SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

National Readers ServiceFaulty sweepstakes/magazine subscriptions

1
F Review updated:

I get an anonymous phone call from a fairly convincing company that states I've won some sweepstakes called the Dream of Your Lifetime sweepstakes...they call themselves Best Publications Services, which is odd because in the letter that was sent to me it states that they're the NATIONAL READERS SERVICE. These guys are totally a scam and are trying to rip people off in the process. On the supposed letter they claim to give you a complimentary free watch and state that there are no contracts. These people seem to be professional scammers and for "God sake" I almost gave them my social security number...for whatever reason the man over the phone asked me for it - that's when I started to consider how phony these guys sound. My advice for any body who is to receive such phone calls is to quickly interrupt them talking and say no. And investigate yourself if you can...via the internet or the local library.

Responses

  • A
      Mar 19, 2009

    I recieved a phone call today telling me that I was entered in a sweepstakes because I was a preferred mastercard holder. They were offering me a free watch which the lady said was cpntained a "real" diamond at the 12 o'clock point along with 2 complimentry magazines. They only thing was that I had to but 2 other magazines at 60% off thier normal price. They already had my full name, address, and phone number. They funny thing is that I just got this phone number yesterday when I purchased a new phone wwith a different company(Metro PCS). They wanted my Mastercard number. Ihave a Mastercard debt pre-paid card. The kind where you put money into the card. Basiclly one of those cards you can use for direct deposit when you don't have a bank account. The lady on the phoe talk very qickl andtold me that someone woujld be calling me back asking me to rate her prefrmance.
    When I started asking questions about the company she said that he suprivisor had just tapped her on the sholder and wanted to speak with me to find out how Samantha had prefromed on the phone. After asking about her preformance he asked whic card I was planning on using to pay for the other two magazines. I told him that the card was a prepaid and that there was no money on the account, which was true, but that he needed the information just to varify that I was a card holder. So I ended up giving him the informain figurin, what could they do. There was no money in the cards affofunt and it can be overdrawn.
    well we'll see what happens.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Aug 15, 2009

    National Readers Service scammed my 19 year old in June 2009. Specific suggestions for dealing with this scam are on my blog www.theNRSscam.blogspot.com
    Good luck! D/

    0 Votes
  • D
      May 20, 2010

    I got a similar call yesterday but I did not give them a credit card number or any additional personal information. They knew my name, address and obviously my cell number which they used to contact me. They are sending a "free" watch. I asked "So what is the hitch?" . The male caller replied nothing. So I am guessing I will be inundated with offers by mail. I am trying to get back in touch with them and as of yet am unable to find a phone number for this company. I had my credit card provider put me on fraud alert so that if any charges show up that are out of the ordinary I will receive an immediate text message on my cell. Any one have a contact name and number?

    0 Votes
  • F
      Sep 29, 2010

    Don't even get ME started! I, too, was duped. But they have started a new tactic...going by 2 names to get you to pay, and showing 2 different totals, hoping you'll be gullible to think, "Oh God, I signed up for 2 of these!" However, when pressed you get the same service date. Hmm.

    Lookout not only for National Readers Service but ALSO Midwest Publishers Inc.!

    Better yet. Just don't do it! If anyone does a cold call to you tell them to take your name off their list as that is the law. If you are already on the DO NOT CALL list tell them that and that they just broke the law. See who can hang up the fastest then!

    Wish I had been the wiser back in March. Still fighting my strategy using the BBB, FTC, State AG, Consumer Affairs, and the list goes on. The more complaints I can file (and print to send to these 2 companies in response to their bully tactics) the better off I hope we will all be in the end. If they took you for a ride, file away too! Thanks D for all your suggestions at your blog! Everybody should go there!

    0 Votes
  • M
      Nov 20, 2010

    Someone just called my phone as well. She said that I was entered in the sweepstake but she really couldn't give me that much informaton so i would have to speak with her supervior. Her supervisor came on the line and asked me how she treated me and the i told him okay and then when they asked me for my credit card information I got furious. I then asked the supervisor how do i know this is not a scam and asked him for the company information. when I pulled it up online, I didn't see any good comments what so ever and then the supervisor stated" the people are just mad and am i going to believe the internet and when he went on here before it was all good comments" I then told him if I could be removed off the list and he hung up in my face!!! I totally think its a scam!!!

    0 Votes
  • T
      Sep 21, 2011

    This is the main place that I have worked for and to send complaints about: There direct number for employee's is [protected]. I worked here for two weeks before I relized how we were scaming customers...the "free diamond watch" only cost the company $2 bucks each and as far as I know there are no real sweepsteaks drawings...I needed a job, and it was a quick job to get and I am sorry for anyone I have sold to. Do not work here!! The person the employee talks to too call in sick or whatever is JR, just ask for him and they will put you through. Not sure if this will help anyone but I noticed how NRS the fake company we say in the script has a D- on the BBB website and IMA (International Marketing Association, Inc.) rating is great, which is the actual company that we as employees are not allowed to say on the phone.
    BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/1995
    International Marketing Association
    Find a Location

    (757) 490-9860View Additional Phone Numbers3509 Virginia Beach Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA [protected]
    International Marketing Association BBB® Accredited Business Seal
    BBB® Accredited A+ Rating
    On a scale of A+ to F Reason for RatingBBB Ratings System Overview
    SharePrint
    Request a Quote

    Request a quote from International Marketing Association.
    BBB Accreditation

    A BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/1995

    BBB has determined that International Marketing Association meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

    BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

    Reason for Rating

    BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

    Factors that raised International Marketing Association's rating include:

    Length of time business has been operating.
    Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
    Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
    Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
    BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

    Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details
    1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
    Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
    Problems with Product / Service 1
    Advertising / Sales Issues 0
    Billing / Collection Issues 0
    Delivery Issues 0
    Guarantee / Warranty Issues 0
    Total Closed Complaints 1

    Complaint Details | Definitions | BBB Complaint Process | File a Complaint

    Government Actions

    BBB knows of no significant government actions involving International Marketing Association.

    What government actions does BBB report on?
    Advertising Review

    BBB has nothing to report concerning International Marketing Association's advertising at this time.

    What is BBB Advertising Review?

    Additional Information
    top
    BBB file opened: 07/06/1994Business started: 05/01/1994
    Type of Entity

    Corporation

    Incorporated: May 1994, VA
    Contact Information
    Primary Contact: Mr. Daryl DeCroix (President)Ms. Debi De Croix (Office Manager)Ms. Pam Duncan (Accounts Payable)
    Number of Employees

    2
    Business Category

    Magazines - Dealers, Magazine Sales
    Alternate Business Names
    Subscription Services
    BBB Program Participation
    This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

    0 Votes
  •   Aug 07, 2013

    phone number my scam telephone call came from: [protected] and [protected] They called me today August 7 2013 and told me I'm being entered into a Dream of a Lifetime sweepstakes for $25, 000 The caller ID said "Hearst, Inc." so I thought it was from Hearst magazines. She said they are sending me a free watch and 6 magazines for only $20.mon. for 4 years. I would have to give my credit card info right then on the phone or I would not be entered into the contest. I told her how do I know it's not a scam? I told her sorry, but I will need to pass on the offer! I looked it up right away on the internet to find out it was indeed a scam!

    0 Votes

Post your comment