ExploreTrip.complease avoid this website like the plague

K
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Please avoid this website like the plague!!! Its 'cheap' fares are quite simply bogus and above all it doesn't deliver you a ticket, even if you pay full, high prices for tickets. Yesterday I found a great fare to Europe on the site, pressed 'select' and then entered all the information for 3 travellers.When it came to purchase, a message popped up saying that 'this itinerary is no longer available' and I was re-routed to other fares, much more expensive and the same as airlines' own websites basically. This was only the start, though. I continued and eventually found another decent fare for a flight the following day, booked it, entered credit details and then purchased the ticket. This time I got a confirmation, including an email saying that my e-tickets would be mailed within 3 hours. A day later, the tickets never showed up, despite the flight being only hours away. I tried calling customer service but nobody answered the phone - I wasn't even able to leave a message as their voice mail system was full!! Trying to email them, I received no reply. Basically this is a shambolic outfit and can not offer the reliability one requires for good travel. Please avoid this site and stick with a more reputable company. The low fares on this site are really only illusory.

Responses

  • Wi
    Willard S.Ford Nov 02, 2019

    Refunding my Money for flight 1026 on October 15th at 5:35pm my ticket cost me $104 one-way from Seattle, Washinton to Chicago, illinois my Ticket #[protected] I need my money back from this ASAP my comf# UHFLTT thank you..[protected] this my cell number to contact me ASAP

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessica0674 Aug 26, 2019

    I will never use Explore Trip again. Total garbage site. Booked a trip with them, received an email 4 hours later that my credit card was declined. I called my bank first thing in the morning & they said it was because someone on their end put in my zip code wrong. My bank approved the charge. I called back FOUR times & my bank even called once to authorize the charge. They wouldn't process it even though that's exactly what their email said to do. Now the price has increased by $150. Completely ridiculous. Such awful customer service. And worst of all: IT WAS THEIR MISTAKE! AVOID EXPLORE TRIP AT ALL COSTS.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    midari Nov 19, 2018

    I always find great deals here and they give the fare what ever they promised .Website was so easy to navigate and hassle free.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    arisa11 Nov 19, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Their response is really admirable. When i contacted them, they really guide me with correct info I had lot of questions before travelling all of them are being solved by their agent with prompt response.

    0 Votes
  • Is
    isabel123 Nov 19, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I always come back here to book my tickets because of their accurate pricing system.Their website is also fast and easily navigable.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim Farey Jul 25, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got burned by Exploretrip too! My flight was canceled but they never bothered to tell me - I only found out when googling it to see if meals were served and found out it didn't exist, called Exploretrip only to be told, "Oh, the flight is canceled". This was 40 hours before departure. They offered no help, no alternative flights, no support booking another - nothing. I ended up booking another flight myself which cost me an extra $250 USD and I lost a night at a hotel too.

    0 Votes
  • Bd
    BdaBud Jun 13, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought business class tickets Guangzhou to Bangkok when I got to airport Thai said I had economy

    Economy tickets for business prices..i am PISSED

    wrote to them no response no apology ...no adjustment

    Do Not ever use them

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Meowoui Jun 09, 2017

    I got my ticket within the three hours. I hope the ticket is real. I did call the airline and was told I do have a reservation on their airline.

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    Agnos Nov 01, 2016

    They are like a scam unless you are determined to shout at them. They are not professional and you are playing with fire. Don't book with them if you have less than a month left for your travel.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    pascosucks Sep 15, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They never issued my son's ticket, so I had to buy another one. A month later and I'm still fighting for the refund and it doesn't look good. It cost me a lot of time, trouble, and money so far. Do not book with exploretrip.com if you want a good travel experience. It appears that they just take your money and book on the airline sight themselves which creates ticket numbers in the same sequence as the actual airline. This makes getting a refund very difficult. It's a trick to get your money. ...don't buy your tickets here!

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    james4U Aug 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was in a situation to cancel my trip because of my illness when I rang up explore trip and explained my situation to them Michael the agent of support team asked me to send the doctors note about the illness I sent them and i got immediate response from them with my cancellation details and all whatever the charges applicable are being applied and rest of the amount is being credited back.

    -4 Votes
  • Ja
    james4U Aug 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Exploretrip are having very good refund policy when I was in need to cancel my trip because of my personal problem they helped me to cancel the total trip and refunded my money back within the time they promised to give.I was very much impressed with one of the representative who made my work so easy.

    -6 Votes
  • Mc
    mcooke Jun 27, 2014

    STAY AWAY - Booked a ticket for a family member on Tuesday, got an email today saying the airline cancelled the booking because the price I got my ticket at was no longer available but I could rebook it for a higher price! I thought it didn't sound right so I went back to the website and the flight is still listed at the price I paid on Tuesday! So I googled the company and they have bad reviews with similar stories on all the review sites I checked. WIth complaints of a similar nature to mine some even said their credit cards ended up being charged more than what they were supposed to have paid, and I checled with my family member and they just told me that on the email info the company sends you as confirmation, there is no flight price listed!! Please use another company!!

    2 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele197204 Feb 07, 2014

    Exploretrip is just fine. They are just like any other travel website. If you want to avoid problems in case you have to cancel then just book your trip directly with an airline company; they have people whose job is to listen and deal with angry customers, just expect to pay more. It's that simple! By the way, getting mad at people usually doesn't solve anything but just make things worse!

    -4 Votes
  • Ch
    chirean67 Feb 22, 2013

    I had to cancel my ticket because I was severely ill, too ill to travel. They initially said they'd issue me my refund but charge me $250 fee. Then I told them I have a legitimate excuse and to waive the fee, of which they said would be fine as long as I sent them a doctor's certificate within 24 hours of my departure. I did just that even though I was barely able to move. I got no confirmation of my refund. Now they say they need to contact the airline and there's uncertainty. I don't get it! I went out of my way and did my part, they were so quick to charge my card. But now when it comes to customer service, they're slow to act and respond especially after I've submitted all the necessary documents including my prescription and diagnosis reports. I've been waiting for two weeks. They can take 4-8 weeks to process but at least give me a confirmation. I have emails that prove how disorganized they are with all their verbal and written promises - complete BS. I'm going to file just about everything under the sun if they don't give me an answer I deserve. It will cost them more to fight me than just issue my refund. NEVER EVER DO BUSINESS WITH EXPLORETRIP!!! I wish I read these reviews sooner. They're directly liable for their misuse of my time and money.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    LUARG Sep 17, 2011

    we got charge 3 times for the same ticket, , WE ARE TAKING THIS TO COURT.

    2 Votes
  • Be
    beasmart Jun 18, 2011

    I booked with exploretrip.com - trying to reach them on the phone is almost impossible and the internet is not much better - seems links on the phone for information about your booking don't seem wo "work" is this intentional? Once they get your money you can "whistle Dixie?"

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nashib May 04, 2011

    Exploretrip.com is a biggest liar & Scam. Customer Service agent I have spoke with Mr. Arthur, Mr. Sam, Mr. Frank and Mr. Viktor to resolve my issue. I have spent over 15-18 hours over the phone to resolve the issue. These agents are biggest liar. Do not trust what they say. I am going to file a case against this company and going to get bottom of this problem. I am not going to let it go at all.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sunshine737 Jan 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Exploretrip.com is a scam

    Their Modus operendi:
    They publish cheap fares to attract customers. Once the booking is made, they say, Airlines is not honoring. so they cannot honor the price. Later they say fare is increased. customer is already tired up and sweeze money from customer. BEWARE OF exploretrip.com

    1 Votes
  • Su
    sunshine737 Jan 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If time permits you, please report in Better Business Bureau (BBB.org) about the problem. sometimes, they might be helpful.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sunshine737 Jan 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    All the comments above are 100% TRUE.
    I booked a ticket.got a confirmation mail that booking is successful. In the confirmation email, they mentioned that within 24 hours, will get an confirmation email. no email after 24 hours. called to the number they provided. but nothing worked.
    after 48 hours, i am able to catch them in phone, they mentioned that, airline was not willing to give with the initial price.
    so they raised the price. i was fedup and willing to pay the new fare. next day, when i called, they told, they haven't heard from airlines, even with the new fare. BOTTOM LINE, its a timewaste to book from the www.exploretrip.com, EVENTHOUGH it is few bucks cheaper.

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    ihkna Dec 20, 2010

    They have not sent me an Eticket even though it has been 2 days since when I bought the ticket. They are telling me that you will get the E ticket soon. My flight is 44 hours away and I do not have the Eticket yet. Do not book ticket with exploretrip.

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    SherilM Oct 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi,

    This is Sheril and i booked my airtickets with exploretrip a fortnight back to travel from Atlanta to London. We booked 4 round-trip tickets to travel with my friends. Based on our recommendation of exploretrip to our other friends they also booked their airtickets with them. Allof us consolidated could save some some good dollars for our travel. All of us found that fares to be very reasonable as compared with our regular websites, where we used to book earlier. We have not faced any issues while booking, after booking and in travel. I found their services and offerings ot be quite legitimate and wish them good luck for their business and looking forward to use exploretrip for my next travel. The reason for me to write this review after seeing some negative reviews here. Generally it always happen, if we are not happy with something we always give a shout to its peak and if we are happpy with something, we keep our self quiet. Any buisness will have some unhappy customers, but that doesn't mean the website is not good for all. Sometimes its our mistake as well when we try to expect more than the offerings. Good luck all and would recommend all to consider exploretrip for their travel.

    -7 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.