SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Petcorewards scam!

1
M Review updated:

Petco Rewards changes every few months by adding new "fine print". First you bought 10 bags within a year you get one free. And they count down to the day. Then they changed it to a coupon that takes 6-8 weeks to receive. Then they added fiscal years of Aug-Aug to get the reward. Good luck ever getting it. I finally just called them up and told them to delete the account so I am not tempted to ever go there again. If they don't delete my personal information, I will be calling them up again...

Responses

  • K
      Aug 09, 2007

    Good to know, i am on bag 6 now, i will just stop shopping there.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jan 10, 2008

    Um... it's free? Free to sign up, and free items? You don't even get that from Credit Cards... there's always a catch to everything.

    You don't even get free stuff from Vons, Ralphs, or any grocery store... or Best Buy, etc.

    Just be glad you get something for free. Don't call it a scam.

    +2 Votes
  • A
      Nov 04, 2008

    Lots of people get the free coupon...Including me..Its great that they offer it .They dont have too.The year starts on the day you make your first purchase of dog food.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Nov 20, 2008

    Petco offers a one stop shop... But their prices are out of line compared to other retailers... (on some items)
    For example, a recoil dog leash lists for $30 at Petco, and at a local Target, it costs $16... A Penn Plax auto fish feeder costs $20 at Petco, but it is available for $12 at a local Store.. Does Petco offer good health care to their employees? A 401K? A decent hourly wage? If so, I would happily spend an extra dollar or two for their services... But a 40% increase in prices? No. I will find another vendor...

    0 Votes
  • P
      Nov 30, 2008

    I am an employee at Petco and the rewards has always been started on the first day of purchase and the coupon comes in 6 to 8 weeks. Yes they are priced a bit high but they do price match.
    ALot of the profits go for the local rescue agencies. I feel Petco does alot for animals and i will continue to shop there even when i dont work there.
    As for the PALS card, it is free and its no different then a gieant eagle card or pharmacy card. Heck it is free and your information doesnt get sold to outside companies.

    +1 Votes
  • S
      Apr 20, 2009

    I've shopped at Petco for a number of years now, and generally have been satisfied, til now. Last month I received a coupon for a per cent off on all items at Petco. When I got home I noticed the cat food I purchased was at the non pet pal price ($35) and reduced to the price I normally pay ($27) and the other two items were not reduced in price at all. I made a special trip to enjoy a reduced price on these items and was cheated.
    I 've had a like experience with another unrelated company a number of years ago. They also never responded to my complaint and shortly went out of business. It looks like a desperate attempt to increase sale by defrauding their customer base. I think I'll short some Petco stock

    0 Votes
  •   Apr 20, 2009

    thats why i like my pet to keep her from getting scamed lol sorry shes a cat black and my baby she got sick found out how much it would cost im like have you lost your head ### it dont cost me as a person that dang much i gave her human meds shes so happy and more excited then ever petco how ever is a long line of excuses for them self like ebay. we got a few pets from their each had to be put at other places cause a few had issues on health matters.

    0 Votes
  • U
      Nov 08, 2009
    Petco - Unneighborly
    Neighbor of Petco
    Santa Monica
    California
    United States

    My building is right in back of a Petco parking lot. Over the years my neighbors and I have complained about late night noise coming from theirs delivery trucks at 5Am or past 10Pm. They are never willing to be considerate, and often pass the blame to upper management. If they can legally get away with something they will. Recently, I looked out my kitchen window to find a new eye sore (see attached photo). They put up banners in the parking lot that face my building. The banners can not be seen by the public until they are in the Petco parking lot, so they are not bringing in business. When I brought that up to the Manager, she agreed with me, but would not take them down. Her regional manger wants them up. They care nothing about working with the community.

    -1 Votes
  • S
      Jan 03, 2010

    Seriously? You need a life. The GM has no say over whether the signs can be up or not- they HAVE to put them up if upper management wants them. Also if that's as big of an problem as you have, then you really don't have it too bad. Your complaint is so ridiculous it made me laugh.

    Not to mention, the delivery trucks issue: not Petco's fault. They don't get to pick the time the trucks come. So take your issue up with the trucking company then.

    Seriously you strike me as a very whiny person who needs to realize what real hardships are in life, these are extremely minor problems you complain about.

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Jan 09, 2010

    I've always had problems with PETCO. Their advertised specials don't ring up at the register, they don't give you credit for bags purchase and they then don't send your free bag coupon. I earned a free bag back on 10/24/2009. It's now 01/09/2010 and they still haven't sent it! Their web site says one month and their store employees say two weeks. The truth is never!

    PETCO is a total ripoff and their PALS program is a scam. Do not shop there.

    -1 Votes
  • R
      Feb 20, 2010

    This is the second time I didnot receive my reward coupon for my free bag of premium cat food...the first time, they had to issue me another one and it took an additional 3 weeks to get it (why? I dont know) This time I was not goint to stand for them issuing me another one...I explained to the woman at pals that it took me almost 3 months to receive my last reward and I was thinking seriously about not going thru the hassel anymore...the main reason I shop at petco is to get the free bag of food...other than that, their prices are WAY more than most other stores...so the woman told me to go down to petco and have the manager call the pals line and they would give him my redemention # over the phone...I did just that and "wala"...I left with my free bag of Halo cat food...why cant they do that ALL the time then there would be no waiting 3 months for a free bag of food...I think they hope that not everyone will pursue the issue and that is money in their pocket...This past time, I qualifed in December for my free bag and here it is almost March and I have not received it yet...go figure

    +2 Votes
  • R
      Feb 20, 2010

    OR BETTER YET...if you have a computer, have the option to have them e-mail you a printable coupon as soon as you qualify for your free bag...just a suggestion

    +2 Votes
  • K
      Feb 23, 2010

    To the very first post about buying ten bags and getting one free,
    The program is still buy 10 get one free, and you still have to do it within a year to the day of your first purchase. It doesn't matter when you buy the first bag, you have one year from that date to get the free one.

    0 Votes
  • N
      May 17, 2010
    Petco - Horrible service and grooming
    Petco
    Fairbanks
    Alaska
    United States

    I thought It would be a wonderful treat for my dog to take him in and have him groomed. So I called the Petco in Fairbanks, Alaska and asked when their next available appointment was. The associate said "oh go ahead and bring him in we have nothing scheduled for this afternoon. So I took him in at 3:00 pm. They said it should be about an hour to and hour and a half. So I called them at 4:15 to see how he was doing, and they said oh we havent been able to start him yet due to an employee going to lunch, and that it would be around 6:00 when he would be done. So we called around that time and they said he still wasnt done and that his ears weren't dry. He is a bassett hound and has huge ears. But still shouldnt take that long to dry him. As we were walking into the store, we heard the associate bad mouthing us and our dog to her boyfriend or husband. I went in to pick up my dog...He was acting so scared and was whining. They were telling us about how he did and said he was aggressive and was being difficult...which is difficult for me to believe considering we have 5 kids, and he is not an aggressive dog at all...When we confronted the manager of the store, she was trying to apologize and said they had someone call off. It blew up into this huge ordeal..The night we got home he started limping, I thought that maybe he stepped on a thorn bush outside or something, 2 days later, he wouldnt walk on it at all, and wouldnt eat...just laid on the couch all day and slept. So I took him to the vet where I had to pay $274 to get him looked at and x rays. thank god it wasnt broken, but that he basically had a torn and swollen muscle, which am positive it wouldnt have happened at my house. he also ended up getting a horrible ear infection which i have to take him in tomorrow for. He was perfectly fine before I took him in there...I will never take my dog in there again...and alert my friends and families that take their dogs there not to cause of their horrible service and professionalism. Not to mention, the people that worked there looked horrible, they were not groomed, very dirty looking employees. They have no pride in their store or the work that they do.. This is not over yet as I am going to continue to complain until they fix this issue, not just for me, but taking better care of other pets that come in there...

    0 Votes
  • V
      Jun 08, 2010
    Pet grooming - Horrible service and grooming
    Petco
    DuBois
    Pennsylvania
    United States

    My husband took our two Cocker Spaniel dog to get groomned. Not a good experance ! They did not finish their feet and under their leg pits, I had to finish them when my husband got home.
    telechek --they can stick it where the sun doesn't shine ! My husbnd tried to pay by personal check, they denied the check, he used his bank card to portion pay. ...mean while they made him bring one of our dogs back to the store to keep or what ever they were going to do, and my husband had to travel over 20 miles away to get the banalce of the bill in order to retrive our dog back. Oh by the way what they quoted over the phone was much higher then quoted for 2 dogs; I was quoted $50.00 for the pure bred dog and our half cocker /terrier only weighs 10 pounds --40.00. We paid 102.00 ; plus a lot of agervation. I will not ever use Petco again.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jul 08, 2010

    We've had used Petco for at least nine years now. For the 1st time in all that time... we have been shorted 3 bags of 35lb. dog food. Science Diet Light.
    I have called twice to make sure our information was going somewhere other than here. My husband and I have both noticed that when we gave our number out, a second name would appear on you're billing computer ringout.
    We have 3 Dobermans... why are you dropping the ball like this? The last time I called was like 3 weeks ago.. I checked the name and number and have yet, to get one of the three bags of dog food.
    Yes, we always try to give to any pormotional pet care. However... I'm starting to wonder where that profit goes.
    We shop at the Petco E Serene Ave. Las Vegas NV 89123
    Our account number I'll gladly give you when you email or call.
    [protected]@cox.net All you are doing for us is costing us allot of money. I have copies of every single reciept. We can do business any way you want. Personally after reading all these negative reports..You may want to pay attention and take care of you're real customers.

    -1 Votes
  • B
      Aug 28, 2010

    It's funny that so many people complain about free items. In fact, I'd be willing to bet that some of you are the very customers who are so crabby and downright rude to the employees when they ask to scan your PALS card. So then when you've finished being a crab-as* and can't find your card because your bratty annoying children are banging on the fish tanks, yes, then you miss out on getting credit. Or you act like you are in too much of a hurry to look in your purse and find it. Lazy. Downright lazy and stupid. Go shop at Walmart where Bob from lawn and garden bags your fish in water thats been stagnant and nasty for a week...frickin [censor]s.

    +3 Votes
  • B
      Aug 28, 2010

    People in Haiti have something to complain about. I don't want to hear it from a stupid 40 year bimbo with fake boobs and a knock off Coach purse walking around with her stupid cell phone. Get a life people. Pets are a luxury, not a necessity

    -1 Votes
  • C
      Jul 26, 2011
    Petco - Shoppers BEWARE!!!
    Petco
    United States

    I went into the E. Virginia Beach, VA to purchase some outfits for my 3 dogs. I found a clearance rack marked 75% off. The sign was balanced between the center of the 4 way rack and you were unable to read any writing below the 75% due to the fact it was covered. There weren't very many outfits on it but found 3. I also found other things in the store. I went to the checkout and they had a dog trainer ringing the register which was new on it. One outfit ring the correct price and the other 2 did not. She stated oh these are 75% off too but I am not sure how to fix it, let me ask someone. Another employee came and told her she would have to have the manager to do it. At this point, I was waiting 10 minutes. The manager comes to the register and the cashier informed her of the problem. She never even looks at me and states oh those aren't listed on the sign and walks away in the direction of the rack. The cashier says oh she is going to check on it. She passes the rack without stopping and heads to the back of the store. I and the cashier stood there for 5 minutes. The cashier states she doesn't know what happens and calls the manager back. As the manager approaches she said "What is the problem?" with all I can say is a snotty voice and a bob of the head. The cashier says what did you find out. "About WHAT" store manager says. "The outfits?" cashier responds. "I SAID they aren't listed on the sign!!" The cashier starts to point at the rack "But they are all on that rack." " I said they aren't LISTED!!" The manager finally turns to me and said "DO YOU WANT THESE OR NOT, WHAT IS THE PROBLEM?" I have to say I fell back on my heals and with wide shocked eyes said "Yes, but I would like them for the 75% off, you can't see what is written on the sign. It's covered." The manager with a bob of the head and a flip of her voice "I am NOT doing it" At this point, I believe I was done. I asked her for her for the manager she said she was the manager. I asked her for her district manager's information. She informed me that they don't give out the district manager's name or number and does not give out the corporate headquarters number. After asking her 5x she finally said they had a customer care line I could make a complaint on. I asked for it. She went in the back, came back out with a business card and throw. Let me restate that THROW it on the corner in front of me and said "GOOD LUCK".

    Now at this point, while in the store, I called the number. It clearly is a India Call Center. No one could speak English well. The man was trying to be nice, but informed me he didn't have any numbers but the store number and I could call and make a complaint to the same store manager I just dealt with or he could leave a message with the direct manager and it would take 48 hrs before he could get back to me. He couldn't give out the corporate headquarters number or give me the name of whom would be calling me. I even ask for his boss. She was nice but same story. I ask if she could just call him and tell him to call me. They had no phone numbers they just send emails.

    This is the worst customer service I have ever dealt with. I shop Petsmart all the time because of their service. I have had complaints about small stuff and it is always resolved or an apology. I spend about 500 a month on food and supplies for my 6 animals. I thought I would give Petco a try. NEVER AGAIN. I will stay with Petsmart.

    Shoppers BEWARE!!

    -1 Votes
  • N
      Aug 23, 2011
    Petco - Worst Customer Service Ever
    Petco
    United States

    Good luck getting Petco to stand behind any of their products. We purchased their most expensive dog bed 6 months ago. This bed is a 2nd bed for one of our dogs and doesn't get a lot of use. I finally washed the cover for the first time--it not only fell apart at the seams but shrunk as well. So, I took the bed to Petco to see if they would exchange it. Nope--they have a 30-day guarantee. If it falls apart after that, too bad. The assistant manager of the Mountain View, CA store was so discourteous and rude, it is hard to believe she is in a customer-facing role. In trying to follow-up, she not only refused to give me her name (she would only provide the initial of her first name) but would not give me the district manager's name either. Petco really needs to provide customer service training to ALL of their employees. My 3 dogs and I will go to Petsmart from now on.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Dec 10, 2011

    As for the PALS program, have never gotten my free bag, ever, and the program was discontinued before I could get them to figure out where a bunch of my purchases went, that I know that I made to qualify for the free bag. Those "bunch of purchases" just disappeared, never registered on my slips. Have gotten email notices to print my "free" coupon on-line, with the replacement program, but every time I went into my account, my coupon has never been there to print. Another thing that I have been noticing, for months is that the register itemizes discounts and "cents off" and "free item" coupons, either, not at all or way off what the discount should be. Especially, on their "oops" discount items. Had to either return to the store to get the so-called half price that was printed on the orange "oops" label or when I began double checking at the cash register, the mgr had to be called, sometimes, more than once, to correct the sale amount. And, those "buy a homeless pet a dinner" treat bags that they sell at the register get rung up at such wierd increments on the sales slip that you can't decipher what is discounted or even IF you are getting discounted. (I stopped saying yes to those so-called donation items and just buy a couple of extra items to personally donate to homeless pets. I get more bang for the buck, that way, anyway, compared to the skimpy little trinkets & cans in those cellophane bags.l) I think those sales slips are designed that way to confuse the customer and they hope that no one will notice or come back to complain about the ambiguities. Well, for awhile, I WAS one of those customers that just let the cash register discount scams go. I let the matter go numerous times. Now, I question these ambiguities and coupons for "free" item promotions (that end up NOT being free, at all). Today, was the last straw when I almost got charged about $15 extra on items that had "oops" tags on them (for the second time). And, the manager who had to come back to the register, twice, during my one transaction, to correct discount errors, had the nerve to be snotty and tell me not to go on-line to complain about these errors, because the complaint emails just end up, back at their store, anyway, and to complain to them. I told her that the trouble, in the past, was that I had always trusted them to sell to me at the "enticement price" and would discover, after going home, that I got ripped off, over and over. I'm beginning to think this is by company design. Now, I know to scrutinize and question while I am at the register, and ask for the correct price and I get a snotty young "manager". I am tired of Petco. They have a great selection of holistic dog food which I prefer to feed my dogs, but many of their items can be purchased, much cheaper, elsewhere. I'm going to take a break from Petco. A long break.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Dec 31, 2011

    I agree. I had an old card from Complete Petsmart that I tried to use shortly after the change over to PetCo. the Guy told me
    that I should wait and use it when it would be more beneficial so I did. I bought a $60.00 bag of dog food yesterday and when I handed this same guy the Complete Petsmart card he says "Oh we don't honor these anymore" I was so mad. I explained to him that it was HIM who suggested I wait to use it. I will never go there again. If I can't find another Pet store selling the Natural Balance dog food I will just change the food my dog eats. Very dishonest business practices.

    +1 Votes
  • F
      Feb 17, 2012

    Petsmart gets the same ### beds from china just like petco. The manager was probably rude because she was tired of having her head shoved up the senior managements ### or her knees were sore from other activities. There are 2 ways to get promoted to assistant manager or general manager at petco, neither of which are based on skill, hard work, or knowledge. Petsmart is the same only they pay their people more and their corporate dip ### aren't afraid to invest a little more money into each stores payroll so the stores can actually have staff on hand to help people. Petco chooses to remain jewish and not invest a dime into its stored.

    0 Votes
  • C
      Jul 31, 2012

    I've never had a problem shopping at Petco. Their prices are very high, but they're the closest store that sells my dog's food brand. I'm not driving an hour to get cheaper food, and I'm not changing my dogs food to some crap by-product brand. Petco Pals card is a wonderful thing that I can't help but love. I spend a good amount of money at Petco (for instance, my oldest dog's food costs 80$.. weee) and with every 100 dollars spent, they email me a printable coupon for 5 reward dollars. I don't know about the whole 10 bag + one free bag thing. I'm pretty sure they don't have that here anymore, but it wouldn't make a difference since the bagged dog food I buy isn't expensive. I love Petco's Pal Rewards and I know it is definitely not a scam. I get a small discount on everything I buy with a Pals Rewards card, plus that extra five reward dollars. I will continue to shop at Petco, I just won't bring my dog into their dirty store.

    +1 Votes
  • A
      Nov 02, 2013
    Petco - associate's
    petco
    2722 N. Josey Lane #107 Carrollton Tx. 75006
    carrollton tx
    United States

    I went into petco last night, out of 5 people I saw 4 standding around laughing it up.
    The only one who was really doing anything was the cashier and that's just when I walked up.
    None of them greeted me, not even looked up to acknowledge my presence.
    I guess fun and games is more important then the customer's.
    Never the less better costomer service is what I request.

    -1 Votes
  • M
      Apr 28, 2016

    We used to have an auto-delivery service with Petco, and we cancelled it in January, however, this April, we've had a total of 4 unauthorized purchases from Petco. We've cancelled it, demanded a credit, and a week later, we'd get another charge.

    -1 Votes
  • P
      Jul 26, 2016
    Petco - Montgomery AL - Salon Manager
    Petco
    Montgomery
    Alabama
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    In the past 60 days, 2 Groomers and 2 Grooming Assistants have resigned or were terminated at NO fault of their own. The salon manager is the problem and Petco Human Resources needs to investigate. Take the time to ask ALL 4 of the above WHY they are no longer employed by Petco Montgomery AL; one employee actually has a lawsuit againt PETCO. In addition, the salon manager is extremely cruel to the pets!!!

    +1 Votes
  • S
      Aug 11, 2016
    PetCo - refund
    PET CO
    Orange City
    Florida
    United States

    I purchased a $100 pet gate at the Orange CIty, FL PetCo. The gate didn't work for me so I took it back the next day and the clerk remembered me. However, I couldn't find my reciept so her manager refused to refund my money and gave me a git card instead. I told her nope, it was on a credit card so it is easily tracked just refund my credit card. She refused with a little smirk and walked away. Oh and by the way, I found a better quality gate that actually works for under $50 at Home Depot. So, unless you want to be ripped off, pass by the Orange City, FL Pet Co.

    -1 Votes
  • J
      Aug 11, 2016

    No receipt, no refund, no complaint.

    +3 Votes
  • P
      Aug 11, 2016

    First of all, you didn't have a receipt, so they didn't have to offer you ANYTHING. Your fault.

    Anyways, just because a clerk remembers you doesn't mean they remember your specific transaction. And not all companies can track transactions by credit card number. The manager very kindly offered you a gift card, and you had a temper-tantrum and left. Very mature.

    +2 Votes
  • D
      Aug 11, 2016

    Susan just because companies can look up receipts doesnt mean they have to. You lost the receipt. Your own faults not the stores.

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Aug 11, 2016
    Petco Unleashed - hypocrisy
    tribeca chambers street
    Nyack
    New York
    United States
    petcounleashed.com

    They threw out on of the only good animals placed for adoption in that store- over greed and sloth.

    They underpay staff and don't give a [censored] about pets.

    -1 Votes
  • M
      Aug 11, 2016
    PetCo - PRICING
    PETCO
    Minnesota
    United States

    WENT IN TO PETCO TO PURCHASE CAT LITTER. SEEN THERE SIGN STATING A "PRICE MATCH" NOW I DID NOT BUY THE CAT LITTER ONLY B/C IT WAS RIDICULOUSLY VERY HIGH!!
    I STOPPED TO MY LOCAL GROCIER AND PURCHASED THERE AT 1/3 OF PETCO PRICING, NOW IM NOT THE ONLY ONE HERE PEOPLE PETCO SCREWS EVERYONE WHO ENTERS THERE STORES!
    I DID STOP BACK INTO THE LOVELY PETCO AND SPOKE WITH MANAGER THEY SAID THEY COULD OFFER A PRICE MATCH, WELL THAT IS AFTER THE FACT OF KNOWING HOW PETCO OPERATES WILL NEVER GO INTO PETCO THEY SCREW ALL PEOPLE!

    0 Votes
  • P
      Aug 11, 2016

    You are missing somthing here. When ANY company price matches, they require an in-print or online ad that shows the price of another company that is lower than their's of the same product. At that point, they are able to match the price. They aren't able to predict the prices of other companies.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Aug 11, 2016

    Was it really necessary to YELL?

    0 Votes

Post your comment