Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Clothing, Shoes & Acc Armani fake jackets
More

Armani - fake jackets

X
Author of the complaint
1:33 pm
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I was going in to work one day and a guy came up to me asking for a direction to New York. After i gave him the direction he then went on to ask other questions such as what is my background. Because of his sincere face, not knowing he's going to pull up a scam. I have a conversation for a while until he told me his story of loosing a money from the casino and how he ran out. And he went on saying he's a rich guy and give me all of these jackets which is fake! and just ask for a few dollars, but i told him i only have a few dollars which is about $200. He keep insisting how he's going to not have enough money to pay for the rent car he rents and so on... Finally i was convinced to withdraw a few hundred dollars more feeling sorry for the guy because he trusted me with his passport and numbers and the jackets... which i shouldn't done and not knowing is a scam after i did a research online... tsk tsk what a waste of money!

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Armani complaints & reviews

Armani - trust your instincts
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Armani - luigi zinzi
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Armani - fake products
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Armani - beware - antonio d, managing director in emporio armani collezione
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
71 comments
Add a comment
F
May 10, 2022 1:33 pm

Same scam in Dubai (near by Trade Centre 2) I didn't part with any money fortunately.

Helpful?
1 0
S
Apr 04, 2022 1:33 pm

Just encountered the same scam in Dubai today. I didn't part with any money fortunately.

View 0 more photos
Helpful?
1 0
B
Jan 25, 2019 1:33 pm

Still happening! Today Jan 25th 2019, I was crossing a road on my way to buy a sandwich for lunch, when a guy beeped his horn from a little Fiat 500cc, and started waving to me. Then he pulled over. The story this time was that I was a regular customer of the resturant he part owned here in London, but he sold his share to his business partner and now sells cashmere. Usual story about just having come from a fashion showing (in Chelsea) with samples that he wanted to sell before flying back to Germany, at 4PM. Very convincing stories. Showed me pictures of his 1 month old daughter on his phone, and also the autographed picture of an ex-Chelsea footballer that he met at the fashion showing. We talked about his family, our work which takes us all over the place, and how his business had been growing since moving into fashion.
Initially, he wanted just to give me an Emporio suit which I accepted. However, then he grabbed a cashmere coat from the back seat and said, this is what I am selling for Armani these days. It really did feel of quality, and was very soft and felt luxurious. He did say they were samples and the tags on the clothing stated that. I also noticed that there were 'Certificates of Guarantee' attached with almost a hologram type seal. There was even an Item Code number on the bottom of them. After getting them back to the office, guess what, the Item Code numbers are the same!
He got me for £200. The suit is good quality, fits well, and looks good. The cashmere coat is also good quality and feels very luxurious - alas probably a size too small. He also gave me a waterproof parka-type jacket, again feels and looks of quality, but again a size too small.
The convincing strategy used is to engage in genuine-sounding circumstances and conversation, sharing of personal photos on his phone, convincing labelling with certification lables, and the most compelling - Please keep these for yourself, dont sell them on Ebay, promise me. Yep, I was convinced.
So as the process continued I start to feel uncomfortable, proceed anyway (I mean really, buying clothes and not even trying them on!). Costly lesson that left me feeling stupid and naive. Everything happened so quickly, only afterwards on reflection, did I realised ALL of the warnings that should have said, walk away now! Alas...

Helpful?
0 0

ugh wish I can saw your comment before I met the scammer. Get scammed £1500... not gonna trust anyone calling for help on the street anymore

Helpful?
0 0
J
Dec 10, 2017 1:33 pm

Thanks for doing this. Warnings, big time "scam." Beware!

Helpful?
0 0
M
Dec 10, 2017 1:33 pm

Just happened to me in London. at the end I gave him 40 £ for 2 jackets !

Helpful?
0 0
J
Nov 06, 2017 1:33 pm

Same identical episode here in Highland Park, IL, here today. Drove up in a LandRover SUV, in a very busy shipping center, supposedly a rental car, looking for US294 to get to O'Hare Airport. Leaving this evening for Italy. Was carrying several "high fashion" leather coats, jackets and other outerwear garments. Was trying to unload them in return for some kind of a special gift for his 7 year old "bambino, " celebrating birthday tomorrow, November 7. Parted company after a very pleasant 20/25 minute conversation.
Fortunately, he never asked for any money, and I never gave him any. Looked like a very smooth, well-rehearsed scam.

Helpful?
0 0

Aconteceu comigo hoje na avenida Vinte de setembro em Roma. A conversa foi a mesma, queria em troca do presente apenas um ajuda para a gasolina, mas esta ajuda nao poderia ser menor que 300 euros. Como sou um turista sem dinheiro nao tinha como pagar por este presente... Encontrei este site procurando pelo nome contido no cartão que estou mandando em anexo

View 0 more photos
Helpful?
0 0
P
Aug 11, 2016 1:33 pm

I had the same experience today in Vienna. Asking for the way to Roma/Italy, starting chattering and flattering. "I give you as a present a men´s suit, because I had a great time here and I´m little crasy" bla, bla, bla, a second suit und than I helped him with some EUROs because he spend all with girls in a casino. I was an really good actor, but the show was too short for 400€.
I felt it and now I know it. Okay I´m laughing about the man and me.

Helpful?
0 0
E
Apr 28, 2016 1:33 pm

Same ### in Paris...
But he just got from me 15€ I was a bit sceptical ahahahahah

Helpful?
0 0
P
Jan 13, 2016 1:33 pm

I have the same story the only differences is Italian guy parked next to me at the bank on Long Island New York and he asked for directions to The airport and asked me about myself and made small talk and then told me that he had three jackets he wanted to give me from his heart because I was such a nice guy for giving him directions and he was showing me the jackets and then I said yes I would take them and he said but I need to buy my wife some perfume so what can you give me what's in your pocket I said $20 he said no do you have anymore I said OK I have $40 and that's it so he gave me one jacket and he took off as he was leaving I realized I was scammed

View 0 more photos
Helpful?
0 0
S
Dec 10, 2015 1:33 pm

I purchased four jackets today from an Italian man in a car park...he wanted £400..I agreed on a price of £140...although the items are fake the quality is pretty good...I for one am happy with my purchase...as for people complaining about being conned...are you for real?...the label inside the jacket said made in China...ha..ha.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Oct 23, 2015 1:33 pm

This is just unbelievable, love all your story's, I'm living in Dubai 19years since my teens, even though I'm Irish & would like to think very street wise, I got totally mugged of yesterday coming out of my apartment, good looking sharp looking kid early 20s So-called Italian, bye the way I'm straight guys, anyways he was in a nice car, give me the big one he was a model over for a convention modelling suits et cetera & couldn't take them home, and he wanted to buy his girl friend a new iPhone 6s, , long story short gave me 3 suits & a jacket for the girlfriend witch bearing in mind I wouldn't let her wear it out, so the dogs are lay on it as I scroll this message, right as for price I give this guy 1000dh so about £200, so don't be fooled guys there out there, so the moral of the story, least the dogs will sleep well, ,
Over&out
DJ

Helpful?
0 0
M
Sep 27, 2015 1:33 pm

Same storry
today 27.09/2015, but emporio armani suits and white audi, I could to bring him to my hotel where cameras are working, I also bought 3 suits becouse Suits were normal quality (approximately 150$-200$) but not a fasion how it was promissed, So I paid 800$ for 3suits and one jaket which is also fake. IF ANY BODY IS INTERESTED TO FIND HIM I AGREE TO HELP, HIS FACE ON CAMERAS OF DUSIT THANI HOTEL, APPROX 2:30 PM HE ENTERED FROM THE BACK (PARKING) SIDE WITH ME (blond, 1, 80m, beige trouthers and skyblue skirt) . my email is [email protected], tel +[protected] I am in Dubai till to 27 sept.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Sep 23, 2015 1:33 pm

well he certainly gets around. my husband has just been fed the same story and being a softie and also having just come out of the dentists office with a very sore mouth he gave the guy the equivalent of USD113 for a suit. We live in Mozambique ! I will print the picture to see if it is the same guy.

Helpful?
0 0
H
Sep 11, 2015 1:33 pm

the same happened to me in Paris a week ago with a different brand. The guy offered me 2 jackets for giving him money to fill the car tank because he want to get back to Milan.. I only had 45 EUR.. and I just wanted to help so I gave him the 45 and took 1 jacket because i felt it'd be taking advantage of him if i took 2 jackets for that price.. now reading that.. it feels so irritating.. but I think 45 EUR for a faux leather jacket is a reasonable price...and we truly get scammed a lot by other stores.. but just the idea of someone trying and succeeding in scamming you is very uncomfortable... but at the end i think the jacket is good... but if someone could tell us what the real price could be.. I think that'd be so helpful and might also be comforting to all of us..

Helpful?
0 0
H
Aug 26, 2015 1:33 pm

Keep updating~ Now the guy is in San Francisco downtown. Like the situation above asked the direction first, then scammed me for 100 bucks for buying a fake emporio & co jacket. However, I really like my jacket, I am surprising that the nice imitation leather has pretty "emporio & co" brands almost everywhere. (and the "Made in Italy" lable inside) So just take it and enjoy lol.

View 0 more photos
Helpful?
0 0
M
Jun 17, 2015 1:33 pm

hi just saw your comment my friend, , you asking where that guy ...he operating in UK.. he offer me jacket and pants he said the real price is £500 .. i told him i have no that much money, , , so bought everyithing for £ 60 .. which is good price...about the brand it dosent mater..

Helpful?
0 0
A
Mar 15, 2009 1:33 pm

This guy pulled on one sunday and offerred me a clothe after asking me for direction to a place. i got home opened the bag and it was all rubbish-fake goods.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Apr 28, 2015 1:33 pm

Just in Norway. Scammed for approx €200

Helpful?
0 0
P
Feb 12, 2015 1:33 pm

Hello! Same experience hapened to me at Reading's motorway station (UK) last week...This Italian fellow pretends to be part of Emporio Armani driving to Bristol to catch a plane... I really found the goods of a fine quality although not exactly to the standards of a Georgio Armani suit of mine... Anyhow I fell in his story and bought three leather jackets and a smart suit four 200£... They all fit & at 50 quid for copies is not too bad of an affair. Not only our governments are crooks (I live in France) but we also find them on the roads ! I've decided to laugh about this experience but certainly learnt a lesson! PAUL

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jan 31, 2015 1:33 pm

Ditto here in Nottingham, UK. Same story. Guy in a pannick about getting to the airport on time, needed to fill up the hire car or they'd charge him the earth. 'Nice merchandise but hell of a sting... :(

Helpful?
0 0
P
Dec 04, 2014 1:33 pm

UPDATING FROM ITALY, VARESE PROVINCE. IN THE AFTERNOON A GUY APPROACHED ME WHILE I WAS UNPARKING MY CAR IN GALLARATE, PRETENDING WE KNEW EACH OTHER. (I THOUGHT IMMEDIATELY HE WAS A CUSTOMER OF MY TEXTILE COMPANY WHO MISMATCHED ME WITH MY BROTHER WHO FOLLOWS SALES). WE SPOKE OF TEXTILE BUSINESS IN ITALY AND HE GAVE ME THE LEAFLET OF HIS FASHION SHOP IN MILAN (DIECIDECIMI - CORSO BUENOS AIRES 36) INVITING ME TO VISIT HIS SECOND SHOP IN LUGANO. HAPPY FOR HAVING MET ME, HE PRESENTED ME WITH ONE BLUE SUIT "FREE, BECAUSE COMING FROM A COLLECTION SET" AND WAS GOING AWAY. THEN HE CAME BACK ADDING A BLUE CASHMERE OVERCOAT SAYING "KEEP IT AND PAY IT IN LUGANO (JUST 800€) WHEN VISITING ME". THEN HE ASKED AND CONVINCED ME TO ANTICIPATE HIM "AT LEAST 300 €". I DID IT !
HE DRIVES A MERCEDES WHITE CLA 180 CDI REGISTERED IN ITALY AS EV619RX. SUCH CAR HAS BEEN LEASED FROM ARVAL SERVICE LEASE ITALIA - VIA PISANA 314B 50018 SCANDICCI (FI) BUT SO FAR I COULDN'T KNOW THE NAME OF THE GUY . . .

Helpful?
0 0
T
Nov 29, 2014 1:33 pm

Same in Kaohsiung Taiwan. 4 jackets to help him go back to Italy. I gave him 10, 000NT$.

View 0 more photos
Helpful?
0 0
A
Sep 19, 2014 1:33 pm

The same story happened to me today in Paris.. an italian guy in his car telling me he is going to milano an he has no money but he has a emporio jackit and asked for 300 euro .. i gave him 40 euro and get 1 jacket .. am feeling good that it was just 40 € not more .

Helpful?
0 0
O
May 18, 2014 1:33 pm

Since may 2014 these guys are here in Munich / Germany. The story is exactly the same: the guy has a good car, he seems to come from a fashion fair and was searching for the highway to Zurich / Switzerland. He hooked me with my ambition to speak some italian with him. After some time he showed me some of his suites - at first he offered me a single one for 300€. I tried it. Fit was 100%. Quality was good (my wife proofed it and she is workin in the fashion business since years). I told him I am willing to buy the suite and three others too - but not for that price. I told him that I guess that he is someone Italians call an "Imbroglione" (a cheater). I did this although I was not really aware, where the trick is - was just a feeling that he is a cheater. He laughed and agreed when I said "tutty gli iatliani sono imbroglioni". But I really liked the suites an I wanted them. So after some conversation II bought 4 suites for 500€ what seems to me a fair price for that quality (coolwool). I don't feel cheeted. Maybe these suites come from China - ok. But as Hans-Hendrik said some posts before: Clothes from big brands come from China too and they are much more expensive. Summing up: It depends on yourself if you think its a good deal or not - I guess it was a good deal.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Mar 22, 2014 1:33 pm

Hello everyone, yes, he got me too. He is
in the Seattle area. He got me at a gas station in Kent WA.
Italian's guy older maybe late 50's said he needed directions to the airport.
Was driving a Nissan Murano with California plates.
Said he finished with a fashion show and he got a bonus and didn’t want to pay taxes on it in Italy. I should know
when he said that it was a lie because when you are out of the country and you come back in it is duty free. So he
tells me he will give me some jackets that are Giorgio Armani. But the jackets don’t say Giorgio Armani the say Emporio Fashion which Giorgio Armani has a brand but it is call Emporio Armani.

So he does Bla Bla and show me how they are worth $1000 to
$1800 dollars and he is just giving them to me. I said I don’t have any money
and he says can’t you give me some money to help pay the taxes when he gets
back to Italy. So he gets me for 300+ dollars for 4 coats.

This is what is business card says

His Name is Galante G

The middle of his card says Giorgio Armani

List some citys in Italy.

Cell phone: +[protected]

Office. [protected]

And email. [email protected]

The hotmail really should have clued me in that it was a
scam

Helpful?
0 0
J
Dec 12, 2013 1:33 pm

The guy is definitely in Toronto. Happened to me on Gerrard st W. between Bay and Yonge st. He rolled up in a white SUV. Same story about him just finishing a fashion thing and his managers gave him bonus jackets. He didn't want to pay taxes to bring it on with him and is giving it to me and its my lucky day. I said I didn't have money and he said he's not here to talk about money he's very high up and he's not a sales guy selling on the street from a car he feels stupid. Then touched my jacket and said this stuff will never be on the streets of Milano Italy blah blah come see his stuff. Since there's so many ppl around my area during that time I thought might as well play along. The stuff he showed me felt nice. He used a lighter against the leather for about 10 seconds. No damage, then he twisted it and there was no damage. The other jackets were ugly but he had to sell the cashmere jacket to me at alpha price? Which was $12000 he's giving it to me for $5000. For being a student obviously I didn't have the money. I said can I ask my friend and at that moment I knew it was a scam he didn't want me to tell my friends cuz its a deal of a lifetime and they would want the money and he wants to help me not them. I was honest though told him my limit for CC etc and he would drive me to bank. So I went to the bank and obviously I'd have my phone with him. Typed in his name and posts after posts about thisscam. I went back and said iI needed my passport and Social insurance card can't getany money so he tried to act like he just talked to his manager said he has no more time and he'll give it to me for my max on debut and CC. Lol which is like $900. He said he'd just give it to me for that. But I left said go find someone else at the hotel he's going back to.

Damn i should have revorded his face with my phone. And damn I should have scratched up his car since its a rental as I was getting out. or at least write scam on the side of it. ### stole my pen too...

Helpful?
0 0
J
Sep 30, 2013 1:33 pm

It just happened to me today in Sacramento CA. In a new Jeep Grand Cherokee rental a good looking Italian man in his 40s pulled up next to me at a light in downtown and in a thick Italian ascent asked for directions to the airport. After I quickly gave them to him he was still confused and as the light changed, he pleaded with me to pull over and explain again. I did.

He went on and on about how nice I was and wanted to give me a present. He explained he was in town for a fashion show and gave me his card. Marco Della Valle with Emporio Fashion. He showed me the same "sample" jackets pictured in this complaint, including the "made in Italy" tags inside. He told me they were $700 each and he would need to pay some kind of a 20% tax to take them back to Italy, which he did not want to do. He wanted to give me 4 jackets as a "present" for being so nice, but he needed to get his daughter a present still. So he asked if I had something to trade as a present for his daughter.

I offered him the Oakley sun glasses I was wearing. He declined and repeated it was for his daughter, and what she really wants is an iphone. He asked me to go buy a new iphone for his daughter. I declined explaining I didn't have time. He asked how much cash I had and he'll go buy it. I had $55 on me and I offered it to him and he said it was a little insulting. He suggested since I was such a nice man he didn't want me to miss this opportunity and we should go to an ATM and that I give him $250.

I said this was to unusual and strange for me and I didn't need the jackets. He was clearly irritated with me by the end, but it was like he felt bad and frustrated with me for being such a fool to be missing out on such a great chance. Google helped me find this complaint thread and I don't feel like such a fool now. To those who were duped, don't feel bad. This guy was super smooth. He showed me his passport, rental car paperwork and his AMEX card. He seemed legit. I was pretty sure I blew it until finding this scam report.

Helpful?
0 0
T
Sep 26, 2013 1:33 pm

I got it the same problem today guys i pay 400 dollars for 5 jackets in Stamford Connecticut one Italian guy but i like the jackets i pay 80 dollars each hahahaha
It's ok some day those guy bee in prison :( :( :(

Helpful?
0 0
E
Aug 06, 2013 1:33 pm

Same here was in a gas station in cancun an 2 italian dudes aproached me asking if i spoke italian which i said no only english and spanish and then said
To me that they work for an italian distributor armani as sales person and that they just recieved 4 jackets as gifts and that they dont want to take it home since they have to pay tax on there way out and they were heading out in an hour they showed me
Flight tickets to italy passports and a bunch of money stating that they dont
Need the cash that they gonna give me 3 jackets free if i bought 1 for 400 US which i had on me but was doubting them then i said i only had a 100 one but they insisted for a bit more so i gave them 150 US for 4 jackets. Really i was excited until i read theses stories they are good at scaming
Until wen i started reading the
Post lol.

Helpful?
0 0

As I am reading this a few things come to mind. First, I just cannot believe people would buy something from someone under the circumstances described. Wow, some people are truly gullible! Next, a few people have referred to "Emporio Fashion" while others have referred to "Emporio Armani." Emporio Armani is one of the least expensive and poorest quality product made by Giorgio Armani and not something I would ever buy anyway. That said, there is a small leather maker in Italy that goes by the name "Emporio" High Fashion Leather by Chris Skarmutsos. Chris Skarmutsos is at Emporio (40 via de' Benci) just off Piazza Santa Croce and Saja (22 via Vacchereccia) near Piazza della Signoria in Italy. If THAT is the coat any of you bought then you got a truly good deal. Those coats/jackets are actually handmade in Italy of fine Italian leather and you would be able to tell the difference between one of his jackets and a cheap Chinese knock-off. So, not really sure what all of you are talking about, but if you do your homework and use common sense you can get nice quality items for decent prices.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jun 01, 2019 1:33 pm

Hi Guys, Just got the same experience with the same type of Italian english and french speaking in London but I can assure you that I travel a lot in Asia and even those jackets and suit are fake Emporio Fasion ( NOT ARMANI), the quality what I got for $300 is finally worth the price of the screwed guy manged to get off. So for those who wanted to get a geniune ARMANI they must be ready to pay more that $800 bucks and not complaining for $200-$400 cost.

Please think more logical on quality/price issue.

Helpful?
0 0
I
Jun 18, 2018 1:33 pm

I bought a jacket from Chris Skarmutsos today. It ripped the first time I put it on and revealed the thinnest leather I have ever seen. The hotel said it was fake leather. I took it to him to ask to return it because of the tear (less than 2 hours after buying it, he said he would fix it. He took it out of the shop for repair and it was a horrible repair job. He refused to give me a refund and began yelling at me, scaring my child. I called the hotel from his shop and they could hear him yelling. They asked if I felt uncomfortable and unsafe, I said yes - at which point they told me to call the police. He threatened to keep the merchandise and charge me an extra 30 euros to take the badly repaired jacket. I asked for a new jacket and he refused. The police told him over the phone that he must repair it better or issue a refund. The whole experience ended with me taking the fake leather badly repaired jacket. My son and I missed our tour into the countryside for dinner ($200) because of this. No discount, no exchange, no return, no nothing- except a fake leather shell he said I can use in case it rips again. When he tells you he makes the jackets, donʻt believe him. He said if I met him in the morning he would have the people who did the repair do a better repair job but our train leaves at 9:24 am and I do not trust him after he threatened to keep my money and the jacket while I walked away with nothing and down approximately $200. He is a scam artist and I plan on reporting him wherever I can, including with the VOLFAGLI FIRENZE company as he was using their brand and misrepresenting it. He also claimed to be Italian and I asked him about his last name which is Greek then he got uncomfortable and more mad. Buyer beware!

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jun 03, 2013 1:33 pm

He is in Downtown Toronto now! (Spadina and Church)
Fake name: Antonio D.
Car: White Mazda SUV - Rental
Plate: BMMW421

The story is always the same: He is an Armani Managing Director, with fake business card, and is leaving for Italy... Asking in Italian for indications to the Airport. He doesn't want to take the jackets with him coz he will pay duty at the border. So he gave them to me and asked if I could give him some money so he can buy an Ipad for his son at the airport.
I have reported the guy to the police. They are investigating... Hope they catch this ###!

Helpful?
0 0

I had the unfortunate experience today, 2 italians, spoke broken Spanish no English. Showed me ID, passport, credit cards, fed me a story about paying taxes to take them back to Italy (jackets) I'm in the Dallas Ft. Worth area and GOD forbid I come across other Italian scammers, I WILL get my money back and whatever else they carry. I don't scam I just take...patience is a virtue, I'll collect with interest, ###s.

Helpful?
0 0
H
Apr 12, 2013 1:33 pm

Hi all,
a few months ago I bought 3 fake stuffs from Italian guy in Prague, Czech republic.
Yesterday, I saw him again! He was driving the same car so I decidet to chase him.
I called police, but he got lost...
There is a photo of his car and registration...

View 0 more photos
Helpful?
0 0
V
Mar 21, 2013 1:33 pm

WOW 'my hubby had a close encounter with one of these Italian guys just to-day ! Hubby saw an accident and stopped to help, plus give his eye witness account to the police, The driver of the rental that was hit was an Italian man fellow and after speaking with police and their taking his info, were going to tow his car back to the rental agency . Now the man kept saying he needed to get to the Pearson airport, as he was going to miss his plane.. asked the police to give him a lift, the officer said he could not help him, so my husband offered to drive him there as a favour as he felt sorry for the man.. Well, once they arrived at the terminal, the Italian guy takes out all his luggage he had put in the back seat including these two big bags with EGA Emporio Collection written on them, He proceeds to tell my husband he cannot take these bags with leather jackets with him on the plane and proceeds to give they to my husband as a gift. He was not asked for any money and after reading these posts, we both see this Italian guy was just wanting to get away from the police fast as he could.., Guess we will give these jackets to family & friends if they fit them.. I know my husband would not have bought them & perhaps the man realized this too.. Talk about a scam, I doubt if he was even flying home, hubby just gave him an escape from the police.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Mar 08, 2013 1:33 pm

This after noon in London just behind the marble arch area near Edgware road. An italian guy approached me with a citroen which looked as a rental car and he thought I was italian and came and spoke to me in italian which I know as my 4th language. He looked like someone in the 50's and had a gray hair with a hazel eyes... He showed me those jackets and told me they are a line of Emporio armani and that he has lost his many in a casinoand he needs to get to the airport and he took a light and started burning the jackets without them getting damaged just to proof the quality for me and then he asked me for 200 pounds for 2 jackets and I refused telling him I'm not carrying any cash with me. So he offered me 4 jackets for 100 pounds and I agreed then I went to the nearest ATM machine and withdrew the money and gave it to him and he took 1 jacket away without me noticing. He was definately italian because although i spoke to him with his language he didn't seem to worry as if he was pretending and when he was counting the money it was in italian.

Helpful?
0 0
L
Mar 05, 2013 1:33 pm

Geneva (Switzerland):
Same same here.. Was on the parking of Media Markt in Carouge, Geneva and an italian guy in an Opel Corsa came to me telling me that he was in trouble to go back to Roma, Italia with his car as he spent all of his money in casino the day before.. He was SO convincing and looked SO sad (comedia dell'arte here we come) that I felt bad for him... He sold me a suit, 4 sleeves, 2 ties, 2 belts for CHF 270.- (looked like a good deal but this is poor quality)... As per the security of the market, it's not the first time he does that at this place... Next time he'll be in big trouble if he meets one of the people I know who heard about this story...

Helpful?
0 0
I
Mar 02, 2013 1:33 pm

Hi all,

I guess, I should have seen these posts before. It just happened to me today in Montreal. He was an Italian guy, sounds very convincing. Travelling in a SUV rental car. I told him I don't have enough money, but he still insisted me to buy. Having pity on him, I bought three jackets for 250 dollars. I guess, form now on, I shouldn't believe any guys like this, and shouldn't buy anything outside stores. It's a big learning lesson for me. Anyways, for now, I can just give away these jackets to my friends for free. I learned my lesson, never again, I thought may be here, people are more honest and you can believe them. But, again I don't wan't to generalize, I should be smart enough to find the difference.

Helpful?
0 0
H
Feb 25, 2013 1:33 pm

Hey, the same story from Prague, Czech Republic. Italian guy stopped me in a garage in shopping center Eden.
Well dressed guy in Audi Q5 with Italian registration.
He gave me 2 jackets and one suit. he told me that it is a gift and then he wanted 300euro. A gave him 120 euro for 2 fake jackets and one fake suit.

Helpful?
0 0
P
Dec 12, 2012 1:33 pm

Just goes to show that there is more than "one born every minute', including me. I was approached by "Francesco" in a Motorway Service station on the 27/12/12 on the way to Southampton who told me the same story, Just finished a fashion show in London and was on his way back to Italy and had this gear he didn't want to take back home but wanted some money to buy his eighteen year old son a birthday present. One woollen suit, one woollen overcoat, one leather jacket, one leather coat and one suede jacket later, I parted with GBP300.00. The goods looked very nice and felt like quality but as we now know, I not a good judge of high fashion. No wonder he looked pleased when this white haired old man told him I was visiting the UK from Australia. I don't think I'll wear any of the gear if it's raining. If you want to contact "Francesco" his email address is [email protected] That should have been the clue, Yahoo!

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

62 complaints
14 resolved 48 unresolved

Armani contacts

(added by reviewer)
via Morimondo, 17, Italy
ADVERTISIMENT