SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Lloyd & McDanielunethical practice

Review updated:

Lloyd & McDaniel and Asset Acceptance purchase old debt and go after people without the means for legal representation. They file document in court without allowing the defendent to plead their case. If you dispute the debt it is stated in their letter that they will provide you with proof of the debt but, they don't send anything.

The obtained a summary judgement, garnisheed my bank account and payroll check without me every having the opportunity to go to court or present my receipts and checks showing payments made on the account.

They must be stopped. I would like to know if anyone else has been affected by this company. I am interested in filing a class action lawsuit.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • To
      Nov 24, 2008

    I agree totally...please read my post on a similar scummy lawyer...Paul J Hooten...let's join forces.

    Tosco

    +4 Votes
  • Fe
      Dec 26, 2008

    Lloyd and Mcdaniel did the same thing to me. They got a judgment against me without me ever knowing anything about it.. On a debt that the original creditor ceased collections on. I have a letter from the original creditor saying that they were recalling all collections associated with this account. That letter they sent to me through the BBB. I now have this judgment on my credit file and feel like my life is ruined... If there is help out there I'd like to have some too...

    +3 Votes
  • Sy
      Dec 10, 2009

    Well, they are still pursuing consumers without proof of the original debt. I just went to court in November of 2009 because they had filed a motion for a default judgement to be placed against me even after I had requested proof of my debt. Fortunately, the judge dismissed their motion. Their representative seemed really alarmed to find me in court to dispute the motion and angry when I showed proof through 3 certified letters of my request. He denied receiving my request. About 10 years ago, they took my mother to court and placed a lien on her property. At the time, she could not afford legal representation and was forced to file bankruptcy to get the lien removed. This company has serious greed problems!

    +3 Votes
  • Jm
      Jun 05, 2010

    Same thing happened to me, those people are sharks and have unethical practices, I can't believe they are so called "practicing" Law, what a shame!
    They wiped out my checking and savings accounts leaving me with $0! I understand they can garnish your deposit accounts with a Court order but what I don't understand is that, the same way there are guidelines on wages garnishements such as no more that 25% of your gross wages can't be garnished, how does it come that there is no similar guidelines applying for deposit accounts? if someone knows anything about such guidelines or rules, limitations, I would love to hear from you!
    I also read from someone else talking about a class action law suit against that firm, I am interested to be part of it but not sure how it would work.
    Good luck to everyone.

    +3 Votes
  • St
      Jul 03, 2011

    I made a complaint with the attorney general of my state. They are investigating Lloyd & McDaniel. If anyone that reads this feels that are doing anything illegal or feel that the debt really is not owed should contact there attorney general's office and file a consumer complaint form!

    +5 Votes
  • Mj
      Mar 08, 2012

    They just called me, and I didn't know the number, so I called back to see what company they were from, and did some research. what is the purpose of this company? why would they be coming after me.. I don't know what they want but there is nothing for them to take from me. I am a disabled veteran, with no income, live in subsidized housing. my disability has destroyed my life. so I don't know what they think they are going to get from me...

    +2 Votes
  • Ti
      Apr 03, 2018

    @mjane1 send them your ssi papers its illegal to garnish your wages

    +2 Votes
  • Ti
      Apr 03, 2018

    @Tina Cox also tell you bank dont allow anyone from that office access to your bank account

    +3 Votes
  • 05
      Mar 16, 2012

    I am going through a Very similar situation with them. They make up things that were said and put them in their notes. Then they repeat them as though the conversation really happened, I guess since it is being recorded. They also garnished my checking and savings. Class action suit... Let me know!

    +5 Votes
  • Fe
      Apr 12, 2012

    I'm getting the same treatment as well. I received a letter from them claiming they had been retained to collect a certain amount. I responded via certified letter within the 30 days given and requested that they provide verification of the alleged debt. I still have yet to receive any verification, but I did get a letter from the local Sheriff's office about an "important document" they were holding for me. Likely a summons where they're going to try to sue me. However, I'm going to fight this tooth and nail, since they have no grounds to file suit without first providing the verification I am legally entitled to.

    +5 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 09, 2012

    I agree 100% that lloyd & mcdaniel has an unethical practice!! I was threatened by patrick kilburn from this firm! also, when ever I would try to explain that countrywide owned this account and it was dropped due to the many errors and complications countrywide home loans made, patrick kilburn screams through the phone he does not want to hear about countrywide and he will take our home if we do not send a check to lloyd & mcdaniel every month... and he followed up with saying "and I mean it"!! why are people like this allowed to continue?? I have been through enough grief with countrywide home loans, and them not knowing what the hell they were doing, and now I have these jerks calling and threatening me. the firm also sent a letter stating they were going to garnish my paychecks and had the incorrect employer listed! numb nuts!

    +5 Votes
  • To
      Jan 18, 2013

    These people just sent me a letter last week stating that I owed their client, cac credit acceptance corp over $12000, cac repossessed my car last summer in the middle of the night eventhough I was 23 days past due, they could have sold it for 13k, but they chose to auction it off for a measly $5k. now they are trying to collect the difference from me, that car was only 4 years old and would have easily sold for more than 12k,. cac has hired those louisville ky goons at lloyd mcdaniel. as a true kentuckian, they are repulsive. anyway, I am filing chapter 7, so they can pound sand!!! are you paying attention mr. patrick kilburn, you and your poor excuse for a law firm are worthless pieces of crap!!! I will join the class action suit too!

    +2 Votes
  • La
      Mar 22, 2013

    You guys are a bunch of idiots. Maybe if you paid your debts this ### wouldnt happen to you.

    -5 Votes
  • Ti
      Apr 03, 2018

    @lalalaboo sometimes sickness takes people out of the workforce takes long time to get ssi like years so i can see how some of it happens

    +3 Votes
  • Jo
      Sep 06, 2019

    @lalalaboo Sometimes you can’t and the bottom feeder lawyers come out

    0 Votes
  • La
      Mar 22, 2013

    And why are you so proud to be filling bankrupt? lmao

    -2 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 06, 2019

    @lalalaboo It worked for the current President of the United States. If it's good enough for him...

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Mar 24, 2013

    They are crooks! my case was dropped by countrywide, due to errors, they went bankrupt, and they did not follow up nor finish the process of our loan modification on our second mortgage. bank of america bought all of countrywide home loans, and lloyd and mcdaniel claims to now own our second mortgage, but they do not!! patrick kilburn from lloyd & mcdaniel added over $20, 000 to a failed loan modification, threatened me, and recently removed money from our checking account several times just by using our republic bank checking account routing number, and personal banking account number!! republic bank allowed this to happen, and melissa at the shelbyville, ky site refused to let me sign fraud papers!!! thank god my husband has an attorney provided through his place of employment, because we was actually four payments ahead and patrick kilburn from lloyd and mcdaniel just kept removing money from our checking account!! I never signed for lloyd and mcdaniel to remove money from our checking account, but republic bank allowed this to happen!! lloyd and mcdaniel does not own our old second mortgage, it was dropped by countrywide due to their failure to complete our loan modification... plently of documents to support this!! lloyd & mcdaniel also put a garnish on our wages, but had been paid!! they have caused us so much grief, we can't sleep at night! bank of america is also crooks!! what is this world coming to???

    +3 Votes
  • Fa
      May 30, 2013

    I received contact from patrick kilburn in oct. 2012 on a debt the I was making payments on. he would not accept the payment plan already in force. some how without going to court they got a judgment against me. there were 2 court dates set, I went to both, they never showed up. while I have proof that I have paid several thousand more that I owe, patrick kilburn froze all my banks accounts, and now is demanding a one time payment in full, he does not acknowledge my previous payments that I have bank copies of. I need my account unfroze, so I am going to bend over and take it and pay what he is asking just to be done with it. it is not right, but I have not found any help else where. I find it odd that the same judge's name is on all the paper work. i'm all for a class action law suite. I do pay my bills on time, however I did get behind on this one when I was out of work for 7 months due to open heart surgery. I am not a slacker.

    +4 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 03, 2013

    Patrick kilburn is a crook!! he is dishonest and needs to be stopped!! I had a mortgage with countrywide, which went bankrupt, and patrick kilburn has made our life a living hell!! he garnished both both my wife and I wages and had our payments!! he also takes money from banking accounts by using our routing numbers, and republic bank allows this to happen, in fear that we owe him money!! wth!! I am also in favor of a class action suit!! on top of all this, he has threatened me!! countrywide and bank of america have had class action suits from all over the country, and he is still getting away with with his actions with the company he works for, lloyd and mcdaniel!! I have had seven surgeries in the past two years, and I am not a slacker either!! I will help you with a class action suit, since our attorney through ford motor co., must be in the buddy system with patrick kilburn at lloyd and mc daniel!! contact me.. please!!

    +3 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 03, 2013

    Lalalaboo must be "someone" from lloyd and mcdaniel!!!

    +7 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 03, 2013
    Best Best Advice

    I am very interested in a class action suit!!! patrick kilburn from lloyd and mcdaniel is # and threatened me!!

    +7 Votes
  • Lo
      Dec 05, 2013

    Lloyd & Mc Daniel needs to be stopped

    +3 Votes
  • Fr
      Mar 09, 2014

    I have had issues with lloyd and mcdaniels too.in 2009, I tried to settle with four different banks because my husband lost his job. citibank was the only one that refused to work with me. so I hired an attorney to represent me. this had dragged on for years. out of the blue, three weeks ago, to both the shock of my attorney and myself, my wages were garnished by lloyd and mcdainels, representing citi. my attorney has been trying to contact them to work on a settlement but they will not return her calls. when they finally did — they demanded way more than I could pay... and they wanted it in a lump sum. my offer was $5000 which was about 50% of the debt. even when my attorney told them I would have to file bankruptcy if they didn't work with me, they demanded $7000. I went to a bank to see if they would help me refinance my home to pay off the debt. my attorney has been trying to get a response from them for almost a week.. and no response. I cannot live off the wages I have left after their garnishment. I am not going to refinance my home without something in writing that says this debt will be forever settled. quite frankly I am considering bankruptcy, even though this is my only debt aside from my mortgage. I am caring for my mom who has alzheimers. this takes alot of my money and time. the garnishment has to end. I don't know why they won't contact my attorney to resolve this.. or work on resolving it. they are very aggressive and hard to work with. I absolutely hate the idea of bankruptcy, but it is better than not being able to have the means to care for my mother.

    +3 Votes
  • Ob
      Jun 21, 2014

    I would be interested in a class action suit also

    +5 Votes
  • Jl
      Jul 03, 2014

    With all the banks getting bailed out, it seems as if they get bailed out sell old debt to sharks like Lloyd and McDaniel and the little guys suffer. Yes I did have some old debt that poor communication with Lloyd and McDaniel made a case for garnishment and I am about to loose my hair over these actions...

    +3 Votes
  • Co
      Aug 16, 2014

    I strongly recommend submitting a complaint to the Kentucky, Louisville, and Indiana Bar Association for anyone having to deal with these clowns. I also strongly recommend filing a suit against them, even if the damages won are relatively minimal. These lawyers were trained at University of Kentucky and University of Louisville, not University of Chicago, Harvard, or some other real law school. So defeating these clowns should take minimal effort.

    +4 Votes
  • Jp
      Sep 25, 2014

    I am also very interested in a class action suit! A bunch of crooks, is all they are!

    +2 Votes
  • Ki
      Feb 03, 2015

    A lot of you do not understand the legal process, and are choosing the wrong battle. I am a debt collector and have been for 20 years. If you cannot pay your bills, then honest communication is the key. For the most part, every effort has been made to contact you, and work out acceptable arrangements. Usually you do not deal with lawyers unless the collectors has exhausted all efforts. No one has to accept your settlement, but the majority of them do. Now if you are talking about refi of a house, then why would they settle for 50%? When you get your pay check, your company owes you 100% have you ever considered taking half? I am not sure how I found this forum, and I am not an employee of this company. I am just amazed that some of you never read your contract with these banks. Some of you have been years without paying a dime, and then are surprised if you get garnished. You sound like you should get some sound advice.

    -4 Votes
  • Nm
      Jul 20, 2018

    @Killacowboys You can’t pay a debt that you don’t even know about. You are judging people when you have no idea what happened.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Feb 05, 2015

    I would like to file a complaint against this firm because they are collecting 100.00 a month from me because of a doctor bill filed by a hospital. When I went to the hospital I was very ill and they stated that when I signed my paperwork I signed it that I was responsible for the payment and not my insurance company. I was employed at a hospital at this time and I did have insurance. I sent numerous letters and proof that I was covered at the time but they sent this bill on anyway to this firm. I don't know what to do because the bill is over 6K and no matter if I pay the 100 or not I still won't make a dent in the bill because it accrues interest as well. I have no idea what to do!

    0 Votes
  • Me too! They garnished my wages as well for a medical bill and I asked for proof they denied me proof, I even sent it through the court and they never answered they just started garnishing my wages.

    +1 Votes
  • Da
      Oct 22, 2016

    Was anything ever filed this just happened to me. Not on my credit report and not my debt

    +1 Votes
  • Ea
      Nov 29, 2016

    I'm in - this is ridiculous and totally shameful - I can't tell you the hell I have gone and am still going through!

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      Sep 06, 2019

    @earthyoga Crooks will be dealt with

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Aug 14, 2017

    They did the same to me. When I asked for proof of the debt they sent me a letter saying Fingerhut said it was a valid debt. No proof at all!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Ge
      Oct 09, 2017

    I talked with a bankruptcy lawyer to see what could be done because of this law firm. I owed 1500 and they jacked it up to over 10000 and then put a lien on any property I own now or may own in the future. They also have garnished my wages. After paying off the garnishment, they still did not take the lien off even though it had a 0 amount attached to it. When I called to ask why they still had a lien against me they said that I now owed them 7500 and the lien would stay until that was paid. I have no idea where they got this amount from and when I asked them for proof of the debt they said they would send it but I never got it. They are now garnishing my wages for a second time and will not allow any additional payments from me. I have no idea where this debt came from and I am tired of paying on something that I have already paid off several times over. I am going to have to file bankruptcy. My lawyer said that Lloyd & McDaniel are extremely awful to work with and it is very difficult to get them to remove liens and such. I hate to have to file but I don't have a choice. I would gladly be willing to be a part of any lawsuit that could be filed against these [censor].

    +1 Votes
  • Ni
      Nov 27, 2017

    I too am in the middle of a garnishment with them, and am interested in a a means to stop them,

    +1 Votes
  • Mb
      Jun 27, 2018

    These [censored] have just gotten a judgement and lien against me as well. I went to court and did no good. They had local people here in out courthouse standing in for them. This debt was old and charged off. I'm medically unable to do much and on a single income living from paycheck to paycheck. I am filing chapter 7 so they can eat [censored] and die. These people are scum and bottom feeders. I don't know what the hell they thought they were gonna get from me. I own nothing and no bank account no savings living from pay check to pay check.

    +1 Votes
  • Nm
      Jul 20, 2018

    Same thing happened to my husband on an 11 year old debt. They got a default judgement and wiped out our joint bank account 3 weeks before Christmas. I am interested in filing a class action lawsuit against these scumbags. Please let me know. I’m in!

    +3 Votes
  • Jo
      Sep 06, 2019

    @Nmbate When you are wronged you can do what you feel is right to settle it in your own

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Nov 20, 2018

    For whatever it is worth, someone has already taken them to court and won, this case I'm linking to below shows Lloyd & McDaniel trying to argue down the attorney fees they had to pay for losing. So if you are interested in suing, I'd call the attorneys from this case, given they are familiar with the practices.

    https://casetext.com/case/and-v-lloyd-mcdaniel-plc-ltd

    -1 Votes
  • Al
      Dec 11, 2018

    My mother was 75 years old and they said she owed a debt she didn't owe. They were working with a predatory lender who kept going in her back account and taking out her social security check every month. I had to go to court to get it back. Then they put a lien on the house. This supposed original loan jumped from 3, 000 to 12, 800. When we sold the house, this had to be paid at closing, we had no idea. We found out later that they had submitted a document saying that my mother had admitted to the debt, but the date on the paper was from after she had already passed.

    +1 Votes
  • Co
      Jun 06, 2019

    So I am being sued by Lloyd and McDaniel on behalf of Barclays card of Delaware. I am in Alabama. They sent me court documents and a court date, for June 20. It’s over 1500. It was during a time when I had cancer and radio active iodine treatment. I couldn’t be in the public, work, or even be around my pets and family members. I had to use a credit card for life needs like gas, medication, milk formula for my baby, and groceries. I have less than 10 bucks in my checking account. I cannot afford a lawyer. I have been paying into a debt settlement company for about two years. They have settled three of my credit cards debts, but not Barclay. I do not know what to do. I am not at a good place, mentally or emotionally.

    +1 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 06, 2019

    @Country L. Girl Hang in there.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Sep 06, 2019

    If you are wronged you can do what’s in your best interest to correct it on your own

    +1 Votes
  • Da
      Oct 08, 2019
    Lloyd & McDaniel - Unethical, Even real?
    United States

    My checking account was garnished without any notice, without any representation, and it is absolutely impossible to get in touch with anyone. Both phone numbers listed are not working numbers. It is 2019, this company has been doing this for at least 10 years if I am reading this thread correctly

    0 Votes

Post your comment