Having problems with Gate 1 Travel?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Gate 1 Travel Customer Service Contacts

1800 682 3333 (USA and Canada)
1300 653 618 (Australia)
+1 215 572 7676 (International)
455 Maryland Drive
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
United States - 19034
Mon9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tue9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wed9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thu9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Fri9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Sat10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sun10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Australia
6/10 Hoddle Street, Abbotsford VIC 3067, Australia

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with Gate 1 Travel Customer Service. Initial Gate 1 Travel complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for Gate 1 Travel above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about Gate 1 Travel. Discuss the issues you have had with Gate 1 Travel and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.

Gate 1 Travel Complaints & Reviews

Gate 1 TravelFlight cancelled

Two days before my flight was supposed to happen I got an email informing me it was cancelled this was on September since then no one has contacted me and I have sent an email with no response back, they dont have any number you can call and all they do is send you the same automatic resposnes, now I am wondering if they are ever going to do it or are they just a scam.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Yu
      yunna skliarova Nov 25, 2020
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      Waiting for them to refund me since April ! They said the Airline refused a refund, which is simply not true.I contacted the Airline, they say my refund was never requested.

      0 Votes
    • Da
      David Goren Nov 15, 2020
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      Gate 1 travel is a tour operator and does not just sell airline tix. Are you sure your referring to gate1travel.com?

      0 Votes

    Gate 1 TravelSafari trip to Tanzania and return Trip. Trip cancelled and no refund was received

    Payment made by cc#xxxxxxxxxxxx8981 on 11/29/19: Deposit of $1672 for Air and $1167 for Land.Total $2839 plus $878 for insurance.

    Two reservations were involved: Customer 5111340 Judith Rose Normandin; Customer reservation numbers: [protected] (Normandin) and 1891509 (DiSalvo).

    I wish that my payment will be refunded ASAP.

    I can be reached at [protected] or [protected]@snet.net

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      Gate 1 TravelRefund

      I have been waiting for a refund, since March for $1, 834.35 on reservation 1729958 account ID 3273748 Beverly conklin 1711 willow Oak Cir Dickinson Texas [protected]/361/366/6033
      when will we be refunded.
      robert Conklin

      1729958 9 Day Classic Egypt with 3 day nile cruise 9 May 20 cancellation was made by Gate 1 in March 20

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        RESOLVED

        The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

        • Gate 1 Travel's response · May 22, 2020

          Upon review, we do see a refund was issued to an address we had on file, however, it does differ than the information you listed above. As such please contact us so that we can review further and assist.

        May 03, 2020

        Gate 1 Travel — So american 12 night gate 1 tour ended on night 5 by covid-19

        Our Gate 1 Travel trip & tour to S. America was curtailed at dinner on day 5 (Friday, 3/13/20) in Iguassu...

        Apr 20, 2020

        Gate 1 Travel — Airfare refund

        December 8, 2019, my friends and I made a reservation with Gate 1 to travel to Europe June 7, 2020. With the...

        We are here to help

        • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
        • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
        • Honest and unbiased reviews
        • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

        Gate 1 Travel"resolved"

        I'm not sure what "resolved" means on these complaints. I just received an email stating complaint was "resolved". This was complaint from two years ago and I've never had any response of any kind... again - joke!

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          The complaint has been investigated and
          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
          Resolved
          Gate 1 TravelAirline penalty

          We cancelled our trip to Dubai with intention to rebook, Gate 1 gave us a credit minus Swiss Air's cancellation penalty of $300 each = $600.

          There has been no way to receive a credit from the airline, which tells us that we have to go through Gate 1, not directly to them. I cannot believe that Gate 1 cannot negotiate with Swiss Air to be able to rebook the flight for the time we reserve with Gate 1. This is not just in this situation. Gate 1 tells me it should not have been cancelled, but postponed. But Gate 1 did this, not us.

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            • Gate 1 Travel's response · Mar 23, 2020

              As it relates to coronavirus leniency, Gate 1 is not assessing penalties for airline ticket cancellations or changes, nor are we keeping funds that airlines have refunded. Airlines are changing policies regularly. Airline fees are imposed by the carrier at the time of cancellation. Please understand that airline waivers and leniency cannot be applied after cancellations have been processed.

            Mar 12, 2020

            The complaint has been investigated and
            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
            Resolved
            Gate 1 Travel — Unwilling to Reschedule due to Coronavirus

            I booked a trip to Turkey in December 2019 using Gate 1 travel, a company we had used several times before...

            The complaint has been investigated and
            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
            Resolved
            Gate 1 TravelTrip 1911515

            The day after receiving my check of over $2400 to pay the trip in full the company claimed they received a cancellation notice from my email. At no time did they reach out to either one of the customer to verified this transaction. We request a copy of the email of this cancellation and nothing. Then the lovely lady on the phone to resolve this problem was getting snippy. I have sent all my friends through this company but never again. Who has that kind of money to waste. This is my fifth trip with Gate 1 and I'm disappointed and very upset. Now we are being told that if there is a airline cost difference we have to pay. Inexcusable.

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              • Gate 1 Travel's response · Feb 26, 2020

                Naturally we regret the inconvenience and any undue stress. Upon review, a cancellation was submitted providing not only your name as it appears on your passport, but your reservation number, departure date and phone number from your account.

              Dec 11, 2019

              The complaint has been investigated and
              resolved to the customer's satisfaction
              Resolved
              Gate 1 Travel — co unwilling to reschedule

              I was scheduled to travel to Jordan in November with Gate 1 (itinerary #1829298). The day before I was to...

              Nov 08, 2019

              Gate 1 Travel — dangerous travel with gate 1 - reservation # 1747669

              To Whom it may concern, At this point, I am a very dissatisfied customer with Gate 1, not only with the...

              The complaint has been investigated and
              resolved to the customer's satisfaction
              Resolved
              Gate 1 Travelindependent tour hotel refund

              Gate 1 Travel is absolutely, positively the worst travel company for customer service. I booked an independent tour to Paris earlier this summer for my 70th Birthday. When we arrived at our hotel, the room was extremely warm. After dinner, upon returning to the room, the inside temperature was over 90 degrees. The Front Desk told me the air conditioning was not working. I asked for a fan and they gave me a space heater. I then decided to cancel the hotel reservation and leave the hotel prior to staying the first night. The hotel told me to contact
              Gate 1 for a refund and was fully aware we did not stay one night at the property because of the extreme heat with no air conditioning. We booked and paid for another hotel for our entire stay in Paris. Upon our return I contacted Gate 1 and requested a refund. I got no response. I contacted the Better Business Bureau for help. I then contacted the Gate 1 Service Vice President. She refused to discuss my issue because I had contacted the Better Business Bureau. She was rude, insulting and refused to discuss the issue. I wrote a certified letter to the Gate 1 Senior Vice President who refused to issue a refund as she claimed the hotel denied we left the property! She reported the hotel claimed we stayed the entire time! She requested "Documentation to prove I did not stay at the hotel". I sent her a copy of the bill from my alternative hotel. Upon receipt she refused the refund, again asking for "Documentation" before she would consider anything. Gate 1 Travel failed to meet their fiduciary responsibility as agent for this hotel. Traveling to a foreign country one expects some level of support from the travel agency that booked your complete trip. Gate 1 does not.

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                • Gate 1 Travel's response · Sep 04, 2019

                  Naturally we regret to hear of your unhappiness with your accommodations. We do try to assist clients whenever possible and provide an emergency contact number that is available 24-7 that clients can utilize should they need assistance while traveling. Unfortunately, it does not appear you contacted us when this issue arose.
                  When you did reach out on your return, we contacted the hotel multiple times on your behalf. They advised that the weather was not hot during your stay and that they have no record of anyone complaining that their room was too hot, nor informing them they would be leaving the hotel. As such, they have charged Gate 1 in full per the terms of your reservation. Having made mention of working in the industry, it seems you may be familiar with the cancellation policies imposed by hotels.
                  We are sorry if you feel there was any lapse in service, as we have tried to address your complaints as best we could. As to the documentation requested, we were referring to confirmation by the hotel's management attesting to the fact that you did indeed check out and their agreement to refund for the unused nights, which is contrary to what they have informed us.

                The complaint has been investigated and
                resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                Resolved
                Gate 1 Travelweb site

                I've been trying to get on the website for over a week to check the status of my payments for our river cruise next spring. OK, I really mean that I can't get throught!! My complaint is too short!!?? What is this?

                Each time I try the web site, I get the following:

                This page isn't working www.gate1travel.com is currently unable to handle this request.
                HTTP ERROR 502

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  • Gate 1 Travel's response · Jul 11, 2019

                    We are sorry for the inconvenience, however we are not currently aware of any issues and our IT department can not determine why you are receiving the error message. That said, as you made your reservation with a travel agent you should reach out to them with any questions about your balance or payments. Thank you.

                  The complaint has been investigated and
                  resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                  Resolved
                  Gate 1 Travelmorocco tour in february 2019

                  My wife and myself took a tour with Gate 1 to Morocco in February, which I must say was very nicely organized. Where I have had an unpleasant experience with Gate 1 is in the booking of my flights thru Gate 1, and their refusal to address my issue. In booking our flights we requested Premium Economy on all flights to and from Atlanta / Morocco. We paid a surcharge of $599.00 each. The only flight we were accommodated in Premium Economy was Atalanta / Morocco. Connecting flight from Paris to Morocco was economy class with some of our fellow tour group who never paid any surcharge. Based on Gate 1 refusal to compensate for a product we paid for is unacceptable. My advice to anyone is, do not book your flights thru Gate 1, you are not guaranteed to get what you are paying for.

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    • Gate 1 Travel's response · Apr 29, 2019

                      After reviewing your records, it appears the flight from Atlanta to Paris and the flight from Paris to Casablanca were in Premium Economy. The other flight segments were in Comfort Seating. It all depends on how each aircraft is configured however none of the seats that you were in were classified as Economy. As advised, should you still feel that you did not get what you paid for, our recommendation is to file a claim with the airline directly.

                    Gate 1 Travel — trip to india

                    I am writing to complain about a vocation trip which I booked in your travel agency. I suppose to travel with...

                    The complaint has been investigated and
                    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                    Resolved
                    Gate 1 Travel — china tour july 18

                    We had a fantastic time and our guide was extremely good. I am upset about damage done to my 16 year old...

                    Gate 1 Travel — 12 day paris italy trip

                    Overall the trip was wonderful. We enjoyed ourselves very much. It was a great experience. However, the...

                    The complaint has been investigated and
                    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                    Resolved
                    Gate 1 Travel — airline reservations - not allowed to make seat reservations

                    Instead of being excited for my upcoming trip to Austria, I am extremely concerned. At the time of purchasing...

                    Gate 1 Travelicelandair

                    Booked 6 day Iceland Northern lights tour starting March 31 to April 5. I was not informed that their were different class of airline tickets as Gate 1 handled all arrangements. Icelandair charged me for my bags from Newark to Reykjavik and Reykjavik to Newark. Flight Itinerary for reservation is #: 1379677. The trip was wonderful with the exception of the baggage charges I was not made aware of before hand.
                    I believe I am due the baggage charges from Gate 1 that I was charged.
                    Nowhere in your documents sent to me that I would be charged for baggage.

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      Gate 1 Travelcustomer service

                      Terrible customer service while in Venice. We purchased a transport voucher through Gate 1 Travel, to take us from hotel to airport. We called Customer Service at Gate 1 Travel in Venice to find out if we could request a street taxi instead of water taxi, as we both developed bronchitis. The customer service supervisor, JEN, rudely said no, and that there would be No Refund. We had to use the voucher or lose our money. We never asked for our money back. Only to find out if the transportation could be changed to street taxi because we were very sick, it was freezing cold (35 degrees), possible rain, and our pick up time was 4:40 AM. Dark and cold. We also understood, according to Gate 1 Travel documents on Page 18, that after water taxi dropped us off, we'd have 1/2 mile walk to the airport terminal. This is outrageous. I tried to find out about this prior to our departure as I called Gate 1 Travel, and the rep said she didn't know anything about it. I said I was worried, but she could care less. Then with our phone call with Jen of Gate 1 Travel, we brought this up about the 1/2 mile walk that is stated in their travel documents. She didn't know anything about it. Jen put us on hold. Jen came back and said that she spoke with "someone" just then, and found out that our boat driver could call ahead for a taxi.

                      Upon arriving at the mooring dock near airport (the boat taxi was good. not cold as it was enclosed), the airport terminal was RIGHT THERE. There was no 1/2 mile walk! So what's going on? This had me up all night worrying. Gate 1 Travel needs to get their facts straight. They didn't care we were very sick.

                      Also, the "4 Star" Hotels Gate 1 Travel boasts, are not 4 Star U.S. standard. They are a step up from a youth hostel. Very plain, ugly rooms. Cold, hard leftovers for breakfast (breakfast included). All hotels were far from the main attractions. So you either had to take a taxi, or walk like we did for 40 minutes in freezing cold weather. The taxis were just too expensive.

                      Add your opinion

                        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                        IN THE NEWS

                        Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
                        If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                        One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
                        A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
                        ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
                        You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
                        Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.