Fred Loya Insurance Austin TXdenied claim

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I was hit by a customer with Fred Loya insurance. The insurance card said it expires on 4/26/2010 and he hit me on 4/26/10. The police officer that took the report, and the young man that hit me all thought the insurance was still valid. Today (4/27/10) I get a call from the Fred Loya insurance adjuster who says the claim is denied because the coverage ended on 12:01 am on 4/26/10. This after he had already paid for two more months of insurance to ensure he didn't have a laps of coverage!

The claims department manager, Osvaldor Chavez, proudly told me that they deny 14, 000 claims a month for reasons ranging from expired policies, invalid drivers, and such. They were shameless in the denial. What insurance company does that in this day and age? My only other recourse is to complain to the BBB and the Attorney General's office and letting people know on websites like this.

denied claim

Responses

  • Fi
    filings Dec 07, 2010

    Read all the complaints about Fred Loya Insurance, they are all over the internet. According to the Dallas Morning News, Fred Loya Insurance is being investigated by the Texas Department of Insurance because he is one of the companies with the most complaints. Ask the kid that hit you to gather all the proof he has about having paid the policy for another two months and he should call the Department of Insurance and make them pay and if he doesn't sue him. If he is an undocumented person, he should not be afraid to call The Department of Insurance They are not La Migra and will not Deport him. His money is worth as much as your or mine and if he paid for his insurance, his insurance should pay for the damages he caused. You know, I bet you a $100.00 he did pay for his insurance. Call Your Department of Insurance, tell the guy that hit you to call them!

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    AerenM. Apr 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I guess "Yankees" you didn't read the entire complaint. I clearly mention that he did pay for and the company accepted payment of insurance on 4/26/10. But Fred Loya Insurance plays with accounting like 3-Card-Monte. They say that his payment doesn't count for 4/26/10 it counts for 4/27/10. Sorry but that's deceptive.

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    yankees Apr 28, 2010

    If the policy expires at 12:01 AM there is no coverage, plain and simple. You should be complaining about the guy that did not pay his bill not the Insurance Company.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.