership and I lease a 07 G6 Well in March of 09 I was laid off well thing have gotten tight so I did not make 2 payment byt spoke to GMAC Rep in the philippines NICE I buy and American made car and spoke to someone who can not speak American. so I get a number and talk to Jarom who does not note file then I get a letter and talk to Walter and then Frank calls I have ask GMAC to help me and all they would like to do is REPO my car well I told them would it not be better to help then get another car back you can not sell. Well the way it looks after 32 yrs of gm vehicle I will go Honda Toyota anything but GM I would like to hear from someone higher up in the food chain.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Feb 23, 2010 8:20 am

An erroneous report from GMAC has been affecting my credit score for years. I lease a Cadillac every three yrs. In 5/2000 I leased a car. My dealership asked for me to turn my car in early, in 3/2003, which I did and leased another car. Somehow, the communication broke down between Cadillac and GMAC and the 5/00 lease was not posted as paid until 2/04 and meanwhile this accounting error was showing on my credit report as an "adverse" account.

I do not recall receiving much information at the time, but did call them twice to resolve the issue. Meanwhile, my postoffice had changed which may have added to the problem. In trying to resolve it again today and attempting to remove it from my credit report, I spoke with a Jeff at GMAC who had no time to listen, told me there was nothing he could do for me, that it was my fault and cut me off when I tried to speak.

I am angry, frustrated and told myself that I would never deal with GMAC again. However, I am still stuck with an adverse credit report, which is increasing my rates on everything else. I don't know what else I can do.

Helpful?
0 0
O

Bought 09 Tahoe at ELCO St louis 3/25/09 gave all info signed contract signed all papers traded in vehicle lect with my 09 Tahoe. 2 days later dealer calleds said I don't qualify bring back vehicle will report it stolen (yes the same vehicle that they gave me the keys to and that I have a signed contract for.) They make harassing phone calls daily threatening to have me arrested and to repo the car. GMAC is refusing to stick by the contract. Is this America? Call Chevrolet Customer service...it is in the Phillippines How is that for an AMERICAN car company!

Helpful?
0 0

I was hosed I was told that my 2004 PONT GRAND PRE WAS
eligible for the cash for clunkers I told the sales person that the
head gasket was bad and she said no problem.
I went to my home address and the vehicle broke down on 100
yards from the dealer. when I arrived she said I was not eligible
for the cash for clunkers. I got 100 dollars for a trade. MY
credit union paid 1000 that Owed on the Pontiac I had been
under stress because of family and job.

I WAS HOSED

Helpful?
0 0
S
Nov 06, 2009 8:20 am

Purchased a car in May, My dream 2010 Black Camero SS. I even ordered it online. Filled out the paperwork for financing and put down $2000. I was told it would arrive at the end of June but it really didn't arrive until September. They then requested another $5000.00 so I paid it. I also bought out the current vehicle I was leasing for $9200. This was all paid in cash. When my car arrived, I went to the dealership, spent two hours there, signed all the necessary papers, and was introduced and orientated to my new vehicle. What an exciting day that was. I took my first road trip to Sydney, N.S. that day. Here is the kicker..after driving my vehicle for 33 days, my first payment was due, I received a call from a representative there, saying that the person who was dealing with my financing application, didn't wait for approval from the head office and they wanted me to either find financing or give the car back. Apparently one of their trusted employees was not acting in the best interest of the customer or the business...he was fired. I have since given my dream car back and am still waiting for my down payment, apparently there is an inspection and other other things that needed to be done before I get any money back. I am a victim of the most ridiculous thing I ever heard of. Not once was I under the assumption that there was anything wrong with my financing considering, I have been with them for the last 4 years, financed 3 other vehicles, will have spent over $100, 000 there and they let me take my $42, 000 vehicle home and drive it for 33 days. I believe as a consumer that whatever was going on there had nothing to do with me, I dealt in good faith all the way and am hoping that under the circumstances, I will receive my $7000.00 back, considering this had nothing to do with me and I feel I should not be penalized for someone else's doing. I have been embarrassed over all this, after showing off my new car and then explaining why I didn't have it anymore, It has cause me emotional stress, not to mention affected me financially as well. If I had only known, I would have not bought out my leased vehicle and spent my money elsewhere! I am severely disgusted and hope that this does not happen to anyone again. Another kicker apparently it happened to more than one person. I will never deal with them again!

Helpful?
0 0
N
Nov 15, 2009 8:20 am

Hello,
I’m a sales manager at a US car dealership, and as you know, the automotive industry has suffered significantly with the collapse of the economy. Due to the fact that I am paid solely on commission, I was turned down on my first attempt at a mortgage modification because my income was too low. As the economy continued to drop, my employer decided to transfer me to a different department instead of laying me off. Fortunately that decision gave me and my family a slight increase in pay. Due to that increase I was now eligible to qualify for a loan modification. The loan that the mortgage servicer GMAC had told us we qualified for was the President Obama’s Plan “Making Home Affordable” in February of 2009. We completed and submitted all documents within the time frame that the mortgage servicer GMAC had required. Upon calling to check on the status of our account, we were informed that the mortgage servicer had lost all the documents we had sent in originally. Due to the time that had elapsed, we were required to send in another set of completed, updated documents which were being mailed to us. We completed and sent in the documents within the new time frame he gave us. In order to avoid falling through the cracks, we continually called to check on the status of the modification.
We received the loan modification letter stating the terms of the three month trail payments. There were just a few problems. The documents were either incomplete or were blank, and there was no due dates for the payments requested. After multiple requests for completed documents, they were still incorrect and the process took well over thirty days with the deadline of the first payment approaching. They finally faxed me the completed forms for my wife and I to sign leaving barley enough time for them to be resubmitted within the time frame. We made all three trail payments on time by certified funds as directed and were told, “You will be getting loan documents at the end of the 90 day trial period.” Upon completing the trail modification we waited approximately thirty days for the loan documents to arrive. We were later informed that our investor, Bank of New York, did not participate in the “Making Home Affordable Plan” as originally stated, but that they would review us for other modification options. When we made the last trail payment in august of 2009, we were informed that there had been a foreclosure sale date of July 30, 2009 which we were never advised of. We were advised that the sale date had been cancelled due to the modification we were approved for and receiving. After that, we decided that we needed to call weekly so we would not loose our home due to there lack of proper business ethics. Upon subsequent calls, we were told that the were waiting for approval from the the investor, Bank of New York, their legal department, or an appraisal, etc.
When making our biweekly follow up calls on October 28, 2009, I was informed that there was a final approval. The representative advised me that the phone call could possibly be recorded for quality purposes and that they were a debt collector. At that time i advised that i would be recording the call as well. I was told that we had been approved for an extended term loan if 40 years, our original loan was for 30 years, and have a fixed rate of 2.5 % for the entire term of the loan. The representative also advised that the permanent loan documents would be sent to us in approximately 30 days after Bank of New York prepared the loan Documents. We continued to check the status of our account and that we were told that the loan documents were still waiting for the investor and to not worry everything looks good.
We are making continual monthly payments over the phone via our checking account to GMAC, who services our loan for Macquarie Mortgage. During this modification process, we have made three consecutive payments over the phone. When we called on the 13th to make our November payment, we were advised that there was a new sale date of December 10, 2009. This sale date should have never been placed due to the fact that our modification was approved and waiting for the final loan documents. Yet again, we were never informed by mail of this sale date. We were then told we could no longer make payments via phone because of the sale date that had been placed. When we asked why the sale had been placed and if the modification had been denied, all they had to say was, “it is in review.” We had requested that a supervisor call us on many occasions, only once did we ever receive a call.
To say that this has been a stressful year would be an understatement. We have done everything that they have asked of us and then some. We are writing you out of desperation, the mortgage company is not the solution the are the source of the problem. If this is happening to us then it is happening to millions of Americans across the nation. We were hoping that with your assistance and exposure, our account would be looked at by some one who could help save our home.

I would like to thank you in advance for your help.
Sincerely,
Walt Schmitz
Please contact me at [protected]
Or [email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
I
Dec 31, 2009 8:20 am

Use of Unknown and Private Number and NO NUMBER. Calls numerous times and finally I answered. They were looking for someone asking me if I knew the person - asked what their relationship then they identified themselves.

Anything PERSONAL or PRIVATE - not interested in answering or giving information and STRESS the fact my number is on DO NOT CALL LIST. I hang up and he calls again - I told him to quit calling and will report to authority as harassment - hang up several times, but continued to call. Refused to give number unless I agree to take a message for the person they are looking for. I refused and hang up. Again, he called...I finally told the guy that I will press harassment charges as well as civil tort remedy. Then for now he stopped calling.

Total of 16 known calls and rings (unanswered) on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve (today). They are trying to obtain information of someone that is privileged - by giving information to a stranger - even to someone else I know - PRIVACY ACT... Personal information is not to give to anyone unless it is by court order.

I like an attorney's opinion - if anyone is filing a class action, I like to join. They harassed me and I have NOTHING to do with them.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jan 20, 2009 8:20 am

I do not or will EVER have an account with this company. They call my cell phone many times a day never leaving a message. I have talked to their customer service dept. more than once to remove my number from the account of some Julie lady. They don't believe me when I say I am not the account holder. They are unwilling to help and they get very rude. Why can't a company as big as they are take care of this problem ASAP and say sorry for the trouble?

Helpful?
0 0
B
Oct 18, 2008 8:20 am

every day (on my cell phone) i get the same call about this is your second notice of warranty.
one day i called them back. they asked for our account #. i told them all our cars our paid for. then they asked for my s.s. #. i was irate and told them i will track them down and report them. i still get calls. i also asked for their address so i could send them my cell phone bills. they hung up
their number: [protected]

Helpful?
0 0
W

My son is going through a divorce. His wife left him with alot of bills and a mortgage he can't pay by himself. His income was depleted by half. Now GMAC is taking his house even though he has tried to refinance with them. This has been going on for three months now and they keep sending him papers to sign and he signs them and sends them back. I saw his house up for auction in the local paper this week. It said it would be auctioned off on the 6th of March. He knew nothing about this. When I called him and asked what was up, he knew nothing about it. Then Wednesday he got a letter from them telling him he would be foreclosed against. Now he won't even have a home for him and his sons. They don't work with people and you can't get ahold of them.

Helpful?
0 0
K
Oct 06, 2009 8:20 am

Do not use this company for anything, no loans and especially the loan modification program. I was always on time with my payments and had great reasons to want a lower monthly mortgage bill, I inquired and they sold the loan mod program to me. They told me I was on a trial basis and my payments went from 1319.00 a month to 758.64 a month. They told me to send my escrow shortage of 309.00 which i did. After the trial period ended I was told they would send me a letter. I called yesterday to find out and after being on hold for 35 minutes the loss mitigation rep said i was denied because I paid an extra 309.00 for my escrow. I advised him I was told to mail that money out. he said no you werent was rude and said he was not there to be my friend he then rudely transferred me to a manager named alberto who knew no english and said its too bad we cant do anything and hung up on me. Now i have a delinquent account and afraid of losing my home because of their scam...I called again and they person said they would hang up on me if I did not let them talk again on hold for 30 min. I have never experienced such cruelty and issues and beg for you not to ever use GMAC>>>>!

Helpful?
0 0
G
Jul 09, 2009 8:20 am

Mrs. landers was very rude and nasty from the GMAC financial services. I understand I'm late, but she don't have to talk to me like that I 'm a human being and things happen. She stated that it was in the repo are and there was nothing I can do about it after today. I explianed to her that the only thing I can do was give the payment on Saturday, and she told me that they could not wait until Saturday. She was very nasty, and not helpful at all.

Helpful?
0 0
K
Mar 26, 2009 8:20 am

I'm not even a customer of GMAC but yet I received a phone message from the GMAC collections department. The woman who left the message knew my name and my address. Here the call wasn't to try to collect a debt from me, but she wanted me to get in touch with a neighbor and have the neighbor call GMAC because they have a debt with them. Is this legal? The message clearly said my name and asked if I could get in touch with a neighbor, she then provided the neighbor's name. She provided the neighbor's address and asked if I could relay the number and extension to GMAC to the neighbor. Again, is this legal? I called the number GMAC left and spoke with the woman who left the message. She had a poor attitude as if I did something wrong. She told me she had retrieved my name and number from a public data base. I asked her if this was legal and she cut me off saying would you like to be removed from the list. She kept repeating it and cutting me off, so I finally just said "yes, remove me". I saw online how many articles there were complaining about GMAC and how their collection representatives have been accused of being rude, nasty and going to extremes when phoning customers. Again, I'm not even a customer and I have to be subjected to their phone calls. It should not be legal.

Helpful?
0 0
W
Oct 19, 2008 8:20 am

I have the same problem, had to finance a car at the dealership when they would not take my out of state check, and I paid the loan of three days later as soon as the clerks in INDIA completed the paperwork. I have been calling once a week for months to get my lien release, and each time I call INDIA, no action has been taken and no record of my previous calls exists. Also, each time I call, I am promised a call back, but of course, that never happens

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jul 24, 2008 8:20 am

My son & daughter felt on very hard times, so the car was repo, I assisted them in getting it back, but that was one of the worse experience, the gmac customer service rep are heartless, the day we made payments, to get caught up on everything, they repo the car anyway, the manager, said it must had happen while we were on the phone. But after that we were told 5 different amounts, had to make 2 money different money gram, because they couldn't get it together, had to pay 425. oo for repo, 160 for storage of the car, (40 overcharge because no one communicate within the redneck repo company company. )another 75. fee, 40.00 key fee, then had to drive to Cape Giradrau to pick up the car at a vacant lock with a gate & lock, GMAC cars are alright, and my father retired from gmac get discounts, but I don't won't to deal with the worse CUSTOMER SERVICES REP ever, they need some serious training.

Helpful?
0 0
V
Apr 28, 2008 8:20 am

On March 10, 2008 I bought a new car. I stilled owed on my old car which was financed through GMAC.

My dealer sent GMAC a payoff check on March 12, 2008. This check came with all my information; name address and social security #.

GMAC posted this check to someone else’s account.

I spent a month trying to figure out what had happened. Finally I called my dealer and she called GMAC and straightened out my problem.

I had called GMAC several times and sent 3 e-mails. No one at GMAC would help me. My car is finally paid off, but now I am owed an over payment from them and fear I will never see it.

DO NOT DO BUISNESS WITH GMAC. They are corrupt and incompetent. They do not care about their customers. I hope this paragraph helps others. I’m going to fight for my money and fight GMAC.

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

115 complaints
77 resolved 38 unresolved

Graduate Management Admission Council [GMAC] contacts

(added by reviewer)
PO Box 2969, Virginia United States
ADVERTISIMENT