EsuranceCharging to cancel policy!

K
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

My policy is not even a month in to the renew time and when I called to cancel it they charged me 10% of the remaining amount owed on the policy. I have never heard of any other insurance doing that and I have had at least four companies!

Responses

  • Vo
    VoteEm AllOut Oct 04, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Esurance probably makes more money being borderline crooks than acting in good faith anyhow; go figure-only in America, right (Thanks Congress...)? I believe they were a much better company when they started, but not too swift or "good" anymore. Sneaky [censored] have it so you need to call in just to get angry with them and have them remove credit card info, because their "programmers" don't allow anyone access to change anything online. This actually being the case, I believe, borders on Internet or consumer fraud, whereas I was surprised today to see that my credit card info somehow got mysteriously updated without me ever consenting or having any access on their web site to update it myself so I called and asked how it got updated.

    I was told by Laura that "sometimes the banks sends them letters..." Is this legal? Yet here they are, poised to charge my "mysteriously updated" credit card the cancellation fee-likely hoping I don't bother catching it, or getting angry with them on the phone, etc. I did call though and was angry, demanding they remove my credit card info immediately, for starters. If this happens to you or anyone else, or you find yourself in a similar predicament, do not hesitate to file a complaint with your State Insurance Department, and maybe even BBB for good measure. It's apparent our elected representatives in Congress aren't too concerned, or none of us would be getting ripped off this way, but thank goodness consumers do have some viable recourse. It takes a lot of people getting upset, unfortunately, and reporting this type of stuff. If enough people did it, it would eventually compel these otherwise low-life crooks to begin acting in good faith and becoming reputable, rather than sinister. People who don't take issue or [censored] when they feel wronged in this manner is the reason so many consumers keep getting ripped off. I hope they can somehow get back to being a good company again. If I was running a business, I'd like people to be saying good things about me & my business, not getting angry or feeling like they're being ripped off, etc., but hey, that's them, not me I guess. Too bad things aren't more consumer friendly or honest; now all we have are corrupt greedy people like this hiding behind their asinine "user agreements" &/or "terms of service", etc., deliberately wordy to the point no one wants to take time reading any of that gibberish/nonsense. Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Screw Esurance Sep 25, 2017

    Send Esurance a letter demanding immediate return of the $50 because you authorized Esurance to automatically deduct the monthly insurance premium. But, you did NOT authorize Esurance to automatically deduct the $50 cancellation fee. There is nothing in the User Agreement that either impliedly or expressly authorizes Esurance to automatically deduct the cancellation fee from your credit card, debit card or bank account. Tell Esurance that if they do not immediately return the unlawful $50 deduction to your credit card, debit card or bank account immediately, then you will sue them for fraud, misrepresentation, conversion and related causes of action and seek all damages available to you under state and federal law.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anthony tieu May 31, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Esurance is big RIP OFF. Charge me the maximum allowed cancellation fee $50 with only less than one month before expires (7/1/17 while i decided to end policy on 6/8/17) . Sorry I did not read the fine print but this is first time I got charge cancellation fee ever. Good bye Esurance . Just lost a customer for life. Hope you are happy whoever is running the company!

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    salliep Apr 07, 2017

    Esurance is a BIGG rip-off I purchased homeowners insurance with them and went over the insurance policy with the underwriter who is supposed to be a Christian and was told that I would not get another increase until I was ready to renew next year. I have been with them for almost two months, and now they already hit me with a BIGG increase they tell me that I was notified by email. I never told them to just contact me by email. I'm an old disabled woman who only check my emails never. I have over 60, 000 emails that needs to be deleted. This company is a scram please run as fast as you can. I was supposed to get a $50.00 credit for sending them a DIY video of my home . Well I got a credit alright a $131.71 cents increase on my bill, after I had already paid them in full for the entire year. Then she tells me that someone had came out to home and done an inspection and I asked when and she could not tell me. No one never came to my house unless they came on a Sunday when I was at church other than that I'm home all the time. This place is a big rip-off and I'm going to contact the federal trade commission and report how they will use your credit card without your permission and make these bogus charges when they want to. I did read about the early cancelation fee and didn't have a problem with that because I was hoping to stay with the company but they have lied and then used my credit card without my authorization this isn't right. Good bye Esurance!!!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Tennessee626 Jul 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I work at Allstate - which owns Esurance - and we do NOT charge a cancellation fee unless it is a brand new policy and you have only been with us for a couple of months. By the way, Esurance is a completely different company than Allstate and would love to have your business!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    johndep May 17, 2012

    I've been their customer for more than 3 years. Canceled in the middle of 6month billing interval and was struck with $50 cancellation charge! It is a rip-off!
    Will never use esurance again!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mistakrayz Apr 07, 2012

    Charged me $50 here in 2012 aswell just now.

    I still think the girl on the commercial with pigtails is hot! Not the girl inquiring the guy if he Dj's on the weekends. :P

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    Aisle B-the Judge Sep 21, 2010

    yeah, I will be finding a different company that conducts business in a different way. Sounds like esurance hired a couple bloggers to leave these suspiciously fired up comments like the clever handle - "A". after all a flat fee on a cancellation doesn't make much sense when you only offer 6 month terms. additionally they do not make this info transparent and do not mention in their faq. poorly played terms resulted in a loss of long term business from this good driver. Ryan smith: racist comments? I don't get it.

    1 Votes
  • Kd
    kdkdkdkdk Dec 09, 2009

    I dunno...I've noticed in my renewal for Progressive that there's a $50 cancel fee...

    I used to work at an insurance agency (mind you, this was a decade ago), and I recall that there were usually NO cancellation fees back then; you would get a refund of the remaining insurance you had paid, pro-rated back to the date you cancelled.

    I'm getting a new car soon (in the middle of my policy), and I'm annoyed that even if the new car causes some extreme rate hike, I can't cancel without a fee.

    There's really nothing to charge for in my opinion. I'm not a risk to their company if my policy is cancelled, and those companies make plenty of profit besides.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    -dre- Dec 09, 2009

    It's funny to see the flammers rip on people as if they read every manual or agreement they signed! I too was hit by the esurance scam! I read for pertinent insurance coverage details not leasing information since that's not what I'm buying. I guess that's what you get for using a relatively small company. Agreed, only person to blame is myself, but I believe that it's dishonest to charge a cancellation fee when technically I'm not contractually obligated to remain with the same provider. I should have stayed with either Progressive or Geico which is who I've switched with. They don't dishonestly hide fees in the fine print.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Feb 28, 2009

    No matter what happens you will lose more money in more ways with esurance then you can ever imagine, guaranteed.

    1 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Aug 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yeah we jut cancelled e-surance cuase they were a rip-off, 4 times what another company wanted to chartge and they hit us with a $50 cancel fee.

    YEah some people on the net are [censored]es, like Sigo...

    1 Votes
  • Vu
    Vu Le May 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow, people are cruel on the internet..but anyways, yeh it sucks. I just canceled my insurance right now, midterm, and they charged me $50.00

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sigo Mar 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you broke a lease on a vehicle or house, would you get the deposit back? No, because it's like a cancellation fee. [censored].

    -4 Votes
  • No
    none provided Jan 10, 2008

    Hey.. maybe you should have read your terms and acceptance that you have to accept online after you purchase the policy, on that document that you accepted, it states if you cancel midterm you will be a cancellation fee. DUH WHY ACCEPT SOMETHING THAT YOUR NOT EVEN READING??

    -5 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.