SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

DynasplintInsurance Fraud

1
C Review updated:

I am a patient that had used the Dynasplint for my achilles tendon for nine months. When I first saw my doctor for my problem, he said that this thing called a Dynasplint could help. He said that he would have the rep, named Sarah, come in the next week and talk to me about it. When I went in and met the rep, my doctor and she said that it will help my problem and that she would contact my insurance company to see if I was covered. My doctor called me later in the week and told me that Sarah said my insurance would cover it 100% and she got me approved for coverage. And, that I should make an appointment to come in and get it fitted with the Dynasplint and get started with my treatment. I did. Nine months later Dynasplint wrote me a letter and said my insurance company was not paying the bills Dynasplint was sending them and if I could contact them. I did and my insurance company told me that Sarah, the Dynasplint rep, did not get approval and she did not follow the procedure to get approval. In fact, my insurance company told me that "the Dynasplint" was considered "experimental" and there was no proof that it helped anyone. And, if Sarah had filed the proper paperwork it would have been denied for that reason. They told me that she had never had contacted them at all. My insurance company told me that I needed to send in my doctors notes on my condition and they would review it and try and help. I did. Dynasplint did nothing. I did all the work and they have done nothing but try and get me to pay this bill. They asked me if I would request an appeal for my insurance company pay them. I did. My insurance company denied them again for the same reason. Dynasplint asked me if I would be willing to fill out paperwork and have the Medical Insurance Review Board review this and I did. The review board sided with my insurance company. It has been 3 1/2 years and they had a collection agency call me today. I have contacted an attorney. It seems Dynasplint has a scam going. They get patients to get a diagnosis from a doctor, sign paperwork saying they have been approved by their insurance company (when in fact they have not). And after a few months go by, they say their insurance is not paying so you have to. The catch is the patient has signed the paperwork. Dynasplint is a company that also scams it's patients and is committing insurance fraud. If anyone has any suggestions or stories to help my case please contact me at [email][protected]@gmail.com[/email]. I am so sick of them and life is to short to deal with something like this. My mom just passed away and I have better things to do with my life.
Thanks!

Responses

  • D
      Aug 27, 2010

    Same happened to me. I live in Iowa.
    Look for my post on topix.com/Forum
    Sandy, I also e-mailed to you directly.
    Irene

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Oct 04, 2010

    I am having the same issue. I can't get ahold of anyone at Dynasplint. I have been calling them once a month for the past 18mths and leaving a message. I never get a call in return.

    +1 Votes
  • L
      Jan 05, 2011

    MY MOTHER "S MEDICARE AND AARP HAVE BEEN CHARGED FOR A DEVICE AND MONTHLY FOR A DEVICE ADJUSTMENT SHE HAS NEVER SEEN OR RECEIVED OR ORDERED. MEDICARE TOLD MY MOTHER TO TAKE CARE OF THIS PROBLEM HERSELF BY CALLING DYNASPLINT. I BELIEVE THERE MAYBE SOME MEDICARE FRAUD GOING ON HERE. WHATS YOUR THOUGHTS FOLKS? AARP WAS WAS VERY CONCERNED WITH THIS PROBLEM AND IS GOING TO PURSUE THE PROBLEM.

    +1 Votes
  • H
      Mar 30, 2011

    Praise God I am not the only one! I have been dealing with this garbage for almost two years now. After numerous calls, emails, and letters etc, still no resolution...just frustration. I was told before I was fitted (for TMJ) that BCBS would cover it and I would just pay copay. I used it two months (shipped back b/c I didn't like it) and have been receiving monthly bills saying I owe over a thousand dollars!! When I would contact the representative that fitted me, she said not to worry about paying it because it was just a statement that they were waiting for insurance to pay. SInce then, I have been sent to collections and I am at fault because I failed to read the 'fine print' at the bottom and trusted the rep instead!
    [protected]@yahoo.com

    +1 Votes
  • M
      May 21, 2011

    I dont see where there is fraud, except in the case were the unit was never recieved. In that case I would contact your insurance and the compliance department of Dynasplint. Dynasplint is a monthy rental company located in Severna Park Maryland. Unfortunatley what Dynasplint goes from is a quote of benifits from YOUR insurance. Thats why you were told you were covered at 100 percent by the representative . Some Insurances cover and some dont, as expermental mostly. Blue Cross if famous for saying they will cover after review and then deny. If Dynasplint never tried to attempt to get an authorization then you shouldnt be responsible. Ask the person who handles your billing for their fax number. Fax a request for any and all information regarding their attempts in regards to their attempts at authorization, etc. They must do this with in 30 days. If they attempted and was denied then you would be responsible if you signed a contract. This is what you can do. Dynasplints main number is 800.638.6771. When you talk to your billing specialist make sure you write down everything and keep a list of who you talked to and what was said. If you cant reach a person with in two weeks and have made mulitiple calls ask to speak to their manager for assistance. It can be fustrating but stay clam and be diligent. Before you are sent to collections you are sent to a in house collections department in dynasplint. They will work with you. Ask for a payment plan or a discounted rate. The lesson here is to READ what you sign and to coinfirm with you insurance what they do and dont cover.

    -1 Votes
  • C
      Sep 12, 2011

    Dynasplint I believe to is a rip -off company..the rep was in my physical therapy ofc ..selling her junk!!! She rented to me a leg brace which held my knee in place after knee replacement surgery..I needed the knee to bend not stay in place..so I sent the metal rods and canvas pads in the pre-paid box back.. by fed-ex...Dynasplint refuses to acknowledge the return...thereby continuing to monthly bill me..and rip off medicare..Most likely the only to get them under control is to file a complaint with medicare..these leeches should not be allowed to be in physical therapy offices harrasing patients...the rep told me up front that I could return this brace at any time..that was a lie as Dynasplint refuses to acknowledge the return. Haley Kirby representing Dynasplint in Austin Texas whats up with that? who is the liar? You or Dynasplint..? I am going to file a complaint with Medicare on both of you!

    +1 Votes
  • B
      Feb 28, 2012

    This company is shady. I was told in July of 2011 by one of their reps, Brian Smith of Houston, TX that my arm splint would be covered by insurance for one year. I received a bill this month for $300.00. I called Brian Smith, and he denied having ever told me that the splint was covered for a year. My husband was with me when he said this and remembers it. I have received a second bill with an additional charge of $92.00. The thing is worthless in the first place. It was very painful and did nothing to help my progress. But, the biggest disappointment was the shady business dealings.

    +1 Votes
  • H
      Feb 29, 2012

    This company has shady dealings and doctors offices should research the company before referring or outsourcing to them!

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Jun 21, 2012

    I had the EXACT same experience. Dr. recommended, rep said it was covered by insurance, 6 months later I start getting a bill for $250.00. My rep, Lisa Wehberg, said that when the unit was returned, the charge would go away. I sent it back in, and still received bills for $250.00. I asked her "Did you receive the unit" she said it shows on my account that yes, in fact the unit was received, so it must just be taking longer to get out of the system. At this point I had been working with Lisa for over a year, she had been nothing but nice to me. 5-6 months later I get a letter from a collection agency regarding $250.00 Dynasplint says I owe them. I call Lisa, she answers, I said my name, SHE HUNG UP ON ME! I called back and the receptionist said that I now that I was at collections I had to deal with Jasmine. This company is awful. I am looking for any reviews, the BBB, whatever I can to let people know not to use them. I will be calling my Dr., who is wonderful, to let him know what has happened in hopes he will think twice before recommending them again. Not to mention, we used a different method that worked 100 times better than Dynasplint!

    +1 Votes
  • W
      Aug 27, 2012

    Hello pb1114. Can you please contact me so we can figure out your remaining balance and make it right or you can explain your situation to me. [protected]@dynasplint.com. You should not be hung up on or be sent to collections without knowing why. Please reach out to me so we can figure this out and make it right. I hope to hear from you.

    0 Votes
  • C
      Aug 29, 2012

    Take them to small claims court as soon as they enter you into a collection agency database for damages! File with the state of CA. And write a letter to your Doctor, send a copy of the letter you sent to your doctor to the CA board of Practice and to the office of the attorney general. Don't waste your time here...nobody reads this stuff.

    +1 Votes
  • C
      Aug 29, 2012

    You need to write letters to your doctors and to the state's medical review boards concerning your doctors involment with this company! The other companies that supply this same equipment cost pennies compared with dynasplint...you, we all have been ripped off well before our involvment with this misleading and scam company. Don't worry about the contract, most all states have protections in place when the company has intentionally mislead and engaged in deceptive buisness practices as dynasplint does. Unfortunatly we have to do something otherwise theywill just intimidate and continue to abuse you!

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Sep 11, 2012
    Dynasplint - SCAM
    DYNASPLINT
    Jonesboro
    Georgia
    United States

    THEY APPROACHED ME WITH THE SAME INFO THAT I HAVE ON CONSUMER COMPLAINTS AGAINST THEM. PROMISING THAT THEY WILL CONTACT INS COMPANY AND GET APPROVAL.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Dec 15, 2012

    They finally got caught. Nice Job Jonathan! Dynasplint is finally hit with huge Medicare fraud lawsuit by u.s. government...over 100 million.

    +2 Votes
  • A
      Mar 12, 2013

    I have a very similar situation to OP. Coming off acl surgery, I agreed to try one of there knee splints to speed up the rehab process. I had the sales rep, Brooke Winkler contact my insurance co. I said I'd agree to use it only if I didn't have to pay anything out of pocket. She told me yes I was covered at 100%. I signed a contract, which according to her was for just in case the devices get damaged, lost, or stolen. I only tried them on once and didn't even need to use them. A few months after I return the devices, I get a bill in the mail for 1100 something dollars. I ask her if she got the devices back and if they were all right, she says yes everything is good on her end. What followed was me being redirected back and forth between her and the billing rep Monica. Monica tells me that I will be receiving an updated bill with an even larger balance of 1500 something in the mail "any day now." Brooke then tells me that yes it was her fault she made a mistake when looking at my insurance info. I never hear from them again, nor did I get that bill she said she would send me. I assumed that since I haven't heard form them in a year, that my rep took care of it for me, but now I just got a bill in the mail for 1700 something dollars and another letter from collection agency telling me I need to pay 1881 dollars! The current billing rep Katie tells me that there is nothing she or Brooke can do. So now I'm left with an 1800 something dollar bill, which is accruing interest and becoming a bigger deficit as I type this and no one willing to make this right! What happens if I can't pay? What else can I do to fight this???

    +1 Votes
  • A
      Mar 14, 2013

    ^^^^ If anyone can help please email me [protected]@yahoo.com thanks!

    0 Votes
  • U
      Aug 06, 2013

    Today I am no longer employed by one of the most unethical and shamefully selfish companies in the medical field, Dynasplint Systems, Inc. After many years of selfless service, our company's owner and proprietor George Hepburn laid off over 500 employees without notice, after bold face lying week after week about the financial status of his corporation, ensuring that "everything was fine". These lies were vomited as recent as last week, even in the wake of a lawsuit that he was found liable and was forced to pay millions to his lenders to which he had also been untruthful. I have personally documented several instances of Medicare fraud where while performing my duties, contracts for splints were processed that were not physically possible for one human body and NUMEROUS other instances of forgery and duplication of billing. These issues were immediately brought to the attention of corporate supervision, Matthew Pettie, and the owner without any action being taken. I and many others, were simply told "it would be taken care of" and these orders were billed to Medicare and other providers as if nothing had happened. Both Matt Pettie and George Hepburn knew of this companies impending downfall as well as the illegal practices being conducted which led it to this state, however, they chose to place their own delusional visions of success over the well being of their company and its employees. While Mr. Hepburn and Mr. Pettie vacationed out of country and left reassuring messages about the state of the business with tropical birds chirping in the background from vacation homes, no thought was given to the consequences of the hundreds of hardworking men and women at Dynasplint. I look forward to the opportunity to finally expose this companies fraudulent and inexcusably arrogant activities to the proper authorities, as I began documenting and copying ever fraudulent transaction that I became aware of several months ago. This is the classic tale of American Greed boys and girls, not the holistic entrepreneurship as Mr. Hepburn and Mr. Pettie would have you believe. Please feel free to use this forum for any inquiries as I (and others) are prepared to do what's right, unlike our former employer.

    +2 Votes
  • F
      Aug 12, 2013

    dynasplint is a fraud... lol..i am so glad they finally got what they deserved.but i for one will not be satisfied until they shut down completely ...they are a disgrace to the medical field

    +1 Votes
  • H
      Apr 04, 2014

    IM AFRAID TO TELL MY STORY, BUT HERE IT GOES .I WAS INVOLVED IN A MOTORCYCLE ACCIDENT THAT BROKE MY LEG. I HAVE A PROBLEM GETTING FLEXION IN THE LEFT KNEE AND I WAS TOLD BY MY THERAPIST THAT DYNA SPLINT COULD HELP. I GOT THE SPLINT UNDER THE SAME IMPRESSION THAT EVERYONE ELSE DID. THE SALESMAN TOLD ME "YOUR INSURANCE COMPANY IS PAYING 100%.I GOT THE SPLINT JAN.30TH 2014. I HAVE JUST STARTED GETTING PHONE CALLS FROM DYNA SPLINT SAYING "THE INSURANCE COMPANY IS DENYING THE CLAIM BECAUSE OF A LACK OF INFORMATION". I JUST GOT OFF THE PHONE WITH DYNA SPLINT AND NOW THEY WANT ME TO PAY 485.00 FOR THE SPLINT. IM JUST STARTING TO SEE THE ISSUE IM GOING TO HAVE. I HAVE GREAT CREDIT AND IT WOULD BE A HORRIBLE THING TO RUIN IT BY COLLECTION CALLS. IM JUST STARTING SO I WILL KEEP YOU GUYS INFORMED. IS THERE ANYTHING I CAN DO NOW? MY NAME IS PAUL

    +1 Votes
  • T
      Jul 29, 2014

    I used to work for Dynasplint in Severna Park MD, and they are corrupt as hell. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES do business with them. They admit in-house that they defraud both patients and insurance companies, and focus what little training employees get on doing just that. They are a predatory corporation with a useless product that they know full well is useless. They target the uneducated, the elderly, and the infirm, because they know these are vulnerable populations, and they do this very consciously and ruthlessly. They make it clear to new employees that participating in this exploitation - ie, lying to clients and falsifying documents - is the only way to succeed and get positive recognition from the higher-ups. I cannot think of a single non-corrupt or positive aspect of this company or their product.

    +2 Votes
  • M
      Mar 24, 2015

    I am dealing with the same problem. Was told it would be covered, then got a bill for $1600.00. And it didn't help with my sons contractures at all...

    +1 Votes
  • P
      Jul 13, 2016

    I was told my bill would be $22.50 / month and just received a bill for $247.50 after 2 months! They are a scam and should be but out of business! DON"T USE THEM... Send your stuff back ASAP!

    +1 Votes
  • G
      Feb 24, 2019

    Same issue. Billing me for around $4, 000.00 For a thing that doesn't work that is supported by their own phony "research."

    I am left wondering in this day and age how these people get away with this scam and fraud????????

    +1 Votes
  • C
      Jan 15, 2020

    Clearly a scam. However at last word they were trying to re-incorporate under a new name. Some thieves just don't quit.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment