Menu
Gate 1 Travel company logo
Gate 1 Travel
reviews & complaints

Gate 1 Travel
reviews & complaints

Learn how the rating is calculated

71 complaints
44 resolved 27 unresolved
File a complaint Table of contents
Claimed
This account has been claimed by Gate 1 Travel customer service / representatives through our verification process.
Click here to get notifications about new complaints of Gate 1 Travel. We promise not to send you any unrelated messages
Share
ADVERTISIMENT
S
10:44 pm
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Gate 1 Travel - 11 day deluxe peru

Peru Rail cancelled the train to Machu Picchu because of blockage to the train tracks — public workers rallied because of their disappointments with the Peruvian government and inflation. Gate 1 Travel and it’s guide, instead of protecting the safety of their travelers decided to drive away from Sacred Valley to Cuzco, which took nearly five hours driving...

Read full review
K
8:02 am

Gate 1 Travel - Cancelled my return flights

After spending nearly 1600 for return flights from Dublin to Argentina, we were told we needed a ESTA Visa to pass through USA, so under advisement from British Airlines we informed the lady at the desk to make a note that we didn’t miss or flights so our return flights would be secure. We also had a conformation email from yourselves to say or flights had been changed but were confirmed, on arrival at the airport, we were told our flights had been given away, which lead to an extra week in Argentina and a further 1000€ in flights and my friend still to this day been stuck in Argentina trying to get money for return flights. This has not only been stressful but has lead to warnings from work being late back and financial struggle for flights that we had paid for, how anyone can just give flights away like that is a total disgrace and I hope to hear back on this issue, trip ID 6646091, out going flight AA6769, return flights that were cancelled AA900

Desired outcome: Reimbursement

Read full review
Hide full review
C
7:56 pm
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Gate 1 Travel - Cancelled trip because the pandemic

On 2018 I was planning to go to Germany and because the Pandemic was cancelled, they asked me if I want my money back or if I want to leave it on my account, because was paid in full by check (cash) to rebooked when the pandemic was over, because this trip Oberammergau Passion Play is only every ten years, (and I don't want to loose it) I let them to keep...

Read full review
ADVERTISIMENT
G
5:19 pm

Gate 1 Travel - Breach of contract

Gate1 Travel: Breach of Contract

A $400 deposit was accepted by Gate1 Travel on March 1, 2022 for “9-day Canadian Rockies with Waterton Lakes” (reservation 2142775).

A Package Airfare Supplement of $904 for two adults was noted in the invoice of March 1, 2022.

The Passenger Agreement was affirmed and subsequently accepted by Gate1 Travel on March 1, 2022. The Agreement includes acceptance of the following (in part)- AIRLINE TICKETS I understand that Gate 1 Travel will issue my airline tickets either at the time of booking for Instant Purchase Airfare, or at the time of full payment for Gate 1 Airfare.

Final payment was accepted by Gate1 Travel on March 28, 2022.

The following week, American Airlines showed no payment to or issuing of tickets. Pursuant to Gate1 Travel present policy an e-mail Inquiry was submitted. Gate1 claims that answers normally take a few business days. The published hours are Monday through Saturday. Because of physical limitations an upgrade (at additional expense) to seats with additional leg room was necessary. This requires the airfare be paid by Gate1 Travel and tickets issued by American Airlines.

As no response was forthcoming, another email was sent on April 8 with same request to pay airline to permit upgrading seats. Again, there is no response.

Resolution: Cancel the reservation and have refund of all payments for breach of contract by Gate1 Travel.

Read full review
Hide full review
D

Gate 1 Travel - Gate 1 insists I haven't provided necessary documentation and their cs dept is constantly

I've paid for my entire trip to Lima, Peru, and this business keeps sending me messages about competing my passport information, which I've done already on their site, more than once. This is response to my requests for document number for the Peru National CoVid19 website, which I need as part of my trip requirement.

Since everything is done online, and they are constantly busy, and I've paid for my trip already and my trip leaves in 15 days, this is not only annoying, buy also very insulting. I have much better things to do with my time.

Desired outcome: I would like an apology... at the least.

Read full review
Hide full review
I
2:16 pm

Gate 1 Travel - Flight got rescheduled after paid gate 1. Nobody from gate 1 picked up phone even called emergency line

Gate 1 claims they have a cancel up to 72 hours for any reason and offered a discount of 5% paying by checks. We believed it and paid the full amount in addition to the trip protection insurance for $200+ per person and thought we would be covered. Now two weeks later after we paid, we got an email from the airline saying our flight is rescheduled and our tour will be cut down and lose1 day. And we need to either get the refund or rebook. So we called gate 1 and we’re putting on hold for hours and couldn’t get through. After we push the button saying we are making new booking. Immediately someone came online. She said we would be loosing $1000 and more if we want refund even with out insurance. So we said we wanted to reschedule. She put us to service department. We have been on hold for another 2 hours already. I wish we never booked with this company with no customer service at all as soon as you made the payment and sign their agreement. Big mistake for signing that agreement so early and paid by a check. Be warned that Nobody will help you again after you do both even when you call their emergency customer service line! What a terrible experience even before we start and thought we would be relaxing now all this extra stress without any help from gate1

Desired outcome: Keep the entire length the tour of 10 days. And No extra fees already paid for the trip which was the trip amount we agreed!

Read full review
Update by Ian Thoma
Feb 16, 2022 2:22 pm

Need to correct my cellphone typo. We will still need to pay more than $1000 even WITH OUR INSURANCE.

Hide full review
V
7:17 pm

Gate 1 Travel - Customer Service

As a current customer, I should not be thrown back to the service department 3 times after waiting 20, 30 and 40 minutes. After being transferred to the service department, I had to wait again to a point when I had to give up.

Their customer service automated response instruct to press 2 for existing reservation, and that is what I did 3 x. After getting someone either to get back to me or after a long wait, I was immediately transferred to service. And then another waiting. I was trying to explain all the time I've been waiting.

There is no option in the service department line to get a return call instead of waiting.

I started calling in the morning but its almost about to close now, there's still no one I have to talked to change my current reservation.

This is very disappointing. They should either assign an option for the service department and change their automated message system which directs current reservations to sales.

Very disappointing.

Desired outcome: Someone should call me to change my reservation before I lose the dates that I prefer.

Read full review
Hide full review
Z
12:09 pm

Gate 1 Travel - Refund Policy

Reservation#2104972, I booked a trip for my friend Suganya and I to Brazil in May. My friend had a tragedy in her family. She will not be able to travel and needs the money to make funeral arrangements. I will be taking the trip as planned and possibly take my husband with me. I have been a loyal Gate1 traveller this would be my 7th but not last trip. I talked to customers service about her situation and got a stern Policy read back to me. My friend could loose her $300 deposit or get a future credit. Neither is good for her as she needs the money. I also requested if I could get her credit and I will pay her back. The customer service was unwilling to listen and budge from your policy. Sad to see in these trying times you would not show compassion. You would rather loose thousands of dollars of future earnings over $300.00

Desired outcome: Please refund my friend her money $300.00 (Suganya Venkatesh) Booking # 2104972

Read full review
Hide full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Gate 1 Travel - 100% Absent Customer Service / Reservation #1992367

My family has a long-planned trip to Israel/Jordan paid in full from Gate 1, to depart 12/22.21. Reservation #1192367 made in March of this year. Flights included in the Gate 1 tour were through United. In early Nov I noticed irregularities in my United online itinerary. I immediately called and reported it to Gate 1, which had not been monitoring this. Before we knew it all of our outbound connections/flights to Tel Aviv were erased with United. Return flights/seats still in place. Gate 1 said United should have things updated on their side in a few days. After a week elapsed with no change, I spoke with United and they said since Gate 1 booked it, to speak with Gate 1.

On 11/9 I spoke live with agent "Randi" (ext 1640). After researching with me on the line and a few discussions with other Gate 1 teams, she said flights had to be re-booked. But everything she found was now much higher in price, not surprisingly. So she couldn't book anything. I emphasized to Randi that as far as I was concerned, as a paid in full customer I was locked in for my air travel, it's paid for. We would not pay more for airfaire out of pocket and that we expected Gate 1 to provide comparable flights /quality on their dime, not ours. She totally understood our position.
She had to give our case to some type of airfaire dept and said that once resolved she or someone else will call me.

No one called back.
I then left VMs with Randi 2-3 times since then over the next week, none were returned.

I then called and s/w Gate 1 Agent "Abdul" on Mon 11/15. He immediately transferred me to "Flights" and although it said I'd be on hold for about 5 min, I was on hold for more like 30 and had to use the option to have me called back. You should know that during this and past weeks wait times at Gate 1 averaged hours and the best way to speak to someone was to use the call back option. and not all the time, do they call back. To no surprise I never got the call back.

I then took a chance and called and actually spoke with Randi 12:30pm on 15th . We spoke briefly, she had me on the phone and we got disconnected on the Gate 1 side. I tried calling back numerous times. No luck. She never called me back, either.
Before being placed on hold she said she was trying to do online chat with a "shannon". I made note of this.

I then called and spoke to a "Russell" at 10:45am next day on the 16th. He could see that Randi and Shannon were working on it in my reservation's notes, then tried to reach out to them but had no success.
He said he would relay a note to them that I was getting very anxious for a resolution and wanted some communication from them on the matter.

Here I am day later, and no one has reached out to me. Randi doesn't answer called nor reply to voice mails. I have no one to talk to, and if I want to try, I have to play the hold for an hour or 2 game just to speak with an agent that has not worked on my account and will be unable to do anything other than take notes or transfer me around.

Our trip is a month away! I need some customer service and a resolution to our flight situation, none of which was my doing. I need to be able to talk with someone, and to have a number I can reach them at with questions (should I have any) and the person needs to respond to messages if they can't pick up the phone. How basic is that? I have a trip 100% paid in full and deserve some assistance. We and other family members have used Gate 1 in the past and never have ever had any difficulties like this.

Desired outcome: Resolution of my flight situation. Also, a reachable customer service agent (or betteryet, manager), that I have a clear method of communicating with.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
B
4:17 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Gate 1 Travel - Amazon tour and flight

Gate 1 is a scam. They offer a discount if you pay using methods that are non-refundable such as ACH. They sell travel insurance literally called "cancel for any reason" and will find any reason not to honor it. Their hold times are >2 hours if you try to speak with them, and their website communication option does not work, unless you are booking and sending them a payment. The company is designed to intake money, and deliver as little as possible. After I had paid the flight was changed and would have taken much longer than originally planned and the rooms were continuously downgraded AFTER the payments were received. I tried to cancel before the 72 hour window several times but the > 2 hour hold times and broken website made it impossible. Their company is designed to keep your money, and deliver as little as possible.

Desired outcome: Refund

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
A
7:51 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Gate 1 Travel - gate 1 steal your money

Dont buy plane tickets with gate1. They steal your money! I bought two plane tickets to Bali, due to the corona being canceled and until today I haven't seen the money or any help from gate1. I sent emails and the answers were always the same, no help, no refunds, no phone contact exists. Better to pay more for a plane ticket with the airline, than to buy cheap and still steal your money ! Never in my life. Gate 1 steal money from people!

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Gate 1 Travel - Airline refund

Reservation #1848200 for a trip to Israel for two. Susan Redman and Lydia Bauman made a land and flight reservation to Israel for June 18, 2020. After some discussion we received our deposit for the land portion but have yet to receive our full payment for our flights. I know for a fact that El Al has been returning the flight costs as a friend has received her refund. I've called Gate 2 numerous times as has others in our party and get the same answer, "when we get it, you'll get it." This does not make any sense to me. A large travel company should have the ability to get refunds before individuals.

Desired outcome: Receive our refund

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
A
10:56 pm

Gate 1 Travel - Flight cancelled

Two days before my flight was supposed to happen I got an email informing me it was cancelled this was on September since then no one has contacted me and I have sent an email with no response back, they dont have any number you can call and all they do is send you the same automatic resposnes, now I am wondering if they are ever going to do it or are they just a scam.

Read full review
Hide full review
Y
Nov 25, 2020 3:17 pm

Waiting for them to refund me since April ! They said the Airline refused a refund, which is simply not true.I contacted the Airline, they say my refund was never requested.

Helpful?
1 0
D
Nov 15, 2020 3:17 pm

Gate 1 travel is a tour operator and does not just sell airline tix. Are you sure your referring to gate1travel.com?

Helpful?
0 0
D
10:11 am

Gate 1 Travel - Safari trip to Tanzania and return Trip. Trip cancelled and no refund was received

Payment made by cc#xxxxxxxxxxxx8981 on 11/29/19: Deposit of $1672 for Air and $1167 for Land.Total $2839 plus $878 for insurance.

Two reservations were involved: Customer 5111340 Judith Rose Normandin; Customer reservation numbers: 18911333 (Normandin) and 1891509 (DiSalvo).

I wish that my payment will be refunded ASAP.

I can be reached at 203 287 1519 or [email protected]

Read full review
Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
R
10:58 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Gate 1 Travel - Refund

I have been waiting for a refund, since March for $1, 834.35 on reservation 1729958 account ID 3273748 Beverly conklin 1711 willow Oak Cir Dickinson Texas 75539 361-510-3467/361/366/6033
when will we be refunded.
robert Conklin

1729958 9 Day Classic Egypt with 3 day nile cruise 9 May 20 cancellation was made by Gate 1 in March 20

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
G
4:10 pm
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Gate 1 Travel - So american 12 night gate 1 tour ended on night 5 by covid-19

Our Gate 1 Travel trip & tour to S. America was curtailed at dinner on day 5 (Friday, 3/13/20) in Iguassu Falls, Argentina. This was to have been a 14 day trip that started with our flight to Rio that arrived Monday 3/9. At dinner March 13th we were told by out tour director that we would be flown Sat AM from Iguassu Falls, Brazil to Sao Paolo so that we...

Read full review
H
2:07 pm
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Gate 1 Travel - Airfare refund

December 8, 2019, my friends and I made a reservation with Gate 1 to travel to Europe June 7, 2020. With the reservation, we purchased travel insurance. COVID-19 happened and on March 12, 2020, President Trump banned all travel from the U.S. to Europe. On that day, I cancelled my trip thinking I'll be able to get my airfare ($897) refund since I paid for...

Read full review
L
1:38 pm

Gate 1 Travel - "resolved"

I'm not sure what "resolved" means on these complaints. I just received an email stating complaint was "resolved". This was complaint from two years ago and I've never had any response of any kind... again - joke!

Read full review
Hide full review
I
7:35 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Gate 1 Travel - Airline penalty

We cancelled our trip to Dubai with intention to rebook, Gate 1 gave us a credit minus Swiss Air's cancellation penalty of $300 each = $600.

There has been no way to receive a credit from the airline, which tells us that we have to go through Gate 1, not directly to them. I cannot believe that Gate 1 cannot negotiate with Swiss Air to be able to rebook the flight for the time we reserve with Gate 1. This is not just in this situation. Gate 1 tells me it should not have been cancelled, but postponed. But Gate 1 did this, not us.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
E
12:52 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Gate 1 Travel - Unwilling to Reschedule due to Coronavirus

I booked a trip to Turkey in December 2019 using Gate 1 travel, a company we had used several times before and was generally very good. We were due to leave for Turkey on March 16. However, on March 9 I stumbled across a note on their website that indicated that trips could be rebooked due to the Coronavirus if we contacted them 7 days before the trip wa...

Read full review

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free
ADVERTISIMENT

Gate 1 Travel contacts

Phone numbers

1800 682 3333 1300 653 618 More phone numbers
ADVERTISIMENT

Gate 1 Travel representative

Gate 1 Travel admin
ADVERTISIMENT