Gmac Mortgageno customer service!

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Gmac is the worst of the 8 different loan co. I've had. Their different depts. Don't seem to communicate between them. It's taken months for them to fix my acct. As per closing statement in my loan docs and4mnts in acct. Is still not right! When you call, long long wait times to talk to people who are hard to understand and english is not a first language. Really bad service!!!

Responses

  • Ad
    advocatehelp4u Apr 14, 2012

    please contact me asap i will tell you something to blow your socks off about your mortgae, and please do not refi with wells fargo they are just as bad as gmac if not worse [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sandra le Mar 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ALWAYS ASK IF THE PERSON I'M SPEAKING TO IS IN THE UNITED STATES- IF NOT I ASK TO BE TRANSFERED TO THE U.S.
    I BELIEVE WE AS AMERICANS SHOULD KEEP OUR JOBS HERE IN THE U.S. WHEN SO MANY OF US ARE OUT OF WORK! WHY SHOULD WE BE TRANSFERED TO A FORIGN COUNTRY?, ESPECIALLY WHEN OUR OWN PEOPLE ARE IN FORCLOUSER--ANSWER THAT GMAC...;!!

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    ihategmac Mar 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with everyone GMAC is the worst company ever. They don't return call, they done answer your questions and they keep say "I sorry" but do nothing about it. Ever time you call you get a different answer, I have been lied to so many times I stopped counting. I have called at least 50 times since Dec 2011. They have put tickets in to resolve my problem and then another problems appears. I have been recently told that my payment was more because I owed money from 2010. They debited my account with out my authorization and now won't accept a check payment. I have spoken to a Supervisor but they are just as bad as the reps. This company needs to be put down. If ever you know of any other ways we can bring them down please let me know. I am on a mission, I want them to pay, they are the WORST COMPANY!!

    0 Votes
  • Gm
    GMACbohica Jan 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have the same problem. I agree with everybody. GMAC is the worst bank to get mortgage account. Please complain to www.bbb.org
    I will complain too. I don't know if it will help but I don't know what else to do with these guys. You can't talk to anybody who knows what he/she is doing. They are all uneducated about their job and they have no answers for customer b/c they don't know anything. And not only that they cannot process any paperwork right and they mess up our accounts and we have to deal with their mistakes. We get statements with a due date of 6 months past every month and we told them maybe 15 time already that the statement is not right. Also the address where we are supposed to send our payment is usually wrong on the statement so we have to call and ask them the right address to send the check and the correct due date and the correct amount. Every month! Are we going to have to call them every month for the next 30 years to make a payment or correct things????

    0 Votes
  • Vs
    VSawdon Nov 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    GMAC Mortgage can NOT get their files in oder, everytime you call you get transferred to 3 or 4 departments. No one has a last name or an extension, so you can never get the same person twice. Calling them reminds me of the TV commercial "THIS IS PEGGY". GMAC does suck...

    0 Votes
  • I have similar issue. I originally took a investor loan for 90% LTV and PMI. I was told when my LTV (per original price) is 80%, I can have it removed. At 78% it will be removed automatically. So i have paid it down to 80%, but GMAC is now saying i need to get it 65% to have it removed. The Home Owner Protection Act of 1998 mandates lenders to remove PMI after 80% per borrow request and automatically at 78%. So GMAC is clearly violating the rules/laws (federal) and I am frustrated dealing with there customer service, who are worse-of-worse, zero common sense.

    0 Votes
  • Ny
    NYRPM Mar 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dylano403... spoken like a true GMAC rep... blame the customer... look in the mirror .. you are poorly trained by a lousy company...

    0 Votes
  • Dy
    dylan0403 Mar 29, 2011

    I'm one of the representatives from GMAC mortgage, usually customers don't understand what the minimum payment is and still insists to pay for what amount they want, that is why problems occur since system would not post it correctly. Consequences for not within par payment would be returned payment or money will just sit on the acct. We always remind customers to do the minimum payment to be accepted while foreclosure properties would just be the total reinstatement amount. We assist customers at our best and we make sure that we really have supervisors to elevate the customer's issue. Problem with customers is that they continue talking and butting in not letting the representatives to talk, that is why problems cant be assisted well.Customers usually hung up as well.There are different payment methods to choose from, it"s ether payment over the phone with a rep or thru the VRU, moneygram, western union quick collect, gmac online, bank online, moneyorders, manager's check, etc. mailing the payments would usually take 7-10 business days for us to poost it to our system.Other borrowers are required to send in certified checks due to previous payment without funds available in the bank. If I may suggest, we should all cooperate to resolve issues. And about loan modification, it is not true that almost all requests are denied in fact we have statistics to prove approved modifications and you can check it out on our website.It is not the discretion of the company whenever borrowers forgot to pay for their mortgage because in fact, these are their responsibilities. If there are problems yous should contact us here's our # [protected]. Thanks! God bless you all!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nicem Mar 12, 2011

    I've called customer service 5 times in the past three months to inform GMAC that I already have flood insurance and they do not need to place a new order for me. They claimed not to receive proof of my flood insurance the first time and put the charge on my statement. Then, a submitted my insurance a second time and the agent said it was verified, and would take 3-5 days to show up on my account for the regular customer service. I called 3 days later when the insurance agent conferenced the customer service so we could all three talk. The customer service agent said all should be fine within a couple days. I specifically asked that this payment be taken off my account and not affect my credit, and they said they would even call me for confirmation. A quick note about the customer service representative is that she was very hard to understand, she had very poor communication skills. A month has passed, and a new statement has a late fee for this unneccessary flood insurance charge. The customer service agent today would not even tell me that the late charge was still on my account. By the time I got her to say those words, she read a pre-created statement that I'd have to talk to the insurance department, but that they're not open on the weekends. While I was verifying the late-fee with her, she would not respond, and started to act like our line was disconnecting. I could hear her VERY clearly, and it seems ironic that at this exact moment, the connection broke down. I told her "I know you're trying to end this conversation, and that you're faking that the connection is breaking." She eventually hung up. That was the worst customer service experience. Humility is a good skill for those in the service industry. Thanks for nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tiney Mar 01, 2011

    GMAC no matter if car or home do not buy and they will go under. I have started the trend with my large family. I show all the complaints to everyone who are swayed not to buy. That's my contribution.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amlaine Oct 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    GMAC? Complete [censor]s...starting at the top of the mortgage division Tom Marano. 6 months I have been waiting to close on my short sell. They are the holder of my second mortgage. First mortgage agrees to the sell, but GMAC completely and purposely drags their feet, so we miss our first closing date. Our short sell person at GMAC (Peter Knapp), is a complete incompetent fool. All the paperwork and transactions have to go through a system called Equator, however, the system never works. It has taken us telling Knapp, close to 15 times, that this system does not work, and we are not getting any tasks. No response from the guy...our first closing date comes and goes. I escalate this issue to Tom Maran0 (CEO Mortgage side). He passes the buck (me) to some fool name Sharon Robinson. She does absolutely nothing. I escalate again to Tom Marano - no response. Second closing date (keep in mind the buyer has been waiting for going on 6 months), is tomorrow 10/8, and there is no way we can close, due to GMAC negligence. Guess what? Our buyers have to walk away, as their CHAFA loan expires. This company is like trying to solve world hunger in a room full of fools and [censor]s, and expecting a miracle. Well, now I am going to have to foreclose. Hope is was fun, hope it was fun, because now GMAC? You are not going to get a dime. This is now going to kill my credit, and my life for a few years (I am happy to look in the mirror and say I made a mistake, however, I do not feel that a foreclose was the payment I should have to pay for this mistake.) We did everything right, we kept our mortgages up to date throughout this entire process, and what do we have to show for it? Nothing. I guess I will live in my house for free for 6 months...then pay the reaper when he comes to collect. I can't imagine why the mortgage industry needed a bail out...with all the genius at your company and all. Oh and Tom Marano, during the bail outs, received a $5 million dollar bonus last year on top of his $2.3 Million salary... They received 17.3 BILLION in Bailout funds, and spend it to fund the fat cats, and let us fail time and time again.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kikiprart Aug 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    GMAC Mortgage is unethical. And our government gave them our tax dollars so we can pay GMAC Mortgage to lie to us. However, with all the noise I've been making and after filing a complaint with my Attorney General's office, the Office Of Financial Institutions, the Better Business Bureau, and others, I now have contact information for real, live people that are not customer service reps. GMAC Mortgage has an Advocacy Resolution Specialist and you can reach this department at [protected]. I would urge anyone that has a dispute to call this department and let them assist you--I'm sure GMAC Mortgage would be delighted to hear from all of their dissatisfied customers.

    0 Votes
  • Ny
    NYRPM Aug 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    GMAC Mortgage is the all time worst company in the USA... they misapplied my loan payment they requested via certified chec - my loan went into foreclosure and they said that I would need to pay legal fees to get out of foreclosure. They hang up on you and transfer you around like theres no tomorrow. No one ever resolves any thing. Now I have to pay an attorney because of their mistake. I truly hate this company.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thomas300 Aug 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sign of the times, they don't care. Nor will they ever care. They ought to be Glad God is a caring God. They will have one last chance to believe if they don't ( and 98% stupid greedy [censored] fkng [censored] won't) str8 to hell with them all. They Love Money $$$ more than GOD. I can't wait til they all burn. Their real holocaust is coming. All of this Jew sympathy makes me wanna fkng Puke. It would have take 22 years 4 months and 17 days for them to Burn or kill the supposedly 6 million Jews that died at the hand s of Hitler. Hitler himself was sick twisted little fkng [censored] that changed his name, ( like most of them do) to disguise their true identity and devil worshiping ways while upon this wretched stanking [censored] earth. God know who you lowlife stinky [censored] mther fkrs are, and so do I, I can smell you rotten [censored] a mile away.
    You lower than whales [censor] mthr fkrs are gonna pay for what you have done to this earth and its people with you scumbagg ways. The devil will a a new [censor] every night with you Money [censored]s. Burn baby burn Jew Inferno. I can't wait til you get whats coming to you,
    you killed the Messiah and he's coming back to kill you low life mther fkrs. Won't that be a Happy Day. A M E N !!

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Fat Tony Jul 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am laughing at Mark. GMAC just denied helping me at all because I am current on my mortgage? I owe 33% more than this home is worth! I put out in bills every month what I bring in. If it was not for selling possessions and working side jobs we would not eat. GMAC stated they do not work with customers who are paying their bills and do not do any type of principal reduction. I explained to the lady that if I let this house go they could kiss an easy 50% of the loan good bye. She stated she hears that all day long and she could not help me at all. I feel like we bought a home at a buy here pay here car lot. I am trying to convince my wife that we are not making sound financial decisions to keep this house! If Indiana, and that is a big if, starts appreciating its standard 3% a year we might be able to sell it for what we own on it in 15 years, and that is if I keep pouring money into the home for updates like remodels and roofs? God I should have rented a nice home! I tried to approach GMAC fairly and treat this like a business decision but they have no desire to do that. I am a [censor] for continuing to throw good money after bad. Also if one more person at GMAC tells me that I have a good rate (6%) I am going to puke! I could care less what other folks are paying. Since when do you treat folks that are CURRENT ON THEIR PAYMENTS LIKE DIRT? I should be like every other POS and walk away from this house and let them have it since it would be the smart business decision. GMAC HAS NO BUSINESS SENSE AT ALL!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    teah79 Jul 12, 2010

    i am sooo glad to see i am not alone. i have been in a nightmare for over a year with gmac. i don't know too much about what options i have left with my home, but get out like the rep at gmac told me. move or we will set you out, after having a mortgage with them for 4years becoming permanently disabled, and going through hardship. not only did they not help me, wasnt concerned or interested in me staying in my home, they have been nice enough to give me and my 11 year old son 30 days to move. wow. i have never been treated so ugly in my life. i am sooo discouraged. where will we go, what will i do, why was there no help for us. im heartbroken, and soon to be homeless.

    0 Votes
  • De
    deeman Jun 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My father past and he gave his home to my sister. He ask me not to let her loose the house. I check to see if she was making the payment. She has been late a couple of times but she will make the payments. While having dicussion with GMAC the company raised the payments from 756 to 900 and come to find out that my father has been paying on a 77, 000 loan for 12 years and GMAC inform me that he owes 64, 000 more on the home. The math doesn't add up. This home should be pay off by now. Please advise Dino

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    ms Rankin May 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Nice to see I am not the only one to have issues with GMAC. I just filed a formal complaint with the dept of justice in Oregon. I have never been late on a payment. Taxes and insurance always paid. I applied for a loan modification with them, at their promotion by letter. Gave them my hardship story etc. They denied me for the Obama plan but insisted I apply for their modification plan, so did all the paperwork and sent it in. I was not only denied, but they took it upon themselves to start an escrow account, wanted me to pay the taxes in advance for next year. I complained as this would take my payment from $727.00 to $1287.00 per month. I paid my last payment on property tax 12 days before it was even due, only to find out GMAC mailed the tax people my payment, and also paid my house insurance which was not due. I called and GMAC finally said they would waive the escrow acct. Mind you, I have had this loan for over 7 years and have never had an escrow account ever. So, today I get a new statement in the mail asking for the $1287.00 payment. The tax lady called today and they have been trying to refund the over payment on my taxes with no help or call back from GMAC. I am going to file a lawsuit against them for harrassment, fraud etc. I never signed to have an escrow account, never asked for it and seeing I have lots of equity in my home, they can now take it as I can not make a payment that is $560.00 more than what I was paying when I applied for HELP from them. What a rip off. Speaking of, take a look at [redacted].com, you will see many more complaints. I wish to find an attorney in the Salem/Portland area to file this for me, but if not I will do it alone. This is not right. They need to pay for their willful fraud and harrasment of the people whom pay their salary.
    Please email me at [email protected] if you wish to discuss this issue further. Best of luck to you people who are dealing with these fruadulent scam artists.
    Ms. Rankin

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thomas300 Mar 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ### you Mark you Banker supporting Little Jew Worshiping fkng little [censored]. All of these bank documents are drafted by STINKY LITTLE FKNG JEW LAWYERS WHO PREY UPON HARD WORKLING PEOPLE WHO DON'T HAVE A LAWYERS VOCABULARY.. The term written in these loan documents were written by lawyers who were hired by the banks in the 1st place, who have wriiten up terms that will always allow them to win against the Consumer so ### You. I won my case against Bank of America without a Lawyer, I proved my case with 6th grade math. And the Judge Voted in My Favor. He was a non Jewish Judge, the previous one voted against us I appealed because I proved he was a 3rd cousin to one of the Executives who works for Bank Of America who had our Mortgage. I pay my bills 840+ credit, lost a job of 23 Years cause we got bought out by a company that was Jew owned & they sent 2400 people to the unemployment lines. I will Get My Victory When Everyone of these [censored]ing $$ loving stinky [censored] ###ing little [censored] Burn in Hell for Killing the only Loving Jew who ever walked the Earth and the ONLY MAN EVER WORTH OF PRAISE AND WORSHIP: that is JESUS CHRIST HIMSELF. i WILL NOT honor MANs the jew laws of this world/country, But i won't break them. I will ask for GODS forgiveness of my mouth, BUT I WILL NOT HOLD BACK THE TRUTH FROM SPEAKING OUT AGAINST ALL OF THESE BANKER CROOKS WHO DO NOTHING BUT ### PEOPLE OUT OF MONEY AND CREATED THIS SYSTEM 97 YEARS AGO WITH THE INTRODUCTION OF THE fED'L RESERVE AND THE jEW ### HAVE CREATED EVERY WAr AND MAJOR CATASTROPHE that has ever plagued man. They have systematically manipulated this world into becomng their Money slaves. WELL ### E-1 ONE OF THEM, i AM SLAVE TO ONLY ONE PERSON GOD, he will smite these nasty snake in the grass fnkglittle little [censored] for their atrocities and their Love of $$ instead of GOD who gave them their Riches in the 1st place. THEY WORSHIP THE DEVIL, AND gOD WILL GIVE THEM THEIR just reward A 1ST CLASS TICKET STR8 TO H E L L. I will be the heavenl;y toilet flusher and flush the ### out of Heavens toilets upon you wretched stiknky [censored] mthr fkrs in Hell.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bensonite Feb 19, 2010

    GMAC really needs to get their act together! The customer service is beyond terrible! Nobody knows anything there nor does anyone care! They play with people's lives, causing much stress and unnecessary duress! Calls are never returned (and when they are, either the phone gets mysteriously disconnected or they won't call back where or when you requested). Misguidided correspondence is sent without regard to the situation(s) only to be told that the correspondence is "computer generated; just disregard". Maybe they could hire some conpetent employees with all the money they would save by not sending this "computer generated" correspondence. A class action suit should really be considered . . . couldn't happen to a more incompetent company!

    I called GMAC, spoke to one employee regarding a problem and was not informed correctly; therefore, I immediately called them back, spoke with another employee who gave me completely different information . . . are they looking at the same computer screenws?????

    Get it together GMAC . . . honest customers are sick and tired of your "wishy-washy" business tactics!

    0 Votes
  • Ld
    ldshomeopathy Feb 10, 2010

    Wow, hello everyone!!! I am not alone in my misery :-) I have been in the nightmare of Foreclosure for nearly 2 years now initiated by a mistake made by GMAC. I never missed a payment they just stopped accepting the money!!! The stress caused is phenomenal, as you all know. I want to know who regulates/oversees GMAC, I want to take this further. Does anyone know? A company such as GMAC should not be allowed to exist. I am still going through the hoops and have no faith in GMAC whatsoever I have no idea how this is going to turn out. I am telling everyone I know DO NOT FINANCE OR HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH GMAC. Any information of where, who or how I can take this further please post on this site and I shall follow up with it. LS

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Dreamergirl Dec 15, 2009

    Do not finance with GMAC! They took over my loan from Homecomings Financial in June of 09. I've been trying to re-finance after my bankruptcy, which was discharged June 07. GMAC would not give me or the title company a final payoff amount. So the title company sent them more than enough to pay the loan off. I signed the final papers Nov 16, 09. The money was received by GMAC on Nov 20, 09. The title co called me Dec 14, 09 saying GMAC sent the wired money back...a MONTH later! I called GMAC, they said the house was in bankruptcy and would not even talk to me. They said there was a note on my acct Nov 30, 09 saying..insufficient funds and to talk to their bankruptcy lawyer. I called their lawyer and they refused to talk to me, they said my bankruptcy lawyer would have to call them. I called my bankruptcy lawyer from 2 yrs ago, and he said all that was discharged June of 07. My lawyer had to call their lawyer and left several messages, they now refuse to call my lawyer back. As of right now I have 2 loans on my house. And GMAC is reporting me as not making my payment for 2 months now. The title companys lawyer from my new loan is calling me, they have never seen this before and don't understand what GMAC is doing. Their customer service reps are horrible, they have no idea what is going on, and neither do their lawyers.

    I have also since then found out from my bankruptcy lawyer that the trustee from the circuit clerks office in St Louis failed to close my bankruptcy file from 2 yrs ago! My file some how got lost in the shuffle. They apologized and said they would get right on that, that was 2 days ago. He said I could file a complaint and per-sue going after the circuit clerk. My concern is now the pay-off amount on my loan is different and the title company is not going to give GMAC any more money, especially since I've already signed the final re-finance and received money back from the re-finance. This could end up getting ugly with GMAC, I already have a call into another lawyer if I need to per-sue taking GMAC to court.

    Aggravated in St Louis

    0 Votes
  • Ah
    AH1 Nov 27, 2009

    How about this? I have NEVER had a loan with them. House, car, or anything.

    They call me several times a week. Every time I call them back and tell them to STOP CALLING ME they tell me "I'm taking your number out of our system and wait 24-48 hours and you won't be receiving any more calls from us." Sometimes it's a few days, sometimes as long as a week, the calls start again.

    0 Votes
  • Kj
    KJP1073 Nov 24, 2009

    I have a car loan through GMAC and pay them online. I have always been on time with my payments, and recently discoverd how horrible this company is when they had a computer glitch.

    On 9/18/2009 I scheduled an automated payment from my bank to GMAC.

    On 9/20/2009 I received the following email from GMAC:
    Dear Sir/Madam,

    GMAC was notified by your financial institution that your online payment, scheduled for payment on 09/18/2009 for Account ***-****, has not been processed for the following reason:

    S00 : DEDUCTION SELECTED FOR PROCESSING

    Please resubmit your payment to GMAC or make other arrangements to make payment to GMAC.

    Should you have additional questions or need assistance, please contact GMAC Customer Service at [protected].

    Sincerely,

    GMAC Customer Service

    Immediately after receiving this email I scheduled the automated payment again from my bank to GMAC.

    On 9/21/2009 I received the following email from GMAC:
    Dear Sir/Madam,

    You received an email recently indicating that your payment on 09/18/2009 was not processed. This email was sent in error. GMAC would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the recent email.

    You DO NOT need to resubmit your payment at this time. Your payment has been applied to your account. You can confirm that the payment has been applied by logging in Account Center and viewing your Payment History.

    We would like to advise that if there is a true problem with processing your payment, you may receive an email indicating that your payment was not able to be processed due to other issues. Please take appropriate action, should you receive such an email.

    Should you have additional questions or need assistance, please contact GMAC Customer Service at [protected].

    Sincerely,

    GMAC Customer Service

    ** Please do not respond to this system-generated email.

    I immediately contacted my bank and they indicated that both amounts were taken out by GMAC and a stop payment could not be applied. I then contacted GMAC to see what they could to refund the over payment immediately. They insisted the best they could do was to mail a refund check that would take 5-10 business days through regular mail. I informed them that I because of this error on THEIR part that my checking account had been depleted and that I had checks sent out to other creditors that had not been cashed yet, which would result in overdraft fees and tarnish my good credit. They said they would escalate my concerns and call me back later in the day. I never received a call. I called them back later in the day and they said they were still working on a solution for all customers affected and they would call me back on 9/23. I never received a call. I called them late on 9/23 and the response was the same. They were completely unwilling to overnight a refund check or do anything outside of mailing a refund check that would take 5-10 business days through regular mail.

    They were unconcerned that I threatened to transfer my loan to my bank and never do business with them again. Being that this is a business that has been troubled by the economy I would have expected better treatment for an error that was caused by THEM!!! Instead, they made their problem, my problem. In today's economy not many people have extra cash laying around to cover bills that money was intended for in the first place. All of these concerns fell on deaf ears at GMAC. They really truly do not care about their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Regina Rosa GoldenGirlMiami Nov 13, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We took a re finance with QUICKEN LOANS and they sold our mortgage to GMAC. It was a nightmare of not being able to make any intelligent connection with them, They, GMAC forceplaced insurance on us WITHOUT telling us and we never could take care of they, they ripped us off for $6, 000 and there was nothing we could do. We did another re finance with another company and I will never, NEVER again have anything to do with a company like Quicken Loans who may dump your mortgage on GMAC

    0 Votes
  • Do
    donna ross Nov 11, 2009

    i have a house loan with gmac they told me i can lower my loan payments but frist i have to go through i trial of four months and make new payments at a lower amount and if they except me the new amount will stay the same they tell me i am excepted but they cant seem to get the paper work to me they tell me they sent it but it has not come to my house this paper work has been sent three times i have not recived it once i ask for a track nunber they say its not in there system yet i for the first time in my life have been late on my mortgage payment becouse of this they told me the balance that i was not paying would not affect me becouse i would be getting a new loan and the balance would be forgiven this four mounth deal is now 6 month i am showing on my statements that i owe them 8 thousand dollars i cant beleve this is happened to me i dont have that kind of money and i do not know what to do

    0 Votes
  • Tb
    tbarnes11 Sep 30, 2009

    I was sold a GMAC loan through my primary bank. To say it has been a disaster is putting it lightly. From my first two payments they were unable to process the automatic payments I had set up because they didn't process the account number correctly. They told me after the second attempt to draft the funds unsuccesfully after I corrected the problem they suggest that I would need to go to a western union or a "checks cashing place" and get a money order. Like I'm going to go down to "a nice part of town" find a Western Union or check's cashing place every month draft a check, pay a fee, and wait in line with those in need of a pay day loan! Nice customer service. Now it gets better. About a year later they send me a notice that I am behind and my loan is going to forclosure. Having paid everything on time they notified me that three months earlier they had received no payment. With my earlier dillema I was forced to set up automatic bill pay with my bank. I checked with them and they said indeed the check had been sent and cashed on the 1st of the month. I called back sent them the appropriate documentation. They stopped making every payment 30 days late and returned the late fees but wait it already hit my credit score. I made an immediate dispute with the three credit bureaus which I won but it was too late-They lowered all of our credit cards to just above the balance showing us as MAXED OUT and subsequently killed our credit score by 50 points even with the correction! My wife travels for work and has to spread her expenses on three minute credit cards! Dumb? Absolutly...We are six figure income people with plenty of capital and had great credit until getting involved with GMAC. They are dispicable and I hope that no one uses them ever again. I bought a car before this incedent and qualified for special 0.9% financing. My other car broke bought another and couldn't get a rate less than 16% so I paid cash. Their customer service reps are not only dumb, which is to be expected, but rude and made accusations the entire time. Never an apology.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    WI Business Owner Sep 18, 2009

    I have never been late on a payment my husbands & my credit scores just topped over 820 when we just bought a new Honda minivan. GMAC Mortgage services my mortgage with CMG Mortgage. It is a HELOC which is our 1s our 1st position mortgage (ONLY MORTGAGE). Our rate over the last 3 years hasn't gone above 3% interest. It is not a teaser rate it is a honest ARM. We are lucky to get this rate bc we put down 25% cash on our home purchase at the time of our loan and we pay large chunks of principal witht he understanding thus far that we could access this pricipal up to our original loan amount for 10 years. This is a wise situation when your money is earning much more elsewhere. We have recently used a good amount of our available credit line (as we have MANY TIMES over the past 3 yrs) to do some home, and private business improvements. We still only came within $5K of our loan allowance amount. Well now I have a letter from them saying we need to essentially re apply for our 30 year agreement with them. They are saying it is bc our home have been AVM as depreciating. If reducing our credit line isn't irritating enough, they also on the 2nd page informed me I have 15 DAYS!!!from the date of the letter (5 days ago dated and today is Friday night!) I have to submit this info or this " WILL CONSTITUTE SEPARATE GROUNDS FOR PERMITTING US TO SUSPEND, OR CONTINUE SUSPENSION OF, YOUR ACCOUNT. (It has the oddest punctuation and NO ADDRESS to send it all to!!!) Then they say "WE UNDERSTAND YOU HAVE HANDLED YOUR ACCOUNT RESPONSIBLY AND WANT TO ENSURE YOU KNOW THIS CHANGE IS BEING MADE DUE TO DECLINE IN VALUE". I am very worried about this if they suspend this account our new home business will be affected. When we got this mortgage 3 years ago my husband and I both worked, now I'm a SAHM with a new business. It shouldn't matter as long as we continue our part of the agreement and we have to the letter. I am very angry about maybe needing to refinance now and change our cash flow.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    SkagitTeacher Aug 03, 2009

    I am on my final payment for my car. I have paid my payments every month with the exception of this payment. I am a teacher and the summer months are slim as far as pay checks and of course like everyone else the economy woes have finally caught up with me. I told them I would pay it Friday, in four days. Their response was “we will keep calling you everyday unless you make a payment by phone”. I asked them nicely to please don’t call me anymore, I will pay on Friday and then you can send me my title. I was told unless I make a payment by phone and pay yet another $10.00 to process the payment by phone, they will keep calling me. I can’t believe they are being so harsh/rude in regards to my last payment. This kind of treatment really makes you want to throw in the towel. The first person I talked to had such broken English I couldn’t understand him, I called back and explained that to the lady I was speaking with and after we were unable to agree to no more collection calls, she informed me “by the way I am from the Philippines too”, as if to say….. you have a problem with that? Really don’t we have enough to deal with in our lives? Do we really have to endure poor customer relations in the form of customer bulling? I’m beginning to truly understand the saying… kicking a dog while their down.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kalona Jun 01, 2009

    GMAC is one of the worst consumer rip offs I hve encountered. How they get away with the BS they do is far passed my ability to get a clue.

    I refinanced my home thinking I was getting a lower fixed rate. The company I refied with LIED like mad, they sold the loan from one month to the next. It took me forever to find out who I owed what to. It was that crazy! GMAC was now the 4th one to get my loan. I explained to them the loan was wrong. I had done everything humanly possible to get the situation corrected.

    To make a horrid story shorter, BOTTOM LINE GMAC told me they were investigating the fruad on my loan. However the fact is they weren't. They actually held on to the last payment and made the house go into foreclosure. I was the last to know it was in foreclosure. I had to come up with 10K to stop this insanity. The only way I found out my house was in foreclosure was a man came and put a notice on my door.

    And here's the worst kicker, I got a lawyer to sue them for thier part in the fraud, . He was all I could afford and he actually lost the case against them and they are now sueing me for 48k in attorney fees and cost. UNREAL!!! The messed up part also is they never legally owned my note. Now I have to battle it out on my own. No attorney.

    I will be homeless. For over 20 yrs I was the one who helped the homeless. Now it's my turn thanks to fraud. I have a few months to go before I lose everything I own. The heart break will be my 4 legged babies who serve in our community as pet therapy dogs. And my program of 20 yrs that served the community in need.

    I am so ill from all this, no words can come close.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda May 28, 2009

    I knew GMAC was doing me wrong but had no idea how widespread it was until I found this website and read the complaints and really actual cases of FRAUD! My story is similar. I hit hard times the end of 07 and barely made it through 08 with a job that was seasonal and fell behind in my payments in december 08. The good LDS church sent a check to GMAC february 1st which brought the payments current but they held the check for almost 3 weeks and then sent it back with a letter stating it was not enough they wanted over twice that amount because it had gone to the lawyers and within a week I received the foreclosure papers asking for a little less not much less mind you and I am a single mother with no means to get that kind of money together so the home will be auctioned off June 29. The church put me in touch with legal aid services and the lawyer also gets the same runaround. They dont return phone calls and they say they never receive the paperwork from the lawyer! How absurd!! The lawyer is hoping to get funding for an injunction. That will stop the foreclosure process if Idaho has the funding to pay for it. I feel for all of you out there and I will light a candle and say a prayer for you. In closing I am shocked at the attitude and language used by the agents, how immature and rude. Good luck all. Linda in Island Park Idaho.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Fable May 22, 2009

    Your automatic payments may not be pulled by GMAC directly. I just refinanced my mortgage to a new company since my request for refinance information went unanswered.

    I signed up through Automatic payments some time ago though through a separate company called Equity Accelerator. This group seems to work with many of the mortage companies - GMAC included.

    Do a web search for them and give them a ring. I don't thik GMAC ever gave me the option to have automatic payments taken, but Equity Accelerator offered it to GMAC customers in like 2003 through a letter.

    Escrow amounts seem only to change annually when there is a shortfall or overage from what I can tell. I am not sure if it is possible to modify it in between.

    The trick is not only getting the amount changed through the company that takes your money, but getting the mortgage group to understand where the monies go. You would assume that they would take the principle and apply the rest to escrow - but unless they change the amount owed - you will appear delinquent.

    Good luck. I'm just wondering how long its going to take to see my Escrow returned to me since I had to front it as part of the refinancing mid-year.

    0 Votes
  • Our mortgage payment is taken directly from my weekly check. When my escrow percentage increased, my weekly payment went up accordingly.

    With taxes taking a dive due to unbelievable losses in home value, my escrow obligation reduced by over $100/month. Yet my monthly payment remains unchanged. STILL.

    And the first payment withdrawn from my check this month was automatically applied to principal, so I'm going to have to come up with that payment to make the monthly payment due. History has accumulated the weekly payments to make monthly payments, and now my account appears to be performing "Joe the Bookie" money shuffling - directly into GMAC's pocket while still expecting me to come up with the escrow/taxes/interest/regular monthly payment. What happened?!?

    I know GM long ago transferred all fiduciary accounting to the Bahamas. Did GMAC follow suit, only choosing to let the monkeys do the data entry??

    I wanted to stop the auto payments so I can submit my monthly payment directly. There is no way to do it through account maintenance and phone calls to GMAC customer service are dead ends, even when treated like pondscum while conversing with the clowns.

    I pay my bills on time and without complaint. But I am sick of having a company STEAL my money to pad its own coffers when I've given clear direction on how my money is to be applied.

    Does anyone know how to get a hold of someone at GMAC who can change account information from automatic payment to regular payment??

    0 Votes
  • De
    desperateandbroke Apr 29, 2009

    What happened/ is happening to us is like a science fiction of American business. First GMAC wrote us a letter saying that they require additional wind insurance for the 2009/10 year at a cost of $6, 000 if they write it, or, we can choose to double our mortgage payment for a year. DOUBLE IT. For over a year we had assumed that the insurance we had was adequate since we had never been advised otherwise all this time.

    We went immediately to our own insurance agent (as in ran/ not walked), and got the same coverage for $3, 000. Then, GMAC wrote us again telling us that ''oops ! Gee, we didn't have that same additional wind insurance for the year past either - that we also didn't have this insurance for the past year of 2008/09 BUT that they covered us, without telling us, without our agreeing to it, without us having any idea that they were doing so, because - oops again - they didn't realize it until now, a year later. Even though no claims were made and there was no damage, they started charging double payments of our mortgage.

    Obviously, we have no opportunity to now go to get our own insurance agent that would be half the cost of what GMAC has charged us. They say they notified us, but, they did n o t. Again, obviously had they done so, we knew to go to our own insurance agent immediately, as we did for this coming year. We also know to go to a mortgage co to refinance and get away from GMAC Mortgage no matter what.

    Of course we contacted our attorney and he's going to write a letter. He kept asking me the same questions as did the mortgage brokers we spoke with. None of them could believe what I was telling them and they were in awe of the audacity of GMAC. I hope they go bankrupt myself but then, the crooks who run the company will probably just spread out to other companies.

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    Agent 101 Apr 26, 2009

    you all are liars, i agree with waterloo not only that we are working for gmac but we know what we arew doing to give and help stupid customers like you..before you criticize gmac regarding your situation be sure to read your mortgage notes...as far as I concern, you dont know ### in regards to your complains...so shut the ### and may you rot on hell...

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    achoadhry Apr 16, 2009

    lets make a forum and expose this devil to Obama.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RogerG Apr 13, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had some damage to my home and the insurance company wrote the checks out to me and GMAC...therefore I had to get them to endorse the checks too.

    You would think it would be easy to find an address to send the checks to them to endorse and send back...Noooooooooooo! After being passed around like a $10 [censored] from no less than 4 phone numbers I finally blew a fuse and asked for a manager to assist me. I finally got the address that I needed...took almost an hour of my time to do this simple task.

    Could someone at GMAC get a clue?!?!?!?!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Morgana Apr 08, 2009

    worst customer service inthe whole wide world! I talked to rosanie one of the supervisors and yet she was so rude, acing like she doesnt want to talk to me, she keeps on insisting that i need to get rid of my PMI first before I waive my escrow account, the tone of her voice sounds like she wants to get rid of me, she shouldnt be a supervisor cause of her very bad attitude, Morgana Chicago, IL

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debbie Apr 05, 2009

    HIRE PEOPLE YOU CAN UNDERSTAND!!! Extremely frustrating to get someone from India on the phone who can't even say the word "bank" so you can understand!

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    Agent 101 Apr 04, 2009

    ATTENTION: ACCOUNT HOLDERS...
    if you want some asisstance, tips or problems in regards to your account feel free to sent me an e-mail at [email protected]
    if you dont want it..I DON'T CARE...thank you

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.