ECPI Universitycompany logo

ECPI University
reviews & complaints

ECPI University
reviews & complaints

Learn how the rating is calculated

4 28 complaints
22 resolved 6 unresolved

This account has been claimed by ECPI University customer service / representatives through our verification process.

ECPI University reviews & complaints

ECPI University complaints 28

ECPI University - Administration harassment / fraud

Thomas Sullivan at ECPI Newport News campus willfully ignored request to not be contacted as his harassment was detrimental to my mental health. He then fabricated a false claim of plagiarism and...

Read full review

ECPI University - School of Nursing

Totally UNSAT for a school that charges so much. My girlfriend, Daneen Finn, is a student enrolled in the RN accelerated program and she has had nothing but unsupported excuses when she asks for help.

Beginning in her first semester, she was assigned a career service counselor who promised to assist her finding employment while she was a student. This individual never assisted her and then left the company and never once passed on her information. At the time she was unemployed due to the pandemic and was having extreme problems finding employment. When she asked for assistance from Mrs Britt, she agreed that the school had failed her, but still never assisted in helping her find her some employment as she promised.

The biology teacher was hard to understand as she has a weak grasp of the english language and spends a lot of time away from the class and is not available for assistance. This semester, she has the same teacher, and again, she is never available for assistance. My girlfriend has been having trouble getting back into her PC to conduct class, has emailed requesting help from IT on several occasions and the only help she gets is emails for her to answer security questions which has not helped. Not one time has she been able to reset her password. How can a school such as yours have students using PCs to conduct work but not have the IT support she needs in order to do the work. She is now 4 days behind the class because she has been unable to log in and follow with the E-book. I had to spend 100 dollars to buy the actual book so she could try and follow along. She asked for help from her teacher, the same one mind you she had the first semester, and she won't return her messages. Totally inept for a student to be asking for help since Friday and here it is Wednesday, AND STILL NO RESPONSE. I encouraged her to speak with the Director of the School, Vickie Britt, and report the problem. Ms Britt was too busy to assist her. I can tell you, I am a professional instructor, and I have never seen so much ineptness in an accredited school as yours. I am only sending you this to inform you that I am going to report this school to the Better Business Bureau, and I will be researching the company that accredited the school and I will report this to them as well. Moreover, I will be launching a campaign to ensure that other potential students are informed of the activities of the School that she attended. Don't be surprised to see your school on media outlets in the near future. She will be withdrawing for your school and taking her money somewhere else. I am appalled at how she has been treated by a so-called accredited school. Definitely not a professional organization!

Desired outcome: she will have all financial loads removed and she will owe NOTHING to your school

ECPI University - Never Received my Associates Degree Diploma

I attended in 2017 to the ECPI campus in Charlotte, North Carolina. I graduated with all accomplished requirements. I never received my accredited diploma. I have paid numerous of times to have even my official transcripts sent. And have not received them as well. This has been an ongoing battle in receiving these items. To the point, that I can not continue my education without my official documentation.
I should have 67 credits accounted for in my Associates degree, and by NC law of education it is only required 60 credits.
ECPI has no right to with hold my diploma, nor official transcripts.

Desired outcome: Request my official transcripts with diploma

ECPI University - ECPI Online CIS program

While attending ECPI University's Online computer science program, I filed a written affidavit against faculty members Tara Clark, Dr. Gary Mansi, and Terri Gilbert. The body of the complaint was based on erroneous grading practices that neither reflected the policies, rubrics, or written standards of the University. The faculty at the CIS department conducted a judicial review board on zoom. During the proceedings, Teri Gilbert, on behalf of Tara Clark and Dr. Mansi, levied up charges against the plaintiff unrelated to the matter. The written affidavit with physical evidence and a timeline was submitted to the office of the vice president of ECPI, Shelia Sweeney. Who disrespected the party seeking redress by misspelling their name and made no effort to follow up. As of today these serious matters having legal significance in both civil proceedings court and SACS COC, the organization that backs ECPI's accreditation, have not been addressed at any level within the ECPI hierarchy. A recent experience with Dr. Adam Harris in a networking class illustrates how terribly unfair and academically unsound ECPI's CIS classes are. Dr. Adam Harris refuses to grade assignments in his class per the specifications of the published rubrics. This practice equates to a totalitarian environment that allows the Professor to arbitrarily grade assignments with no basis in any established academic criterion. Dr. Harris, quoted as saying that "everything is ok in his class as long as it's his way." Concerning creating a healthy learning environment, I would say that his classes are hostile, disrespectful, and poorly thought out. A Dr. Adam Harris CIS class is a Masterclass in passive aggressivity and backstabbing.

ECPI University - Harassment

I came across this site while on the web. Its too late for me. I was a faculty member at ECPI . I was being harassed daily by my supervisor. I had never had this experience before, and didn't know what to do. I should have gone to HR, but instead I went to the campus president. After telling him my problem, he simply dismissed it, not believing me. I ended up leaving ECPI. I wish I knew about this then.

If you don't already, please let your faculty know what they can do if they find themselves in my position. I so wish I knew then what I know now.

I am happily employed and am not looking for a position anywhere. I just want faculty to know what is available to them, should they find themselves in the same situation.

Desired outcome: Faculty knowledge of resources

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - Inadequate instructors

My current instructor is absolutely horrible. She does not help us at all. This is the worst teacher I have ever encountered in my life. We have been stuck with her for 4 terms now, and It's been a complete waste of time and money. I'm a great student only because I teach myself the material from reading the book. She actually informed our class that since we do not like her, she wasn't teaching us today. This is unacceptable! She was completely unprofessional and took out whatever was bothering her on my class. She then said she was the easiest teacher there, but since we didn't like her (again!) she was going to treat us just like all the other instructors. So, if they're all that horrible, I'm looking to transfer somewhere else. This is ludicrous!

Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us about your experience. We would strongly encourage you to ask for an appointment with your campus president and explain these details to them. If you are not comfortable with that, please email [email protected] with the above information. Be sure to include your phone number, email address, campus location/program and student ID #. Once we receive your contact details, we will pass your message on to the University Administration. If you have additional questions or concerns, be sure to include them in the email. Thank you!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - Communication and the degree

It was rocky from the start. I was delayed school, they would change dates on me to pick up my iPad without telling me. After "break" only nurses were allowed back on campus. There was no notice that my teacher was leaving and the new one is not prepared for this program. She wastes time and I feel very unprepared. I paid for full physical textbooks but instead I got ebooks I don't get to keep. This school is a rip off.

Desired outcome: I want my textbooks and I’d like my new teacher to follow a better curriculum.

Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us about your experience. We'd certainly like to learn more, and we recommend emailing [email protected] with the above information. Be sure to include your phone number, email address, campus location/program and student ID #. Once we receive your contact details, we will pass your message on to the University Administration. If you have additional questions or concerns, be sure to include them in the email. Thank you!

ECPI University - Financial aid, Melinda Boyd

My name is Alexander Adams and I have a huge issue in my hands. I have HAD to speak to VA beach's Wesley Boisseau for the past few days now trying to resolve my issues because our own financial aid...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - cis245-online course content

While taking CIS245 with Dave Walman I have taken the time to bring at least 5 issues to the attention of Mr. Walman none of these issues have been resolved. The issues that concern me the most...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - lack of education

This school is very cruel to military veterans. They will pump you up at the beginning promising the impossible. They paint an unrealistic fantasy that major corporate human resorces departments will...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - columbia campus

This school is very unprofessional and disorganized. They don't have enough instructors or have the wrong instructor for the wrong class. They allow their instructors to make their own rules. They don't teach the material, they expect you to learn it on your own. They never have your schedule up in advance or they will change things at the last minute. The same rules don't apply for each student. The pick and choose who they would like to stay. They don't have proper clinical sights and will send you home. Some of their instructors are never on time but they expect you to be. They are not confidential. If you have an issue and inform the DON, she will let the staff know who said what. Not many of the instructors have our backs. They are vindictive and underhanded and they only take each other side.

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us about your experience. We'd certainly like to learn more, and we recommend emailing [email protected] with the above information. Be sure to include your phone number, email address, campus location/program and student ID #. Once we receive your contact details, we will pass your message on to the University Administration. If you have additional questions or concerns, be sure to include them in the email. Thank you!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - rn program - unqualified faculty

Please help me pass the word! Ecpi rips off veterans and others! They do not care about your concerns... They just want your money! Beware if you sign-up to go to school there! My daughter was told...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - the practical nursing don tonya creque

I have been attending this school since February 2018 . My first encounter was a death in my family whereas, the DON came out of her mouth and asked me would my name be in the obituary and if not it...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - ecpi newport news

I have been recently been informed by a student that they were given the opportunity to retake final exams worth 20% of the final grade at home to ensure that they pass. Opportunities are still being given to select students and it is unfair. Please consider looking into how students like Reagan Jennings was allowed to take test from home from the start of the LPN program at ecpi. I just want a fair chance.

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us about your experience. We'd certainly like to learn more, and we recommend that you please email [email protected] with the above information and be sure to include your phone number, email address, campus and program. Once we receive your contact details, we will pass your message on to the University Administration who will contact you for next steps. If you have additional questions, be sure to include them in the email to [email protected] Thank you!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - financial dishonesty, poor policy integrity, high fail rate

The sc/va lpn program will overcharge students with poorly disclosed fees, I witnessed bias teachers try to purposely fail students, give unfair grades passing who they personally think deserves it...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - education

I used to be an electronics teacher at ecpi.in a nutshell, ecpi is a fraud. Any student with a social security number is let in. Each class is 5 hours long. Students cannot concentrate that long...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - accreditation, administration, and cost issues

Since my attendance was about 10 years ago, this is more a note to others. I attended what was known as ecpi technical college at the time at the richmond / glen allen / innsbrook location...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - education

In brief: dont go to ecpi The campus in greensboro is a joke. That place is a revolving door for instructors and students alike. I spoke with melody swaim the career placement "specialist"...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - classes

I had completed all of my course work and worked really hard and to go on extern you have to have a class called 238 and its a prep class and a check off all in one, bad thing was I got "b's" on all...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

ECPI University - fianancial aide-administration

I am currently a student at ecpi-charlotte in the medical administrative program i'm attempting an associate degree. Technically I graduated june 5, 2011. My issues are that administrative officer...

Read full review
1 2

ECPI University representative