[Resolved] ECPI College of Technologyrip off!

5
E Review updated:

ECPI was a complete rip off. I went to ECPI with the hopes of pursuing a career in criminal justice. My teachers were great, I learned a lot from them. However the Administration was very lacking. They say you can complete their courses in less than two years, and that is true if the class is offered. I had 5 or 6 classes left and some of them kept getting canceled. Because of this my graduation date kept changing. The told us the reason the class was canceled was due to a lack of students. I spoke with several students who were also set to take that class. There was around 10 of us signed up for the class. I had taken classes with as little a 4 students in it, so for them to say it was canceled due to a lack of students is a lie. So not only did they lie to us but the blamed it on us as well. Needless to say I did not get to complete my course at ECPI. It was a waste of my time and money. I would never never recommend ECPI to any one.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • ECPI University's response · Aug 26, 2019

    Hello,

    Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us about your experience at ECPI University and specifically the criminal justice program. We'd certainly like to learn more, and we recommend that you please email [email protected] with the above information and be sure to include your phone number, email address, campus and program. Once we receive your contact details, we will pass your message on to the University Administration who will contact you for next steps. If you have additional questions, be sure to include them in the email to [email protected] Thank you!

Responses

  • Er
    Erica Feb 05, 2008

    Sorry. It was in Newport News, "Virginia" not Vermont.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff Paris Feb 17, 2008

    I went to ECPI's Norfolk Campus and was on the Dean's List my entire stay. I had no issues with ECPI and I now make $95K a year.

    -2 Votes
  • Ec
    ECPI Hater Feb 26, 2008

    I agree ECPI was a TOTAL WASTE of my time and money! 90% of the teachers were great, but the other 10% did NOT know what they were teaching! There were times my classes got cancelled and did NOT get reimbursed for the class I paid for and a lot of the times, my classes ended early, still did not get what i paid for! The scheduling was VERY POOR! Classes were scheduled out of order - now that was ridiculous b/c it made me lost as I was in the Programming/Web Develoopment Program. How can you learn Advanced Programming if you didn't take the prerequisite courses? The Administration Office was VERY RUDE and unprofessional! The financial aid was incompetent of doing their job! I graduated with honors, but I would have like to have gone somewhere else like University of Phoenix, a more accredited and popular school, but did not know about it until it was too late, where I was already half way through with ECPI. Everyone I know that's gone to ECPI regrets going there. My sister graduated with me, but she ended up going back to school to University of Phoenix and still paying the ECPI loan! What a waste! Were all still paying for something that was NOT as promising as it sounded! No one's heard of ECPI outside of VA/Carolina, but everyone's heard of University of Phoenix - where the Superbowl 2007 was - UOP Stadium. Go to a real school, do NOT waste your time on ECPI. Don't be fooled like many others were, then get stuck with a HUGE bill that leads you no where! I studied on my own and had taken classes elsewhere and I am where I am today withOUT ECPI's help and now stuck with an unnecessary bill! Be SMART, do your research, then decide where to go!

    2 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff Paris Apr 17, 2008

    I disagree. My stay at the Norfolk campus started with the most basic courses. Math, English comp, psychology, web design, etc. I started with the most basic classes. As far as scheduling, my classes were never canceled, except on 9-11. and my schedule was very regular... the same every day. My teachers were outstanding. If I did not understand something, I could stay after class for one on one time with the instructor. They even pushed me into studying for my certifications to be a role model for other students.

    As far as University of Phoenix, my sister went there and that school I call the joke. In fact, they spam me every day. I will not support any school that sends out straight out spam. Just search them on google.

    But as far as ECPI, I payed my tuition and did my work. Now I own my own web development company that is very successful.

    -1 Votes
  • This school is the biggest waste of money. I went for over a year andnot only acrued a mountain of debt, I was not taught the necessary skills to break into the workforce in that field.If any of you have ever been to a real school, then you know you get the check after the classes are paid for to buy books, supplies, etc, and then the remainder is yours. At ECPI they keep the entire check and charge you monthly for books. That entire check is more than a real university charges for the most part and the professors are just that, not cheap, worthless street walkers brought in to teach a class. What a bunch of ### that school is.

    5 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Nevin May 18, 2008

    please file your complaints with the BBB - (better business bureau), and possibly the Attorney Generals Office.
    My daughter is considering going to this school, I found it suspect the idea of a Bachelors in 2 1/2 years, now I'm even more concerned.

    3 Votes
  • In
    in pain Jul 17, 2008

    I agree, ECPI in Columbia, SC was the biggest waste of time. I went into the medical assisting program. I was told that it was better due to it adds in the administrative part also, so you can work anywhere in the medical office. I thought ok. 5wk classes, alot to study and its ok. First when I came in our class was huge my first three classes had around 30 people. It was hard and they said the most was around 14. Then I had a few teachers that were IT trying to teach pharmacology and other medical classes. Say we had alot of study groups. Also either classes were scheduled way out of order or where some terms you either only had one class or none. There were some great teachers but some that could care less if you were in the room. They just sat at the computer and did there thing but gave you some work. I finished finally all my work but no job, not ready for the test, I looked at the review tests for the certification test and I was not taught half. There might be some good campuses but Columbia SUCKS!!! Dont waste the money on the medical there, no equipment, no hands on, nothing... You only get help here if they like you.

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarah Jul 19, 2008

    I am enrolled to start the PN program at MCI through ECPI in Sept. I couldn't be more pleased with the admission's process as well as the financial aid assistance I was given. I literally went to interview and tour the campus on a Saturday and was accepted with financial aid award letter in hand on Wednesday afternoon! They are VERY flexible with class schedules - I work 40 hours a week and am a single mother so need to take night/weekend classes. The program is very fast - 14 months! The school came HIGHLY recommended to me and so far, I see why. Now - as for my "attitude" towards the complaint, I'm neutral, it wouldn't be fair of me to rank agree or disagree solely on the admissions process, but with that said, anyone interested in the programs offered, check 'em out! I completely understand that this is just a forum of sorts to vent, but this site came up early on in searches for ECPI info and I don't want someone to miss out on an opportunity because of several negative experiences...not to take that away from anyone - I'm sure you're upset or you wouldn't have posted! Just want it known that so far - I couldn't be more SURE that I have made the right decision for me and I know they're are more of us out there. And for the "debt" aspect - sure - you're going to college...everyone knows that that typically comes at a high price and in all honesty, when I saw that my program would be 29K for 14 months - my heart skipped a beat - or two - but I kept the process going, applied for aid and once I graduate, I'll only actaully have to repay just under 10K - for a diploma in nursing. They even pay for my NCLEX exam. There is a LOAD of assistance out there - your's for the taking, if you do your research!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gabe Jul 25, 2008

    I have been in the technology business for 23 years. I had decided to go back to school to finish my degree. Bachelors thenon to masters. I have been in ECPI the past year and a half and am thoroughly satisfied with the curriculum. I do see some students come and go, and you know what their complaint is? "Why do I have to take this class? This class isn't doing anything for me!" I suspect many complaints will be from such persons. College is NOT k-12. You will not be hand held through the process. YOU must go and learn for yourself. That is part of the preparation for joining the REAL world. The college insrtructor is there to go over the highlights and assist in explaining some things you many not know. AND, not everything is covered because they don't have time. This is true with ANY college (Paul Horowitz, electronics professor at *Harvard*, has cut out much of his curriculum due to the huge amount of technology out there since the 80's). That is why book stores were invented (learning should never stop). As for administrators, I am not aware of any foul play or incompetence among the ones I am familiar with. Maybe sometimes something slips through the cracks, but not often. But hey, if you expect perfection, then stay home. The real world is full of errors. We need to learn to deal with them too. Overall, my experience at ECPI has been very good. As long as they are accredited to award me a bachelors, it is up to ME to do with it what I must to succeed. I hate to sound arrogant, but, stop whining!

    -1 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimbob Aug 13, 2008

    In this day and age, you must be wary of posts praising a subjuect when the obvious flame is valid. I am a student @ ECPI and I can tell you these crooks are exactly what they are called, CROOKS, using legality to weasel their way through conflicts. I find it necessary to call out the ARBITRATION CLAUSE in the contracts that to an unknowing "student" will suck you in to a hell worse than this life itself (look around tyranny is rampant nowadays and the f*kkers get away with it everyday now).
    With that said, ECPI IS THE WORST EXCUSE OF AN EDUCATIONAL FACILITY WITH SNAKES IN THE LEGAL DEPARTMENTS TO INSURE YOUR A$$ IS DOLLARS FASTER THEN YOU CAN SAY IMPEACH THE ENTIRE ADMINISTRATION!!!

    Blame??? ARE YU READY?

    BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU -> YEAH, RIIIIGHT

    ACCREDITION COMMITEE -> HOW MUCH $$$???

    EDUCATIONAL BOARD -> ya, we know, nobody told you... : (

    THIS HAS GOT TO STOP! SOMEBODY DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS!!!

    DEBT SLAVERY -> I BLAME YOU OLDER GENERATION TO BE TOO STUPID OR LAZY OR CONCEITED TO BE HUMAN

    HEALTHCARE FOR SENIORS??? HA!!! WE'LL SEE

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John R Aug 18, 2008

    For all you guys complaining...what is the ripoff exactly? This school is accredited by the Southern Region, which is the most important accreditation.

    Now, you want to know what a ripoff school is...it's somewhere like ITT, where I graduated from. Worthless credits...you can't take them anywhere.

    You might not like the teaching or whatever, but I don't see this as a ripoff. Are the credits good? Did anyone have trouble transferring them?

    -1 Votes
  • Ec
    Ecpi Aug 23, 2008

    Ecpi is a ripoff!I have had the a least one of the same teachers every term. Apresident whos attitude is awful and he is not helpful because we never see the man!!! The teachers are great and they do there job. But the school itself is not the best. It just need some minor adjustments and I think things would be good.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Walker Aug 24, 2008

    I went to ECPI and graduated 8 years ago with a degree in CIS/Networking. During my time at ECPI I often wondered why I didn't seem to be learning anything that would help me in the job market. I constantly told teachers and administration of my fears. When I graduated with a GPA of almost four I couldn't even get a job at a call center for Gateway. I couldn't answer their questions when interviewed. I was lucky enough to get a job with a very shady contractor which led to three other jobs in the Cellular Phone industry. Now 7 years later I am out of work. The only jobs I am qualified for are Call Center jobs. Nothing but listining to screaming customers 8-10 hours a day and the pay a whopping $25k and I am still paying on my student loan. I could not get any job in the IT field I am not qualified at all. And I would embarass myself trying to field their questions on the interview. So its back to being a Waiter for me. At least I will know what I am talking about. ECPI is a joke. Don't go there.

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr. Di Legge Sep 18, 2008

    1. ECPI offered college assistance. They do not just hand you a job. You have to earn it and have a good GPA. I and the other top 10 percentile of my class had no issues getting jobs and 6 of us were offered jobs on graduation day.

    2. I have developed over 1500 websites for companies since I graduated from ECPI. They give oyu the knowledge and the base experience. That is all any school can do. Sounds to me that there are a lot of complaints from people who dropped out for either lack of will to obtain federal grants what-nots. That and people who thought that the school is supposed to hand you a job. This is reality and in reality, jobs come with hard work, persistance, good grades, and a little "right place at the right time".

    3. ECPI, during the 2 day introduction, informs you that you will probably start your job int he HELP DESK. That is called Entry Level. Very seldom do new college grads get anything better than entry level simply because to teach all that one must know for a job, the school would have to be 10 years long. Instead, you go to school and get a base education with basic hands on experience.

    4. One thing I note the most is that the teachers pushed me hard to get my certifications along with my degree. Best thing that ever happened to me.

    5. I remember the students that constantly talked and itnerupted class...IN COLLEGE OF ALL PLACES, and I finally stoood up int he middle of class and told them to STFU because I am paying a lot of money and I want to hear the teacher. I bet those types of students are the Whinos crying scam here.

    6. If it is a scam, then why is my company, Innovative Technologies (ITNashville.Com) so successful? I started the company based on my ECPI education. I alone gross $80, 000 yearly thanks to a thorough and very high quality education by ECPI College of Technology (Norfolk Campus).

    7. I also remember having trouble in algebra. My teacher stayed with me after class until I understood what I was doing 100%. One day it took 3 hours. Now it pisses me off that you little whinos say these lies about a school that did so much for me!

    HARD WORK + STUDYING + WILL TO UNDERSTAND + DRIVE = A GOOD JOB

    That is what you people lack.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shalla926 Aug 23, 2017

    @Mr. Di Legge Anyone can build a website... you're just creative and ecpi capitalized off your ambition. Lol!

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr. Di Legge Sep 18, 2008

    My mistake I said in #1:

    " ECPI offered college assistance"

    I meant

    " ECPI offered job placement assistance"

    which means they teach you how to do interviews, search for work, etc. NOT that they GIVE you a job. But your generation loves having everything handed to them on a slver platter.

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
    juni Oct 07, 2008

    I was told when I went to talk to an advisor that credits could not be transfer to another school. That worries me because I would like to persue my bachelors one day. On the other hand, they have flexible hours and I can work while taking classes. Still if I decide to get my bachelors I will have to start all over because they dont offer it at the Raleigh campus. Also, the price is just to much. Like the person above said when you get financial aid you are suppose to get money back after books and tuition. Not at ECPI. My cousin went there for Networking and she FINISHED TOP OF HER CLASS AND COULD NOT FIND A JOB. Its not because she didnt make good grades, its because ECPI is not a state accredited school. Thats why they can charge you a arm and leg. Im not going there. IT IS A RIP OFF!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Oct 27, 2008

    Although the education received at ECPI is not equal to that of a university, I cannot say that it is a scam. I attended ECPI in Charlotte, NC for Medical Imaging Equipment Technology. I finished and was hired by the first company that interviewed me. I earned $55K my first year out of school, and $65K my second year. Before attending ECPI, I was earning a whopping $18K a year. I would much rather make $5K per month and pay 400 out on student loans, then to make 1500 per month with no debt.

    -1 Votes
  • Ru
    Rusty Nov 17, 2008

    ECPI is a huge waste of money. They will tell you anything you want to hear to get you to start classes. Once you start and they know you are on the hook for the tuition, that is when I feel they really dont care. Faculty was a revolving door and the administrative people were some of the rudest, downright ignorant people I have ever dealt with. I can only speak on behalf of the Charlotte campus. Please do your homework and search other colleges before signing on the dotted line at ECPI Charlotte. No school is perfect, but that place was awful.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    Kestra Jan 12, 2009

    I would have to say that any school you are attending or plan on attending your success is based on what you put in. I believe in the real world is where you really learn. ECPI can't guarentee you a job but ECPI will teach you the basics and fundamental to help you get your foot in the door any degree is good. ECPI is a technical school and provides real hands on learning. I currently attend ECPI manassas campus and I have no complaints. The financial aide department to the instructors in the classrooms are all very helpful. ECPI College of Technology is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges of Technology (ACCSCT), and the State Council of Higher Education of Virginia (SCHEV). ECPI College of Technology is also accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) to award Bachelor of Science, Associate of Science, and Associate of Applied Science degrees. If you really have a complaint report it to BBB.org. ECPI is also a member of the Better Business Bureau here's the link http://search.bbb.org/Results.aspx?n=ecpi+college+of+technology&add=&c=&st=&z=

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Troy Feb 09, 2009

    Just starting in G-boro North Carolina, will let you know whats up and direct fact play by play soon.Its my 31000 I am forking out anyway... right?

    Cross your fingers ...

    Advisor this term...

    G. Frick 7802 Airport Center drive Greensboro...

    -1 Votes
  • De
    dema81 Mar 28, 2009

    I went to ECPI in Glen Allen, VA. That's right by Richmond for those who don't know. I have not found a job with my degree but I solely blame myself for this. Right around the time that I graduated my mother was diagnosed with leukemia and there was alot of talk about her going through with a bone marrow transplant. At the time, I was just one big mess and my head was not in the right place. ECPI's job assistance sent me emails everyday with jobs in the field for my degree. I even got phone calls directly from companies themselves, saying that my resume landed on their desk and they were interested in having me come in for an interview. When a company is calling me to come in for an interview without me ever applying there, I'd have to say that's pretty damn good. Most, if not all of the IT companies in Richmond, VA are very pleased with the entry level persons they have hired from ECPI. I went to 3 interviews after I graduated but others were hired just because they had a little more experience than myself. This, in no way should discourage you to keep looking. It is normal to not land a job right away. You have to stick to it and keep your head high. Determination is key in getting a job. Bottom line is, you get out what you put in. I graduated with a 3.8 GPA in computer programming A.A.S. degree. I didnt land a job because I didnt stick to it. Now that my mom has gone through her bone marrow transplant and is doing much better I plan on going back and getting my B.S. I have no complaints about this school. I would also like to add that if you're trying to enter the IT field you may have to relocate. Try to increase your chances of getting an IT job by looking in an area that is popluated with them. Having to move to get a good job is just reality. Dont think you can just stay in your small town and hope to land something then get pissed at the school that you havent gotten anything. I am going back to ECPI for a B.S. in Game simulation and programming (which alot of my credits can tranfer for this) and I know for a fact that if I have any chance of getting into that industry I'm going to have to move to Boston or CA, FL etc... I read above somewhere that some are worried that their credits won't transfer if they go to ECPI. This is not always the case but the reason why some credits might not trasfer is because of the amount of information and the growth of technology that has increased dramatically over the past few years. What it took for you to get your degree back then is probably not the same as what it takes to get it now. The class may have the same name but the information taught is probably alot different than it was when you originally took that class. Times change! I hope this helps some. I can't speak for all ECPI campuses but the one I went to was great, and the instructors I had were also programmers themselves and had programming or web development jobs outside of teaching at ECPI. Instructors with real world experience.

    1 Votes
  • Good Evening,

    After reading all of your complaints I am really worried.

    I took a online Bsc Information Technology Program with ECPI, only to find out that the registrar in VA. Beach does not recognize the transcripts. I have been led around in a circle about this issue since 2006.

    Then I was told if I had a higher degree that I should not worry about it, just pay off your balance. We are not your average undergraduate College, rather a Technical College??

    Please somebody advise on the above statements, so I know what to do in the future for these ECPI people. What about my past CV's with them listed??

    Thks, signed Spent Plenty of Money with ECPI

    0 Votes
  • Good Evening,

    Wow, after reading all your complaints about ECPI, I feel that I was not imagining this problem.

    Would you all believe that I took a Online Bsc Information Technology Program with ECPI to have the registrar in VA. Beach tell me that it does not belong to them?

    It was somebody impersonating the ECPI school.

    Secondly, I was told not to worry about it if I have a higher degree.

    The registrar said ECPI is not a traditional Undergraduate College said the registrar, rather a Technical College. I asked if they could straighten this mess out with my transcripts because I had listed them on my CV in Europe. I was told that I need to sign another contract and they would look from there.

    Please somebody advise me on what I should do with these ECPI folks.

    I have lost so much money & time since 2006.

    Signed
    Spent lots of Money with ECPI

    1 Votes
  • Ed
    Education is golden Jun 29, 2009

    I am currently attending ECPI (Va beach campus). Yes the tution is expensive, the schedule is rough, but I have confidence that when i graduate i will have what i need to make it in the real world. I have had seriously slack teachers and extremely tough teachers. I think they exist in any school you attend. So far my experience with staff has been pleasant. They have all been very helpful. I have been struggling with maintaining a job during my enrollment and with the help of career services i was able to find a new job. I have had much help through career services and with teachers with editing my resume and cover letter. The teachers for the most part are very approachable and willing to help as long as you are willing to work. My mother has her doubts about this school, but i am confident that when i graduate she'll think of ECPI differently. I am working hard and have about a year left. I will be working towards getting my certififications. As for finacial aid, i've been fine. Its going to suck when i graduate because i have a bunch loans and i have not qualified for any grants but maybe i have looked hard enough. But my education has not been interrupted. I strongly believe you get what you put into it. I am a PTK member i have a 3.9 and on my way to "real" job as my dad says. I am sadden for those who have had bad experiences but to those who are considering ECPI, keep in mind, not everyone can be pleased, thousands of students attend ECPI, dont make decion based on a handful of complaints, do your research. You have to work for EVERYTHING in this life. I am part of the "i want to be spoon fed" generation, and i understand this fact. Good luck to those looking into furthering educaton and congrats on taking the first and doing your research. :-)

    -1 Votes
  • Those credits are not that liquid easy if you want to transfer them to a university for a higher degree.

    Competition is extremely tuff in this economic crisis.

    ECPI is not a normal university that is listed as a undergraduate school.

    Think about it & check into what I am saying. My brother goes to ITT & it breaks my heart to tell him the same.

    It is better to change to a known university now & pursue the same major.

    If you are going to spend money & take a chance after your graduate, then also have a degree that is liquid in well known university.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    goldi Jul 07, 2009

    Ok, first off, for all of you seemingly Gods of Academia that like to say that people aren't hard working or whine and that is why they don't prosper after their degrees, get over yourself. If you were that great at school then why weren't you at an educational institution with actual accreditation, instead of ECPI which in many states only has the ability to operate a business for education services? Constructive comments about ECPI, whether you had a great or bad experience, would be most helpful to everyone so that people with bad experiences could better understand what went wrong.

    Second, my fiance went to ECPI. Because of his deployment he had to withdraw, but subsequently returned and completed his Associates in IT/IT Management. Now, two years later his is trying to transfer to college for his B.A. and when he called to have his transcript forwarded to the new school he was told by ECPI that all of a sudden he owes $2300. He has never received a bill or any other communication from ECPI regarding this alleged debt. When he inquired with ECPI what that was for and why he owed, he was told that the guy that he had to speak with was not in, so to call back. When he called back, he was told that the Columbia, SC Campus was "not allowed" to give him the information so he had to call the main administration in V.A. When he called VA they said that all they were "allowed" to tell him was that he owed $2300. If he was able to graduate and have a degree then how can now owe money? I just graduated from law school and went to a very prestigious university for my BS, and from both of those institutions I know that (1) if your balance is more than $1000 they usually drop you from classes; (2) if you owe money at the end of the semester you cant register for the next until it is paid; and (3) if you owe money you definitely do not graduate.

    Has anyone had a similar experience? We are trying to decide if contacting an attorney is the next best step. Also does anyone know how much (estimate) ECPI tuition is?

    0 Votes
  • Ec
    ECPI Student Jul 13, 2009

    I'm currently attending the ECPI Campus in Newport News and I would not recommend ECPI to anyone.

    First, no credits are transferrable anyway. In fact, ECPI won't even accept their own credits that was previously earned while attending ECPI. This leaves me to believe that if ECPI not only does not have any faith in themselves but they have no faith in their students either.

    Second, ECPI is more concerned about about what we wear than what we learn. I state this because they have made statements about sending students home if they come to class wearing shorts on professional dress day (pdd) ; yet, 5-10% of the student's grade is based on what we wear on pdd. A student can earn a 63 (F) average on the academic part of the class but still earn a C average for the class, if the student just comes to class wearing the proper attire.

    Third, the tution is not worth it. I'm maintaining a 3.98 GRA, due to graduate with a Bachelor's Degree in Electronics Engineering Technology in August; yet, the only thing that I have to show forth is a outragous tution bill and no job.

    Fourth, and final, they are very crooked. They tried to double charge me for tution and when I contacted financial aid office about this, I got ignored. It took me contacting the U.S. Department of Education before they would take me serious enough to get this issue resolved.

    0 Votes
  • De
    decided otherwise Jul 26, 2009

    I am sooo glad I decided NOT to attend ECPI (Raleigh Campus). I went & took the entrance exam. I was interested in taking the Practical Nursing program. After passing the 1st test, I was told that I'd have to take the Math & Reading portion of the TEAS exam. The recruiter email me some links (supposed to be study guides) which were no help at all. These guides had the questions/equations & the answers, but did not show how one would get these answers.

    I passed the reading & was 3 points short of passing the math. I was told that I could retest for $25 and had to purchase the TEAS study guide from them for $40.

    Meanwhile, this recruiter continuously tells me that I could take their Medical Assisting class which didn't require high scores. After that & hearing over & over from the recruiter, "this is where the rubber meets the road" - referring to whether or not I was serious about obtaining a new career & enrolling at ECPI, I had no interest in fooling with this place.

    If I were initially interested in taking Medical Assisting, I could have went to Wake Tech. My Pell Grant application was already approved and covered the amount WT charged. My guess is because price was never mentioned (except for the $200 application fee for the Pratical Nursing program) or couldn't be found on ECPI's website, I would have ended up having to get a loan or two. I figured if I had to do that, I may as well go to a 4 year or a community college.

    1 Votes
  • Wo
    WOW2009 Sep 28, 2009

    I agree that it is a rip-off and all of the negatives about ECPI are true, such as sometimes there are no classes for the term and the classes being out of order and teachers that are trying to teach a subject they have no idea about. Look at the requirements to be a teacher there. All you need is an associates degree in anything. "Oh, yo u have an associates degree in culinary? We want you to teach medical classes because food goes into the body and its related". For those that have had positive experience and now gets 6 figure incomes and have their own business due to ECPI, please post what company you work for and the website of the company that you own. That will show evidence that the positive postings are not hogwash and is from an ECPI online marketing team.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    christina882007 Dec 02, 2009

    I went to ECPI and out of no where they stopped giving me classes. Whenever I tried to contact them I was not able to get ahold of anyone at all. My log on would no longer work, and I had no Idea what was going on. I was only attending for about three months. After six months passed from me trying to contact them they sent me a bill saying I owed $7, 000. I know this college is a rip-off and they are not going to get there money. I will wait till the statue of limitations runs up on them, because I know I do not owe them that money. They need to be brought down for their fraud that they have caused to a lot of people. I think that everyone that has been scammed by these people should get together and file a lawsuit against them for their fraud and scams. If anyone is interested In trying to do that my email is [email protected]

    I really think that everyone could make a case. They accept people from all around telling them that they are accreditted college. Next thing you know the credits are not transferrable, they aren't accreditted the way they claimed they are. They should not be allowed to accept students from different states when they are only regionally accredidted. I still have my original contract that I am going to have an attorney go over to see if there is any falsification that I can get them on. If anyone is interested at all please do not hesitate to email me. We can all get a petition put together. We have to stop the nonsence that this college has created. I know I probably will not be able to do it on my own. I have tried contacting the BBB ( Better Business Berua), but that was useless. They did not do anything. They only did the same thing that I was trying to do in the first place was solve the billing issues saying that I owe them an enormous amount. I can go on, but it will take me a long time to explain it all. Once again please send me an email to [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Jome Jan 16, 2010

    I disagree. I am going back for my 3rd A.S. degree, my first from ECPI/MCI. I am going for my BS in Nursing (RN). I am a Veteran and will spend my entire GI Bill. While at first I said there was no way I would spend more than 30k on an A.S., this is the only way I can become a degreed licensed nurse while working full time. I got into a more traditional 4 year school in town and their screening standards and services offered were less than what ECPI offered. I was impressed with the facility and the counselors I spoke with. It is a bit of a leap of faith to spend 30k on a 2 year degree, but no risk/low risk equals no reward. With the BSN nationally accreditted now it stands with all of the rest of the "traditional" nursing schools. I go to my open house tomorrow and see myself signing up. I will update everyone with my progress.

    -2 Votes
  • Jd
    J-DM Feb 03, 2010

    Great school. I have degrees from ECPI and state college. With everything in life, it is YOU that has to want to succeed. The professors were great and the finacial department worked with me in terms of admission costs. This is not a school for an imature child right out of high school. They will not baby sit you. You either work or fail. Your earned grade will reflect how serious you consider a higher education.

    -2 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Green Feb 05, 2010

    I enrolled in the Engineering program and it's no even ABET accrediated. The companies that I looked at did even know who they were as school.

    Pretty much, it was a time and money. I recommend to ask a lot of questions when considering this school.

    PS. college credits don't transfer either.

    1 Votes
  • Um
    UMMMMMMM Feb 13, 2010

    I am an ECPI student in Practical Nursing and I'm in my 1st term. I am seriously thinking about going to a community college and telling ECPI to kiss my f---ing ###! The instructors are bias they pick and choose who will pass or fail. I live in the south and racism still exist here and it's obvious with the instructors at ECPI. If you take a test and the white kids fail the same question that you did but they all chose the same incorrect answer they get to write an argument to the instructor explaining why they chose their answer and she gives them credit for the wrong answer...I think that's some complete ###. If you are 10 minutes late for class they mark you down as if you were an hour late (I've never been late). The instructors have no clue what they are doing, can't pronounce medical terms and expect for you to know this ### when you graduate. I know I made a terrible mistake when I saw that an Ivey League college charges 38, 000 a year and ECPI charges 32, 000.

    2 Votes
  • 5s
    5StarLex Mar 15, 2010

    ECPI is a great school. I attended their online campus based in VA Beach, VA for my BS degree in Business Administration and found an executive administrative position before I even finished college! You can get a BS degree in 2.5 years if you are taking 2 classes every 5 weeks for two and a half years STRAIGHT. I don't think it's for everyone because it was hard, a lot of work and not all of the professors were as helpful as others. But I have news everyone - that is with ALL colleges and the high majority of the faculty and staff @ ECPI were extremely helpful and knowledgable...

    If you went to a campus and got an AAS degree or a diploma, then I might understand... but ECPI is a regionally accredited school like UNC Chapel Hill & VA Tech. The credits are transferable.. are you sure you GPA didn't have something to do with the reason your credits didn't transfer? College costs money, but you gotta pay the cost if you wanna be the boss!!!

    Making Good $$ Thanks to ECPI

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annonymus0988 Mar 24, 2010

    ECPI is a waste of money and the one in Charlotte is terrible..They arent organized and you never know if your class is going to be canceled and what teacher your going to have. When you get your schedule it says TBD..Like really, and then they dont do your schedule right, they just throw you in classes. I wish I would of done my research before ever attending and signing those papers. The one in Raleigh isnt that bad to me. Its just the Charlotte campus. People please do your reseach about a school before you attend. I want to quit right now but I have to finish.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    portlink Apr 01, 2010

    Funny how most of the people complaining and badmouthing ECPI can't even spell or pronounce their words properly. I currently attend ECPI of Greenville campus and I am halfway through my Bachelor's program. I absolutely love this school. Excellent teachers, the material can be difficult but that is where you learn. Of course colleges want your money people, name one that doesn't. They are a business just like every other school around the world. Nothing is free, you have to earn your keep. Stop complaining and keep flippin my burgers, and yes I will have fries with that, Thank you!

    1 Votes
  • Vd
    vdawg628 Apr 07, 2010

    This school is nothing but a freakin scam. I attended their one year program for Massage Therapy and after reading christina882007's story it sounded all too familiar to me. Almost the same exact thing happened to me. I attended the ECPI Raleigh campus and the last part of the massage therapy program was the externship (I still don't know what the difference is between that and an internship). Well during the last month of school I moved back home to Fayetteville (which is an hour away from Raleigh) and thats when all the trouble started. I was commuting to school everyday and was told that I needed to start my externship. Well I told them I had moved back to Fayetteville so they needed to find a place in my town that i could extern at. They found a place here and told me to contact the woman at the spa that is in charge of Massage. I called her numerous times and left my number for her to call me back, I left her voice mails and I had people take messages for her. She never called me back. So I called my instructor who was the head of the Massage Department at ECPI and we played phone tag for a while. When she finally called me back she said that I need to "call the spa if I haven't done so already" like she was scolding me or something. I explained to her that I HAD been calling but no one there was calling me back. Needless to say, I never got to complete my 96 hours of massage to graduate because no one would communicate with me. I just stopped getting calls from them, and now they have 3 different loans they are trying to collect on when they didn't even let me graduate! I am currently in school AGAIN and looking for a job so I can stay afloat right now, so there is no way ECPI is going to get their money. This is a crappy school and I will never suggest it to anyone. Oh and don't even get me started on how they kicked someone out of the massage program because he was BLIND! If you ask the school about it though, they will tell you that he couldn't complete the work and thats why he was dropped, but how is he supposed to complete the work if the school isn't providing him with the special assistance that he needed? This school is crap!

    0 Votes
  • St
    stevenmctowely May 27, 2010

    My experience with the Va Beach campus was great. Have no complaints. Took the Network Security+Management route and received my Bachelors degree and am now a Linux System Administrator for a Web Hosting company. I didn't know a thing about Linux before going there, and started this position while still in school and now I'm making a great amount of money and I am Net+ and Linux+ certified. I may have a debt to pay off, but I feel like it was worth it. Also, several of my co-workers are ECPI graduates.


    Also, the regional accreditation is what all colleges have in this particular area... For example, Old Dominion Univ, William & Mary, Virginia Wesleyan, Norfolk State, and so on are all in the same accreditation as ECPI. I imagine their other campuses may be different though.

    Also, I know a lot of people who went here as well. Most of their credits transfer in, a few credits here and there may not.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    complecpi May 31, 2010

    I assume VA campus is great, but I know for a fact that the Charlotte campus is full of [censor]ing idiots. Do not go to this school, unless you have no intelligence and need a dumb teacher. There are maybe 3 people in that school that know how to teach and I've only had a class with one. The classes are so boring and anyone that has a brain cell already knows the [censor] they are trying to teach! It is true that all they give a [censor] about is appearance. Wear your tie on Wednesday so if anyone comes to the school it looks like a professional atmosphere. Got to lure everyone in! This school is not hard by the way, I have gotten a hundred on just about every assignment and exam. I just realize a fraud when I see one.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem