The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Orbitz.com / Watch out for scam!

1 United States Review updated:

I went to book hotel rooms for a vacation. I marked that I wanted two rooms for two nights and clicked to get rates. Looking at the rates I went ahead and booked. Then when I got the itinerary I saw that I had 1 room for all 5 people! I went back to the original screen and it was clearly marked for 2 rooms for 5 people. Since it was incorrect I cancelled and found I had a $25 cancellation fee. I called and they said they would refund the fee since I cancelled minutes after I booked but that I would have to wait for the refund. I asked to speak to someone about booking the room. After being on hold for quite a while - the CSR tried to help by walking me through the process but the same thing happened. He then gave me a large rate and hung up the phone on me - he had already gotten my phone number, but didn't bother calling back.

This web site is tricky - and the CSR's are rude! I have booked rooms and flights through other travel sites with no problem. I will never use Orbitz again and caution others from using them!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Va
      20th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - Bad service
    Orbitz.com
    United States
    orbitz.com

    I booked a roundtrip flight thru Orbitz.com because they guarantee if the same flight is found at a lesser rate, you would receive a refund. NOT TRUE! My friend booked the exact same flight, yet was only charged $244, whereas I was charged $265 plus $6.99 fee for making my reservation online at Orbitz.com. When I spoke to customer service person, they said the price guarantee only applies if a similar flight is booked thru Orbitz.com. How is it that Orbitz.com gets away with advertising that they offer the best prices, which they also supposedly guarantee? What a joke! Why would anyone in their right mind pay to book a flight thru Orbitz.com when they could easily book a flight at the airline's website for free AND get a cheaper fare?!? I will not use Orbitz.com ever again and advise others to seriously think about using them. If you want the best fare, DO NOT USE Orbitz.com.

  • Oh
      18th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    Their price assurance clearly says that both flights must be booked on Orbitz website. So, how do you now complain that the rules don't apply to you?

  • Ly
      17th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - False advertizing
    Orbitz.com
    United States
    Phone: 877 548-4251
    orbitz.com

    On Saturday Jan 17, 2017 I tried to book a hotel room in Las Vegas for 1/19/2017 for three nights. The Orbitz website advertized the "special" at "but one night, get one night free - 2 days minimum" The lowest "guarenteed" price $16.95". When I tried to check out, the rate read "$24.94 for Monday and Tuesday, Wed free". This is not in line with the advertising of $16.95 per night and third night free. What they did was charge me the entire $24.95 per night and third night free. This is fraudulent advertizing at best.

  • Ch
      5th of May, 2009
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - never recieved email about Advantage car company's backrupcy.
    Orbitz.com
    oahu
    Hawaii
    United States

    We made CAR reservations on ORBITZ.COM in August 2017 for April 24th, 2017. Evening before I left for the trip, I printed the document off of Orbitz.com web-site under My travels. The next day when we arrived in Oahu, Hawaii, we went out to look for the Advantage bus to pick up our car. When the bus never arrived, I called advantage number and the recording stated that it was after hours and that it was closed. THen, I asked one of the employees of the airport where I can find the bus, he stated that the company is no longer in existance and that hertz had purchased the company. So the whole family, myself, my husband, 2(2years old) twin boys, our au pair, and 10 bags went to the hertz office. When we arrived, hertz said they could not rent us the car under orbitz confirmation number, only with an advantage confirmation number...
    Ok, I called Orbitz, I asked them to make a reservation for us at the Hertz we were at, the same car at the same price. After being on hold and transferred a couple of times, they said that they were not responsible because advantage rental car emailed everyone expect for people renting from our airport(oahu, Hawaii)! and all they can do is make another reservation for us at another place at the current cost of rental!(this is after speaking to them for 2hours!!) At this time we were extemely tired and upset. Since we were at hertz, we asked if there was a car available for rent...answer was NO! we ended up waiting for a car to be returned so we could rent it. We rented a smaller car and paid over 200 dollars more for the week rental. After we rented the car...a few hours later. I called ORBITZ.COM again and spoke with a manager. I told him what had happened and he was very rude and treated me like I was trying to con him. He then put me on hold and called Hertz himself. Then he gave me many explanations why he did not want to give me a credit for the difference for the rental car...finally he agreed to give us 200dollars credit at ORBITZ.COM. This was the worse experience I have had with any company.

  • Ed
      20th of Oct, 2009
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - Price Assurance Scam
    Orbitz
    United States
    orbitz.com

    I booked a flight to Fort Lauderdale that I have not gone on yet. I got a great deal of $260 per person for the flight. Because I booked early I begin getting a barrage of emails from orbitz about changes to the schedule. Usually these changes were 1 or 2 minutes. During this period I received an email from Orbitz, stating that someone booked a lower fare and I was now eligible for the price assurance guarantee. However, orbitz does not tell you what the amount of the refund will be, just that you need to take the flight before you will receive it.

    Because of all of the changes to the time of the flight, I decided I should login to my account to get the most current flight details. While logged in they have a tab where you can go to see the flight assurance refund and status. When I went to the link it showed that I had the lowest fare and no award was due.

    I called orbitz and after wasting a half an hour on chat and the phone with them was told well it is not on your account. to which I responded that I had an email. Orbitz responded that if someone booked the trip and cancelled within 48 hours as they are entitiled to do, the lower price does not count. I responded well isn't that convenient as there is no way for any consumer to ever know what prices where paid by other passengers and if the flight was cancelled by the other traveler.

    The price assurance program is a joke and I doubt that orbitz, rarely if ever actually makes a payment.

  • Cl
      10th of Feb, 2010
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - I will never use Orbitz to reserve a room or stay at a Ramada Hotel again
    Orbitz.com
    United States
    orbitz.com

    I will never, EVER use Orbitz to reserve a room or stay at a Ramada Hotel again. I reserved and paid for my room 10 days prior to my planned trip. When I checked in, I was told that the room I reserved was not available at that time and that it was not available at the time that I paid for it. The desk clerk and night manager were apologetic, but had an attitude of 'Oh well, its not our fault' They asked if I was certain of the amenities of the room I reserved (as if I was mistaken about what I paid for) When I produced the copy of my itinerary showing that I had reserved a King, smoking room with private balcony and jetted jacuzzi tub, the clerk shrugged her shoulders and said, Sorry, we don't have it. I don't know what Orbitz did.

    After checking into to the offered double room with regular tub, I contacted Orbitz customer service online. After about 30 minutes of back and forth, they advised that the hotel was busy and could not talk to them right then and for me to call the 800 number in 30 minutes to an hour. An hour later, I contacted customer service by phone, was placed on hold and after about 20 minutes, the Orbitz rep advised that they were willing to credit $10 per night for my inconvenience. First of all, there are MANY cheaper hotels in Virginia Beach at this time of year and if the cost was the only consideration, I would have booked one of those. The amenities I desired were the REASON I booked the room the way that I did. I advised customer service that this was not an acceptable solution and hung up. On Monday, after returning home, I emailed customer service asking for a fair resolution to this problem. I received a response fairly quickly advising that a supervisor would be in contact. 5 days later, still not one word from the supervisor. Do not advertise or book and accept payment for rooms that you can not provide! PERIOD!!! I have a pretty big mouth and will be sure that this information is passed on to everyone I know. ORBITZ bites and Ramada is no better. Each one passed the buck to the other and NEITHER party made it right.

  • Tr
      23rd of Feb, 2010
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - My advice never use Orbitz
    Orbitz.com
    United States
    orbitz.com

    In short, don't use Orbitz. My bank and its VISA department told me that Orbiz routinely double bills a credit card and will later remove one of the charges. It happened to me. They billed me $2400 for 3 airlines tickets..and then moments later sent it through again. Caused me to max out my credit card on a trip. Luckily I had a debit card with me. I called Orbitz, they never admitted their mistake even whenI had them on a conference call with my bank. My bank's VISA department told me it routinely happens with Orbitz, they send it through, dont' think it went and send it again. Your card is billed twice.

    My advice NEVER USE ORBITZ. Or if you do, call don't use that [censored]ing website.

  • Mr
      25th of Feb, 2010
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - price assurance
    Orbitz.com
    North Carolina
    United States

    Just wanted to let everyone know that the Orbitz price assurance does not work for vacation packages. I booked a package to Vegas last week for $350/person, and this week, the exact same package is $335/person. Not a whole lot of difference I know, but every little bit helps. It is in very fine print on their Terms and Conditions page. Also, don't believe that the $25 cancellation fee is all you will incur if you cancel a package. I called and they said they would only refund me the hotel portion of the package if I cancelled. Also, to even change a portion of a package you are looking at over $100/person. I just kept everything the same, just trying to save a lil money.

  • Sc
      1st of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    Orbitz don't match their don't website price. Matching your own price is the cardinal rule in the retail store business.

    I too had a bad experience with Orbitz price assurance. I booked a flight out to Asia.
    And about 4 days later I tried to check on Orbitz if I still had the best price. I search
    for my same exact itinerary and now my flight was being offer on Orbitz for 60 dollars less.
    So I called orbitz, but after 30mins of waiting I decided to hang up. I went online and was able to locate a chat with an orbitz customer service and was informed that their best price guarantee was only for 24 hours. WOW! Isn't that something. Their so called price assurance
    isn't much either. Because Orbitz don't match their don't website price. Matching your own price is the cardinal rule in the retail store business.

  • Bu
      1st of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - My checking account has been overdrafted and I'm smacked with a $30.00 charge
    Orbitz.com
    United States
    orbitz.com

    So just a few days ago, I needed to buy two tickets to San Francisco (from NY). I found decently priced tickets on Orbitz and plugged in my name, credit card info, and all that good stuff. Then I hit 'enter' and get an error sign. It tells me that "due to high traveler demand, we cannot sell these to you at this (low) price. please try again." So I look up the new price and it's nearly $150 more. So I bought my tickets through travelocity.com (and got them for a very good price).

    Two days later, I find out that my checking account has been overdrafted and I'm smacked with a $30.00 charge. I check my recent transactions and sure enough, Orbitz.com charged me over $600.00 for tickets I never purchased.

    After calling customer service, they agreed that the charge was invalid and said it would be removed in 3-5 days.

    But in any case, Orbitz.com is a hassle to deal with and they will charge your card multiple times. They also tell you tickets are a certain price, get you to fill out your information, and then raise the price and charge you anyways.

    DON'T USE ORBITZ.COM. Save yourself the headache and money.

  • Tr
      2nd of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - Orbitz's customer service was horrible
    Orbitz.com
    United States
    orbitz.com

    I use Orbitz to book travel for myself and for my mother several times a year, and I started using Orbitz on the recommendation of my father, who uses it several times a year. However, after my last experience, I will never use Orbitz again.

    I booked a trip to Las Vegas for May 27 through 30, 2017. This trip was for my best friend's wedding, and about 25 people booked their tickets to the wedding through Orbitz. When I booked my flights, I specified that I wanted flight times after noon. My original flights were the following: I was to leave Omaha at 1:15 p.m. on Wednesday, and I was to leave Las Vegas at 5:30 p.m. on Saturday. These times were perfect.

    I received four flight updates between January and February. The first two kept the flight times at acceptable times. When I received the third and fourth update, I (wrongly) assumed that the times would be within what I initially specified — after noon. Furthermore, I figured with four flight changes in one month, there were bound to be more over the next three months. However, when I received the confirmation the day before I left Omaha, I discovered that the time I left Las Vegas on Saturday had changed to 8:10 a.m.

    Now, I know for a fact that there were later flights leaving Las Vegas, because I was the only person at the wedding who had this super-early time. Because of this flight time, my vacation was cut short, and I missed wedding festivities on Friday night because I had to go to bed early so I could be up at 4:30 a.m. the next day to catch the 8:10 a.m. flight. Moreover, I missed the wedding brunch with the other guests on Saturday morning because I had to be up at 4:30 a.m. to catch the 8:10 a.m. flight.

    Because Orbitz did not stick to the time I specified when booking this trip, I hold Orbitz accountable for screwing up my first trip to Las Vegas and time I should have had with my best friend and her groom. I missed out on festivities on Friday AND Saturday because of this, and I am not pleased. This is time I can't get back with my friends. Orbitz robbed me of a night and half a day of my vacation.

    While I'm voicing my displeasure, I'm going to add that I was stuck paying an extra $20 a night at the Imperial Palace in Las Vegas because Orbitz booked me in the "fabulous" MOTEL part of the Imperial Palace. Thanks, but I'd rather not be raped and robbed while traveling, and considering I was one of three people from the wedding staying at the Imperial Palace and was traveling alone, I didn't feel the motel was very safe. So I coughed up an additional $20 a night to stay in the main part of the hotel. So thank you for booking me in the lousiest part of the hotel possible so I could pay extra each night to feel safe.

    When I called Orbitz after my trip, they put the blame on the airline. However, I did not book my flights through the airline, I booked them through Orbitz. Furthermore, when pointed out that they completely disregarded that I'd specified flight times after noon, they continually ignored this and continued to blame the airline. Orbitz's customer service was horrible, and I'm still irked that they cut my vacation short.

  • Sl
      2nd of Apr, 2010
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - I have had a horrible experience with Orbitz
    Orbitz.com
    United States
    orbitz.com

    I have had a horrible experience with Orbitz! They gave me a one way ticket after I purchased a round trip. Not only are they refusing to fix it, they refuse to refund any part of my money. Funny enough they offered me a credit to use at a later date, minus fees, of course! I have been on the phone with Orbitz for countless hours, have spoken to just about every citizen in the Phillipines that works for Orbitz. I am pursuing all legal avenues and putting in complaints to everyone I can. NEVER, EVER USE ORBITZ.COM!!!

  • Or
      5th of Apr, 2010
    0 Votes

    Hello,

    I am with Orbitz Customer Relations Department and would like the opportunity to assist with your situation. Please provide me with an Orbitz Record Locator.

  • Po
      21st of Jun, 2010
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - Stay far away from Orbitz.com
    Orbitz.com
    United States
    orbitz.com

    My cousin and I purchased the same airfare (VIA ORBTIZ) while we were in two different laptops sitting next to each other. We both submitted it at the same time but yet when confirmed his said $175 (per person) and mine was $216 per person. I contacted Orbitz immediately and I was told that I qualified for PRICE ASSURANCE since we both did it at the same time. The agent stated that I would get an email with the confirmation of price assurance. I called a week later and they stated the same thing (I qualify wait for email). TODAY, THE STORY CHANGED. They stated because my cousin hit the confirmation button prior to me I DO NOT QUALIFY. ORBITZ JUST LOST LONG TIME CUSTOMERS FOR $40. It’s the principle that matters. If you say over and over that I qualify don’t change the story later for your convenience.

  • Cy
      31st of Oct, 2011
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - Uncompromizing bad service
    Orbitz.com
    United States

    Had booked a flight and had to cancel because of an emergency. Was on the phone forever before I was able to talk to an agent that basically told me they could exchange the ticket, but did not refund tickets. They she put me a phony hold saying she was talking to the airline, that was not quite long enough to call anyone and still said there was nothing she could do. I canceled the ticket but all money was lost. If I choose to rebook I will have to pay another $100 to process it. Stay away from this company, they say no fees, but instead they take everything without even negoiationg any kind of compromise.

  • Pe
      6th of Nov, 2011
    0 Votes

    Same for me.

    In November 2017 I booked an expensive ticket to India and had to cancel. Before canceling I asked if I could use my ticket at some other time . They said I had one year to use it and would only have to pay a price difference. I called multiple times - and every time I was given the same information. 7 months later, I called to rebook. I was - again - told I had until november 11' to rebook. The moment I was transferred to the international department to book, I was informed that I only had 6 month to use my open ticket and had passed my deadline. After hours and hours on the phone, they said they would send a refund request to the airline for half of the ticket. On August 9th I received an email saying the refund request was processed at Orbitz and sent to the airline. 3 month later - still no money in my bank account - I call them only to hear that an "email" requesting a refund was sent to the airline on October 20th. They claim they sent me an email on the same day (which I never got). I asked to speak to the supervisor, and she was very rude, and did not apologize. I never received an apology for giving me the wrong information about the rebooking status. Orbitz is stealing money.

  • Or
      7th of Nov, 2011
    0 Votes

    My name is Kristi, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at [protected]@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further. Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.
    Sincerely,
    Kristi
    Orbitz Customer Relations
    Chicago, IL

  • Da
      28th of Feb, 2012
    0 Votes
    Orbitz.com - Orbitz doesn't stand behind their insurance
    Orbitz.com
    United States
    orbitz.com

    I had to xl my flight which was very important besides the sentiment behind it, due to a 2 day migraine on the same day I was suppose to take off. On the very same day, in the PM, I felt better and wanted to rebook for the next day. They said I could use the ticket if booked before May 2017. I have reached out to them for 4 days now with no response whatsoever! Now my vacation is almost over and I do not get another until next year!

    I demand a refund of all money exchanged with these companies! I am also going to the BBB and putting in a complaint! I demand a credit on my cc immediatley!

    I planned my vacation to Ohio. It would've been my Mother and Father's 60th wedding anniversary;sadly my Father passed in November. Also my sister was there visiting from memohis who I never see.I had a 2 day migraine and had to xl my flight with orbitz yet had purchased travel insurance through Access America. The same PM of the day I was to leave originally, I started feeling better. It has been 4 days now and I have not heard a word from anybody to get my flight rebooked! NOT A WORD! I wanted to rebook it the very same day I canceled. Orbitz customer service didn't helpt at all;advised me to get in touch with Access America! I cannot! They will not respond! Now it is too late for my trip andI am reporting both companies to BBB..unless they agree to give me a refund. The agreement was I was able to rebook before May 2017..hellloooo? I spent $453+...they want something from a Dr according to the site... which I didn't need to go to;I've had migraines my whole life! This has been a disheartened time and I have spend everyday in bed crying. I will NEVER do business with ORBITZ! Here I come BBB.

    I just received 2 different emails, one from a csr named "Sara", who used CAPITAL LETTERS, stating she needed all my Dr infor, (which I have told them, I didn't have to go to the Dr, have had migraines my whole life, and wanted proof of purchase, flight etc. I sent them all of that twice!!! Now my vacation is a few days short of being over and they're telling me after I submit a Drs document, which I'll never have and the infor for thr rest which they already have. That it'd be 5-7 days to consider my claim! These people have completely ruined an extremely important family week, it will never return. I wanted to book a flight again as I let them know within 15ish hours of canceling it! I want all of my money refunded an I will let everyone know about Orbitz and their bad customer service and insurance.

  • Aa
      5th of Mar, 2012
    0 Votes

    Hello –

    Jackie from the Help Team here. We sympathize with you, and we’re sorry to hear that you had to cancel your trip due to a migraine. There is a specific requirement within your travel insurance policy that a medical condition must be disabling enough to make a reasonable person cancel their trip, and that a doctor must examine you within 72 hours of your cancellation. Please email our Help Team with your policy number and full details of your situation at Help.[protected]@allianzassistance.com, and someone will further investigate your claim.

    Regards,
    Jackie

  • Li
      15th of May, 2012
    0 Votes

    I experienced a similar situation. Was told inaccurate information by two representatives and when I asked to speak to a supervisor and expressed my frustration, he hung up on me. I don't know who to contact because I don't feel that anyone at Orbitz cares if I use their site again. If anyone has had success contacting anyone who seems interested in resolving these types of issues, I would be interested in going into details, but it seems like a waste of time and energy to go through the details again with another person who apologizes for not being able to do anything to help and simply hangs up when told that inaccurate information has been given. Very unprofessional and discouraging!!!

Post your comment