Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Internet Services Epoch charged on debit card
More

Epoch - charged on debit card

J
Author of the complaint
9:11 am
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Okay, this is what you do:

1. Call epoch [protected]

2. You'll be asked for the card number being billed - they need it to find your record of charges

3. Give them the number without wasting 10 minutes arguing which will result in you giving it to them anyway [if they're billing you they already have your info, they just need to locate your acct details]

4. They'll tell you what the charge is for

5. If. . . [and only if you seriously did not make this charge - and they can check by ip address which is retained for every transaction]. . . If you did not make the charges, 'tell them!'

6. Tell them it wasn't you and not only will they reverse the charges but they will help you find the people stealing your identity - they'll tell you how later on in the conversation
7. Wait 2 - 10 business days for your refund to post

Seriously, their phone number is on your statement every month right next to the charge. Try calling them to resolve the matter. It's a 5 minute conversation at best.

For the most part, the charges are a result of failure to cancel your monthly membership or trial period. If i remember correctly, it's the 1st 3 lines of terms and conditions on every site we billed for.

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Epoch complaints & reviews

Epoch - terrible company!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Epoch - scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Epoch - after cancellations, still taking money out of account
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Epoch - unauthorised transaction on visa debit card
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Epoch - epoch billing on my credit card
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Epoch - monthly payments
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Epoch - fruad
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
56 comments
Add a comment
A
Oct 27, 2016 9:11 am

i was charged 65$ against my will on my credit card, i called the stupid number and followed the instruction and they told me my "membership" was automatically renewed.
BUT! i never agreed to a "membership" i only took a 1 day "TRIAL" to see if i was interested.
As i wasnt interested i didnt went back on the website to renew.

But still ive been told my money was lost, this is illegal, its a scam.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jul 21, 2016 9:11 am

Hi

Epocheu is the EU side of Epoch.com, which is based in the USA, they are a credit/debit card transaction provider to small retailers and internet subscription services.

I had a problem with them after making a purchase in a small independent toy shop, I paid £43.62 just before Christmas and the same left my account the month after, the shop looked into it and said they hadn't recieved a second payment and so gave me the details of Epoch.com, I tried to contact them with no luck and then a 3rd payment went out the month after.

I contacted my bank and they informed me it wasn't a Direct Debit, each time had been an independent request (as if I'd make a purchase), so I had to have my card block and have the bank send me a new one.

On investigation by the bank it seems that technical glitches some times means that Epoch record a purchase transaction as a subscription and so they take out a monthly or weekly payment by mistake, I am assured my money will be returned ...but I am still waiting.

Helpful?
0 0
D

i didn't order this and i want my money refunded i have no idea who these people or company is i just want them to stop billing me for a service or product i supposingly aodered.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jul 13, 2016 9:11 am

MY CREDIT CARD HAS BEEN CHARGED BY 3 TIMES AT THE ADVANTAGE
OF THE " US EPOCH.COM*EX COMPANY .
OF 29.95 EUROS ON 21 OCT 2010
29.95 EUROS ON 21 NOV 2010
29.95 EUROS ON 21 DEC 2010
I DON ' T REMEMBER TO HAVE SIGNED ANY ORDER AND I CAN ' T FIND
THE BILLS .
I DO HEREBY AUTHORIZE THE LEVY MORE .

GREETINGS A.F.

Helpful?
0 0
E
Jul 13, 2016 9:11 am

I have just been charged $1.03 and $2.05 to come out of
my bank account ?
I do not know what these charges are for and I would like
you to cancel these charges as of right now and have them
reimbured into my account
Thank You EDWARD FELSTEAD JP

Helpful?
0 0
K
Dec 02, 2014 9:11 am

This company took money from my credit card without my permission. That hapend 11.04.2014 -6, 55HRK two times.
Why you did that?

Helpful?
0 0
R
Feb 03, 2016 9:11 am

Card ending in 7006
Purchase amount 29.95 USD
Merchant details at [protected] in EPOCH COM United Kingdom
Date 02/02/2016

The info above was sent to me from my bank. I don't know what company you serve charged it to my account. I didn't use my card online yesterday so I don't what this is about.

Would you please see what company and account this is referring to.

Sincerely.
John Dixon
[email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
R
Nov 28, 2015 9:11 am

28/11/2015 use have taken the following amount out off my bank account and I want it back as I haven't signed up for any of your services. The amount is £27.02.

Helpful?
0 0
L
Oct 16, 2015 9:11 am

My account has been cloned send my refund my solicitors have been contacted.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Dec 04, 2014 9:11 am

Please everyone get scammed via this company to raise a complain here:
http://netsecurity.about.com/od/howtorespondtoincidents/f/How-Do-I-Report-Internet-Scams-Fraud.htm

Epoch continue to charge people without they knowing this is a pure and classic scam and robbery.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Oct 20, 2014 9:11 am

This is a Scam. EPOCH are scam. How we can shut down this site? The offer subscriptions free of charge after that they charge the amount to your credit card. You have 2 days to claim, however you note your charge in a week.

They are scammer. All licences to onlice credit card process must be removed. Do you know how to start?

Helpful?
0 0
P
Oct 29, 2008 9:11 am

Getting money under false pretence

Helpful?
0 0

$37.03 AUD being taken monthly on my Visa Card

Helpful?
0 0

I was charged a yearly subcrption after i canceled 3 day trial membership.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jan 10, 2011 9:11 am

don't know why I'm being chraged ?

Helpful?
0 0
D
Apr 23, 2009 9:11 am

i'm being charged a monthly fee for no services

Helpful?
0 0
P
Oct 07, 2008 9:11 am

THIS WAS NOT LISTED AS AN ORDER CHARGE,

Helpful?
0 0
T
Jun 06, 2014 9:11 am

I was charged. I called card company stopped the card from being used. They told me to file Identity Theft and I told them I would. Then when I talk to the cops they told me to get hold of FBI. Because it is over international states and they would have to look into it. I am putting on the Better Business site.

Helpful?
0 0

THIS GOES OUT TO EVERYBODY ON THIS THREAD & FUTURE THREAD COMPLAINERS.

Hey Guys,

So allow me to introduce my complaint. For starters my card was fraudulently utilized with one of these websites without my legal consent. After talking with the representative at the number [protected], she told me that the charges appearing on my credit card will NOT be reversed and nor will I be credited the amount charged. When I explained to her that my card was fraudulently utilized and I could only verify my I. Credit Card Number, II. Billing Zip Code, III. Name On The Card, she told me it doesn't matter because I verified all the information except the email associated with the account created (Naked.Com). As a result, I'm planning on filing a lawsuit against this company. So for those that feel they have been taken advantage of and those that feel they scammed, by all means; please go ahead and respond to my personal email at [email protected] to speak with my attorney in regards to filing a Class Action Lawsuit.

Helpful?
0 0
S
May 16, 2013 9:11 am

I'm an idiot. I WAS on a porn site, tried a trial membership and lo and behold I get a 29.95$ charge. It was supposed to be 1$. I'm going to call them this afternoon to cancel. Totally my fault. I wonder how many complaints on here are the result of forgetfulness or a spouse / live in bf/gf trolling porn sites. Hmmm...

Helpful?
0 0
B
Oct 24, 2012 9:11 am

I bought a $1 day trial from a porn website and i look at my bank statement the next day and it says epoch charged me $29.95. could anyone tell me how they can charge for that much when i only paid for a one dollar day trial? this is the first and last time i pay money to a pornographic website, epoch is a rip off, .

Helpful?
0 0

Epoch.com is an East European internet payment service provider that offers websites very cheap credit card processing rates. Their scam is systematic and devious. When you sign up for a trial, you are sent two separate receipts by Epoch, with two distinct account numbers and two different site names. The first one is for a random site that is unrelated to the site you signed up for, the second is the site you signed up for. The first account number is not cancellable through their web site, clicking on the cancel link and entering the account number from the receipt returns "Unknown account" every time. The second account number (from the second receipt) associated with the site you signed up for, IS cancellable through their web site. If you fail to telephone them, or use their Live Chat to have Epoch customer support cancel the first account, then it remains in their system - hidden from your view - and will trigger a payment later. Later, if you complain and call them out on these facts, they immediately cancel the hidden account making it look like you cancelled it on the date you complained Then they argue that you exceeded the trial period and the charge is valid, and the paper trail they present to VISA or MC shows a false history. The only way to prove they are doing this is to keep an HTTP transaction log showing that you attempted to cancel through their website and their system FRAUDULENTLY denied that such an account existed. If you are unlucky and fall to Epoch's prey, pay careful attention to the receipts you receive by email, use only their phone or live chat to cancel, and make sure you get a cancellation confirmation number from the support representative. Call them out on this scam and threaten to report it to VISA. These guys are definitely ### and need to be shut down. Any site you come across that offers the choice of either Epoch or ccBill, don't ever choose Epoch!

Helpful?
0 0
C
Aug 13, 2012 9:11 am

Epoch.com is a SCAM. This needs to stop.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Aug 13, 2012 9:11 am

Epoch.com is a SCAM. If you're looking answers, forget it. Why this is allowed to continue is beyond me? Epoch.com is a SCAM

Helpful?
0 0
J
Jul 19, 2012 9:11 am

i was trying to cancel the subscriptions (the brazzers and the epoch) and the website wasn't allowing me to, either it stated that the member id was incorrect or the mail or the card number, so i couldn't cancel it after 15 minutes the deathline, so i tried to resolve it with the online chat support. they left me waiting 45 minutes i started to get impatient so i decided to call them, the so called "customer support specialist" was trying to mix up what i was telling me so that it was my fault, after several times of explaining him what was my problem, me getting very upset and asking him to let me speak to his supervisor he decided that i was banned from their services (which i couldn't care less) and that what they've charged me was going to be on my account from 3 to 7 work days, can i trust what he said?

Helpful?
0 0
S
May 25, 2012 9:11 am

Clearly, there is some major fraud going on here. I found that someone had gotten hold of my paypal debit card # and was able to charge $160. for 1 years access to a porn site. Epoch did not even ask him for the security code on the back of the card. Please, someone with the right connections and power to change this, do it. "We the people" have so little control when it comes to big business. This is the 2nd time I have had my identity stolen and it took me 6 months and endless hours trying to clear my name and take care of so much nonsense and it begins here. Epoch needs to be closed down!

Helpful?
0 0
M
Apr 30, 2012 9:11 am

I don't know why I have just been charged again for a service that I don't know about. As far as I remember I cancelled this account long ago . I was only interested in "I" [one] month only but have been getting a re ac-curing payment taken from my credit card. I have just left a note on the site "www.epoch.com" to cancel any subscription that I may have with you. Please cancel everything asap. My name is James Manning Cerezo my user name is "musicmann001" and I am know as 'James Mann'

Helpful?
0 0
A
Apr 30, 2012 9:11 am

I was registered with Epoch, after 1 week I canceled my membership and I received confirmation email from them that my membership is canceled, but after 3 weeks they took money from my account even though my membership is canceled which made me mad, in addition, they don't refund money back to your account that was taken without permission, I don't recommend anyone to deal with Epoch don't trust them at all be careful of your money, it was very bad experience with them they makes money by using different cheating techniques

Helpful?
0 0
P
Apr 06, 2012 9:11 am

Hi Everyone,
2 days ago I just realised that I was being charged $24.95 from my credit card for since may 2011! I couldnt believe that i had not seen my statements for that long! i spoke to the customer representative at epoch.com and she said she would make sure that the last 4 months would be refunded to my account.I AM FURIOUS! She gave me an email address-a yahoo address and a name a 'jayanth gupta' an ip adress and a postal code.I have filed a complaint with my bank but I dont know what else to do! I cannot believe so many people have been a victim of this clearly mass run crime.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Feb 08, 2012 9:11 am

EPOCH z bull shiiit! I cancelled the subscription and they charged me for the next month as well, when I tried to call them, they informed me that I didn't cancel on time; I checked the billing link and they extended my cancel date.
They are cheaters

Helpful?
0 0

My story is the same as the above they offered to refund my money and as soon as i receive my money i am pressing charges. i also cancelled my debit card.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Dec 19, 2011 9:11 am

Best way to avoid this is to do it the way I did it. Call up your bank right away let them know that a fradulent transaction has been taken out you account and you have not given your account details out to anyone. Cancel your card and report it lost so that it is immediately unusable (Otherwise these ppl will continue to take money for as long as they can). Tell them you have already contacted the company that has taken the money from your account and they do not answer. Get the bank supervisor to make a note on your bank account saying you have reported this dodgy transaction today. The bank will say to you to call back in 15 days after reporting the transaction after which if the company do not return the money. (Which they oviously wont) then the bank will undertake a full investigation after which your money will be returned to you. Good luck

Helpful?
0 0
R
Oct 11, 2011 9:11 am

you can canell here

https://epoch.com/billingsupport/

Helpful?
0 0

I just called the number and it took a total of 30 seconds to cancel the payments. I think a lot of this happens when you get spyware or malware on your computer and it gets your info. Some idiots are saying that we're trying to cover up porn charges but that's just ignorant. I was being charged by fling.com every three months so I barely noticed the payments coming out. I've never even been to this website so it definitely make you wonder...

Helpful?
0 0
F
Feb 25, 2011 9:11 am

They did something similar to me. I admit it, I bought 1 EUR worth of content on an adult site. However, the adult site charged me an additional 40 EUR without my approval and epoch.com, their "authorized sales agent" didn't do a darn to help me. Their only comment was that I should contact the adult site directly. Of course there is no way to contact them because they are like a ghost company. It looks like epoch.com is the preferred billing company for internet frauds since they let them do their dirty business, they got them covered and no questions asked, while providing no security for the clients who naively trust in them their sensitive personal/billing information. Please be careful with those scams. Lesson learned: always go for free porn lol
oh, and stay away from scams like epoch.com, clickandbuy.com etc.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Feb 22, 2011 9:11 am

Stop paying for internet porn and you people wouldn't have these issues.

Helpful?
1 0

lmao all these comments made me laugh a lot! I signed up to this [censor] site to watch some nice college porn but they make it soo incredibly hard to cancel the purchase. Only after months of abuse they have re-constrcuted their so called 'professional customer service' but however in the end its our own fault for being risky by submitting our details online. However the comments gave me a good laugh, but to the point get [censor]ed epoch your service blows and so do the idiots that stick up for you, you [censor]wits know they are taking advantage of people. Bottom line is this company is purely deisgned to raught pockets.

Helpful?
0 0

I used my credit card at AFFES and online on Macy's website while I was serving in Iraq this year. When I got home I found these criminals had run this charge through on my Capitol One Visa a DOZEN times. I have no idea how they got my card number, (I am guessing some of the 3rd country nationals who work in AFFES have GOT to be in on it, by passing such info to to the loacls). I complianed to Capitol One. They investigated it and removed the charges but that is still one MAJOR HASSEL I should NOT have had to endure once I got home.

Helpful?
0 0
R
May 26, 2010 9:11 am

Epoch are a legitmate company approved by many banks and Visa International. Just because you have been a victim of card fraud, it is more likely your fault, not Epoch's. Total bunch of freak losers on here whinging...The other baseless rambling accusations on here are not worth responding to, other than to say you sound like dodgy child porn freaks to me.

Dans72...Noone has started a class action lawsuit becase you have no [censor]ing case you [censor]

Helpful?
0 0
D
Apr 15, 2010 9:11 am

This all very interesting because I just noticed a charge for 39.95 on my card that has been going on since 2007. (don't ask why it took this long to discover it I just glance over my statements, so much for that) I called Epoch and they said they could credit 4 months. Why Has no one started a class action suit?

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

84 complaints
46 resolved 38 unresolved

Epoch contacts

(added by reviewer)
2644 30th St Fl 2, California United States
ADVERTISIMENT