[Resolved] Getaroomexcessive and erroneous hotel charges

T Jul 05, 2019

Two rooms were booked for an employee training in April. The room charges were more than $100 per night more what they would have been if booked directly through the hotel, AND we were charged sales tax, which we should not have been since we are 501(c)(3) organization with a sales tax exemption in Florida.

We request an immediate refund of the excessive room charges ($119 per room, per night, totaling $476) as well as an immediate refund of the sales tax of $329.69 ($164.84 for 1 room & $164.85 for the other).

Itinerary # R1436645798 & R1436662346

Thank you,
Tammy Sanner
[protected] x403

  • Getaroom's response · Jul 08, 2019

    Thank you for contacting and bringing your concerns to our attention. While we strive to provide exceptional customer service to all our customers, we know things can happen that prevent us from achieving this objective. If we have failed to meet your expectations, we appreciate letting us know, so we can continue to improve our services.
    We understand from the nature of your complaint, that you have questions or concerns regarding our tax recovery charges and service fees. To help clarify, this charge includes the estimated amount we pay to the hotel in connection with your reservation for taxes owed by the hotel including, but not limited to sales and use tax, occupancy tax, room tax, excise tax, value added tax and/or other similar taxes. In certain locations, the tax amount may also include government imposed service fees or other fees not paid directly to the taxing authorities but required by law to be collected by the hotel. The amount paid to the hotel in connection with your reservation for taxes may vary from the amount we estimate and include in the charge to you. The balance of the charge for Taxes and Fees is a fee we retain as part of the compensation for our services and to cover the costs of your reservation.

    Our records indicate that on 03/27/2019, 1:25 PM (America/New York) you purchased a hotel reservation for Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Int'l Drive/Convention Ctr located at 8745 International Dr. Orlando, FL 32819. By securing this reservation over the phone, you had to agree to the terms and conditions of this booking prior to submitting payment. In addition, upon completion of your booking, an electronic copy of your itinerary was sent via email to the following address ([email protected]) that you provided.
    All prepaid reservations are fully disclosed by the Reservation Specialist with the cancellation policy, terms and conditions of booking, along with all the subtotal, tax recovery charges and service fees.

    While we go to great lengths to adequately disclose the tax recovery charges and service fees we charge, we realize the process can sometimes be confusing. However, in an effort to resolve your concerns and as a gesture of goodwill, we will be issuing a refund in the amount of ($50.00) back to the original form of payment for each booking. This refund has been processed today and it will take approximately 3 – 5 business days to post back to your account.
    We regret any inconvenience or frustration that this experience has caused you and hope you find this gesture to be sincere and in good faith.

    Consumer Relations

  • Resolution Statement

    Customer Service has done everything in their power to resolve the complaint. All attempts to contact the customer have failed. Therefore, the complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and its services are concerned.

Post your comment