eCost.comDishonest sales and scam tactics!

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Ecost advertised a Samsung 58" 1080p plasma TV for 2,519. Called to confirm US warranty, new, etc. Had them check warehouse stock to confirm was available (Online said in stock). Processed order. Credit card was reported as would not authorize. Called bank and they said absolutely not, was authorized and card showed $2,700+ on credit hold to ecost. Called back, they said we see no order, etc. Continued to insist they had it in stock, to process it again. Multiple phone calls of escalating intensity, finally people apologize, said not sure why we were told it was in stock. Meanwhile they have a credit hold on $2700 and we can't get a TV elsewhere. Plot thickens, Two days later, they still list it as in stock and after a blistering round with a supervisor, the item now is listed as Temp out, than the price jumps up $900. Now it is clear, they never intended to sell any units at the low price, and just lied to people about availability. They said, just call your credit card company, they will release the money. Does not work like that, there is still a hold 4 days later. Multiple calls, letters. I point out how obvious there scam was by the sudden jump in price. Like a puppet, they change the price back down to the lower price, and say it is IN STOCK again! I call again to "order" the unit, they ask my name, put me on hold, and suddenly the TV is listed as out of stock now! I say they were trying to set up their low ball scam again. Five minutes later, the price is changed again, and they still have our money tied up. I had done business with them before, but clearly they are bottom dwelling scam artists. DO not waste your time or money with them, they clearly have no concern about integrity or customer loyal as I had purchased from them before. Really turned my stomach to see them jump back and forth like idiot puppets to get out of their own way when every thing they did made it more obvious they were dishonest. Go anywhere else. I will be sending a formal complaint to the State Attorney General as I believe this is fraud, and I also believe taking $2700 of money I would have access to and preventing my use of that is a form of theft. Especially when it was done when ecost had no intention of processing the order.

Jeff Hartford MD.

Responses

  • Na
    NatalieJ Jun 16, 2016

    What sh*t bags! I ordered a laptop that showed 2 in stock a week ago. I payed immediately and have never had trouble with my credit card from any other company. The first phone call was 3 days after I made the payment to tell me that they needed to verify my address. The second call on day 5 was to verify my credit card information. Now 14 calls later verifying information with did NOT include calling my credit card to make sure it was allowed thru... they tell me they have no idea what Im talking about because the laptop was sold out a week ago. They can hold my $500 payment for 4-6 weeks until it becomes available again to ship. No apologies, the person responsible for my case is out to lunch, died or just doesn't give a flying sh*t

    I used to like ecost... Ive only purchased 3 items in the past. One of them was a hard drive that died 3 moths later. I thought I must have done something wrong but after reading these complaints I think they cheesed me out of wasting my time for a week and a lot of priceless data.

    I hope the guy who trains these worthless CS reps gets whats coming to him/her.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott72 Jun 16, 2016

    I bought a 3D LCD 120Hz monitor with a DVI port on it. Ecost's site said I could use a HDMI->DVI cable to connect it to my laptop, and in fact suggested it as an add-on. I purchased the monitor and the cable and when it arrived I was told by Viewsonic that the HDMI->DVI cable will not work with 3D and all I would get is 60Hz not120Hz. eCost will not take it back even though they are the ones who said it would work together. Now I have a highly overpriced 3D 120Hz monitor that only does 60Hz.

    0 Votes
  • Kj
    KJFuller7 Jun 16, 2016

    OK, so I bought this Samsung LCD TV refurb for a great price. The HDMI ports did not work right out of the box, which was the only reason I bought the thing (and it's 1080p). Plus the sound was REALLY crappy and the onscreen menus are so tiny you have to get right in front of the TV to adjust anything. So I returned it. It took 4 days to receive the RMA and shipping label via EMAIL! I dropped it at UPS store the next day and it took 7 days to get to the returns warehouse. Then it took 10 days for the warehouse to approve the refund. And now their telling me the refund will be processed in 7 to 10 days! So, this fiasco will consume a whole MONTH! I won't be buying anything from them ever again... unless I really want it... and it's a great deal... but I'm really not happy about this process... then again, it's Friday soooooo...

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Erskine Underwood Jun 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a refurbished RCA DRC8310 DVD recorder/VHS recorder combo from Ecost.com on 11/29/2006 and the optional two year service agreement (provided by Service Net).

    When the unit malfunctioned in December 2007, I phoned Service Net to arrange for service under the agreement purchased through Ecost.com. The Service Net representative requested the model number of the item and the serial number (which is blank on their certificate of coverage). I provided the model number but advised the representative that the serial number was obliterated from the item with a marking pen. The rep advised that a serial number was required to provide service and directed me to contact the seller, Ecost.com for the number.

    When I phoned Ecost.com, their customer service representative acknowledged record of the sale but advised that they had no record of a serial number of the unit. They advised that they would escalate the problem to a manager, and I would be contacted in 72 hours. I received an email acknowledgment of the conversation and awaited further correspondence. I am still waiting.

    Not only do I own a non-functioning DVD recorder, I was suckered into purchasing a service agreement from a company that refuses to honor their agreement.

    At very least Ecost should refund the cost of the service agreement that they sold.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jobber Jun 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered a keyboard from them and the item was not as advertised. The connector does not fit any modern computer. Attempts to resolve this issue have met with stonewalling. Whether by email or phone, I get the standard response, we will get back to you in 48 or 72 business hours but this never happens. I have had to dispute the transaction on PayPal. I can't recall a worse online buying experience.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DanielGa Jun 16, 2016

    I was mislead by the ECOST email promotion to become a club member. After I got the promotion email, I resisted for the membership on 1/20/09. After registered, eCost charged me $39.95. I even did not get any email or order number (I fund the order from my account). It is difficult for me to cancel the order. This is intentionally cheating. I emailed back on 1/27/09 to cancel my membership and I got a email back mentioned that "issues have been forwarded to the appropriate department" with a confirmation number of "KMM1073950I15977L0KM". After that I did not get any information and did not get the refund until 01/20/10 I got another $39.95 charge. I am very angry about this company. If you google "ECOST COMPLAINS" you will find thousands and thousands complains: http://www.complaintsboard.com/bycompany/ecostcom-a3255.html http://www.my3cents.com/search.cgi?criteria=Ecost.com eCost.com — Dishonest sales and scam tactics! http://www.measuredup.com/company/ecost.com-3652/Reviews/Consumer-Complaint-1 http://geeks.pirillo.com/profiles/blogs/2300301:BlogPost:709071

    The filed a complain through BBB. The company refused to refund the $39.95 charge (01/20/09). Stay away from this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    cecil30 Nov 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have purchased with ecost before and went to them when I was looking for a pico projector. Their price was low, and prior experience told me that the shipping was fast and reasonable. The projector arrived quickly, but alas, the HDMI port did not function. I called up customer service and they told me that I would have to speak to the manufacturer and get a 5 digit claim# first. I then called up the manufacturer and after some trouble- shooting confirmed it was a bad port although he had no idea what I was talking about with a five digit claim#. I called ecost back, told them about my call and they said they were sending the RMA to me, but first I would have to order another one and they wouldn't bill me if they got the other back. Well, to make a long story short, I was billed twice, repeated emails were ignored and calls were put on perma- hold and the reps were either unwilling or unable to help- horribly frustrating. I just got off the phone with my credit card to cancel one of the payments because this is now my only recourse. I used to like ecost and recommended them to friends, but I will never buy from them again with customer service like that.

    0 Votes
  • K7
    k763 Oct 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have placed several orders with eCost without incident, however I am very disappointed with a recent customer service issue. On my last order approximately 2-3 weeks ago, I signed up for their Platinum Premium membership. I was sold on this during the checkout process and I have a screenshot if anyone is interested in seeing. It stated for $39.99 that there was FREE ground shipping and discounted express shipping, exclusive access to bargain countdown platinum showcase, and exclusive access to platinum outrageous offers (Tuesday/Thursday). There is an add membership button. There is no details button and no restrictions button.

    All was well until I tried to order a 19" LCD TV on 12/01/09. It came up asking for shipping costs. I called customer service and was told that it did not apply to orders over 10 lbs. This was not stated on the banner selling me this a few weeks ago. They told me I received an email with the restrictions which I may have (I haven't gone back and looked). However, I said this was not stated when I signed up and I would like to cancel it and receive a refund for the membership. I was told they can cancel it, but they can not refund my money as the membership is non-refundable. I asked about the shippng again and they said I received an email with the restriction. I stated that an email with the restrictions after I order it does not do me any good if I can't get a refund.

    I asked for a supervisor and was told they were busy. I asked for any supervisor or management person and after a couple minutes was told they were all busy. I asked to be called by a supervisor. The customer service rep. took down my number, but no call. I am considering disputing the charge for the membership through my credit card company due to the misleading advertisement, but either way I have most likely purchased my last item from eCost. I have recommended a family member to eCost who has also purchased items and I have recommended to other friends. I will stop recommending eCost. A business is only as good as its customer service !

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    gra mi Oct 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well I’m not sure where to begin. I placed an order (E8802698) Nov 30, 2009; I received a confirmation email that stated “Items are ready to ship from our warehouse”. The next day I received a voicemail letting me know that eCost.com required additional information to process my order. I provided the requested information and was told that the order will be processed. Four days later I received an email telling me that 2 items were cancelled because they were no longer available from the manufacturer. Six days later I received an email telling me that 2 more items were cancelled because the product was no longer available from the manufacturer. Now on December 10, 2009, I received an email telling me that the renaming items that I ordered were cancelled because I did not respond to eCost.com request for more information. So, over a period of two weeks they cancelled every item that I ordered.

    0 Votes
  • St
    steveo67 Sep 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This place is absolutley worthless! I ordered a wireless camera. It doesn't work on three laptops and I called to return it. They told me to call the manufacturer, I did and they were no help. I called ecost again and they said they would send me a shipping return label. Two weeks later, nothing. I called ecost a third time and they said they would send the label. Then I get a BS email saying they will not take the product back and that all sales are final. Worthless site. DO NOT BUY FROM HERE!!

    0 Votes
  • Er
    EricT Sep 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a Plantronics Bluetooth headset from eCost. It was advertised as new, and it looked like a good deal. When I received it, it was not in its original packaging. It was in a little bubble envelope, with only 1 ear bud (instead of a set), with a power cord that had been rewound, and with incomplete documentation. In fact, their effort at providing a user guide was only a few pages on a photocopied sheet of paper. After calling the manufacturer and verifying they never send out product in this condition, and there was no such thing as an OEM for this product, I realized I had been taken advantage of.
    I called eCost, and they were extremely customer unfriendly. I told them it wasn't in as-new condition, I verified with the manufacturer this wasn't new, and what was missing. Only after I insisted multiple times for a return did she say to email the details and someone would get back to me within 3 business days. No one did. I emailed again. Nothing.

    Fortunately, credit card companies have a dispute process, which I did. What happened? Vintage eCost. They only credited part of the transaction, which my credit card company told me they weren't supposed to do.
    Avoid these guys like the worst communicable disease known to man. Unless you enjoy receiving products advertised as new that isn't.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barnabas Yohannes Aug 23, 2011

    For two years, I have tried to purchase something from their "Platinum Premium Account" at outrageously low price, but none of what they listed in the ad are displayed on that site. First they claim they only have 4 or 5 items at that outrageously low price. Then, they claim, you have to wait and check the site regularly, every second for 8 hours and, if you get lucky, you can buy the item at that price. However, the truth is, you can never buy it at that price especially if it is a big priced item. However, if it is low priced item where they could give you $4 or $5 discount, they do display it at that price. I believe, these “outrageously low price” advertisement is a scam to lure people to sign for their annual membership at $39.95 (automatically renewed every year).

    To be fair, with that “Platinum Premium Account” membership, you get 3 free shipping of small items. If the items are too big, they will tell you to split them into two separate shipment.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kaivenice Jul 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I don't even have the energy to write about how frustrated I have been dealing with a return to Ecost that was lost by the shipper. I called and emailed countless times to get resolution, was given conflicting information, and finally after my 3rd or fourth 3-way call with them and UPS, a claim was filed. UPS was always very helpful, but they could not do anything for me directly, and Ecost was hardly timely in filing the necessary claim. It has already been over 2 months I've been dealing with this, and in my most recent call to Ecost I was informed that it should be resolved by the end of the week. With the addendum that I should call next Monday if I hear nothing. Which is likely, as I have had to be on their backs constantly throughout this entire process. It's ridiculous that I should have to hunt them down to fix a problem that began with them shipping me the wrong product to begin with. The irony is, I didn't even want a refund, I would have been happy with a replacement of the correct product. But, after this ordeal, I don't care if they are giving their stock away, I will never do business with them again and will encourage everyone I know to steer clear of them also.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    willythill Jul 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought an iPod as a Christmas gift on Dec. 19th and paid for 2nd Day Air to ensure delivery by Christmas (as the eCost website prompted me to do.)

    I received a shipping notice on Dec. 20th. When I did not receive the item by the evening of the 22nd, I checked the shipping status with UPS. It was still listed as "Billing Information Received". I called UPS to ask if they had received the item from eCost. They had not received the item from eCost to ship yet.

    I called eCost early the morning of the 23rd and asked them to cancel the order. I explained that I needed the item that day (the 23rd), as we were leaving town the next day. I explained how I lived up to my end of the transaction by paying for the item immediately with an expectation that they would then send the item to arrive by Christmas (the reason I paid for 2nd day air.) The customer service rep first replied "all sales are final." After I further explained that a sale was not completed because I did not have the item in possession, he said he would file a "cancellation request" and that since the item had not shipped yet, it should not be an issue. I went and bought another iPod that day.

    On Dec. 27, we return home. Later that day, my wife finds a package on our door step from eCost. I called customer service and explained that I had requested to cancel the item and was surprised to receive it and that I wanted to return the iPod for a refund. They gave me the standard "all sales are final" line. I said that I understood, but that I had requested to cancel the order before it had shipped because they had not delivered in a timely manner. I was told they would file a Return Authorization request.

    I called back several times to check on the status of my return request. I kept being told to check back later, and that no one in the RA department or in management was available to talk. I called again today Jan. 4th, a week after the initial RA request was made, and asked about the status of the return authorization. I was told an email was sent with the RA request on Dec. 30th. I never received the e-mail and asked if they could resend it.

    The e-mail reply I get simply repeats, "all sales are final."

    I am at a loss how a company advertises "World Class Customer Service" and will not process a simple return request when they failed to deliver the item in a timely manner and then failed to cancel the order when that request was made.

    Save yourself the time and headache, DO NOT BUY FROM eCOST!

    0 Votes
  • Ue
    ueiservice Feb 04, 2011

    We placed a web order for a LG 60" plasma TV at what looked like a very good price. It showed in stock. We called to verify that it was and it would be here before the SuperBowl. We were assured that it would be to us in less than 1 week. 1 week latar (and 3 days before the game we had no tv. We were told it was back ordered but was going out now. On the Friday before the Superbowl we recieved a tv but not a 60" . We recieved a 50" LG plasma . So we called and they told us we placed the order on the web and had ordered a 50" . We said no and were told all sales are final. We asked for a supervisor and were then told that we could pay 20% restock and shipping fees totaling $485 and we could return it. The TV cost $1000 this is half the price !! We told them it was their mistake and we wer told they didn't make mistakes and we would have to keep the TV. Thank God we used Pay-Pal . It may take up to 30 days but we won't be charged for their mistake. DON'T BUY FROM THESE PEOPLE.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    Puskole Jul 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been an eCost customer for over 5 years, having purchased several thousand dollars in items from them. I've generally been very pleased with the pricing, service, speed of shipping and selection.

    On my most recent order however, I mistakenly ordered an incorrect SDRAM module. I realized it was wrong when I opened the shipping container and I did not open the product packaging itself. When I contacted eCost to see about arranging a return and exchange they refused to do so stating all sales are final. When I asked to speak with a supervisor I was told none was available.

    Hard to believe that in this economy a company would be willing to tell a loyal customer to in essence "take a hike."

    Based on this experience I will never place another order with eCost after this experience.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Fellow.Traveler May 06, 2010

    Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. I thought the deals were too good to be true. Waht I want to now is why hasn't some agency (BBB, Atty General of the state they operate) shut them down? Sorry to hear your experience, but you did save me some hassle.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Pifkoler May 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was looking to buy computer and went to e cost . When I found a computer that I wanted there was a icon flashing in the window of the item that said this item would get free shipping, if I joined their platnium mebership . So I joined for 39.95. I then had to log out and wait fifteen minutes before placing my order. When I logged back on I perchased the item and it came up with a shipping charge. So I called customer service and was told that the iyem weight was over 10 lbs. I knew when I purchased the membership that it was only for 5 times a year and for items under 10 lbs, but the icon was on the item ad in the same box with the purchase now. One choice or the other. I brought the ad back up on my computer while on the phone with the service person and the icon was still there but they said it wasnt on their screen. Alittle while later I was showing my wife the ad and the icon was gone . Customer service would not refund my money and now I have to use this company or waste my 39.95. Very deceptive wacth out for these guys . I used to tell all my friends to use them

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Juvalle May 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have placed several orders with eCost without incident, however I am very disappointed with a recent customer service issue. On my last order approximately 2-3 weeks ago, I signed up for their Platinum Premium membership. I was sold on this during the checkout process and I have a screenshot if anyone is interested in seeing. It stated for $39.99 that there was FREE ground shipping and discounted express shipping, exclusive access to bargain countdown platinum showcase, and exclusive access to platinum outrageous offers (Tuesday/Thursday). There is an add membership button. There is no details button and no restrictions button.

    All was well until I tried to order a 19" LCD TV on 12/01/09. It came up asking for shipping costs. I called customer service and was told that it did not apply to orders over 10 lbs. This was not stated on the banner selling me this a few weeks ago. They told me I received an email with the restrictions which I may have (I haven't gone back and looked). However, I said this was not stated when I signed up and I would like to cancel it and receive a refund for the membership. I was told they can cancel it, but they can not refund my money as the membership is non-refundable. I asked about the shippng again and they said I received an email with the restriction. I stated that an email with the restrictions after I order it does not do me any good if I can't get a refund.

    I asked for a supervisor and was told they were busy. I asked for any supervisor or management person and after a couple minutes was told they were all busy. I asked to be called by a supervisor. The customer service rep. took down my number, but no call. I am considering disputing the charge for the membership through my credit card company due to the misleading advertisement, but either way I have most likely purchased my last item from eCost. I have recommended a family member to eCost who has also purchased items and I have recommended to other friends. I will stop recommending eCost. A business is only as good as its customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bonjorna Apr 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered a computer from them after more than one try it came to my work on a Friday. The keyboard was reflective and could not be seen while sitting in front of it. The rep indicated while we were ordering the computer that free Windows7 upgrade would be available online to download. However when we got the computer it was something to mail away for and will end up being a 3-4 week ordeal. This computer was refurbished and no better deal than the store brand new with Windows7 on it. I called on Tuesday to return it but was told NO Returns. I have a call into my credit card company. Awful company avoid business with Ecost.com and all cost.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    TIm Apr 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I first called Ecost.com [protected]) on 4/12/2010 to verify that the items were indeed in stock like their website showed. I talked with a representative and he assured me that they were in stock.

    I called back the same day and placed an order over the phone. I ordered a Digital Sound Projector-Black part # YMH YSP-5100BL and a Pedestal Stand for TV/Soundbar part # YMH YTS-T500. I was told the items were in the warehouse and would be shipped out within the following two days. I received an email with my order information. I waited approx. five days and called Ecost.com to check on the status of my order. The representative told me that the order has been cancelled because Ecost.com no longer stocks the item. I did not receive an email notification or anything.

    When asked why they no longer stock the item I was told that it was obsolete. The manufactures release date for this item was January 2010. It is Yamahas latest and greatest.

    BUYER BEWARE!

    0 Votes
  • Ry
    ryanspivack Apr 06, 2010

    One day surfing on line I ran into eCost.com, looking prices, deals and its BIG REAL SCAM THEY ARE DOING. They advertise "Platinum Premium Account" where you have to pay 39 dollars by year(automatically renewable ). They send you a email with UNBELIEVABLES PRICES TO ENROLL THE ACCOUNT LIKE PCs for 39, laptop for 59, Wireless Lynksys from CISCO for $4. Once you registered They never list these items they place them as OUTRAGESOUS DEAL EXPIRED. IT'S A SCAM!!!
    BE CAREFUL THIS SCAM THEY HAVE CREATED TO STEAL MONEY FROM YOU!!!


    DONT BUY AT eCOST.com!!!
    I M TRYING TO HELP PEOPE TO AVOID FALLING INTO THIS SCAM1!!!
    BYE
    ryanspviack

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    luvyaecost Mar 09, 2010

    Once we receive the product in our warehouse, you will be refunded in full. I tracked the return and it shows that you have not given UPS the product. Please note that the label will expire on 3/15/10 (10 days from the original issued date) and cannot be reissued.

    We are an authorized reseller of these products. The manufacturer ships them to us and we fulfill our customers orders. eCOST.com does not break the manufacturer seal on any of our products to inspect the items. Refurbished items are not guaranteed to come with all original accessories.

    Linda Potter
    eCOST.com

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ray F Mar 08, 2010

    FRAUD - BEWARE of eCost.com - NO Bargains Here !!!
    I received a TV that was more than 3 years old, discontinued, and in very poor condition. Does not include factory packing, manual, cables, or all parts. eCost has charged over $300 and did not reveal the poor condition of product, lack of original packing and materials, missing parts, and damage to TV stand and encasement.
    I phoned eCost.com upon opening of outer box and examining the contents. I was told by Ed that they were aware that the TV is old, outdated, discontinued and missing packing and parts. I was told that I should expect this of there products. I offered three options for rectification of issue, but all were denied. I offered to have the TV replaced with a newer unit of proper age and condition, in proper working order, and including all factory supplied parts, manuals, cables, and packing - denied by eCost.com. I offered to have some money refunded to me to bring the transaction to a reasonable cost for the product supplied - again denied by eCost.com. I also offered to have eCost pick up the unit at their cost and return for full refund - again denied by eCost.com.
    eCost told me that they would not accept a return, and they do not offer refunds. I could ship it back at my expense, and I would be charged a 20% restocking fee - and eCost.com would then evaluate and decide what to do at that point.
    eCost.com is a company that is practicing theft and fraud. I of course have reported this to my bank.
    BEWARE of eCost.com

    0 Votes
  • Gm
    Gmeerr Mar 02, 2010

    It is obvious that Ecost.com is not looking to build on going relationships with their customers. After being ripped off once by Ecost I can only do my best to educate the public that this is not a store to do business with. I run a global manufacturing company and I always try to keep my customers happy. Ecost.com really does not care to go the extra mile to keep their customers happy. I recently purchased a 26" LCD tv on line and I did not know it was reburbished. I was out of town for the month and when I opened the box yesterday I then realized that the tv was reburbished, scratched and had a bad pixel on the screen. When I called Ecost.com they told me they will not take the tv back and that I now have to contact the manufacturer and pay for the return shipping to Westinghouse.

    I would have been better off paying the full price at my local Target store and getting a brand new unit. If I had a problem I could have just returned it to Target for exchange. I believe stores like Ecost.com should be reviewed by WCBS TV Shame on You department. Having worked in broadcasting most of my life I may contact a friend to cover this story.

    0 Votes
  • Om
    Omkell Feb 28, 2010

    Beware: I purchased a Viewsonic TV that was defective out of the box. They force you to deal with the manufacturer - hours on the phone, more shipping charges to return to Viewsonic, three week delay for repair and the saga goes on. eCost washed their hands of the transaction - no service - no customer - I will never used them again.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hamid Bahadori Jan 01, 2010

    These guys who run ecost are a bunch of crooks. I bought a laptop from them and since I had issues with it, I requested them to take it back however I was told that I need to deal with the company that manufactured/refurbished it. Once you buy anything from these ### you will be stuck with it, they will not take anything back or give you a refund. This is how businesses are run in third world countries no refund no service attitude and that’s how they run this business. You will never be able to talk to someone who would have decision making power and they will use a lingering tactic on you until you just give up.
    Best thing to do, never buy anything from them, file a formal complaint against them that is what I am going to do, they will have to learn a lesson or else they will continue to run this crooked business.
    By the way, they are owned by a company called PSWEB in Plano, Texas.

    Hamid Bahadori

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    Tuke Dec 14, 2009

    I feel for all of you. I too have been bent over by Ecrooks. I just received email saying my platinum membership was renewed for a year. Haven' t ordered anything in over a year. Last year ordered some Bluetooth headsets for gifts. Received shipment and opened box to check items out. Ordered 3 headsets. Got 2 earpieces and 4 chargers. Called Ecrooks and tried to explain to customer service about shipment and was basically called a liar the first time. Second time I called they wanted pictures emailed to them. Did that. Sent a couple emails but no luck. Forgot about it and low and behold I receive an email from the ### saying that they billed me for my membership again. Called tonight to cancel it but they probably will try to charge me again next year. Did they just start saying it was a recurring charge this year? I don't remember seeing that when I signed up for a year last year. I would never buy from them again. They are nothing but crooks.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    CocoSatchMaster Dec 11, 2009

    eCost charges tax on platinum membership. I believe services are untaxable items. I cancelled my membership. I won't trust any company like this.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    bigpapa09 Dec 08, 2009

    Thanks people,

    I will be wary of this company and have their emails go straight to junk.

    0 Votes
  • Bm
    bmsim Dec 08, 2009

    I purchased a computer from eCost 11/09. It was advertised with a 1 year warranty from the manufacturer (HP). It arrived and didn't work, so I called eCost. Their rep told me eCost wasn't responsible, that I should call HP about my warranty. I called HP and talked to 3 reps, each telling me HP does not offer such warranties. I called eCost back and the rep told me to call HP again. I called HP, talked to 2 more reps, and the last one 3 way called an eCost rep. HP told eCost pretty much that they were advertising warranties knowing that HP didn't offer them, and that it was eCost's responsibility. The eCost rep said they'd contact me within 1 to 2 days to tell me how to send the computer back. They never did, and follow up calls to them have had the same result. Now I've got a computer that doesn't even come on, and eCost has my money. It appears that eCost sells junk products, lies about warranties, and won't help their customers when they have issues that are eCost's fault. STAY AWAY!!

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thomas MC Jun 29, 2009

    e.cost stand for EXTREMLY COSTLY to your Pocket. I Order a Samsung LCD Monitor through E.cost. It arrived 5 dayslater. When I look at the packing box, the Monitor stand sticking out of the box. The box is way too small for packing this monitor. When I open it, they used packing tape to tape some newspaper around the LCD screen I could believe it. There is no power supply ship with it. Luckily Samsung use standard power supply cable. When I hookup the monitor, Half of the left size of the screen distor with 7 different colors. I call E.cost right away about replacement. They said I need to take a picture and send it to them. I did that
    They said" I need to call samsung for the warranteed" I call Samsung, They said" referbish item has no warrenteed what so ever... Right now, I let the Credit card company handling the issue...Maybe this might be the only way, can get through to E.cost .

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Mugatu May 14, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are crooks!!! I am going through something similar. I feel for you. Hang in there.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Mugatu May 14, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got burned by the ecost scamwagon!! Ordered a 23" samsung monitor and payed through paypal. Monitor showed up packed like crap with the base smacking around inside. I shouldn't have even bothered opening it but I did. The monitor had no cables, no warranty info, and was wrapped in a sheet of thin foam. After taking the foam off I noticed the monitor had fine scratches all around the bezel and had a completely different stand than was pictured on the site. It is basically a different model than what they have pictured. I called thinking oh man they are going to want to hear about this. Boy was I wrong. They initially were acting as though I was out of line for asking for an RA#. Then they told me they would issue an RA# only if I took pictures of the monitor and scratches. UNBELIEVABLE!!! You send me a damaged item that isn't even what I ordered and now I have to send you pictures of the dam thing. Get bent!! Steer clear of this crap company. The negative reviews I'm finding after the fact make me feel like an idiot for ever doing business with them.

    0 Votes
  • H1
    H123 Apr 30, 2009

    I get these platinum premium newsletters with products showing very low prices. Click on it and log in with my platinum membership. They should regular price instead of the low prices offered in the newsletter.

    This a scam to get people to purchase the platinum membership. Every newsletter is like this. All the products are marked regular prices on the site instead of the ones marked in the newsletter.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Gerard Apr 06, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    funny thing i ordered an HP Touchsmart iq505 from ecost.com paid $700 or so give or take.. I paid for the computer, recieved it.. was charged etc.. but today to my surprise is a letter from eCost.com asking me to pay the price of the computer "again"? There is this PO Box address that I'm instructed to send my check to? What are they thinking that by some miracle I will pay them again because I have so many millions in my bank that I wouldn't notice $700 missing? lol, Oh I noticed it missing, trust me! I will not send them a check lol. I'm going to find their number somehow and call about this.. funny thing is that on this letter there is no phone # but the enevelope has the eCost.com logo on it!

    hmmmmm?
    Gerard Haughey
    New York

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Apr 01, 2009

    I have NEVER had a more MISERABLE and FRUSTRATING online shopping experience in the 12 years I have been shopping with internet retailers. On March 9, 2009 I ordered a Westinghouse 26' LCD TV from ECost.com. I THOUGHT it was an AMAZING deal so I also bought the Square Trade Extended Warranty as well. When I got the TV and went to set it up I discovered that it had NO base with it for the TV to sit on.

    The screws for the base were in the bag with the remote control and the booklet, but NO BASE. I immediately called the Customer Service number. It took several days, a few emails and 2 more phone calls but I received a base in the mail, FINALLY. I was thrilled, I took it out of the box and discovered it was the WRONG BASE and could NOT be used! Once again I called ECost.com and was once again told they would forward my complaint on to a resolution Specialist.

    4 days later I get an email stating that I needed to return the ENTIRE TV and repurchase another one. WHAT THE HECK???? ALL I NEEDED was a BASE for my TV. Today was the LAST STRAW for me. I was placed on hold for 15 minutes and then I spoke with someone who CLAIMED to be a supervisor who talked to me like I was a criminal or something. She REFUSED to help me, and told me that I would have to do it THEIR way or NO WAY and I would be stuck with a TV that is balancing on my dresser without a base stand.

    I simply can NOT afford to pay for another TV and shipping and allow ECost.com to hold onto over $600 of my hard earned money while I wait to be refunded for the TV without the stand. I have spoken to customer service reps on 5 separate occassions and each time I was treated as if I had done something wrong. I have worked in Customer Service for many years and if I EVER talked to a customer the way I have been talked to I would have been fired immediately.

    Apparently they do NOT CARE about their customers OR the crappy products they are selling to consumers!!! This has been a NIGHTMARE, and I intend to blog about this on EVERY, SINGLE consumer rip off and complaint site I can find. I am BEYOND IRATE at this point, and STILL almost a month WITHOUT A RESOLUTION!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peter Hui Mar 07, 2009

    I bought a recertified Samsung 24 inch monitor from eCOST.ocm. It arrived with no packing list, l no warranty information, not manual and set up information, and one missing cable. I called them but they said I should complaint to Samsung. I called Samsung and they heoped me to set up the monitor. But they told me that the packing is the responsibibilty of eCOST.com. I called eCOST.ocm back and they say that there's nothing they can do about it. At this time I am referring the situation to my credit company for resolution.
    All I can say is that eCOST is the worst company to do business with and they are running a scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Argonith Aug 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One of the worst stores I have ever had to deal with. Product was broken when I got it, and probably fake. Did not have any of the holographic stickers associated with a Motorola product. Tried to return and got the run around. See article for more details: http://www.danielrs.com/2008/08/05/dont-buy-from-ecostcom-ever/

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom Grestini Mar 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased an item on 3/12 in the platinum countdown for $8.99 after waiting 8 days I contacted them and I was told order was canceled because the item was out of stock. So I go to platinum sales and what do I see the same exact item now selling for $36.99. No wonder they canceled my order why sell it to someone for $8.99 when you can get $36.99. I know this is not a lot of money but its the principal of the thing. I just found the same item for $27.99 at target. What a scam.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.