SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Sonycustomer service

Review updated:

Too angry to go into detail. Perhaps their products are superior, or maybe it's just marketing and reputation, but you should not buy from Sony SOLELY based on their HORRIFIC customer service and obstinate workers and multitude of stupid and lame excuses for why they are incapable and useless. They don't even have an official complaint department to direct issues towards so they can fix their bologna problems! Any advice on how I can really get them to pay attention to my complaint? Or stick it to them? Or get recompense for their ineptitude, I would REALLY appreciate it. Even if all I can do is complain about how POOR they are on every site that is worth posting on, I'd appreciate a list.

That said, for every nasty complaint I write about Sony, I plan on writing a nice review about companies and products I approve of. I'm not a nasty person who ONLY writes nasty reviews. I don't like writing reviews AT ALL, but will balance it out by praising recent products I've bought and love from Best Buy, Vizio, Amazon, etc.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Di
      Oct 24, 2007
    Sony - sony video camera battery
    India

    sony video camera 3x 5.1 mega pixels cyber-shot no. 777318 was bought by us during our visit to USA New Jersy,in APR 2006.
    Its battery does not for taking not more 5 snaps in few minutes even after full 5 hrs. charging.
    could u help us.
    regards.
    dinesh
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pr
      Oct 30, 2007
    Sony - Repeated complaints to the service eng. But to no avail same problem again
    India

    my sony tv model no xa85m80 had developed a problem on 23 - 10 - 07. I called ur service centre at plasma vision borivili mumbai. They had sent thier engineer he checked and told that he had to take the circuit board along with to replace the str parts. he came on 27. 10. 07 and fixed the board and the tv starting working within few hours it developed the same problem. I called them the eng. came and switched it on it started working again after two it developed the same problem i have called them.
    I have only a request that a brand name SONY should not have such problems within 4 years and if so, the same problem should not reapeat again. I request u to do the needful.
    Pritpalsingh Dawer

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Apr 19, 2009
    Sony - not opperating
    SONY
    1995 E 8th N #12
    Mountain Home
    Idaho
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    Playstation is not working. Both USB ports will not charge the controller, and the system freezes every time I play it.. Consistant problem since I purchased the PS3.

    0 Votes
  • Ko
      May 21, 2009
    Sony - Scam
    6AVE.COM
    New Jersey
    United States

    6ave.com is a scam company. Customer service non existeance after payment is made, absolutely ignorant, lying crooks. So called managers are more crooks. Avoid this. I had not one but two bad experiences regarding sony camcorder DCRSX41 and a pioneer receiver.

    AVOID THEM. DONT FALL FOR THEIR PRICES.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Jun 23, 2009

    I am furious with the customer service provided by Sony. My Sony Cybershot DSC-T200 was purchased for over $452 in December of 2007 and given to me for Christmas. I purchased and additional $60 worth of accessories. In January of 2009 as I was about to take pictures, the camera showed a black screen with multicolored lines on the screen. I went to the Sony help site to see what could be done to fix the problem. Nothing there was a help. I then spent some weeks trying to find a camera shop to see what could be done. No one could help and I was told that only a Sony repair facility could repair the camera. By this time it was April. I don't have the time to spend hours and days at a time to deal with a camera repair. I finally got information from the Sony site and filled out all the forms following the instructions to pay for insurance and shipping to a facility in Texas. In addition I sent a check for $141. How could I throw away a camera that cost more than $500? I had to pay the $141 and the cost of shipping and insuring the camera. The person behind the desk said they do about 12-15 ships to Sony a week! Outrageous! My camera now is soaring in cost to the $700 mark. I surely do not have a camera worth $700. We do not have that kind of money, by choice, to spend on a camera! The Cyber-Shot is not a $700.00 camera. I contacted
    Mr. Mike Ehlers
    Vice President for Service Operations
    Sony Electronics
    San Diego, Ca 92128
    An assistant named Barry phoned me to say he appreciated my feedback, but too bad it took me too long to figure out what to do about the camera repair, so thanks for writing to Sony and he disconnected from me while I was talking to him. So much for customer service from Sony. It seems clear that Mike Ehlers' objective is profit for Sony at the expense of the customer.
    No fair treatment for a Sony customer.

    0 Votes
  • Ps
      Jun 29, 2009
    Sony - PSP BRICK
    Sony
    Lexington
    United States

    I purchased the PSP for my son. He borrows a friends game and his PSP states he needs to download a new version to run the game. He starts the download and his battery runs low and shuts down. This in turn places the PSP in a mode called BRICK. You are now unable to use the PSP. I contacted Sony and they want at least $90 to fix it. A very common problem with the PSP's and they are making money just to fix a product they know will screw up.

    0 Votes
  • Dd
      Jul 16, 2009

    Just got off the phone with U.S. Sony Corp. about my PS3 issues. The second in three months mind you. I've been having problems with the system overheating. The first time around the PS3 never recovered, it simply burned up and died. After a month of waiting and an additional 150 bucks I received my system back and from what I could tell Sony replaced a few parts which included a HIGH INDUSTRIAL POWERED snow blower of a fan. This thing was so loud I couldn't hear the gameplay and it didn't help with the overheating. Two months into receiving my PS3 back from repairs the system continued to overheat and shut down. Gameplay is impossible!!! So, I called Sony to let them know and their answer was yes we can fix it, just pay us another 150 bucks. I've been a Sony guy since the first Playstation but no more. Goodbye Sony, hello X-BOX and Wii.

    0 Votes
  • Jt
      Jul 16, 2009

    I may have just been lucky, but a few years ago my son's PSP was damaged -- totally his fault -- and the warranty had expired. We called to find out how much it would be to repair vs just buy a new one. Not only did they pay to have it shipped to them and back to us again, but they also repaired it at no cost to us!

    0 Votes
  • As
      Oct 18, 2009
    Sony - sony lcd 37inch
    sony
    c-46 indra vihar ,kota(raj)
    kota
    India
    Phone: [protected]
    sonyindia.co.in

    i have purchase sony LCD model klv.37s400A and serial no 1203638 from manorangen shoping center kota (raj)
    date of purchase 26-10-08, we have problem that our lcd is suddnly off this happing is again and again, and not start properly
    kindly do some action
    comeplener
    Ashok kumar sharma
    c-46 Indra vihar, kota
    (raj)
    P.No [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Af
      Nov 17, 2009
    Sony - Not listening my complaint
    Sony
    Milton Keynes
    England, Buckinghamshire
    United Kingdom

    I bought my sony SB100 from curry and after 15 months they discontinue the home theatre line. my system needs optical assembly require but they are not simply bothered and 350 quid worth of system is going waste.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      Jun 30, 2010
    Sony - sony doesnt have knowledge of their product
    sony
    India

    sony employes doesnt solve my problem of digital cameras ...as i gone to repair my sony digital cam they doesnt understand the problem ...they dont even know what is the problem ..its so bad about sony that they doesnt know about their own products

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Jul 23, 2010
    Sony - Handy Cam Defects
    Sony
    United States

    The Sony Handy Cam has been nothing but problems for us. We have sent if off to get repaired on three different occasions. On one occasion, it was returned to us inoperable. On the other occasions, it broke within a few months. The company now refuses to offer any assistance to fix the camera or even give us a discount on the repairs. We will never purchase another Sony product because of the poor quality and poor customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Gk
      Jul 24, 2010
    Sony - lost mobile
    varun entp
    India

    i lost my mobile model no:-sony k 790i on 3/05/2010 i register my complain in police station but no result till date my mobile imei no :-
    [protected]-5368316
    my contact no :- [protected]
    gautam prajapati

    0 Votes
  • An
      Sep 25, 2010
    Sony - PLAYSTATION 3 SLIM
    Virginia
    United States

    sony ps 3 died after only 2 months sent in for repair to sony and it took 8 weeks to get back and 2 days later same crap power went out and did not come back on stay away from sony playstation 3 overpriced incompetent repairs and it is all a game to sony to get you to spend more freaking money on new consoles

    0 Votes
  • Va
      Oct 09, 2010
    Sony - laptop slow
    sony india
    India

    my laptop is e series vpcea23en. inspite of a 3gb ram and 320 gb hard disk, its slow.. copying a 3gb file takes fifteen minutes. am so dissapointed with the software support on my system. too many background threads and processes running. please help me solve this. i trust the brand so i bought it even if its so costly. so please respond

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Feb 01, 2011
    Sony - defective TV replacement lamp
    Massachusetts
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    Sony Service is the worsty ever. The people in Manila should be out of a job and the jobs should be brought back to the US where we know the meaning of customer service. I WILL NEVER BUY another Sony product becuase they wont even stand behind their replacement lamps. There is no way to reach an executive to voice your complaint. So once you spend your money they are done with you.

    DONT BUY SONY PRODUCTS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Mar 04, 2011
    Sony - Bought 60" flat screen w/5yr ext wrnty
    Best Buy Plasma online superstore/Accoona Corp
    United States
    bestbuyplasma.com

    I bought a 2000 dollar television w/ 5 yr extended warranty and can't get hold of the company. I'm in need of repair service under warranty . Doing a little research I came up with the parent company. Accoona corporation .Was wandering if there is any thing I Can do?

    0 Votes
  • Dr
      Apr 12, 2011
    Sony - defect in HdIML cable
    sony india
    India

    i purchase sony home theatre system in sept2010 from amritsar and installed in Rampuraphul Bathindabut i cannot see movie on HDIML I lodged complaint repeatedly at bathinda service centre but i couldnot get it corrected
    my mobile [protected]
    dr dalip singh
    smo
    civil hospital rampuraphul

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Apr 14, 2011
    Sony - bad tv
    sony
    Pennsylvania
    United States

    Purchased a Sony 42 inch lcd tv 2 years ago, it has a blue line on the left side of the screen, I talked to sa sony customer service and was told no warrenty, I can send it out for repair. I did not expect to have to purchase another tv in just 2 years.

    0 Votes
  •   Apr 14, 2011

    Hello dogglac,
    I am Evelyn from the Sonylistens team . I do apologize for the issues you are having with your set. Sony would be happy to help you with this. Please e-mail your information on your post and your contact information to [protected]@am.sony.com .We look forward to hearing from you.
    Best Regards,
    Evelyn Perez :)

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Apr 29, 2011
    Sony - Playstation 3
    Mansfield
    Ohio
    United States

    This is ###!, All of my information was leaked and now i cant even play online or watch netflix that i pay for !?

    This is not right, And i would like some sort of compensation from sony.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      May 16, 2011

    Reported a line going down my TV and customer service tried trouble shooting it, but it never worked. They told me to get a new cable box and it still didnt fix line. When i called to get fixed again my warrenty was up and they would do nothing even though I reported the problem before the warrenty expired. They had me call someone out to look at it for 1oo bucks and they took one look at it(didnt even open up tv) and told me it was a 700 dollar part. Sony solution was to sell me another tv at an "extreme discount" (tv still cost 12oo - some discount LOL). They told me since no one looked at tv before warrenty expired that they could do nothing. to diagnose the problem they had me call someone out to look at it and I had to pay an extra amount of money to have someone look at it. they repair man knew what was wrong just by looking at it and i feel sony should have known from the beginning that the LCD panel was bad through my decsriptions. i spent a lot of time with customer service and the only thing they could say was "i see sir" and "try reprogramming your tv . not to mention everytime they sent an update my tv wouldnt even read it. Totally unacceptable!

    0 Votes
  •   May 16, 2011

    Hello Bees197,
    My name is Evelyn from sony electronics the Sonylistens team. I'm sorry to hear about your situation. Please e-mail us at [protected]@am.sony.com . Include a breif description from your previous post. Your name, address, event id #, Tv model, TV serial #, and a way for us to contact you.
    Thank You,
    Evelyn Perez

    +1 Votes
  • Jk
      May 18, 2011

    i saw patrick put his middle finger up when he was blowing the bubble in bubblestand

    +1 Votes
  • Be
      May 20, 2011

    I talked with a customer representative and we have come to a resolution I am happy with. I was dealt with in a professional manner and appreciate the time Sony took relooking at my case file. Thank you for your concern and efforts. Sony has restored my faith.
    Sincerely
    Bees197

    0 Votes
  • Be
      May 20, 2011

    Evelyn, Thanks for your concern. I was contacted by a member of your team and I am very satisfied witht he resolution.
    Thanks
    bees197

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jun 01, 2011

    How was that Sony's fault? PSN was hacked, Sony took PSN offline in order to fix the security breech, if anything you should be thanking Sony for protecting your personal information, if you think Sony caused the leak themselves, then you are mistaken

    I completely loath Sony myself, but I still don't think Sony is to blame, though it could be due to insecure software to start with, in which case, yes that would be Sony's fault

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Jun 04, 2011

    I have been given the run away for more than a month on a repair to my older Sony camera. I called initially and asked if it could be fixed, they said yes within 10 days. I was told I would receive information via email on how to send them my camera. After another 2 calls and 2 days still no email after being told a second time to wait another 24 hours, I finally got a person on the phone and they said no need for the emailed form just write the information down and place in the box. On the initial call I was told the max cost of the repair and if they couldn't fix it they would return it at no cost. I followed the delivery and knew they had received it so I called after a week or so and asked about the camera. They said it was being looked at. I waited another week and called again, same story. I am also emailing too. After 4 weeks they tell me they don't have the parts at this time and don't know when they will get them... not even a clue. I wait another week. I email, call, etc. and getting finally get an email from a Carlos Keyes offering another camera for the cost of the repair to my old one. I purchased a similar camera just prior to this Christmas and have developed a few issues with it, so I sure don't want another one. I called today and this person said he was Charlie Keyes (no relation, right) said he couldn't guarantee when I can get this replacement camera. I asked to speak to a supervisor and of course... there was not one available and I asked to leave a message and the "Charlie" said he couldn't guarantee if his supervisor would call me back. I am going out west in 6 days... I need a camera. I believe these people are not telling me the truth. I have more to this story but not enough time to cover it. I have lost all respect for Sony and will NEVER buy another Sony product ever.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Sep 16, 2011
    Sony - Product Support
    Sony Corporation
    India

    Sony's Skype Camera/Mic product. CMU-BR100, under compatibility list of televisions, NX500 is not shown. I have purchased NX500 just about 18months back. NX500 has a USB port. You need to ensure that all your future products become compatible at least for 5years. Do you expect us to keep buying new models every year??? What is the resale value for NX500 if I want to buy the new NX720??

    0 Votes
  • Ak
      Dec 25, 2011
    Sony - laptop voice
    India

    hi
    i have a sony e series( vpceb44en) laptops having speaker problem .
    And when i visited service center with the complaints they said that this was coming with the laptops ...they cant do anything on this subject.
    is this the fact with this series laptops,

    0 Votes
  •   Jan 06, 2012

    Hello Akash11,

    This is Kevin Krause with the Sonylistens team. I am sorry to read about the problems that you are having with your VAIO. If you call our VAIO support line at [protected] they will be more than happy to try and help you out.

    Thank you,

    Kevin Krause

    Sonylistens Team

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Oct 27, 2012

    Hi This Rafeeq from Tamilnadu(India) I am having Sony laptop E series VPCEB44EN it is too slow how to make it faster, Please help me

    0 Votes
  •   Nov 05, 2012

    Greetings Rafeeq!

    My name is Pat Kennedy and I work for Sony Support USA and as such are not familiar with the processes and procedures for Sony in other countries/regions.

    We only provide information and support for Sony's products manufactured for sale and use here in the United States.

    Please relay your issue to our Support Center for India at: http://www.sony.co.in/section/support

    Please feel free to contact Sony at your convenience and thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Nov 06, 2012

    Greetings Mr.Pat Kennedy thank u for your information...

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      Nov 29, 2012

    You're too angry to go into detail but not too angry to post senseless whining that doesn't include a legitimate complaint.

    -2 Votes
  •   Nov 30, 2012

    Good afternoon beachnutt7!

    This is Pat Kennedy from Sony Support USA.

    I am very sorry to hear about the poor experience that you have had with Sony's customer service.

    If you email us at [protected]@am.sony.com we will be more than happy to review your case and see if there is anything that we can do to assist you.

    Please refer to Event ID number E56167639 in your message.

    Thank you,


    For helpful videos that will help answer some questions you may have about your Sony products please visit the Sony Support USA YouTube page at http://www.youtube.com/sonylistens.

    -1 Votes
  • Me
      Dec 11, 2012

    I agree. sony support is horrible. i was so enraged that my nose started running. they had no courtsey. I even told them to give me a number to Sony in USA anyone who i can call and talk to but they laughed and said there was no one local I can complain to.

    +1 Votes
  •   Dec 17, 2012

    Good afternoon mehrutq,

    Thank you for your message.

    I apologize if you are not completely satisfied with the product and service options provided to you.

    For assistance within Canada, please forward your concerns to our Canadian support team at [protected]@sony.ca

    Please include your model and serial number, symptoms and contact information including address and phone number, Sony Canada will get back in touch with you.

    Thank you and again, my sincere apologies,

    Pat Kennedy~Sony Support USA

    -1 Votes
  • Ki
      Feb 11, 2013

    I too am having terrible problems with Sony Customer service and the people who I have been speaking to have been less than helpful.
    Despite my issue being an error on Sony's part they seem still unwilling to help.

    Is there a complaints department for UK customers?

    +1 Votes
  •   Mar 04, 2013

    Greetings kitkat1313,

    Thank you for your message.

    I work for Sony Electronics Inc. in the United States and as such I am not familiar with the processes and procedures for Sony in other regions.

    Please visit the Sony Support Center for the UK at: http://www.sony.co.uk/support/hub/sony_europe.html

    They can provide information about obtaining support and technical inquiries in your region.

    Thank you,

    Pat Kennedy
    Sony Support USA

    Thank you,

    -1 Votes

Post your comment