SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Provident FundingLousy customer service

Review updated:

Provident Funding is one of the worst mortgage companies. First, they have a bunch of monkeys working there. They NEVER return phone calls and their reasoning is asinine. I wanted them to e-mail or fax me some forms that were required for a request for loan modification, and the idiot there, Becky Orr in the Loss Mitigation Department, told me that she could not do that. I asked her why, because if she mails it it will take at least 4 - 5 days for me to receive it and send it back.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Phoenix, AZ If she e-mails it to me, I get it within 5 minutes, fill it out, and fax it back all within 30 minutes. She said that in the past, they've gotten "returned e-mails", which I have no idea what this means, so they do not e-mail anything. I asked her if she herself just heard what she said and if she made any sense, and she didn't say anything. This is just one example of many in which they are being so difficult to work with. I would highly recommend that anyone NOT do business with this jerk-off of a company.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • An
      May 12, 2009

    I have not had one decent phone call with the workers at Provident Funding. I have been trying to squeeze even an ounce of information or help from them since I first heard about the refinancing/loan modification programs under Obama. I understand that they only have the ability to process these new loans once they are given the go-ahead and have all the right technology. But, nobody wants to even take a look at my account and clue me in as to whether or not this could be an option for me. I repeatedly get transfered to the same man who acts like I have interrupted something more important and who says I need to avoid calling his number for this information, when the main line is the one who transfers me to him. When I call the direct number for the home affordable refinance program, I get cranky people who shut me down before I can say a single sentence and give no estimate of time when the information I need will be available. Something is taking way too long. Other banks offer this program already. I am just a normal, everyday person who was able to get all the details about this program through the news and government sites, but the banks and lenders themselves seem clueless. What good are these plans that are supposed to keep people in their homes when the companies they have to do it through are rude and utterly unhelpful?

    0 Votes
  • Gl
      May 19, 2009

    I agree completely. After the Making Home Affordable Refinace was announced in March, I have contact Provident Funding every two weeks, by mail and telephone, requesting information on how to apply. To date, I have not received a response to my written inquiries. The answer to my telephone inquiries are always the same; call back in two weeks. Unfortunately, my loan is secured by Freddie Mac, and, unlike Fannie Mae loans, I cannot refinance with another loan service company.

    Customer service is horrible and unresponsive. I share the same issues as other commentors on Provident's failure to timely pay my insurance premiums and property taxes. Unfortunately, my loan was sold to this company. If you can help it, do business with someone esle. If your loan is through Fannie Mae, refinance with another company.

    0 Votes
  • Un
      Jun 05, 2009

    I too have gotten similar responses from Provident Funding.

    -1 Votes
  • Di
      Jun 27, 2009

    I can't even get Provident to answer questions about funding a new loan! I can only imagine how horrible they would be to customers with existing loans. Stay away from Provident! Anyone is better than this incompetant company!

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
      Jul 16, 2009

    Hey, I thought under the new program even if you're with Freddie you could refi with another lender. I think you guys should talk to some one who knows more or check out makinghomeaffordable.gov
    A lot of banks and mortgage companies are not participating you know. Provident isnt the only one. So you cant think bad of them just coz of that.

    -1 Votes
  • Pr
      Aug 25, 2009

    I too have had the same experience(s) with Provident Funding. Every call I've had with them, they are hostile, unhelpful, and rude. They act as if the customer is nothing to them. ...Just like one of the posts above states...they always transfer you to this one guy who tells you not to call him (I think his name is Craig). STAY AWAY from them. I've inquired several times about the government refinance program. Since May, they continue to tell me that it is coming. So, to the post above written by 'jackd, ' in this case, Provident has led me to believe they are going to implement the program. ...they do not say they are opting out. MY PLAN at this point is this: I have emails from them that go back as far as May in which they state they will be implementing the government's program. If they do not do this, and the program ends, and I miss the opportunity to refi, I am going to take them to court. If anyone esle wants to jump on this bandwagon, please do.

    -1 Votes
  • La
      Sep 04, 2009

    Where on your original mortgage or note did it say "Provident Funding promises to help you if you can't make your payments due to illness, job loss, or bad economy?" Oh thats right NOWHERE. You signed papers promising to pay in sickness and health, and you're not holding up your end of the bargain. I'm sorry for your problems, but all you people need to get more educated on finances, mortgages, and savings accounts/emergency accounts before they buy houses.

    +1 Votes
  • Lo
      Sep 09, 2009

    i had a loan for investment with provident made a late payment they sent the payment back a we began a loan modification it took a long time 2 months past i called to check the rep states your home went to sale on today. before i could get any answers all the customer service reps are rude. i am not someone who does not pay my bills i was in the real estate business and things are really hard. i will bounce back. i was willing to pay what i owed i just needed provident to care.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Nov 09, 2009

    they are terrible specialy Richmond Virginia Manager,

    +2 Votes
  • St
      Mar 04, 2010

    The Revolution Has Begun! As the "Fat Cats" of Provident Funding sit high upon their Thrown of Arrogance, the revolution has begun to topple their empire. Violating multiple laws put into place to protect Americans, justice will be served.
    I have been receiving a multitude of responses from other home owners who have lost their homes or are in jeopardy of losing them. All the complaints have the same story and are asking how they too can fight back. Start by filing complaints with the Attorney General, Better Business Bureau, US Treasury Department and Federal Trade Commission. Don't sit back and think your voice will not be heard because it will and Provident Funding will be put under investigation.
    Did you know by law Provident Funding is required to respond to your complaints? How many of you have tried to contact Provident and never get a reply back?
    Write out your story and include whatever documents you have to back up your dealings with Provident and send them to me. I am compiling the information for the book "Mortgage Lenders "Destroying America" and once enough information is gathered, it will then be turned over to the media.
    Enjoy your time now Provident Funding, the revolution has begun and thanks to our Constitutional Rights "Freedom of Speech" and "Freedom of Press", along side your arrogance, you will be lucky to afford a trailer to live in when all said and done. We the People of the United States of America have said "Enough!"
    www.providentfunding.info

    -1 Votes
  • La
      Mar 16, 2010

    While not super quick at answering questions, I've always gotten a response to my iniquries after 4 years as a customer. Sure, it might not be the response I wanted (I was denied a HAMP refinance under the Obama program after being told for several months that they may or may not release it) but it was a response nonetheless. I rarely have to wait on hold when I call and usually my emails are responded to within 3-4 days. Maybe you folks should try patience and kindness instead of that pissy attitude. A bad attitude gets you nowhere.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jan 03, 2011

    They are MORANS! took us 25 phone calls and a few emails to get the Mod paperwork sent to us by mail! These people get paid for doing NOTHING!

    0 Votes

Post your comment