SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Suddenlinkprice increase

Review updated:

I just got a bill from Suddenlink with a price increase and a note that the price was increasing because "their costs are increasing." I looked at their web site at the "new customer" pricing and found out that for new customers, the costs have gone down. If there is really an increase in the cost of doing business, why has the "new customer" price gone down. It appears that Suddenlink is subsidizing new customers by gouging existing customers. I have called before and requested that I get the same package deal as offered to new customers and have been flatly refused. Suddenlink says that the introductory rates are for new customers only and are not available for "old customers" who have faithfully paid every month.
I asked about Tivo service and was told that my monthly billing would increase by $33 per month (I only have one TV.) My rate with a Tivo for bundled service (30MB internet, basic TV, phone) would be $151 plus tax for the same service currently offered to new customers for $110 plus tax. Is this great customer service or what (sarcasm off)?

Ca
Jan 10, 2014
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sd
      Jan 13, 2014

    Hi catfud – My name is Shannon and I am with Suddenlink. Please feel free to email me and I will be happy to review your account to see if we have a package that may better meet your needs. My direct email is shannon-AT-suddenlink-DOT-com. Thanks!

    -2 Votes
  • Ca
      Jan 22, 2014

    I followed up with Shannon and she checked and could or would do nothing for me. I would like to upgrade my service to a TiVo, but the current offer for me as an existing customer is $151 per month to upgrade to a TiVo, but new customers can get the same package as me, with a TiVo for $110. If I had a decent alternative to Suddenlink, I would switch immediately. I'm thinking about only getting Internet from Suddenlink and switching to satellite TV and Ooma telephone. That way I can get an advanced DVR and more channels for less than I'm paying for Suddenlink currently. Unfortunately, now that I'm an existing customer, if I switch back to Internet only, Suddenlink will gouge me on the price.

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Jan 22, 2014

    Just got my latest bill and the base rate went up another $5 - this is a price increase two months in a row. I contacted customer support via chat and was told that the rate increased a second time in a row because a "package expired." The support rep says that I am on the lowest possible priced plan. I am now paying 23% more per month than the new customer price. I asked about upgrading to TiVo and find that I can do that by paying 42% more per month than new customers.
    Stay away from this company.

    +1 Votes
  • Sh
      Nov 08, 2014

    I know this is nearly a year old, But I have been told the same thing, new customers have to pay less, old customers get their bill increased over time. I have to pay $149, New customers have to pay $89.

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Mar 30, 2016

    Now, 2016 - Suddenlink continues to add price increase after price increase, and now have imposed data caps which make it almost impossible to "cut the cord" because using streaming video to replace cable will eat through the data cap. Cloud backup?? Not a chance. 4K TV streaming, not a chance. Cloud backup and 4K streaming are the current "go to applications" for internet, but not if you have Suddenlink. I looked at new TVs at Frys electronics - more and more 4K TVs at good prices - when I asked where to get 4k content, the answer was "streaming." Not if you have Suddenlink.

    The last time I called about the pricing, I was told that my "package expired." When I asked how the same package kept expiring over and over (I think that it's expired 8 times now) the CS representative just repeated the same lie over and over.

    Suddenlink - the company that gives you less for more (and more, and more...)

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Oct 29, 2018

    I agree...Suddenlink (Altice) continues to make small increases in the billing and then explain it away in a disclaimer statement that is on every bill. "Please note that there has been a change to some taxes and fees, so your total balance may be different from previous month's bill".
    My question is how many times can Suddenlink (Altice) get re-taxed at a different rate throughout the year(s), and what kind of fees apply?? About every 2-3 months our bill increases another $5-$7 dollars. This month our increase was $11. My next step is a letter with copies of the bills to the FCC.
    Altice is a European company that bought Suddenlink, and if you read about them they have terrible reviews about deceptive practices and very poor customer service.

    +1 Votes
  • Mo
      Oct 17, 2019

    Current customers are apparently subsidizing the new customers. $117 for a new customer to have 400Mb internet, TV, and phone. My cost for 400Mb internet and TV, $140 with no phone. A large group of us going to the FCC is the only way to resolve this or a class action law suit. We have horrible customer service. My 400Mb is sometimes as low as 170Mb or lower. Streaming sometimes stops. If there was an alternative in my area I would dump Suddenlink. They have been gouging us ever since Altice took over.

    0 Votes

Post your comment