SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Santander Consumer / bad customer interaction

US Review updated:

Santander consumer used to be drive financial — I thought they were bad!!! This new company is worse. One of their "reps" called my friend & told her that it was an emergency & that she couldn't get ahold of me. My friend was in a panic — thought something had happened to me because the lady told her that I had listed my friend as an emergency contact & she played it up like I was in an accident or something. What was bad was she didn't tell her she was calling about the car loan — we found out later when my friend called the number back & found out it was from these sleeze buckets!! How low can you get!! I wish my credit was better so that I could go to a bank & have the loan transferred, but my kids ruined that for me by having me sign for cars then having them repo'd. Anybody have any problems with this place? Need a class action suit against them for being # — s!!!

Na
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Mm
      Apr 22, 2010
    Santander Consumer - names on statement
    Santander Consumer
    United States

    My husband and I bought a car in 2017. Re-financed with RoadLoans. Santander Consumer bought Roadloans. They took my name off the statement. When we asked about it. They only put the main borrower on the statement. Now, we are behind and I need to take a hardship loan from my 401k. They refused to give my anything with my name and current due. Not a letter or nothing. They have told me that they are sending my contract and that should be enough, but I been waiting three weeks and had to call 4 times now!!! I have told them if not what I need to get this bill current. There's no customer service! If you use this company don't expect any help!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Jul 12, 2010
    Santander Consumer - financing rejected after 1 full month
    Santander Consumer
    United States

    On 5/22/10, I purchased a 2017 Scion TC from Rusty Wallis Honda and Santander Consumer USA accepted my application for funding. They agreed to finance my car. I never received anything in the mail, email, phone call, etc. from Santander, so I called them on Monday 6/21/10. They told me that my application was rejected and sent back to Rusty Wallis Honda. They claim that when I did a phone screen with a CSR from S.C.USA, that I failed my screening. SHe claims that I didn't answer 1 question correctly. I submitted every single piece of information know to man to that company. They contacted my references, called my job to verify employment, had copies of my TXDL, SS Card, paycheck stubs, electric bill, bank statement, etc. I have had this car for 1 month now, and I called in to find out how to make my first payment when they informed me of this matter. I signed a contract with Santander C. USA, via Rusty Wallis Honda, and now they have rejected it. I want them to honor this contract, and explain to me why they waited a full month to inform me of this, but only informed when I called them. They were rude, ignorant to certain questions. One girl I spoke with didn't even know what their "Funding Dept" was. We have a legal contract, and according to local and state laws, they must honor this contract. How can I resolve this matter. Has anyone ever heard of such an ignorant situation?

    0 Votes
  • Dp
      Sep 16, 2010
    Santander Consumer - will take your money
    Georgia
    United States

    Citi sold our closed auto loan to this Santander Company. They auto drafted our bank account, that's how we found out they existed. Now we are out almost $400 and we first, would have to wait 35 to 45 days to hear anything. Then it was our fault it happened, because we had already made sure the account was closed, it was our fault. Now it's we have to take it up with our bank, what the *&$% for they don't owe us any money. Our loan was paid in full and now they have extra money of mine to make interest off of, no wonder they are a growing company, they are stealing to get it.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Oct 19, 2010
    Santander Consumer - lost payment
    Santander Consumer
    North Carolina
    United States

    This is to complain about CitiBank Financial Services and Santander Consumer. I sent a payment that was never credited to my account. Here is the story. Originally my auto loan was with CitiBank and a few weeks ago I received a letter to send my auto loan payments to Santander. Don't know why this was changed. Because my job requires me to work out-of-town, I make most of my payments using MoneyGram offered by Walmart. I made the September payment to CitiBank as usual because I was not aware of the change until later. The payment was never posted to my account. After phone calls, letters, faxes, etc. the matter has not be resolved. They can not find my payment. Walmart traced the payment to see if it was at CitiBank. They found out that the payment really went to Santander after all. So what is the deal between CitiBank and Santander, are they the same company??? and where is my payment? I am afraid to send another payment since they lost one. and of course they will not accept my documentation as proof that a payment was made and of course they are adding fines and fees all along

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Nov 15, 2010
    Santander Consumer - took my money and car
    Santander Consumer
    United States

    My HSBC contract was sold to Santander without my knowledge. Then they notified me that I was a month behind and they would offer me a refinanced loan at a lower interest rate. They told me to fax the signed contract and send $800.00. I did what they asked 6/29/2017 and they didn't apply my money to the old contract or the refinanced contract. I called them in July and they claimed that I hadn't given them any money at all. They said I owed them $1470 now. They also said they were going to repo the car and weren't going to deal with me at all. In July they repoed the car and added a repo fee of 500 and a storage fee of 400. They wanted to charge me $50 to get my handicapped placard out of the car-which I couldn't afford too.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Nov 16, 2010
    Santander Consumer - negative business practices
    Santander Consumer
    United States

    This company purchased the car loans owned by Citifinancial. They treat consumers as if they are bad debts by making harrassing T/C's and bullying consumers. Despite being almost 12 months ahead of the payment schedule, they are setting me up for late fees with weird bills. I received a bill for $47.92 following my payment of $800.

    THeir staff is rude and argumentative. THey are not honest and certainly not on the level of Citifinancial. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM. READ THE COMPLAINTS THROUGH GOOGLE.

    0 Votes
  • Dh
      Nov 30, 2010
    Santander Consumer - will not send my overpayment back
    Santander Consumer
    Texas
    United States

    I purchase a 2017 Ford 150 and it was financial with Drive which after 2 years sold my contract to Santander. I had automatic payment every month. I was never late on a payment. September of 2017 I purchase a new SUV and the company paid off the Ford truck. Mind you they still recieved a payment the next month by mistake. They told me to send proof of the withdraw, which I did . I was then told that i have to wait for 30-45 days before I recieve it back. I was told 2 time that the money would be put back in my account like it came out. Now 30-45 days have come and gone and no money. I call back I was then told that it will be mailed out. I am sill looking for it. Call again for the 4 times this time she can not see where the money is and do not know if it went out and for me to call back in 2 days and then she hung up on me.I need my money $543.00

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      Dec 08, 2010
    Santander Consumer - extremely poor and rude customer service
    Santander Consumer
    United States

    This company does not care at all about their customers; they are very rude unprofessional and not helpful at all.

    I recently paid off my car loan, when I called the company to get my payoff amount I explained to the customer service representative, who was not very nice, that it was very important, as soon as the loan was paid, for me to get a letter stating that car loan was paid in full, she responded in a very non caring attitude, that they will fax it to me right away.

    The next day, I send my payment via Money Gram because I needed to pay this payment immediately. I called the next day, and again I talked to another rude person, he told me that they had receive the payment, I explained my situation to him, not that he cared anyway, and asked him to please fax me the letter showing that the car was fully paid as soon as possible, he said “we will fax to you in a few minutes” well, minutes turn into hours, I called back and I got the same answer from another person, with no results.

    After several days of me calling and pleading for them to send me the receipt, I have not yet to this day received the fax, I even e-mailed them three times, and I never received a response back from them. Customer services my foot!!! I don’t recommend for anyone to get a loan with this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jan 03, 2011
    Santander Consumer - everthing
    [protected]@yahoo.com
    North Carolina
    United States

    I'm so tired of dealing with this company! I have contacted the attorney generals office to get some help and they would not respond to them after months of letters. Now they want to call me 24/7! But when I ask them questions about my account they still have NO answers! They tip toe around what I'm asking or they talk to me like I'm slow! I have proof they are a rip off! They placed late charges on my account the day before it was even due! Now that my account is almost paid off there talking about a ballon payment! How much do you want to bet that they will try to reposse my car! If anybody can give some help I would appreciate it!

    0 Votes
  • So
      Jan 07, 2011

    Same problem happening to me

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Jan 11, 2011
    Santander Consumer - owing too much
    pickupman
    Milton
    Florida
    United States

    I had my account sold by citifinancial in 09/2017 to Santander consumer. my loan was scheduled to terminate 2/16/11 but citifinancial gave me deferments during the contract saying they would be tacked onto the end of the contract extending it. Got a notice from santander that my contract was about to terminate but my balance was 3900.00 and needed to be paid in full. I have two more payments plus 6 deferred payments at 290.00 totaling 2428. My calculator says that doesn't add up. Called Santander and they said it was interest making the difference. $1400.00 ?????

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Feb 17, 2011
    Santander Consumer - customer service is rude and they don't help
    Santander Consumer
    United States

    My auto loan was sold I guess to this *** Santander, when I was with Citi and ran into any troubles all I had to do was call and they would work out something with me and were very nice about it. I am so pissed that my loan was given to these aholes. I have become unemployed recently and am having troubles paying bills, I thought, well citi helped me a lot so I will call this Santander and see what they can do. Umm, no, first of all the lady was rude as ***. When I asked for a possible defferment or payment extension for this month she was quiet, finally I said I just lost my job and blah blah blah...then she rudely says "well management doesn't allow defferments" I said, "so there is nothing you can do?" She firmly and rudely said "NO" Then nothing else she said absolutely nothing and I said "Ok" and she goes "Bye" and hung up the phone!! I am like wtf??? Even my credit card companies will work with me on stuff! This is ridiculous, and *** Citifinancial for doing this. PLUS, the 11 or 12 dollar fee to pay over the phone or on the internet is effing ridiculous. I don't mail any of my bills, but I have to with them. I have 2 years left on my loan, time can not move fast enough.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
      May 18, 2011
    Santander Consumer - just bad... any info on a lawsuit?
    United States

    Guys I am not here to name call or degrade, I am simply here to try to warn would be buyers about this terrible company. It doesn't matter to these people if you are a current customer or running behind. These are just rude people and they really don't deserve to have jobs. I just can't believe the amount of interest that they charge and the level of customer service! With a level of 1-10 I give santander a -100! I seriously have NOTHING positive to say about this company!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Aug 05, 2011
    Santander Consumer - billing
    Santander consumer
    Dallas
    Texas
    United States

    They Are some robbers they change there company name ant then start adding ridicilous late fee charges and coming up with fees that they dont tell you about and poor customer service one person tell you one thing and then they call back with someone different and then they tell you something differnt after you have talked to the other person and then voice recorded it in the system then they come up with some another excuse talkin abt it had to be approved.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
      Oct 27, 2011
    Santander Consumer - extra fees
    Santander Consumer
    Texas
    United States

    I totaled my car in May 2017. I thought that it was covered under insurance, but after dealing with the insurance company (another whole story) and finding that it wasn't, I was prepared to pay off the remainder of the vehicle. I submitted 2 large payments, one in July and one in August, to pay it off and received the title AND a check for a payoff discount. It's been almost 3 months since I paid off the vehicle and have not heard a thing from them until today when I got a letter stating that they were trying to settle a debt of $80? I called and was told that I was charged that amount for an appraiser that went out to assess the damages to my car to see if it was salvageable before they took the car. I paid it off and have the title, so why would they "take" it? And why am I being charged for this int he first place? I paid off the loan and had the car junked at a local junk yard. I don't understand why I'm being charged for this...

    0 Votes
  • Mh
      Feb 03, 2012
    Santander Consumer - poor business practices
    Santander Consumer
    Eureka
    Montana
    United States

    We to received a car loan that was soon aquired by Santander, and the Problems started, our payment skyrocketed to where I felt I was buying a Mercedes. After doing a little math, I found out we were paying $10, 000 to borrow $10, 000, that to me sounds like the same rates a mobster would charge. On top of that, the phone harassment never ends, I feel for anyone that has to deal with this company, but really, we have no choice in this manner, Our loans that we receive at the dealership are soon sold to this corporation against our wishes, in most cases, and your contract is rewritten to better suit Santander, again, without our knowledge. something needs to be done to force this business to follow better business practices.

    0 Votes

Post your comment