Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Utility Services DTE Energy shut off despite payments
DTE Energy

DTE Energy review: shut off despite payments 7

B
Author of the review
2:48 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I've been paying DTE Energy $245.00 consistently every month (yes, even in the summer) because they enrolled me in a shutoff protection plan. I made my last payment on July 15th, but received a disconnect notice on August 13th. They will not take payments, but instead told me to call DHS ask for help with my bill. I'm unemployed and have two young children. I know if services are shut off, I'll not be able to reconnect because I'm trying to support my family on my meager UIA benefits. I could understand having my service turned off if I weren't paying my bill, but I am paying.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More DTE Energy reviews & complaints

7 comments
Add a comment
F
F
Father George
, US
Jan 14, 2017 7:27 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

These large utitity companies have no compassion, no decency for ppl with catastrophic health problems. We've been devastated with my cancer. Several hospitalizations. No sympathy.

N
N
Not Understanding
, US
Nov 08, 2015 4:27 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am in a similar situation..I got shut off as well I have 3 kids, my 81 year old mother and & brother in my home. I had $1100 of a $1900 dollar balance and they would not restore my services and work out a plan with me. This ridiculous.

K
K
keepin it 100
Detroit, US
Mar 24, 2011 1:09 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i pay 107 per month and i take care of my daughter in colledge and her son she lost her job to overseas - i opended my bill today 3/23/2011 and they increased my protection plan payment to 210 per month with higer food and gas prices and supporting a family of 3 with only a 2 week notice to pay how can i afford an extra 110 to pay the 217 they want and the bill was only 234.45 is there any help i complained today to the michigan public service commission who regulates DTE maybe if we stand together and all complain we can get somewhere...signed single mom looking forward to a shut off notice poeple are die-ing every day and no one says anything until its them or their family well guess what we are all in it together

L
L
Ledford
Sterling Heights, US
Jan 24, 2011 8:45 pm EST

I am beyond frustrated! We were on a payment protection plan and missed a payment by one week so we were taken off and told to pay entire balance of $900. Well in the past 5weeks that's exactly what we have paid and now they are shutting us of for not paying occurring charges of $111. I mean what the hell! We have paid $900 in five weeks and it's taking food off our table and now they can't wait one week for us to come up with the $111? Outrageous! I mean it's only 19 degrees out!

J
J
John10
Detroit, US
Aug 19, 2010 10:48 am EDT

File a complaint with the The Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC) If enough people file their complaints against DTE Energy and DTE Energy has to pay enough fines they will start treating their customers the right way: To Submit Natural Gas Utility Inquiry or Complaint http://www.dleg.state.mi.us/mpsc/gas/gascomplaint.html and to Submit Electric Utility Inquiry or Complaint http://www.dleg.state.mi.us/mpsc/electric/eleccomplaint.html

F
F
final73
Detroit, US
Apr 10, 2010 3:48 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i am having the same problem except i missed a payment trying to juggle bills and pay rent but dte won't let me get back on my payment plan with out paying them 2500 dollars i don't think this is fair. i am just trying to survive everything is going up and the payrates are staying the same. i just want to be able to have a roof and light and gas. dte has too many people becoming slaves to thier service. i really wish we had a choice of energy companies to choose from.

T
T
Toylady
Detroit, US
Oct 02, 2009 2:39 am EDT

My grandmother had the same thing happen to her she was paying them 200.00 a month and had got the bill down to 551 and they came out and shut the service off so now we have to come up with almost 1100 to get the service reconnected...as soon as I get a chance I am moving out of the city so I can get the he*& away them...

  1. DTE Energy Contacts

  2. DTE Energy phone numbers
    +1 (800) 477-4747
    +1 (800) 477-4747
    Click up if you have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 477-4747 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 477-4747 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 477-4747 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 477-4747 phone number
    Residential Assistance
    +1 (800) 947-5000
    +1 (800) 947-5000
    Click up if you have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 947-5000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 947-5000 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 947-5000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 947-5000 phone number
    Natural Gas Emergency / Leak
    +1 (800) 482-8720
    +1 (800) 482-8720
    Click up if you have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 482-8720 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 482-8720 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 482-8720 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 482-8720 phone number
    Landlord Assistance
    +1 (855) 383-4249
    +1 (855) 383-4249
    Click up if you have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (855) 383-4249 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (855) 383-4249 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (855) 383-4249 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (855) 383-4249 phone number
    Business Assistance
    +1 (866) 388-8558
    +1 (866) 388-8558
    Click up if you have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (866) 388-8558 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (866) 388-8558 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (866) 388-8558 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (866) 388-8558 phone number
    Shareholder Services
    +1 (313) 235-8030
    +1 (313) 235-8030
    Click up if you have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (313) 235-8030 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (313) 235-8030 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (313) 235-8030 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (313) 235-8030 phone number
    Investor Relations
    +1 (800) 888-6886
    +1 (800) 888-6886
    Click up if you have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 888-6886 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 888-6886 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 888-6886 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 888-6886 phone number
    TDD
    +1 (800) 556-0011
    +1 (800) 556-0011
    Click up if you have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 556-0011 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 556-0011 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 556-0011 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached DTE Energy by calling +1 (800) 556-0011 phone number
    Home Protection Plus
    More phone numbers
  3. DTE Energy emails
  4. DTE Energy address
    P.O. Box 740786, Cincinnati, Ohio, 45274-0786, United States
  5. DTE Energy social media
  6. Laura
    Checked and verified by Laura This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 14, 2024