SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Lancome.com / horrible customer service, I won't be back

United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I have been a loyal Lancome customer for many years and ordered from their website many times. Two weeks ago, I ordered 2 products, and when I received my package, there was only 1 in the box. I called customer service and they told me they would speak to the manager and call me back within 24-48 hours. I never received a response. I wrote an email after 48 hours had passed, and they also never responded. Horrible customer service. I won't be back. Stay away.

Wi
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ma
      Sep 20, 2011

    Terrible customer service. I ordered online through an offer for free shipping and sample collection, when I didn't get the free shipping or samples, I called 18005262663 and the representatve told me I could not get a shipping credit for $5.00 nor could I get the free samples because I must of done something wrong when I placed my order, which is not true because I did receive the other merchandise and other promotional points. She would not let me talk to a supervisor and said there is no Lancome Executive Office to write into, her direct words were "There is nothing we can do for you." I am sending the shipment back to them, they would rather lose a $50.00 order than refund me $5.00 in shipping. Not wise business. I'll just go the counter at the mall and get my free samples there, without buying anything.

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Sep 20, 2011

    Lancome.com -Terrible customer service. I ordered online through an offer for free shipping and sample collection, when I did not get the free shipping or samples, I called 18005262663 and the representative told me I could not get a shipping credit for five dollars, nor could I get the free samples because I must of done something wrong when I placed my order, which is not true because I did receive the other merchandise and other promotional points. She would not let me talk to a supervisor and said there is no Lancome Executive Office to write in to, her direct words were There is nothing we can do for you. I am sending the shipment back to them, they would rather lose a $50.00 order than refund me $5.00 in shipping. Not wise business. I suppose I can get free samples at the mall counter, no purchase necessary.

    +1 Votes
  • Mr
      Jan 05, 2012

    I have an on going dispute with Lancome.Over two months now.
    They sent me two lip pencils, wrong colour. I contacted customer services and was told if I returned the pencils to them they would send me the correct coloured liners.Now over two months of phone calls and emails...Nothing, zilch.
    I spent £42.00 on those pencils including PP.
    Dreadful customer service...AND you never seem to speak to the same person twice...so you have to explain the problem over and over again
    Get your act together Lancome !

    +2 Votes
  • Br
      Mar 07, 2012

    I have had multiple issues with Lancome over the last month. The first occurred when I went to pick up a sample of Visionnaire at the Lancome desk at Belk. The lady treated me like she was doing me a favor. I notified Lancome and Jennifer sent an email stating she was sending me a full size bottle because of my experience. I sent my address as requested and two weeks later I had not heard anything. I emailed again with a copy of the original email and called twice. One day I was supposedly given a supervisor and she promised to call me back that day. I did not get a call and tried again the next day. I was told that supervisor was off and they were forwarding my complaint to corporate with others. WOW! In the first place why would you handle an online complaint at a lower level than corporate and in the second place these are not cheap products. I have been with Lancome approximately 20 years and will be sad to leave them but I refuse to be treated like this. There are too many other quality products out there for consumers to be treated this way. I am not sure how many faithful customers they will lose before they get their act together.

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Mar 07, 2012

    I have also had similar issues with Lancome this year. I had an unpleasant experience with the Lancome counter at Belks. I emailed Lancome regarding the experience and received an email back from someone named Jennifer. She told me she was sorry about my experience and promised to send me a full sized bottle of Visionnaire. I sent my address and the information requested and two weeks later I had not received my product. I emailed customer service with a copy of the email and did not receive a response. I called customer service and was told by a supervisor she would investigate and call me back the same day. I did not get a call back and called the next day. I was told the supervisor was off and they were referring all the issues to corporate. I have given up getting my bottle of Visionnaire and plan to stop using Lancome after 20 years. There are too many good products out there for customers to be treated this way. I don't expect to hear anything regarding this complaint and I am sad that Lancome has tarnished their reputation in the market for cosmetics.

    0 Votes
  • No
      Apr 30, 2013

    SCAM ALERT! Be aware that a current offer by Lancome is a complete scam. They tell you if you buy certain fragrance products you will get a free gift. You go to a website and print and fill out a form, attach your original receipt, and mail it in. Then they tell you you don't get the free gift and can not return the product because they have your receipt. I called their number and figured out this was a scam before I mailed in my receipt. I returned to product last night, they owed me $47.70 and only gave me $27.70; shorted me $20. Did they think I would not notice? lancome is a complete scam and a hustle. I will never ever buy thier products again. I signed the retun receipt "good [censored]ing luck" .

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      May 30, 2013

    Horrible Lancôme customer service. I showed my online receipt stating that promo had applied, but the said that that's not the policy. They want me to pay for shipping, a mistake that is theirs. I have never had a merchant bluntly tell me that it would not honor terms at the time of the purchase. Horrible! I am switching to Chanel or Dior.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jun 27, 2013

    I have been a loyal customer for over 10 years and decided to order online thru the lancome website for the 1st time. I am very disappointed as I was not told at any time during my ordering process that I could not combine offers/codes for bonuses. I was chatting with a 'customer service' rep while placing my order. After placing my order, I was told I could not combine offers. within less that a minute I informed the rep that I wanted to cancel my order. Of course, it was not cancelled. An email and a telephone conversation to Lancome were not able to correct the problem. I offered them several opportunities to save a customer, but they were not interested in helping me. I will find another product line.

    -1 Votes
  • Di
      Sep 25, 2013

    Ordered some makeup for my daughter who is away at college and does not have access to a retail store that sells their product. Received both emails, one acknowledging receipt of the order, the next stating that the order had been shipped. I thought it was a done deal. Then I get a call from my daughter asking if I had ordered the makeup. This was 5 days later so I checked the tracking number. According to FedEx the package had gone out for delivery and no further information was available. So I called Lancome customer service, and the agent who worked with me was great, she said that it appeared that the order was lost so she would go ahead and refund the order, and place a re-order. She was even able to get me free shipping and the free gift that it was supposed to come with even though that offer had expired, but that the free gift and the product would be shipped separately. My daughter got the free gift about a week later but not the order I have paid for. Lancome called me at 8am on a Sunday morning to verify that the shipping and billing addresses on my order were different. (which I had already done with the agent when she placed the re-order.) That was sorted out, and I voiced the complaint that I did not appreciate being called at 8am on a Sunday when I can't even call THEM until 10am on a Sunday. It's Wednesday now, and I have not seen a shipping confirmation email yet. Supposedly all they were waiting for was for me to confirm that the shipping and billing addresses were verified. Which I did on Sunday. At 8am. When they called me. So I called customer service back today and spoke with another agent and explained the entire situation. She apologized for the delay and thanked me for my patience and then told me that the order was in the "review" stage because the shipping and billing addresses needed to be verified. I don't understand how they had no problem sending out other packages to my daughter from me (one of which she actually received) but now they can't send one?? The agent was particularly annoying and kept repeating a "party line" over and over that said "due to security reasons" and "for my protection". Okay I get that. But I ALREADY VERIFIED THE ADDRESS TWICE in the past week, and now as of today I have verified it THREE TIMES. Get your stuff together Lancome. You charge way to much for your products to do things this shoddily. (Whew! I got through that without cursing)

    0 Votes
  • Lm
      Dec 11, 2013

    Lancome has terrible customer service. I ordered products on black friday. Two weeks later, nothing happened. I called customer services. They said due to hig volum order blah blah blah. The fact is if you do not enoug human power do not run prommotion. Or you should hire more temps to process the order. When i asked to talk to the manager, they asked me to leave the phone number. The manager will call back within24 to 48 business hours. I knew nobody will call. I give up. Lancome sucks.

    0 Votes
  •   May 21, 2014

    I had the similar issue with you! The first time I ordered something online and waited at home for the shipping for three days. No one came but I was told that the products have been shipped back because no one at home! I called the customer service, she said the only thing they can do is cancel the order.. Recently I receive that order without telling me. I don't even know this order until I receive the products, and these products will sent to me every month! You gotta kidding me... If I want to return it, I have to pay for the return shipping myself... I asked the customer girl how to remove my default card, cause I don't want this happen again, and I can't do this online. The girl named Lyn told me "You will need to delete the information you no longer want by using your mouse and the delete button."

    0 Votes
  •   May 21, 2014

    I should really thank her.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Jun 25, 2014

    Please beware if you are ordering fro the Lancome site. I placed an order as there was a promotional offer, if you spent over £50 you would get a luxury gift set. Just enter the promotional code at check out. The 'promotional code box' was nowhere to be seen. I even cancelled it and tried a second time but it got to the payment and still hadn't let me enter it. I therefore entered my payment details and it then checked me out. Response from Lancome...basically because I failed to enter the 'promotional code ' I will not get the gift. They said I can either placed another order for £50 to get it (and exactly the same thing will happened) OR wait until I receive it and then return it back to them and they will refund the money. THANKS !!! I had ordered it for holiday. So it's my fault that they have a faulty website . I cannot believe a company like this can offer such poor service. WHICH magazine should get on to this as there are so many complaints. I too will be going elsewhere !

    0 Votes
  • Vm
      Aug 07, 2014

    Poor customer service. I received an E Gift certificate for Mother's day. I went to use it on Friends/Family day when they had a 20% discount going on. First, I couldn't even check the balance as it kept coming up system error. I called them and they said they would have to send an email to another dept. to review why the gift card was not working and someone would call me. I never got a call, so I called back and now they tell me I can't use my gift card during a promotion. It is the same as cash. There is nothing at all on their site under redeeming a GC that states that. They can't even tell me why my GC doesn' t work. But they surely pulled money from the person who gave it to me account. I called again for the balance on my card and again system error. I told them I was reporting them to the BBB and FTC and they hung up on me. POOR, POOR customer service. This would have been my first time ordering with them.

    0 Votes
  • La
      Dec 03, 2014

    I order 2 items this black friday online and when the package arrived i found out that only one is in the box and the other one is missing. They listed the missing one on the mailed products list! I paid 65 bucks for the eye cream which they didn't ship to me but they think they did. Just don't buy anything at lancome.com! You will regret! And what's more? I called the custom service 3 times, but nobody took care of my issue. They even cut off my call in the middle. Never come back!

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jan 27, 2015

    I always get my makeup from Lancome. But as a smart shopper I’m always looking to get a good deal. Before placing an order I will search who offers a better deal, whether it’s Macy’s, Nordstrom, or directly online at Lancome.com. My foundation was all gone and I had not been able to find any promotion going on or a special discount. So I decided to place my order anyway online at lancome.com. Right when I was getting ready to submit my order, I received an offer on the mail announcing a free gift of up to $149 value with a $60 purchase about to start the following week. I decided I was ok going without foundation for another couple weeks as long as I got the free gift with my purchase. Meanwhile I was bombarded by emails from Lancome wanting to know why I didn’t place my order. Along with the multiples emails I received an offer to take an additional 15% off my purchase. By this time, it was also time to get the free gift with purchase. I have to confess I did not read the terms and condition to qualify for the free gift. Neither did the website alert me that I couldn’t take both the discount and the gift. In the contrary, it gave me the option to choose my sample gift set of my preference. I added the promo code for the free gift along with the promo code for the 15% off discount. I was not alerted at any time, about not being able to use both codes. Since my foundation was less than the $60 requirement for the free gift I had decided to add a concealer to my order, bringing my total to over $60. Much was my surprise today, when I received my order without my so expected free gifts. I figured it had been a mistake and it was just a matter of calling to customer service and just wait a few more days to get my gift on the mail. Much was my surprise that the two promos I entered were not combinable. I was so upset for not knowing ahead of time. I tried to explain the representative that if I would have known about not been able to get the 15% off on top of the free gift I would have obviously taken the $149 value gift instead of the 15% discount, which ended up being close to $10.00 off my purchase. But the representative seem to have only been trained to offer me an 100% money back guarantee in returns over the mail and a couple of samples. That was not an option for me as that would have translated as being with foundation for another few weeks, having to pay for my new placed order, while the return process was completed, and missing the deadline for the free gift. I asked if I could just return it at a store that carry their product but again, she told me I had to return it over the mail with 100% money back guaranteed. I was going to offer the representative to pay the 15% I was given and ask to receive the gifts instead, she was obviously annoyed by my call and ask me if I needed instructions on how to return it or if I was going to take the two samples. Reps are well trained and committed to have customers return their orders.

    +1 Votes
  • It
      Feb 12, 2015

    I have been a loyal customer for years and placing many orders on line at Lancôme.com website. I never called for any return nor exchange until today I called for an exchange of one product. The representative said she could do nothing unless I returned the product and once it arrived call her back again!!! What? You want me to track my package and call you back the moment it arrived there! It doesn't make sense why not making a note on my order# that there will be an exchange and once you received it, you just send me another one. She told me it has to be returned first then credited back to my card then make another purchase. Regardless the fact that this is an even exchange. I just need a different color for the same product! If you buy less than what they tell you on the website they will charge you for a shipping fee but if exchange it's free. I guess doing it this way so that I do have to pay for another shipping cost. I am so mad that I will return all items ( not just one exchange) but will be a complete return and DONE with lancome.com. I could get lancome at any department stores for a free return plus easy exchange. This representative even said well you are dealing with Lancôme and you have to accept this policy!!! If this is Lancome's policy then I am not going to buy from you again. Keep in mind that there is not just Lancôme in this world, there're numerous cosmetic brands. I will stop buying Lancôme completely.

    0 Votes
  • M9
      Dec 15, 2015

    I Also have had horrible experience with Lancome customer service. Every time I call I am placed on hold for an extended period of time. I returned 2 pairs of tweezers and never received a refund or a credit. I called to ask what happened to my tweezers and was told they are sitting in our warehouse somewhere. What?
    I enclosed my name, my phone number, my address, a secondary contact phone number on the return receipt along with the order #. When I called in I was asked for my order #. Well I didn't memorize it I sent it back wit the product! I have my tracking number showing it was delivered and returned to Lancome. How are they unable to find my purchase? So I asked the representative.."So since you cant locate my return... I am out the $64.00 ? "Yes Ma'am you are". What ?
    She also said "Well we cant issue refunds for people who call and say they returned something if they don't have an order #? " Seriously ?
    I also will no longer purchase from Lancome.com and have hung up these postings in the lunchroom at my work so everyone can see and not buy Lancome either.
    This a second run around with Lancome ..last time when I made a purchase on line they charged my card 5 times for the same purchase and when I called them they tried to say it was the banks fault no theirs..AND it took me 2 weeks for them to release the funds they had placed holds on for 1 purchase they charged me 5X's for.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Sep 07, 2016

    I too was a user of their web site not to mention an long time customer through department stores. The site now almost seems like a sham for something "else". Now when I order and confirmation is received for that order, a day later I get an email that my order was cancelled. This happened about six times, EVEN WHEN CALLING THE TOLL FREE NUMBER AND ORDERING THROUGH A LIVE BODY. Just this past week, I placed an order through PayPal to see if that helped to have them in the middle. Same thing. Order cancelled for no reason. I have disputed it with PayPal that my order was cancelled for no reason, and gave them some background; suggesting they may want discontinue a relationship with an online vendor that isn't really that at all. 9/7/2016

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Sep 21, 2016

    I too just recently placed an order with Lancome in the attempt of taking of advantage of their 10 piece free sample with an order of $99. I thought - what a great way to try out their products. I just received my package. The item that I purchased is in the box, but the samples? No where to be found. I'm better off returning what I bought and getting samples for free at the counter with no purchase. I'm on the phone now with Lancome. Its been 10 minutes so far.
    #unhappy #Lancomesucks

    0 Votes
  • An
      Oct 20, 2016

    I totally agree with all the complaints. Lancome website sucks, no one answers the phone, they cancelled my order for no reason. No idea who is getting the promotiond and the bebefits they do online since nobody gets to buy anything. This makes damage to the brand, any insignificant brand provides better service than Lancome. I want people to stop buying products so the brands makes something about it, they will never care if people go and buy it anyway. Such a shame on Lancome.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Nov 25, 2016

    Just the worst customer service and website ever, stay away!! The sample didn't arrive with my purchase and the answer from the customer service was basically : sorry we don't have any samples at the moment, up your ###! STAY AWAY #unhappy #Lancomesucks #Lancome

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Sep 03, 2017

    I too tried to complain about Lancôme and they just posted my complaint right back to me without giving a response !
    How rude !
    I complained that they had withdrawn a fantastic product which was teint miracle fondation shade B0.01 .
    I have never found anything to compare .

    0 Votes
  • Rh
      Jan 26, 2018

    I'm so angry and upset right now that I don't have the energy to deal with details. Though Lance can certainly expect that I will post about my experience here and everywhere. I only wish I'd read about the terrible customer service -- terrible barely covers it -- before I decided to shop their site last night. Suffice to say, the way Lance has behaved since contacting them this morning about a problem with my order, has been appalling. They don't deserve my business -- and I've been a Lancome customer via department stores for 30 years. You've lost a customer Lancome. You deserve to lose many more.

    0 Votes
  • Rh
      Jan 26, 2018

    @RHart86 Spellcheck changed "Lancome" to "Lance" every time, and I changed it back. Looks like it only stuck once. You know, Lancome, one would think that of all the words in the world, you'd have your site programmed so that spellcheck doesn't change YOUR NAME on YOUR OWN site. Then again, give the way many of us are feeling about your customer service, perhaps anonymity is best for you.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      May 27, 2018

    Lancome USA has got to be one of the worst internet retailers out there. It certainly is one of the worst ones I have encountered. Over the years, I have ordered stuff from them for my wife, mainly during their sales. Their delivery time is usually atrocious, but mot of the time they have gotten the right stuff to us. Recently, I encountered something unique. I cannot order anything from them since they reject any credit card I try use, even though all the credit cards are in good standing. I have also tried paying them through PayPal, but that transaction was also rejected, even though it was ready to go from PayPals end. It is simply amazing that you have a retailer, but you cannot find a way to pay for them for items you want to purchase! Hopefully, this only happens to a few customers, or their days in business would be numbered. Their customer service people keep telling me someone will contact me, but over a period of several months I never got call back. Perhaps, they are thinly staffed?

    0 Votes

Post your comment