The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Global Directory of Who's WhoEntire company is a scam

C Review updated:

My business was contacted in 2008 about becoming a part of the Global Directory of Who's Who, which advertised itself to be a networking directory. We paid $699.00 for the membership and were subsequently charged $199.00 for a directory that we did not order. The total amount charged to our credit card was $967.99. To date, we have not received ANYTHING as a result of this money paid out - they sent us two wall plaques with the wrong name written on them, and when I contacted them about it back in December, they assured me that they would fix them and send new ones - we still have not received them almost four months later. They never sent us the directory they charged us $200 for. The company is impossible to get ahold of - you rarely reach anyone except for an answering machine.

I was contacted earlier today by a salesperson for the company named Chris Matthews, who verbally abused me. After I told him my boss was in a meeting and asked if there was something I could help him with, he informed me that I was not important enough for him to waste his time on, told me that he was making $100, 000 a year at his job while I was probably making ten dollars an hour, called me an "###, " said I had a smart mouth, and refused to let me speak to his supervisor because he was too busy to bother with people like me. I told him I wanted to cancel our membership and he refused to let me. I asked both to speak with his supervisor and to cancel my membership at LEAST 15 times and was denied every time. The situation was so ridiculous that it was almost comical. When I hung up, called back, and finally spoke with someone who was in charge, he wanted to know why I had been so rude to Mr. Matthews.

The company's policy is that all sales are final after three days. I have absolutely no confidence that this company will cancel my membership, so we're turning the case over to American Express to have them handle the dispute.

Responses

  • As
    as5869 Sep 21, 2009

    You have to be so careful with telemarketers, billing errors and more. You would be surprised how many fee's we all pay that we shouldn't. I am tired of fighting for my hard earned money back! So I am taking a stand and telling everyone I can about Bustabill (visit www.bustabill.com). Any invoice, telemarketing or rate reducing you need verified, voided or reduced, they take care of. As far as reimbursements it gets a bit more tricky, but they will try. The best thing is that they actually contact the company for you. Posting complaints is great for others to be aware but this company doesn't push paperwork back and forth they get it done!

    0 Votes
  • Db
    D. Brooks Dec 29, 2009

    I've been solicited by the company on numerous times over the last two years. As recently as today another email arrived 'inviting' me to sign up for their directory. The first time they contacted me two years ago I responded to their solicitation with an email reply of my interest. That triggered a follow-up "interview" phone call where they went through my work history to 'verify' their information. As I figured a listing in such a directory could be fun to brag about, I participated in the interview.

    At it's conclusion their representative told me that I had to purchase a $395.00 membership to assure that my entry would be included in their next edition. I replied that I was flattered by their invitation, there was no way I was paying for such an "honor". In fact, I told them that their invitation was extremely misleading and never mentioned a fee for inclusion. The representative had no answer for it and just tried to close the sale once more. I refused. I concur with this complaint that this company is a pure scam.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Normal0 Jan 22, 2010

    I have no business. I am a normal person; however, I got an invitation from them. Do I need to reply? Yes, if I was a stupid one. Please do a little research before you reply to an unknown email (most of them are scam.) Do not click the link (it may install dangerous software to your computer.). For this case, they just want your money by getting money from you and selling your information to anyone who needs it (you can name it).
    This is what a have from them:

    From: Brandon Morgan [mailto:[protected]@ymdirect1.com] On Behalf Of Brandon Morgan
    Sent: Friday, January 22, 2010 8:54 AM

    We would like to inform you of your selection into the 2010 Edition of Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals. This nomination is only bestowed upon a select few individuals who have displayed excellence in business, law, academia, medicine, and entrepreneurialism. We would encourage you to click the link below and verify your contact information.

    The Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals was created in recent years in order to properly catalog and provide contact details for leading professionals around the globe. This listing is an attempt at a comprehensive directory of producers, movers, and shakers within their respective fields. By becoming a member, you gain access to an enormous wealth of networking information and peer contact information on over 350, 000 members world-wide.

    We do require additional information to complete the selection process and kindly ask that you access this form on our website by Clicking Here

    Thank you for devoting a few moments time to this matter.

    Sincerely,

    Brandon Morgan
    Managing Director

    Empire Executive Registries | 34-01Broadway | Astoria | New York | 11101 | USA

    Unsubscribe

    Privacy Policy

    2 Votes
  • St
    StephenM Feb 02, 2010

    I received the same scam email (this is the latest) but with a different address and sender. I find it amusing that they would think I would take them seriously when they don't even send the emails from a domain associated with the name of the company they claim to represent.

    From: Global WW [mailto:[protected]@cellphonemasterdigital.com]
    Sent: February-02-10 12:03 AM
    To: XXXXXXXXXXX
    Subject: Stephen - Global Who's Who has Selected You!

    Dear Stephen,
    You were recently chosen as a potential candidate to represent your professional community in the 2010 Edition of Global Who's Who.
    We are please to inform you that your candidacy was formally approved February 1st, 2010. Congratulations.
    The Publishing Committee selected you as a potential candidate based not only upon your current standing, but focusing as well on criteria from executive and professional directories, associations, and trade journals. Given your background, the Director believes your profile makes a fitting addition to our publication.
    There is no fee nor obligation to be listed. As we are working off of secondary sources, we must receive verification from you that your profile is accurate. After receiving verification, we will validate your registry listing within seven business days.
    Once finalized, your listing will share prominent registry space with thousands of fellow accomplished individuals across the globe, each representing accomplishment within their own geographical area.
    To verify your profile and accept the candidacy, please visit here. Our registration deadline for this year's candidates is February 28th, 2010. To ensure you are included, we must receive your verification on or before this date. On behalf of our Committee I salute your achievement and welcome you to our association.
    Sincerely,
    John Franklin
    Vice President, Research Division

    The Global Directory of Who's Who
    4250 Veterans Highway, Suite 2050
    Holbrook, NY 11741, USA
    Phone: [protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    rain drop Feb 14, 2010

    The new scam among the scammers is romacpublishing.com, they are a complete scam that only want to steal your money. I was contacted by them and they told me that i owed a bill. I never even heard of this company and told them to go to hell. Watch out for the Romac Publishing Scam.

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    petikirige Feb 22, 2010

    I was contacted today by "Machael Bardo" who told me that he was my "personal account representative". He wanted to know about my professional history, as I had been nominated to The Global Directory of Who's Who (2010 edition). I was flattered and indulged Michael’s curiosity, as he appeared to be very professional.

    After a 12min "interview" I was congratulated on being selected to appear in the Global Directory of Who's Who, at the cost of US$649. This took me by surprise. I began to suspect the credibility of this Directory. I asked Michael time to think about this, but he persisted explaining to me that the Directory had a deadline to meet for the 2010 Edition.

    Michael added that if $649 were too expensive I could have (more or less) the same service for $149 (i.e. "for $500 less, what do you say?") Now I knew this was a scam and I politely refused. Michael just hung up without even a ‘good bye’ or ‘thank you’, so much for his professionalism. Who are these people anyway?

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tired of phishing scams Mar 15, 2010

    I too just received this scam in my inbox. Thankfully I searched the internet to see whether this was a fraud first because it all just seemed suspect. I'm not an executive, I work in an accounting department as a clerk. Not much of a "Who's Who" job. Here is what my letter said:


    From: [protected]@ratepoint.com; on behalf of; Brandon Morgan [[protected]@executiveregistryonline.com]
    To: XXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Subject: Your Invitation to a Global Networking Registry


    Having trouble viewing this email? Please click here Forward to a Friend
    To ensure delivery, please add [protected]@executiveregistryonline.com to your address book. SmartUnsubscribesm


    We would like to inform you of your selection into the 2010 Edition of Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals. This nomination is only bestowed upon a select few individuals who have displayed excellence in business, law, academia, medicine, and entrepreneurialism. We would encourage you to click the link below and verify your contact information.

    The Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals was created in recent years in order to properly catalog and provide contact details for leading professionals around the globe. This listing is an attempt at a comprehensive directory of producers, movers, and shakers within their respective fields. By becoming a member, you gain access to an enormous wealth of networking information and peer contact information on over 350, 000 members world-wide.

    We do require additional information to complete the selection process and kindly ask that you access this form on our website by Clicking Here

    Thank you for devoting a few moments time to this matter.

    Sincerely,

    Brandon Morgan
    Managing Director


    Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals
    30-01 Northern Blvd.
    LIC, NY 11101


    Update Profile/Email Address | SmartUnsubscribesm from this list | Privacy Policy

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    fluff1955 Mar 24, 2010

    I got the same email. They don't even know my name, but they think I'm just great! What a hoot! Here's a copy of the email they sent me.

    Good Day Candidate,

    I would like to inform you of your candidacy for publication in the Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals. This nomination is only bestowed upon a select few individuals who have displayed excellence in business, law, academia, medicine, and who have shown an entrepreneurial spirit. We would encourage you to click the link below and verify your contact information.

    The Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals was created in recent years in order to properly catalog and provide contact details for leading professionals around the globe. This listing is an attempt at a comprehensive directory of producers, movers, and shakers within their respective fields. By becoming a member, you gain access to an enormous wealth of networking information and peer contact information on over 350, 000 members world-wide.

    There is no cost or obligation associated with a basic listing. By simply clicking here you can verify your contact information and set in motion the publication process.

    Thank you for devoting a few moments time to this matter.

    Sincerely,

    Brandon Morgan
    Managing Director


    Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals
    30-01 Northern Blvd.
    LIC, NY 11101


    To unsubscribe from this mailing list: click here


    Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals
    30-01 Northern Blvd
    LIC, NY 11101
    USA

    0 Votes
  • Es
    Estonian Apr 13, 2010

    I live in Estonia, so I was very amused, when received this mail, the issue itself seems to be more for US businesses. Also it says that it carries no cost:))

    The letter:

    As you know, you have been considered for inclusion in the upcoming 2010 Edition of Who's Who for Executives and Professionals, which is scheduled for publication in late 2010. Despite our efforts to contact you, we have still not received your contact information. Who's Who, publisher of over 350, 000 biographies, continues to uphold its reputation as the world's foremost source for biographical reference, with an unmatched dedication to accurate biographical reporting.
    The publication's editors are now assembling the biographical profiles of today's leaders from a wide range of professional fields into one comprehensive collection. Thousands of researchers at medical, academic, public and corporate libraries, as well as journalists and media professionals, rely upon Who's Who as a daily reference tool for obtaining information about the world's most experienced men and women. Inclusion in the Who's Who directory is considered by many as a signal mark of achievement.
    To be considered for inclusion in this prestigious registry, you need only provide the requested information by completing our online biographical data form. Please Click Here to access your form.
    You have already been selected based on your current professional standing. The information you provide will be evaluated according to the selection criteria the Who's Who has developed over many years as the world's premier biographical publisher. If your data passes our initial screening, we will prepare your biography.
    I congratulate you on the achievements that have brought your name to the attention of our editorial committee. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Please remember: Inclusion of your biography in Who's Who of course carries neither cost nor commitment to you of any sort.

    Our goal with each new edition is to prepare a biographies spanning the spectrum of noteworthy and accomplished men and women across all areas of the professional world.

    Sincerely,

    Brandon Morgan
    Editor-in-Chief

    0 Votes
  • Ry
    ryan ossevorth May 30, 2010

    scam or no scam the directory of who's who is questionable.

    i have received three emails to date. i will copy and paste the latest below. when i clicked the link, it sent me to a page where they wanted all my personal information as a confirmation for my inclusion in this wonderful little project.

    i do not put this kind of information into anything on the internet. you should wary too. i have had no contact by anyone from this company. they may be preying on my ego, bu ti have not heard of this in any business related topics EVER. i do business all the time, i am all over the internet, and i have never heard of this directory.

    when i first received the email, i thought maybe i could use it for the credibility factor. but i don;t really need that. so ego out, there is nothing there for me. i have not contacted them, and will not unless they keep emailing me. i have tried to opt out twice, but the message is not gettting through.

    here is the email:

    Dear Ryan,

    You were recently chosen as a potential candidate to represent your professional community in the 2010/2011 Edition of The Global Directory of Who's Who Online.

    We are please to inform you that your candidacy was formally approved May 25th, 2010. Congratulations.

    The Publishing Committee selected you as a potential candidate based not only upon your current standing, but focusing as well on criteria from executive and professional directories, associations, and trade journals. Given your background, the Director believes your profile makes a fitting addition to our publication and our online network.

    There is no fee nor obligation to be listed. As we are working off of secondary sources, we must receive verification from you that your profile is accurate. After receiving verification, we will validate your online listing within 7 business days.

    Once finalized, your listing will share prominent registry space with thousands of fellow accomplished individuals across the globe, each representing accomplishment within their own geographical area.

    To verify your profile and accept the candidacy, please visit here. Our registration deadline for this year's candidates is June 30th, 2010. To ensure you are included, we must receive your verification on or before this date. On behalf of our Committee I salute your achievement and welcome you to our association.

    Sincerely,
    John Franklin
    Vice President, Research Division

    The Global Directory of Who's Who
    4250 Veterans Highway, Suite 2050
    Holbrook, NY 11741, USA

    think twice about this stuff people.
    ryan ossevorth.

    0 Votes
  • Rb
    RBLondon Jun 01, 2010

    I thought it was a bit of an ego massage and flattery but when I googled the company and this was the first site, alarm bells.. not had to pay anything. BUt this this is the letter (they got my name correct and used my work email, as a medical professional this would not be unexpected )

    -----------------

    Dear Rebecca,

    You were recently chosen as a potential candidate to represent your professional community in the 2010/2011 Edition of The Global Directory of Who's Who Online.

    We are please to inform you that your candidacy was formally approved May 25th, 2010. Congratulations.

    The Publishing Committee selected you as a potential candidate based not only upon your current standing, but focusing as well on criteria from executive and professional directories, associations, and trade journals. Given your background, the Director believes your profile makes a fitting addition to our publication and our online network.

    There is no fee nor obligation to be listed. As we are working off of secondary sources, we must receive verification from you that your profile is accurate. After receiving verification, we will validate your online listing within 7 business days.

    Once finalized, your listing will share prominent registry space with thousands of fellow accomplished individuals across the globe, each representing accomplishment within their own geographical area.

    To verify your profile and accept the candidacy, please <http://b2bemailcontact.net/cgi-bin/clickthru/31187/5843/610493>visit here. Our registration deadline for this year's candidates is June 30th, 2010. To ensure you are included, we must receive your verification on or before this date. On behalf of our Committee I salute your achievement and welcome you to our association.

    Sincerely,
    John Franklin
    Vice President, Research Division

    The Global Directory of Who's Who
    4250 Veterans Highway, Suite 2050
    Holbrook, NY 11741, USA

    Confidentiality Notice: This e-mail communication and any attachments may contain confidential and privileged information for the use of the designated recipients named above. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that you have received this communication in error and that any review, disclosure, dissemination, distribution or copying of it or its contents is prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please delete the communication and unsubscribe from the mailing using the options available in this email.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jimhpc Jun 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We got charged again on our American Express card and were told that if we disputed the amount $212 than we would be charged the entire $668 dollars that remained on our account. We told them we wanted to cancel our account. When I said that I felt they were a scam, they said that they would charge us for the entire amount. They indicated that they have every conversation taped and that we had agreed verbally to the account 2 years abo. . We did receive a plague. Don't seem to be a reputable company.

    0 Votes
  • Dl
    dlo1914 Jun 09, 2010

    i received the same letter, from John Franklin. it seems that i fell for it, ego massage junkie that i am. i clicked on the link and my virus protection did not allow me to go there, lucky me. i then googled the company, global directory, and this came up. they used the name Strathmore Directories in the e-mail as well, which appears to be legit, though not affiliated with the scammers. Totally Agree, BIG TIME SCAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • As
    ASang Jun 14, 2010

    Same here. Of course first thing I always do in this type of situation is google the title of email + "scam" and voilà, always get a hit. For the credit card folks, don't deal with the scammer; instead call the credit card cie Amex or whatever to cancel the transaction and if they start arguing, tell them you want to cancel both the transaction and the card. If they insist, tell them you are in a litigation process with the scammer and demand the credit cie legal contact...They will cancel the transactions. After all, what credit cie wants to involve a 500$/hr legal dept for a $200 claim?

    0 Votes
  • La
    lasnob1956 Jun 15, 2010

    I received the same email today from John Franklin, Vice President, Research Division, from Global Directory of Who's Who. I didn't click the link or respond to the email. The first thing I did was research the web and I'm glad I did! Thank you for posting this information it is greatly appreciated.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike9 Jun 28, 2010

    I received the same email but mine came from an email address with the associated nickname " Jon Entwhistle", which is very close to the name "John Entwhistle" who just happens to be the bass guitarist from The Who. This scamming company at least made me laugh a little with this.

    Of course I would never respond to them or click any of their links. That would just be foolish.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chrissy1011 Jun 29, 2010

    My boyfriend worked for this company. they want you to beleive they are the real 411 but North American Directory Assistance is a complete Scam. It is a small telemarketing room in downrtown MTL owned and opperated by the scott Brothers and Ray. These guys have many telemarketing rooms and share their customers with everyone. dont be suprised if you get a call from BustaBill either that is there new company which is also a scam aimed at trying to eliminate all there competition and get you to pay there sister companys ect. You dont have to pay them NO MATTER WHAT THEY SAY. They cant do anything to you, even of they say third party collections or debt recovery its just a threat.Your best bet it to write to your attorny gen, The BBB and Phonebusters. Do not pay them even if they have a recording. most provinces and states wont even reconignize a verbal agreement and even if they do this scam co will never bring you to court as it is the last place they ever want to be. If you ever went after them legally YOU would win 100%. They are all a bunch of liars trying to steal your hard earned money Don't let them get you. next time they call tell them your reporting them and calling your lawyer.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr. Tee Sep 02, 2010

    Same for me, now they even try to acquire customers in oversea. Additionally they "promoted" another musician to be a Managing Director. I was contacted by "Eric Johnson", but the content of the mail is the same as mentioned above several times.
    So google is your friend in finding scamers, guys be aware..
    Greetings from Germany

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BeckyC2 Sep 13, 2010

    I just received one of these bogus emails. They didn't even put my name in the to line. All it said was:

    {Today's Date} (not kidding...this is "")

    Dear {Name}, (this too, man they are fetting pretty sloppy).

    You were recently chosen as a potential candidate to represent your professional community in the 2010/2011 Canterbury Who's Who Registry among Executives, Professionals & Entrepreneurs.

    What a scam and a crock.

    If I had the I.Q. of a desk lamp maybe I would respond...but, I think not!!!

    Maybe there should be an online "Who's Who" of the people who were smart enough to avoid this pathetic attempt to rip people off.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tawnyk25 Sep 14, 2010

    I'm a college student working an unpaid internship ... I'm most decidedly not an executive, but I got the same e-mail today. What a bunch of losers! Always check these scams so you don't end up like my mother-in-law who's given more than 250K to scammers because she's too trusting!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Crileyteach Nov 01, 2010

    (this is what I keep getting!! Look out. Not sure why I am getting these)

    Dear Carrie,

    Congratulations Carrie on your provisional acceptance to the 2010 Edition of the Executive Registry.

    Our Candidate Review staff is currently evaluating the information you provided us. If you qualify for membership after the candidate review process, a representative in the research department will be contacting you to gather more information for the upcoming publication which will include your biography.

    We look forward to welcoming you as a member and hope you enjoy all the benefits and recognition available to our members.

    Benjamin Stevens
    Candidate Review Committee


    Privacy Policy (i cant get them to stop spamming me up to 8 times a day! even when i hit "unsubscribe" postmaster returned it as The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----".

    "The reason your mail is being returned to you is listed in the section
    labeled: "----- Transcript of Session Follows -----".

    The line beginning with "<<<" describes the specific reason your e-mail could
    not be delivered. The next line contains a second error message which is a
    general translation for other e-mail servers.

    Please direct further questions regarding this message to the e-mail
    administrator or Postmaster at that destination.

    --AOL Postmaster


    ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
    <[protected]@executiveregistry-usa.com>

    ----- Transcript of session follows -----
    <[protected]@executiveregistry-usa.com>... Deferred: Connection refused by executiveregistry-usa.com.
    Message could not be delivered for 3 hours
    Message will be deleted from queue


    How to stop???
    Carrie

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    fed-up34 Nov 14, 2010

    These guys are relentless!!! How many time can I receive an email saying "Final Notice" ???

    How can I explain to these people that they need to get a real job? Something that does not upset people!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marginalia Dec 06, 2010

    I am based in Sweden and just got one of these letters signed by an Eric Johnson. The letter starts out like this:
    "I would like to inform you of your selection for inclusion into the 2011 Who's Who Among Executives & Professionals. First and foremost let me be the first to wish you congratulations on your achievement.
    The tradition of the Who's Who reaches back more then a hundred years to a time when the prestigious and accomplished were featured in a yearly publication that defined high society. "

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JonathanS Jan 04, 2011

    I think it is time that we, as honest internet users, find a way to pay these people back ten-fold. Any ideas?

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    KimSun Feb 24, 2011

    This is an old, old, scam which exists solely to sell useless publications, which may or may not even exist in print. With the advent of the Net, it's only natural the scam has also transitioned online. The current recession and the always-resulting high unemployment brings out these scams like sharks to blood. The current economy means scores of newly-unemployed people are posting their names and resumes all over the Net, desperately searching for jobs and inputting their personal 411 on sites which promise to get their name and skills out there to potential "dream job" employers, such as those who read, in this case, the "oh-so-prestigious" Canterbury "Who's Who." Huh? Never heard of it. But I easily found the complaints posted about this publication. None surprised me.
    When hiring executives are looking to fill a position, they are not anxiously awaiting, nor even consulting, new editions of such publications -- IF they ever even see such a manual since most are non-existent.
    IT ALL COMES DOWN TO THIS: You should never pay for employment. That's the very first tip-off that you should have no further contact and should direct such offers to your SPAM folder. Don't pay to become employed, period.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    KimSun Feb 24, 2011

    Did anyone else notice Canterbury is spelled "C;nterbury" in the first reference on the e-invitation notice? Quite telling in itself, jah?

    0 Votes
  • Sn
    Snurok Mar 15, 2011

    They called me pretending they wre lawyers form [protected]. I told them to go Fu... themselves.
    They are looking to cheat those who are mentally [censor]ed!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John5678 Apr 18, 2011

    SCAM!!! Just got the same email to my work address!

    Dear John,

    You were recently chosen as a potential candidate to represent your professional community in the 2011 Edition of The Global Directory of Who's Who Online.

    To verify your profile and accept the candidacy, please visit here.

    We are pleased to inform you that your candidacy was formally approved March 23rd, 2011. Congratulations.

    The Publishing Committee selected you as a potential candidate based not only upon your current standing, but focusing as well on criteria from executive and professional directories, associations, and trade journals. Given your background, the Director believes your profile makes a fitting addition to our publication and our online network.

    There is no fee nor obligation to be listed. As we are working off of secondary sources, we must receive verification from you that your profile is accurate. After receiving verification, we will validate your online listing within 7 business days.

    Once finalized, your listing will share prominent registry space with thousands of fellow accomplished individuals across the globe, each representing accomplishment within their own geographical area.

    To verify your profile and accept the candidacy, please visit here.

    Our registration deadline for this year's candidates is May 30th, 2011. To ensure you are included, we must receive your verification on or before this date. On behalf of our Committee I salute your achievement and welcome you to our association.

    Sincerely,
    John Franklin
    Vice President, Research Division

    The Global Directory of Who's Who
    4250 Veterans Highway, Suite 2050
    Holbrook, NY 11741, USA

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bingo Boy Sep 19, 2011

    This company hires crooks!!! they charge you without even calling and then they hire hit men who work the system by beating you charge back claim . They look at it like this... illegally charge say $50, 000 per week and if they save half of it they make $25, 000. SCAM One employee simply calls you then mumbles, then goes ha ha ha and next thing you know, you have a $1299 charge on you credit card. CROOKS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    AJwhistleblower Sep 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also received a call in the UK after responding to a similar email. They are clearly expanding overseas but thanks to putting the phone number into Google I discovered this and other complaints so will tell them I am reporting them and will go to my lawyer!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack 315 Feb 28, 2012

    I received their most flattering invitation to apply via the web, and I completed the form. I was just contacted by "Lynda" on New York, who interviewed me to make sure I met their stringent requirements. After congratulating me, she told me all about all the wonderful benefits, including a wall plaque and a magazine subscription, all for only $695.00. When I told her I wanted to do some research on the company first, she immediately gave me their company website (www.worldwidewhoswho.com) and encouraged me to peruse the website, and for sure to read all the testimonials. She assured me that I would have to look no further. But meanwhile, to hold my place, "Let's get the membership set up now". When I said I wanted to research the company outside their website, the price dropped to $500+ for 5 years (the $695 was lifetime "Platinum" membership, while the $500+ would be "gold". She continued to tell me that this is a one-day offer, and, "Do I at least have your permission to give this information to our "?" department (I forget the name), so they can get things rolling for you, for only $195.00, and after you research the company, I can upgrade you to the platinum". Again, I told her I would not be spending ONE CENT on the company until I did an independent analysis of their company. She wasn't quite as friendly by this time, but not rude either. I asked her to call me in a few hours after I had time to do my research, and she gave me her number to call her back instead. I suspect I've heard the last of "Lynda". Total scam. Jack 315

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BigLou58 Apr 13, 2012

    My BF got sucked into this. First charge was around 200, then a month ago they hit him again for 299.00. Some rude ### called him today and demanded a payment of $600.00 by the end of the week or he would be turned over to thier legal dept. Appearently they want around $6000 to pull him from the list. We are contacting the Maryland States Attourney on Monday. I will see this thru to the end and promise to stand behind anyone that wants to SHUT THEM DOWN for good.

    We are pissed!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel Less Sep 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have just recently received a message from this "company", The Global Registry, and I live in Stockholm, Sweden!
    I have never even heard of these people before, they must be pretty desperate for new easy "marks" to make money off!
    Although I have recently started a company of my own, in the bio-tech sector, it's incomprehensible to me how they have alteady obtained that kind of information on my whereabouts.
    I'm really sick and tired of all scammers and con-artists, it seems sometimes half your workday is taken up by doing backgroundchecks on people!
    Daniel Less
    Stockholm
    Sweden

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    MS-Jason Jan 22, 2013

    I can personally attest to the fact that this company is not a scam. After being contacted and paying for the service and book, I decided for financial reasons it was not in my best interest to use my discretionary for the services. I called and expressed my concerns and was put through to the Vice President Connor Walsh. He was very accommodating and not only offered less costly options, but also the opportunity to receive all of my money back. I will absolutely be signing up service and the book next year once I have more expendable income.

    Throughout the whole process the staff was nothing but polite, respectful, understanding, and accommodating. I experienced none of the accusations seen in this complaint forum, and as previously mentioned, will be signing up and paying for the Global Book of Who's Who in the future. I will also be recommending the service to friends and colleagues.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donald R. Handy Feb 14, 2013

    I received a call yesterday stating that I had been located on Linked In and was subsequently nominated by the Global Directory of Who' s Who in the Professional Industry. The information given me was easily obtained as my resume is made public on Linked In. The contact number was [protected] and the representative supposedly was a one Miss Jacqlyn Turner . She was requesting membership of five years for $500.00. Thank God I checked this website before doing anything.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathy Parker Apr 06, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mr. Richards contacted me from this company. I only got scammed for $40, and the number he left never answered. I just received another email from them today.

    0 Votes
  • Sj
    S J P May 14, 2013

    I too rec'd a similar letter stating that i was made a candidate for the 2013 Global Who's Who. I was told to fill out a short 3 question page to verify my profile. Now they did not even have my name in this nominee letter. and my having been on Social Security Disability for the past 13 years wondered at my quote " high standing as well as from Professional and Executive roasters. Now when I was working I did have many great efforts and work standards but that being over 13 years ago how could they possibly begin to know any of this. My first thought in exposing this as a scam was the fact they didn't even know who I was..no mention of my own name or areas of work etc. They had a fake BBB accreditation mark on their site as when I checked the company name in both the BBB and the online BBB there was no record of any such company. After trying several other searches I finally got to this site and saw so many comments on this and other Who's Who listed companies. I did not fill out their page of demographic or company questions. Before i deal with any company I always check their BBB standing.

    So please do not follow any letters like this or similar company Who's Who emails...just delete them as spam as I did..Let's let as many people as we can know the risk in these spam emails and others...Make it a point to always go to the BBB first they are a trusted source for finding out if a business of any kind is a viable and worthy company to deal with.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    subsetsum Jul 30, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are still at it. I have also received a number of these emails but they have made slight changes. Here's the latest from [protected]@worldinitiate.us entitled "Your Invitation". The header reads "Global Who's Who The Premier Networking Organization for Professionals Official Candidate Submission".
    Dear {First Name}
    You were recently chosen as a potential candidate to represent your professional community in the 2013 Edition of Global Who's Who.

    We are please to notify you that your candidacy was formally approved April 3rd, 2013. Congratulations!

    The Publishing Committee selects you as a potential candidate, based upon your current standing as well as criteria from executive and professional rosters. Given your background, the Publishing Director believes your profile would make a fitting addition to our publication.

    As we are working off of secondary sources, we must receive verification from you that your profile is accurate. After receiving verification, we will validate your online listing within 7 business days.
    There is no fee or cost to be included.

    To verify your profile and accept the candidacy, please click here. On behalf of our Committee I salute your achievements and welcome you to our association.

    John DAgostino
    Registry Administrator

    ###S

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MissKat Sep 05, 2013

    I have had to file a formal complaint about the "Global Professional Network" out of NY with their BBB.
    Thankfully I didn't fall for their fake business. Unfortunately, I was so curious as to who had approved me that I filed through their website link and realized they had just got my information -what they wanted! So aggravating! Then they proceeded to sell (they deny they sold it) to Madison's Who Who who I filed another BBB complaint against!
    DO NOT DEAL WITH ANY OF THESE WHO'S WHO companies! They are all a scam!
    And if that A-hole was making $100K a year at that job he's full of C***!
    Best defense is contact the BBB for the City, State that sent you the "Approval" and google!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MissKat Sep 05, 2013

    You were recently recommended as a potential candidate to represent your professional community by one of your peers in the 2013/2014 Edition of the Global Professional Network.
    We are pleased to inform you that your candidacy was formally approved June 20th, 2013. Congratulations!
    The Publishing Committee recognized you as a potential candidate based not only upon your current standing, but focusing as well on criteria from executive and professional directories, associations, and trade journals. Given your background, the Director believes your profile makes a fitting addition to our publication and our online network.
    There is no fee nor obligation to be listed. As we are working off of secondary sources, we must receive verification from you that your profile is accurate. After receiving verification, we will validate your online listing within 7 business days.
    Once finalized, your listing will share prominent registry space with thousands of fellow accomplished individuals across the globe, each representing accomplishment within their own geographical area.
    To verify your profile and accept the candidacy, please visit here.

    Our registration deadline for this year's candidates is August 20th, 2013. To ensure you are included, we must receive your verification on or before this date. On behalf of our Committee I salute your achievement and welcome you to our association.
    Sincerely,
    Jason Peterson
    Vice President, Research Division

    Global Professional Network
    26 Bond Street
    Westbury, NY 11542, USA

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions